Rent the Runway

Badgley Mischka

Ruby Red Gala Gown

$70 rental
$740 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get glitzy for the gala in this red stunner by Badgley Mischka. A ruched waist and delicate pleating are an ultra flattering combination to make you feel confident! Layer on the jewels with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace, Cara Accessories’ Gold Dress Me Up Bracelet, and Serpui Marie’s Fireuze Crystal Minaudière.

Also available in green, cobalt and fuchsia.

Also available in sizes 16-22.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Cherry red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Ruched waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

675 reviews

Fit
Small 102
True to Size 485
Large 9
Photos 537
Jules
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
Aug 25, 2014

I received compliments on this dress all evening!

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was fantastic! I received compliments all night. The red color is so rich and vibrant and matched the gold accessories by Alexis Bittar I rented as well. The fabric was so flowy and it made for great dancing all night. It was little bit long (the regular) for my 5ft 2in for bare feet (let's be honest I kicked those shoes off as soon as possible during the reception) but I LOVED it and would gladly rent it again!
Laurie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 16
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Dec 14, 2014

Absolutely Amazing Dress, loved the color!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for my Sweet 16 Masquerade Ball. I cannot express how much I loved this dress! I ordered it two days before my event so I could get a feel for it and make sure that it made me feel great. I don't think I could have asked for a better dress! The overall fit is true to size. If you have a larger bust,as I do, I would suggest going up a size because it can get a little tight. Other than that, for my first RTR Rental, this dress blew my mind and I got compliments on it all night! Definitely renting again!
Allie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 31, 2015

This dress was perfect! The high neckline and empire waist give length to petite women.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm short and the regular length worked perfectly with my 3" heels. If I wanted to wear sandals though, a size 4P would be great for you. I have no complaints about the dress--I just wanted to buy it!
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 1, 2015

this dress was perfect for an african safari themed wedding!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore the size 8L in this dress. It fit perfectly and was incredibly flattering. I wore about 4 inch heels with the dress and the bottom of the dress just grazed the floor! Would rent this dress again in a heart beat!
Lauren
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Apr 1, 2015

Lady In Red

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is definitely a head turner. Very classic and very chic. For me, since I am 5'2, I felt that it was a little bit long (even with my highest heels on). I wish they had a petite size that I could have ordered. I felt like I had to pick up the bottom of the dress to walk and not ruin it. Also, some of the other reviews are correct when they say that the zipper is a little bit difficult. My friend had to help me get it up and over where the bra line would clasp. Once you got over that area the zipper was fine. Overall I really liked this dress. I got a lot of compliments on it and I was very happy with my selection.
Lindsey
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Apr 2, 2015

A show stopper!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am very petite, so renting a long dress was a risk. It was long, dragged on the floor all night, but since it was so flowy it didn't really matter that much. The belt was a little tight around my rib cage. Since the rest of it is flowy, I think that measurement should make your decision with what size to go for. The red was not my first choice, but found out I had to go to this event with not much notice. I was got compliments all night and my husband loved it! So happy I stepped out of my comfort zone and did this dress!
Kaitlyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 5, 2015

Perfect for a benefit gala!! It fit like a glove and the fabric moves beautifully.

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
There really isn't any wiggle room with dress so definitely go up a size and up two for your backup!
Melissa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 8, 2015

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was complimented all night. It fit perfectly in the size I am used to wearing. I also rented the necklace that is shown with it and that went perfectly as well. Very happy with the dress!
Liz
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Apr 9, 2015

Beautiful color!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit! Very flattering. It was a little tough to zip up in the back around the waist but that was true whether it was on me or the hanger. I wore 3 inch heels and the length was perfect. Very low maintenance dress and it was easy to move around in. Perfect for dancing!
Stephanie
Age: 25
Apr 10, 2015

Everyone loved the dress!

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit perfect!! I am 5'7 and got a 4 R and wore flats with it because it was the perfect length and did not want to wear heels !
Jessi
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

Very comfortable all night!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
When I first started looking at Rent The Runway I was really nervous to commit to it. This dress was actually my second choice because by the time I went to order it the other one was all gone in my size. The dress was the perfect length with my small heels and even when i had my flats on for the dance it did fine. The only con was that i was hoping to be able to wear a bra with it and couldn't because you could see it at the arm holes. I got many compliments all night even though it isn't your typical Prom dress. One friend of mine informed me that i looked sophisticated like the first lady. It was comfortable to dance in all night and didn't get too hot. I didn't want to send it back and will be watching to see if it ever is for sale!
Kate
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

Flowed beautifully and looked fabulous against his dress blues!

