Rent the Runway

Badgley Mischka

Sparkle in the Sky Dress

$40 rental
$540 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have everyone in envy at the party when you walk in wearing this eye catching Badgley Mischka sequin sheath. Earrings like the Gerad Yosca's Crystal Clear Nouveau Drops and Lauren Merkin's Gold Eve Clutch is all you need to complete this celebrity chic look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - very fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - very fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Cream lace with sequins. V neckline. Tie waist with embellishment. Back slit. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

209 reviews

Fit
Small 116
True to Size 89
Large 1
Photos 132
Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 18, 2012

This dress is even better in person! I fell in love when I received it and was so excited that everyone at my event felt the same way. So many people approached me to just tell me how great I looked and it made me feel amazing. It fits like a glove. I am 5"3 and it hit me at the knees and was fitted at the waist. You can also wear any type of bra with it. Online the color is described as cream, but I would say it is more of a nude.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is even better in person! I fell in love when I received it and was so excited that everyone at my event felt the same way. So many people approached me to just tell me how great I looked and it made me feel amazing. It fits like a glove. I am 5"3 and it hit me at the knees and was fitted at the waist. You can also wear any type of bra with it. Online the color is described as cream, but I would say it is more of a nude.
Janna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 20, 2012

Beautiful Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is beautiful and sophisticated! It fit very true to size, but was very fitted throughout with little stretch so I would definitely size up for your backup size! I loved the lace and the gorgeous belt detail that really cinched my waist! This dress was super comfortable because I could wear a standard bra, and it hit me about 2 inches above my knee! I would definitely recommend this dress for a formal occasion!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 16, 2012

The ease of ordering & returning.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a friend's wedding. I was glad to have sized up for my secondary size as the dress runs small. In fact there was very little difference between the sizes 8 and 10 that I had ordered. Overall, I was comfortable dancing the night away and am very happy with my selection.
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 15, 2012

Love RTR! The dress I originally wanted ended up not being available and the stylist recommended this and I ended up loving it even more!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore it to my senior ball and got tons of compliments. The fit is great, but it's form fitting so it looks best with SPANX. Definitely recommend it!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 19, 2012

Rent the Runway was great! I got the dress on time and it was easy to return!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was beautiful! I got compliments all night in it. The size ran a bit small especially around the hips/butt area so I wore a size up. The size up was OK however because I could tie the sash to make it fit nice and snug. I absolutely recommend this dress!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Aug 20, 2012

This was the first dress I ordered from Rent The Runway. It was so easy and convenient, plus I got compliments about the dress all night!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was beautiful but I thought ran pretty small. I usually wear a 6 or an 8 in dresses and wore a 10 in this one. I got a lot of compliments and was comfortable for the entire night. The only thing I didn't love was how the lining would sometimes come out at the bottom of the dress from under the sparkly overlay so I had to adjust that frequently.
Didi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

RTR was super speedy and made the night perfect!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my bachelorette party and it was gorgeous! The dress was shimmering all night and looked super classy (rather than cheap - which was what I was somewhat afraid of with all the sequins). I would definitely rent this again!
Lindsey
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Aug 26, 2012

Caught at a very serious moment!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was pretty fantastic. It was so flattering with my complexion, hair, and etc. I wore it on the best day of my life :) I am in between a size 0 and 2, but I ordered a 2 and a size 4 as the back up size. I would recommend doing some measurements before you chose your size just to make sure you receive the fit that you desire. The size 2 was near perfect, I felt confident and comfortable in it.
Maureen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 27, 2012

I love that you can order two sizes - it definitely came in handy this time!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! Typically I order a 2 and a 4 and end up in the 4. Something told me to order 4 and 6 this time, and I'm glad I did! It was loose in the waist, but there is no way it would have fit over my butt in a size 4. Everyone was asking where I got the dress - I must have told at least 5 new people about RTR - it's my new obsession, and this dress didn't disappoint.
Megan
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 1, 2012

RTR was so easy... I can't believe it took me so long to use them! I can't wait to rent more dresses in the very near future!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a black tie gala that I went to with my husband and his bosses. I wanted something feminine, classy and understated, and this dress was just that! it hugged all the right places, and accentuated my good curves. I am very petite, and most dresses run large on me, and this dress fit like a glove. It does look more gold in the pictures though, and is more of a nude/beige in person. I wish I had a spray tan prior to wearing, but nonetheless it was a beautiful dress!
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Sep 2, 2012

I'm really impressed with the customer service from RTR. They were so friendly and helpful. Outside of my own wedding, I've never received so many complements. I really felt great in that dress!!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first experience using RTR. They were so great to work with. This dress was my 2nd choice, and so I only had it in 1 size, which turned out to be too small.( This dress is meant to be fitted, but I would really recommend going up a size.) They overnighted the size that I needed and it was great!!! I honestly have never had so many complements on a dress, EVER! I felt like the bell of the ball.
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 7, 2012

