Ruby Red Gala Gown

$70 rental
$740 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get glitzy for the gala in this red stunner by Badgley Mischka. A ruched waist and delicate pleating are an ultra flattering combination to make you feel confident! Layer on the jewels with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace, and Cara Accessories’ Gold Dress Me Up Bracelet.

Also available in green, cobalt and fuchsia.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 and plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 and plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Cherry red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Ruched waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
1075 reviews
Fit
Large15
True to Size698
Small171
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
April 27, 2016
Great dress
Beautiful, comfortable, free-flowing dress. This dress runs pretty true to size, except for the waist band, which ran a bit tight. I'm typically between a 4P and a 6P and ended up wearing the 6P. The 6P was a little bit hard to zip up at first, but it wasn't uncomfortable once the zipper was up. The 8P waist fit a bit better but the top was too large and it made me look boxy. But overall, I loved this dress.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 26, 2016
I felt like a princess in my dress- the red color popped and the flow of the dress was so fun!
The fit was true to size. The length was a bit long but with 4 inch heels it ended up being perfect! I loved everything my RTRW experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
April 26, 2016
Perfect dress for a formal event!
The fit was true to size. I wore this dress to a formal event and it was perfect. Everyone commented on how nice the dress was. When I told them it was Badgley Mischka, they just died! I will be renting this designer's dresses again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 26, 2016
Color was perfect for this gala!
Beautiful fit & color.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 25, 2016
Perfect for a black tie wedding!
I needed a dress last minute for a black tie wedding. I was worried because I am petite and I was scared it would be either too short or too long. The 6 petite fit perfect. I could have worn flats and it would skim the floor but I wore about 4 inch heels and it floated perfectly above the ground. I received many compliments and the dress is super flowy in the bottom. I would definitely rent this again! The zipper like many have said is very hard to get up, you will need help. The mid section is tight but you get used to it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 25, 2016
Rental was a breeze, dress travels well and doesn't need ironing.
The fit was as expected from other reviewers, fitted on the rib cage pretty snug but it was true to size. I needed help with the zipper so make sure you have a second pair of hands when you put it on. I ordered my regular size with no backups and it fit fine. The skirt was nice and flowy which was perfect for keeping track of our three busy kids during the event. Plenty of room for tugging, being stepped on and my youngest trying to hid behind me - it was perfect! I felt put together and dressy but able to bend down to pick up kids, or chase after them without feeling frazzled. The one problem with the fit and style of the dress was the bust was really droopy. I'm very pear shaped - size 14 but with a size B cup the front was really saggy but not evenly blousey. It looked fine from the front but odd from the size. Pairing it with a statement necklace helped keep the fabric down but if your body type is the same be aware of the look for the fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 216lbs
April 24, 2016
Gorgeous dress, great service!
I felt BEAUTIFUL in this dress. It emphasized my waist and my boobs and flowed over my hips. I was completely covered up but felt very sexy in a classic way. It was perfect for the black tie wedding I attended in Georgetown. Another girl wore the same dress in the fuchsia (which was my back up dress) so luckily I chose the red. Go for this dress!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 19
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 24, 2016
First sorority formal!
Pros: beautiful color, fit perfect, arrived in time Cons: A little tight around the middle, and a little long even with petite and heels
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 21, 2016
This was the perfect color in a sea of black and could not have been better for dancing all night!
The 2 fit best, but wasn't available in red. So I went with the 4, and it didn't look too large. The regular length was too long for my 5'3" frame. While the petite was a little short for heels, but the length was not noticeable. Overall it was a very classic dress and great compliment for any body type.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 20, 2016
Perfect for a Couples photo session
My fiance and I wanted to glam up our couples photo session, and this was the perfect choice for an urban photoshoot. I received lots of compliments from strangers passing by, it was so comfortable to move in, and hit at a perfect length with 3 inch heels. Worn with a neutral cross back bra, and the straps did not show at the neckline.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
April 19, 2016
Pretty & comfortable dress
I got a size long because im 5'8" and knew i would be wearing heels. It was more than long enough, I felt like I was stepping on it all night. Other than that, it was very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
April 18, 2016
Stood out in a sea of blues
Super comfortable dress. Flowed so well and the color was beautiful for a late summer wedding. Everyone loved the color since it was stood out in a sea of other darker colors. Would rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
April 17, 2016
Great customer service, quality product!
