Ruby Red Gala Gown

$70 rental
$740 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get glitzy for the gala in this red stunner by Badgley Mischka. A ruched waist and delicate pleating are an ultra flattering combination to make you feel confident! Layer on the jewels with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace, and Cara Accessories’ Gold Dress Me Up Bracelet.

Also available in green, cobalt and fuchsia.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 and plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 and plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Cherry red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Ruched waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
1147 reviews
Fit
Large16
True to Size726
Small178
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
July 25, 2016
Beautiful!
This dress was a dream. It was true to size and cinched in your waist good. It was very comfortable and the length was perfect. The dress was not heavy it was actually light. Great to dance in as well. I got complements all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 22
July 22, 2016
Very Flattering!
If you're a busty girl like me this dress is perfect. I wore to a black tie wedding and did not want anything that revealed too much and this was perfect. I am shorter and a little chunky but it hid all of that. It is tight around the rib cage area like most other girls said but with some spanks and dancing I hardly noticed it. It is a very vibrant red like the picture. Would definitely recommend.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 162lbs
July 22, 2016
Great for hourglass shape!
This dress was very elegant for a formal wedding. The color is a true red and the fit is perfect for an hourglass shape. I was able to wear a strapless bra with the dress. Glad I got the long!
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
July 21, 2016
I was receiving compliments ALL night. It was such a flattering dress and LOVED the color!
Gorgeous color. The length was perfect (I am 5'8 flat footed and wore 1" wedges). It was such a great dress to dance around in and I did not want to return it! LOVE!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
July 19, 2016
Gorgeous Lady in Red dress
I wore this to a black tie optional wedding at a vineyard and absolutely adored it. I found it true to size. I had also ordered the 6P thinking the regular might run super long but the 4 regular fit better and was fine with heels. I got so many compliments and loved the color and the cut.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
July 18, 2016
A beautiful, flowy dress that creates the perfect hourglass silhouette.
This dress is stunning! This was my first time ordering from RTR, and I was a little nervous since I have a pretty large bust. It fit true to size. I'm usually a 14 or 16 depending on brand/item. I ordered this in a 16WR, just to be safe with an 18WR as my backup. I didn't even try on the 18 since the 16 fit so perfectly. It was a bit snug in the waist area, but I didn't mind since that's how it's supposed to fit - cinches you in in the perfect waist area to create that hourglass shape we're all looking for, right? I am almost 5'6'' and the regular length was just barely above the ground, ALMOST the tiniest bit too short but since I wore flats, it worked out fine. If wearing heels, I would recommend the long version for someone my height. It is a true cherry red (this pic has a filter on it), very simplistic yet elegant. I will definitely be ordering from RTR again! I'm hooked! :-)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
July 17, 2016
Very comfortable, tons of compliments - you cannot go wrong with red!
I would say I'm an 8R, but the zipper got stuck - very tight around bust and ribcage, so went with the 10R. I'm 5'5" and with a 2" heel, this was the PERFECT length, and just skimmed the ground. If you're too much bustier than a 34-36D, this might be too small on top. But overall great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Weight: 175lbs
July 17, 2016
Great time at SoCal black tie wedding in gorgeous Badgley Mischka gown!
I really loved wearing this dress to a family black-tie wedding in SoCal! I originally picked the navy blue, until I heard the bridesmaids were in navy! I wore strappy kitten heel sandals (Nordstrom) and had to buy a new bra that would not show. (strapless) I rented the gold Kate Spade handbag, and the gold/diamond bracelet as well. I usually wear 12/14 in dresses and the 14 *just* zipped up. It is very tight around the waist. Order 1 or 2 sizes up!! The 12 and 14 I received were very similar in size. The length was perfect (regular) and I am 5'8".
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16WP
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 235lbs
July 15, 2016
Perfect gown for friends wedding rehearsal dinner!
Absolutely perfect! Hides everything well! Loved the dress. Showed off my shoes perfectly! I rented the 16wp and I'm 5'5" and 235 pounds. It was spectacular and I got tons of compliments on it throughout the night. Not too formal but just formal enough!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
July 11, 2016
Elegant and standout color
Both the two regular and the four petite both fit The only thing that differed was the lengths. If I was to wear the four petite I would have had to wear flats so I decided to go with the two regular and wear 3 inch heels and then the length was perfect. I wore a racer back bra because otherwise the straps would have shown a little. Overall the dress was beautiful and I got tons of compliments, perfect for a fourth of July wedding!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
July 11, 2016
Beautiful! Tons of compliments
Loved it, length just a touch long in about 2" heels (I'm only 5'1"), but super fun to dance in. Lots of compliments. I usually am a 6P, rarely an 8P, and I'm glad I went with the 8P as a back up because even that was real tight in the ribs. Once I got zipped in to it though I was comfy.
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 11, 2016
Fabulous color, flattering through and through, exceedingly comfortable.
