Badgley Mischka

Ruby Red Gala Gown

$50 – $70 rental?
$740 retail
Stylist Notes

Get glitzy for the gala in this red stunner by Badgley Mischka. A ruched waist and delicate pleating are an ultra flattering combination to make you feel confident! Layer on the jewels with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace, and Cara Accessories’ Gold Dress Me Up Bracelet.

Also available in green, cobalt and fuchsia.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 and plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Cherry red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Ruched waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
1348 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(823)
Small
(203)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
April 11, 2017
Lovely, easy to wear gown in a classic red shade.
This runs a tiny bit small (I'm a 4/6 and definitely had to wear a 6 here). The zipper also sticks a bit due to the waistband, but loosened up after working with it. Overall, it's a lovely dress that I received many compliments on all night. It was easy to wear a strapless bra (racer back probably would have worked too) and the length was just right (I'm 5'7" and wore 2" heels). A bit tricky on stairs!!
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
April 9, 2017
Lady in Red
This dress was absolutely stunning! I received so many compliments on it. I wore it for a Christmas wedding. And also... I rented a similar dress by the same designer! Love it
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 168lbs
April 5, 2017
Cuban wedding in Miami
Runs pretty true to size, but did end up wearing the bigger size b/c the neck and arm holes were a little tight in my normal size. great dress and got lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 5, 2017
Great fit, super comfortable without sacrificing style!
This dress is perfect for someone with an our glass shape- it is very fitted through the waist (natural waist) but very forgiving thru the hips and fits true to size up top. I like that I could wear a normal bra with this and was super comfortable in it all night long! It's easy to dress it up with statement jewelry pieces.
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 30
April 4, 2017
Perfect engagement picture dress!
I used dress this for my engagement shoot, it was perfect! I am 5'7 and I got the long on purpose I wanted a lot of material to flow in the wind so I went with flats. If I had heels on it would have been the perfect length. I have a larger bust (DD cup) and it did not make me look too large in the chest, it fit nicely as well, it was not too tight in the chest as some dresses are. The only issue I had was the zipper was hard to zip and unzip. This helped hide my stomach as well! I love this dress.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36B
March 23, 2017
It was a great occasion.
It fit beautifully.
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 21, 2017
Affordable gown for a black tie event!
A little tight around the rib cage, but overall very comfortable. I was personally looking for something flowy...I did not want to suck it in all night or worry about undergarments, so this was the perfect choice. I did need to wear a strapless bra and have someone zip/unzip me. I'm 5'11" and wore my highest heels in this 8 Long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 21, 2017
This dress was AMAZING!!
I am 5'2 and 115lbs. The dress fit like a glove on the top but even though I wore very high heels (nude) I still had about a 2 to 3 inch drag....no worries! When dancing, the dress flowed like a dream and made me feel like a million bucks!! Going to another wedding next month, RTR is definitely going to be the place I shop for the next one.
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
March 21, 2017
Flow and vibrant
The color of this dress is a showstopper. The top of it is billowy as part of its design, which is great for busty girls like me. Actually, it was a little too loose in that area but it still looked nice. I received many complements. I got the regular length and if I were to do it over again I would go for the tall. I'm 5"8 and it was JUST enough dress at the bottom.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 20, 2017
I stood out wearing red as everyone else wore mostly blue.
The dress was amazing! I loved it the moment I tried it on. I went with a 10R and a 12R as my backup size, which I didn't even need probably could have done an 8R with the 10R, just for size in the chest area because I had some loose material there but nothing noticeable. The dress is very long and I usually have to wear ankle or short length in jeans so I suggest maybe going with a petite size, just for length. But I put on 2-3 inch heels and it hit the floor just right. Be mindful if you wear it during the daytime as it is slightly see through but nothing distasteful or too obvious. My second rental and as always will be renting again for all my wedding season dresses!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
22WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 36
March 18, 2017
Back Up Dress, But Amazing Nonetheless
