Badgley Mischka

Ruby Red Gala Gown

$70 rental
$740 retail
Stylist Notes

Get glitzy for the gala in this red stunner by Badgley Mischka. A ruched waist and delicate pleating are an ultra flattering combination to make you feel confident! Layer on the jewels with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace, and Cara Accessories’ Gold Dress Me Up Bracelet.

Also available in green, cobalt and fuchsia.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 and plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Three lengths available. Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hemline (recommended for heights under 5'2"), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hemline (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hemline (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Cherry red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Ruched waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
1534 reviews
Fit
Large
(18)
True to Size
(911)
Small
(222)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 19, 2015
Beautiful dress!
Loved this dress. Many compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 24, 2015
RTR was great! 1st time user and I was a little worried, but everything worked out!
This dress was a complete show stopper. It fluttered in the wind, it twirled on the dance floor and I felt like a true princess. It is definitely tight in the rib cage, but the length was perfect and I wore 2.5-3" heels. I ended up taking my shoes off most of the night and it wasn't so long I was stepping on it. I got compliments All. Night. Long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 40DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
May 26, 2015
This dress was seriously amazing. I got so many components and it was so fun to dance in this dress!
I ordered my size and 1 size up because I got nervous after reading other reviews that said the bust area did not have a lot of room. The larger size worked perfectly and had a little extra room, so I wasn't uncomfortable. The flow-y material of this dress made it so fun to dance and swirl around in. I felt very glamorous. Nothing negative to say about my experience with this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 173lbs
June 1, 2015
The dress was beautiful and customer service was awesome!
The dress was beautiful and it was very comfortable. I received multiple comments on it. I also rented the showstopper earrings and clutch and liked those too. I have a small waist and fuller hips (32 inch waist and 45 inch hips) so size up if concerned. Loved it all and customer service was stellar. Definitely will rent again and have recommended to others.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 7, 2015
Got compliments all night long! Was flowy and a perfect dress to dance in!
Dress fit well the band under the bust is a little tight so I did have to go up a size. Dress is very long and I wore about 3.5in wedges and dress just barely touched the ground. Was a great dress and would wear it for any season!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 7, 2015
Gorgeous dress! Perfect fit, perfect length... Would buy this!
As other have commented, zipper was in fact hard to maneuver - used bar soap to lube the zipper and partially zipped before putting arms through - you need another person to help. Well worth the effort - such a gorgeous dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
June 8, 2015
Hid flaws well
Razor back bra can be worn, comfortable, lots of compliments. Regular length with 2 inch heals was 3 inches off the ground. I normally wear an 8 or 10, the 10 was close to fitting my daughter who wears a 6.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
June 16, 2015
Lady in red
This dress fit perfectly- didn't even have to wear a bra! I'm 6ft tall so finding a dress long enough can be a struggle and the long perfectly skimmed the floor with flats on. The zipper was a huge pain to zip up but that seems to just be the case with this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 6' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 240lbs
June 20, 2015
Stunning dress got compliments all night long
I'm 6'3" so I was a bit concerned with how the length would work out. It may have been a touch too short but not noticeable at all in low heels. I'm very busty and hippy and this dress accommodated just fine. People stopped me all night long to comment on the dress. First rent the runway experience and it was so effortless I was impressed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
June 24, 2015
Great dress but terrible zipper!
I loved this dress! Once I got it on I felt beautiful and it was surprisingly comfortable! I was glad I ordered the size up because it fit small. I had a lot of trouble with the zipper though, especially around my waist where the band is. I am not sure if it was specific to the dress I ordered or if that's the case for all dresses. In either case I would probably rent this again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 28, 2015
The gown was stunning! I received so many compliments!
Dress fit perfectly! I wore a halter bra, the dress was snug at the top although was flown, comfortable, and stunning! I rent Badgley Dresses most of the time and am never disappointed. Dress just graced the floor with 3 inch heels! I received so many compliments and felt so pretty in the dress! I'd highly recommend
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
July 1, 2015
Elegant - Tons of Compliments!
I loved this dress. It was very flattering, although a little long for my 5'5" frame - turned out ok with 3" heels. I received so many compliments at the outdoor wedding that I wore this to - even from the bride! I have problems with a large rib cage, which was the main reason I had to go with the 10, but otherwise a lovely dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
