Rent the Runway

Badgley Mischka

Ruby Red Gala Gown

$70 rental
$740 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get glitzy for the gala in this red stunner by Badgley Mischka. A ruched waist and delicate pleating are an ultra flattering combination to make you feel confident! Layer on the jewels with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace, Cara Accessories’ Gold Dress Me Up Bracelet, and Serpui Marie’s Fireuze Crystal Minaudière.

Also available in green, cobalt and fuchsia.

Also available in sizes 16-22.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Cherry red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Ruched waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

675 reviews

Fit
Small 102
True to Size 485
Large 9
Photos 537
Marjorie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 7, 2014

Great dress for a black tie wedding!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I'm only 5'2" so I wore 4" heels and it the length was just about perfect. It skimmed the floor just a little. I usually wear a 2 but there's no stretch at all in band around the middle so I had to wear the next size up. So if you're a little broad you may want to size up. Other than that, the dress is perfect!
Carissa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 8, 2014

Perfect for this "optional" black tie wedding

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was so lovely. It flowed nicely and the material was light and rich with color (fun to dance in too!). Standing up and down was tricky because I kept stepping on the dress. But that could just be my own clumsiness! I wore a cuff bracelet which you can't see in the pictures. It was a little tight for my rib cage but not a big deal. My height is probably closer to 5' 8" and the 2R was perfect - although my heel height was about 3 inches. I will say there was a little stress the next day about finding a UPS store that was open on Sundays. We had to catch a flight home right in the middle of the day. But finally found one back in our home city with 15 minutes left to closing and it worked out fine. (I recommend planning your drop off location if you are traveling like we were)
Tiffany
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 2, 2015

This dress is gorgeous - I wore it for Christmas photos, and it was the star of our card this year.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It fits true to size, though it's a bit on the long side if you're petite like me. Such a flattering cut, and the color is stunning. Also very comfortable!
Rachel
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
Apr 1, 2015

Absolutely beautiful. Very fitting for a formal wedding.

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The 0L was a tad long (hard to walk up stairs) though not dragging on the floor with 3.5 inch heels. It was also a tad tighter than I am comfortable with around the rib cage/ arm holes. A 2R may have been a better fit for me, but I was in a crunch as the dress I ordered did not arrive. Overally I loved this dress and would highly recommend it!!
RTR Customer
May 17, 2015

RTR is great! The dress and the backup size arrived on time, and looked great in person.

Size worn: 4L
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfectly, and the color is even more beautiful in person. However, I needed help getting zipped up since the zipper was very tricky to do by myself. I ordered a 4L because the 4R was unavailable (I'm 5'6) and with 5 inch heels, it was the right length. This dress was perfect for senior prom, it's perfect for dancing- and I received many compliments. Thanks RTR!
Joanna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 17, 2015

Kind of disappointed with this dress :(

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Wedding
I had high hopes for this one because reviews were great and it looked like it would easily flatter me. It just felt like I was drowning in fabric. I rented the 4 which is my usual size. In hindsight maybe I should've gotten a size down. I think it just wasn't for me.
Kelly
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
May 17, 2015

I needed a fun dress to volunteer at a Casino Night fundraiser; this scored profits!!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm a size 8/10 athletic build with curves and shape. I'm 5'3", 36D, 145. So short, but need room for the girls. This dress fit great, was not excessively long (I always wear heels and it flowed nicely without tripping), and a great color. I had a ton of compliments and it was dressy enough for any type of event, but not so formal it couldn't be for a great night out or party.
Danni
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 184 lbs
May 17, 2015

I wore this to my Senior Prom and i got tons of compliments!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pros : its flows beautifully and gives you an illusion of a smaller waist. Con: the dress does run small.. im usually a size 8 and had to get a 12... i got a long and wore 3 inch heels but stil kinda stepped on my dress here and there but i only had to lift it up a little. Kick and walk ladies ! also i felt like it was plain with the backed zipped up .., so i left it kinda open for the open back look and just wore no bra or you could wear jellies . No one could tell i left the zipper open. it also gives more breathing room for your lungs if its kinda tight !
Mackenzie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 18
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
May 18, 2015

I loved the movement on this dress. It came out really nicely in all my pictures.

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It fit really well up top, but I wish it had been longer for my body type. I ended up taking off my shoes and that made it somewhat better. I ordered and paid for the 12 Long, but ended up wearing the 14 Long to give myself more length. I paired it will tons of pears and my Jack Rogers.
Sara
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
May 18, 2015

Perfect dress for early pregnancy!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
At 12 weeks pregnant having to attend a black tie wedding was very nerve wracking. I'm not showing yet but my chest is significantly larger than usual and I have some very serious bloating in my stomach. This dress hid both of these things well. I typically wore a size 10 and sized up assuming a 10 wouldn't fit as usual, I was spot on. The top of the dress worked well with my chest and the material flowed under the waist band so perfectly to hide my bloated stomach. While the dress fit perfect for this stage, I don't think it would a few weeks down the road as the waist band did definitely feel snug. I would imagine this dress would fit a true size 12 perfectly. It was just so beautiful and flowy, I truly felt like a princess every though I'm very self conscious right now!
Chelsea
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
May 18, 2015

Don't mind our goofy grins! We laughed the entire night and the dress was perfect.