This was the backup dress I received in case my first choice didn't fit. It was gorgeous, chic, and fit beautifully. I was truly tempted to wear this one instead of my original choice! I would rent it again in a second!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 18, 2017
Pretty dress, just not my style and too long
I ordered the 4R and was tripping over it and getting my heel caught in the fabric. I also agree that it is snug around the ribcage. It was pretty and flowy but way too much fabric for me and not really m style. I decided not to wear it.
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131lbs
March 18, 2017
Beautiful dress!!
Really classy, beautiful dress. Classic red color. I normally would wear size 6, but couldn't zip it up on my chest (I am a 34D-36C), so had to go with a backup size 8, which fit well and was tight enough so I wore it without a bra. Lots of complements, perfect for the occasion. Would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
March 17, 2017
Great Comfortable Dancing Dress
This is so comfy and is the prettiest rent the runway I have worn
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 16, 2017
Pretty but TIGHT
I normally wear an 8 or 10 in dresses, but am very thankful I sized up for this. I have a 34DD chest, and the band around the rib cage was SUPER tight. It was hard to breathe, and really cut into me. I wouldn't wear this dress again, but it sure did look pretty!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
March 16, 2017
Flattering and Comfortable!
I ended up liking this dress way more than I thought I would from the photos. It was extremely flattering and very comfortable. At my event I felt beautiful, while still feeling comfortable. You will need a racerback/strapless bra with this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 39
March 14, 2017
Love the dress!
Love this dress. I normally wear a 6P - I'm 5'3", but got the 8P because other reviewers said it ran a little small in the waist. I'm glad I did as it fit perfect! Great dress for a gala.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
March 13, 2017
Great color!
I loved wearing this dress! It is rather conservative, but the fit in the torso and the flow of the skirt is incredibly flattering. I would definitely rent this dress again in this or any other bold color. I was actually in between the 6L and the 8L. The 6L zipped up (barely) but I just couldn't move without the possibility of it ripping. By three in the morning, that extra bit of space in the 8L was oh-so-helpful as I got a second plate of breakfast.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 12, 2017
Obsessed with this dress.
Oh my god I LOVED this dress. Fit true to size for the most part, however I thought I'd be a 6, but ended up wearing my back up size (8). I think just because there was no stretch to the dress. Make sure you wear heels! I got the regular length and it dragged on the floor without them. So flowy and beautiful. I'm not gonna lie, I definitely spun around multiple times to watch it float around me. :) Got tons of compliments and felt amazing in it all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 6, 2017
Beautiful Dress!!
I loved this dress! I got so many compliments. I'm about 5' 3" so I was nervous about the length. I wore 3" heels and the length was pretty good (slightly skimmed the ground). This dress was very comfortable too.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
March 5, 2017
Beautiful color, flowy and fancy
I used this as an mid pregnancy maternity dress and it was elegant and forgiving, got compliments all night and the color was perfect for Valentine's weekend wedding
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
March 5, 2017
Complements all night - thanks rtr!
Dress fit great and was very comfortable. Pockets would have made it perfect, but other than that I loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 4, 2017
Beautiful dress!
Loved the color of this dress! I got so many compliments on it. The dress was pretty long but fit perfectly with 4" heels. I'm not very large busted and it was a little baggy on top, but it still looked fine. Overall, I really liked this one!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
March 4, 2017
Comfortable and elegant dress!
I really loved this dress - the 12 fit perfectly and I usually wear 10/12. I definitely needed help getting the zipper up in the back like other users. This dress is super comfortable yet beautiful and elegant. Be prepared to get lots of compliments and to stand out with the beautiful red color. One piece of advice - do not wear black underwear because it will show through slightly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 3, 2017
Great for black tie optional!
I felt so fancy in this dress! Fit great and received so many compliments. Top fit snugly (in a good way). I wore ~3.5" heels -- so the long length was perfect for me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 2, 2017
Nothing but compliments!
The dress fit perfectly. After reading the reviews I ordered a long, it was the perfect length with heels. It was a little hard to zip, but not because it was too tight, the zipper just kept getting caught. So, have a friend handy to zip you up. I could have gotten away with not wearing a bra, but I wore one. The skirt was fun and flowy and I twirled around all night I usually wear black to these events and I definitely stood out all night and got nothing but compliments! I love how it photographed as well!