July 3, 2015
My husband really loves this dress!
This was my replacement dress, after my first choice dress didn't fit. It fit perfectly, and accentuated the best parts of my figure. My husband loves me in red, so he was very happy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
July 5, 2015
So elegant! Very happy with my RTR!
I felt very proud of my decision to rent this dress for my friends' formal wedding. It was comfortable, the color was beautiful and it was light. I usually fit between a 0-2 but the 0R ended up being too small on the rib cage to zip up. While the length would've been perfect, I instead went with the 2P because it fit around the waist and bust very well. Cons - it did a tad more than graze the ground. Picked it up when in walked stairs or stood up from sitting. But overall it flowed well when I walked and danced. Plus - I could wear a regular bra with a safety pin bringing the back straps in together. SUPER Impressed by RTRs service and on time delivery though! I love the packaging - so nice! Condition of each dress was terrific.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 8, 2015
This was a 4th of July wedding and the red dress was perfect.
I love this dress, so fun to wear, I felt like a princess :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
July 8, 2015
Perfect for a black tie wedding
A little tight in the bust but mostly true to size. I felt so glamorous in this dress at my friend's black tie wedding! I'm only 5 ft 3 so I was worried about the length but with heels it was perfect
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
July 18, 2015
Very comfortable and elegant. Loved the new garment bag, made traveling with the dress really easy!
Fit perfectly. Great length, no special bra needed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 19, 2015
Do I have to give it back? This dress is amazing!
So this dress and its prior reviews are spot on. If you're on the shorter side like me, going up one size and petite is the perfect length and fit. I didn't have to wear a bra which was great because I've got a pretty large bust and strapless bras are the worst. I received compliments all night long. The flow is so elegant but it's over the top. And that red, that red is just stunning.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 16, 2015
Perfect dress for the occasion!
I used the reviews to find this dress and I'm so happy I did! I was able to wear a comfortable bra, fancy flats and no spanx and I still looked pretty great. If I wanted to wear heels I would have needed the 4L but I also would have needed 3-4" heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 19, 2015
Beautiful flowing gown
I ordered this as a back up dress and didn't end up wearing it to my event but It was beautiful! The fit was flattering and accentuates small waists but hides some lower body imperfections. I would definitely consider renting this for a future event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 36
August 22, 2015
Everyone loved the dress! I received so many complements. This dress made me feel gorgeous!
Fits true to size. I'm 5'4, a 12/14 pant and L/XL top, 36DD bra size and the 14R fit perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
August 26, 2015
So comfy and beautiful!
I usually wear a size 4, but with a wider rib cage I went for the 6R to just be more comfortable throughout the night. So glad I did. I didn't end up wearing a bra because the rouching around the top was forgiving. Rent it! I was worried about the length, but I'm 5"4 and only wore 2 inch heels and it was perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 210lbs
September 7, 2015
The process of renting is so simple! I loved the dress and received so many compliments!
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding. The dress fit perfectly, even though I rented the long because it was the only one in my size left. I received so many compliments and felt beautiful in it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 7, 2015
I felt so glamorous in this gorgeous dress!
I loved this dress so much! It was exceptionally comfortable and the color was even better in person. Much more vibrant than the model pics. It definitely runs true to size, maybe even slightly smaller. I tend to wear a size 8 in regular clothes and went with the 10 because of the lack of stretch. There is NO stretch in the waist band, and I did find myself thinking a handful of times that I should have gone up to a 12 to have more room, but it wasn't so snug that I couldn't breathe. There was definitely some room and it zipped up easily, so there's a good chance that a 12 would've been too big. The 10 was a good choice in the end. I'm a short girl and didn't have any issues with the regular length since I wore four-inch heels. The bust had plenty of room for my girls. I received numerous compliments throughout the night from other wedding guests as well as random staff and guests at the hotel! I definitely want to rent this one again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
September 8, 2015
Perfect for a black tie wedding
Pros: the dress is beautiful in person. Very flowy and perfect if you want a show stopping red. Cons: I am 5'4' and I got the regular length because I was planning to wear heals. The dress was definitely still significantly long on me. I wore platforms that gave me an extra 4/5 inches and the dress was grazing the floor. Not mention I am smaller chested so I did not fill out the torso (which was make for a larger bust or longer torso) so I ended up tucking a portion of the fabric into the waist band so it was not loose. Overall great dress and I would definitely recommend!
