Ruby Red Gala Gown

$70 – $90 rental ?
$740 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get glitzy for the gala in this red stunner by Badgley Mischka. A ruched waist and delicate pleating are an ultra flattering combination to make you feel confident! Layer on the jewels with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace, and Cara Accessories’ Gold Dress Me Up Bracelet.

Also available in green, cobalt and fuchsia.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 and plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 and plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Cherry red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Ruched waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
1228 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(760)
Small
(188)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Other
October 3, 2016
Gorgeous dress, perfect fit
Amazing!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
October 2, 2016
Amazing dress!
I had to go up a size, I'm a normal 12. I'm 5'4 and didn't like the length with my heels so I wore a small wedge. The rib cage was killing me be the end of the night! I wear a 36G and was glad my boobs fit fine!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
October 2, 2016
Gorgeous dress - elegant, flattering and versatile.
Can't go wrong with this dress - seems universally flattering and like it would work on pretty much any body type. It was surprisingly comfortable and forgiving for a formal dress, and I appreciated that I didn't have to wear a strapless bra with it (I went with racerback and it worked well). Also could easily dress it up or down and I think it would work for a wide range of events. Beautiful color.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Weight: 120lbs
October 1, 2016
Literally the most beautiful dress I have ever worn
I felt like a princess all night. People would compliment me left and right about the dress and how beautiful it was. The color red was perfect brightness and hue. The fit was amazing for my body type. I have a small waist and it just fit snug and perfect. It hid my underarm fat and helped hold up my strapless bra all night so it never moved. The material flows very nicely and makes you look like you are gliding across the floor. My only recommendation is for you to wear heels high enough to keep the dress off the floor. The material sticks to your heels very easily and I almost tripped a few times when I knelt down to grab my kids. Enjoy - truly an amazing dress.
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 27, 2016
Perfect dress that made me feel like a princess!
The dress was absolutely amazing! My heels were about 3 inches, so the 4L hit just right. I could have gotten away with ordering a 2L, but I ordered the 4L because I was nervous about it fitting (I wear a 2 or 4 depending on the style)! It was definitely true-to-size and is loose over your hips so you have a little wiggle room. It was absolutely stunning when I would walk because the dress flows all around your legs and looks amazing. I got so many compliments! Very comfortable and worked out perfectly. The only "con"- I am not used to wearing formal gowns very often, so it took a little getting used to. There are quite a few layers on the bottom, so if you lift your dress to go up stairs, make sure you get all of the layers!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Age: 25
September 27, 2016
I ordered two dresses for my engagement pictures. I think this one was my favorite.
Runs a little bit small. Order a back up or size up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 26, 2016
Beautiful!
Dress was true to size and very comfortable..
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
September 25, 2016
Perfect dress! Color is gorgeous and it fit well. Effortlessly elegant, while very comfortable!
I received tons of compliments on the color and fit of this dress. 8L was perfect for my 5'9 frame with heels. Another great experience using RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 60
September 23, 2016
Dress was great!
Loved the dress!. Was flattering, provided enough cover, and more importantly was really comfortable!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
September 22, 2016
Everything!! Incredible night celebrating the organization I work for's 40th Anniversary.
Beautiful dress- this was my first time using RTR and I was so impressed by their customer service and selection of gowns in my price range. I ordered a different dress but it was not flattering- the stylist recommended this dress. I thought it was kind of boring going through all the different options but it is so gorgeous on- very flattering and has this wonderful flow in the skirt that just makes you feel glamorous. Next time I use RTR I will rent well in advance of the event as many of the styles I wanted were sold out in my size when I got around to renting. I've also got a better idea of what formal dresses suit my body type. Great experience overall!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
September 18, 2016
Amazing dress for any occasion
Words cannot describe my love for this dress! Wore this for a wedding in the thousand Islands. I wish I could post more than one picture because this dress made me feel and look amazing. I'm 190 pounds (basically butt and thighs and hips are my downfall) but this dress's long lines and tight waist made me look great. I didn't wear but still felt secure. The only maybe not-so-great thing was the length. The regular length was about an inch too long for someone who is 5'3 and in heels. The 12P wasn't available and the 10P was just a bit too tight so I mean the option for the shorter dress was there, just not for my dates :( I will be renting this dress in every color for all my other events. Love love this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
September 18, 2016
"The girl in the red dress!"
