Badgley Mischka

Sparkle in the Sky Dress

$30 – $40 rental
$540 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Have everyone in envy at the party when you walk in wearing this eye catching Badgley Mischka sequin sheath. Earrings like the Gerad Yosca's Crystal Clear Nouveau Drops and Lauren Merkin's Gold Eve Clutch is all you need to complete this celebrity chic look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - very fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Cream lace with sequins. V neckline. Tie waist with embellishment. Back slit. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
225 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(91)
Small
(123)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
March 4, 2014
Very pretty and classy dress that helped me stand out from the typical black at a work party!
The dress is elegant and has subtle glitter that is fun but not gaudy. The belt on the dress is very beautiful. The lining on the dress does peak out from the bottom ,but it is obvious this was the look the designer was trying to achieve. I don't think it made the dress look worse. Overall, I thought the dress was beautiful and I am very happy I wore it. Fit: I usually wear between a 6-8, and wore the 8. I think the 8 was most certainly a smaller 8. I have broad shoulders, so the dress was a little tight on them. I would definitely recommend sizing up. It's a good length too! Fun, but not too short for a work function, and I'm 5'7. Fabric: The dress is overall beautiful, and catches light wonderfully. The ribbon on the belt on the 8 had been creased in half, which was a little odd. However, when tied, it was not really a huge factor. The sparkles are slightly itchy on the underarms, but I think this is bc it was a little snug on my shoulders.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 11, 2014
Super Tight
I've worn Bagdley Mischka before in a size 4, but this dress was so tight, I didn't even try to zip it up! While it looks shimmery in the picture, the fabric is more like a crochet, kindof woven. It's not very sparkly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
March 13, 2014
Sassy number for a wedding.
The dress is beautiful--the color, the details, the jeweled encrusted waistband. It'd be perfect for anyone 5'2 or shorter. I'm 5'3 and had to constantly pull the dress down because it got inappropriate. The delivery got a little shaken since the UPS guy left it with a neighbor of mine instead of inside the lobby. It became an inconvenience because I had a flight to catch and neighbor was at the movies. Had to reschedule my flight to leave the next day. That's all to say, that the UPS delivery folks should drop off at address and not require a signature.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
March 28, 2014
I didn't end up wearing this dress and left town before I could get a replacement
The torso of the dress fit wonderfully, but the bust/sleeves fit oddly and pulled on my 36DDD bust. Also, it was so much shorter than I expected, the slit in the back went up to my panties!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
March 29, 2014
great dresses to choose from
The rent the runway team did an excellent job of sending me a new dress in a timely fashion since the sparkle in the sky dress ran SOOO small
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 9, 2014
this dress is amazing!!! I got so many compliments- felt like a movie star but it is very small
I usually wear a 10-12 and had to go up to 16 to have some room!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 16, 2014
Gorgeous dress, but couldn't wear it due to cut.
The dress is extremely pretty, it just did to fit my body type. It is extremely unforgiving and if you have a but it will be barely covered. I wish I could have been able to fit the dress.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 167lbs
April 22, 2014
I did not end up wearing the dress even though it was lovely.
The fit was much too constricting in the bust. I have a large chest but there was no wiggle room whatsoever. I normally wear a size 10 dress but go up to a 12 for my bust. The 12 was way too tight and this dress has no stretch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
April 22, 2014
Perfect for a party. Loved the sparkle.
This dress runs small. The sequins and belt were gorgeous, and I got a lot of compliments. I was not pleased with the quality of the dress though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 6, 2014
I didn't end up wearing this dress for my engagement party.
I usually wear a 2 or 4 in dresses, so I ordered each of these sizes. The 2 was a bit too snug on the hips/butt area, so I thought the 4 would fit perfectly. Wrong. The 4 was even smaller than the 2. I couldn't even get it on! So I was unable to wear this dress at all because of the odd sizing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
May 12, 2014
I loved this dress but order a couple sizes larger as it runs small ion chest and arms
loved this dress, but should have ordered a couple sizes bigger for some room
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 13, 2014
wedding for a great friend
I didn't end up wearing - dress was kind of wrinkled.
