Badgley Mischka

Ruby Red Gala Gown

$70 rental
$740 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get glitzy for the gala in this red stunner by Badgley Mischka. A ruched waist and delicate pleating are an ultra flattering combination to make you feel confident! Layer on the jewels with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace, Cara Accessories’ Gold Dress Me Up Bracelet, and Serpui Marie’s Fireuze Crystal Minaudière.

Also available in green and cobalt.

Also available in sizes 16-22.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Cherry red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Ruched waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

532 reviews

Fit
Small 87
True to Size 403
Large 8
Photos 413
Marjorie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 7, 2014

Great dress for a black tie wedding!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I'm only 5'2" so I wore 4" heels and it the length was just about perfect. It skimmed the floor just a little. I usually wear a 2 but there's no stretch at all in band around the middle so I had to wear the next size up. So if you're a little broad you may want to size up. Other than that, the dress is perfect!
Devon
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 29, 2014

very elegant and flattering

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely loved this dress! It was very flattering on my athletic frame and was a beautiful color. I received several compliments at the formal dance we attended, even from people I didn't know! The dress fit perfectly and was just long enough to sweep the floor with 3.5" heels. I wore a strapless bra as the neckline cuts in closely to the neck. This dress looks simply but it moves so elegantly. You can't tell from the picture but when you walk in this dress it just flutters and appears so graceful. This is a dress that I would buy.
Carissa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 8, 2014

Perfect for this "optional" black tie wedding

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was so lovely. It flowed nicely and the material was light and rich with color (fun to dance in too!). Standing up and down was tricky because I kept stepping on the dress. But that could just be my own clumsiness! I wore a cuff bracelet which you can't see in the pictures. It was a little tight for my rib cage but not a big deal. My height is probably closer to 5' 8" and the 2R was perfect - although my heel height was about 3 inches. I will say there was a little stress the next day about finding a UPS store that was open on Sundays. We had to catch a flight home right in the middle of the day. But finally found one back in our home city with 15 minutes left to closing and it worked out fine. (I recommend planning your drop off location if you are traveling like we were)
Jan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 1, 2015

Stunning dress! I wore it for my senior voice recital and I felt beautiful in this dress.

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Other
The fit is true to size and hugs the waist
lacey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 1, 2015

Great long dress for all heights

Size worn: 8P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wanted a long dress for a black tie wedding, which was also on NYE. I am short, 5'3", so was concerned about the length. I ordered an 8p and the 6r. Both fit the same in the body. The 6r was a great length with heels. I knew I'd end up taking my shoes off so went with the 8 petite. It wasn't too short and was the perfect floor length with flats. Easy to dance in and got a lot of compliments. Light materials and flows nicely. I wore a racer back bra and had no problems. I'd recommend this and order again. Also comes in blue and green. Enjoy!
RTR Customer
Jan 1, 2015

Love this dress!!!!

Size worn: 0R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I received so many compliments on how gorgeous this dress looked!! I hated to return it!
Tiffany
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 2, 2015

This dress is gorgeous - I wore it for Christmas photos, and it was the star of our card this year.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It fits true to size, though it's a bit on the long side if you're petite like me. Such a flattering cut, and the color is stunning. Also very comfortable!
CeeGee
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 4, 2015

In a sea of red dresses, I still received compliments all night long!

Size worn: 12P
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to an Air Force event, so almost everyone was wearing the squadron color- red, and I still felt great in this dress. I ordered the petite length hoping to be able to wear flats, as I also ordered hem tape; which I didn't receive in time for the event- but I was able to wear 3 inch heels and the petite length was perfect. The zipper was super sticky, but I didn't have any real issues with the dress.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 4, 2015

A little too small and a little too short.

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a 4 and a 6, but the 6 was returned damaged so I only got the 4, which was a little too snug through the waist and a bit too short. Didn't touch floor in bare feet.
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 5, 2015

Favorite rental... Ever!

Size worn: 4L
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is simply amazing. I wore it to my sisters rehearsal dinner. It fit beautifully and the length was perfect with 3" heels. I wore a strapless bra with it and it was perfect. The color is striking. The red is so beautiful and loud but not obnoxious. Would BUY if I could... I loved this dress!
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

Perfect formal gown!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Overall, this dress was so beautiful! I wore it to my husband's work gala and it was the perfect gown! I received so many compliments all night on the dress and color! I'm not usually one to wear red, but this one was so beautiful! The fit was great, although it does tend to run a bit long. I wore a 2R (I am about 5'4") and decent heels and it was still a bit long. Other than that, I loved it. I felt so elegant!
Katherine
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

Its was so great! so many compliments!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
so flattering at the bust. I am heavy chested and it looks great
Ruby
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190 lbs
Jan 8, 2015

I got compliments all night long…and the following day after posting pictures! Great dress!!