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 190lbs
March 1, 2017
Elegant and classy gown! A must try!
This gown was perfect and I will definitely consider renting in another color. The lining is slightly fitted but just the right amount. I had the 14W as a backup only because a 16 was unavailable. 14W was too big in the bust area but the 14R is perfect. I am usually between a size 12 and 14 and this was a perfect fit!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WL
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 20
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 250lbs
February 25, 2017
Ready for the Red Carpet
Lovely, flattering fit. I am 5'11, ordered the long and I was able to wear flats (thank god) and dance the night away! Received so many compliments and would definitely order again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
February 25, 2017
Tall girls dream
I wore this to my boyfriend's company holiday party and it was a hit. I'm 6'1", 175 pounds and usually range between a size 10 or 12. I wore this in a 12long and it was perfect with flats. The dress was very slimming and looked great with a statement necklace. I had originally ordered this is green and one other dress, but both had issues prior to shipping, so RTR sent me a few different options and this was one of them! Worked out perfectly
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 208lbs
February 24, 2017
Great dress! The color is a beautiful poppy! Got LOTS of compliments!
Really should have gone up a size (to a 16), but it was unavailable -- so it was a bit tough to zip. Great length. I'm 5'7" and I wore 3" gold heels -- worked out great! Would definitely rent this one again in a different color.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 38
February 22, 2017
This dress fit well and I received many complements. I would rent again!
Fit well
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 21, 2017
Finally a floor-length dress that works!
This dress was perfect–the length was exactly what I needed, I'm 5'2", 130 lbs, and wore 2.5 inch heels and the skirt was just enough off the ground that I never got it caught in my heels. My only 2 complaints are the zipper was really difficult to zip up or down–I never would have been able to get the dress on without help. This also made me think I needed the 8P when the 6P is what actually ended up fitting, so make sure to try both sizes before getting discouraged by a tough zipper! Also the arms holes could be slightly bigger–I felt fine for most of the evening, but by the end of the night I realized the side of the arm hole closest to my chest had started to irritate my arms.
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
February 20, 2017
Stunning and comfortable
It fit really well. I read all the reviews and they were spot on with the tighter fit through the rib cage. The dress length was perfect, I'm glad I got a petite
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 19, 2017
Loved this dress so much, tons of compliments!
I loved this dress! I'm 5'5", 130 lbs, 34A. I really felt amazing in this dress, the color was beautiful and the chiffon material was very comfortable. I ordered a 4R and 2R, the 4 fit better around the ribs so I went with that size. I wore a racerback bra but probably could have done without. I wore 3" heels and the dress just grazed the ground, I wouldn't have wanted it any shorter. I got so many compliments on this dress, perfect choice for my work holiday party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
February 17, 2017
Beautiful color and a natural show stopper!
The band is not stretchy so if you order a size up be prepared that the top maybe a little loose. Otherwise I loved the dress!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Age: 32
February 16, 2017
Amazing dress and received so many compliments!! Very comfortable!
Fit was great, I am 5'5 and with heels it was the perfect length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 14, 2017
Valentine's Day
I wore this dress for Valentine's Day dinner and was in love! I felt so elegant and beautiful. Dress fit perfectly. I would definitely rent this dress again
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
February 13, 2017
Beautiful Dress. Received many compliments.
This dress was beautiful and fit true to size for me. I received many compliments. It is a floor length gown so I had to wear heals with it.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
February 12, 2017
This dress made me feel beautiful!
This was actually my back up dress to the Dara Jumpsuit. It ended up too big so I wore this jnstead. So happy with my decision! I had to run out and get a spray tan to wear it. It fit perfectly and was the perfect length. Only downside is that it's so flowy I had to hold it a bit on the dance floor. I stood out in a sea of black dresses at a black tie optional wedding. I'm 5'6" and the long was the perfect length. Rent this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 8, 2017
This dress was perfect for the AFCEA Valentine's Day Gala!
Very true to size!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 34

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×