Ruby Red Gala Gown

$70 rental
$740 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get glitzy for the gala in this red stunner by Badgley Mischka. A ruched waist and delicate pleating are an ultra flattering combination to make you feel confident! Layer on the jewels with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace, and Cara Accessories’ Gold Dress Me Up Bracelet.

Also available in green, cobalt and fuchsia.

Also available in sizes 16-22.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Cherry red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Ruched waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
886 reviews
Fit
Large10
True to Size610
Small130
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 20
February 10, 2016
Great for a military ball!
This dress was perfect for my event. I usually wear a size 10 or 12 but the 8 fit perfectly. It was extremely comfortable and I got so many compliments! This is my first RTR experience and it was great! The dresses came in as if they had never been touched with no wrinkles! I will definitely be using RTR again next year for the ball, too! (Maybe even the same dress in a different color. Haha!)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 8, 2016
I wore this to a Mardi Gras ball and the flow of the dress made the night!
I loved this dress! The fit was extremely flattering. The zipper was a little problematic but with a little help, we got it zipped fine. The 10 fit, however, it was a little tight under the arms so I opted for the 12 and it was perfect. I loved the flow and had a ball in this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 38
February 8, 2016
It was an amazing night and I felt like a celebrity! LOL
Dress fit perfect! It was so easy too! Sorry the photo is a little dark!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 22
February 8, 2016
Beautiful fit
Great fit and so comfortable. I wore 4 inch heels and the hem hit the floor perfectly. also really fun to dance in!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
February 7, 2016
I felt like the dress was made just for me!
I wore this to a black tie benefit and it was just perfect. I ordered the 4R and the 6R as back up. They both fit, but I have an athletic build and the 4 was snug around the rib cage but the 6 was roomy with enough space to dance. It is definitely long: I am 5'6" and wore 4 inch heels and it could not have been any longer or I would have been tripping over it. As it was I needed two hands to hold it up enough to get up the stairs. This dress seems to flatter everyone though and I highly recommend it. My first time using RTR and I'll definitely do it again. I liked pairing it with a big necklace (got the idea from other pics here) as it seemed to really tie it all together.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 107lbs
February 4, 2016
It was the perfect dress for my evening gala.
Fits true to size, was a bit snug at the neckline though, but that might be because I'm larger busted than a size 0. It was the perfect length with 2" heels and was a very beautiful gown that flowed very nicely when I walked. This dress was extremely comfortable to wear all night long. I received many compliments on it and would definitely purchase this dress to own if it were in my budget and if I needed formal dresses more. This was my first RTR experience and I will definitely be using this website often!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 4, 2016
Flowy magic but..
A bit tight around the neck. Very fitted in waist-which generally works. Flowy dress made me feel very girly, which was fabulous. Overall though, I felt the fit was not ideal.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
February 3, 2016
Beautiful, flattering, comfortable dress!
This fit perfect! If you are wider in the mid section the band area might be tight, but I would hope that picking the right size dress would compensate for that. I ordered a 8R and a 10R (I wear both sizes depending on where I get my clothes from). The 8 fit perfect. The only issue we had was there was a kink in the zipper so it took us some time to get it zipped up. It did zip though! This dress was very flattering and it was really comfortable too. I wore about a 1" wedge heel. I could have worn flats and that would have been fine too. If you are 5'9" and want to wear taller heels I would suggest the tall size. If you are over 5'9" I would definitely order the tall size. Getting the dresses and returning them was a super easy process. They have it all organized and return labels printed for you. Will definitely use this service again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
February 1, 2016
The dress!
The fit was true to size. I'm 5'3 and wore 2 inch heels. It length was perfect, barely hitting on the ground. I received SO many compliments on this dress and how well it looked! I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 29, 2016
I was the lady in red. Gorgeous gown.
This dress is exquisite. I floated in it. I am 5'4" and wore 4 inch heels and the length was perfect. This dress is a show-stealer--it received compliments all night. Rent it!! It comes in several other colors as well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 51
January 27, 2016
Received so many compliments wearing this dress!
Fits true to size in length - a little tight around the rib cage, but comfortable once zipped. Perfect for a formal occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
January 25, 2016
I wore this for a Gala event and received lots of compliments. Recommend! I'd go a size up
Had a small issue with the zipper it's hard to zip up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Weight: 150lbs
January 25, 2016
Overall this dress was great!
I wore the 6 long. I'm a little over 5'7", and with short heels it was the perfect length. The skirt is super full though, so I found that my heels got caught in the fabric occasionally. The neck of the dress was a little high for me and rubbed my neck and collar bones causing some irritation. Other than that the dress was great. It's a beautiful color and it hugged me in all the right places!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 25, 2016
It was the perfect dress. I felt so beautiful and comfortable! Such a classic look.
