Ruby Red Gala Gown

$70 rental
$740 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get glitzy for the gala in this red stunner by Badgley Mischka. A ruched waist and delicate pleating are an ultra flattering combination to make you feel confident! Layer on the jewels with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace, and Cara Accessories’ Gold Dress Me Up Bracelet.

Also available in green, cobalt and fuchsia.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 and plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 and plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Cherry red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Ruched waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
1147 reviews
Fit
Large16
True to Size726
Small178
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
June 5, 2016
Compliments all night!
Absolutely loved the dress! It was a bit tight in the rib area but overall great fit. The 2R might have fit better, too bad it couldn't be shipped on time. Ultimately great experience and would do it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16WR
Rented for:
Wedding
June 5, 2016
I got so many compliments on my dress!
The top was a little big, but the waist was snug. Length was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WL
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
June 5, 2016
The amount of compliments I received wearing this dress were unbelievably high!
This dress was so comfortable and looked absolutely stunning. It was so much fun to dance in on the dance floor with its flowing skirt. I normally wear a 14 or 16 but it wasn't available and only the 18 was sent. It was a little loose but not so much that it was obvious. I got so many compliments and will most definitely order this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 4, 2016
Felt like a princess!
I loved this dress!! I've had luck with this brand before. The color was gorgeous and was perfect for a late November wedding. I was a little nervous the 0P was not available but it still fit fine in the shoulders. Being 5'2 I was prepared with 4 inch heels and could have used even a little more height to avoid the back be long stepped on. Highly recommended for a Dorma event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
June 1, 2016
One word: elegant!
This dress was gorgeous! It was so elegant, color so rich and very flattering! I am two months post-partum so I needed a dress that would be mommy friendly after a baby. I felt beautiful in it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
May 31, 2016
Perfectly bright for an evening wedding
A bit long, but nothing a pair of heels couldn't fix. The red is bright and looked great with golf accessories.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 31, 2016
First RTR experience-- very impressed!!
Beautiful dress! Was stunning outside in the wind and inside among a sea of black and navy dresses at our med ball. I'm usually an 8 and both the 8L and 10L fit (either could have been worn)-- but I wore the 10 because I could wear a bra (the 8 was too tight around the ribs to wear a bra). The 10 was just a little less tight and more comfy, without looking any different. I had read in previous reviews that the zipper was tough, but I didn't have any problems! I'm 5'9" and wore flat sandals and the dress perfectly skimmed the floor. Only required picking up for stairs.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 30, 2016
I wore it to two events military ball and Wedding
No complaints
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 29, 2016
The ease and pure beauty of the dress and experience!
I am between 5'6 and 5'7 so I wasn't sure if I should get the regular or long. With a short heel the dress was the perfect length! So comfortable, simple elegance.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 26, 2016
Felt beautiful on my honeymoon!
Had rented the dress for another event. Ended up not going to the event so changed the date so I could bring it and wear it on my honeymoon. We went to Broadway one night and watched phantom of the opera. The dress fit great! I'm between sizes so I went with the 12 instead of the 10 because it was just a bit looser. Got so many compliments and it was very flattering! Would totally rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 25, 2016
Black Tie Wedding
I didn't end up wearing this dress (my backup dress was the same dress in a different color but a size larger), but it was gorgeous! Would definitely order again.
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
May 24, 2016
I felt so confident and pretty :)
The dress was very flattering. I am 5'8" and got the 6R, it was the perfect length with my 3 inch wedges. Loved this style and would definitely rent again. Perfectly elegant for an outdoor vineyard wedding
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
May 23, 2016
It was easy to rent and easy to return!
The fit was perfect on me, and I felt absolutely beautiful wearing this dress. I got the best dressed award! I received complements all night that I looked stunning and beautiful. The material is a little more lightweight than I thought so make sure to wear nude colored undergarments. It is comfortable and very elegant. Very pleased with everything!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 23, 2016
Flattering fit and beautiful color!
Flattering fit and beautiful color! A dress that stands out from the others!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 17
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
May 19, 2016
So comfortable and easy to dance in!
