Badgley Mischka

Starstruck Dress

$35 rental
$750 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Sparkle and shine in this Badgley Mischka asymmetric sequin dress. Go with Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Ring and Polished Crystal Drop Earrings to really turn heads when you walk into the party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - draped material conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - draped material conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Blush sequins over silk(100% silk; lining: 100% polyester). One shoulder neckline. Draped ruffle side. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

211 reviews

Fit
Small 63
True to Size 123
Large 18
Photos 114
LB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

Not for me

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wanted so badly to love this dress, but it just didn't work for me. I rented the 6 with the 4 as a back up size, and the 6 fit the best. I'm not sure if it was the coloring of the dress, or the way the material hung, but it made me look very wide across the hips (and I'm not that wide). Also, there was much more draping on the left side than I was imagining. Still a gorgeous dress, just didn't do it for me. Luckily I rented the Lights and Leopards Dress by Mark & James by Badgley Mischka and it worked out perfectly.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Dec 20, 2012

I got soooo many compliments!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was a great fit-not really tight in any area so it would be good for all figures. The length was appropriate for the wedding. I felt a little overdressed for the church ceremony, so you may want to keep that in mind. Otherwise a great choice!
Torie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 20, 2012

A beautiful dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fits true to size...a big hit at any formal event!
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Didn't work for me

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I REALLY wanted this dress to work ... but I usually wear a 6. They don't have this in a 6. SO I tried the 4 and it was a no go. It's also more mauve in color than this photograph. I love it though and wish I could have worn it.
Mandy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 8, 2013

First time trying Rent the Runway and the experience and this dress were a hit for New Year's Eve!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got many compliments on the dress on New Year's Eve, as well as some appreciative wow's from my husband! I wasn't sure if I'd be a four or a six, and while the four fit, there was a little gathering around the hips and the six was the more flattering choice. (I'm very pear shaped, A/B bust, 26" waist, 38" hips, 5'5") Just note that the dress is more of a rose gold than a yellow-gold. RTR even sent along fun Happy New Year tiara's! I loved that they shipped to the hotel we were staying at in Las Vegas... one less thing to pack! I will definitely be using RTR in the future!
sarah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 13, 2013

I sold my house while wearing this dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is not as pink as in the photos but still very pretty and very comfortable
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 14, 2013

Great dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for my husband's office Christmas party. The color is darker than it looks online. The pink is about the same, but the sequins are a darker gold/bronze color. It's gorgeous in person. I have wider hips, so the dress was a little tight there, but it fit very well everywhere else. I did't have to worry at all about it falling down, but it did ride up a little. The skirt hit me at about mid-thigh, so that really wasn't a problem. It was very comfortable, and really high quality. I loved it! The delivery was right on schedule, and mailing it back was a breeze. This was my first RTR experience, and it will definitely be repeated! I'm hooked.
Sparbs
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Jan 28, 2013

Perfect for Vegas

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was a good fit for a night out in Vegas. My only complaint would be the sequin edges were a little rough at the seams on my skin. I did notice that the slip was a bit longer than the over-layer but it didn't bother me that much.
Sandra
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 65
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 1, 2013

Not a good choice at all.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Marked a size 12 and couldn't zip at all. Was a gap of 6" between edges of zipper. I am 5'4" and 125#. This fit more like a 2! Very disappointed. Also the color was not blush. It was a true mauve. Won't try again
Leslie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 17, 2013

I wish I could've worn it...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented both a size 4 and 6 for this dress, just in case. The size 4 fit better (the size 6 was super baggy and long), but it still didn't look very good on my body type. The dress was too long--right above the knee--and it just looked like a bag over my body. I'm petite, but have a curvy body, and this dress isn't the best for my shape. Such a bummer because this dress is so beautiful (and heavy)!
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 19, 2013

Very pretty!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this dress for a bachelorette party in Vegas. It was a perfect Vegas dress and pretty comfortable. I didn't really have any problems with the sequins rubbing under my arms. The size 2 fit me really well and I thought the dress was very pretty. I did find the "sleeve" to be kind of awkward though and had to position myself appropriately in pictures to not look odd. Overall I did really like this dress.
jennjie
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 168 lbs
Feb 21, 2013

