Starstruck Dress

$35 rental
$750 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Sparkle and shine in this Badgley Mischka asymmetric sequin dress. Go with Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Ring and Polished Crystal Drop Earrings to really turn heads when you walk into the party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - draped material conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - draped material conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Blush sequins over silk(100% silk; lining: 100% polyester). One shoulder neckline. Draped ruffle side. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
230 reviews
Fit
Large
(19)
True to Size
(133)
Small
(68)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
March 6, 2013
Gorgeous!
This dress is an incredibly flattering shade of blush with just the right amount of sparkle. And unlike many sequin dresses, it was not scratchy! Fits true to size and was very comfortable. Got a ton of compliments at the black tie fundraiser I attended and would definitely recommend it! Added bonus - one guy I met thought I looked so wonderful that he asked me out - that guy is now my husband :)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
March 4, 2013
Loved this dress!! I got so many compliments, both at my party and from pictures!
The shape of the dress will compliment a lot of body types and it was just SO fun to wear. I felt like a celebrity. The lining does tend to pop out of the bottom a bit. Nothing a little fashion tape cant fix.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 162lbs
March 3, 2013
A stunning dress that will not be duplicated!
Runs small. Definitely order one size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144lbs
March 2, 2013
I felt so glamorous!
I'm usually pretty conservative with the way I dress, so renting this sequin cold-shoulder dress made me feel so glamorous and sophisticated! And sexy! Of course my boyfriend (now husband!) loved it! I am pretty close to hourglass shape with slightly bigger hips. Maybe it was the hips, but the dress tended to ride up a little. Also, the arm with the sleeve was itchy. Still, it was a wonderful dress and I would wear it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 168lbs
February 21, 2013
Nice, but not for me!
I saw this and love the look. Got it deliivered in two sizes. tried on the the larger size and it was really tight. Thank God I brought a back up dress just in case. Next time I guess I should talk to someone before I order.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
February 19, 2013
Very pretty!
I rented this dress for a bachelorette party in Vegas. It was a perfect Vegas dress and pretty comfortable. I didn't really have any problems with the sequins rubbing under my arms. The size 2 fit me really well and I thought the dress was very pretty. I did find the "sleeve" to be kind of awkward though and had to position myself appropriately in pictures to not look odd. Overall I did really like this dress.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 17, 2013
I wish I could've worn it...
I rented both a size 4 and 6 for this dress, just in case. The size 4 fit better (the size 6 was super baggy and long), but it still didn't look very good on my body type. The dress was too long--right above the knee--and it just looked like a bag over my body. I'm petite, but have a curvy body, and this dress isn't the best for my shape. Such a bummer because this dress is so beautiful (and heavy)!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 43
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 105lbs
February 6, 2013
I Loved the dress, and got lots of compliments.
The dress is defiantly tight around the chest and the side zipper was pretty difficult to zip. It was very comfortable to wear. I usually wear a 4, but needed to wear the 6 because it was too tight in the chest.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 67
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
February 1, 2013
Not a good choice at all.
Marked a size 12 and couldn't zip at all. Was a gap of 6" between edges of zipper. I am 5'4" and 125#. This fit more like a 2! Very disappointed. Also the color was not blush. It was a true mauve. Won't try again
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 157lbs
January 28, 2013
Perfect for Vegas
This dress was a good fit for a night out in Vegas. My only complaint would be the sequin edges were a little rough at the seams on my skin. I did notice that the slip was a bit longer than the over-layer but it didn't bother me that much.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
January 27, 2013
Got a lot of Compliments, beautiful dress!
I highly suggest renting this dress! I got a lot of compliments on it throughout the night and loved the color of it. The only advice I have is that the stomach is a little tight and I was worried that I should have worn the size 6 instead of the 4; however, the 6 was too much on my body and also the drapey material didn't appear to make the dress look tight! Be careful too because the sequins rub against your underarms
MeganApril 21, 2013
What color shoes did you wear?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 15, 2013
Compliments! Everyone loved this dress!
Although it is a little itchy under the sleeveless arm, it's worth it! I didn't have a strapless that I really like, but the good news is that this dress came up high enough that I just tucked the strap in on the sleeveless side and no one could tell!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 14, 2013
Great dress!
I rented this for my husband's office Christmas party. The color is darker than it looks online. The pink is about the same, but the sequins are a darker gold/bronze color. It's gorgeous in person. I have wider hips, so the dress was a little tight there, but it fit very well everywhere else. I did't have to worry at all about it falling down, but it did ride up a little. The skirt hit me at about mid-thigh, so that really wasn't a problem. It was very comfortable, and really high quality. I loved it! The delivery was right on schedule, and mailing it back was a breeze. This was my first RTR experience, and it will definitely be repeated! I'm hooked.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 13, 2013
This dress was a hit for New Year's Eve!