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect fit!
Linnea
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 9, 2015

Stunning dress

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I saw this dress on someone at a wedding I attended a few weeks ago and knew I had to have it for my wedding reception. It arrived the night before my wedding and I couldn't have been happier. I typically wear a 4 or 6 and the 4 fit but was definitely tight around my ribcage (which isn't uncommon for me) I could have made do, but the 6 gave me that extra breathing room without looking too big. The dress is definitely long but with my 3 1/2 inch heels, it was a perfect length. I got so many compliments the whole night and would definitely recommend this dress to anyone wanting to make a statement!
Erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 195 lbs
Jan 16, 2015

Compliments all night long!

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful color and the style hides lumps and bumps while accentuating the boobage. It was nice that the neckline was high so I was well covered and classy, but that the color and cut were so vibrant and sassy that I didn't look matronly. Like other reviews have said, it is pretty tight at the empire waist and that did make it not as comfy as I would have liked, but overall it worked well for what I needed!
Judy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 18, 2015

This dress made me feel beautiful. I received numerous complements all night.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ordered both the 6 and 8 based on other reviews. The 8 was the best fit for me. It was long but my 3 inch heels made it perfect. It is light weight and VERY comfortable. I didn't have to worry about anything except having a great time at the party.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 19, 2015

Beautiful dress.

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a 12 and a 14. The 12L was a little too big and the 14R was a little too short. So I went with the 12L and wore high heels. This was a great dress to wear to a formal event.
Nathalie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 20, 2015

Elegant and vibrant

Size worn: 2P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the vibrant color of this dress! I am 5'1 and the 2P fit perfectly. Wore this to a formal summer wedding. I love that this dress comes in Petite sizes!
Trina
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170 lbs
Jan 23, 2015

Perfect color for a political event. Bold and beautiful!

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Read the customer reviews! I ordered a size up after reading several comments about tightness around the ribcage so the fit was perfect. It's a simple and beautiful gown. Loved the gathered neckline and flowing skirt. I felt good and looked good. Highly recommend this dress AND Rent the Runway.
Helen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 25, 2015

The dress was beautiful and comfortable.

Size worn: 10R
Rented for: Formal Affair
The length of the regular dress was great - I wore short heels and the dress fell perfectly (I'm 5'7"). The sizing was a little small. Overall the dress was comfortable and looked great.
RTR Customer
Feb 1, 2015

Great dress for a fancy ball

Size worn: 2L
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was worried about finding something long enough and small enough for a ball, but I loved this dress. The size 4L was only a tiny bit bigger than the 2L, so I'd definitely order up a size on the "extra" they send. Great flow to this gown!
Cindaia
Top Contributor
Age: 27
Feb 5, 2015

I saw this dress and knew it would be perfect for a formal "fire and ice" theme and it was!

Size worn: 12L
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a 10 but picked a 12 because of my bust size and the 12L was perfect with the heels I wore. The accessories were perfect as well it completed a flawless look and was easy to pull off.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 5, 2015

Absolutely Stunning!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is the most gorgeous dress I've ever worn. I selected this and a more conservative black lace gown for our black-tie Christmas party, and then purchased this at the urging of my very fashionable sister who reminded me that black-tie Christmas affairs scream for holiday glamour - I'm so glad I listened to her for once. I was not alone in selecting a brighter color in a sea of black, but I felt this dress stood out for it's pure elegance. The material is soft and light; it moved and flowed beautifully, and the color is bright but not crazy red. Although I worried about the cut, it was ridiculously flattering and forgiving. The onlyy complaint is that it ran tight in that waist... the other reviewers echo that. So order a size up. Also, it does run long, so wedges or heels are a must if you're 5'4" or under. As this is a warmer, brighter shade of red, I accessorized with gold and sparkles. No necklace; instead I paired with a chunky bracelet and drop earrings. I've never received so many compliments, I really felt like a movie star!
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 6, 2015

carry the bottom up the stairs!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I typically am a 4-6.. the 6 was a bit loose in the bust but otherwise the fit was very nice. Walking up the stairs was a bit tricky... I'd step on the front! Gathering the bottom and carrying it up the stairs was the problem solver! I wore 3 inch heels and the length was perfect for twirling around on the dance floor!
Natalia
Top Contributor
Age: 24
Feb 7, 2015

Compliments all night long!

Size worn: 2R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit well, flowed beautifully, gorgeous chiffon.
Kait
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 8, 2015

The vibrant red and flow of the dress made it easy to feel comfortable and still stand out!

Size worn: 4L
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was worried about the dress running small so instead of ordering 2L and a 4L, I decided to go with a 4L and a 6L which was a saver because the 4 was definitely small. I ended up wearing it anyway because the 6 was just too big in the chest. It was small in the neck and arm, it was a bit uncomfortable but it made me look slim and tall. I'm 5'8 and wore 3 inch heels so the long length was just perfect. I would definitely rent again in a different color for a fall wedding. It's a perfect dress to wear fun jewelry!
Tiffany
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 11, 2015

I felt very elegant and received many compliments!