Nice, but not for me!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I saw this and love the look. Got it deliivered in two sizes. tried on the the larger size and it was really tight. Thank God I brought a back up dress just in case. Next time I guess I should talk to someone before I order.
Ellen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 162 lbs
Mar 3, 2013

A stunning dress that will not be duplicated!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Runs small. Definitely order one size up.
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 6, 2013

Gorgeous!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is an incredibly flattering shade of blush with just the right amount of sparkle. And unlike many sequin dresses, it was not scratchy! Fits true to size and was very comfortable. Got a ton of compliments at the black tie fundraiser I attended and would definitely recommend it! Added bonus - one guy I met thought I looked so wonderful that he asked me out - that guy is now my husband :)
Moira
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Mar 15, 2013

Glamour, glamour, glamour!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Tighter fit through the thighs and booty, but still really beautiful. Gorgeous peachy-champagne color in real life!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 9, 2013

No room for a full bust! NOT THE SAME COLOR!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a formal event with my business school. I expected the beautiful champagne sparkly dress in the picture. When the dress arrived it was not even close to the same color. Fabric is dark dusty rose with matte BROWN sequins. In addition, the fabric does not have a lot of give and was entirely too tight at the bust. Not at all what I was anticipating and I hated it. However, when I called RTR in a panic, they were more than understanding and overnighted me another dress to wear. So despite the dress surprise, the overall experience with RTR was fantastic!
Ashtyn
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101 lbs
Apr 10, 2013

Does not fit well

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was really baggy and did not fit well at all. The 0 and 2 both didn't work. Luckily I had the backup dress
Tara
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Apr 22, 2013

This dress was amazing! I got compliments from everyone!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was amazing! I got compliments from everyone!
Emma
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 5, 2013

Everyone kept telling me I looked like Beyoncé! My favourite!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm a little on the short side so it almost looked a bit frumpy but still beautiful! I think it would look amazing on tall girls!
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 16, 2013

I was the shiniest one on the Boat!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is prefect to hide all of my imperfections and its over the top cute as well! I would definitely suggest you rent this!
sdmom
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 23, 2013

Pretty dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The slip did show at the bottom of the dress (as mentioned by some of the other reviews), but it didn't bother me. My under arm was a little scratched from the sequins. I would recommend this dress if you are not doing a lot of heavy dancing and partying. If you plan to move a lot, the sequins may rub your arm raw. Very pretty...lots of compliments. The dress is more pink/blush color in person.
joanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 4, 2013

SO sparkly!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for a bachelorette party. The color was so flattering...it made me look really tan. I got compliments on the dress all night long. One girl insisted that I HAD to buy the dress. I will warn that the dress has virtually no give, so it can feel a bit tight when you are moving around a lot. The sequins around the neckline got a little scratchy, but that's kind of how it is with these types of dresses.
Jaclyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136 lbs
Aug 4, 2013

pretty

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't end up wearing this dress as it looked too similar to the bridesmaid's dresses in the wedding
Ellen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 9, 2013

Not flattering for bustier ladies

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this to wear to a wedding but found that it draped horribly on me. I have big boobs but still, this just was not the dress for met. Also, the fabric is very scratchy under the arms. Luckily I had a backup that I wore and loved.
mbd
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Sep 10, 2013

Wore this to a 1970's party and it was the perfect dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very comfortable and fun to wear!
Tracie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 24, 2013

Very heavy dress, great for a winter event

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Unfortunately I didn't get to wear this dress for the wedding. The zipper wasn't working properly on the size that fit, and the back up was too small. I would definitely recommend this for a winter event as it's very heavy! It would have been way too hot for a summer wedding in Virginia which is what I had rented it for. But, RTR was amazing and gave me a credit since the zipper was defective. Overall the dress was snug, so I would recommend getting a size bigger just to be safe.
Francine
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Apple
Oct 9, 2013