I loved how flowy the skirt was! And it hid every trouble spot. I got it long because I was wearing heels! It reached the floor.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 50
January 24, 2016
Very comfortable, fit was fine. I'm 5'6' and regular length worked.
The 12 fit. Has a 14 as back-up. Regular length was fine with heels. Nice weight. Arrived on time and was clean.
Size worn:
14P
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 15
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 21, 2016
The color was beautiful!!!
I'm normally a size 8 or 10, but with any zip-up dresses i have to go up a few sizes. If you are a swimmer (like me), or have broad shoulders, you MUST size up. Other than that, this dress was beautiful. The petite length was the only one available, so that could've been better, but in the end it all worked out. The torso can get a little snug especially if you're eating at your event, so take that into consideration. I wish there more colors of this dress that i could rent, it's beautiful!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
January 21, 2016
The dress was really pretty and I would rent again.
I'm about 31" at the waist and the 8 fit, but was pretty snug. I wore the 10 which was much more comfortable. At 5'4" the height was perfect with about 4" heels, 3" would be great too!
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
January 21, 2016
Beautiful for any occasion
This past weekend I attended my first Hindu wedding and in the weeks leading up to the special weekend I was at a loss of what to wear. The bride advised guests who were new to the experience that it was not necessary to wear a sari, but rather that long dresses that cover the chest and back in bright jewel tones (NOT black) would be perfectly appropriate. I felt beautiful in this dress and would wear it again given the opportunity. I ordered the 2 and the 4P. The 4P was perfect for my ribcage and the length was perfect for my 1" wedge sandals.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Other
January 21, 2016
Gorgeous dress!
Wore this dress for our engagement shoot and never wanted to take it off. It fit perfectly and was so flowy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 20, 2016
Bump friendly, but size up due to tight empire waistband.
Rented for a holiday party- am 6 months pregnant. Normally wear 6-8, but sized up to 10L for my backup dress due to other reviewers comments re: inflexible waistband. Glad I did, as there is no give to the waistband and even the 10 was snug in that area. Color and fabric were beautiful. I am 5 10' and with 3 inch heels, the back of the dress was still to the floor. (I'm not wearing shoes in this picture). Would rent again post-pregnancy, as this dress covers a lot of problem areas.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 19, 2016
I felt beautiful!
Fit great! Was able to bend and move around. Very comfortable. I have a full bust (36 EE) and I didn't have to wear a bra.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
January 18, 2016
Truly stunning dress! I rented it for my fiance's firefighters ball. It is very fun and flowy!
I felt this dress fit true to size. I was a little concerned about it being too tight after reading other reviews as I have a wide rib cage, but it fit perfectly! However, I'm not very busty. I ordered a long which worked great with 3" heels, the dress just skimmed the floor. The dress itself was so stunning I didn't really feel the need to wear many accessories.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
January 18, 2016
Great classic dress! I got tons of compliments and it was super comfortable.
I'm 5'4" and the regular was a bit long. I wore 4 inch heals and could've used another inch in height, otherwise the size 2 was completely true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
January 17, 2016
The color was stunning!
Love this dress!!! easy fit, beautiful flowy fabric, very comfortable and makes dancing easy! It's such an effortless dress that made me feel like a million bucks! Great dress to wear of you want to show off and flaunt your arms!! You can wear a regular bra with this dress BUT make sure the straps are those that you can hide and pull! If not, just wear a strapless bra too. This dress also made me look like I have somewhat of a rack but in actuality I have no boobs! Ha!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 17, 2016
Super easy to use, and made me feel amazing for the night!
I wore the regular fit size 4, and it was pretty long, I wore a 5 inch platform wedge with it. It was very snug in my ribcage area, granted, I do have a pectus excavatum (my rib cage flares at the bottom instead of laying flat.) It looked gorgeous, got lots of compliments and I could even wear a bra (racer back.) It was super easy to move in and the whole rental process was super smooth and easy! I loved it. I'll definitely do it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
January 14, 2016
Wore this dress for my husband's Air Force Commissioning. Loved it!
The fit was a little bit on the small side, and the dress doesn't have any give so definitely make your backup size a size up... that's the one I wore. It did fit like a glove, perfect even for a very curvy hourglass figure. I will say, I got the "long" size because I am 5'10", and it still dragged the ground with a low heel! So Maybe don't get the tall unless you wear sky-high heels (as you can tell, my husband is shorter than me so I don't!). All in all, it is a lovely, very comfortable dress and I got a ton of compliments. I recommend it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 14, 2016
So many compliments on this dress! It was comfortable while still so elegant!
