Badgley Mischka

Ruby Red Gala Gown

$50 – $70 rental
$740 retail
Stylist Notes

Get glitzy for the gala in this red stunner by Badgley Mischka. A ruched waist and delicate pleating are an ultra flattering combination to make you feel confident! Layer on the jewels with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace, and Cara Accessories’ Gold Dress Me Up Bracelet.

Also available in green, cobalt and fuchsia.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 and plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Cherry red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Ruched waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
1374 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(835)
Small
(207)
Size worn:
16WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 61
May 10, 2017
Comfortable gown, great color.
I'm 5'6", 200 lbs and 60+ yrs old - needed to wear a bra and an age appropriate level of 'sophistication' . Was able to wear a racer-back bra. The dress fit great - pockets would make this one an ultimate choice. Only challenge was the need for help in zipping over the runching but, not a huge hurdle in our group. This was my backup size as the 14WR had snags in front of dress that made it unwearable. Reported problem to RTW and they were very professional and helpful in addressing issue. Was my first time to use RTW and I found them to be very customer service focused. Would use the service again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
May 10, 2017
Beautiful dress!
This dress was perfect for a formal event. It was very comfortable. I'm 5'2 so the regular size was long even with tall heels on. The petite size would have been perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 9, 2017
Love the fit, very flattering
I loved this dress and got multiple compliments all night. The fit is amazing and very flattering. I am 5'8.5" and wore flats with the long. It was a tad long, but short enough to wear with flats and not worry about it completely dragging the floor. The color is amazing as well. Loved it and would definitely wear again!
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 7, 2017
Under the Sea!
I wore this dress to chaperone my school's prom. It was gorgeous and got tons of compliments from my coworkers and my students! I normally wear a size 10-12, so I got both sizes, but only 12 long was available. It was way too long, even with heels, so I opted for the 10 even though it was a little snug and hard to get the zipper up. The fabric was light and breezy and I definitely made a good choice with this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 7, 2017
Beautiful dress - tight band
Gorgeous dress, not heavy at all. Worn outdoors. Fit great, very flowy and comfortable - be aware that the band has no stretch to it
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Other
Age: 25
May 4, 2017
Simple but elegant
It looked so beautiful on, very simple but elegant at the same time. The only issue i had was the length, it was way too long for a 2R.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 46
May 4, 2017
Gteat dress for a grand setting!
I wore it to a fundraising event at the Museum of Natural History. I thought the dress was very formal and might be over the top but I was wrong. The setting was grand and it was perfect for the occasion
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16WL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 3, 2017
I wore this for a Gala that I was in charge of planning. Received so many compliments.
Fit was very comfortable. I wore the long. I am 5'7" and flat shoes because I was the person in charge of the gala, so I was running around all over. I loved this dress and would definitely wear again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
May 1, 2017
The rich color and flattering fit of the dress made me feel beautiful all night long.
I absolutely loved this dress and can see why it is one of Rent the Runway's most popular dresses. The flattering fit of the dress accentuated all the parts of my body that I wanted to show off while giving enough coverage in other areas. The fabric had just enough give to allow me to dance the night away and eat as much food as I pleased. Also, the rich red color of the dress will look great on all skin tones. The one thing to be aware of is that the dress is longer than expected. At 5'6'', I had to wear 4'' heels to keep the bottom of the dress from dragging on the ground. Overall, I couldn't help but smile while wearing this dress due to how beautiful I felt in it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Weight: 170lbs
April 30, 2017
Compliments galore!
This dress was fantastic! So flattering and ridiculously comfy. Lightweight material, which was perfect for a hot outdoor cocktail hour. I have nothing bad to say about this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 29, 2017
Beautiful, comfortable dress
This dress fit very well, the empire waist was very flattering. It was fitted in all the right places. I had to wear a bra because naturally my breasts weren't large enough to fill out the top portion, so if you're more flat-chested this may not be the most ideal dress. The material was really flowy and moved well. It was also relatively lightweight, not very heavy or restricting. I wore wedges that were about 2-2.5", which ended up being just the right height (I'm about 5'4"-5'5") so the hem brushed the floor but I didn't trip.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 28, 2017
A fabulous day taking anniversary photos with my husband!
I ordered this dress for an anniversary photo shoot with my husband and I loved it! The gown fit perfectly and was such a fun, bright color for the photos. I am smaller on top with a big butt, so I ordered the dress size to fit my top/waist since the skirt was not fitted, and doing that the gown was a perfect fit! This dress was extremely comfortable and I loved the movement of the skirt! I got so many compliments on the dress! I want to buy it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
