Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Sliding Shoulder Dress

$48 to buy
$475 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

With a flutter sleeve and jewel embellishment shoulder, this Badgley Mischka dress is a chic solution for any evening affair. For maximum glamour, complete the look with the Alexis Bittar's Crystal Vine Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched detail, concealing midsection
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched detail, concealing midsection
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black matte jersey. Asymmetric neckline with split sleeve and beading detail at right shoulder. Draping with exposed shoulder at left sleeve. Side ruching. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
221 reviews
Fit
Large6
True to Size196
Small18
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
October 2, 2013
Loved it. Very forgiving for chubby girls.
Zipper was difficult.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
September 17, 2013
Felt sexy wearing this dress and it was comfortable which made it even better, very simple & elegant
Felt a little snug around hips/belly but the next size was too loose, perfect length right above knee and I'm 5'1" so I thought it would run longer. You definitely need a second hand to zip the side zipper up, that would be my only complaint
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
August 5, 2013
This dress was too small.
I ordered this dress as a back up for my sisters bachelorette party in Chicago. Although I usually wear a size 14 I read the reviews and ordered a 12 since that was the largest size. I couldn't zip it over my hips. It's a pretty dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
August 3, 2013
Not my favorite, but definitely got the job done.
I rented this & had it shipped last minute to Chicago for a formal affair in connection with a conference I attended in February. It was actually 2 weeks before I wore the Red Badgley Mischka dress (if you happen to have read my other reviews). I took a picture of myself in it, but it is so dark I don't think it will help anyone make a decision about renting it. It fit, it was sexy, it was appropriate, but I wouldn't say I felt like I turned a million heads in it. It was a black cocktail dress and you know how black cocktail dresses are, if they aren't mind blowing fabulous they are average. We wear them because we always look thin, we always know it is a safe choice. I picked this dress because I literally had it shipped 2 days before I wore it & not much else was available. I gain a little weight in the winter (i'm normally 139-142, I was probably 147-150) & I thought it ran small, but that could be because I packed on a few pounds over the winter & not because it was snug. Therefore I am rating it 'true to size'. Not a showstopper, but a nice dress. If you're looking for the ultimate black cocktail dress go with Jenn's Jaguar Dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 31, 2013
Great Dress
The dress fit very well and was flattering, only problem was it was very hard to zip up or down because of the fabric. Even on the hanger I couldnt get it unzipped. Overall great dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
July 16, 2013
Elegant!
The Dress is very comfortable, looks put together and classy. I was truly happy because this was my backup dress, the only thing I did not like is that the side zipper bunched up, it did not lay flat creating a weird shape I had to work around that for my pictures but other then that it was beautiful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 28, 2013
A Classy Summer Event
The dress was a true size 2 - it hugged my body pretty well. It had rouching to hide my problem spots, but it was comfortable, easy to move in, and a gorgeous dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
June 19, 2013
BEAUTIFUL/PLAYFUL/SEXY little number
I wore this dress to a wedding and received so many compliments on it. It's very flattering and VERY fun and sexy. I would rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 8, 2013
Liked it, but not for my body type.
Didn't like the way this dress fit me - the zero was too small, the 2 was too big. Ended up returning it without wearing it for the credit. Just not the right style for my body - which is short, small frame with wide hips, but not very busty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
June 3, 2013
I got a lot of compliments on this dress!
I had to do a little adjusting/taping to make it fit correctly at the shoulder, but it was minor. Overall, I liked the drape and cut.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Body type: Hourglass
June 3, 2013
I rented to this dress as a backup to my first choice.
I did not wear this dress, as I rented it as a back up. It was pretty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
May 23, 2013
Dinner Dress
Nice fit, but nothing to write home about.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 12, 2013
Cute dress!
Zipper was very difficult to get up or down - gets stuck in the gathered fabric. Thought I was not going to be able to wear it, but my husband finally got the zipper up. Very comfortable and flattering. Not a showstopper, but perfect in a a conservative setting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 12, 2013
I received many compliments and I felt great wearing this dress!
I have no complaints about this dress. It was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 7, 2013
I was very pleased with the comfort, style and look of the dress, but not with the quality.
I was moderately pleased with the dress overall but only after I had to do some seamstress work myself. The rhinestones on the shoulder were loose and one was hanging by a thread, and the lining was coming undone at the hemline and was below the outer fabric. After some quick stitching I was able to fix the dress. Overall, while I think the dress was beautiful and I received complements on the dress all night, however, I don't think the quality of service was up to par. I shouldn't have to fix a dress before I wear it, even if I'm renting it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 5, 2013
Elegant...
Loved the dress...simple, comfortable, and very elegant. A little long (right above the knee) for a short girl like me, but didn't mind with super high heels..
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 5, 2013
Wore this cocktail dress to my brother's wedding. Fit well. Stunner! I was very happy with this!
I wore this to my brother's wedding. It was beautiful Fit well. Perfect classy length. Elegant. The beading was a bit worn and so was the inside near zipper. BUT, I got a ton of compliments and it was exactly what the sister of the bride should have worn.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 2, 2013
This dress is amazing. It is the perfect little black dress.
This dress is super flattering. If you have a little tummy, the draping of the dress totally hides it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 24, 2013
Very Classy
Felt like a million bucks in this one. RTR doesn't disappoint.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 12, 2013
*
Dress was high-quality overall, but the zipper was really hard even on the hanger. When I put on the 8, it was quite short (but okay for the event) but the bustline was just too tight and kind of flattened me out. The 10 fit, but was oddly several inches longer and felt more like a MOB dress - a little dowdy. Bummed, but so happy with RTR customer service!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 3, 2013
So nice I rented it TWICE!