So classy, comfortable, flattering, and stunning! I felt so confident in this gown! I wore the 12L, the 10L fit perfectly as well but the 12 gave me a bit more wiggle room in the waist which was obviously more comfortable. Great first rental experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 17, 2016
many, many compliments!!
I wore this dress for my senior prom and it was amazing. It fit perfectly! I am 5'6'' and with heels on, the regular length was just right. It did fit a little tight at the band right under my bust, but it wasn't uncomfortable. Overall, a beautiful dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 16, 2016
I felt like a million bucks!
This dress is so fabulous! The pictures don't do it justice. It's very flowy and elegant. I usually wear a 10, but I'll admit I have put on some weight and so ended up wearing the 12. I paired the dress with the same accessories the model had and they were amazing! I got so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 14, 2016
Absolutely loveeeed this dress!! Rented it for my engagement photo shoot!! Great service!
I ordered a 4R & 6R. I am 5"7 and the regular was the perfect length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Weight: 240lbs
April 14, 2016
Amazing last minute dress!!
This dress was my last minute choice that RTR overnighted to me (thank you thank you thank you!!) when my original picks fit me horribly and the only one that worked was unfortunately damaged. I am typically between a 16/18 and it can swing either way depending on the brand. Based other reviews, I sized up and it fit perfectly. It was a little long, but once I put on 3.75" heels, it grazed the floor beautifully. As other reviews do mention, the waistband is a little snug, but not uncomfortable. I actually liked the snugness as it forced me to have better posture all night. I got so many compliments through out the night (especially since I was the only lady in the room in the stunning red), I'm so glad I ended up wearing this dress! Definitely loved!
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 13, 2016
I've never received so many complements while wearing a dress! I felt truly special!
This dress fit like a glove, it was perfect for the JDRF Gala.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 13, 2016
Loved this dress. The 6 LONG fit well with 4 inch heels and I'm 5'7". Flattering and comfortable!
Fit was great, a little roomy in the bust but that can be fixed with slight padding on a bra. I felt very glam and comfortable all night. Would definitely rent again in a new color to change it up!
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
April 13, 2016
The dress was so comfortable and fit so perfectly.
I'm 5'2 and the petite was the perfect length. It fits true to size and is very comfortable.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 12, 2016
I felt like a knock out in this red dress!
I rented the dress in a 2 and a 4. I ended up wearing the 4. The 2 fit fairly comfortably but I wanted a bit more length. This dress did not cut me under the arms, as some fitted dresses are wont to do. It contoured my every curve perfectly. I could have slept in the gown, it was so comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
April 11, 2016
Got compliments all night
Gorgeous dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34D
April 10, 2016
I felt so wonderful the entire evening!
I rented this dress for my sorority formal an dit was perfect! I had originally gotten the 4R and the 6R as my backup size, but ended up wearing the 4. The dress was pretty roomy in the bodice, given that it was recommended for A to C cups and I'm a bit bustier than that. The fabric was cool and comfortable and I felt very beautiful throughout the evening. Ladies could not stop complimenting how lovely it was. Since I am 5'5", I was a little nervous about the length given what other people had said about it in their reviews. I wore about 4 inch heels and the skirt just touched the floor which was perfect. When I ended up switching into flats later in the evening, the skirt was a little long, but because it was a flowy fabric, I could walk easily without needing o hold the skirt to avoid tripping. Dancing was very comfortable too. I also ended up wearing a regular bra with this dress and used a strap converter to make it a racerback, which worked perfectly. All in all this dress is absolutely fabulous and I would totally rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
April 9, 2016
Elegant and beautiful for a black-tie event
This is my 3rd rental from RTR and I love the dresses more and more each time! I reserved this one for a formal military dinner and received compliments all evening. The vibrant color really stood out and the was perfect, not too tight for a sit down dinner and dancing. Even with my 3 inch heels, the regular length was plenty long (I'm 5'7" flat footed). I like how the lines on the dress really complimented the bust and waistline, giving a non-curvy gal like me some oomph on top! ;) I give this one two thumbs up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 8, 2016
Gorgeous dress - felt like a princess!
I surprisingly wore a 2 in this dress. I typically wear a 4. The dress fit very elegant. I am tall, and the length was perfect. It was super flattering, flowy, and I felt like a goddess!
Size worn:
10P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 152lbs
April 6, 2016
This was my first RTR experience and I was very pleased. I've already placed another order!
