Ruby Red Gala Gown

$70 rental
$740 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get glitzy for the gala in this red stunner by Badgley Mischka. A ruched waist and delicate pleating are an ultra flattering combination to make you feel confident! Layer on the jewels with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace, and Cara Accessories’ Gold Dress Me Up Bracelet.

Also available in green, cobalt and fuchsia.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 and plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 and plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Cherry red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Ruched waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
1166 reviews
Fit
Large16
True to Size738
Small181
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
August 22, 2016
Beautiful dress, great for formal events!
I rented this dress to wear to a beach wedding. I ended up going with a dress that was shorter for fear of looking too similar to the bridesmaids, but it's a very elegant dress. The red is rich without being too much. You can really wear whatever bra you want with it and accessories can help to dress it up or dress it down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
August 22, 2016
excellent red
didn't end up wearing this one, but it fit great - the 4L wasn't too long, just right - and the color is stunning. would definitely consider renting it for another event.
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 3"
August 19, 2016
Love, love, love!!!
I absolutely loved this dress, except my true size left me with a little bit of a hunch back. Definitely order your true size and a larger one if you're pear shaped.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
August 17, 2016
It's a lovely dress...
I received this dress as a 3rd choice to choose from since my original dress was not available. They quickly to initiative and sent me other options similar choices to my original request! Kudos to them and their awesome customer service. I personally believe this dress would've been great in one size larger since it was a little snug to zip up on the back however if I have to rent another dress in the future, this would be a contender!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 200lbs
August 14, 2016
Last minute fix turned out great!
I ordered this dress originally in green for an out of town black tie optional wedding and unfortunately I never got my first dress. Thankfully, my friend who recommended RTR called and had them send me two new dresses to my hotel and I received this one. I ended up wearing the 14wl because the zippers were so hard to figure out and it was the easiest zipper to get up. The length of the wl was shorter than the long which was a little frustrating and it was big in the chest. Even with those two things I was able to get a dress on time for the wedding and received many compliments throughout the evening. I would definitely use rent the runway again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
August 14, 2016
Color was beatiful. I wore a 14 p. I'm 5'4" and it was perfect with heels.
Pros color, design is flattering for a curvy gal, cool, comfortable. I received many compliments. Cons the zipper was kinda tough, there was a tear in one of the seams.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
August 14, 2016
Got lots of compliments, even though it was less flattering than I'd hoped!
Pretty dress! It didn't really skim my curves the way I'd liked though, so I felt a bit like I was wearing a sheet below the waist. But that's just a personal preference.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
August 14, 2016
Too big; red color was a little more orange than I like
Fit: Ordered in my size based on reviews, but it was too large in the bust (I'm a 38DDD) and the arm holes opened too low on my sides (bra difficulties ensued). I considered pinning the back together to get through the night but RTR was able to send a replacement in time!! Length: I had the 20R and 20L. I'm 5'9" and wore flats. The R was better with flats.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
August 11, 2016
Dress looked great - but I had the same one as someone else at the wedding! We had a good laugh.
Fits a little tight in the band, and is long, but it feels great and moves well.
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
August 11, 2016
Wonderful night! I literally turned heads
Perfect fit! Perfect material and color! Rather long but still beautiful!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 40
August 10, 2016
Super comfortable, but super elegant, too.
I'm 5'9 1/2 and got the long and wore flats. I wouldn't have been able to wear heels in it. I love that it's available long - thank you so much! It's definitely tighter around the waist, which is common for this cut, just be aware when ordering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
August 10, 2016
Wonderful color, comfortable fit
I liked this dress! At 5'4" I needed to wear my 3 inch heels to keep this dress off the floor. The other issue is that there is ZERO support built into the dress... and it's hard to wear a bra with straps! I didn't mind most of the night until I got on the dance floor and my girls were definitely hoisting up and down... ouch! Also, I decided to wear some SPANX under this simply because I'm self conscious about my tummy area and unless I remembered to suck it in all night I'm pretty sure I would have looked pregnant!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
20WL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Weight: 250lbs
August 10, 2016
"Just Enough" Sexy!
I wore this on my recent honeymoon cruise. It traveled well, and fit like a charm. The bust area was a bit large, but everywhere else fit! I accentuated it with pearl drop earrings and a gold cuff.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
August 10, 2016
Easy and confortable
Great fit- especially if you want to wear a regular bra and be comfortable all night! Flattering for all body types.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
August 10, 2016
I LOVED THIS DRESS. it fit perfectly and i got loads of compliment that night.
no cons i can think of. Just that quite a number of us liked the dress so we there were a couple of others in the same dress in a different color.. Thank God :p
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
August 9, 2016
I loved this dress!