Loved this dress so much!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my bachelorette, and it was perfect for it. The dress fit well- I wear sizes 8 or 10 and wore the 10 for this one. The only con was the sparkly/sequin layer rode up a little, so the sheath underneath kept showing. It didn't look bad, I just knew it wasn't supposed to be like that. Other than that, it was great.
Danessa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 19, 2013

Fun for a great night out!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Super cute dress. I ordered both the 4 and the 6 and wore the 4. Definitely not a lot of give in the fabric. I am giving it four stars because the sequins underneath the open arm rubbed and scratched, but nothing unmanageable. Great first experience with RTR!
Laura
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 12, 2013

Pretty dress, but I've seen better

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I am typically a size 0. I ordered the size 0 and 2. The 0 was a little big on me, but wearable (mainly big in the top half). I tried on the 2 - it was questionably small. It was tight all around and at least a few inches shorter than the size 0. Either this was mislabeled or someone altered it before. It also had used double sided tape all over the inside of the dress and there were snags. Overall, the dress was pretty, but I've definitely seen better on me and better from rent the runway in general.
ThreadHoarder
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128 lbs
Nov 23, 2013

Pretty Dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress as an option for my Brother's wedding reception party and it was tight in the bust, and washed me out (I'm a redhead so I'm super pale). But overall a pretty dress!
Alessandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 8, 2013

I wore this for my engagement party and it was perfect for this special event!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit great and recommend this for women with fuller busts.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 18, 2013

Sparkles, glamour, and more!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! I felt like a movie star. It fit well, and was perfect for the New Year's Eve party I wore it to.
Janel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 20, 2013

Adorable Dress, but small fit.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress in an 8 and a 10 and both sizes were too small. RTR was not able to send another dress since it was a Sat delivery, but I was provided a credit. If you are curvy or wide in the hips I would really recommend sizing up. I will rent this dress again in a 12.
Melissa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 6, 2014

Loved the compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was very form fitting, which surprised me based on comments. I'm 5'6" and 125 pounds, and I wore the size 4. The lining stuck out a good 3 - 4 inches past the dress, so following other's advice, I used double-sided fashion tape to fix it. The rental experience, from delivery to drop-off was stress free and easy. I would do this again.
Meggie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 8, 2014

Beautiful Dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress, but there were a few snags... it appeared that someone with a much larger bust wore the Size 2 dress before me, as it was pulled a bit around the bust area and the sequins cut into my arm for the majority of the evening, which was not very comfortable, but definitely able to deal with it for an evening. However, the dress was gorgeous and no one seemed to notice any of the issues I described above... I got many compliments on it! A great dress for NYE!
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 9, 2014

Beautiful blush color and classy sparkle, perfect fore New Year's Eve

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
This dress is absolutely beautiful, you glow in it. Absolutely perfect for a New Year's Eve dress. It is a little narrow through the hips, and I would advise ordering one size up as your back-up.
katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 23, 2014

Pretty but tight in the middle

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Badgley Mischka is my favorite designer so I was very disappointed when the SIX (I usually wear a 4) was too small in tummy of this dress. This dress looks like it is more of a shift fit but it's not, it is tight all the way through your mid section and then it drapes right down the middle. I was looking for somethign a little looser because I wanted to be comfortable on new years. The dress was very pretty but it just didn't fit right.
Dolly3
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116 lbs
Jan 25, 2014

It was fast and convenient, the great variety of dresses that are offered makes it fabulous! Thanks!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I liked this dress it was perfect for the occasion. It was neither too short nor too long. The only thing I disliked about it was the thing underneath the dress that kept coming out of the dress and it looked really funny. Even though I had put clothing tape on it the tape kept coming off. Later during the night I managed to fix it and I was finally comfortable. I would definitely recommend it.
Hillary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 3, 2014

Gorgerous Dress, Crazy Small

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was incredibly small.. the 14 was way to short and skin tight. Needless to say, I went with the back up option provided by RTR, but I wouldn't recommend this for curvy girls who usually wear 8-12.
Rachael
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 11, 2014

NYE sparkle

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Fun dress, fit snug, but that might have been because of the holiday goodies before wearing it out on NYE, overall loved wearing this dress and dancing the night away.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×