I loved this dress so much. It was a gorgeous (but not obnoxiously) bright red that definitely popped in any room and any lighting, among all other dresses. The material was lightweight but was layered so that it twirled beautifully. I had full mobility from the waist down, which I really appreciated as I danced at my prom, and I received a lot of compliments! I also loved the fact that I didn't have wear a bra with this dress and it still looked great (especially because I don't have much going for me up top). Do know that if you are 5'8" and want to wear this dress, I recommend getting the 8R instead of the 8L because while the Long was gorgeous, the skirt length was made for an Amazonian warrior princess and it would still pool at the floor after I wore 3" heels (whereas with the 8R, I could wear 1" heels or go barefoot - as I did later in the night - and it was not a problem for myself). This is a very flattering dress and I'd recommend it to anyone!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14WR
Rented for:
Other
May 19, 2016
Perfect Amazing Dress!
This dress is beautiful! I rented it because I had a performance I had to play in (I play the cello). It was beautiful, fitted perfectly and looked beautiful while I was playing. The only complaints I had was that the zipper was a little tough to zip and it was a little long for my height but perfect for the event I was doing. (There wasn't much walking my to do) I wish I could have kept this dress. I really miss it. I strongly recommend this dress.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 16, 2016
Elegant and flattering
Just adding to the chorus of positive reviews for this dress - the long length was perfect for me at 5'11" in flats, very flattering and comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 15, 2016
So flattering!
I received so many compliments on this dress! The 2 fit perfectly and was incredibly comfortable all night long. I felt gorgeous and would highly recommend this dress to anyone! So sad to send it back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
May 15, 2016
STUNNING COLOR, POPPED IN A SEA OF BLACK. MADE ME FEEL SO ELEGANT ALL NIGHT LONG.
FLATTERING FIT, TRUE TO SIZE, EMPHASIZES SMALL WAIST BUT IT COMFORTABLE TO DANCE AND MOVE FREELY IN. RECEIVED TONS OF COMPLIMENTS ON COLOR AND CUT! I AM 5'5" AND THE LENGTH IS PERFECT TO WEAR WITH 2 INCH HEELS (WORE BAREFOOT ON THE DANCE FLOOR AND WAS STILL PERFECT FOR THAT!)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 14, 2016
It was a beautiful dress and looked wonderful at the event
The overall fit was great. I looked at the height measurements in the description and the regular ended up being short. I had adjusted my height and the height shoes I planned on wearing to the description but it didn't match up. I would recommend renting the long version if unsure
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
May 9, 2016
Easy process! Great fit for my body type.
It was a little long but I wore higher heels so it turned out fine. Very flattering fit- loved the red color!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 8, 2016
1st time was a charm
Beautiful flowing dress - very comfortable. I'm 5'10 and the regular length worked. It was a bit smug through the rib cage however. Tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Age: 23
May 4, 2016
Honeymoon
The dress fit perfectly! I wish I had gotten to wear it out. I rented it for a romantic dinner on our honeymoon but it poured raining all day and all night the night of our reservation. Didn't even get to leave our resort. But the dress was a beautiful red color, perfect length (I am 5' 8") and was very flattering with the waist cinch.
Size worn:
16WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 4, 2016
I felt absolutely beautiful!!!
I rented this dress in an 18wr with the 16wr as a backup. I am 5'3.5" tall and with a very large bust (36GG). I was afraid with my bust the dress wouldn't work but it did and it was NOT tight on my chest at all. It is a stunning dress and I received compliments all night long. The color is gorgeous, the fabric is flowy and beautiful. I felt so elegant wearing it. My only complaint would be that it cuts in rather severely in the front so that wearing a regular bra was not possible - the front of the straps and where it meets the cups showed too much (not the armpit but the front side of the cups). So I had to wear a strapless. Bad news is that my chest did not look as good in the dress as it would have with a regular bra, but I also think someone with a smaller chest/ better strapless wouldn't be affected. The waist is beautiful and gave me a nice defined figure and DIDN'T make me look like a circus freak with the large chest above it. The length was perfect for me, just above floor length when I had on 3" heels. As others said where the waist is gathered sometimes the zipper is difficult but I had no issues. It is truly beautiful and I wouldn't hesitate to rent it again.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 2, 2016
Beautiful gown! Elegant red color with a flow like feel when walking.