Size worn: 2R
Rented for: Wedding
I am 5'5" and a size 2/4. The size 2 fit perfectly and was a great length with a 4 in heel!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 12, 2015

Perfect for a Red Hot themed Gala!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress and got so many compliments on it. Even at an event where everyone was wearing red, it stood out (and matched the red carpet perfectly!). It really flows beautifully when you walk, and is very comfortable. A very expensive, luxurious looking dress - everyone asked where I got it! I would definitely recommend sizing up for your back up size just because you can't be sure how the waistband will fit over your ribcage (the waistband is very wide), and the fit at the very top could be snug as well depending on your shoulders. I'm 5'3" and the dress just grazed the floor barefoot - I couldn't have got away with tall heels, but I wasn't planning on it anyways. Fabric is just the tiniest bit sheer so I wore spanx to disguise underwear - if you have flesh toned underwear you'll be fine.
KB
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 14, 2015

A perfect black tie dress!

Size worn: 0R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really loved wearing this dress which is even more elegant in person than it looks online. I am 110 lbs, 5'5" and the size 0R was the perfect floor-skimming length with my 3" heels. I was worried as my backup size 2 was unavailable, but it worked out fine. The material and color are gorgeous and the dress doesn't wrinkle at all, even after being shipped. All in all, a great experience which I will absolutely do again! Also love the "extras" RTR sends along like gum, body lotion, etc.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

Beautiful and flattering dress

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I ordered this as a backup dress for my engagement pictures and liked it significantly more than the original dress I intended to wear. It was lightweight, comfortable and very flattering. I am 5'8 and wore a low heel (2 inches, max) and so the regular length worked for me. If I had planned to wear higher heels, I definitely would have needed to order the long.
Lady
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

Comfortable yet sassy

Size worn: 0R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I must say this dress was not my first choice for a Valentine's Day gala, but I had slim pickings when I decided to order somewhat late. The gown enhances a small bust, but it does not highlight your bottom. It is very comfortable to walk, dance, and eat in (without fear of growing a food baby)! Like many RTR reviewers, I received many compliments all night. The dress does run just a tad long, and I wore 3" heels to have the dress skim the ground. The size 0 gown I had sent came with some fabric displaced so the back zipper wasn't fully covered so hopefully that gets repaired prior to the next rental!
Olivia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 18, 2015

I was obsessed with this dress, I mean OBSESSED!! It was perfect and I received tons of compliments!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was spot on. I loved the way it draped and the color was just wonderful! Sorry I just can't say enough about how great it was :)
Dana
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 18, 2015

This is the Perfect Dress!!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rented the 2R and the 4R. The 2R fit good but once I had it on, the strap around the chest started feeling a little tight so I wore the 4 instead. This dress is BEAUTIFUL! I got compliment after compliment. I am a red head and was worried the color would be to much but it wasn't at all. I ended up not wearing a necklace and wearing larger earrings. Felt a necklace took away from the dress. I highly recommend this dress! It is worth the money and I can't say enough nice things about Rent the Runway. Wonderful company & Beautiful dress!
Katie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 18, 2015

I LOVE this color red, so comfortable and fun! I received so many compliments on the dress.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm so glad that I ordered the size larger (8), because I could not zip up the size 6! I had my third baby a year ago, so maybe my ribcage is still expanded, but I thought it was tight around the bra line/ ribcage. I have never worn long, since I'm 5'5, but the 8R was not available, so I wore 5 inch heels and the dress was touching the ground. Overall, super fun dress and I would rent it again!
Stephanie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Feb 20, 2015

This dress was perfect for a pageant farewell. It's classic, bold, and insanely flattering.

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fits true-to-size, except if you're over 5'6" and plan on wearing heels, be sure to opt for long length.
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 23, 2015

This dress was so comfortable and a great true red color!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit true to size. I wore 3" heels and the dress floated just barely above the ground. The zipper takes a little extra effort to get over the band around the waist, but it is not very difficult. I loved this dress!
Sandra
Age: 42
Feb 24, 2015

Efficiency in selecting and renting as well as timely delivery and easy return.

Size worn: 8R
Rented for: Wedding
The fit runs a bit small but once you have the right size it looks awesome. Received lots of compliments.
Megan
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
Feb 24, 2015

Comfy but flattering! The perfect princess dress!

Size worn: 14L
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a Mardi Gras Ball. The top was very fitted but allowed enough room to move, sit, dance, etc. the skirt was super flowing which gave it that process feel. The dress is true to color. It's red with peach undertones. This dress was so comfortable. The picture does not do it justice. I'm even considering renting it in a different color for next year!
Tawni
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142 lbs
Feb 25, 2015

Great dress. Everyone told me that night and are continuing to tell me how beautiful I looked.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. Great to dance in! It was a little bit long but add the right heels and it was fine! So great. Made my night a blast.
Shelby
Age: 29
Mar 2, 2015

Perfect dress!

Size worn: 8R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Absolutely loved this dress! I went with the 8R for the length which was perfect with flats! Although it was more comfortable I felt the 10R was too long as I'm only 5'5".
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×