Size worn: 10R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Standing up and sitting frequently (up down up) was difficult. Dress would get caught under my shoes and chair. Excellent to dance in.
Kathryn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

Great color and perfect for a formal event!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely would rent this dress again! I loved how flowy it looked when it was on and covered up my "problem areas." The color is definitely a bright red which looked great with my pale skin and blond hair. The other problems I had was the zipper was very difficult to get up past the waist band and the waistband and area around my neck were tight. Due to the tightness I ended up wearing the 8 instead of the 6. I also originally ordered the long since I'm fairly tall, but since I don't enjoy wearing heels the dress was too long. The regular was perfect on me with flat sandals!
Loryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 15, 2015

The red dress really stands out, I was referred to "the girl in the red dress" all night!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I really liked the dress, but even with my 6 inch heels, the dress was too long and kept getting caught underneath my heels.
Anne Marie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 16, 2015

The looks on everyone's faces when they saw me!

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I LOVED this dress!!! Length was perfect but I have long legs. I got so many compliments on this dress! I was afraid the red color would be too wintery but it absolutely worked as a spring dress! My only complaint is the rib cage... I wear a size 4 usually but it took two people to zip me up and I couldn't breathe well once it was in so I wore the 6. Luckily it wasn't baggy at all in the top area. It worked out great!
RTR Customer
Apr 16, 2015

Perfect for my senior formal!

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was a little long. I would definitely suggest wearing 4in. heels. The area around the bust was a little tight and the zipper was hard to zip and was a two person job.
Katie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 19, 2015

LOVED IT!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
One, this is my first rental ever and it was fantastic! I could sit comfortably, dance and just enjoy my night while feeling glam. I got at least 10 compliment and the earrings were just great!
Caroline
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 21, 2015

Pop of color in a black and white world. Nothing but compliments all night

Size worn: 10R
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the color and the material of the dress. Very flowy and forgiving for those problem areas to want to hide. My only con is that the top of this dress was very snug. I'm not huge in the chest area but I definitely have some curves and if you are the same you should definitely size up to compensate for this issue. The other con would be the zipper on this dress is extremely difficult to zip up. My boyfriend had to zip this up little by little and it was a pain. But with that said I loved everything else about this dress and I would get it again in a heartbeat. The length was perfect for me with 4-5 inch heels on. Thanks RTR!!!
Kate
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 21, 2015

Overall great experience !!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely LOVE this dress and it to so, so many compliments. I was so sad when I had to send it back. I wore it for a military ball and it was perfect. Sleek and flattering and fit me like a glove. I'm 5'6 and ordered the 4R and it was the perfect length. Overall RTR was a great experience and I would definitely rent again !!
Elissa
Age: 29
Apr 22, 2015

The dress was perfect for a formal affair. I felt like a celebrity in this gown.

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this dress. The color was vibrant and the chiffon lent an elegant touch for a black tie wedding. I ended up wearing the 6R and it fit like a glove. It is fitted at the waist but flows below. Definitely wear a strapless bra. I got a lot of compliments throughout the night. Would definitely recommend!
Ana
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 22, 2015

I was "The Girl in Red", EVERYBODY toll me so, I felt glamorous ......

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Pros felt nice, and comfortable, beautiful red color, Cons the one that fit came with a little torn in the front on the hem, and I felt very supported from the people of the RTR, they took very good care of me, thank you.
Allie
Top Contributor
Age: 21
Apr 23, 2015

The red was perfect for the occasion.

Size worn: 6L
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was true to size. Absolutely stunning for an evening of dancing. The length was a tad bit long and I tripped over the bottom portion when I wasn't wearing heals. I would recommend the regular size for women under 5'9. Other than the length, it was a beautiful gown and an unforgettable evening.
Sydney
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 24, 2015

Gorgeous Dress!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress, it was so comfortable and made me feel elegant and classy. Love the high neck line, I got compliments throughout the night and everyone asked me where I got it. Some even told me they were "obsessed with my dress" can you blame them?
Kelsey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Body type: Petite
Apr 25, 2015

This dress is amazing!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I LOVED this dress! I received compliments on the color all night long and the fit was fantastic. The length was perfect with three inch heels. The dress arrived on time and sending it back to RTR was easy. I also rented the bracelet that went with it.
Angie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Apr 26, 2015

I got so many compliments on this dress all night long.

Size worn: 14R
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color is a VIBRANT red. Fit was perfect for me. I have a smaller waist with larger hips and a little tummy. This hides the tummy!! If you have a thicker waist you may want to size up. It is long but I wore some sky high heels with it and it was a perfect length for me. The flow of this dress was just gorgeous and after my 1st 2 I rented fell thru for this event, I called immediately and they sent this to me next day. I was so grateful for RTR's fantastic customer service that put my mind at ease for this fabulous charity ball. Thank you again for an amazing look RTR!!! I will rent this dress again!!
Kate
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Apr 26, 2015

Elegant ceremony and tons of fun on the dance floor.