This dress was amazing! It was my first RTR experience, so I did some serious research on the designer and dug deep for reviews by woman similar to my build. I'm 5'7" with a fairly athletic build. I'm flat in the behind area, so I was concerned how this would fit, but it shaped me beautifully! The waist line made me look slim enough that it actually looked like I had hips! HOORAY! Everyone kept referring to me as "the girl in the stunning red dress," so I felt like a rockstar! It was a great dress for an end-of-summer/early Fall wedding. Plus it was easy to dance in! Side note: it was a teeny bit long, as I was hoping to not wear heels. But, a few inches would've been left dragging, so I wore a small wedge and it worked out just fine!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
September 14, 2016
:)
It fit me very well, I am 5,3
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Weight: 125lbs
September 14, 2016
I loved having such a beautiful dress to wear - I felt comfortable yet "fancy" all night!
I loved this dress, though I had to wear the bigger size I ordered because I felt like this one was a bit high-waisted with the waist hitting me at the lower part of my ribcage instead of at my true waist. But, the size up fit fine. I was nervous about ordering a long gown as they are almost always too long (even when ordering a petite), but the length was perfect. Unlike other reviews that spoke about being tight in the bust, I did not have this problem - never have, never will - ha. But, it fit really quite nicely, and was very comfortable. I was very pleased and loved the dress!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 36
September 14, 2016
Great dress!
Great dress. I'm a busty girl but this fit well. I had to get with the larger size due to it being tight around the ribcage.
Size worn:
16WL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 12, 2016
Worn for Black Tie Optional Wedding at a Winery
I loved this dress. I normally wear a 14L but I'm now 12 weeks pregnant and the 16WL help make up the increase in my bust (I'm normally a 40DD) I've experienced so far. I'm 5'10 and it worked well with flats. It may have been a little too short for heels. It was warm out but I didn't feel overheated in this dress. It was easy to pull up to my knees to allow some air flow if I did get too hot.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
September 10, 2016
Ahhhhhhh-amazing!!
Loved it. Hands down. Amazing. It fit like a glove and was so simple and beautiful and the color is gorgeous and I looked great all night long! Sooo happy with this dress. Thanks RTR
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
September 8, 2016
I wore this dress for a black tie wedding, it was perfect!
This dress was so great and so pretty. I would recommend getting your size and also the next size up. I wore the bigger size because of the cinching around the torso. It is smaller and I would have been uncomfortable had I worn the size I normally wear. Plus the dress is more flowy and more fun to dance in :) Love this dress so much I wanted to keep it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Weight: 175lbs
September 7, 2016
Nice day for a wedding
The dress fit great, I had a lot of compliments on it. Even though it was a hot day in July, the dress was light and airy
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
September 6, 2016
Great, easy dress that looks amaziung
I originally reserved a different dress, but changed to this one because I had never used RTR before (what if the dress didn't fit? What if the cut/color looked terrible on me?) - this seemed like a really safe, lovely option. That's exactly what it was; this dress would look great on a wide variety of people - my normal size fit great, but I imagine a size up/down wouldn't matter a whole lot. I'm about 5'6" - I wore the Regular length with about 2 1/2" heels and it was just right (like you had to pick up the front to walk, but didn't trip!). I paired it with the Kenneth Lane Mod Squared Necklace, which worked great (the wedding was Black Tie Optional, and I think the necklace actually dressed the dress down a bit). Bonus, was able to wear a normal bra (with the straps crossed in the back). All in all, highly recommend - the color is great, the cut is super flattering, and it's forgiving if you order a size or so off!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
September 6, 2016
Beautiful dress!
I'm 5'4 the 4 Regular was a little long but worked with my highest heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150lbs
September 5, 2016
Perfect Dress!
I saw this dress on the site and fell in love. But I was confused about what length and size to get but luckily they had a store in the city so I went and tried it and found my size and I ordered it online. The petite fit perfectly with my heels I wore for the wedding and everywhere fit perfectly; no area was too tight especially with my 38DD bust size. The 12P was perfection. Also it was easy to dance in and this dress and color stood out in pictures. Thank you rtr; was a great outfit!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
August 22, 2016
Beautiful dress, great for formal events!
I rented this dress to wear to a beach wedding. I ended up going with a dress that was shorter for fear of looking too similar to the bridesmaids, but it's a very elegant dress. The red is rich without being too much. You can really wear whatever bra you want with it and accessories can help to dress it up or dress it down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
August 22, 2016
excellent red
didn't end up wearing this one, but it fit great - the 4L wasn't too long, just right - and the color is stunning. would definitely consider renting it for another event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 3"
August 19, 2016
Love, love, love!!!
