Badgley Mischka

Starstruck Dress

$35 rental
$750 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Sparkle and shine in this Badgley Mischka asymmetric sequin dress. Go with Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Ring and Polished Crystal Drop Earrings to really turn heads when you walk into the party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - draped material conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Product Details

Blush sequins over silk(100% silk; lining: 100% polyester). One shoulder neckline. Draped ruffle side. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
231 reviews
Fit
Large
(19)
True to Size
(133)
Small
(69)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
September 22, 2012
Just did not work out.

This dress is NOT for ladies with curves. I usually wear a 10, and I couldn't even wear the size 12. It is so narrow in the hips and tight around the tummy-- not a forgiving dress at all. Plus, when I was trying it on, the sequins were very scratchy under the arms! It is a very pretty color though.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
September 28, 2012
I had to return it and never got to wear it.

The dress couldn't even fit over my head. It seemed like it wasn't labeled with the correct size and looked more like a size 2 than a size 12.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126lbs
October 15, 2012
Beautiful dress

The sequins are a little uncomfortable, definitely don't wear this dress to any type of theater date where you want to be more comfortable. It is best sitting up straight or standing.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 18, 2012
Loved it!

Received many compliments on this dress. It does run pretty form fitting, so going a size up from your usual size is suggested.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
October 31, 2012
wasn't a fan of this dress

way too short and too small, fabric didn't look right on my body

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 18, 2012
Beautiful sparkles!

This dress is really pretty, but runs pretty small. I ordered the 12 with a 10 as a back up. I think the 12 was mis-tagged as it was smaller than the 10......so needless to I was stuck wearing the 10 that was a little snug, but it worked. By the end of the party i could not wait to get it off. i will be contacting customer service to ask for some sort of credit.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 12, 2012
Great customer service, dress wasn't as wonderful

The dress wasn't in the best shape...missing a few sequins and stitching coming apart around the zipper. Luckily, I ordered a back up dress that worked wonderfully and RTR refunded the cost of this dress. Very impressed with them!

RTR CustomerDecember 12, 2012
We are so sorry to hear that your dress wasn't in perfect condition! We will look into this. If your dress is not in pristine condition or doesn't fit please contact a stylist at 1.800.509.0842 as soon as it arrives and we will get another dress out to you asap for your event!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 168lbs
December 13, 2012
The arrival of the box! Too bad I couldn't wear the dress.

I wear a size 12 in all dresses and, after seeing the reviews that this dress is true to size, I was confident it would fit great. The hips were fine and actually very flattering but the bust area was not going to fit properly; I have broad shoulders so there were pulled areas in strange places and there was no way I was going to be able to wear it for any length of time. Very disappointing since the dress is stunning and even better in real life. The blush color is perfect and would have been so flattering.

Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 168lbs
February 21, 2013
Nice, but not for me!

I saw this and love the look. Got it deliivered in two sizes. tried on the the larger size and it was really tight. Thank God I brought a back up dress just in case. Next time I guess I should talk to someone before I order.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 9, 2014
Beautiful blush color and classy sparkle, perfect fore New Year's Eve

This dress is absolutely beautiful, you glow in it. Absolutely perfect for a New Year's Eve dress. It is a little narrow through the hips, and I would advise ordering one size up as your back-up.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
April 25, 2014
Back up dress that wasn't used.

Beautiful color but tight around the waist when I tried it on.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
June 4, 2014
The customer service is so wonderful!

Contrary to other reviews NOT good for girls with any tummy issues. Good for curvy girls with flat stomachs though and the silk lining makes this dress feel wonderful on. Also even in the appropriate size it rode up one constantly which doesn't work for me as a performer. This dress is a cool pink color. It would be stunning on the right girl!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
June 16, 2014
Gorgeous dress just didn't fit :(

This dress was a stunner but unfortunately it didn't fit me. I couldn't even get it up over my thigh. I would totally rent this again if it came in a bigger size.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
August 5, 2014
Great dress, but runs way too small.

The dress is beautiful, but you should definitely order it a size (or two!) larger than you think you are. It was so tight I wasn't able to get it over my hips, and ended up having to wear a completely different dress. The material is very lightweight, the sequins shimmer wonderfully - I wish it would have fit!

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 185lbs
January 6, 2015
Rented for New Year's Eve.

This dress absolutely does not run big. If anything, it runs small. I rented the 12 and the 10. My friend who came to my house wearing a size 5 dress ended up wearing the 10 (it fit....). It's a beautiful dress, but do not size down!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
March 19, 2015
it was unforgettable because it was the worste online ordering experiance ive ever had ;(

This dress did NOT fit like a size 12, i also did not recieve the back up size dress and could not get this one over my head. I let the site know it did not fit and was not refunded because i needed to keep the other dress i paid for ;( Terrible first experiance with rtr . will NOT use again

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 1, 2015
Beautiful!!

