Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Ruby Red Gala Gown

$70 rental
$740 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get glitzy for the gala in this red stunner by Badgley Mischka. A ruched waist and delicate pleating are an ultra flattering combination to make you feel confident! Layer on the jewels with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace, and Cara Accessories’ Gold Dress Me Up Bracelet.

Also available in green, cobalt and fuchsia.

Also available in sizes 16-22.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Cherry red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Ruched waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
871 reviews
Fit
Large10
True to Size604
Small126
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 17, 2015
Stunning Gown
This dress was gorgeous! I ended up wearing a 4L because the 6L was a little too large in the upper body. I'm 5'10"/145 lbs and the dress just barely skimmed the floor with flats on. I could have probably gotten away with a short heal, but I liked the way the dress skimmed the floor. It was comfortable, very appealing, and I received tons of compliments all night long. I'd definitely reserve this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 38
December 17, 2015
This dress was very pretty and very comfortable. I got compliments all night by tons of people.
I ordered a 6L and an 8L, ended wearing the 8L. I wasn't sure which size would work since sometimes I am a 6 or an 8 in dresses. I loved the dress and would rent again.
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Party
December 17, 2015
The perfect fit! I absolutely loved this dress and the fact that I could rent it.
I got lots of compliments throughout the night on the dress at my work holiday party. I know quite a few people who will be checking out rent the runway now.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 36
December 17, 2015
So comfortable
This was my backup dress that I did not end up wearing since the other fit perfect as well. However, this dress was gorgeous and SO COMFORTABLE. The only issue is that it was LONG. At 5'4" I needed to have 4 inch heals with an additional 1 inch platform in order for it to not drag the ground. If I order it again, I will probably go with the 4P.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
December 16, 2015
Classy standout dress, very flattering fit, compliments all night!
This was my first RTR experience and this dress was perfect for my friend's formal wedding. It was extremely comfortable and easy to move around and dance in. I got compliments all night long on this standout dress. A couple notes: I am 6'1" and this dress was about 1"-1.5" off the ground when I was wearing flats. It wasn't noticeable but might have liked if it was slightly longer. Also I did not wear a regular bra with this dress because it would have made the bust area too tight, but I wore a sticky bra and it was perfect. Overall, this is a very beautiful dress and would definitely recommend renting it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
December 16, 2015
I wore this dress to a holiday party. It was the perfect dress; I got so many compliments!
I ordered a 2R and 4R. The 2R fit perfectly; I didn't even try on the 4R. However, both dresses were way way too long, even in heels. I had to spend most of the night holding up my dress to make sure it didn't drag on the floor. Anyone under 5'5" should order a S rather than an R.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
December 16, 2015
I LOVED this dress. I wore it to a good friends wedding and it was definitely a hit.
I am 5'3 and 130 pounds, so the dress was a bit tight. It was the perfect length though. I got a lot of compliments and felt very beautiful!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
December 15, 2015
This is a lovely dress but very basic. It reminded me of a bridesmaid dress.
I got this dress as a back up to the one I really wanted. I loved that it was red and long, but was underwhelmed at the effect when I tried it on. It was like a bridesmaids dress, flattering and simple but overall nothing impressive. If you want a pretty, basic long dress in a beautiful color, this would be perfect. Would look great with a statement necklace like in the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
December 14, 2015
I wore this dress to Emcee a Holiday Show and it was the perfect red pop for the occasion.
A little snug in the top, but that is more my body than the dress. The fabric is beautiful in color and flow. The bright red was show stopping and I got tons of compliments. Great for folks like me that have a waist they can show off, but hips that don't need to be accentuated.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 45
December 14, 2015
Compliments all night long! This is an amazing dress! So comfortable and yet very elegant.
I found the dress to be true to size for me. I wore the 4P with about a 2 inch heel and it was perfect. The dress didn't drag on the floor and was absolutely one of the most comfortable formal gowns I've worn. I wore a regular bra with it and just used fashion tape to hold it in place--no problems all night. I would definitely rent this dress again. It definitely stood out in a sea of black and navy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
December 14, 2015
Showstopper
This dress definitely fits you in all the right places--runs true to size! I received so many compliments!! I would definitely recommend this for a holiday party or any occasion. It's stunning, sexy, and classic.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
December 14, 2015
Was great for a cold fall wedding!
