Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Ruby Red Gala Gown

$70 rental
$740 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get glitzy for the gala in this red stunner by Badgley Mischka. A ruched waist and delicate pleating are an ultra flattering combination to make you feel confident! Layer on the jewels with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace, and Cara Accessories’ Gold Dress Me Up Bracelet.

Also available in green, cobalt and fuchsia.

Also available in sizes 16-22.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Cherry red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Ruched waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
884 reviews
Fit
Large10
True to Size610
Small130
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 19
December 30, 2015
I loved how I felt in my dress!
The dress was beautiful and looked great. I usually wear a size 4 but I got a size 4 and 6 just in case and I had to wear the size 6 because I found it ran a little small. I felt really comfortable in the dress and got a ton of compliments! The color was gorgeous and it came to my house several days early and in great condition!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 27, 2015
Arrived a day early! I was thrilled!
I wore the 8 p... it was so tight around the waist and hard to zip, i didn't try the 6. It was a little loose in the bust. I'm 5'2" and wore 3" heels and the length was perfect.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 27, 2015
Beautiful dress!
Runs a little tight around the ribs, so I wore the size 2L. Gorgeous color and style for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
December 23, 2015
Beautiful & elegant dress! Forgiving and flattering on a post-partum figure - I felt lovely.
Wore this stunning and classic red dress to a winter wedding. I am 2 months post-partum and self-conscious about mid-section. The way this dress is cut it does not cling to your stomach at all. Spanx helped, too. : ) I felt comfortable and elegant in this dress and received many compliments on it. I almost never wear red, so this was a fun, festive change of pace! I am 5'10" and wore this with 1-2" heels -- definitely glad I went with the 12L (longer length), it just grazed the floor. I am normally closer to a size 8, but with my extra post-pregnancy weight still hanging around the 12 was the right size for me (brand may run small, too). Very happy with my first RTR experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 51
December 23, 2015
Great Color. Comfy. Perfect for Military Ball or Holiday Event.
I loved the color of this dress. The empire waist made it easy to wear. The only con was it was too short. I am 5'7 and even without heels it was just hitting the ground. I wore the dress and the heels anyway but I would have preferred for the dress to be longer.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
December 22, 2015
Perfect experience
The dress is beautiful! I wore it to a wedding and got so many compliments about it! The bright red color against my skin was amazing. Rent the runway is my new go-to to formal dresses for sure!! No complaints!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 21, 2015
A stunning red dress that has an elegant and romantic feel. I love it!
The fit is perfect. It is fitted on top and at the smallest part of the waist. The movement of the dress is beautiful. Very elegant and romantic. I am 5'7'' and decided to order the dress in a regular length because I only wanted to wear a low heal. The length was perfect. I keep coming back to use RTR because the customer service is excellent and I love the dresses. Rent this dress. I promise you will not want to send it back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 37
December 21, 2015
A beautiful winter formal wedding
Beautiful dress, however I found this dress runs a little small in the chest area. I usually wear a 2 but had to size up to accommodate my bust. Unfortunately this dress did arrive with 3 noticeable stains and a giant flaw through the bottom.
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
December 20, 2015
Great dress for a military ball!
I loved this dress for a military ball! It looked great next to an Army dress uniform and it was elegant and classy. The color is a very bright red, almost bordering on coral color. I have a wider rib cage so it was a little tight in that area but I didn't mind. I imagine this would be a flattering dress on almost any body type because it's only snug around the waist and the rest flows out beautifully. The neckline is very high and it did feel a little like it was choking me at first, but I got used to it after a while. Would definitely recommend for a formal affair!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 23
December 19, 2015
Comfortable and flattering--perfect for a work holiday party!
The fit was perfect. For me it was a little long so I had to wear 3-inch heels but overall, it fit perfectly everywhere.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10P
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 18, 2015
This dress is a dream! The flowy skirt and high waist are flattering for a little extra tummy!
The waist band rushing is tight and I had to have a little extra help zipping it up...but once it was zipped it felt great, the dress was so comfortable I could have danced all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 22
December 18, 2015
This dress helped make my night unforgettable and perfectly complimented my date.