This is a beautiful dress but you definitely need to get a size larger for your back up size. I usually wear a 6 and this just barely fit me. I ordered a 4 as a backup and there was no way I could even get into it. The only down fall is that the lining refused to stay hidden no matter what we did to try and fix it. We used to safety pins and double stick tape and still it showed. I wanted to cut it off.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
November 4, 2017
I usually wear a 10/12 but even the 12 was too small for me. I ended up wearing a back up dress.

Wasn't able to wear, runs small.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
May 9, 2016
Gorgeous but a bit itchy

Loved this dress but was a bit itchy. I wore it to a wedding and felt sparkly and pretty. Loved it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 1, 2012
This was my sixth or so RTR rental and I was not disappointed. I spoke to a stylist online to make sure that the fit would be right, and they were pretty accurate with their advice. The dress arrived on time and came with a fun NYE crown! I love RTR because they don't forget the details.

I chose this dress for a New Year's Eve party on the Upper East Side in Manhattan and it couldn't have been more appropriate for the occasion. I wanted sequins, but didn't want anything to be too "loud." The silvery pink shimmer on this dress was very appropriate and had a great, sophisticated sparkle. The fit was excellent. I'm 5'4 and the length hit right above the knee. The drapes are overall flattering, although the inside of the fabric without sequins does tend to reveal itself below the sleeved arm. There were a lot of gals at the party who wore sequins that night (after all, it's the new black) but this dress definitely stood out and was noticed. The hostess gave compliments not once, but twice!

View photos (3)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
January 2, 2012
NYE Dress

I rented this dress for NYE and loved it. I received a ton of compliments. I'm 6 feet tall and the length of the dress was perfect; it wasn't too short.

YolandaJanuary 2, 2012
i am considering getting a 12 or 14 in this dress because i have a larger midsection/bust! :( but i am however only 5'2. would you recommend this dress for my height since you are much taller and purchased the size 12?
RTRJanuary 2, 2012
Hi Yolanda! If you are 5'2" this dress will fall below your knee!
ShelleyJanuary 2, 2012
Hi! I know that short is relative...I'm 5'11", my legs and torso are pretty proportionate, with my legs possibly being slightly longer. I was hoping not to get a dress shorter than my mid-thigh. Is that about where it hit you? (you're the only tall review ;-)) I also have a large bust. Did you have room in the 12?
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 2, 2012
The great service and outcome of the dress. Perfect!

I rented this dress for New Years 2012 and I couldn't have asked for a better dress. I'm 5'9, 150 lbs and wear a 36B and the size 6 fit perfectly. The color against my skin was gorgeous. I would 100% recommend this dress! Also, I loved the service. So simple and easy. Will most definitely be renting again!

LeslieJanuary 2, 2012
So beautiful!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 7, 2012
putting on my dress with the complete look, hair, makeup and everything it was perfect!!

I wanted to shine for my 30th birthday benefit, my friend that I was co-hosting the party with ordered a dress from the rent the runway, also a Badgely Mishka, and I had to too, BEST DECISION EVER MADE!!!! I absolutely loved the dress it accentuated my curves and I got tons of compliments all night long. One thing though it was big on top, but a pin helped that out too. I would still recommend this dress to any lady that wants to feel like a true star for that special occasion. My only gripe was that someone messed up the slip and towards the end of the night it kept on slipping out, but double-sided tape can help that. In 2 of the other pics is my friend that I threw the party with in her BM dress too! Hope this helps. Fashionwithaconscience.org

View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
February 15, 2012
Not for petites

This is a beautiful dress but not sized for petites. I tried on the 0 and oddly enough it was too small and the lining was longer than the actual dress. Thankfully I had the size 2 as a back up.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 15, 2012
Loved this dress!

Beautiful dress. I rented this dress for the Grammy Awards and it was perfect. The color in person is more of a rose gold than a true gold. I wore nude shoes and rose gold jewelry. If I'd had more time I would have preferred a shoe closer to the dress color but nude was fine. My only complaint about the dress is that the lining kept peeking out from the bottom of the dress. I thought maybe it was too small so I tried the 6 as well and the same thing happened so it must just be made that way.

Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
February 16, 2012
Bachelorette Party Dress

This was such a fun dress to wear for my Bachelorette Party in Vegas! The dress was somewhat true to size, but tight through the waist and hip with a lot of room in the bust.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 17, 2012
Perfection!

I absolutely adore this dress! I wore it to my sorority formal and felt so beautiful. The dress is comfortable and very figure flattering. I would recommend it to anyone.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
February 23, 2012
Feeling glamorous.

