Badgley Mischka

Starstruck Dress

$35 rental
$750 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Sparkle and shine in this Badgley Mischka asymmetric sequin dress. Go with Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Ring and Polished Crystal Drop Earrings to really turn heads when you walk into the party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - draped material conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Product Details

Blush sequins over silk(100% silk; lining: 100% polyester). One shoulder neckline. Draped ruffle side. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
230 reviews
Fit
Large
(19)
True to Size
(133)
Small
(68)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
April 11, 2013
LOVED this dress :)
Beautiful fit :) Definitely needed fashion tape or the lining would have been too long, but it worked really well and stayed the whole night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
April 14, 2013
Dress fit like a glove!
This dress was great! I usually wear a 6, but when I tried it on was very roomy and a little long. When I tried on the 4 the fit was great. I am 5'1'' so I was worried it would be too long, but the smaller size was shorter than the 6 so it was perfect. Its suppose to be bigger on top so having a bigger chest wasn't a problem! It does however fit very snug around the hips. The lining does stick out the bottom, but it just looks like part of the dress and no one else noticed. I loved this dress and would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 4, 2013
This dress is beautiful and very flattering! I got tons of compliments!
I loved this dress! The reason I gave it 4 stars is because it isn't gold like it looks in the photo. It's more of a rose/pink with bronzy sequins, so it can be hard to match with accessories. I like that it's not too short though. I am 5'10'' and it was the perfect length at mid thigh.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 18, 2013
Felt very glam!
I wore this to a fashion show and felt great. Lots of compliments... but...I've got a butt, so the sequin layer was kind of riding up a little and I found myself tugging on it throughout the night. I got the 8 & the 10, I normally wear an 8, and it "fit", but it was REALLY snug. The 10 felt better but was a little big under the arm, but I needed the room in the bottom.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 5, 2013
Everyone kept telling me I looked like Beyoncé! My favourite!!
I'm a little on the short side so it almost looked a bit frumpy but still beautiful! I think it would look amazing on tall girls!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
July 16, 2013
I was the shiniest one on the Boat!
This dress is prefect to hide all of my imperfections and its over the top cute as well! I would definitely suggest you rent this!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
July 23, 2013
Pretty dress
The slip did show at the bottom of the dress (as mentioned by some of the other reviews), but it didn't bother me. My under arm was a little scratched from the sequins. I would recommend this dress if you are not doing a lot of heavy dancing and partying. If you plan to move a lot, the sequins may rub your arm raw. Very pretty...lots of compliments. The dress is more pink/blush color in person.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 4, 2013
SO sparkly!
I rented this for a bachelorette party. The color was so flattering...it made me look really tan. I got compliments on the dress all night long. One girl insisted that I HAD to buy the dress. I will warn that the dress has virtually no give, so it can feel a bit tight when you are moving around a lot. The sequins around the neckline got a little scratchy, but that's kind of how it is with these types of dresses.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
August 4, 2013
pretty
I didn't end up wearing this dress as it looked too similar to the bridesmaid's dresses in the wedding
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 12, 2013
Fun, Sassy Dress
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding and I loved it! It was so fun and just the right amount of sexy. I'm short so I ended up taping up the hem but overall it fit great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 14, 2013
Fun Sparkly Number! Runs a little large.
I had a great time wearing this dress on my 22nd birthday! Really cute color of sequins. Badg&Misc know how to party. However, it runs a little large and has a slightly weird fit. There was some extra room on the side that sleeve was attached. But really cute if you want a looser fit. Definitely order a size smaller.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
September 9, 2013
Not flattering for bustier ladies
Rented this to wear to a wedding but found that it draped horribly on me. I have big boobs but still, this just was not the dress for met. Also, the fabric is very scratchy under the arms. Luckily I had a backup that I wore and loved.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 24, 2013
Very heavy dress, great for a winter event
Unfortunately I didn't get to wear this dress for the wedding. The zipper wasn't working properly on the size that fit, and the back up was too small. I would definitely recommend this for a winter event as it's very heavy! It would have been way too hot for a summer wedding in Virginia which is what I had rented it for. But, RTR was amazing and gave me a credit since the zipper was defective. Overall the dress was snug, so I would recommend getting a size bigger just to be safe.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
October 9, 2013
Loved this dress so much!