Pros: Material is so flowing and beautiful! Constant compliments! Very happy with the choice! I wish that I could have kept this dress as my own :) Cons: No cons for the actual dress, but I'm 5'5" and the "regular" size forced me to wear higher (4-5") than my usual choice of 2-3" heels. Should have went with petite...
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 14, 2016
Was wonderful! Wore it to a black tie optional wedding and it was great - fun dress and great color!
Wore the dress to a black-tie optional wedding. It was really easy to wear, fun to dance in (great 'movement') and totally hassle free. Also with the cut of the dress I didn't have to wear a strapless bra and could wear a regular one crossed in the back - always a plus in my book. The dress is relatively simple minus the color, but the pop was great in a sea of black and navy. The only down-side was a sticky zipper, but that's it!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 20
January 13, 2016
I absolutely loved this dress. It was extremely comfortable, movable, and fun to wear!
The dress was a tad long; however, that didn't matter, because the comfiness made up for it! It matched ASU's perfectly for Military Ball, and I got many compliments! Thanks, Rent the Runway!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
January 13, 2016
I was at a beautiful wedding and comfortable in this dress! It was perfect!
Snug in chest/ under my bust but true to size
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 132lbs
January 12, 2016
Simple Elegance!
I was hesitant about renting this dress because I wasn't sure it had the "wow" factor I was going for. Still, being a USMC wife, I also have to keep the dress somewhat simple and conservative. This dress was perfect!!! It fit like it was made for my slim 5'9 frame. I paired it with some chandelier earrings and got compliments all night! The only thing I will say is that I wish the dress had been a tad longer but the long was too long with only 2 inch heels. It would have been the perfect length with flats.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
January 11, 2016
felt AMAZING. Such a fun formal wedding dress. GREAT for dancing.
wore 3-ish inch heels. the 2P fit fine, but the 4P gave me just a little bit more room to eat
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 23
January 10, 2016
The company and ambiance of the entire event.
I would definitely recommend the long for anyone over 5'9'', I wore flats and the dress settled nicely on the ground. The zipper is tough so help was needed to get it all the way closed. Other than that the dress was perfect for the occasion.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
January 9, 2016
I felt like I was going to a gala! It was perfect for a runway!
This dress was absolutely stunning! It was elegant, comfortable and the red was radiant. Everyone said great things about the dress!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
January 8, 2016
Perfect dress for dancing, drinking, and eating!
I received both the 8R and the 10R, both sizes fit well. I decided to go with the 10R because it had a little bit more room to be comfortable in all night. Since I was at a wedding, eating and drinking were a bit part of it and the 8R might have been a little snug by the end of the night. The dress fit perfectly on m y 5'7" frame with flats. It really hid any bumps and lumps and accentuated all the right areas. The dress also came in near perfect condition and I did not steam it prior to the wedding. I would recommend the dress and the service any day!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
January 5, 2016
New Years Eve!
Wore this dress to a super formal New Years Eve party and got TONS of compliments on this dress. It fits a lot tighter than I think a 14 would. It had absolutely no give but I wore it without being super uncomfortable all night. I would rent this dress again if I lost a few inches.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 4, 2016
Beautiful red color and comfy!
NYE Wedding - lots of compliments on the beautiful red color. Probably could have gone a size smaller, as the back zipper area seemed a little stretched out. Overall, comfy dress (maybe a little long for me) and I felt wonderful wearing it!
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 41
January 4, 2016
Flattering but slightly uncomfortable
I rented this dress for a wedding where participants were asked to wear floor-length red gowns. After reading all the reviews, I thought this would be a good choice for my body type. I really loved the look of the dress and the way the material flowed at the bottom. I thought it was very flattering and I received tons of compliments. Unfortunately, I just did not find it comfortable. The waist felt binding when I sat down, making it difficult to enjoy eating at the reception. The "14L" size was so long that at 5'9 1/2 and even with 2"+ inch heels, I was tripping over the length. But the worst part was the cut in the back which made it very difficult to hide my bra straps. Even with fashion tape, they kept peeking out and I was very self-conscious about it. In hindsight, I wish I had gotten a strapless bra to go with it. Overall, the dress was beautiful, photographed well, and it did flatter my body type, but I ended changing into the more comfortable "Rose Haze" dress for the reception, and I was soooo happy with that choice.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
January 3, 2016
Sassy and Sophisticated!
I have an hourglass shape so this worked perfect! Snug in the ribcage, but flowy up top and bottom. I usually wear a 6 and it fit beautifully. Order your size and one up just in case. I got the regular length and I'm 5'5 and wore heels. So many compliments! Would order again in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185lbs
January 3, 2016
The dress was gorgeous, and came in plenty of time.
The middle band on this dress was very tight. I think the rest of the dress fit true to size, but definitely recommend going a size up if you have a big rib cage or broad back like me.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 23

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×