Badgley Mischka

Ruby Red Gala Gown

$50 – $80 rental?
$740 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Stylist Notes

Get glitzy for the gala in this red stunner by Badgley Mischka. A ruched waist and delicate pleating are an ultra flattering combination to make you feel confident! Layer on the jewels with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace, and Cara Accessories’ Gold Dress Me Up Bracelet.

Also available in green, cobalt and fuchsia.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 and plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Cherry red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Ruched waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
1276 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(785)
Small
(195)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 13, 2016
Comfortable and pretty.
Size up if busty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
December 9, 2016
Lovely dress!
Love this dress. It hides what you want it to hide and looks very elegant. It was perfect for the formal affair I had to wear it to. I would highly recommend it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16WL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 220lbs
December 7, 2016
Spectacular!
This dress was just what I wanted! Something long and formal, room to move around and forgiving on the hips/thighs. I didn't love my arms in it so planned ahead to have a bolero jacket over it. The top was a big "saggy" with extra material but other than that it was wonderful, I got endless compliments. I'm 5'8" and wore 2.5" heels to keep it off the ground. Glad I went with the Long, a regular would surely have been too short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
December 7, 2016
Beautiful dress for a beautiful night
The dress was perfect! I paired it with a vegan leather moto jacket and a swept up do. Felt elegant and edgy all in one. The dress was super comfortable and easy to get in and out of. I was also comfortable all night long. Not too tight or anything along those lines. Would 100% rent again
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 141lbs
December 5, 2016
Beautiful color and fit!
I wore this dress to my husband's formal holiday party. I have a smaller rib cage, so the 6 may fit a little tight on someone else with a similar size to me. I am 5'4, so it was a little long with the 3.5 inch heels I wore, but I didn't trip or step on while standing or walking (only when sitting). A taller heel would have been just right. The dress was very elegant and I received lots of compliments. It hid my lower baby belly that likes to make an appearance whenever I eat or drink anything :) It was definitely all that I expected and more based on the reviews that I read, and would totally rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
December 5, 2016
This dress made me feel so beautiful! I received a ton of compliments all night!
Very flattering around the waist and back. It was comfortable and easy to dance in. I recommend this for any formal event or holiday party!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 4, 2016
Customer service at RTR is amazing
I didn't end up wearing this dress but the fit was great! It is definitely very flowy and has an airy feel to it when you wear it! I'm 5'8 and would definitely need to wear this dress with tall heels or I would have been tripping over it all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WP
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
December 3, 2016
Perfect for a Christmas gala
I rented this dress for a Scottish Christmas gala and it worked perfectly. The color set off the colors in my clan tartan beautifully and it was super comfortable. The one downside was the top portion was slightly too large, but due to some unexpected last minute issues, I felt it would be more comfortable to wear the bigger size. Other than that, everything worked beautifully.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 31
November 27, 2016
rented this dress for my engagement pictures and the ones in this dress were the ones we picked
it was true to fit and flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 22, 2016
Greek goddess
I felt so great in this dress. The winched waist is so flattering and the material Is luxurious and flowy. So fun to dance in and got so many compliments. The waistband had no stretch but it was a great cut for me with a small waist and bigger hip area. I went braless but a strapless would work fine
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
November 21, 2016
Most flattering dress!
I rented this dress for a work gala this past weekend! I loved it! I've recently gained some wait and have not been in love with my body but this dress fit me and made me feel and look amazing! The band is tight and does not give at all so I went with a size 8 to have a little extra room! I'm 5'2 and with a 4" wedge, this dress with the perfect length. With the petite length, I never felt like i was tripping over the dress. I felt like a princess and would totally recommend and rent this dress again!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 220lbs
November 20, 2016
Good Dress, a tad tight for busty ladies
I wore this dress to a formal wedding. I was nervous because I've never rented from this specific designer. It was a tad bit tight in the bust (I wear a 40 DDD). But the bottom was very flowy and comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
November 20, 2016
Needed a dress for a Black Tie Preferred wedding - looked great! Does run small.
Ordered this dress in a size 8 with a size 10 back up. Typically wear a size 8. When I received on a Thursday, the 10 just felt too snug. So RTR shipped me a size 12 for next day delivery for Saturday before noon! Their customer service is phenomenal. No charge and it had to be shipped to where we were staying for the wedding. The wedding was Saturday night so I was concerned it wouldn't arrive in time. It did come late around 2pm but the important thing is it arrived! Overall fit great - a little big in the chest area but I loved the look. I did wear Spanx for my stomach, which I recommend. Another RTR success story! I ordered the same jewelry the model wore.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 20, 2016
Gorgeous red gown!