This dress fit great everywhere but the top, but my top is a size smaller. The lining was hanging out of the dress and I did not have any fashion tape with me but I left it out so it would be just a little bit longer on me. I got tons of compliments and would even order it again. Just be careful with the liner!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
January 13, 2013
I sold my house while wearing this dress!
The dress is not as pink as in the photos but still very pretty and very comfortable
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
January 8, 2013
I spent my 40th birthday in Las Vegas and felt FABULOUS in this dress! Will definitely recommend...
I normally wear a size 4. I ordered a 2 and 4 just in case but the 4 was true to its size.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
January 8, 2013
First time trying Rent the Runway and the experience and this dress were a hit for New Year's Eve!
I got many compliments on the dress on New Year's Eve, as well as some appreciative wow's from my husband! I wasn't sure if I'd be a four or a six, and while the four fit, there was a little gathering around the hips and the six was the more flattering choice. (I'm very pear shaped, A/B bust, 26" waist, 38" hips, 5'5") Just note that the dress is more of a rose gold than a yellow-gold. RTR even sent along fun Happy New Year tiara's! I loved that they shipped to the hotel we were staying at in Las Vegas... one less thing to pack! I will definitely be using RTR in the future!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2013
Didn't work for me
I REALLY wanted this dress to work ... but I usually wear a 6. They don't have this in a 6. SO I tried the 4 and it was a no go. It's also more mauve in color than this photograph. I love it though and wish I could have worn it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
December 21, 2012
First rental from RTR and I LOVED it! Got lots of compliments all night!
It fit pretty much how the other reviews I read prior to renting it said it would; true to size. I'm 5'9" and it was long enough that I felt comfortable wearing it to a work function. Because of the sequins it was slightly uncomfortable, but it was so sparkly that it was worth it! I wore it to a fundraiser for the hospital foundation that I am the director of and it was the perfect mix of classy and flashy. I will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 20, 2012
A beautiful dress
It fits true to size...a big hit at any formal event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
December 20, 2012
I got soooo many compliments!!!
It was a great fit-not really tight in any area so it would be good for all figures. The length was appropriate for the wedding. I felt a little overdressed for the church ceremony, so you may want to keep that in mind. Otherwise a great choice!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 17, 2012
Not for me
I wanted so badly to love this dress, but it just didn't work for me. I rented the 6 with the 4 as a back up size, and the 6 fit the best. I'm not sure if it was the coloring of the dress, or the way the material hung, but it made me look very wide across the hips (and I'm not that wide). Also, there was much more draping on the left side than I was imagining. Still a gorgeous dress, just didn't do it for me. Luckily I rented the Lights and Leopards Dress by Mark & James by Badgley Mischka and it worked out perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 17, 2012
This dress was perfect for the Christmas party we went to. I got numerous compliments on it.
The fit was great. I ordered a size 4 and got the back up size 6. The 4 ended up fitting me perfectly. The dress hung very nicely and the length was perfect for me, not to short as I seem to always have that issue because I am so tall, but this length was very good. One small complaint was that the liner of the dress was hanging longer than the dress so you could see it, but thank goodness for double sided tape, that seem to fix the issue good enough. (the size 6 also had the same issue with the liner hanging longer which I thought was kind of weird, maybe a flaw or something) Other than that the dress was amazing and it felt really good and comfortable to me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
December 16, 2012
Got so many compliments on the dress!
Wore it to my sorority formal- got a 2 and a 4, wore the 4 because the 2 was just tight enough that I couldn't zip up the last inch and a half. Overall pretty comfortable, although the underneath of my right arm got scratched up from the sequins and beading on the dress. Otherwise great, I loved the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
December 13, 2012
The arrival of the box! Too bad I couldn't wear the dress.
I wear a size 12 in all dresses and, after seeing the reviews that this dress is true to size, I was confident it would fit great. The hips were fine and actually very flattering but the bust area was not going to fit properly; I have broad shoulders so there were pulled areas in strange places and there was no way I was going to be able to wear it for any length of time. Very disappointing since the dress is stunning and even better in real life. The blush color is perfect and would have been so flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 12, 2012
Great Dress!
This was my first sequenced dress and I loved it! The dress was definitely more pink than the picture makes it look. It was more of a blush/mauve. I loved the sparkles and received compliments the entire night! It was a great dress to dance in, too!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 12, 2012
Great customer service, dress wasn't as wonderful
The dress wasn't in the best shape...missing a few sequins and stitching coming apart around the zipper. Luckily, I ordered a back up dress that worked wonderfully and RTR refunded the cost of this dress. Very impressed with them!