Love the easy process of RTR - this is my 4th rental and I love it!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Overall, this is a pretty dress and appropriate for attire [as a guest] for a formal-type wedding. Similar to other reviewers, I thought the lace under the armpit area was a little itchy, but overall, it was a pretty comfortable dress. The dress has some stretch to it, which is perfect for a night of dancing. I knocked it down a star just because I didn't think it was quite as flattering as I would have hoped - for someone who isn't a size 2! And I think you definitely need to have a bit of a tan to pull off the color.
Sophie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

This dress was absolutely gorgeous.I wore this to a wedding and received many compliments all night.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
At first, I was a little worried that the dress was too close to white, and I didn't want to wear white to a wedding. It's more closely to a beautiful champagne color. The material wasn't itchy at all, and the beading was very pretty. This is by far my MOST favorite dress that I've rented through RTR. My only complaint was that the lining underneath the sheer part of the dress was much longer and kept sticking out. I had to do a little damage control by using safety pins so that it wouldn't show throughout the night. All in all, this dress was totally worth it. My only wish is that I wish I could keep it!
Kasey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 29, 2012

This dress was great!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I got a lot of compliments on this dress! I rented a 4 and a 6, but ended up wearing the 6 because the 4 was a little tight in the bust. The only thing that was a little tricky about this dress was the lace - it was a little worn when I received the dresses and I had to be very, very careful not to hook anything on it all night.
KW
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

Beautiful dress - looked just like new!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This was a great dress. I rented it for my birthday dinner and got compliments all night! The gold shimmer was beautiful. I was looking for a dress that wasn't super short - and this was perfect - hit a inch or two above the knee (Im 5'8"). I usually wear a 4, sometimes a 2, and I ended up wearing a 6 in this dress, so I would definitely go one size up than your usual for a back-up size.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 2, 2012

We both rented dresses for a fancy party. Party was a bust but GirlsNightOut Never looked so good!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fantastic color- subtle but has a jaw dropping shimmer. Fit was true to size but was a little longer than I had expected. It was easy to move in and be comfortable yet elegant. No over the top accessories are needed- just gold heels and a clutch. Perfect for a wedding or a night out with your girls!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 2, 2012

Absolutely perfect party dress for my bachelorette weekend!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit beautifully and the belted band cinched the waist nicely. I loved the sparkle!
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 14, 2012

I felt like a movie star.

Size worn: 16
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't realize that the dress would be so tight fitting, ordered a 12 & 14, both were too tight. RTR came to the rescue and sent a 16, the morning of the wedding I was attending. Fit was perfect, material is very delicate, it kept getting caught with its own material. The lining was longer than the dress, I used double sided tape to hem it and it was perfect. No need for any accessories the dress had enough bling. I danced the night away, and received many compliments. I chose this dress because I wanted something other than the usual black I wear. It was a great decision, I will rent again, thank you RTR for making me feel beautiful for a special occasion.
Lilith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139 lbs
Oct 17, 2012

IMPOSSIBLE to look bad in this stunning dress ! It fit the occasion perfectly & I felt like a queen

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Once more a dress that confirmed why Badgley Mischka are among my favorite designers. I was convinced to rent this dress for my birthday party at a somewhat formal club by pictures from RTR reviews showing that simply everyone looked good in it. It did not disappoint. It fit perfectly and comfortably, and while it is a simple cut, the sequins give it enough sparkle to make it look glamorous. My usual size 4 fit okay, but the larger back-up size was more comfortable and was less likely to hike up & wrinkle around the hips, the only slight problem with this dress, unless you have a narrow built. Still, I'd say it runs true to size, while many other dresses on RTR run large (I'm a size 6 in general). I'd definitely recommend the dress.
Faith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 17, 2012

Beautiful Dress, Loved It!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I would've worn a size smaller (fit better everywhere but in the length), but being tall has its disadvantages when it comes to skirt length. I felt so beautiful, though! Compliments all night long! It was a great dress for my Homecoming!
Bueller
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Oct 21, 2012

Perfect 2nd Dress for Brides!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a 2 & 4. I didn't have time to try them on before changing into at the reception so just by looking at them I threw on the 4. The 2 just looked way too small. I LOVED it! Everyone loved it especially my Husband. After being in such an elegant wedding dress most of the day, I didn't feel like I was dressing down at all. It was so comfortable & easy to dance in.
Elaine
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190 lbs
Oct 29, 2012

