Badgley Mischka

Starstruck Dress

$35 rental
$750 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Sparkle and shine in this Badgley Mischka asymmetric sequin dress. Go with Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Ring and Polished Crystal Drop Earrings to really turn heads when you walk into the party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - draped material conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Product Details

Blush sequins over silk(100% silk; lining: 100% polyester). One shoulder neckline. Draped ruffle side. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
231 reviews
Fit
Large
(19)
True to Size
(133)
Small
(69)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 16, 2012
Looked better on computer than in person
Too snug around the hips. Couldn't wear it. I sized down and not up.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
September 20, 2012
The website is user friendly, my garment shipped fast, and the return was really easy!
I ordered a 10 and a 12 because I run between the two sometimes. The 12 fit me like a glove! I have a pretty large chest and was able to zip it with a tiny bit of room left. I wore a body shaper spanx thing to look more streamlined around my midsection. That seemed to help with any love handles showing or a little belly pooch. It was fun, sassy, and I got lots of compliments! One thing to note is that it's a little more bronze-y in person than it is in the photos.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 1, 2012
Great dress for dancing, and having fun all night long. You will get a lot of compliments!
I loved the dress and I had fun all night dancing in it at a charity event during the springtime. The only thing I would mention is that the slip sometimes showed, and the sequins were a little annoying at times, but overall it was a great dress. I definitely recommend it :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 4, 2012
perfect dress to stand out in!
i was nervous about this dress at first bc i am short 5'2 and i was reading it runs long. it doesnt. it is perfect length . the fit is perfect, the material is not stretchy, i did get a size 4 as my back up but the dress does run true to size and size 2 was perfect. i did use the tape they supply you over the side not over the shoulder as it seemed a little stretched , it worked perfect. also the pink slip does show from the bottom of the dress about a 1/2 inch... but only you notice it i promise!!! I got many compliments on the dress. and everyone on facebook wants to know where its from! haha :) this was my first time with rent the runway. THEY ARE AMAZING. i rented a back up dress as well (which i wore to the church) you would never be able to tell that either were worn.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
October 8, 2012
Efficient, Impressive & Fabulous!
Enjoyed wearing this dress to my husband's 20-year high school reunion! It was my first rental and I couldn't have been happier with the results. Received dress right on time, which was Friday for a Saturday night event, and it was in a fine condition. I received so many compliments and do plan on renting this dress again. At first, I was reluctant to rent a dress but hopeful since they provide 2 sizes. I am big-busted (32 G) and it is really difficult for me to wear number-sized dresses (as opposed to sizing based on S and M). My lower body generally fits in a size 4 and my top can range between 6 to 8. The 6 worked just fine and I never bothered to try on the 8. Thank you RTR for an Awesome, Worry-free evening!! Can't wait to come back for my next event!!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 15, 2012
Everyone LOVED my dress! It was the talk of the night - despite just being the bride that is! ; )
The hem of the dress hung below the actual dress itself. Not sure that was supposed to happen, however I didn't have another back up dress. Both size did that. I wore it anyhow and honestly no one seemed to know otherwise - so I went with it. This dress was flashy, comfortable and like I said the talk of the night!
MeganOctober 15, 2012
What color shoes did you wear?
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 21, 2012
So many compliments!
I wore this dress to a wedding and got lots of compliments! I feel that the dress runs a tad small around the hips and thighs, so I sized up from my usual size 8. The 10 was a tad bit loose around my bust but I would rather have more room in my hips than less room in the bust. Either size would have worked, though. I felt like a million bucks in the dress. I accessorized with crystal chandelier earrings, pearl and crystal bracelets, and a fun rock crystal statement ring that I already owned. I wore nude wedge peep-toe heels.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 129lbs
October 31, 2012
It was great and perfect for the occasion!!
The fit was great, I read the other reviews and got a 4 and a 6 and the 4 was just right!!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
November 2, 2012
Being so sparkly! Felt like a fairy princess.
The fit was good overall, fit my hips and waist well, my biggest problem was the chest. I am by no means small up top (wide shoulders and 32D) but the top was either stretched out or just too large, I ended up pinning it so there was no gap under my arm. It was a little awkward when the sleeve flapped open and the really pale inside showed, but it was gorgeous in photos when it was draped correctly. The sequins were wonderful, they can tend to be scratchy but these were flat and even felt a little soft. Loved the fabric and colour, just wish the top fit hat been better.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
November 4, 2012
I wore this dress to the taping of the CMA Country Christmas special, and it stunned! Perfection!