Gorgeous red chiffon gown with lots of room to feel comfortable and also conceal mid-section areas, if needed. I would say because of the looser, flowy style of the dress, you could potentially go a size down. I fit into both the 6L and 8L, and while the 6 looked a bit better fitted, it was just snug enough around my rib cage that I thought I may not be comfortable in it after eating a meal and sitting down for a period of time. Thus, I wore the 8, and it felt so comfortable with plenty of room to sit, eat and breathe. I am 5'7" and the long was a great length, and the dress pretty well covered my shoes so that they were hardly visible. This was great because it allowed me to wear nice 3-inch sandals that were more comfortable, but that were not exactly formal shoes, but no one could really see them anyway so it didn't matter. I paired the dress with the Seeing Double Earrings and Gold Ainsley Cuff bracelet which were the perfect complement of gold color against the beautiful red color.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 46
November 19, 2016
A perfect fit - stunning color!
I typically wear a 6 and rented a 6R. Another size was not available so I rented a second style which I didn't end up using. This dress fit like a glove and was super comfortable. Other renters have said that the empire strap is too tight but this was not the case for me. No bra needed. The weight of the dress is absolutely perfect - heavy enough to drape but not heavy at all to wear. I got a million compliments. I'm pretty tall and wore a 2-inch heel....my toes peeked out but b/c I had red toenails and sandals, that actually worked perfectly. I'm 5"9' and 140 lbs, size 36B bust. Will definitely rent again from RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Age: 30
November 16, 2016
Such a vibrant red!
This dress was perfect for Christmas pictures! So elegant and flattering. I am 5'3 and weigh 140 pounds. I wore a 6R. It fit like a glove! The length was perfect with heels. It flowed smoothly and photographed lovely. Definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
November 16, 2016
This fun, bright dress was easy to move in, and got a slew of compliments!
I have a large bust and a small waist, so I usually need to size up for dresses. I'm usually a 10-12, but I got a 12 and 14P, to be safe. The 12 had a small gap at the top of the zipper, so I went with the 14P. It was a great length in heels, but a smidge long when I took my shoes off after a night on the dance floor. Still, I got a ton of compliments and felt great all night. It really is a wonderful dress, and I'll probably rent it again in any of the other available colors
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16WL
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
November 16, 2016
So comfortable!
I ordered this as my backup dress and absolutely fell in love with the comfort and fit. I was able to wear a regular bra with cross-back straps. The bottom of the dress was so flowing and was so much fun!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
November 15, 2016
It was so comfortable I was able to dance all Night long. I am 5'8" and needed 2 inch heels.
I was able to wear a regular bra but crossed the straps.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 15, 2016
Princess Bride goes to the USMC Ball
Loved this dress! This was my second dress for my second marine corps ball this Veterans Day weekend. It fit like a glove and made me feel just like princess buttercup a la Princess Bride. The zipper was a bit tricky (especially for my boyfriend who only has to zip me into ball gowns once or twice a year haha) but that is to be expected of a chiffon gown like this one. Just be careful and you'll be fine. I wore a regular bra with this dress but could have also gone strapless. The dress is perfectly flowy and looks amazing as you move, especially outside when there's a light breeze blowing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 13, 2016
Amazing dress for my engagement photos!
This was actually my backup dress, and I'm SO glad I went with it. It flowed beautifully and the color added a dramatic pop to all of our formal outfit photos. There is absolutely no stretch to the waist, so I'm glad the one I requested fit. Definitely very long on my 5'3" frame (even with heels), but it was only for a photo shoot. If anything, the extra length picked up with the wind wonderfully, so we've got some cool photos with that. Definitely recommend if you want to stand out in a classic and timeless dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112lbs
November 12, 2016
Classic, easy choice
Nothing groundbreaking/ a little bridesmaidy but a nice red and a flattering cut for my backup dress (note I was one of at least 8 women wearing this dress at my event, 3 in the red, so this really should be a dress-of-last-resort, even though it's pretty). Note the petite still runs really long-- at 5'2 with 4" heels, it was still dragging on the floor.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
November 7, 2016
Go to gown
This is the second color of this gown I've rented and it's great for every event, dresses up great with bold jewels or dresses down with understated accessories. Love this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
November 6, 2016
This dress was very classy for an Air Force awards dinner
#classy
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 40
November 3, 2016
I received many compliments on the dress. Photographed well! Fit great.
Dress was quite shear. Even with the lining. I had to run out and get a slip at the last minute.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14WR
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
November 2, 2016
So light and comfortable!
I really liked this dress. The length was perfect for me (5'6"). And it was light, which worked because the wedding weekend was quite warm. My only issue was that because the dress was a little big, especially in the bust, my bra kept showing on the side under my arms. Otherwise was great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
October 30, 2016
Perfect dress for an Emmy gala!
This dress was so much fun to wear! I got so many compliments :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
October 30, 2016
Made me feel beautiful!
I typically wear a 4 but had to wear the 6 due to the waste of the dress being really tight. It fit very well, though! I rented the regular and it was still very long. I'm 5,6" and wore 3" heels and it was just barely above the ground. I had to pull the dress up to walk around, especially going up stairs. Be careful walking up stairs as it's pretty easy to trip on the dress. I got endless compliments, especially because I was the only person in a striking red dress at this October wedding. I absolutely recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
October 28, 2016
Perfect dress for Art museum wedding!!
