Rent the Runway

Badgley Mischka

Starstruck Dress

$35 rental
$750 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Sparkle and shine in this Badgley Mischka asymmetric sequin dress. Go with Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Ring and Polished Crystal Drop Earrings to really turn heads when you walk into the party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - draped material conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - draped material conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Blush sequins over silk(100% silk; lining: 100% polyester). One shoulder neckline. Draped ruffle side. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

221 reviews

Fit
Small 65
True to Size 129
Large 19
Photos 127
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Jan 1, 2012

This was my sixth or so RTR rental and I was not disappointed. I spoke to a stylist online to make sure that the fit would be right, and they were pretty accurate with their advice. The dress arrived on time and came with a fun NYE crown! I love RTR because they don't forget the details.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I chose this dress for a New Year's Eve party on the Upper East Side in Manhattan and it couldn't have been more appropriate for the occasion. I wanted sequins, but didn't want anything to be too "loud." The silvery pink shimmer on this dress was very appropriate and had a great, sophisticated sparkle. The fit was excellent. I'm 5'4 and the length hit right above the knee. The drapes are overall flattering, although the inside of the fabric without sequins does tend to reveal itself below the sleeved arm. There were a lot of gals at the party who wore sequins that night (after all, it's the new black) but this dress definitely stood out and was noticed. The hostess gave compliments not once, but twice!
Katrina
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 2, 2012

The great service and outcome of the dress. Perfect!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for New Years 2012 and I couldn't have asked for a better dress. I'm 5'9, 150 lbs and wear a 36B and the size 6 fit perfectly. The color against my skin was gorgeous. I would 100% recommend this dress! Also, I loved the service. So simple and easy. Will most definitely be renting again!
Nono
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 7, 2012

putting on my dress with the complete look, hair, makeup and everything it was perfect!!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wanted to shine for my 30th birthday benefit, my friend that I was co-hosting the party with ordered a dress from the rent the runway, also a Badgely Mishka, and I had to too, BEST DECISION EVER MADE!!!! I absolutely loved the dress it accentuated my curves and I got tons of compliments all night long. One thing though it was big on top, but a pin helped that out too. I would still recommend this dress to any lady that wants to feel like a true star for that special occasion. My only gripe was that someone messed up the slip and towards the end of the night it kept on slipping out, but double-sided tape can help that. In 2 of the other pics is my friend that I threw the party with in her BM dress too! Hope this helps. Fashionwithaconscience.org
Emily
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 16, 2012

I felt beautiful and full of confidence for a very special night!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to my engagement party in January. It is so beautiful! I looked amazing in it! It fits like a glove! I was worried the sequins might itch, but they did not at all. I received tons of complements. I definitely recommend renting this dress.
Eliza
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 23, 2012

Feeling glamorous.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! felt glamorous and got many compliments. Definitely eyecatching. Sheath underneath kept peeking out at times.
Tiffany
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 23, 2012

I think the concept of RTR is genius! My friends loved this dress. I got lots of compliments. When I told them where I got it, they were surprised. Most had never heard of RTR before. We are now actually planning a RTR party for next year, just so we can have an excuse to wear gorgeous dresses.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was one of two dresses I rented. I wound up wearing this one to my party. At first I wasn't going to wear it at all, based on the color. I was expecting a blush pink, but it is actually more of a mauve/purple (!) A good friend talked me into wearing it, and I'm glad she did. It was gorgeous, as long as I concentrated on the sequins and not the mauve. The top was baggy (odd, since I'm a 32G). I tried the fashion tape that came with the rental, but that didn't work. I adjusted the dress a bit by pulling the shoulder part slightly off shoulder and that seemed to tighten the bust on the opposite side for me.
Amelia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 6, 2012

the breeze of shopping for a dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
absolutley beautiful!i used this dress for prom and it was great knowing nobody else would have the same dress on
S
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
May 15, 2012

I rented this dress for my sorority formal. It was a great night with friends and the dress was fantastic! People loved the sparkles.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved it and got a lot of compliments. If you are looking for fit guidance, it is fitted through the hips and thighs and the fabric doesn't have much stretch, so I opted for the 6 over the 4 (I am kinda between sizes). It is definitely longer in person than it looks on the model. It hit me closer to mid-thigh, maybe a 2-3 inches above the knee (I am 5' 9"). It also is a little bit darker than in the pictures (some of the sequins are bronze). Great dress!
Leti
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 6, 2012

