Ruby Red Gala Gown

$70 rental
$740 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get glitzy for the gala in this red stunner by Badgley Mischka. A ruched waist and delicate pleating are an ultra flattering combination to make you feel confident! Layer on the jewels with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace, and Cara Accessories’ Gold Dress Me Up Bracelet.

Also available in green, cobalt and fuchsia.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 and plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 and plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Cherry red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Ruched waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
1166 reviews
Fit
Large16
True to Size738
Small181
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139lbs
June 29, 2016
Perfect fit! Stunning color.
Fit really well. I'm a true size 6 but have a hard time finding sizes that fit my breasts but this fit perfectly!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
June 28, 2016
I felt so beautiful
The color was gorgeous and the shape of the dress was so flattering! Petite was perfect for me to wear flats I'm 5,3 with short legs. I'm 36DDD and the dress fit well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
June 27, 2016
Gorgeous dress!!
This is an absolutely fantastic dress. The color is incredible, it fits well, and the fabric flows so nicely. I received numerous compliments from perfect strangers throughout the evening. One woman even told me that the dress was reminiscent of Grace Kelly's style. A few notes on fit, etc.: the dress is LONG. I ordered the 2R and 4R, and I had to overnight the 4P because I was swimming in the extra fabric at the bottom, and heels didn't help. Side note: I would recommend ordering at least two days in advance of your event. If neither of your dresses fits and you call RTR before 3 p.m., they will overnight you an additional size for only the cost of shipping. Ordering two days in advance gives you this extra wiggle room. But back to the dress: I'm 5' 4" and I have shorter legs and a longer torso, so I should have known better than to order the regular length. If you are under 5' 5" (maybe even 5' 6"), I would absolutely recommend getting the petite. Also, I ended up wearing the 4P rather than a 2P, which is my normal size, because they only had 4P available on such short notice. The good news is that the 4P still fit decently well. I definitely would have preferred the smaller size, but the 4P gave me extra room for dancing and snacking. Also, according to the RTR rep, the only difference between the petite and the regular size in this dress is the skirt length. The final note I'll add is that this dress definitely has a high/empire style-waist, but it is still flattering on a figure with a long torso. The banded fabric definitely did not hit me at my natural waist/smallest area, as I would have liked, but the dress still looked lovely. Tl; dr--get this dress (but maybe in petite).
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
June 27, 2016
The dress was very comfortable, classy and flattering. I got many compliments throughout the night
The dress was a bit long, I wore flat sandals because it was a beach wedding but it would have been the perfect length if I wore heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8P
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
June 21, 2016
I don't want to take it off
It is flowy and elegant. It hugs all the right spots, and it especially flattering for pear shaped girls like me! I'm 5'3.5 and without shoes, the hemline falls onto the floor by about 1 inch
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
June 20, 2016
tight in ribs but was stunning!
I loved this dress and got so many compliments but it runs really small. I got an 8 and 10 normally wearing the smaller size, but the 10 is what fit. It was super tight in the ribcage and I could barely breath. I ended up changing when it came time to dance at the wedding, but I kept it on as long as I could cause people just loved it haha. The dress was great in length (I'm 5'9" of almost 5'10") with flats.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
June 19, 2016
Beautiful gown for the gala!
This dress is such a rich and beautiful color! I was worried initially about this dress, the first dress I ordered didn't fit right and I was concerned this dress wouldn't flatter my shape. I have a small rib cage and bust (30a) with a small waist and a larger booty/hips. However, this dress made me feel beautiful! I got tons of compliments. At 5'4, I wore 4' heels and the dress grazed the floor. Easy to dance in, felt sexy in it, and my fiancé loved it. Thanks again, RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 17, 2016
Work Gala
Received tons of compliments. Beautiful color!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 17, 2016
Two sizes because the size I thought I would normally wear didn't fit
I loved this dress. The length was a little long, I also ended up wearing the 8 because the 6 was snug around my bust. Overall great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 15, 2016
Beautiful gown that stood out at a black tie wedding! I loved the fit and it's very flattering
The long is veryyy long. I had 3in heels and about an inch dragged. However, I think it made the dress seem more flowy. The color is very vibrant and rich. The dress material is to die for as well! Very well-made and a great dress to be in all around. One tip, if you're in between a 6 and an 8 (like me), opt for the 8! The 6 was a smudge tight in the mid section but that could also be due to having a non-toned stomach.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
June 13, 2016
Glamorous and elegant evening gown
I wore this dress for a black tie wedding. The fit was great, though a little tight around the ribs and slightly difficult to zip up starting around the waistband (due to the lack of stretch in the fabric). The dress (regular length) hit just shy of the floor with 3 1/4 inch wedges. Beautiful, flowy gown that was perfect for the occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 13, 2016
Back up dress
I rented this as a back up dress for a wedding. I ended up going with my original choice, but wanted to leave this review for tall girls considering this dress. Im 5'10" 34D-26-38 and if you want this dress to hit the floor you will need to wear flats.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 12, 2016
Wore it to a party on a yacht and received only complements
Loved the fit, a little long but nothing a pair of heels can't fix
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 12, 2016
So many compliments!
