Sliding Shoulder Dress

$48 to buy
$475 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

With a flutter sleeve and jewel embellishment shoulder, this Badgley Mischka dress is a chic solution for any evening affair. For maximum glamour, complete the look with the Alexis Bittar's Crystal Vine Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched detail, concealing midsection
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched detail, concealing midsection
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black matte jersey. Asymmetric neckline with split sleeve and beading detail at right shoulder. Draping with exposed shoulder at left sleeve. Side ruching. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
221 reviews
Fit
Large6
True to Size196
Small18
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
November 2, 2012
NA
This dress fitted very nicely. Very classy. Nice detail. Loved this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
October 28, 2012
Classic... and, sexy!
Runs small - I sucked it in all night. Rent a size up, and then another size up - especially if you're sitting down to dinner as there's not much give. The size 0 arrived in pristine condition, not the 2. I was disappointed that there's a bead or two missing and the beads are discolored on the 2. The hem fell below the dress - that will need to be fixed. I'm also disappointed that I wasn't credited for that. Nevertheless, lots of compliments! An amazing dress.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
October 26, 2012
I felt great and sexy especially for a mom of 2 under 2!!!! It was a great experience oveall! Yay!
The fit was great. I do think the shoulder area was a wee bit stretched, but it still looked and felt great. It was true to size and I felt sex-ay!!!!! Thanks RTC! I am now a fan and WILL use you again!
desireeNovember 6, 2012
sensational on you
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 22, 2012
This was my back-up dress. It was sophisticated, comfortable and true to size.
The side zip with the ruching is a little tricky and one of the beads arrived with loose threads and was hanging off (easily fixable though). The dress fit perfectly and was extremely comfortable with nice quality fabric. The beading at the shoulder was a nice detail. For me, I just liked my first choice better but this would be an excellent versatile formal or date dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
October 17, 2012
Overall, a pretty and very comfortable dress!
This dress ran true to size. It was a little longer than I would have liked. Overall, a pretty and very comfortable dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
October 12, 2012
Cute dress. I wish I ordered the right size.
I ended up returning this dress because it didn't fit. I gained 15 pounds this past year and have been wearing a size10 lately, but for some reason this dress didn't fit. Oh well, next time I'll get the next size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 5, 2012
Adorable and comfortable!
This dress has been on my wishlist for a while. I was so glad to have the opportunity to wear it. The material is great, a little stretchy. I did not need spanx underneath. The length was also perfect for me. Another successful RTR!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 4, 2012
classic choice for a wedding
Fit was just perfect, fitted but not too snug. I loved the way the one side draped off my shoulder. Came to a little above knee on me. Highly recommend if you are looking for a lbd
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
October 3, 2012
I loved knowing I had a great dress and didn't have to go to a bunch of stores to find it!
Loved the dress. Perfect for this occasion. I did think it was a little long for me (I'm 5'1") but worked out okay. Very convenient as we had to travel to Chicago for this wedding and there was a POBox right outside the hotel for the return!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 1, 2012
Stunning and chic LBD
I rented this dress for a formal charity event and it was perfect. Subtle off-the-shoulder style, well-placed jeweled broach -- these little touches make it much more than a basic black dress. Runs a little small, so size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 1, 2012
This dress was stunning and I got compliments from everyone all night!
True to fit, just be careful about the zipper. Since the fabric is bunched around it it can be difficult to zip on your own
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
September 28, 2012
this dress was amazing.
fit great and just fitted enough to be sexy while staying classy for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131lbs
September 25, 2012
Dress fits well, but zipper is a problem
Dress is comfortable and fits well, but zipper does not open all the way, and closing it is also a problem.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
September 24, 2012
So I glad I tried Rent The Runway......all Positive and so easy!
It was a very elegant dress I rented for a wedding. Got lots of compliments on dress and bracelet. Material was forgiving also. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
September 22, 2012
Didn't wear it because of the material
This dress, while pretty, offers no stretch at all and really doesn't hide many body flaws. You can see every line under the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 19, 2012
I felt like a million bucks. A basic black with some style.