Fit true to size, very flattering . A bit tight at the waist.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Weight: 158lbs
August 9, 2016
This dress was a last minute order since my other gown did not work and I loved it!
This dress was great for a pear sized body! It was a little tight in the chest area, but nothing that was hindering to the evening. The dress was longer, so I had to make sure to wear taller heels and the reason for a four star rating. I felt absolutely amazing in this gown and the red really complimented my blonde hair. Perfect for a black tie event! I wore it to a fraternity convention banquet.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
August 3, 2016
No one wore red so I really stood out!
I wore this for a wedding... It fit great but it was really long! I def needed hire heals! But I'm super short! The dress was very comfortable and I got tons of compliments! I would def recommend this dress to anyone
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
August 2, 2016
Absolutely gorgeous!
fit was perfect and accentuated the bust. Perfect length when I wore 3 in. heels.
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
July 25, 2016
Beautiful!
This dress was a dream. It was true to size and cinched in your waist good. It was very comfortable and the length was perfect. The dress was not heavy it was actually light. Great to dance in as well. I got complements all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 22
July 22, 2016
Very Flattering!
If you're a busty girl like me this dress is perfect. I wore to a black tie wedding and did not want anything that revealed too much and this was perfect. I am shorter and a little chunky but it hid all of that. It is tight around the rib cage area like most other girls said but with some spanks and dancing I hardly noticed it. It is a very vibrant red like the picture. Would definitely recommend.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 162lbs
July 22, 2016
Great for hourglass shape!
This dress was very elegant for a formal wedding. The color is a true red and the fit is perfect for an hourglass shape. I was able to wear a strapless bra with the dress. Glad I got the long!
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
July 21, 2016
I was receiving compliments ALL night. It was such a flattering dress and LOVED the color!
Gorgeous color. The length was perfect (I am 5'8 flat footed and wore 1" wedges). It was such a great dress to dance around in and I did not want to return it! LOVE!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
July 19, 2016
Gorgeous Lady in Red dress
I wore this to a black tie optional wedding at a vineyard and absolutely adored it. I found it true to size. I had also ordered the 6P thinking the regular might run super long but the 4 regular fit better and was fine with heels. I got so many compliments and loved the color and the cut.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
July 18, 2016
A beautiful, flowy dress that creates the perfect hourglass silhouette.
This dress is stunning! This was my first time ordering from RTR, and I was a little nervous since I have a pretty large bust. It fit true to size. I'm usually a 14 or 16 depending on brand/item. I ordered this in a 16WR, just to be safe with an 18WR as my backup. I didn't even try on the 18 since the 16 fit so perfectly. It was a bit snug in the waist area, but I didn't mind since that's how it's supposed to fit - cinches you in in the perfect waist area to create that hourglass shape we're all looking for, right? I am almost 5'6'' and the regular length was just barely above the ground, ALMOST the tiniest bit too short but since I wore flats, it worked out fine. If wearing heels, I would recommend the long version for someone my height. It is a true cherry red (this pic has a filter on it), very simplistic yet elegant. I will definitely be ordering from RTR again! I'm hooked! :-)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
July 17, 2016
Very comfortable, tons of compliments - you cannot go wrong with red!
I would say I'm an 8R, but the zipper got stuck - very tight around bust and ribcage, so went with the 10R. I'm 5'5" and with a 2" heel, this was the PERFECT length, and just skimmed the ground. If you're too much bustier than a 34-36D, this might be too small on top. But overall great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Weight: 175lbs
July 17, 2016
Great time at SoCal black tie wedding in gorgeous Badgley Mischka gown!
I really loved wearing this dress to a family black-tie wedding in SoCal! I originally picked the navy blue, until I heard the bridesmaids were in navy! I wore strappy kitten heel sandals (Nordstrom) and had to buy a new bra that would not show. (strapless) I rented the gold Kate Spade handbag, and the gold/diamond bracelet as well. I usually wear 12/14 in dresses and the 14 *just* zipped up. It is very tight around the waist. Order 1 or 2 sizes up!! The 12 and 14 I received were very similar in size. The length was perfect (regular) and I am 5'8".
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16WP
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 235lbs
July 15, 2016
Perfect gown for friends wedding rehearsal dinner!
