Badgley Mischka

Ruby Red Gala Gown

$50 – $70 rental
$740 retail
Stylist Notes

Get glitzy for the gala in this red stunner by Badgley Mischka. A ruched waist and delicate pleating are an ultra flattering combination to make you feel confident! Layer on the jewels with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace, and Cara Accessories’ Gold Dress Me Up Bracelet.

Also available in green, cobalt and fuchsia.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 and plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Three lengths available. Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hemline (recommended for heights under 5'2"), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hemline (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hemline (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Cherry red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Ruched waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
1419 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(854)
Small
(212)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
July 27, 2017
Military Ball
Rented this for military ball. Worked perfectly. Super comfortable and easy to move in. Between dancing, drinking and eating it was the best choice. Wore with flats and the dress was the perfect length.
Size worn:
18WP
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
July 26, 2017
Perfect for Vegas
The color was perfect for a Vegas wedding and the fabric was flowing and elegant. I got so many compliments just walking through the hotel to the chapel. It was comfortable to wear. I couldn't be more happy with my choice. I will definitely use Rent the Runway again. Thank you
View photos (1)
Size worn:
20WL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 40DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 210lbs
July 25, 2017
It was a black tie formal event.
I probably would have fit better in a Size 18L, but that size wasn't available for my dates. I was so in love with the dress, and it looked like being it would be more forgiving to be a size up rather than a size down. I think I made the right choice. The dress was a little big, but not noticeably so to anyone besides me. I wore this with a strapless bra, but a racerback bra would likely have been fine too. It's very flowing, which flattered my midsection well. It was extremely comfortable, and I wore it all night without any issues. I wore about a 2 inch heel, and I'm 5'10", and a long was the perfect length for me. Highly recommend this for any formal event.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
July 24, 2017
LOVE this dress! Would definitely rent again!
This dress was absolutely stunning! I loved how flow-y the dress was and how long it was! I am 6'0", rented the long, and still was able to wear heels- AMAZING! I rented both the 10L and 12L- I could honestly have worn either dress and been comfortable, but I ended up wearing the 12L because the 10L had a stain on the back of the dress. Both dresses took a little muscle to zipper up, so make sure someone helps you! Was able to wear a strapless bra and be comfortable all night. Would highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
July 22, 2017
Beautiful!!!
I received so many compliments all night, and I felt so beautiful in it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
July 20, 2017
This dress was gorgeous! Elegant, but comfortable and so fun to wear! I got tons of compliments!
I had ordered a 2P with a 4P back up. Two days before the wedding, RTR contacted me to say the 2P had been returned in irreparable condition o was unavailable. I was very nervous, but the 4P fit beautifully! I loved wearing this dress every second that I had it on. It flowed when I walked and was great to dance in. The color was amazing. There was another guest at the wedding in the same RTR dress in blue. She had a very different body type than mine, but looked equally lovely. This dress is a winner!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
July 16, 2017
Beautiful color and flattering fit!
Loved this dress so much, I have rented it twice! It's a great color and very flattering. I received so many compliments on this dress. Definitely a favorite!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
July 11, 2017
Beautiful dress!
This was such a beautiful dress! I am 5'5 and even in heels the regular was a bit long, but it fit really well. Would definitely recommend.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
July 10, 2017
Literally from the moment I walked in the wedding I got comments about this dress! It is amazing!
Loved this dress, I used the larger of the sizes but found the length was perfect. The toughest part of this dress was zipping about the waist (don't you dare think this is a one person job). It took two of us to put it on and two of us to remove it. This dress is jaw dropping, and I wish I could keep it forever, and I never say that!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 6, 2017
Lady In Red!!
What a stunning red dress!! The dress runs small. I'm typically a 6 but the rib cage area wouldn't zip, so I went with the 8. This dress was beautiful and flowing, I didn't have to worry about how much food I was eating. I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
July 6, 2017
Gorgeous color!
Lovely flow and great dress to dance the night away! I am 5'9" and wore 3.5" heels for the Long. I received many compliments and felt that the dress was classy and perfect for this summer wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16WR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 25