This was my first rent the runway experience as a friend referred me. I had just given birth to my second son and wasn't really ready to purchase a dress for this formal of an affair at the Philadelphia Art Museum. The dress was absolutely perfect. it arrived the day before, it fit perfectly, and I was only one of three people in a red dress as everyone else was in black. It was so nice to stand out and I got compliments from everyone. It fit just perfect and for having big hips it covered all the places you don't want anyone to see. I would absolutely recommend this dress to anyone for a wedding or formal affair and definitely recommend rent the runway to anybody. I will definitely be using it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 26, 2016
LOVED IT!!
I'm in love with this dress. I'm 5'10" and generally wear a 10L, however RtR only had a 10R available so I rolled the dice after reading other reviews saying it was a bit long. It worked out perfectly! As you can tell from the photo, my shoes peaked out from the bottom, but I was in heels, and at 5'10", the R length was perfectly fine. You definitely need a strapless bra with this if you're bigger chested like I am, though the tighter fit fabric helped hold them in on the dancefloor. I ordered a 12 as back-up, but the 10 fit well enough. Overall, got a TON of compliments, the bottom flowed to smoothly, I felt like a princess! would definitely rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16WP
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 21
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
October 26, 2016
I wore this dress to my first military ball.
I adored this dress. I felt really classy. The dress was so flowy and it hugged my curves flawlessly. I will def be using RTR again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 25, 2016
Comfortable and moved well
I love chiffon and the way it moves. The cut of the skirt makes you look so tall and the ruching around the waist gives a great silhouette. This was one of the most comfortable dresses I've worn. Both the 4L and the 6R fit well. I went with the 6R because I decided to wear flats that night. I'm 5'6.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
October 24, 2016
Dress was awesome, received tons of compliments.
Dress fit true to size. Easily wore a bra with the dress and didn't have to worry about strapless/bra less options. Dress is pretty long, added small heels so it wasn't dragging on the ground. I would definitely wear this dress again or in a different color.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
October 24, 2016
Red, fun and free!
I received the 12L and 14R and felt the 14 gave me more room around the stomach for dancing. It was very comfortable the whole night. I got many compliments and had fun in it! Made me (& him) feel sexy! The cons would be the length. My shoes (2.5in) worked perfectly but heels were certainly needed. I did need to pick the gown part up walking up stairs as there is a lot of fabric than trails. The only other con was the back puffed out a little dancing! photos)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
October 24, 2016
Beautiful dress for a formal wedding!
I would've given this dress 5 stars but it came with a pretty large run down the front :( Customer service was amazing and overnighted another dress to me, but all they had was a 6L and it was way too long (I'm 5'7) so I had to wear the original. It wasn't very noticeable as you can't even see it in this picture and I got many compliments on the dress! Overall a really good first experience and I'll definitely order from here again! (My sister in this pic is also wearing her RTR dress which was stunning!)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
October 22, 2016
Loved the dress, many compliments and the color was stunning!
It fit a little tighter than I had thought, from reading the reviews. But it was beautiful, well made and the bride was happy!
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
October 21, 2016
Great dress, great weather and even better wedding
The dress was an amazing fit and color. I received so many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
October 21, 2016
Bold color, flowy skirt
I liked this dress a lot but it wasn't my favorite Badgley Mischka dress ever and here's why. 1) This dress fit great on me BUT as other reviewers have mentioned, there is no give in the band that runs around the waist and I found it to be a little tight for my comfort; ideally I should've sized up for my back up, but didn't want to risk it being too big everywhere else. This didn't stop me from wearing the dress by any means, I just had to "suck it in" a little more than I would've liked to all night. Also, it was great at downplaying my hips and butt because of the flowy skirt. 2) The length; seemed a little long to me but I'm a shorty at 5'2 so I kind of anticipated the length might be a slight problem for me. Oddly enough though, it seemed longer in the front than the back (as you can see in my photo), not sure if that's my body shape's fault or the dress's fault but thought I would point it out anyway. I also only wore a 2/3 inch heel so the length maybe could've been better had I worn a higher heel - but let's be honest, why kill yourself wearing a super high heel all night if no one is even going to see them, no thanks. 3) The ruching in the bust area will probably compliment someone with a smaller bust because, at a D cup, I definitely didn't need any help in that area, therefore I was little self-conscious at how big my girls appeared to look but that's just a personal preference. 4) The skirt part of this dress is slightly sheer, wear nude undergarments! I got away with wearing no bra which was nice. All in all, this was a great rental for the price and occasion. It definitely demands attention with its bold color and the flowy skirt makes you feel SO pretty.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Wedding
October 20, 2016
Lady in red
The length was shorter than I would've liked and I'm only 5'6.5. The red was bright and beautiful. I wear an 18 and the 18 fit perfect. There's a lot extra material on the top layer over the boobs which wasn't super flattering. Overall it looked great and was bold enough that is didn't need a ton of jewelry.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
October 18, 2016
Great for a formal event!
This dress was perfect for a black tie wedding. I am glad that I went with the Long size because it ended up being perfect with my heels. The bust area was a little snug, but other than that the dress was very comfortable and great for my event.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 32

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×