This dress is more of a mauve color, with bronzy sequins. It is gorgeous! It "reads" as gold in most photos, so just be aware of that. Like most of the other reviews, I would have to agree that the hip area of this dress has no stretch and it is not "full" as described. I had to size up, as would most women who have hips, I would think. Not a negative, but something to take into consideration. Overall, this dress was simply dazzling! My husband loved it! And I was super happy with it too! It feels great to be the belle of the ball, knowing that when you walk into the room, you are lighting it up!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
November 7, 2012
Color and sparkle were amazing
It fit well. Only problem was that the material on the side was a lot, and it added width to the person wearing the dress. But I got a lot of compliments, and great for dancing.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 16, 2012
It shined! Literally! the fit is perfect for someone with a small waist and round hips (like me).
Its a little scratchy under the arm because of the sparkles but nothing unbearable. The fit of the dress is perfect for a girl with round hips a small waist and a small bust. I went to a bachelorette party in NYC and it was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
November 19, 2012
Compliments didn't stop coming. I looked and felt a million bucks!
Beautiful dress - very appropriate and stunning. I had everyone complimenting me and my dress. I bragged about RTW to a friend who said she also rents. I loved this dress!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 153lbs
November 19, 2012
The dress fit great. It does cling to your butt though!
Okay so here's the deal. I am an 8 on top and in btwn 10-8 on bottom. I went with the 10. Here's why. It was loose on top giving me a sexier feel as it hung from my shoulder. The bottom clings to you, and is fitted. So, if you are bigger on bottom, go with the bigger size. The dress does fit curves well. I could have done 8, but it would have emphasized my butt, especially in pictures !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
November 19, 2012
The 6 fit me perfectly and it looked amzing!!
the 6 fit like a glove, so i didn't even try on the 4. It was a hit at my formal and everyone loved it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Apple
November 20, 2012
Pretty but itchy and rids up
Rented it for a wedding. The color is a bit darker than the pic. I really liked the style but the fabric made me itch as soon as I put it on. And the top layer of the skirt kept riding up in the back whenever I moved, so I ended up not wearing it. I ordered a size 8 and 10... I normally wear a 10. Both fit tho the 10 was looser, but both sizes did the skirt issue as well as the itching. So I didn't up wearing this dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 27, 2012
Pink and sparkly = perfect bachelorette dress!
Definitely a hot dress and perfect for the occasion! I agree with the other reviewers on the size 0 - the lining hung down below the hem of the dress. I didn't want to fuss with that, so I opted to go with the 2. It was a bit more of a conservative fit (less fitted, longer), but it still worked great.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
December 4, 2012
Got so many complements on the dress! The fit is very nice and very flattering on any body type!
The fit was very nice and being a little out of shape during the Holidays, it was still a very nice fit and very flattering. I would say the shade is a little different than it looks on the model and it is actually a better shade. It was very comfortable fit for most of the night and was easy to dance in!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
December 4, 2012
This dress is perfect for a black tie affair where you want to make a statement!
I rented both the 2 and 4. i planned to wear the 4 because of a very snug fit. at the last minute, i tried on the 2 and it fit a little better without being too snug. the dress is unique because it has bling but also give in the fabric. very comfortable and i loved showing shoulder but feeling like i had full coverage up top. if the dress wasn't so memorable, i'd definitely rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
December 11, 2012
Loved it! Got so many compliments.
The dress was true to size. I usually get a 2 and 4 in the event that the dress runs small but I was able to wear the 2 in this case. I loved the dress - only thing I would say is that the hem kept poking out so I had to use fabric tape to keep it from coming out.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 11, 2012
Winning homecoming queen was an unforgettable experience! The dress was the perfect touch!
I was a little iffy about wearing a sequence dress especially for homecoming. I thought it would be to edgy. But when I got the dress and tried it on, It was absolutely perfect! The dress had a very sophisticated and "sexy" look without being too revealing. I couldn't have picked a better dress for this event! It fit perfectly and even better, it came with an extra dress just in case! I don't know what I would have done without renttherunaway.com. The dress made my homecoming experience more exciting!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
December 16, 2012
Got so many compliments on the dress!
Wore it to my sorority formal- got a 2 and a 4, wore the 4 because the 2 was just tight enough that I couldn't zip up the last inch and a half. Overall pretty comfortable, although the underneath of my right arm got scratched up from the sequins and beading on the dress. Otherwise great, I loved the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 17, 2012
This dress was perfect for the Christmas party we went to. I got numerous compliments on it.
The fit was great. I ordered a size 4 and got the back up size 6. The 4 ended up fitting me perfectly. The dress hung very nicely and the length was perfect for me, not to short as I seem to always have that issue because I am so tall, but this length was very good. One small complaint was that the liner of the dress was hanging longer than the dress so you could see it, but thank goodness for double sided tape, that seem to fix the issue good enough. (the size 6 also had the same issue with the liner hanging longer which I thought was kind of weird, maybe a flaw or something) Other than that the dress was amazing and it felt really good and comfortable to me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
December 20, 2012
I got soooo many compliments!!!
