Rent the Runway

Badgley Mischka

Ruby Red Gala Gown

$70 rental
$740 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get glitzy for the gala in this red stunner by Badgley Mischka. A ruched waist and delicate pleating are an ultra flattering combination to make you feel confident! Layer on the jewels with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace, Cara Accessories’ Gold Dress Me Up Bracelet, and Serpui Marie’s Fireuze Crystal Minaudière.

Also available in green, cobalt and fuchsia.

Also available in sizes 16-22.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Cherry red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Ruched waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

619 reviews

Fit
Small 96
True to Size 454
Large 9
Photos 492
Marjorie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 7, 2014

Great dress for a black tie wedding!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I'm only 5'2" so I wore 4" heels and it the length was just about perfect. It skimmed the floor just a little. I usually wear a 2 but there's no stretch at all in band around the middle so I had to wear the next size up. So if you're a little broad you may want to size up. Other than that, the dress is perfect!
Carissa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 8, 2014

Perfect for this "optional" black tie wedding

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was so lovely. It flowed nicely and the material was light and rich with color (fun to dance in too!). Standing up and down was tricky because I kept stepping on the dress. But that could just be my own clumsiness! I wore a cuff bracelet which you can't see in the pictures. It was a little tight for my rib cage but not a big deal. My height is probably closer to 5' 8" and the 2R was perfect - although my heel height was about 3 inches. I will say there was a little stress the next day about finding a UPS store that was open on Sundays. We had to catch a flight home right in the middle of the day. But finally found one back in our home city with 15 minutes left to closing and it worked out fine. (I recommend planning your drop off location if you are traveling like we were)
Laurie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 16
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Dec 14, 2014

Absolutely Amazing Dress, loved the color!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for my Sweet 16 Masquerade Ball. I cannot express how much I loved this dress! I ordered it two days before my event so I could get a feel for it and make sure that it made me feel great. I don't think I could have asked for a better dress! The overall fit is true to size. If you have a larger bust,as I do, I would suggest going up a size because it can get a little tight. Other than that, for my first RTR Rental, this dress blew my mind and I got compliments on it all night! Definitely renting again!
Tiffany
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 2, 2015

This dress is gorgeous - I wore it for Christmas photos, and it was the star of our card this year.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It fits true to size, though it's a bit on the long side if you're petite like me. Such a flattering cut, and the color is stunning. Also very comfortable!
Caroline
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 21, 2015

Pop of color in a black and white world. Nothing but compliments all night

Size worn: 10R
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the color and the material of the dress. Very flowy and forgiving for those problem areas to want to hide. My only con is that the top of this dress was very snug. I'm not huge in the chest area but I definitely have some curves and if you are the same you should definitely size up to compensate for this issue. The other con would be the zipper on this dress is extremely difficult to zip up. My boyfriend had to zip this up little by little and it was a pain. But with that said I loved everything else about this dress and I would get it again in a heartbeat. The length was perfect for me with 4-5 inch heels on. Thanks RTR!!!
Kate
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 21, 2015

Overall great experience !!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely LOVE this dress and it to so, so many compliments. I was so sad when I had to send it back. I wore it for a military ball and it was perfect. Sleek and flattering and fit me like a glove. I'm 5'6 and ordered the 4R and it was the perfect length. Overall RTR was a great experience and I would definitely rent again !!
Elissa
Age: 28
Apr 22, 2015

The dress was perfect for a formal affair. I felt like a celebrity in this gown.

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this dress. The color was vibrant and the chiffon lent an elegant touch for a black tie wedding. I ended up wearing the 6R and it fit like a glove. It is fitted at the waist but flows below. Definitely wear a strapless bra. I got a lot of compliments throughout the night. Would definitely recommend!
Ana
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 22, 2015

I was "The Girl in Red", EVERYBODY toll me so, I felt glamorous ......

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Pros felt nice, and comfortable, beautiful red color, Cons the one that fit came with a little torn in the front on the hem, and I felt very supported from the people of the RTR, they took very good care of me, thank you.
Allie
Top Contributor
Age: 20
Apr 23, 2015

The red was perfect for the occasion.