The striking fire-engine red of this dress minimizes the need for accessories (I paired it with the Dakota earrings, as well as my own nudge-colored wedges). I got tons of compliments at the formal, summer evening wedding I attended, so I highly recommend it. Here's the rub: it runs long, so if you are 5'5" or under and don't want to stomp around in sky-high heels, get the petite version. And even then, approach stairs with caution! In addition, the band around the waist is noticeably tight — so much so that when I got my initial shipment of the 2 (2R and 2P), I couldn't zip up either of them, despite my best efforts, because my rib cage was just a little too wide. In a panic, I called RTR and they overnighted me a 4P, which fit perfectly (so order a size up as your backup if you worry this might happen to you). This was my first RTR experience, and I can't say enough good things about the customer service!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 7, 2016
Beautiful, versatile dress for multiple event types
Wore this dress for a black-tie formal wedding. It was very comfortable and elegant. Such a stunning dress another wedding guest had it on ;) It's very versatile, and I imagine would be beautiful at a range of functions. The only cons were 1) it was very long for my height (5'4") - I wore 3"-4" heels and it still dragged a little, and 2) the waist band was a tight in my normal size (0R) when zipped, so I ended up wearing my backup (2R). This is probably why it was a bit long. All in all, it was a beautiful, comfortable choice that would be elegant for so many occasions.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 6, 2016
Wore this to a black tie wedding - comfy and gorgeous!
I LOVE this dress. I rented the water lilies version for my rehearsal dinner and couldn't wait for another reason to wear it again. An early summer black-tie wedding was the perfect occasion! This dress is comfortable - no worries of straps slipping or a dress falling down. The style covers your midsection well if that is an area of concern. And the skirt - the flow is incredible on this dress, I absolutely love walking in it and felt elegant all night long. I am usually between a 4 and a 6, and the 4Long was securely tight but still very comfortable, the 6 had too much wiggle room. At 5'10" I wore the long with flat sandals and it was the perfect length. I am still getting compliments on this dress and would add it to my wardrobe if I had enough occasions to wear it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 19
July 5, 2016
This gown was just what I thought it would be- simple and elegant.
It fit really well, but I am 5'6" and I couldn't wear heels with it because it would have been way to short.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14WR
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
July 4, 2016
Great dress that fits in all the right places!
This dress was my second choice sent after my first dress was too big. It was a huge hit and I received tons of compliments. I'm 5'6 1/2" and wore flats and the dress was a perfect length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
July 4, 2016
Absolutely love this dress
I love that I can wear a normal bra with this dress (with a racerback converter). It's made very well and flows beautifully. I only regret not getting the long. I'm 5'7" and ordered the regular length because I never wear heels higher than 2 inches, but this regular length is short enough not to touch the floor without any shoes on, so it was a little too short even for my 2 inch heels. I rented it with the Kenneth Jay Lane Gold Shadow Bib Necklace, just like everyone else, because it goes so well with the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
July 2, 2016
So elegant and classic
Wore this to a military ball and I think it was perfect for that. The gown is just beautiful and was really very comfortable. I wore the dress with 3" heels, and the dress did not cover the shoes, but I think that's for the best because if it really was floor-length, you'd be stepping on your own dress with every step you took! The one not-fabulous part about this dress was the way it seemed to minimize my chest. I haven't felt like I needed a padded bra in a dress since middle school, but looking at this photo, I think that's exactly what this dress needed! Otherwise, it's a beautiful dress and I'm very glad to have gotten it this time from RTR.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
July 1, 2016
Cinderella Moment
When people STOPPED in their steps to say how lovely I looked in this red gown, I knew this was more than the obligatory niceties. This selection couldn't have been better suited for my 5'11" body.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
June 30, 2016
Gown was gorgeous and perfect for the Gala.
I normally wear a 10-12 but thankfully had also had a 14 sent as my backup. The 12 was very snug/tight at the chest and band around waist, tried on the 14 and it fit perfectly.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 38
June 29, 2016
Great dress
LOVED this dress. Fit pretty good to size, perfect to dance in, and received compliments all night.
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139lbs
June 29, 2016
Perfect fit! Stunning color.
Fit really well. I'm a true size 6 but have a hard time finding sizes that fit my breasts but this fit perfectly!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
June 28, 2016
I felt so beautiful
The color was gorgeous and the shape of the dress was so flattering! Petite was perfect for me to wear flats I'm 5,3 with short legs. I'm 36DDD and the dress fit well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
June 27, 2016
Gorgeous dress!!
This is an absolutely fantastic dress. The color is incredible, it fits well, and the fabric flows so nicely. I received numerous compliments from perfect strangers throughout the evening. One woman even told me that the dress was reminiscent of Grace Kelly's style. A few notes on fit, etc.: the dress is LONG. I ordered the 2R and 4R, and I had to overnight the 4P because I was swimming in the extra fabric at the bottom, and heels didn't help. Side note: I would recommend ordering at least two days in advance of your event. If neither of your dresses fits and you call RTR before 3 p.m., they will overnight you an additional size for only the cost of shipping. Ordering two days in advance gives you this extra wiggle room. But back to the dress: I'm 5' 4" and I have shorter legs and a longer torso, so I should have known better than to order the regular length. If you are under 5' 5" (maybe even 5' 6"), I would absolutely recommend getting the petite. Also, I ended up wearing the 4P rather than a 2P, which is my normal size, because they only had 4P available on such short notice. The good news is that the 4P still fit decently well. I definitely would have preferred the smaller size, but the 4P gave me extra room for dancing and snacking. Also, according to the RTR rep, the only difference between the petite and the regular size in this dress is the skirt length. The final note I'll add is that this dress definitely has a high/empire style-waist, but it is still flattering on a figure with a long torso. The banded fabric definitely did not hit me at my natural waist/smallest area, as I would have liked, but the dress still looked lovely. Tl; dr--get this dress (but maybe in petite).