I got a lot of compliments in this dress. The fabric feels exquisite. I did wear a girdle underneath, that went from the ribs to the thighs because even though there are gathers in the fabric, I felt more comfortable with it. I'm 5'6" and the length was just above my knees.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
Loved!!
Wore this dress to an evening wedding. Was super cute and fit perfectly. Love the drape and the detailing on the shouler. Is definitely a great rental!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150lbs
September 17, 2012
LOVED IT! <3
The model is a few inches taller than me but I wanted the dress to fit closer to my knee line. It fit awesome! It was very comfortable and elegant. I felt great wearing it! I rented the 10 but also rented an 8 (for the extra $25) and the 8 was a perfect fit. This website is a blessing (especially in clutch situations!) THANKS! ;)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
September 15, 2012
Sexy, Glamorous, Perfect
Though I had some concerns about BagleyMishka dresses that I've owned in the past, I decided to give this dress a chance since it was the perfect combination of being appropriate but sexy. The dress was very comfortable and fit perfectly. I received so many compliments. I thought it was an easy dress to style. I wore my hair a la Eva Longoria - loose bold curls and. My sole jewelry were bronze earrings with black crystals. My bag was a Bottega Venetta and my shoes were from Via Spiga - an irredescent gold and silver fabric. Thanks RTR - I'm coming back to you for my next occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 13, 2012
This dress hid the tummy area well with the way it draped. It was perfect in everyway.
It was a great dress for office Christmas party. The legnth wasnt too short. I dressed this up with some silver & rhinestone strappy heels. Got compliments all night. Would highly reccomend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
September 9, 2012
Smashing!
I wore this dress for New Year's Eve and received a ton of compliments! The fit was flattering, and the off-the-shoulder effect was sexy!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 167lbs
September 4, 2012
The gems on the shoulder really stand out when paired with silver earrings. It made me not require a necklace :P
So I got this dress as a backup style to my first choice. Well worth it. I got it in a 10 and a 12, in case it was too big (ha ha). The 12 fit fine; it was roomy, but I didn't want a tight size 10 anyway (big midsection). It was really nice, and I enjoyed it! :) :) :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 3, 2012
decent
dress fit well (a bit big, but i ordered up since rtr did not have my size). it is far more conservative and casual than it looks in photos.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 1, 2012
Love
Amazing dress... great fit! LOVED!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
August 31, 2012
Odd fit
I didn't hate this dress, but it just happened to fit my body weirdly. Maybe it was just me, but the bust and skirt was fine except that the lower torso was uncomfortably tight! I don't know why, I'm a pretty proportional person :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 29, 2012
Perfect Party Dress
The dress was perfect for the event I was going to . I ordered a size 6 and 8. I wore the 6 and the fit was excellent. All the comments about the zipper were TRUE! The zipper on both dresses were awful. The zipper on the 8 broke even though the dress was large on me. Aside from that, the dress is beautiful and the side ruching is great to hide any "flaws". The shoulder detail was simple but very pretty and was enough sparkle so no need for a necklace. I would love to rent again if the zippers could be fixed.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 25, 2012
Great Dress! Would rent again.
Flattering dress and comfortable. I am petite and the length/fitting was fine. I wore it to a "casual cocktail" fund raiser and felt it was perfect. The zipper was difficult as others indicated. However, it is such a great dress, I would rent it again.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 25, 2012
n/a
I wore this dress for my organization's fund raising event. I had nothing but compliments from my colleagues. I'm short, so the dress was lower on me than the picture. It still looked great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
August 22, 2012
No the best pic, but showing ALL that leg was perfect!