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
September 11, 2015
So fun and comfy! Great for an hour glass shape!
Very flowy and forgiving on girls with hips. I'm normally a size 10-12 and wore the 12. Length was great. Slightly tight in the bust but I'm a 36DD. Will rent this one again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 18, 2015
Our first military ball! The dress was beautiful and complimented his uniform wonderfully.
The dress flowed beautifully and was very comfortable. I was able to go bra-less.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
October 2, 2015
Lots of compliments
Got lots of compliments and fit nicely. At the time, I had put on some extra lbs and so went up a size from my normal and it was flattering and comfortable. I'm just under 5' 7" and the regular was a little long for me even w tall heels but nothing that wasn't manageable. I definitely needed heels or it would have dragged on the floor.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 4, 2015
Everything! The great red dress was the topper!
Fit very true to size ! I was worried because I needed to order a long and I am 5'7. With good heels it worked great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
October 10, 2015
Great experience overall
Super flattering dress. My sister in law wore the same one in a different color. The red is really pretty and I got lots of complements. Comfortable to wear
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
October 10, 2015
Elegant
Great fit!! I have a bigger bust (36DDD) and was nervous about the top regarding the reviews. I actually found that the smaller of the two sizes was better since it was slightly tighter on top. Overall I received many compliments. The dress was perfect with a medium height heel and strapless bra, I found the razor back bra didn't work as other reviews stated.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
October 11, 2015
Beautiful dress, seemed slimming, lots of compliments!!! Very comfortable!
It was definitely a little tight through the banded midsection and a little hard to zip, would recommend sizing up one size for this reason. I'm 5'6 and got the regular dress and wore 2-3" heels and it was perfect length. Also didn't wear a bra with this dress and you couldn't tell, very comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
October 15, 2015
Loved everything about RTR !!
Loved the dress!!Received compliments all night on it!Very comfortable and flattering!I order the blue one for a fall wedding!!Fit true to size!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 17, 2015
The dress is perfect ! I loved it
It's true to size and it has a very nice long fit if your short like me, I'm 5'3 135lb . Can't get over how beautiful and perfect this dress is
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
October 25, 2015
Stunning color, flowy and flattering!
The fit was great. It was snug on the rib cage and you may need help zipping it up but it fit wonderfully. The fit was flattering, it was flowy and perfect to move around in. The color is beautiful, I got lots of compliments! I wore this to a military ball. I am 5'6 and the regular was the perfect length, even in 3 inch heels. Great experience, I will definitely rent from RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
October 29, 2015
The vibrant color stood out and it made me look 10 feet tall.
The 8 was the only size available and my chest barely fit in the top. Usually that's not an issue. I'm a standard 8 usually.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
November 6, 2015
This dress was great. I was getting so many compliments. As I always do when I RTR.
I received both the 2R & 4R. The 2 was a little short so I went with the 4. Love love this dress. I also rented a large costume necklace, no need! The dress speaks for itself with statement earrings. The picture doesn't do justice. Enjoy! Wore it to a PersianLA wedding & it was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
November 7, 2015
This dress was incredibly! It fit perfectly. I was complimented all night long!
I went with the LONG because I am 5'7" and wanted to wear 3.5" heels. It was still slightly long but it wasn't by too much. The dress is extremely flattering to people with bigger hips or thighs. I have a smaller waste. The dress was a little challenging to zip through the portion with the band around the waist, but my husband was able to do it for me. Overall, I would rent this dress for every event I needed to look fancy. It was flowy, perfect for dancing and gorgeous!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 8, 2015
Very flattering dress
I loved this dress! I wished I could keep it. The waistline is very flattering. A modest, but sexy dress. Very elegant
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
November 11, 2015
Perfect & Classy!!
This dress was awesome! It was such a pretty red and super super comfortable! The long hit the ground and I'm almost 6'0 so it was perfect!! I went with statement earrings instead of a statement necklace because I loved the way the neckline looked without anything! This was perfect and classy for a military ball! It was fitted around the waist and it has a LOT of fabric that could hide some imperfections if you're worried! I wore a regular bra with straps crossed and it worked out fine!!:) A con would be the neck is a little snug but I chose to still wear the 10 instead of the 12 because I liked the way that it looked better!! I would say it's true to fit. I wore gold shoes & jewelry! I would highly recommend this dress if you're looking for something simple and classy!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 39

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×