It was a great fit-not really tight in any area so it would be good for all figures. The length was appropriate for the wedding. I felt a little overdressed for the church ceremony, so you may want to keep that in mind. Otherwise a great choice!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 20, 2012
A beautiful dress
It fits true to size...a big hit at any formal event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
January 8, 2013
First time trying Rent the Runway and the experience and this dress were a hit for New Year's Eve!
I got many compliments on the dress on New Year's Eve, as well as some appreciative wow's from my husband! I wasn't sure if I'd be a four or a six, and while the four fit, there was a little gathering around the hips and the six was the more flattering choice. (I'm very pear shaped, A/B bust, 26" waist, 38" hips, 5'5") Just note that the dress is more of a rose gold than a yellow-gold. RTR even sent along fun Happy New Year tiara's! I loved that they shipped to the hotel we were staying at in Las Vegas... one less thing to pack! I will definitely be using RTR in the future!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
January 13, 2013
I sold my house while wearing this dress!
The dress is not as pink as in the photos but still very pretty and very comfortable
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 13, 2013
This dress was a hit for New Year's Eve!
This dress fit great everywhere but the top, but my top is a size smaller. The lining was hanging out of the dress and I did not have any fashion tape with me but I left it out so it would be just a little bit longer on me. I got tons of compliments and would even order it again. Just be careful with the liner!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 14, 2013
Great dress!
I rented this for my husband's office Christmas party. The color is darker than it looks online. The pink is about the same, but the sequins are a darker gold/bronze color. It's gorgeous in person. I have wider hips, so the dress was a little tight there, but it fit very well everywhere else. I did't have to worry at all about it falling down, but it did ride up a little. The skirt hit me at about mid-thigh, so that really wasn't a problem. It was very comfortable, and really high quality. I loved it! The delivery was right on schedule, and mailing it back was a breeze. This was my first RTR experience, and it will definitely be repeated! I'm hooked.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
January 27, 2013
Got a lot of Compliments, beautiful dress!
I highly suggest renting this dress! I got a lot of compliments on it throughout the night and loved the color of it. The only advice I have is that the stomach is a little tight and I was worried that I should have worn the size 6 instead of the 4; however, the 6 was too much on my body and also the drapey material didn't appear to make the dress look tight! Be careful too because the sequins rub against your underarms
MeganJanuary 27, 2013
What color shoes did you wear?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 157lbs
January 28, 2013
Perfect for Vegas
This dress was a good fit for a night out in Vegas. My only complaint would be the sequin edges were a little rough at the seams on my skin. I did notice that the slip was a bit longer than the over-layer but it didn't bother me that much.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
March 15, 2013
Glamour, glamour, glamour!
Tighter fit through the thighs and booty, but still really beautiful. Gorgeous peachy-champagne color in real life!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
March 18, 2013
A great fitting dress that will definitely make you stand out in a crowd!
Gorgeous, attention grabbing dress! Like everyone else mentioned before, there is a slight issue with the slip layer hanging out. Really enjoyed wearing it for an outdoor spring wedding I attended.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
March 18, 2013
It was a great dress to wear to my formal banquet. I got compliments all night!
The fit was excellent, the only issue was the zipper was in an odd place as it came right up beneath the armpit. I needed help to zip it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 9, 2013
No room for a full bust! NOT THE SAME COLOR!
I rented this dress for a formal event with my business school. I expected the beautiful champagne sparkly dress in the picture. When the dress arrived it was not even close to the same color. Fabric is dark dusty rose with matte BROWN sequins. In addition, the fabric does not have a lot of give and was entirely too tight at the bust. Not at all what I was anticipating and I hated it. However, when I called RTR in a panic, they were more than understanding and overnighted me another dress to wear. So despite the dress surprise, the overall experience with RTR was fantastic!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
April 11, 2013
LOVED this dress :)
Beautiful fit :) Definitely needed fashion tape or the lining would have been too long, but it worked really well and stayed the whole night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 4, 2013
This dress is beautiful and very flattering! I got tons of compliments!
I loved this dress! The reason I gave it 4 stars is because it isn't gold like it looks in the photo. It's more of a rose/pink with bronzy sequins, so it can be hard to match with accessories. I like that it's not too short though. I am 5'10'' and it was the perfect length at mid thigh.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 5, 2013
Everyone kept telling me I looked like Beyoncé! My favourite!!
I'm a little on the short side so it almost looked a bit frumpy but still beautiful! I think it would look amazing on tall girls!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
July 16, 2013
I was the shiniest one on the Boat!
This dress is prefect to hide all of my imperfections and its over the top cute as well! I would definitely suggest you rent this!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
July 23, 2013
Pretty dress
The slip did show at the bottom of the dress (as mentioned by some of the other reviews), but it didn't bother me. My under arm was a little scratched from the sequins. I would recommend this dress if you are not doing a lot of heavy dancing and partying. If you plan to move a lot, the sequins may rub your arm raw. Very pretty...lots of compliments. The dress is more pink/blush color in person.
See more reviews:
4 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×