Beautiful, flattering dress! Got compliments all night

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress runs a bit small, I usually wear a 12 but the 14 fit perfectly. The color was great, the sash super flattering and perfect fit all around. The only thing that wasn't great was that I did experience a bit of rubbing under my armpits against the sequined fabric. But pain is beauty. Overall, a great rental for a special event.
Jayme
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 30, 2012

Perfect for a night time wedding!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I felt like I was taking a risk wearing this dress to a wedding. But... It wasn't as white or lacy as it looks online! It was actually perfect. The color is more of a nude or tan tone. It was super comfortable and you can wear any bra which is always nice. I included the pic that I did bc the only negative of the dress is that the liner ALWAYS peaks out of the bottom. No matter what I did. It was pretty annoying and devalued the dress a little for me.
n/a
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Mar 29, 2014

great dresses to choose from

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The rent the runway team did an excellent job of sending me a new dress in a timely fashion since the sparkle in the sky dress ran SOOO small
rosey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 16, 2014

Gorgeous dress, but couldn't wear it due to cut.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress is extremely pretty, it just did to fit my body type. It is extremely unforgiving and if you have a but it will be barely covered. I wish I could have been able to fit the dress.
Jaima
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
Apr 21, 2014

Not the dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was not what I expected. It was not flattering. Not as pretty in person.
Maureen
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 167 lbs
Apr 22, 2014

I did not end up wearing the dress even though it was lovely.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was much too constricting in the bust. I have a large chest but there was no wiggle room whatsoever. I normally wear a size 10 dress but go up to a 12 for my bust. The 12 was way too tight and this dress has no stretch.
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 6, 2014

I didn't end up wearing this dress for my engagement party.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I usually wear a 2 or 4 in dresses, so I ordered each of these sizes. The 2 was a bit too snug on the hips/butt area, so I thought the 4 would fit perfectly. Wrong. The 4 was even smaller than the 2. I couldn't even get it on! So I was unable to wear this dress at all because of the odd sizing.
Josephine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
May 12, 2014

I loved this dress but order a couple sizes larger as it runs small ion chest and arms

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
loved this dress, but should have ordered a couple sizes bigger for some room
Tess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 13, 2014

wedding for a great friend

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't end up wearing - dress was kind of wrinkled.
Liz
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 6, 2014

Way too small and NOT for busty girls

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I was so disappointed when this dress arrived. It is very beautiful, and fit me perfectly, until the zipper reached my bust. Not for girls with full busts like many of the reviews said.
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 19, 2014

Too narrow

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
You need to be a bit narrow for this dress. Also, the hem has a tendency to curl. I AM happy to report that RTR allowed me to send it back, and they credited me! Thanks RTR!
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

Super gorgeous

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Only it was a little too short for my taste-- but very pretty
Liliana
Age: 26
Jul 7, 2014

I didn't wear the dress but it was a beautiful one!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I didn't wear the dress because it was skittle smaller that I expected and the slit in the dress under neath was longer the one over it so you would be pulling your dress down all night. But the dress was beautiful just not right for the occasion and just seemed like to much work to wear.
Kate B.
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 16, 2014

Perfect bachelorette dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this for my bachelorette party. I ordered the 6 and 8 based on user reviews. Ended up with the 8 because the 6 was just short enough to be inappropriate. The underlining does ride up a bit, and I wouldn't recommend wearing spanks - the full body one would go past the length of the dress and the panty spanx seam line would show through the fabric. The sparkles are understated enough if you don't want to go too flashy. I thought it looked more pale gold/nude then the pink shade it looks in the photo. Loved that you could wear a regular bra with it.
Melanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 4, 2014

Bachlorette party

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This was a beautiful dress but was a small 6 for me. I did not get to wear it that night.
lauren
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 13, 2014

Glad I ordered a second size as the 4 was too small. It was perfect for my bachelorette party.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Smaller than expected.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Sep 3, 2014

This dress is gorgeous but the 12 definitely was more like a 10. Order up!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Very snug and the top layer tends to ride up, exposing a chunk of the slip underneath. But a beautiful dress nonetheless.
Emily
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 18, 2015

Just enough sparkle for some class and glitz

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits perfect at the bust for girls who are smaller in the general chest and torso. True to size, but handy to have a spare the next size up. I had some trouble securing the slip with double-sided tape as some women recommended, if you would prefer the slip to be hidden above the hem of the dress. With the dress being a bit more snug on my thighs I wasn't able to get the slip secured with the tape, but the dress still looked great!
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Mar 22, 2015

Very small

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is cut extremely small. I'm usually an 8 but after reading reviews I ordered a 10. It was still very snug and the zipper was broken upon arrival. Thank goodness I had ordered a back up that was wonderful. Also, the sash was very worn. Definitely not " new" looking.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×