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is bold, elegant and beautiful! I got so many compliments on it! It was a little long with 3.5" heels - I would wear the regular length next time for sure.
Lindsay
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 27, 2015

Comfortable and flattering!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Color was a very nice shade of bright red and the fabric was light and soft.
Signe
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 16
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 29, 2015

I wore this dress to prom and it was just perfect. I go so many compliments and I felt amazing too.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was amazing, but I would like to say that even though I looked on what shoe height was recommended and whether I should get the regular or the long it ran a little long. Without heels I was tepping on it and with the heels I had it was really close. There was a little tear in the bottom of the dress that we tried to fix, and almost on top of my left behind there was a little spot. None of this ruined my experience and no one noticed, but I would just like to mention it.
Taylor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 29, 2015

Effortlessly #Flawless

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my FIRST time using RTR and I could have not had a better experience! 8R was the original size I was hoping to wear and it fit perfectly. I literally couldn't believe it because that never happens in general and I am not the best online shopper. I am on the taller side and the R was the perfect length for flats (but honestly I think heels could have worked too). I wore this dress to a military ball and when looking for a dress I wanted something that was flattering, comfortable, and dance-proof (I think I am Beyonce).... This dress was all three in one! Not to mention the red was even more stunning in person. For having an athletic and curve-a-ilicous bod this dress covers and shows off in all the right places. Overall, I highly recommend this dress and give it 5 stars for being #flawless!!
Sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 29, 2015

This dress was stunning! I got compliments all night on the color and fit!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit was absolutely perfect! I didn't know what length to get because I'm right on the verge between needing a regular and a long, but I went with the 6R and with my heels, it was as if the dress was hemmed just for me! The zipper stuck a little bit, but it wasn't too bad. The only downside was that when I sat down, I had to sit up very straight to breath, but I have a large chest, so that's something I'm used too.
Lois
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 1, 2015

I love this dress! The color is gorgeous and the dress flows beautifully.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my school's banquet and got tons of compliments! I like everything about the dress. It flows beautifully. The color is gorgeous. The silhouette of the dress was perfect for me because I have broad hips. And the suggested neck piece (Kenneth Jay Lane Gold Shadow Bib Necklace) was the perfect accessory! The only thing I wasn't happy about was the length of the dress. I wore 3.5 inches heels but it was still too long for me. I should have ordered a petite size. But other than that, I totally would rent this dress again!
kourtney
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
May 3, 2015

YOU. NEED. THIS. DRESS.

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Formal Affair
this dress is so stunning and much like the other renters on here.. I received compliments all night! I did have to size up because of my bust (32DD) but the dress was so comfortable and truly truly gorgeous.
cristina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
May 3, 2015

Beautiful dress and so much fun!

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a size 2 or 4 petite but because of what is in stock I only had the option to order a 2 and 4p. The 2 fit perfect but was too long so I went with the 4p, which ended up working out well. I have a large bust and small figure so I usually have a hard time finding something that fits perfectly. This not only fit but I didn't even have to wear a bra(hallelujah). Loved the color, especially for a night, formal wedding!
SarsMakayka
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
May 4, 2015

Perfect Dress!

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Other
This dress was absolutely perfect!! It was so comfortable to wear. I ordered it for my senior prom and got tons of compliments. I would recommend renting to anyone going to prom. The pictures do not give the color of the dress justice.
Shannon
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170 lbs
May 5, 2015

amazing color!

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
this dress was really great. the color was fabulous and the cut of the chest and back were incredibly flattering. the waist band is tight on the rib cage so even though i usually wear a 12, i ended up wearing the 14 because of the rib cage. so many compliments through the night and it made me feel great!
Beth
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
May 6, 2015

Pretty, comfortable and 'forgiving.'

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was true to size, it accents your waist and hides things you may want hidden. It was an easy, comfortable dress to wear and I got lots of complements. The only issue I had as that the zipper was a little sticky. I would rent it again.
Erin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
May 6, 2015

I got so many compliments!

Size worn: 4L
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fits true to size. If you're a taller girl like me (5'10), definitely order the long. I wore flats and it was the perfect length. The regular was way too short.
Lynn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 8, 2015

Comfy dress

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress.. 4P not available so order a 4. Dress was long for 5'2". Top fit perfect for 34D. I'm all about comfort and this dress was very easy to wear at this formal
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
May 9, 2015

Amazing dress!!

Size worn: 12R
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was amazing. Good thing the 12 fit because they sent me a completely different dress in the same color for my second size. Which didn't fit and I later found out it was identical to the bridesmaids dresses. That would have been uncomfortable. I had people telling me all night how amazing my dress was. One of the brides family members even told me I was best dressed at the wedding! I would love to have another event to wear this dress to!!! Definitely happy with this rental!! Thanks RTR for another win!!!
Adrian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
May 13, 2015

Wore for my sisters wedding. Loved it. So flowy, great for dancing

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
But I am normally a 2 and for some reason the way that this dress is made I felt like I was suffocating in the 4 just around my waist. But other than that (def order up a size) I loved this dress. So much that I may rent this exact dress (in different colors) again soon
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×