Size worn: 6L
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was true to size. Absolutely stunning for an evening of dancing. The length was a tad bit long and I tripped over the bottom portion when I wasn't wearing heals. I would recommend the regular size for women under 5'9. Other than the length, it was a beautiful gown and an unforgettable evening.
Sydney
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 24, 2015

Gorgeous Dress!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress, it was so comfortable and made me feel elegant and classy. Love the high neck line, I got compliments throughout the night and everyone asked me where I got it. Some even told me they were "obsessed with my dress" can you blame them?
Kelsey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Body type: Petite
Apr 25, 2015

This dress is amazing!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I LOVED this dress! I received compliments on the color all night long and the fit was fantastic. The length was perfect with three inch heels. The dress arrived on time and sending it back to RTR was easy. I also rented the bracelet that went with it.
Angie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Apr 26, 2015

I got so many compliments on this dress all night long.

Size worn: 14R
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color is a VIBRANT red. Fit was perfect for me. I have a smaller waist with larger hips and a little tummy. This hides the tummy!! If you have a thicker waist you may want to size up. It is long but I wore some sky high heels with it and it was a perfect length for me. The flow of this dress was just gorgeous and after my 1st 2 I rented fell thru for this event, I called immediately and they sent this to me next day. I was so grateful for RTR's fantastic customer service that put my mind at ease for this fabulous charity ball. Thank you again for an amazing look RTR!!! I will rent this dress again!!
Kate
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Apr 26, 2015

Elegant ceremony and tons of fun on the dance floor.

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is bold, elegant and beautiful! I got so many compliments on it! It was a little long with 3.5" heels - I would wear the regular length next time for sure.
Lindsay
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 27, 2015

Comfortable and flattering!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Color was a very nice shade of bright red and the fabric was light and soft.
Signe
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 16
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 29, 2015

I wore this dress to prom and it was just perfect. I go so many compliments and I felt amazing too.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was amazing, but I would like to say that even though I looked on what shoe height was recommended and whether I should get the regular or the long it ran a little long. Without heels I was tepping on it and with the heels I had it was really close. There was a little tear in the bottom of the dress that we tried to fix, and almost on top of my left behind there was a little spot. None of this ruined my experience and no one noticed, but I would just like to mention it.
Taylor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 29, 2015

Effortlessly #Flawless

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my FIRST time using RTR and I could have not had a better experience! 8R was the original size I was hoping to wear and it fit perfectly. I literally couldn't believe it because that never happens in general and I am not the best online shopper. I am on the taller side and the R was the perfect length for flats (but honestly I think heels could have worked too). I wore this dress to a military ball and when looking for a dress I wanted something that was flattering, comfortable, and dance-proof (I think I am Beyonce).... This dress was all three in one! Not to mention the red was even more stunning in person. For having an athletic and curve-a-ilicous bod this dress covers and shows off in all the right places. Overall, I highly recommend this dress and give it 5 stars for being #flawless!!
Sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 29, 2015

This dress was stunning! I got compliments all night on the color and fit!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit was absolutely perfect! I didn't know what length to get because I'm right on the verge between needing a regular and a long, but I went with the 6R and with my heels, it was as if the dress was hemmed just for me! The zipper stuck a little bit, but it wasn't too bad. The only downside was that when I sat down, I had to sit up very straight to breath, but I have a large chest, so that's something I'm used too.
Lois
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 1, 2015

I love this dress! The color is gorgeous and the dress flows beautifully.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my school's banquet and got tons of compliments! I like everything about the dress. It flows beautifully. The color is gorgeous. The silhouette of the dress was perfect for me because I have broad hips. And the suggested neck piece (Kenneth Jay Lane Gold Shadow Bib Necklace) was the perfect accessory! The only thing I wasn't happy about was the length of the dress. I wore 3.5 inches heels but it was still too long for me. I should have ordered a petite size. But other than that, I totally would rent this dress again!
kourtney
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
May 3, 2015

YOU. NEED. THIS. DRESS.