Size worn: 10L
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was tighter in the rib area for me but I've always had broader ribs. This dress was really pretty and flowy. I hate to be cliche but I truly felt like a princess.
Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175 lbs
May 18, 2015

Gorgeous red got compliments all night

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Due to bra issues, I ended up going with a racerback sports bra last minute ... which worked and was comfortable. The dress is long, and I was wearing 3-4 inch heels. But it's quite comfortable and I got many compliments throughout the evening.
Carley
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 17
May 18, 2015

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 12R
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was amazing! I wouldn't have wished for any other dress for prom
Tyla
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
May 18, 2015

This was my first RTR experience and can't believe I waited this long!

Size worn: 2L
Rented for: Formal Affair
This beautiful gown is definitely true to size. I wore the 2L which was slightly long on me even with 4 in heels, but the overall fit was great. I absolutely loved it
Donna
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 19, 2015

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress. Many compliments!
laurjbrooks
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
May 20, 2015

PERFECT! Gorgeous and flowy, SUPER flattering

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress in 10R and 8R, as well as another style (a similar pink one) in size 10R. The 10R dresses would've fit, but were a bit looser in the bust, and a little less flattering than the 8R. I have a larger chest, so I wasn't sure the 8R would fit, but it was perfect. I still have wider hips and a bit of a belly from having my 2 babies, and this dress hid those things VERY well. Beautiful cut on the shoulders, GORGEOUS red- the picture doesn't do it justice because of poor lighting indoors, but gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous. I paired it with gold jewelry and felt SUPER classy and elegant. Love. I will absolutely use RTR again!
Chelsea
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 20, 2015

Head turner!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! It was elegant, classy, but with a spark of personality! I wore this to a black tie hospital gala and received so many compliments! I paired it with a Lilly Pulitzer statement necklace (from rent the runway) and white strappy heels. The red is very vibrant, brighter than the picture. I ordered the 2L and 4L as I go between those sizes with dresses. I fit into both of them but went with the 4 so I could breath easier. The part around the waist is pretty tight, this dress might not be the best for bustier women. The chiffon flowed beautifully when walking and made me feel gorgeous and feminine! I wore a regular strapless bra and it worked great. My husband loved everything!
Lexi
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
May 24, 2015

RTR was great! 1st time user and I was a little worried, but everything worked out!

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a complete show stopper. It fluttered in the wind, it twirled on the dance floor and I felt like a true princess. It is definitely tight in the rib cage, but the length was perfect and I wore 2.5-3" heels. I ended up taking my shoes off most of the night and it wasn't so long I was stepping on it. I got compliments All. Night. Long.
Stevie
Age: 27
May 26, 2015

This dress was seriously amazing. I got so many components and it was so fun to dance in this dress!

Size worn: 14L
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered my size and 1 size up because I got nervous after reading other reviews that said the bust area did not have a lot of room. The larger size worked perfectly and had a little extra room, so I wasn't uncomfortable. The flow-y material of this dress made it so fun to dance and swirl around in. I felt very glamorous. Nothing negative to say about my experience with this dress!
Carmen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
May 26, 2015

So many compliments!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit perfectly!!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 31, 2015

Gorgeous Color & Beautiful Flow

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
We chose this dress as bridesmaid dresses for my sister's wedding. My other sister was 4 weeks post partum and we wanted something classy and flattering that she would feel comfortable in. These did not disappoint. The red is bright and striking and the style is very elegant and flattering. The zippers are difficult, but I've encountered similar issues with many other chiffon gowns where the zipper is hidden and may be the nature of the fabric. Overall they moved and photographed beautifully. No one could believe how fabulous they looked and that we had never tried them on before renting. So glad we chose to go this way for bridesmaid dresses and would definitely recommend.
Alisha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 173 lbs
Jun 1, 2015

The dress was beautiful and customer service was awesome!

Size worn: 12P
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was beautiful and it was very comfortable. I received multiple comments on it. I also rented the showstopper earrings and clutch and liked those too. I have a small waist and fuller hips (32 inch waist and 45 inch hips) so size up if concerned. Loved it all and customer service was stellar. Definitely will rent again and have recommended to others.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Jun 2, 2015

Comfortable and elegant!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this gown for a black tie affair. The color is really rich and bright. The dress was super comfortable and not restrictive. I also think the cut was flattering. The only issue I had was with the length. I'm 5'6/5'7 and the regular was long with heels. I had to be extra careful when I was on the stairs or walking across the venue. Overall, it was a beautiful dress and I would rent it again.
Hailey
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 18
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175 lbs
Jun 2, 2015

I would rent this again, no question!!!

Size worn: 14R
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was absolutely gorgeous. The minute I put it on I felt like a princess. I wore this to my prom and definitely stood out in a good way because for the color. I'm only 5'2" and the regular length was perfect with a small heel. I have a large chest, and didn't need to wear a bra, however you could if you wanted too. Thanks and I'll be back again, RTR!
Kristi
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 7, 2015

Got compliments all night long! Was flowy and a perfect dress to dance in!