Other than the dress being tight around my ribcage, it fit amazing! I loved the look and received many compliments at the event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
June 10, 2016
So Flowy and Fun!
This was my backup dress to a black tie wedding. I got a 6 based off the size chart, and in hindsight would have fit better into an 8 as my chest pulled the top pretty tight (34D). There is plenty of room for hips/butt/bottom, which wasn't an issue for me. I am 5'7" and got the long length, which was still a bit long even with 3" heels. Later in the evening it was a blast to dance with even when I kicked the heels off . Overall, I got so many compliments on the color and flowy skirt and I would totally rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
June 9, 2016
This dress was fun to dance in! Super swingy, flowy skirt!
This fit beautifully! It was elegant and flowy. I adored the swinginess of the skirt. The cut was super flattering! Totally recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
June 9, 2016
Stunning in red
Wore this to a formal 30th birthday party. Got lots of compliments, swept the floor perfectly (5'11" wearing flats). Felt pretty glamorous all night, bright red!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
20WL
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 22
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 18
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 8, 2016
I felt like I stood out in a good way! I don't like showing my arms much but this dress was amazing!
I'm actually a size 22 but the size 20 was good enough! The zipper is a bit tough but I was able to just slide it on no problem. It's a little bit snug at the waist line but other than that it's perfect! My boyfriend couldn't keep his eyes off of me. Everyone said red is definitely my color, I felt so elegant at prom.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Other
June 6, 2016
Great choice!!!
The fit/cut of the dress was perfect. The boob area ran a little big.. Other than that, the 4P fit perfect! I love RTR!!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
June 5, 2016
Compliments all night!
Absolutely loved the dress! It was a bit tight in the rib area but overall great fit. The 2R might have fit better, too bad it couldn't be shipped on time. Ultimately great experience and would do it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16WR
Rented for:
Wedding
June 5, 2016
I got so many compliments on my dress!
The top was a little big, but the waist was snug. Length was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WL
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
June 5, 2016
The amount of compliments I received wearing this dress were unbelievably high!
This dress was so comfortable and looked absolutely stunning. It was so much fun to dance in on the dance floor with its flowing skirt. I normally wear a 14 or 16 but it wasn't available and only the 18 was sent. It was a little loose but not so much that it was obvious. I got so many compliments and will most definitely order this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 4, 2016
Felt like a princess!
I loved this dress!! I've had luck with this brand before. The color was gorgeous and was perfect for a late November wedding. I was a little nervous the 0P was not available but it still fit fine in the shoulders. Being 5'2 I was prepared with 4 inch heels and could have used even a little more height to avoid the back be long stepped on. Highly recommended for a Dorma event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
June 1, 2016
One word: elegant!
This dress was gorgeous! It was so elegant, color so rich and very flattering! I am two months post-partum so I needed a dress that would be mommy friendly after a baby. I felt beautiful in it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
May 31, 2016
Perfectly bright for an evening wedding
A bit long, but nothing a pair of heels couldn't fix. The red is bright and looked great with golf accessories.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 31, 2016
First RTR experience-- very impressed!!
Beautiful dress! Was stunning outside in the wind and inside among a sea of black and navy dresses at our med ball. I'm usually an 8 and both the 8L and 10L fit (either could have been worn)-- but I wore the 10 because I could wear a bra (the 8 was too tight around the ribs to wear a bra). The 10 was just a little less tight and more comfy, without looking any different. I had read in previous reviews that the zipper was tough, but I didn't have any problems! I'm 5'9" and wore flat sandals and the dress perfectly skimmed the floor. Only required picking up for stairs.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 30, 2016
I wore it to two events military ball and Wedding
No complaints
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 29, 2016
The ease and pure beauty of the dress and experience!