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
June 6, 2014
Way too small and NOT for busty girls
I was so disappointed when this dress arrived. It is very beautiful, and fit me perfectly, until the zipper reached my bust. Not for girls with full busts like many of the reviews said.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
June 8, 2014
Compliments, compliments. Everyone loved the dress!
Glad I ordered up a size. Usually in 0-2 and had to wear the 4 because it was more comfortable and got perfectly! I used double sides tape to tack up the lining at the hemline, it really did look better that way.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
July 7, 2014
I didn't wear the dress but it was a beautiful one!
I didn't wear the dress because it was skittle smaller that I expected and the slit in the dress under neath was longer the one over it so you would be pulling your dress down all night. But the dress was beautiful just not right for the occasion and just seemed like to much work to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
August 4, 2014
Bachlorette party
This was a beautiful dress but was a small 6 for me. I did not get to wear it that night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
September 3, 2014
This dress is gorgeous but the 12 definitely was more like a 10. Order up!
Very snug and the top layer tends to ride up, exposing a chunk of the slip underneath. But a beautiful dress nonetheless.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 21, 2013
Pretty, flattering dress. Lots of compliments :)
I would say this runs only slightly small., but definitely order up for your backup. I am usually a 4, sometimes a 6 and the 6 fit like a glove. I didn't even bother trying the 4 on. The color is on the spectrum between champagne and gold. Whoever had it before had taped up the hem of the lining so that fixed that problem. The lining would have hung below the fabric of the dress otherwise, which I don't think would have looked as nice. I added a flapper-style head piece and long pearls to wear this to a Gatsby-themed party.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 5, 2014
The bride wanted us to wear champagne colored dresses and I really loved the look of the dress!
It really does run small, I am typically a 2 and even the 4 I received was really too small. I didn't like the slip hanging out the bottom so I did pin that up, and the dress was a little shorter than I would have preferred. Especially since there is a slit in the back. I still loved the dress, and if i had ordered it earlier and been able to get a size 6 as a back up I think it would have been perfect.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 10, 2014
WONDERFUL DRESS for any occasion!
I loved this dress! I wore it for the 48th Annual Country Music Awards in Nashville, and it was PERFECT! The only reason I did not give it 5/5 stars is that it ran small. (Luckily, I read prior reviews to know to get a full size up!) I am usually a 4 or 6, but I definitely needed an 8 on this dress. I could have even wore a 10. I do tend to be on the chesty side, but the length was also very short, so the extra material/length was needed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 21, 2014
Pretty dress but...
This dress was gorgeous on the hanger, and as I had read that it runs small I had chosen sizes 6 and 8 when I'm normally a 4. I was pretty confident the 6 would work, but it wouldn't zip over my shoulder blade area. I work out a lot and I'm sure most people would not believe I had to wear an 8, so that was a bit of a buzz kill. Not a RTR problem, but seriously - designers, what are you doing?! The stomach area was not as slim-fitting as I'd have liked, but for my shoulders it just had to do. Now for the worst part - the bottom. I noticed this was more pronounced on the 8 than the 6, but the silk lining does indeed hang absurdly low. The back slit also poofed up, it looked so odd. Even with my attempts at using fabric tape, it looked funky and totally lowered my confidence. I would not recommend this dress, but I have had positive RTR experiences and will continue to tell my friends about it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
April 17, 2015
Sparkle for a winter wedding
I love the style and quality of this dress, but it is much too small. I would say order two sizes up. I ordered my normal size (4) and one size larger (6) as my backup and the size 6 was still too fitted in the hips. The quality of the dress was nice though. I did notice it riding up in the front (like other reviewers had mentioned), but that didn't bother me. My boyfriend, as a groomsman, was wearing champagne, and I wanted to match. The sparkle of the dress along with the sparkle on the belt made this dress perfect for a winter wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 29, 2015
Sparkly & Fun
It's a gorgeous dress and I received many compliments. It's very form fitting and definitely runs small. I wore a dress 2-3 sizes larger than I normally would. You can tell it has been worn a lot because the overlay has shrunken and the slip is much longer than the top layer. I tried covering it up, and it wasn't possible, but I didn't let that stop me from wearing it and feeling fabulous. I'm small on top and have big hips, but it fit well throughout. A bigger chest would have had room to fill it out more on top.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
October 8, 2015
While everyone else was wearing dark winter colors, this dress stood out! Winter lights are a thing!