Stunning Dress for a formal occasion. Felt like I was really well dressed!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for an evening wedding. Got lots of compliments, dress felt great and allowed me to move and dance all night. I could have used size 8 but have a feeling it would have been too large on the upper body. Definitely recommend this dress and hope to rent it again!
Allie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163 lbs
Jun 10, 2012

I received the dresses on time and it fit perfectly. All the complements made me feel like the belle of the ball and people couldn't believe it was rented!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a 10 but the 8 fit perfectly! I received so many complements at the parents formal I attended. Color is a little more pink then the photo and the gold muted but gold jewelry went well. I have a large chest and it fit like a glove, I'm a very happy with RTR!!!
Kate
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Jun 25, 2012

Great customer service when the date of the formal got changed, and I had to call them freaking out that the dress wouldn't be available! It was, and I was so grateful!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this dress to my sorority formal and received so many compliments! Ran slightly small through the chest, but loved the end result!
Amber
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 5, 2012

It is so nice using RTR when you are traveling because wherever you are, you just need a mailbox to return the dresses. Very convenient! And amazing choices.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a very formal summer gala and recieved many, many compliments! It fit perfectly and I was comfotable the entire night. I am normally a size 4 in dresses but the 4 was too large under the arms so I ordered a 2 just in case and it fit just right. I am 5'10'', 128 lbs and the dress wasn't too short either. I would recommend this dress x1000 to everyone!
Carolyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 20, 2014

Flattering dress, comfortable fit!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This dress fit beautifully, very flattering. The zipper was difficult, I think due to having been worn many times, but the dress was awesome!
Scotsbabe
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 66
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Jun 3, 2014

Very pretty color and very sparkly!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Run a little small in the hips for me, but I have a butt! So sparkly I got lots of compliments x
SongBird
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175 lbs
Jun 4, 2014

The customer service is so wonderful!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Contrary to other reviews NOT good for girls with any tummy issues. Good for curvy girls with flat stomachs though and the silk lining makes this dress feel wonderful on. Also even in the appropriate size it rode up one constantly which doesn't work for me as a performer. This dress is a cool pink color. It would be stunning on the right girl!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113 lbs
Jun 6, 2014

Too big

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I couldn't wear this dress :( I tried on both the 0 and 2, both were way too big and looked like potato sacks. Shame, it's a beautiful, sparkly dress otherwise.
Asr
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 175 lbs
Jun 15, 2014

I rented this as a backup and it didn't fit at all, so I didn't wear it.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Was much smaller fitting than I expected
Angie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Jun 16, 2014

Gorgeous dress just didn't fit :(

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress was a stunner but unfortunately it didn't fit me. I couldn't even get it up over my thigh. I would totally rent this again if it came in a bigger size.
Nancy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Jul 2, 2014

This is a very pretty dress. I received several complements wearing this.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Completely satisfied.
Becky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 8, 2014

Did not wear it

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I'm usually between an 8 and 10. Rented both the 10 and 12 because of the reviews. The 10 didn't fit over my hips and the 12 would barely go over my hips but couldn't zip up in the rib cage/chest area. I was really disappointed because the dress looked great in the pictures posted and I wanted to wear this for my bachelorette party. Two friends (who are smaller than me) tried on the 10 and they could barely get it on. The dress is definitely more rose colored than it appears in the RTR model picture.
Kaliyan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 15, 2014

it fits very well

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
love the sparkling this dress brings!
M
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 20, 2014

Super sparkly!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was true to size. The 4 was snug and a strapless bra works perfectly. It's more sparkly than it seems in the pictures - the sequins are also a bit bigger than I was expecting, but it looks great in photos. The inner lining like others have mentioned popped out at the bottom but a bit of fashion tape kept it hidden. Highly recommend for a fancy and fun occasion!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108 lbs
Jul 26, 2014

A lot of fabric for a petite person, but pretty color!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my backup dress for a black tie event. I loved the dress on the hanger, but the lining came out of the bottom (you can see it in other pictures). That's not supposed to happen. Maybe from dry cleaning? The fit was funky on me -- the draped fabric was too much and I seemed to be in between sizes. Still a pretty dress, just not for me.
Daniele
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127 lbs
Jul 29, 2014