April 27, 2017
Simple + Perfect Bridesmaid Dress
The fit was perfect and with right pair of heels there is no need to lift the dress as you walk. The neck can be small so be aware of that when you order. Pretty comfortable and simple dress that worked well for my event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 26, 2017
Perfect dress for a black-tie night in Charleston!
Rented this for a black tie work event because it was a little more conservative. This was actually my backup dress, but it fit so much better than my 1st choice! Fit like a glove and was the perfect length (just hit the ground) with 3" heels. The dress was fitted around the waist where the band is, but not too tight - just enough to give shape & definition. Super easy to move in and I had a ton of compliments! Would 100% rent this style again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
April 26, 2017
Great night, gorgeous dress, lots of compliments!
Fit was true to size, I am typically a size 8, but I went to the Georgetown store to try the dress on prior to renting. I wanted to wear heels (3"), and the 8R came about 2" shy of the floor, so I went with the 8L which ended up being about an inch too long. Overall it was a very comfortable dress, the high waist flattered my figure, and I didn't need to wear a bra with this dress. The photo is of me wearing the 8R in the store, because all our photos of the night were either just from the shoulders up or had terrible lighting.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
April 25, 2017
Gorgeous Gala Gown
Rented this ruby red stunner for a sorority charity gala and was the talk of the event! The silhouette is classically chic and the rich red color make it a serious standout. Comfortable, covered and long enough on my 5'11" frame. Ended up wearing the 8L because it zipped up more comfortably and wasn't too tight on top. Paired effortlessly with a tiered J.Crew pearl necklace, Kate Spade pearl drop earrings and a red lip. Have considered renting it again in other colors!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 23, 2017
Stunning dress!!! Second time renting it
This was my second time renting this dress. I wore it to a vineyard wedding. The red color stood out and I received many compliments. It runs true to size. The only negative thing about the dress is that it is difficult to zip up where all the fabric gather.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
April 22, 2017
I can't wait to need this again!
The dress was wonderful! I was at a formal military event and was so happy to have this. The dress was very true to size, the only reason I did end up wearing the back up size I ordered (I normally wear a 2, I wore the 4) is because I have a DDD bra size and it does zip up the back. The size 2 zipper wanted nothing to do with my chest. So because I wore the 4 it was a little longer than I originally expected, but I have zero complaints. I would wear it again 100000 more times!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
April 21, 2017
Wore this to a black tie optional wedding.
The fit was perfect. I felt great in the dress. Flattering, but not restricting. I would ablsoutely rent the dress again.
Size worn:
20WL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 58
April 19, 2017
The dress was perfect for the evening. The fit worked and it was very comfortable all evening long.
I usually wear a 16 or 18 W but this dress runs a bit small so I was glad that I had ordered a "backup" one size up. Perfect!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 44
April 19, 2017
i was great dress
its kinda long so i recommend short ppl to get shorter length or petit
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
April 18, 2017
Great dress, wore to a work gala. confortable, and stylish- no cleavage- perfect for work.
I am 5'9- the dress is long- I wore 3 inch heals for the long to fit.
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
April 16, 2017
Dress is beautiful and comfortable. Fit over my 7 1/2 month pregnant belly and had enough length.
At the time I wore this dress, I was 7 1/2 months pregnant. I am normally an 8/10 and the 14L fit perfectly over my larger chest and belly. The extra length allowed room for the belly without appearing to be a pregnant woman in a non-maternity dress. I got lots of compliments and felt beautiful. It is a beautiful true red color and fit the Chinese New Year theme.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 38D
Weight: 165lbs
April 12, 2017
Just a really fun night! Loved the swish of the dress.
Loved this dress! It was super flattering and comfy, even with my busty chest. I wore a sticky bra and it was just tight enough that it worked great. I loved how long it was - I wore an 8L and ~4in heels and it just brushed the floor. The neck does come up pretty high, but it wasn't uncomfortable. By the end of the night, it was getting a little tight around my ribcage, but it had been about 6 hours by that point.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14WL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 40D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 220lbs
April 11, 2017
Runs small!
Great bright red color. I didn't wear it because it was very small. I rented a 14WL. I normally wear a 14W in flowy dresses like this and I could barely get this on, no chance of it zipping. I'm also 5'11" and even with the long length I would have had to wear flats.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
April 11, 2017
Lovely, easy to wear gown in a classic red shade.