The silk underlay is definitely the tightest and longest part of the dress. I would recommend going one size up for the first dress and 2 sizes up for the second. I wish I had! I ended up wearing the size 10, even though I am usually an 8. Spanx helped, but I still wish I had a 12 so I could've felt more comfortable and could've breathed easier.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
November 19, 2015
Very small
I did not end up wearing this. I usually wear between a 12 and 14 and I rented the 14 and 16 after reading the reviews that it runs a little small... well even the 16 was way too tight and it was pretty short (especially in the back...). The dress was very pretty, I just wish it fit true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
September 2, 2012
I'm really impressed with the customer service from RTR. They were so friendly and helpful. Outside of my own wedding, I've never received so many complements. I really felt great in that dress!!!
This was my first experience using RTR. They were so great to work with. This dress was my 2nd choice, and so I only had it in 1 size, which turned out to be too small.( This dress is meant to be fitted, but I would really recommend going up a size.) They overnighted the size that I needed and it was great!!! I honestly have never had so many complements on a dress, EVER! I felt like the bell of the ball.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 21, 2012
Perfect 2nd Dress for Brides!
I ordered a 2 & 4. I didn't have time to try them on before changing into at the reception so just by looking at them I threw on the 4. The 2 just looked way too small. I LOVED it! Everyone loved it especially my Husband. After being in such an elegant wedding dress most of the day, I didn't feel like I was dressing down at all. It was so comfortable & easy to dance in.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 30, 2012
Perfect for a night time wedding!
I felt like I was taking a risk wearing this dress to a wedding. But... It wasn't as white or lacy as it looks online! It was actually perfect. The color is more of a nude or tan tone. It was super comfortable and you can wear any bra which is always nice. I included the pic that I did bc the only negative of the dress is that the liner ALWAYS peaks out of the bottom. No matter what I did. It was pretty annoying and devalued the dress a little for me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 12, 2012
This was my first time using RTR and it was lovely! So easy, simple, and convenient!
I loved this dress! But I must say it definitely runs small. I usually wear a 2 in dresses but when I read other reviews and saw that it ran small, I chose the 4 for my back up size. I knew right away just by looking at the 2 it would not fit. The 4 worked great, but I still would have loved to see how an even bigger size would look. Aside from it running small though, this dress was a hit! I got so many compliments on it. The beading and lace is just beautiful. I truly felt like a million bucks wearing it :) I would highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 4, 2012
RTR made it possible for me to wear such a stunning dress. Amazing dress for an amazing night!
I had a size "0" and "2" sent to me. The size "0" fit but the back was a little twisted by the slit so I wore the size "2" which was a great fit and more apporiate for the wedding. I got compliments the entire night and did not want to take the dress off! Very comfortable and incredibly made.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
January 21, 2013
Perfect dress for a Sunday afternoon wedding
The fit of the dress was great. I ordered a 2 & 4-- the 2 fit a little snug and the zipper was a little hard to get up so I wore the 4 which fit great! The only thing I didn't like about the dress was the lining under the lace, which I ended up taping up with fashion tape. Overall great dress and got tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 13, 2013
I got a lot of compliments! But it runs smalls & the sequins left a few scratches on my arm
I loved the dress but it didn't fit as well as I thought it would. It is not very stretchy so dancing was difficult and the beads/sequins left scratches on my arms the next day! But it photographed well and everyone said it looked like it fit me!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 7, 2013
This dress was the solution to my rehearsal dinner wardrobe dilemma!