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
June 27, 2016
The dress was very comfortable, classy and flattering. I got many compliments throughout the night
The dress was a bit long, I wore flat sandals because it was a beach wedding but it would have been the perfect length if I wore heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8P
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
June 21, 2016
I don't want to take it off
It is flowy and elegant. It hugs all the right spots, and it especially flattering for pear shaped girls like me! I'm 5'3.5 and without shoes, the hemline falls onto the floor by about 1 inch
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
June 20, 2016
tight in ribs but was stunning!
I loved this dress and got so many compliments but it runs really small. I got an 8 and 10 normally wearing the smaller size, but the 10 is what fit. It was super tight in the ribcage and I could barely breath. I ended up changing when it came time to dance at the wedding, but I kept it on as long as I could cause people just loved it haha. The dress was great in length (I'm 5'9" of almost 5'10") with flats.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
June 19, 2016
Beautiful gown for the gala!
This dress is such a rich and beautiful color! I was worried initially about this dress, the first dress I ordered didn't fit right and I was concerned this dress wouldn't flatter my shape. I have a small rib cage and bust (30a) with a small waist and a larger booty/hips. However, this dress made me feel beautiful! I got tons of compliments. At 5'4, I wore 4' heels and the dress grazed the floor. Easy to dance in, felt sexy in it, and my fiancé loved it. Thanks again, RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 17, 2016
Work Gala
Received tons of compliments. Beautiful color!
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 17, 2016
Two sizes because the size I thought I would normally wear didn't fit
I loved this dress. The length was a little long, I also ended up wearing the 8 because the 6 was snug around my bust. Overall great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 15, 2016
Beautiful gown that stood out at a black tie wedding! I loved the fit and it's very flattering
The long is veryyy long. I had 3in heels and about an inch dragged. However, I think it made the dress seem more flowy. The color is very vibrant and rich. The dress material is to die for as well! Very well-made and a great dress to be in all around. One tip, if you're in between a 6 and an 8 (like me), opt for the 8! The 6 was a smudge tight in the mid section but that could also be due to having a non-toned stomach.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
June 13, 2016
Glamorous and elegant evening gown
I wore this dress for a black tie wedding. The fit was great, though a little tight around the ribs and slightly difficult to zip up starting around the waistband (due to the lack of stretch in the fabric). The dress (regular length) hit just shy of the floor with 3 1/4 inch wedges. Beautiful, flowy gown that was perfect for the occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
June 13, 2016
Back up dress
I rented this as a back up dress for a wedding. I ended up going with my original choice, but wanted to leave this review for tall girls considering this dress. Im 5'10" 34D-26-38 and if you want this dress to hit the floor you will need to wear flats.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 12, 2016
Wore it to a party on a yacht and received only complements
Loved the fit, a little long but nothing a pair of heels can't fix
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 12, 2016
So many compliments!
Other than the dress being tight around my ribcage, it fit amazing! I loved the look and received many compliments at the event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
June 10, 2016
So Flowy and Fun!
This was my backup dress to a black tie wedding. I got a 6 based off the size chart, and in hindsight would have fit better into an 8 as my chest pulled the top pretty tight (34D). There is plenty of room for hips/butt/bottom, which wasn't an issue for me. I am 5'7" and got the long length, which was still a bit long even with 3" heels. Later in the evening it was a blast to dance with even when I kicked the heels off . Overall, I got so many compliments on the color and flowy skirt and I would totally rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
June 9, 2016
This dress was fun to dance in! Super swingy, flowy skirt!
This fit beautifully! It was elegant and flowy. I adored the swinginess of the skirt. The cut was super flattering! Totally recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
June 9, 2016
Stunning in red
Wore this to a formal 30th birthday party. Got lots of compliments, swept the floor perfectly (5'11" wearing flats). Felt pretty glamorous all night, bright red!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
20WL
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 22
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 18
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 8, 2016
I felt like I stood out in a good way! I don't like showing my arms much but this dress was amazing!
I'm actually a size 22 but the size 20 was good enough! The zipper is a bit tough but I was able to just slide it on no problem. It's a little bit snug at the waist line but other than that it's perfect! My boyfriend couldn't keep his eyes off of me. Everyone said red is definitely my color, I felt so elegant at prom.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Other
June 6, 2016
Great choice!!!
The fit/cut of the dress was perfect. The boob area ran a little big.. Other than that, the 4P fit perfect! I love RTR!!!!!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 29

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×