I am between 5'6 and 5'7 so I wasn't sure if I should get the regular or long. With a short heel the dress was the perfect length! So comfortable, simple elegance.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 26, 2016
Felt beautiful on my honeymoon!
Had rented the dress for another event. Ended up not going to the event so changed the date so I could bring it and wear it on my honeymoon. We went to Broadway one night and watched phantom of the opera. The dress fit great! I'm between sizes so I went with the 12 instead of the 10 because it was just a bit looser. Got so many compliments and it was very flattering! Would totally rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 25, 2016
Black Tie Wedding
I didn't end up wearing this dress (my backup dress was the same dress in a different color but a size larger), but it was gorgeous! Would definitely order again.
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
May 24, 2016
I felt so confident and pretty :)
The dress was very flattering. I am 5'8" and got the 6R, it was the perfect length with my 3 inch wedges. Loved this style and would definitely rent again. Perfectly elegant for an outdoor vineyard wedding
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
May 23, 2016
It was easy to rent and easy to return!
The fit was perfect on me, and I felt absolutely beautiful wearing this dress. I got the best dressed award! I received complements all night that I looked stunning and beautiful. The material is a little more lightweight than I thought so make sure to wear nude colored undergarments. It is comfortable and very elegant. Very pleased with everything!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 23, 2016
Flattering fit and beautiful color!
Flattering fit and beautiful color! A dress that stands out from the others!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 17
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
May 19, 2016
So comfortable and easy to dance in!
I loved this dress so much. It was a gorgeous (but not obnoxiously) bright red that definitely popped in any room and any lighting, among all other dresses. The material was lightweight but was layered so that it twirled beautifully. I had full mobility from the waist down, which I really appreciated as I danced at my prom, and I received a lot of compliments! I also loved the fact that I didn't have wear a bra with this dress and it still looked great (especially because I don't have much going for me up top). Do know that if you are 5'8" and want to wear this dress, I recommend getting the 8R instead of the 8L because while the Long was gorgeous, the skirt length was made for an Amazonian warrior princess and it would still pool at the floor after I wore 3" heels (whereas with the 8R, I could wear 1" heels or go barefoot - as I did later in the night - and it was not a problem for myself). This is a very flattering dress and I'd recommend it to anyone!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14WR
Rented for:
Other
May 19, 2016
Perfect Amazing Dress!
This dress is beautiful! I rented it because I had a performance I had to play in (I play the cello). It was beautiful, fitted perfectly and looked beautiful while I was playing. The only complaints I had was that the zipper was a little tough to zip and it was a little long for my height but perfect for the event I was doing. (There wasn't much walking my to do) I wish I could have kept this dress. I really miss it. I strongly recommend this dress.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 16, 2016
Elegant and flattering
Just adding to the chorus of positive reviews for this dress - the long length was perfect for me at 5'11" in flats, very flattering and comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 15, 2016
So flattering!
I received so many compliments on this dress! The 2 fit perfectly and was incredibly comfortable all night long. I felt gorgeous and would highly recommend this dress to anyone! So sad to send it back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
May 15, 2016
STUNNING COLOR, POPPED IN A SEA OF BLACK. MADE ME FEEL SO ELEGANT ALL NIGHT LONG.
FLATTERING FIT, TRUE TO SIZE, EMPHASIZES SMALL WAIST BUT IT COMFORTABLE TO DANCE AND MOVE FREELY IN. RECEIVED TONS OF COMPLIMENTS ON COLOR AND CUT! I AM 5'5" AND THE LENGTH IS PERFECT TO WEAR WITH 2 INCH HEELS (WORE BAREFOOT ON THE DANCE FLOOR AND WAS STILL PERFECT FOR THAT!)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 14, 2016
It was a beautiful dress and looked wonderful at the event
The overall fit was great. I looked at the height measurements in the description and the regular ended up being short. I had adjusted my height and the height shoes I planned on wearing to the description but it didn't match up. I would recommend renting the long version if unsure
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
May 9, 2016
Easy process! Great fit for my body type.
It was a little long but I wore higher heels so it turned out fine. Very flattering fit- loved the red color!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 30

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×