I absolutely loved this dress, except my true size left me with a little bit of a hunch back. Definitely order your true size and a larger one if you're pear shaped.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
August 17, 2016
It's a lovely dress...
I received this dress as a 3rd choice to choose from since my original dress was not available. They quickly to initiative and sent me other options similar choices to my original request! Kudos to them and their awesome customer service. I personally believe this dress would've been great in one size larger since it was a little snug to zip up on the back however if I have to rent another dress in the future, this would be a contender!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 200lbs
August 14, 2016
Last minute fix turned out great!
I ordered this dress originally in green for an out of town black tie optional wedding and unfortunately I never got my first dress. Thankfully, my friend who recommended RTR called and had them send me two new dresses to my hotel and I received this one. I ended up wearing the 14wl because the zippers were so hard to figure out and it was the easiest zipper to get up. The length of the wl was shorter than the long which was a little frustrating and it was big in the chest. Even with those two things I was able to get a dress on time for the wedding and received many compliments throughout the evening. I would definitely use rent the runway again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
August 14, 2016
Color was beatiful. I wore a 14 p. I'm 5'4" and it was perfect with heels.
Pros color, design is flattering for a curvy gal, cool, comfortable. I received many compliments. Cons the zipper was kinda tough, there was a tear in one of the seams.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
August 14, 2016
Got lots of compliments, even though it was less flattering than I'd hoped!
Pretty dress! It didn't really skim my curves the way I'd liked though, so I felt a bit like I was wearing a sheet below the waist. But that's just a personal preference.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
August 14, 2016
Too big; red color was a little more orange than I like
Fit: Ordered in my size based on reviews, but it was too large in the bust (I'm a 38DDD) and the arm holes opened too low on my sides (bra difficulties ensued). I considered pinning the back together to get through the night but RTR was able to send a replacement in time!! Length: I had the 20R and 20L. I'm 5'9" and wore flats. The R was better with flats.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
August 11, 2016
Dress looked great - but I had the same one as someone else at the wedding! We had a good laugh.
Fits a little tight in the band, and is long, but it feels great and moves well.
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
August 11, 2016
Wonderful night! I literally turned heads
Perfect fit! Perfect material and color! Rather long but still beautiful!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 41
August 10, 2016
Super comfortable, but super elegant, too.
I'm 5'9 1/2 and got the long and wore flats. I wouldn't have been able to wear heels in it. I love that it's available long - thank you so much! It's definitely tighter around the waist, which is common for this cut, just be aware when ordering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
August 10, 2016
Wonderful color, comfortable fit
I liked this dress! At 5'4" I needed to wear my 3 inch heels to keep this dress off the floor. The other issue is that there is ZERO support built into the dress... and it's hard to wear a bra with straps! I didn't mind most of the night until I got on the dance floor and my girls were definitely hoisting up and down... ouch! Also, I decided to wear some SPANX under this simply because I'm self conscious about my tummy area and unless I remembered to suck it in all night I'm pretty sure I would have looked pregnant!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
20WL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Weight: 260lbs
August 10, 2016
"Just Enough" Sexy!
I wore this on my recent honeymoon cruise. It traveled well, and fit like a charm. The bust area was a bit large, but everywhere else fit! I accentuated it with pearl drop earrings and a gold cuff.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
August 10, 2016
Easy and confortable
Great fit- especially if you want to wear a regular bra and be comfortable all night! Flattering for all body types.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
August 10, 2016
I LOVED THIS DRESS. it fit perfectly and i got loads of compliment that night.
no cons i can think of. Just that quite a number of us liked the dress so we there were a couple of others in the same dress in a different color.. Thank God :p
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
August 9, 2016
I loved this dress!
Fit true to size, very flattering . A bit tight at the waist.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Weight: 158lbs
August 9, 2016
This dress was a last minute order since my other gown did not work and I loved it!
This dress was great for a pear sized body! It was a little tight in the chest area, but nothing that was hindering to the evening. The dress was longer, so I had to make sure to wear taller heels and the reason for a four star rating. I felt absolutely amazing in this gown and the red really complimented my blonde hair. Perfect for a black tie event! I wore it to a fraternity convention banquet.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
August 3, 2016
No one wore red so I really stood out!
I wore this for a wedding... It fit great but it was really long! I def needed hire heals! But I'm super short! The dress was very comfortable and I got tons of compliments! I would def recommend this dress to anyone
See more reviews:
2 / 31
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×