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Formal Affair
this dress is so stunning and much like the other renters on here.. I received compliments all night! I did have to size up because of my bust (32DD) but the dress was so comfortable and truly truly gorgeous.
cristina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
May 3, 2015

Beautiful dress and so much fun!

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a size 2 or 4 petite but because of what is in stock I only had the option to order a 2 and 4p. The 2 fit perfect but was too long so I went with the 4p, which ended up working out well. I have a large bust and small figure so I usually have a hard time finding something that fits perfectly. This not only fit but I didn't even have to wear a bra(hallelujah). Loved the color, especially for a night, formal wedding!
SarsMakayka
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
May 4, 2015

Perfect Dress!

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Other
This dress was absolutely perfect!! It was so comfortable to wear. I ordered it for my senior prom and got tons of compliments. I would recommend renting to anyone going to prom. The pictures do not give the color of the dress justice.
Shannon
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170 lbs
May 5, 2015

amazing color!

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
this dress was really great. the color was fabulous and the cut of the chest and back were incredibly flattering. the waist band is tight on the rib cage so even though i usually wear a 12, i ended up wearing the 14 because of the rib cage. so many compliments through the night and it made me feel great!
Beth
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
May 6, 2015

Pretty, comfortable and 'forgiving.'

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was true to size, it accents your waist and hides things you may want hidden. It was an easy, comfortable dress to wear and I got lots of complements. The only issue I had as that the zipper was a little sticky. I would rent it again.
Erin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
May 6, 2015

I got so many compliments!

Size worn: 4L
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fits true to size. If you're a taller girl like me (5'10), definitely order the long. I wore flats and it was the perfect length. The regular was way too short.
Lynn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 8, 2015

Comfy dress

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress.. 4P not available so order a 4. Dress was long for 5'2". Top fit perfect for 34D. I'm all about comfort and this dress was very easy to wear at this formal
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
May 9, 2015

Amazing dress!!

Size worn: 12R
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was amazing. Good thing the 12 fit because they sent me a completely different dress in the same color for my second size. Which didn't fit and I later found out it was identical to the bridesmaids dresses. That would have been uncomfortable. I had people telling me all night how amazing my dress was. One of the brides family members even told me I was best dressed at the wedding! I would love to have another event to wear this dress to!!! Definitely happy with this rental!! Thanks RTR for another win!!!
Adrian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
May 13, 2015

Wore for my sisters wedding. Loved it. So flowy, great for dancing

Size worn: 4P
Rented for: Wedding
But I am normally a 2 and for some reason the way that this dress is made I felt like I was suffocating in the 4 just around my waist. But other than that (def order up a size) I loved this dress. So much that I may rent this exact dress (in different colors) again soon
RTR Customer
May 17, 2015

RTR is great! The dress and the backup size arrived on time, and looked great in person.

Size worn: 4L
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfectly, and the color is even more beautiful in person. However, I needed help getting zipped up since the zipper was very tricky to do by myself. I ordered a 4L because the 4R was unavailable (I'm 5'6) and with 5 inch heels, it was the right length. This dress was perfect for senior prom, it's perfect for dancing- and I received many compliments. Thanks RTR!
Joanna
Age: 33
May 17, 2015

Kind of disappointed with this dress :(

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Wedding
I had high hopes for this one because reviews were great and it looked like it would easily flatter me. It just felt like I was drowning in fabric. I rented the 4 which is my usual size. In hindsight maybe I should've gotten a size down. I think it just wasn't for me.
Kelly
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
May 17, 2015

I needed a fun dress to volunteer at a Casino Night fundraiser; this scored profits!!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm a size 8/10 athletic build with curves and shape. I'm 5'3", 36D, 145. So short, but need room for the girls. This dress fit great, was not excessively long (I always wear heels and it flowed nicely without tripping), and a great color. I had a ton of compliments and it was dressy enough for any type of event, but not so formal it couldn't be for a great night out or party.
Danni
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 17
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 184 lbs
May 17, 2015