RTR CustomerDecember 14, 2012
We are so sorry to hear that your dress wasn't in perfect condition! We will look into this. If your dress is not in pristine condition or doesn't fit please contact a stylist at 1.800.509.0842 as soon as it arrives and we will get another dress out to you asap for your event!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 11, 2012
Winning homecoming queen was an unforgettable experience! The dress was the perfect touch!
I was a little iffy about wearing a sequence dress especially for homecoming. I thought it would be to edgy. But when I got the dress and tried it on, It was absolutely perfect! The dress had a very sophisticated and "sexy" look without being too revealing. I couldn't have picked a better dress for this event! It fit perfectly and even better, it came with an extra dress just in case! I don't know what I would have done without renttherunaway.com. The dress made my homecoming experience more exciting!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
December 11, 2012
Loved it! Got so many compliments.
The dress was true to size. I usually get a 2 and 4 in the event that the dress runs small but I was able to wear the 2 in this case. I loved the dress - only thing I would say is that the hem kept poking out so I had to use fabric tape to keep it from coming out.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 9, 2012
Elegant yet whimsical - the perfect party dress!
I wore this to a company holiday party on a Saturday night at a formal banquet hall - the classic shape of the dress was made exciting by the sparkle and shine for the holidays. I'm pretty curvy so was nervous that the dress might be too snug in the hips, but it was perfect. My husband asked how could keep the dress!! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
December 4, 2012
This dress is perfect for a black tie affair where you want to make a statement!
I rented both the 2 and 4. i planned to wear the 4 because of a very snug fit. at the last minute, i tried on the 2 and it fit a little better without being too snug. the dress is unique because it has bling but also give in the fabric. very comfortable and i loved showing shoulder but feeling like i had full coverage up top. if the dress wasn't so memorable, i'd definitely rent it again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
December 4, 2012
Got so many complements on the dress! The fit is very nice and very flattering on any body type!
The fit was very nice and being a little out of shape during the Holidays, it was still a very nice fit and very flattering. I would say the shade is a little different than it looks on the model and it is actually a better shade. It was very comfortable fit for most of the night and was easy to dance in!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 27, 2012
I had rented this dress along with another, I ended up going with the second choice
Beautiful dress! Just isn't made for someone with a larger chest. I'm a full C, and I could NOT get it to zip past my ribs.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 27, 2012
Pink and sparkly = perfect bachelorette dress!
Definitely a hot dress and perfect for the occasion! I agree with the other reviewers on the size 0 - the lining hung down below the hem of the dress. I didn't want to fuss with that, so I opted to go with the 2. It was a bit more of a conservative fit (less fitted, longer), but it still worked great.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
November 26, 2012
Was too big! Couldn't wear it!
Ordered it for a formal affair- tried it on, it was too big and fell off my shoulder!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Apple
November 20, 2012
Pretty but itchy and rids up
Rented it for a wedding. The color is a bit darker than the pic. I really liked the style but the fabric made me itch as soon as I put it on. And the top layer of the skirt kept riding up in the back whenever I moved, so I ended up not wearing it. I ordered a size 8 and 10... I normally wear a 10. Both fit tho the 10 was looser, but both sizes did the skirt issue as well as the itching. So I didn't up wearing this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 19, 2012
The 6 fit me perfectly and it looked amzing!!
the 6 fit like a glove, so i didn't even try on the 4. It was a hit at my formal and everyone loved it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 153lbs
November 19, 2012
The dress fit great. It does cling to your butt though!
Okay so here's the deal. I am an 8 on top and in btwn 10-8 on bottom. I went with the 10. Here's why. It was loose on top giving me a sexier feel as it hung from my shoulder. The bottom clings to you, and is fitted. So, if you are bigger on bottom, go with the bigger size. The dress does fit curves well. I could have done 8, but it would have emphasized my butt, especially in pictures !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
November 19, 2012
Compliments didn't stop coming. I looked and felt a million bucks!
Beautiful dress - very appropriate and stunning. I had everyone complimenting me and my dress. I bragged about RTW to a friend who said she also rents. I loved this dress!!!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 18, 2012
Beautiful sparkles!
This dress is really pretty, but runs pretty small. I ordered the 12 with a 10 as a back up. I think the 12 was mis-tagged as it was smaller than the 10......so needless to I was stuck wearing the 10 that was a little snug, but it worked. By the end of the party i could not wait to get it off. i will be contacting customer service to ask for some sort of credit.
See more reviews:
4 / 6
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×