When the original dress I ordered had faint black stains on it (a yellow dress), there was no way I could wear it to the wedding as planned. As my flight landed in Miami I called RTR ASAP and they asked what dress I'd like instead... and this was the one. I'd rented it before for another wedding but didnt wear it but I knew it fit well and would be a safe bet. It arrived at my hotel the next morning with no issue. Well, one issue - the lining was torn and kept peeking from under the dress. I managed to use some dress tape to secure the lining but it annoyed me the entire evening.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 189lbs
March 31, 2013
Fit like a glove
It was so amazing. I felt so comfy and I usually dred wearing anything that looks like it would hug. This dress was so forgiving I could have gone a size down and still been ok it was so much stretch. Perfect dress for the girl who still has a shape with a bit of bulge that wont go away. ;0 I normally go a size up but it was so awesome my self esteem was through the roof. Wish I took pics.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
March 24, 2013
Exactly what I was looking for!
Love this dress. Very comfortable and super sexy.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
February 27, 2013
Not just another little black dress!
This dress rocks! It is very comfy, a little sexy but still classy. Very flattering fit with ruching on the side. Beaded detail on the shoulder is a nice accent without being gaudy. Plans changed & I didn't get to wear this, but I will be renting it another time!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
February 25, 2013
LOVE THIS DRESS!
I love everything about this dress. It is the perfect little black dress! Very flattering!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 17, 2013
Comfortable and sexy.
Loved, loved, loved this dress. I recently lost 20 pounds so wasn't sure what size to get. I was hoping to fit into a size 6, but got the size 8 to be more realistic. The size 8 fit perfect. I had a hard time with the zipper because it kept getting caught on the inside lining. I received so many compliments on the gown. This was the first time I ordered from RTR, although I've known they've existed for years. My experience has been outstanding. Being able to browse hundreds of gowns without having to go to several stores, and then getting my accessories too was a life saver. The return process was really easy as well. I've got several weddings this year and I will definitely be ordering from them again.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 10, 2013
The dress fit well and accentuated the positive.
I loved this dress. Received many compliments all night long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
January 29, 2013
Super Flattering Fit!
Really nice fabric & drape to this dress, which makes it ultra flattering on. It seems like it runs a little longer than it looks on the model. Gorgeous in person!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
January 23, 2013
Loved it but it was missing stones and had a broken zipper
The dress was great and looked amazing, which I was shocked that I liked it so much. Unfortunately, the dress was needing some repairs, and I wasn't able to wear it. Good thing it was just my back up dress, because the zipper was broken and the embellishments on the shoulder were missing several stones.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
January 16, 2013
Tried it on and never wore it. Found it to be extremely unflattering for a short girl.
The dress was too long and too tight in all of the wrong areas. If you are tall, I think it would look much better.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
January 15, 2013
Sexy, sleek.
The dress is as gorgeous in person as it is on the website. Worn with a pair of spanx, it fits like a glove- not too tight, not too loose.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 3, 2013
Nice LBD!
I liked this dress quite a lot. The fit was a bit more snug than I expected, but it was flattering overall.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 23, 2012
This dress is gorgeous and comfortable! I received so many compliments throughout the night!
This dress is the perfect combination of classy and sexy. The dress fell slightly above my knees and I was completely covered up, which was appropriate for the company holiday party I attended, but the exposed should and curve hugging sides brought out just the right amount of sexy. I'm large chested and the dress made the girls look amazing. Since I'm a little curvier, I was a little nervous about what size to order. The size 8 fit me just fine, but I went with the size 10 as it hid my belly a little better. Not only did the dress look good, but it was comfortable! I was front and center of a Gangnam Style flash mob and I had no trouble dancing at all.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
December 20, 2012
party dress !
Very nice dress. Thought too much material but has a nice flare to it. Fun and flirty
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
December 17, 2012
Fun, flirty and flattering!
The fit was absolutely perfect! It never felt awkward although the dress is designed very different than anything I've worn before. The fabric was elegant and the jeweled embellishment added a stunning touch. I have a large rear end and this dress hit in all the right places. My friend on the right is wearing the Adia Kibur pink necklace.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2012
Gorgeous and flattering!
I rented this dress for a Carneval event in February. The fit was so flattering and the little jeweled detail at the top was just enough and not overly sparkly. The off the shoulder style required a strapless bra, but I wore spanx and it created perfect and clean lines. A great rental for a night on the town, NYE or even a wedding. I will definitely be renting this dress again :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 3, 2012
Great for a professional event!
Hi was feeling a little bloated and self conscious before I put on this dress, but once I had it on—I felt great! The fabric is very forgiving and feels good. It fits very true to size and the length is appropriate for professional events, even for someone taller.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 3, 2012
Lovely
Very simple dress. Wore this to the Christmas Pops in Boston. It was perfectly simple and fit the occasions. Very comfortable too.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
November 14, 2012
very comfortable! Lots of compliments
This was my first RTR rental! Love it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 11, 2012
Felt beautiful! Wore this dress for a bacherlorette party.
No complaints. I probably could of gone a size down but the dress fit nicely overall. It was very comfortable especially since we were dancing a lot. Great dress if you have a slightly larger chest.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×