Absolutely perfect! Hides everything well! Loved the dress. Showed off my shoes perfectly! I rented the 16wp and I'm 5'5" and 235 pounds. It was spectacular and I got tons of compliments on it throughout the night. Not too formal but just formal enough!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
July 11, 2016
Elegant and standout color
Both the two regular and the four petite both fit The only thing that differed was the lengths. If I was to wear the four petite I would have had to wear flats so I decided to go with the two regular and wear 3 inch heels and then the length was perfect. I wore a racer back bra because otherwise the straps would have shown a little. Overall the dress was beautiful and I got tons of compliments, perfect for a fourth of July wedding!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
July 11, 2016
Beautiful! Tons of compliments
Loved it, length just a touch long in about 2" heels (I'm only 5'1"), but super fun to dance in. Lots of compliments. I usually am a 6P, rarely an 8P, and I'm glad I went with the 8P as a back up because even that was real tight in the ribs. Once I got zipped in to it though I was comfy.
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 11, 2016
Fabulous color, flattering through and through, exceedingly comfortable.
The striking fire-engine red of this dress minimizes the need for accessories (I paired it with the Dakota earrings, as well as my own nudge-colored wedges). I got tons of compliments at the formal, summer evening wedding I attended, so I highly recommend it. Here's the rub: it runs long, so if you are 5'5" or under and don't want to stomp around in sky-high heels, get the petite version. And even then, approach stairs with caution! In addition, the band around the waist is noticeably tight — so much so that when I got my initial shipment of the 2 (2R and 2P), I couldn't zip up either of them, despite my best efforts, because my rib cage was just a little too wide. In a panic, I called RTR and they overnighted me a 4P, which fit perfectly (so order a size up as your backup if you worry this might happen to you). This was my first RTR experience, and I can't say enough good things about the customer service!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 7, 2016
Beautiful, versatile dress for multiple event types
Wore this dress for a black-tie formal wedding. It was very comfortable and elegant. Such a stunning dress another wedding guest had it on ;) It's very versatile, and I imagine would be beautiful at a range of functions. The only cons were 1) it was very long for my height (5'4") - I wore 3"-4" heels and it still dragged a little, and 2) the waist band was a tight in my normal size (0R) when zipped, so I ended up wearing my backup (2R). This is probably why it was a bit long. All in all, it was a beautiful, comfortable choice that would be elegant for so many occasions.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 6, 2016
Wore this to a black tie wedding - comfy and gorgeous!
I LOVE this dress. I rented the water lilies version for my rehearsal dinner and couldn't wait for another reason to wear it again. An early summer black-tie wedding was the perfect occasion! This dress is comfortable - no worries of straps slipping or a dress falling down. The style covers your midsection well if that is an area of concern. And the skirt - the flow is incredible on this dress, I absolutely love walking in it and felt elegant all night long. I am usually between a 4 and a 6, and the 4Long was securely tight but still very comfortable, the 6 had too much wiggle room. At 5'10" I wore the long with flat sandals and it was the perfect length. I am still getting compliments on this dress and would add it to my wardrobe if I had enough occasions to wear it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 19
July 5, 2016
This gown was just what I thought it would be- simple and elegant.
It fit really well, but I am 5'6" and I couldn't wear heels with it because it would have been way to short.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14WR
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
July 4, 2016
Great dress that fits in all the right places!
This dress was my second choice sent after my first dress was too big. It was a huge hit and I received tons of compliments. I'm 5'6 1/2" and wore flats and the dress was a perfect length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
July 4, 2016
Absolutely love this dress
I love that I can wear a normal bra with this dress (with a racerback converter). It's made very well and flows beautifully. I only regret not getting the long. I'm 5'7" and ordered the regular length because I never wear heels higher than 2 inches, but this regular length is short enough not to touch the floor without any shoes on, so it was a little too short even for my 2 inch heels. I rented it with the Kenneth Jay Lane Gold Shadow Bib Necklace, just like everyone else, because it goes so well with the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
July 2, 2016
So elegant and classic
Wore this to a military ball and I think it was perfect for that. The gown is just beautiful and was really very comfortable. I wore the dress with 3" heels, and the dress did not cover the shoes, but I think that's for the best because if it really was floor-length, you'd be stepping on your own dress with every step you took! The one not-fabulous part about this dress was the way it seemed to minimize my chest. I haven't felt like I needed a padded bra in a dress since middle school, but looking at this photo, I think that's exactly what this dress needed! Otherwise, it's a beautiful dress and I'm very glad to have gotten it this time from RTR.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
July 1, 2016
Cinderella Moment
When people STOPPED in their steps to say how lovely I looked in this red gown, I knew this was more than the obligatory niceties. This selection couldn't have been better suited for my 5'11" body.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
June 30, 2016
Gown was gorgeous and perfect for the Gala.
I normally wear a 10-12 but thankfully had also had a 14 sent as my backup. The 12 was very snug/tight at the chest and band around waist, tried on the 14 and it fit perfectly.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 38
June 29, 2016
Great dress
LOVED this dress. Fit pretty good to size, perfect to dance in, and received compliments all night.
See more reviews:
1 / 30

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×