Wore this dress to my High School reunion and it was certainly a stunner! I was a bit short for a tall girl like me, but why not show a little leg to my old High School buddies??!! Would rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 21, 2012
Classy Dress
This was my first rental from RTR and I was pleasantly surprised at how easy and convenient the process was. The dress came packaged nicely and was ready to wear. It fit perfectly, though it seemed slightly longer than it was in the photo (or maybe I am shorter than the model). In any case, it was a hit at the party, which was a fundraiser event. If you're looking for something classy and understated but still sexy...this is the dress for you!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
August 20, 2012
THE Black Dress
Buy it, buy it, buy it. This dress will make everyone feel gorgeous. It is stretchy, hangs and drapes off the shoulder perfectly. Eliminated my mental arm issues. The detail of black sequins gathered in a nice styling over the gathered shoulder was something I originally missed, but it gave it that extra pop. A little oomph. The waist gathers at one side seam down a bit to give everyone the perfect figure and confidence on those ugh days. The dress fell great on the leg and was not too short, or even that I would consider it short. I received endless compliments. This was my first RTR dress and it sealed my love for RTR instantly. It also swooned and impressed my husband so much that he agreed with using RTR for everything. Hands Down! Everyone should have this in their closet. It is a little more then the little black dress, but not too much where you can't wear it to many events. Rent this one with confidence. This one did hang a little more looser. However not it the way that I couldn't wear either size, but gave me a choice to hang more with the 12 or a little more fitted with the 10. Using fitted in th loosest form because the comfort could be matched with jammies. I believe this was also when I was closer to a 10, but scared from store dresses varying in sizes so much. Great first RTR dress. Have a blast.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 20, 2012
Putting the whole ensemble on and feeling beautiful.
I chose this dress for a close friend's wedding and received compliments all night. My boyfriend told me I looked stunning and took out his camera and started taking pictures. I was so sad to send it back! Will definitely continue to use RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
August 15, 2012
Fun Dress
I rented this dress for a wedding. The only problem with the dress was some freying at the zipper and the emblem was a bit "worn" looking. But overall it was a fun and elegant dress
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139lbs
August 14, 2012
I wore this dress on a trip with my husband to celebrate our 1-year wedding anniversary in Toronto. It was perfect for a night on the town with my groom :)
I really loved the design and fit of this dress! I especially liked the how the shoulder strap fell across your arm. The dress was also very comfortable and a great length. I ordered a six 6 and 8, and ended up wearing the 6 as it ran true to size. The zipper is very difficult to use (as some of the other reviewers had mentioned) as it gets caught on the material of the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
August 12, 2012
Perfect little black dress
For an evening wedding this dress was perfect. It's classy yet sexy and I received many compliments. It is tight and form fitting, so I wear a slimming slip underneath. The zipper was a little warn as well as the beads, but nothing noticeable.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
August 11, 2012
My first rtr dress was a huge success! loved it!
The zipper was a little hard to pull up but aside from that a fabulous dress. Hugs your body in all the right places and I love the sexy off the shoulder. Got so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 9, 2012
Cute-ish
I got this as a backup. It fit fine but the top was just weird. Happy it was my backup and not my only choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
July 25, 2012
AMAZING!
This dress is amazing! My friend requested that her bridesmaids wear a black dress of their choosing for her wedding and this was my backup dress. The jersey hides all sins, stretches enough to accomodate any body parts that are bigger than the size and the rouching and shoulder details are gorgeous. I wore the sliding shoulder all the way down. It is a little longer (I'm tall and it was almost knee length) which I thought was perfectly appropriate with the fit and shoulders being bare. It was a little difficult to zip, as there is so much fabric around the zipper (the pull actually came off the zipper when I was putting it on, but it still zipped up with the help up a safety pin), but other than that it is comfortable, sophisticated, on trend and classy. This dress will look amazing on anyone!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 24, 2012
WOW WOW WOW
this dress is perfect. its just quality all around. It hugged me where it should and made me look sophisticated and lovely. The zipper on both sizes I got in this dress had issues...but was able to get it up with hubby's help. I would rent this dress again in a minute as it just screams awesome and classy. Loved it.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
July 21, 2012
Being my first wedding I ever attended, I felt very comfortable and dressed appropriately.
I'm normally a 10 and ordered the 12 as a backup, and ended up feeling more comfortable in the 12. This dress is so elegant and I was able to fun it up with pink shoes. Though the zipper did get stuck at times, I stilled loved every second of wearing it.
carmenOctober 21, 2012
I wish I could see your shoes! I bet that looked awesome :)
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×