This runs a tiny bit small (I'm a 4/6 and definitely had to wear a 6 here). The zipper also sticks a bit due to the waistband, but loosened up after working with it. Overall, it's a lovely dress that I received many compliments on all night. It was easy to wear a strapless bra (racer back probably would have worked too) and the length was just right (I'm 5'7" and wore 2" heels). A bit tricky on stairs!!
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
April 9, 2017
Lady in Red
This dress was absolutely stunning! I received so many compliments on it. I wore it for a Christmas wedding. And also... I rented a similar dress by the same designer! Love it
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 168lbs
April 5, 2017
Cuban wedding in Miami
Runs pretty true to size, but did end up wearing the bigger size b/c the neck and arm holes were a little tight in my normal size. great dress and got lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 5, 2017
Great fit, super comfortable without sacrificing style!
This dress is perfect for someone with an our glass shape- it is very fitted through the waist (natural waist) but very forgiving thru the hips and fits true to size up top. I like that I could wear a normal bra with this and was super comfortable in it all night long! It's easy to dress it up with statement jewelry pieces.
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 30
April 4, 2017
Perfect engagement picture dress!
I used dress this for my engagement shoot, it was perfect! I am 5'7 and I got the long on purpose I wanted a lot of material to flow in the wind so I went with flats. If I had heels on it would have been the perfect length. I have a larger bust (DD cup) and it did not make me look too large in the chest, it fit nicely as well, it was not too tight in the chest as some dresses are. The only issue I had was the zipper was hard to zip and unzip. This helped hide my stomach as well! I love this dress.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36B
March 23, 2017
It was a great occasion.
It fit beautifully.
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 21, 2017
Affordable gown for a black tie event!
A little tight around the rib cage, but overall very comfortable. I was personally looking for something flowy...I did not want to suck it in all night or worry about undergarments, so this was the perfect choice. I did need to wear a strapless bra and have someone zip/unzip me. I'm 5'11" and wore my highest heels in this 8 Long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 21, 2017
This dress was AMAZING!!
I am 5'2 and 115lbs. The dress fit like a glove on the top but even though I wore very high heels (nude) I still had about a 2 to 3 inch drag....no worries! When dancing, the dress flowed like a dream and made me feel like a million bucks!! Going to another wedding next month, RTR is definitely going to be the place I shop for the next one.
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
March 21, 2017
Flow and vibrant
The color of this dress is a showstopper. The top of it is billowy as part of its design, which is great for busty girls like me. Actually, it was a little too loose in that area but it still looked nice. I received many complements. I got the regular length and if I were to do it over again I would go for the tall. I'm 5"8 and it was JUST enough dress at the bottom.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 20, 2017
I stood out wearing red as everyone else wore mostly blue.
The dress was amazing! I loved it the moment I tried it on. I went with a 10R and a 12R as my backup size, which I didn't even need probably could have done an 8R with the 10R, just for size in the chest area because I had some loose material there but nothing noticeable. The dress is very long and I usually have to wear ankle or short length in jeans so I suggest maybe going with a petite size, just for length. But I put on 2-3 inch heels and it hit the floor just right. Be mindful if you wear it during the daytime as it is slightly see through but nothing distasteful or too obvious. My second rental and as always will be renting again for all my wedding season dresses!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
22WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 36
March 18, 2017
Back Up Dress, But Amazing Nonetheless
This was the backup dress I received in case my first choice didn't fit. It was gorgeous, chic, and fit beautifully. I was truly tempted to wear this one instead of my original choice! I would rent it again in a second!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 18, 2017
Pretty dress, just not my style and too long
I ordered the 4R and was tripping over it and getting my heel caught in the fabric. I also agree that it is snug around the ribcage. It was pretty and flowy but way too much fabric for me and not really m style. I decided not to wear it.
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131lbs
March 18, 2017
Beautiful dress!!
Really classy, beautiful dress. Classic red color. I normally would wear size 6, but couldn't zip it up on my chest (I am a 34D-36C), so had to go with a backup size 8, which fit well and was tight enough so I wore it without a bra. Lots of complements, perfect for the occasion. Would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
March 17, 2017
Great Comfortable Dancing Dress
This is so comfy and is the prettiest rent the runway I have worn
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 16, 2017
Pretty but TIGHT
I normally wear an 8 or 10 in dresses, but am very thankful I sized up for this. I have a 34DD chest, and the band around the rib cage was SUPER tight. It was hard to breathe, and really cut into me. I wouldn't wear this dress again, but it sure did look pretty!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 35

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×