I wore this for my bachelorette, and it was perfect for it. The dress fit well- I wear sizes 8 or 10 and wore the 10 for this one. The only con was the sparkly/sequin layer rode up a little, so the sheath underneath kept showing. It didn't look bad, I just knew it wasn't supposed to be like that. Other than that, it was great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
October 13, 2013
This dress was awesome! Perfect for my event, and I got so many compliments!
This dress fit great! I had read some reviews where people were having issues with the lining sticking out, but mine didn't at all. It was easy to move around in the whole night, and so fun to wear! Loved it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
October 19, 2013
Dress was a stunner!
Was sent two size 12's and only one fit. Not sure what to make of that....I usually wear a 10 so I would say this dress ran a little small. Loved the cut...was very flattering and very comfortable! Compliments all night long!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 19, 2013
Fun for a great night out!
Super cute dress. I ordered both the 4 and the 6 and wore the 4. Definitely not a lot of give in the fabric. I am giving it four stars because the sequins underneath the open arm rubbed and scratched, but nothing unmanageable. Great first experience with RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 20, 2013
Black tie wedding - stalked RTR for weeks and felt starstruck all night! LOVED IT!
Black tie wedding and my husband was a groomsmen so I wanted to make sure I looked perfect for the special wedding! Ordered a size 4 (my regular size), went with a size 2 for backup (based on comments that the stomach area and top were a little loose. The size 2 fit perfectly. The only thing that was a bit of a problem was the sheer slip inside the dress. It looks like it supposed to hang a little below the hem but to be honest, it looked messy. I thought women would come up to me and tell me,"Hon, your slip is hanging out." So I rolled and taped (used the double sided tape for clothes) it underneath my boob line (super easy fix) and it stayed in place all night. Also, no strapless bra needed - the size 2 held everything in place. Received a TON of compliments --also rented the earrings: Crislu Teardrop Sparkle Earrings. So... when's my next wedding? Can't wait to rent AGAIN.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
November 12, 2013
Pretty dress, but I've seen better
I am typically a size 0. I ordered the size 0 and 2. The 0 was a little big on me, but wearable (mainly big in the top half). I tried on the 2 - it was questionably small. It was tight all around and at least a few inches shorter than the size 0. Either this was mislabeled or someone altered it before. It also had used double sided tape all over the inside of the dress and there were snags. Overall, the dress was pretty, but I've definitely seen better on me and better from rent the runway in general.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
November 23, 2013
Pretty Dress
I rented this dress as an option for my Brother's wedding reception party and it was tight in the bust, and washed me out (I'm a redhead so I'm super pale). But overall a pretty dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 8, 2013
It was a really fun dress with lots of sparkle!
It fit well and there is an additional panel of fabric that crosses over in front that can help hide any tummy issues. The lining was a bit of a problem because it hung down lower than the dress and I was unsure if it was meant to be that way, but that can be fixed with a bit of double-sided tape. I wore the dress with nude heels and a metallic clutch. It is a little hard to match jewelry with but rose gold earrings would work fine.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
December 8, 2013
I wore this for my engagement party and it was perfect for this special event!
Fit great and recommend this for women with fuller busts.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 162lbs
March 3, 2013
A stunning dress that will not be duplicated!
Runs small. Definitely order one size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
December 18, 2013
Sparkles, glamour, and more!
Loved this dress! I felt like a movie star. It fit well, and was perfect for the New Year's Eve party I wore it to.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
December 20, 2013
Adorable Dress, but small fit.
I ordered this dress in an 8 and a 10 and both sizes were too small. RTR was not able to send another dress since it was a Sat delivery, but I was provided a credit. If you are curvy or wide in the hips I would really recommend sizing up. I will rent this dress again in a 12.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
January 1, 2014
This dress is very flattering and forgiving.
It drapes over the body to hid your imperfections. What I didn't realize is that this dress actually has a hue of blush pink. Much nicer in person. LOVE.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
January 6, 2014
Loved the compliments!
The dress was very form fitting, which surprised me based on comments. I'm 5'6" and 125 pounds, and I wore the size 4. The lining stuck out a good 3 - 4 inches past the dress, so following other's advice, I used double-sided fashion tape to fix it. The rental experience, from delivery to drop-off was stress free and easy. I would do this again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 8, 2014
Beautiful Dress!