July 6, 2017
Stunning
This dress was stunning! It was a little long in me. I'm 5'6". Wedges made it work though. I wish the top was cut just a little different to help cover up that akward boob/arm flab. I felt a little stiff all night because if was a little small in the top for a DD.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
July 5, 2017
This dress is gorgeous!
I wore this to a friend's wedding and received so many compliments! I wore the 10L and 3" wedges and it fell to the perfect length and fit just right. If my boobs had been a little bigger it might've been too tight in the chest.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
July 3, 2017
I didn't wear this but will definitely be renting it for another wedding
Great fit!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
June 29, 2017
Stunning color!
I am 5.5 months pregnant, I needed a dress to accommodate my growing bump. It fit perfectly, it was comfortable, and the color was stunning! I got tons of compliments. I am a 36 around my rib cage, and that was the only reason I couldn't wear the 4R comfortably. I've tried to wear red dresses before, and they've always looked cheap to me. this dress has a nice material, a nice flow, and a stunning color! I normally weigh 126-129 and wear 2 in RTR, but currently I weigh 146.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 202lbs
June 29, 2017
I wore the dress for engagement photos. The shot was at a hotel and even strangers loved the dress!
The dress fit true to size. I do have a larger bust and that was about the only area that made me self conscious. The dress was amazing, everyone loved it and the photos turned out great! #engagementphotos
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
June 28, 2017
Comfortable and flattering formal dress
Wore this to a formal benefit and it fit wonderfully. A bit tight in the shoulder area so may want to size up for alternate. Very flattering and comfortable to dance all night in
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 25, 2017
A good new year dress
Wore it to a New Years black tie. Red is so festive and fit well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 49
June 22, 2017
Fits perfectly, looks fabulous on. I'd rent it again!
The only issue I had was that the zipper was very difficult to zip. The dress was a tad big on me, and from the base, the zipper was stubborn to start
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
Weight: 158lbs
June 20, 2017
Loved this dress! So flattering; so comfortable!
Pros: Beautiful color and flow; very flattering. Seriously, have never received more compliments in 1 night than I did wearing this dress. Took it out of the bag, hung it up and it was good to wear... no steaming or anything needed! Cons: As others said, the zipper is TOUGH to get up, knowing that though, made me feel more comfortable telling my husband to really yank on it, and it did go up. And as others mentioned, the band around the middle isn't forgiving. I usually wear a 10-12 top, and I went with the 12 dress and was happy I did. It made it a little easier to get the zipper up and I did not feel constrained at all during the night. Other: I was wearing ballet flats and the dress just floated above the floor, it was perfect. I wasn't tripping on it, but it was definitely long enough. I think I could have easily worn shoes with a 1" heel and been fine for length. I wore a standard bra with a clip on the back to make it "racer back" and it worked well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
June 16, 2017
This was a backup dress option when something happened to my original. Turned out to be amazing!
I wore the larger size because it was very hot and the 12 was under my bust line and I'm glad I did. There isn't any give on strap under the bust so the larger size allowed for more freedom of movement and dancing! It has a beautiful flow to it while you walk as well :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Weight: 122lbs
June 12, 2017
Red Dancing Woman Emoji
I want to start this out by saying I definitely should've rented the short, even in giant high heels. I guess I am in denial about my height. That being said, I have never felt more beautiful than I did in this gown. It fit like a glove even when I stuffed my face with pasta. I got SO many compliments and people I didn't even know were begging me to tell them where I got it. Would rent over and over and over again!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 18
June 12, 2017
my friends
the dress fit properly and looked very pretty. i was able to dance without any problems
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8P
Rented for:
Wedding
June 11, 2017
Perfect gown
I've now worn this dress in 3 colors; I'm 5'5" and wore the petite size with flats and it just brushed against the floor. Lovely, classic fit and bright color = home run.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
June 11, 2017
I got so many compliments all night, and the flow of the dress made dancing so much fun!
I was a little nervous to get this style because I usually go for short form fitting dresses. But I wanted to go to this wedding and be able to eat/drink as much as I wanted without feeling self conscious! I probably could have gone up to the 6R, because the 4R was a LITTLE tight around my ribs, but not to where it was uncomfortable. I also usually have to get Long in ANY dress I buy, but the Regular size was definitely long enough! Over all I am so happy with this dress and would rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Weight: 140lbs