Loved this dress! felt glamorous and got many compliments. Definitely eyecatching. Sheath underneath kept peeking out at times.

View photos (3)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 23, 2012
I think the concept of RTR is genius! My friends loved this dress. I got lots of compliments. When I told them where I got it, they were surprised. Most had never heard of RTR before. We are now actually planning a RTR party for next year, just so we can have an excuse to wear gorgeous dresses.

This was one of two dresses I rented. I wound up wearing this one to my party. At first I wasn't going to wear it at all, based on the color. I was expecting a blush pink, but it is actually more of a mauve/purple (!) A good friend talked me into wearing it, and I'm glad she did. It was gorgeous, as long as I concentrated on the sequins and not the mauve. The top was baggy (odd, since I'm a 32G). I tried the fashion tape that came with the rental, but that didn't work. I adjusted the dress a bit by pulling the shoulder part slightly off shoulder and that seemed to tighten the bust on the opposite side for me.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
March 29, 2012
Gorgeous dress

I ended up choosing another dress from my order to wear for a NYE party (black with sequins it went with the vibe of the party better) but this was gorgeous and pretty on and I will rent it again!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 6, 2012
the breeze of shopping for a dress!

absolutley beautiful!i used this dress for prom and it was great knowing nobody else would have the same dress on

View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 15, 2012
I rented this dress for my sorority formal. It was a great night with friends and the dress was fantastic! People loved the sparkles.

Loved it and got a lot of compliments. If you are looking for fit guidance, it is fitted through the hips and thighs and the fabric doesn't have much stretch, so I opted for the 6 over the 4 (I am kinda between sizes). It is definitely longer in person than it looks on the model. It hit me closer to mid-thigh, maybe a 2-3 inches above the knee (I am 5' 9"). It also is a little bit darker than in the pictures (some of the sequins are bronze). Great dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
May 25, 2012
Awesome!

I rented this dress for my bachelorette party in Vegas and I felt amazing! Will definitely rent for other occasions again. This dress is true to fit.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 6, 2012
Stunning Dress for a formal occasion. Felt like I was really well dressed!

I wore this dress for an evening wedding. Got lots of compliments, dress felt great and allowed me to move and dance all night. I could have used size 8 but have a feeling it would have been too large on the upper body. Definitely recommend this dress and hope to rent it again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163lbs
June 10, 2012
I received the dresses on time and it fit perfectly. All the complements made me feel like the belle of the ball and people couldn't believe it was rented!

I usually wear a 10 but the 8 fit perfectly! I received so many complements at the parents formal I attended. Color is a little more pink then the photo and the gold muted but gold jewelry went well. I have a large chest and it fit like a glove, I'm a very happy with RTR!!!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
June 25, 2012
Great customer service when the date of the formal got changed, and I had to call them freaking out that the dress wouldn't be available! It was, and I was so grateful!

Wore this dress to my sorority formal and received so many compliments! Ran slightly small through the chest, but loved the end result!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
August 5, 2012
It is so nice using RTR when you are traveling because wherever you are, you just need a mailbox to return the dresses. Very convenient! And amazing choices.

I wore this to a very formal summer gala and recieved many, many compliments! It fit perfectly and I was comfotable the entire night. I am normally a size 4 in dresses but the 4 was too large under the arms so I ordered a 2 just in case and it fit just right. I am 5'10'', 128 lbs and the dress wasn't too short either. I would recommend this dress x1000 to everyone!

MeganAugust 5, 2012
What is the actual color, gold, silver, blush it looks different in every picture. Thanks
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
August 23, 2012
This dress is truly amazing. It made my night so special and I felt so beautiful in it.

I rented this for my 21st birthday party and was so pleased with it. It runs pretty true to size. I rented a 2 and it fit like a glove. The only problem I had with it was that the hem was slightly shorter than the lining. But this problem was easily solved with the garment tape that RTR sends with it. Overall I had a blast and loved the dress.

biancaAugust 23, 2012
if you have big hips is this a bad dress to wear? or will it look fine?
RTRAugust 23, 2012
Hi Bianca! This dress will be extremely flattering if you have big hips! It is a very easy fit and looks great on just about everyone!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
September 10, 2012
Pretty dress

Arrived the day before the event as planned. Tried on size 8 - fit was perfect. Only problem was the underlay extended beyond the hem of the dress by at least 2 inches. I called RTR and the customer service wad superb! They overnighted me a new size 8 which arrived the morning of the event. The underlay was still an issue but not nearly as bad on the replacement dress. The color of this dress is a beautiful blush color.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 15, 2012
It was my 30th Birthday party and the theme was "Glittery 30" Lots of compliments!

Fit was great through waist and thighs, but a bit big through chest. This is a common problem I have being small busted. Still felt amazing in it!

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×