Loved this dress! Lots of compliments and very comfortable .
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
April 6, 2016
Magically easy dress to wear!
Super easy dress to wear! Put it on and go. As a shorty, I got the petite, and it worked perfectly with my heels. Also, super fun to dance in!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
20WR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Body type: Apple
April 4, 2016
The color pops!
Fantastic dress. Runs very small. (I'm normally an 18; in this style I need to wear a 22. Thanks Badgley Mischka! ;) Flows beautifully; compliments were never ending all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
April 3, 2016
Tons of compliments! Made me feel so pretty!
I wore this dress to a wedding when i was 4 months pregnant and feeling gross - i was up 15 lbs from my regular weight and wanted something i could really be comfortable in. This dress was elegant and hid all the parts i was concerned about. I normally wear a 4 or 6 dress because i am smaller on top... I ordered a 6 and 8 and the 6 would not zip. The 8 was a bit long, even with 4-inch heels, and i had to constantly hold the dress up or i would trip over it. The skirt is actually multiple layers and was a great weight for october - maybe a little heavy for a summer wedding. Overall, i was very happy with this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Age: 36
March 30, 2016
It was a beautiful dress
True to size. Quite long though. I'm 5'2" with 3" heels and it still flowed on the ground
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 28, 2016
Fancy, flowy, beautiful color and fit
At 5'3", I was able to wear FLATS with a long gown (!!) by ordering a petite size, which made dancing so much fun and pain-free! The petite sizes are only short in length, they are not also more narrow. I am normally a 6 in shirts/blouses so the 6P was perfect. Even had a little room for a 3-course dinner ;) Loved the fit, the bright color, and received lots of compliments. IMO the best color necklaces to go with it are blue/green with a little sparkle.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16WR
Rented for:
Wedding
March 27, 2016
Loved the dress. Got so many compliments and was so comfortable all night.
Loved the dress. It was a bit short with my heels and I'm only 5'3".
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 24, 2016
Perfect red dress!
It was a little long in the torso. Other than that, perfect fit!
Size worn:
6P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 22, 2016
Rented for my daughters red dress gala - perfect fit - very comfortable - flattering - loved it!
Besides zipper hard to zip - perfection !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
March 22, 2016
A formal ball
I was not able to get this dress in the petite size for my weekend, so went with the regular. I wore 2 inch heels which is all I can tolerate, and the dress was a bit too long. Might have been doable, but I had another dress that I just happened to like better, so I went with the other one. I did love the fit and the look of this dress. Very nice flow to the skirt and was quite comfortable. It would have been lovely but the other dress was a tad shorter and I simply liked it better. I will certainly consider this for my next formal event, however.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
March 21, 2016
It was a red carpet event dress!
I am petite and because the dress was unavailable in that size, I ordered a regular. Aside from the length, which I knew was going to be long, the actually fitting of the dress was perfect! Fitted from the top and flowy at the bottom, created a very glamorous look - I received compliments all night. Thanks for the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
March 19, 2016
This dress is everything!
This dress is hands down my favorite dress on rent the runway. I love it so much that I have now worn it in two colors and would rent the rest of them if I had a formal event to wear them to! The top would fit all chest sizes and the bottom is so flowy and comfortable. I am petite so I was worried about the length but I wore three inch heels and the bottom hit the ground perfectly. I got so many compliments and would definitely recommend this dress for someone who wants to look glamorous but also values comfort!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 152lbs
March 19, 2016
Many compliments
I love this dress. So soft and high quality materials. I got so many compliments all night long. Definitely will rent this again
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10P
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
March 17, 2016
Amazing customer service, it was my second time renting from RTR and it didn't dissapoint.
Love the color and fit, really comfy fabric and shape. Perfect to dance the night away without worrying about anything else. You can wear a regular bra, which is definitely a plus for me since I hate to wear strapless. I ended up wearing the 10S and it was a little bit shorter than expected considering I wore 4" heels but the 12R was too big for me. As other girls have mentioned, this dress is a bit difficult to zip so have someone help you with that :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 17, 2016
Very beautiful dress!
I wore this to my winter formal and it looked great! I was very happy with the fit, but I am really busty so I had to wear a bra and use safety pins to hide it on the sides. I received a lot of compliments and definitely would rent again!
RTR CustomerApril 18, 2016
Did you wear heals? How high were they (if you did)?
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 27

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×