Fits true to size. It looked beautiful and I received many compliments throughout the evening! Very classy and elegant.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
December 17, 2015
I went to an amazing black tie wedding. It was a perfect dress for a formal event near the holidays
I went with the 4Long because I find that long dresses are typically a little short on me. The 4L was almost perfect. It probably hit the ground a little more than I liked BUT it is better than it being too short. It was a perfect fit all around.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 17, 2015
Stunning Gown
This dress was gorgeous! I ended up wearing a 4L because the 6L was a little too large in the upper body. I'm 5'10"/145 lbs and the dress just barely skimmed the floor with flats on. I could have probably gotten away with a short heal, but I liked the way the dress skimmed the floor. It was comfortable, very appealing, and I received tons of compliments all night long. I'd definitely reserve this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 38
December 17, 2015
This dress was very pretty and very comfortable. I got compliments all night by tons of people.
I ordered a 6L and an 8L, ended wearing the 8L. I wasn't sure which size would work since sometimes I am a 6 or an 8 in dresses. I loved the dress and would rent again.
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Party
December 17, 2015
The perfect fit! I absolutely loved this dress and the fact that I could rent it.
I got lots of compliments throughout the night on the dress at my work holiday party. I know quite a few people who will be checking out rent the runway now.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 36
December 17, 2015
So comfortable
This was my backup dress that I did not end up wearing since the other fit perfect as well. However, this dress was gorgeous and SO COMFORTABLE. The only issue is that it was LONG. At 5'4" I needed to have 4 inch heals with an additional 1 inch platform in order for it to not drag the ground. If I order it again, I will probably go with the 4P.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
December 16, 2015
Classy standout dress, very flattering fit, compliments all night!
This was my first RTR experience and this dress was perfect for my friend's formal wedding. It was extremely comfortable and easy to move around and dance in. I got compliments all night long on this standout dress. A couple notes: I am 6'1" and this dress was about 1"-1.5" off the ground when I was wearing flats. It wasn't noticeable but might have liked if it was slightly longer. Also I did not wear a regular bra with this dress because it would have made the bust area too tight, but I wore a sticky bra and it was perfect. Overall, this is a very beautiful dress and would definitely recommend renting it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
December 16, 2015
I wore this dress to a holiday party. It was the perfect dress; I got so many compliments!
I ordered a 2R and 4R. The 2R fit perfectly; I didn't even try on the 4R. However, both dresses were way way too long, even in heels. I had to spend most of the night holding up my dress to make sure it didn't drag on the floor. Anyone under 5'5" should order a S rather than an R.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
December 16, 2015
I LOVED this dress. I wore it to a good friends wedding and it was definitely a hit.
I am 5'3 and 130 pounds, so the dress was a bit tight. It was the perfect length though. I got a lot of compliments and felt very beautiful!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
December 15, 2015
This is a lovely dress but very basic. It reminded me of a bridesmaid dress.
I got this dress as a back up to the one I really wanted. I loved that it was red and long, but was underwhelmed at the effect when I tried it on. It was like a bridesmaids dress, flattering and simple but overall nothing impressive. If you want a pretty, basic long dress in a beautiful color, this would be perfect. Would look great with a statement necklace like in the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
December 14, 2015
I wore this dress to Emcee a Holiday Show and it was the perfect red pop for the occasion.
A little snug in the top, but that is more my body than the dress. The fabric is beautiful in color and flow. The bright red was show stopping and I got tons of compliments. Great for folks like me that have a waist they can show off, but hips that don't need to be accentuated.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 45
December 14, 2015
Compliments all night long! This is an amazing dress! So comfortable and yet very elegant.
I found the dress to be true to size for me. I wore the 4P with about a 2 inch heel and it was perfect. The dress didn't drag on the floor and was absolutely one of the most comfortable formal gowns I've worn. I wore a regular bra with it and just used fashion tape to hold it in place--no problems all night. I would definitely rent this dress again. It definitely stood out in a sea of black and navy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
December 14, 2015
Showstopper
This dress definitely fits you in all the right places--runs true to size! I received so many compliments!! I would definitely recommend this for a holiday party or any occasion. It's stunning, sexy, and classic.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
December 14, 2015
Was great for a cold fall wedding!
Would definitely rent again. Comfortable and received compliments all night long
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 13, 2015
Gorgeous, comfortable, you feel beautiful without being revealing or tight!
Simply great. Is only fitted at the waist. I'm 5'8" and the regular with flats was the perfect length. Tricky on stairs but I think it was because of the sequins on my flats that would snag. Simply wonderful and such high quality!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 193lbs
December 13, 2015
RTR will do anything in their power to get you the right dress.