Would definitely rent again. Comfortable and received compliments all night long
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 13, 2015
Gorgeous, comfortable, you feel beautiful without being revealing or tight!
Simply great. Is only fitted at the waist. I'm 5'8" and the regular with flats was the perfect length. Tricky on stairs but I think it was because of the sequins on my flats that would snag. Simply wonderful and such high quality!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 193lbs
December 13, 2015
RTR will do anything in their power to get you the right dress.
I rented this dress for a formal holiday party. It was one of 2 that I chose and I would have worn either one. The fit is appropriate but if you're very busty you may want to size up. Comfortable, and the length was spot-on. So many complements. I loved wearing this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 13, 2015
Great dress
It was very comfortable dress. Got tons of complements. I ordered 4l and 6r and both fit but went with the 6r Bc the 4l was a little long. I'm 5'7 and wore a 2-3 inch heal. Dress is sliming how it fits and I wore a statement necklace with it.
Size worn:
8P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 18
December 13, 2015
Amazing Fit!
I could not have asked for a better dress! I wore this to Coronation and got compliments all night long! First time to ever rent a dress and I was amazed I will for sure be back soon!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
December 12, 2015
I loved this dress!
I thought that the dress fit great! I wore it to a bowling formal, so I almost wished that I'd gotten the dress in an 8 short, but the length is perfect for heels! It's very comfortable and lightweight. I got a ton of compliments! And it is a great color too. I would definitely recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
December 10, 2015
I needed a dress for a holiday party at one of New York's most well known hotels.
I am absolutely kicking myself for not ordering a back up size. The size 14R draped beautifully on my 8 month pregnant body but was unfortunately too tight on my rib cage. I took home the Favor Gown in 16P instead, which was too much fabric for me. I wish I had ordered this dress in the plus size version, "Encore" in a 16P! So ladies, please don't make the mistake I did -- do not assume that a piece is less fashionable than another piece with a higher rental price! I will definitely be saving this dress for another occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 10, 2015
Beautiful! I've ordered this same dress in a different color every time I've ordered through RTR
Yes the zipper is a little tricky, but it's worth it!!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
December 9, 2015
Loved this dress!
I wore this dress to my company's holiday party at the Omni Hotel. It fit well and I felt great in it. The length was a bit long, but the 2P may have been too short. I wore 3-4" heels and it was just hitting the ground. I wore a simple bracelet and some dressy earrings, but no other jewelry as I think this dress spoke for itself.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 20
December 9, 2015
The packaging of the dress was incredible. As well as the little trinkets that came with it.
Pros: lovely color, fit me perfectly, looks like actual image on website Cons: wished I could have kept the dress bag
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 8, 2015
I wish I could wear this dress every day. It was comfortable and beautiful. So many compliments!
Amazing fit! Highlighted all the right places. This dress was a little long but worked out well with my 5' heels. I am so happy I rented this one, was sad to send it back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 21
December 6, 2015
So sad to send this dress back afterwards
Pictures do NOT do this gown justice. It was so flowy and elegant, I felt like a movie star! I ordered the long because I'm taller and it was a smidge too long, my heels were only about an inch high so taller heels would have been better. I would be willing to wear a longer dress though because it was so beautiful and moved so well when I walked. This gown will not disappoint, I cried a little inside when I had to return it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
December 6, 2015
Pretty dress
The waist is a little tight. The length could have been longer.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
December 6, 2015
Perfect holiday red dress!
This was my first time using RTR and I loved it! I ordered the 8R and was very glad they offered the free backup size because I ended up wearing the backup. The zipper on this dress can be tough to zip by yourself due to the center band of fabric. The larger size was more comfortable to wear in the chest. The length was perfect for me in heels, just skimmed the ground as I walked. I got so many compliments on the dress at a holiday party. I will definitely be renting again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 18
December 5, 2015
Perfect dress
Fits a little tight around the chest and neck, but I found that one size up for me was a little too loose, so I opted for the smaller size and dealt with the tightness. Although it was snug, it wasn't unpleasant or uncomfortable.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
December 5, 2015
Simple yet elegant, beautiful dress
Fit: One size up! I am 5'0" and wore 2-inch heels. The dress would have looked better with 3 or 4-inch heels as other reviewers mentioned. I could walk though did end up stepping on the dress at times. Regardless danced and walked for about 5 hours straight and didn't even trip! It was certainly manageable, even for ones who don't like to wear high heels for those many hours, especially if you wanted to dance. The dress is roomy enough for padded bra. I recommend it for busty ones. I am pretty out of shape, so had a little tummy which didn't show given the dress's structure. Service: Timely and easy. Pros: Dress is gorgeous and flowy. Very comfortable and airy. Cons: A tad bit long, but still manageable
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
December 5, 2015
It was perfect.