June 7, 2017
Perfect dress to feel classy at a black-tie event!
The fit of this dress was great - only fitted area was the waist. I was able to wear a strapless bra and with 3 inch heels it was the perfect length.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
June 7, 2017
Easy
Perfect fit
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
June 6, 2017
Comments all night!!!
I ordered this dress last minute and rtr customer service department was excellent in assisting me. I received so many comments on this dress. I love rent the runway!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
June 2, 2017
Best dress ever.
It tightens at the waist which i loved, it was perfect and everyone loved it. i wore it to a new years eve wedding. this was my first time doing rent the runway and it was an amazing experience. i read a million reviews and was scared since this was the only dress i had! turned out perfect. i went with the 4R bc it fit to my body better but after i ate i probably needed the 6R :) i danced and had a great time. no hassle on the return of it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
June 1, 2017
I got tons of compliments over this beautiful dress! I felt like a princess.
I am normally an 8, but have a larger rib cage so the 10 was more comfortable. The zipper was a bit sticky, but eventually got up easily. The Petite length was perfect for me (5'3"), and I wore about 1 1/2" heals. Would definitely rent this dress again! Good thing it comes in other colors too! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
May 27, 2017
Zipper sucks but it's gorgeous!
I got TONS of compliments on this dress at the wedding I attended. I'm usually a pretty true 6, but I'm busty - a 34F. The 6 fit and zipped, but was a bit too snug in the bust for my comfort the 8 was much more accommodating in that department. There is no stretch and the waistband has no give, so I appreciated the 8 after cocktail hour as well. As for length? I'm 5'5 and it was slightly too long with 3 1/2 inch heels. Nobody noticed it but me. P.S. This zipper sucks. Definitely have to have someone help you into it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
May 25, 2017
Great dress, super comfortable and a great fit. Perfect for an Indian wedding!
Fit was good, but it definitely does run small. Definitely glad I ordered the 6 as well because the 4 (which is my normal size) would not have fit. Very flattering fit and great for a formal occasion and would rent again!
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 24, 2017
Lady in Red
I got so many compliments on this gorgeous dress! It was so fun to twirl and dance around all evening. It was a little tight in the rib cage, and the zipper was difficult to get up, so that's the reason for the 4 star rating. I'm 5'0" on a good day, so the petite length fit well with 3" heels. I still had to hold up the outer layer a little while dancing for fear of snagging the sheer fabric. Overall, would highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
May 23, 2017
Felt like a goddess
Loved this ensemble. Basically got all the accessories in the photo. Felt like a goddess and received many compliments on the dress and red color.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 21, 2017
Beautiful dress
First time renting the runway. I am now a big fan and telling all my friends about it. Dress fit beautifully!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
May 17, 2017
The color was amazing and it was a beautiful dress! Lots of compliments on the color and fabric.
Fit true to size. Above the waist runs a little big, otherwise true to size. Will definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 16, 2017
Worn At Formal Army Affair
I ordered this dress in a Size 2 as well as a Size 4P and I am 5'2 and ended up wearing the 4P with a four inch heel and it was still a little long. The zipper on the dress was very sticky and a bit difficult and the band goes around your rib cage so, it was a bit of a snug fit but everywhere else it was very comfortable. I don't like super form fitting dresses as I am not a fan of my hip area so, this dress was perfect and it was nice not to feel restricted. It was classic and I got tons of compliments. I also loved that I could wear a bra under the dress. I would order this again in a different color for another event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
May 14, 2017
Gorgeous!
This dress meet my expectations! So beautiful! Very long. I wore flats and it touched the floor. I'm 5'4 and 136 lbs. #weddingreception
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 13, 2017
Walking on air!
This dress was super comfy all around. When I walked it flowed nicely at the bottom so it felt like I was walking on air. It fit me well on top (I am small-busted) and was the perfect length on the bottom wearing 3- inch heels. In the mid-section it was a bit snug around my waist but not uncomfortable, even after our filling dinner and dessert. Also it was great to dance in! I received many compliments too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 15
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 13, 2017
Prom night in this Stunning dress
Absolutely gorgeous! Lots of compliments! This dress was stunning! 5 stars- for some reason app won't let me give it any higher than 4!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 36

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×