I love that you can get a back up dress. RTR rocks

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit perfect. I rented this as my backup and I didn't have to wear it.
Mia
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
Aug 5, 2014

Great dress, but runs way too small.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress is beautiful, but you should definitely order it a size (or two!) larger than you think you are. It was so tight I wasn't able to get it over my hips, and ended up having to wear a completely different dress. The material is very lightweight, the sequins shimmer wonderfully - I wish it would have fit!
swetha
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 24, 2014

I wore this dress to a dance party. Easy to dance in and got so many compliments.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits true to size. Glamorous dress. Use fashion tape to hide the slip and just enjoy being in it.
Amanda
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 13, 2014

A really gorgeous dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really loved this dress, but the lining was incredibly distracting throughout the night. Definitely a bit more purple-y pink than it looks in the photos.
Andrea
Top Contributor
Age: 35
Sep 19, 2014

I was really impressed with the quality of service from RTR. Will definitely rent again!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I really liked this dress, but it was a little short for me, so I didn't end up wearing it. The lining stuck out quite a bit, but could have been fixed with a safety pin or fashion tape. Beautiful dress- sad it didn't work out.
Arley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Sep 21, 2014

Size mis-labeled?

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I think this dress must have had the wrong size sewn in it somehow. It was teeny tiny but labeled a 12. My friend who is a size 4 tried it on and it fit her perfectly. This isn't just a "runs small" situation. It did look beautiful on her though!
Melissa
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 167 lbs
Sep 30, 2014

Looks great on the hanger but material didn't have any give to it.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Size 10 ran small and the material didn't have any give to it. The 12 was even smaller than the 10! Had to call for a different dress.
Bullet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

Beautiful dress

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was unable to wear this beautiful dress. It runs small. Length was perfect though.
Lane
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 15
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 25, 2014

Beautiful

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore it to my homecoming, and i loved it! It was very sparkly, and not too short, being that I'm 5'10. I loved it!
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 19, 2014

it was a bit bigger than i expected but i loved it all the same.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

Wore this to a 70's themed Disco Holiday Party. Totally fit the part!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I normally wear a size 2 - but with the one shoulder and the bust on the dress I had to size up to a 4. Overall nice dress but the lining does pop out longer than the dress itself. Either bring some hem tape with you or rock the exposed slip like I did - no one seemed to notice it wasn't the ideal "look" for the dress. For a 70's themed party it was great - while everyone wore gold or silver the blush pink was a nice stand out.
Mary
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 10, 2014

Beautiful dress, but I never got to wear it out because it was much too big.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I am 5'1", 105 lbs. I ordered the size 0 with back up size 2. I am very small on the top, but larger on the bottom, so I wanted to be sure I got two sizes just in case. Well, the 0 was too big in the top. I would say I probably could have had the top taken in about an inch or two, but since it was a rental I could not. The dress is BEAUTIFUL, but if you are a small person then it very well may not work for you.
Brynn
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 185 lbs
Jan 6, 2015

Rented for New Year's Eve.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress absolutely does not run big. If anything, it runs small. I rented the 12 and the 10. My friend who came to my house wearing a size 5 dress ended up wearing the 10 (it fit....). It's a beautiful dress, but do not size down!
sarah
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
Mar 18, 2015

I rented this to work Prom at my school and got a ton of compliments :)

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
beautiful dress, and comfy. a little baggy on the side without the shoulder strap if you're small in the bust (seemed to run a little big)
Tabitha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 19, 2015

it was unforgettable because it was the worste online ordering experiance ive ever had ;(

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress did NOT fit like a size 12, i also did not recieve the back up size dress and could not get this one over my head. I let the site know it did not fit and was not refunded because i needed to keep the other dress i paid for ;( Terrible first experiance with rtr . will NOT use again
Holly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 28, 2015

Cute dress, but weird fit.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for a formal event, and was unable to wear it. I rented size 2 and 4. The 2 fit my body, but the slip underneath the dress hung out the bottom, and the 4 was too big. It is a cute dress, but did not work for me.
Sandy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 1, 2015

Beautiful!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a beautiful dress but you definitely need to get a size larger for your back up size. I usually wear a 6 and this just barely fit me. I ordered a 4 as a backup and there was no way I could even get into it. The only down fall is that the lining refused to stay hidden no matter what we did to try and fix it. We used to safety pins and double stick tape and still it showed. I wanted to cut it off.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×