I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner. RTR was my savior because I couldn't find anything I liked that fit well or wasn't extremely complicated to tailor. My original rehearsal dress dinner dress was A.B.S. by Allen Schwartz gold sequin and beaded dress. This dress was too large and sold out in the smaller size. It was proving to be a major pain to take in. After months of searching, I came across this RTR gem! Perfect for the occasion. Sorry pictures aren't the best. Might get more from the photographer later. Fit was on the smaller side but not too bad. I also ordered the size 2 which fit OK but one of the gems was hanging off the belt when I received it, so it was instantly ruled out. It would have been a little too tight and short for my rehearsal in a church anyways. The dress is sequin and lace so some wear was evident but it wasn't overwhelmingly noticeable. The zippers on both dresses did catch a lot. The lining was also longer than the lace cover but this could be easily fixed for the night. These issues were very small in the grand scheme of things. The dress is still amazing and I would recommend it to anyone. You are getting a great dress for an amazing price, with reliable service and speedy delivery. Just handle with care and know that you aren't the only one who has worn this beautiful piece. Be happy that this site makes things available in a pinch so all women can share in the universal closet!
LesleyMay 15, 2013
What color is the dress? Is it white or more of a cream/light pink? thanks
RTR CustomerMay 15, 2013
Hi Lesley, This dress is more of a Champagne color!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 1, 2013
I got a lot of complements when I wore this dress!
It was a little snug in the chest area but fit in the hips. So if you have a fuller bust I recommend getting the next size up. The ribbon that tied in the back looked really good and helped give the dress shape. The cut wasn't too low, it was just right.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 5, 2013
sophisticated and sexy with a hint of retro glamour
Definitely a winner! I wore this to a black tie optional affair and I received compliments all evening. The slip being longer than the dress didn't bother me at all - it made it more interesting and unique. I was worried that the color wouldn't work with my pale skin, but it worked really nicely. Definitely size up. I am a 2 in brands like theory and shoshanna but the 4 in this dress fit me like a glove.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 19, 2013
Loved every aspect of Rent the Runway! Great experience, would definitely rent again!
The fit was a little small. But, overall it felt great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 16, 2014
Beautiful detail!
I loved the color and detail of this dress! The dress itself kept shifting up showing the nude slip underneath though, which was a little annoy for a control freak like me! I got many compliments for the dress and would definitely recommend choosing this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 6, 2012
Beautiful but runs small!
I loved this dress and ordered both a 6 (my size) and an 8 per the recommendations of past reviews. Unfortunately the first layer of thin silk (?) was still a little too snug even though the top layer hung nicely. Ultimately it wasn't how it looked but how I felt in the dress, and I realized i'd be pulling at the under layer all night. To put this into context, my friend who is a size 2 put on the size 6 and it fit her perfectly. So swallow your pride and order this gorgeous dress TWO sizes up if you are pear shaped. You won't regret it!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 16, 2012
The dress was very worn-looking when I received it, so I went with my backup dress instead.
The dress that I received looked like it had been through the wringer. It had clearly been worn by many women who are shaped differently from me as the fabric no longer had the necessary stretch left to sit smoothly. Also, the general quality of the fabric was no longer as fresh and new-looking as it should be.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
September 20, 2012
Beautiful dress!
This dress is so beautiful. You can't tell by the pictures, but it is actually covered in lace. There are some sequins mixed in here and there to give it some sparkle. It is a nude color. I loved the belt. I actually did not end up wearing it because I did not think it was formal enough for my event. I would totally rent this again for a wedding. I normally wear a 0 and the 2 fit me perfect. It is very small in the hips. The tie in the back is a grosgrain ribbon so that makes it a little more casual. Beautiful dress!
See more reviews:
3 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×