I rented this dress for a formal holiday party. It was one of 2 that I chose and I would have worn either one. The fit is appropriate but if you're very busty you may want to size up. Comfortable, and the length was spot-on. So many complements. I loved wearing this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 13, 2015
Great dress
It was very comfortable dress. Got tons of complements. I ordered 4l and 6r and both fit but went with the 6r Bc the 4l was a little long. I'm 5'7 and wore a 2-3 inch heal. Dress is sliming how it fits and I wore a statement necklace with it.
Size worn:
8P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 18
December 13, 2015
Amazing Fit!
I could not have asked for a better dress! I wore this to Coronation and got compliments all night long! First time to ever rent a dress and I was amazed I will for sure be back soon!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
December 12, 2015
I loved this dress!
I thought that the dress fit great! I wore it to a bowling formal, so I almost wished that I'd gotten the dress in an 8 short, but the length is perfect for heels! It's very comfortable and lightweight. I got a ton of compliments! And it is a great color too. I would definitely recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
December 10, 2015
I needed a dress for a holiday party at one of New York's most well known hotels.
I am absolutely kicking myself for not ordering a back up size. The size 14R draped beautifully on my 8 month pregnant body but was unfortunately too tight on my rib cage. I took home the Favor Gown in 16P instead, which was too much fabric for me. I wish I had ordered this dress in the plus size version, "Encore" in a 16P! So ladies, please don't make the mistake I did -- do not assume that a piece is less fashionable than another piece with a higher rental price! I will definitely be saving this dress for another occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 10, 2015
Beautiful! I've ordered this same dress in a different color every time I've ordered through RTR
Yes the zipper is a little tricky, but it's worth it!!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
December 9, 2015
Loved this dress!
I wore this dress to my company's holiday party at the Omni Hotel. It fit well and I felt great in it. The length was a bit long, but the 2P may have been too short. I wore 3-4" heels and it was just hitting the ground. I wore a simple bracelet and some dressy earrings, but no other jewelry as I think this dress spoke for itself.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 20
December 9, 2015
The packaging of the dress was incredible. As well as the little trinkets that came with it.
Pros: lovely color, fit me perfectly, looks like actual image on website Cons: wished I could have kept the dress bag
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 8, 2015
I wish I could wear this dress every day. It was comfortable and beautiful. So many compliments!
Amazing fit! Highlighted all the right places. This dress was a little long but worked out well with my 5' heels. I am so happy I rented this one, was sad to send it back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 21
December 6, 2015
So sad to send this dress back afterwards
Pictures do NOT do this gown justice. It was so flowy and elegant, I felt like a movie star! I ordered the long because I'm taller and it was a smidge too long, my heels were only about an inch high so taller heels would have been better. I would be willing to wear a longer dress though because it was so beautiful and moved so well when I walked. This gown will not disappoint, I cried a little inside when I had to return it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
December 6, 2015
Pretty dress
The waist is a little tight. The length could have been longer.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
December 6, 2015
Perfect holiday red dress!
This was my first time using RTR and I loved it! I ordered the 8R and was very glad they offered the free backup size because I ended up wearing the backup. The zipper on this dress can be tough to zip by yourself due to the center band of fabric. The larger size was more comfortable to wear in the chest. The length was perfect for me in heels, just skimmed the ground as I walked. I got so many compliments on the dress at a holiday party. I will definitely be renting again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 18
December 5, 2015
Perfect dress
Fits a little tight around the chest and neck, but I found that one size up for me was a little too loose, so I opted for the smaller size and dealt with the tightness. Although it was snug, it wasn't unpleasant or uncomfortable.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
December 5, 2015
Simple yet elegant, beautiful dress
Fit: One size up! I am 5'0" and wore 2-inch heels. The dress would have looked better with 3 or 4-inch heels as other reviewers mentioned. I could walk though did end up stepping on the dress at times. Regardless danced and walked for about 5 hours straight and didn't even trip! It was certainly manageable, even for ones who don't like to wear high heels for those many hours, especially if you wanted to dance. The dress is roomy enough for padded bra. I recommend it for busty ones. I am pretty out of shape, so had a little tummy which didn't show given the dress's structure. Service: Timely and easy. Pros: Dress is gorgeous and flowy. Very comfortable and airy. Cons: A tad bit long, but still manageable
See more reviews:
2 / 23

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×