A little tight around the arm openings, but not uncomfortably so. Fitted waist with no stretch. It is long, I am 5'8" and wore flats and it was perfectly to the ground, so if you are shorter just be aware of that. I loved the color and got a lot of compliments. It is a gorgeous gown and I enjoyed wearing it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
December 4, 2015
STUNNING
This dress is absolutely beautiful! I got compliments all night on it. Really flowy and comfortable to wear
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 3, 2015
Received ENDLESS compliments! Overall easy renting experience.
After reading the reviews about it running tight, I ordered the size larger than I usually wear because I was scared of it being too tight. It ended up being a bit loose around the waist. I'm 5'6" and wore 4.5" heels with the dress and was tripping on it all night, but I ordered the L instead of R for fear of it being too short. It billows out beautifully when you walk, though! Really comfortable and was able to wear a regular bra, just wish I had gone with the 0R or 2R instead of the 2L and 4L.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 36
December 3, 2015
Hospital holiday party!
I'm 5'5", 150lb, usually wear size 10 dress. When I pulled the dress out of the RTR bag, my 4 year old daughter exclaimed, "That's hot!" I received compliments all night long at our party. This dress fit perfectly snug under the breast area, was modest in the bust, and flowy and loose from waist down. I wore it with a 1.5" wedge and the dress went almost to the floor (did not drag on floor). It was incredibly elegant. Even better is that the dress is very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
December 1, 2015
This dress was bright but still worked great for a Thanksgiving wedding!
I loved this dress! The color is bright and was so fun! It fit true to size, but was a bit tight in the armpit/neck area. I tried on the 14L which fit almost the same but was too loose in the armpit/neck/bust and I went with the 12. The tightness didn't bother me during the evening at all. I'm 5'11", wore flats and it just skimmed the ground.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
December 1, 2015
Gorgeous dress!! I received compliments all night!
The dress was a little tight around the breast area, but other than that it was extremely comfortable. I wore a 1.5" heel with the dress and it was the perfect length. It will be hard to find another dress for the next years conference that will beat this one.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 30, 2015
Great for a formal wedding!
Wore this to black tie optional wedding in the fall and it was great! Fit was true to size, very comfy and figure flattering. I wore 3-4 inch heels and the length was perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
November 29, 2015
Stunning dress- perfect for a late fall black tie wedding
The dress is fitted in the bust so go up a size of you're larger up there go a size up. I'm 5'6" and the length was a tad long with 3 inch heels- would've been perfect with 4 inch heels. The red color is amazing-- I got many compliments during the night. Overall, a beautiful dress that I would definitely wear again. The RTR process is so easy and has been perfected since the last time I rented a few years ago.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
November 28, 2015
I felt amazing in this dress! So comfortable!!
Gorgeous color. Fit perfectly. I was not self conscious of anything with this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 26, 2015
Absolutely Stunning!
The dress fit perfectly. I ordered a backup size but didn't even need it. This was my first time using RTR but I couldn't have asked for a better experience.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
November 23, 2015
Great dress, very comfortable and flattering
I rented this dress because it had petite options. I am 5'0 and ordered the 2Petite. The dress fit perfectly everywhere, except the length. Even with 3 inch heels it was still a few inches too long. I definitely recommend this dress just make sure you have the heels to make up for the length.
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
November 23, 2015
The dress is true to size and true to color. The fit is spot on and the material is beautiful!
This dress is true to size and color. Sometimes "formal" dresses and gowns can run large, so i ordered a 2R and 4R and ended up wearing the 4R. Which is the same size i wear in other dresses. It was such a beautiful dress, I was sad to have to give it back ;)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 23
November 22, 2015
Perfect dress for any formal event!
This was my first one renting from RTR. I was very nervous about it because I have such a weird body and normally I have to try things on before I buy them. I am 5' 4" and the 2R was a little long. I wore 1" heels. So it you wore higher heels it would be perfect. Other than that This dress fit perfect. And I got so many compliments on it. The dress was comfortable and the quality was amazing.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 22

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×