I loved this dress, but there were a few snags... it appeared that someone with a much larger bust wore the Size 2 dress before me, as it was pulled a bit around the bust area and the sequins cut into my arm for the majority of the evening, which was not very comfortable, but definitely able to deal with it for an evening. However, the dress was gorgeous and no one seemed to notice any of the issues I described above... I got many compliments on it! A great dress for NYE!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 23, 2014
Pretty but tight in the middle
Badgley Mischka is my favorite designer so I was very disappointed when the SIX (I usually wear a 4) was too small in tummy of this dress. This dress looks like it is more of a shift fit but it's not, it is tight all the way through your mid section and then it drapes right down the middle. I was looking for somethign a little looser because I wanted to be comfortable on new years. The dress was very pretty but it just didn't fit right.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
January 26, 2014
Sparkling 60's Glam for NYE
I wore this dress for a 60's themed New Years Eve gala and it was AMAZING! The fit of the dress was perfection! I ordered the 0 and 2 and wore the 0. It didn't hug the body too tight but was still stretchy, so I felt comfortable all night long and didn't worry about eating and drinking. It was the perfect dress the dance in and have a good time. Also, the sequins didn't itch like I thought they were going to, so that was a plus.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
February 3, 2014
Gorgerous Dress, Crazy Small
This dress was incredibly small.. the 14 was way to short and skin tight. Needless to say, I went with the back up option provided by RTR, but I wouldn't recommend this for curvy girls who usually wear 8-12.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 11, 2014
NYE sparkle
Fun dress, fit snug, but that might have been because of the holiday goodies before wearing it out on NYE, overall loved wearing this dress and dancing the night away.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 1, 2014
Order a Size Up:)
Great dress! Be sure to have fashion tape ready as the lining in the dress tends to hand out longer than the dress. I would suggest ordering a size up because it can fit pretty tightly. But a beautiful dress and I got lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
March 2, 2014
Gorgeous fabric, easy-wearing style
This dress was dramatic with its blush pink color that would look great on almost any skin tone, perfectly embroidered sequins, and dramatic one-shoulder drape. The fit was very forgiving. It is tight only on the hips. I am 34/28/37, and the size 2 was just barely wearable across my hips. The 4 fit better there but was too big everywhere else. This would be a great choice for a busty apple body type, because there was easily two inches of "ease" at the bust and plenty of room in the waist. I felt no discomfort with the sequins. Loved this dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 19, 2014
Gorgeous blush color! First Rental, Not the last!
I felt like a goddess in this dress. It ran small since I am usually a size 6 but wore a size 4. The hem line kept running down but I corrected it with fashion tape. I would def recommend this dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
March 22, 2014
I chose the dress to wear to my senior homecoming in highschool. Runs small.
#homecoming The dress fits a size smaller than planned. Inside of the dress is a tad bit longer than the outside. Not that noticeable if you wear the right size but if the dress is too small you can tell.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 7, 2014
Not quite my style!
I usually wear an 8, but couldn't zip it up. I called Customer Service to get a larger size - they were great to work with - and they sent a 10. Even that was a bit snug, and was very short. Like others, when the dress was on, the lining ran longer than the dress - i think it looks like it is supposed to! Order up 2 sizes, and you should be fine!
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 11, 2014
Cool dress - way too small
I rented this for my bachelorette party. I usually wear a size 10 or 12 in dress, so I ordered a 12 and 14. I could barely squeeze into the 14, even with Spanx. The flap does cover some tummy issues, but it was tight, and because of that rode up all night. I had to keep stuffing the lining in the bottom of my Spanx (classy, huh?) just to keep them out of sight. I should have gotten some fashion tape but didn't think about it in time. The side without the drape did rub under my arm all night, and in the morning I had the red scratches to prove it! Overall it was pretty, very sparkly, and I had fun regardless. But I wish I would have had a backup.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 16, 2014
Wore this dress to my sorority formal and it was perfect! Just sparkly enough and really stood out.
I know some people mentioned having trouble with the lining of the dress showing, but I actually kind of liked it sticking out, and found that the overall dress fit better with the sparkly layer pulled up a little higher than the lining. It looked completely intentional and was one of my favorite things about the dress! Also the cut of the neckline makes the dress extremely versatile as far as undergarments, no worries about a strapless bra showing. Got SO many compliments on this dress. If you're on the fence, GET IT!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
May 19, 2014
Runs small!!!
I rented this for my bachelorette party.... Disappointing to say the least. It didn't fit at all and it has no stretch. The stylist told me it wasn't fitted at the hips.... It definitely is! Please size up!!!
See more reviews:
3 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×