I wore this to my Senior Prom and i got tons of compliments!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pros : its flows beautifully and gives you an illusion of a smaller waist. Con: the dress does run small.. im usually a size 8 and had to get a 12... i got a long and wore 3 inch heels but stil kinda stepped on my dress here and there but i only had to lift it up a little. Kick and walk ladies ! also i felt like it was plain with the backed zipped up .., so i left it kinda open for the open back look and just wore no bra or you could wear jellies . No one could tell i left the zipper open. it also gives more breathing room for your lungs if its kinda tight !
Mackenzie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 17
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
May 18, 2015

I loved the movement on this dress. It came out really nicely in all my pictures.

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It fit really well up top, but I wish it had been longer for my body type. I ended up taking off my shoes and that made it somewhat better. I ordered and paid for the 12 Long, but ended up wearing the 14 Long to give myself more length. I paired it will tons of pears and my Jack Rogers.
Sara
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
May 18, 2015

Perfect dress for early pregnancy!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
At 12 weeks pregnant having to attend a black tie wedding was very nerve wracking. I'm not showing yet but my chest is significantly larger than usual and I have some very serious bloating in my stomach. This dress hid both of these things well. I typically wore a size 10 and sized up assuming a 10 wouldn't fit as usual, I was spot on. The top of the dress worked well with my chest and the material flowed under the waist band so perfectly to hide my bloated stomach. While the dress fit perfect for this stage, I don't think it would a few weeks down the road as the waist band did definitely feel snug. I would imagine this dress would fit a true size 12 perfectly. It was just so beautiful and flowy, I truly felt like a princess every though I'm very self conscious right now!
Chelsea
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
May 18, 2015

Don't mind our goofy grins! We laughed the entire night and the dress was perfect.

Size worn: 10L
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was tighter in the rib area for me but I've always had broader ribs. This dress was really pretty and flowy. I hate to be cliche but I truly felt like a princess.
Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175 lbs
May 18, 2015

Gorgeous red got compliments all night

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Due to bra issues, I ended up going with a racerback sports bra last minute ... which worked and was comfortable. The dress is long, and I was wearing 3-4 inch heels. But it's quite comfortable and I got many compliments throughout the evening.
Carley
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 16
May 18, 2015

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 12R
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was amazing! I wouldn't have wished for any other dress for prom
Tyla
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
May 18, 2015

This was my first RTR experience and can't believe I waited this long!

Size worn: 2L
Rented for: Formal Affair
This beautiful gown is definitely true to size. I wore the 2L which was slightly long on me even with 4 in heels, but the overall fit was great. I absolutely loved it
Donna
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 19, 2015

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress. Many compliments!
laurjbrooks
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
May 20, 2015

PERFECT! Gorgeous and flowy, SUPER flattering

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress in 10R and 8R, as well as another style (a similar pink one) in size 10R. The 10R dresses would've fit, but were a bit looser in the bust, and a little less flattering than the 8R. I have a larger chest, so I wasn't sure the 8R would fit, but it was perfect. I still have wider hips and a bit of a belly from having my 2 babies, and this dress hid those things VERY well. Beautiful cut on the shoulders, GORGEOUS red- the picture doesn't do it justice because of poor lighting indoors, but gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous. I paired it with gold jewelry and felt SUPER classy and elegant. Love. I will absolutely use RTR again!
Chelsea
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 20, 2015

Head turner!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! It was elegant, classy, but with a spark of personality! I wore this to a black tie hospital gala and received so many compliments! I paired it with a Lilly Pulitzer statement necklace (from rent the runway) and white strappy heels. The red is very vibrant, brighter than the picture. I ordered the 2L and 4L as I go between those sizes with dresses. I fit into both of them but went with the 4 so I could breath easier. The part around the waist is pretty tight, this dress might not be the best for bustier women. The chiffon flowed beautifully when walking and made me feel gorgeous and feminine! I wore a regular strapless bra and it worked great. My husband loved everything!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×