Size worn: 10R
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fit well the band under the bust is a little tight so I did have to go up a size. Dress is very long and I wore about 3.5in wedges and dress just barely touched the ground. Was a great dress and would wear it for any season!
Olga
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 7, 2015

Gorgeous dress! Perfect fit, perfect length... Would buy this!

Size worn: 8R
Rented for: Formal Affair
As other have commented, zipper was in fact hard to maneuver - used bar soap to lube the zipper and partially zipped before putting arms through - you need another person to help. Well worth the effort - such a gorgeous dress.
Callee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 8, 2015

Amazing very classy gown

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ended up renting this dress as a back up dress. I ended up wearing a different dress I had rented, because I worried about being hot at a outdoor wedding. I would rent this dress again in the future for a winter/fall event. Amazing fit and style.
Beth
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 8, 2015

Great dress - comfortable and elegant

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress can be worn with a regular bra w/ minor modifications (criss-cross straps). The waist is not forgiving, I ended up going size up. But the rest is very forgiving, flowing and soft and a fabulous color. I was comfortable and felt at ease at the black tie event I attended.
Sandy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158 lbs
Jun 8, 2015

Hid flaws well

Size worn: 12R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Razor back bra can be worn, comfortable, lots of compliments. Regular length with 2 inch heals was 3 inches off the ground. I normally wear an 8 or 10, the 10 was close to fitting my daughter who wears a 6.
JILLIAN
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 9, 2015

It felt amazing to wear this red, flowy gown to the event. I could dance and I felt beautiful.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'5 and wear between a 0-2, dependent on the designer. I wore 3.5 inch heels with the dress. Snug at the waist which was beautiful, able to wear a regular bra that could criss cross in the back. Multiple layers of fabric to give it the elegant look.
Margaret
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 10, 2015

The dress was perfect mix of elegant and professional

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I attended a fundraiser with the object of gaining new donors/clients. I had to have a dress that was both attractive and professional. This dress was super comfortable and quite striking, while remaining professional (no dramatic cutouts or short hemlines).
Wanda
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 15, 2015

This dress was a HUGE hit. I've never had so many compliments on a dress. Beautiful color and fit.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit very well. The only snug part was right around the ribs. It's not very forgiving, but I made it work and wasn't uncomfortable.
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 15, 2015

Stunning and elegant dress for photos!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved this dress! Rented it for part of our engagement photo session, and it was so stunning that it ended up making our save-the-date photo. I'm between a 4 and 6 normally, and that was true in this dress too. Went with the 4 because it squeezed everything in a little more without creating any unsightly bumps. The 4 was tightest on my ribs (I have a big rib cage), so the 6 also worked and would have given me more breathing room. The R is fairly long - I'm 5'5" and wearing 4" heels and it still skimmed the ground.
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 16, 2015

Lady in red

Size worn: 12L
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfectly- didn't even have to wear a bra! I'm 6ft tall so finding a dress long enough can be a struggle and the long perfectly skimmed the floor with flats on. The zipper was a huge pain to zip up but that seems to just be the case with this dress!
ladyinred
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 195 lbs
Jun 17, 2015

Great dress for a wonderful night!

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first RTR purchase and I have no complaints. It was a great last minute purchase that fit well and suited me perfectly. I got a lot of compliments all night!
Catesby
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 18, 2015

It was great feeling comfortable and confident in what I was wearing.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It ran a little tight, but the dress is classy and the color is beautiful! Would definitely recommend to anyone.
Kristen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 18, 2015

I felt like a queen at our black tie invited wedding in Philadelphia.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit true to size. I am a pear shape and there was plenty of room for my hips to be able to dance all night long! The only reason for 4/5 stars was there was a tiny snag on the bottom side of the dress. However, due to time and travel, I did not return it for a different dress. I will rent again from RTR.
lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
Jun 19, 2015

This dress is a dream!

Size worn: 14R
Rented for: Wedding
This was the most beautiful gown I've ever worn. It fit True to size, but was slightly sheer on the bottom so be prepared with nude colored under garments. It was flowy and light, perfect for the outdoor wedding I attended. It just hit the ground with flats on (I'm 5'6) I will absolutely be renting this again!
Elyse
Usually wears: 14
Height: 6' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 240 lbs
Jun 20, 2015

Stunning dress got compliments all night long

Size worn: 14L
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm 6'3" so I was a bit concerned with how the length would work out. It may have been a touch too short but not noticeable at all in low heels. I'm very busty and hippy and this dress accommodated just fine. People stopped me all night long to comment on the dress. First rent the runway experience and it was so effortless I was impressed.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 22, 2015

Beautiful & perfect hourglass fit!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fabric is luxurious and wasn't too heavy for a hot outdoor summer wedding. It was very easy to dance and walk around in. The long length was perfect for heels, if I had worn flat sandals, the regular length would have been better.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×