This dress is perfect for a formal event! The dress is true to size. Be warned the waist is very snug, so if you are in between sizes, consider the higher. The red is an elegant red and the dress flows as you walk. I am 5'5 and I wear 2 in heels and it was perfect. The only downside was the dress had a slight smell as if it was in storage for a while.
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
May 2, 2016
Fits perfect unless you're large-chested...
I usually wear anywhere from a 4-8 depending on how the bust and thigh areas fit. I had a hard time fitting my large chest into the 6R. The dress fit comfortably when I wore a sports bra that flattened my chest. I would tell any large chested girl to go a size up or have a sports bra ready! Length was perfect for 5'5" with heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 2, 2016
I wore this dress for prom and loved it!
The dress is very comfortable and the red is a very beautiful, deep red as pictured. Im larger in the chest (32DD) and have a small waist and curvy hips, and this dress made my figure look really great. It accentuated my waist, minimized my chest, and hid my hips very well. I got so many compliments wearing this. It was a tad bit long for me, as I'm 5'4 but it wasn't much of a problem at all.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 20
May 2, 2016
People complimented me all night. This dress made me feel great without feeling overwhelmed.
The dress was a little snug on my bust in the four, but way too loose in the six. I ended up not minding the four being a little snug because it held my chest really well and I felt super secure throughout the night. The length was perfect. I felt great. I'd wear the dress 100 more times if I could.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 17
May 2, 2016
The dress got here right on time and it was super easy to ship back!
I wore this for my prom and I'm so happy that I did! I was getting compliments all night on the dress and it was the best dress to dance in because of how flowy it was. It fit very well. I was worried that the high collar would choke me all night, but it wasn't a problem at all.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 18
May 1, 2016
AMAZING
It was perfect. I have kind of a pear-shape figure but it was super flattering and the "ruffled" chest made my boobs look bigger and the sash at the waist helped define my figure! I was the only one who wore red to my prom (everybody opted with royal blue or taupe) and I got SO many compliments. If you have olive skin and dark hair, this is definitely the color you want!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 1, 2016
Military Ball
This dress was super comfy and fit perfectly!
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
April 30, 2016
This was my first RTR experience & I LOVED this dress. The color was beautiful & really comfortable
I have a large bust so I wanted something with coverage. This dress was snug around the top but very easy to wear all night. I got so many compliments on the color - it was a little long with heels but I was worried it would be too short if I didn't get it long. I loved this dress and can't wait to use RTR again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
April 27, 2016
Great dress
Beautiful, comfortable, free-flowing dress. This dress runs pretty true to size, except for the waist band, which ran a bit tight. I'm typically between a 4P and a 6P and ended up wearing the 6P. The 6P was a little bit hard to zip up at first, but it wasn't uncomfortable once the zipper was up. The 8P waist fit a bit better but the top was too large and it made me look boxy. But overall, I loved this dress.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 26, 2016
I felt like a princess in my dress- the red color popped and the flow of the dress was so fun!
The fit was true to size. The length was a bit long but with 4 inch heels it ended up being perfect! I loved everything my RTRW experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
April 26, 2016
Perfect dress for a formal event!
The fit was true to size. I wore this dress to a formal event and it was perfect. Everyone commented on how nice the dress was. When I told them it was Badgley Mischka, they just died! I will be renting this designer's dresses again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 26, 2016
Color was perfect for this gala!
Beautiful fit & color.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 25, 2016
Perfect for a black tie wedding!
I needed a dress last minute for a black tie wedding. I was worried because I am petite and I was scared it would be either too short or too long. The 6 petite fit perfect. I could have worn flats and it would skim the floor but I wore about 4 inch heels and it floated perfectly above the ground. I received many compliments and the dress is super flowy in the bottom. I would definitely rent this again! The zipper like many have said is very hard to get up, you will need help. The mid section is tight but you get used to it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 25, 2016
Rental was a breeze, dress travels well and doesn't need ironing.
The fit was as expected from other reviewers, fitted on the rib cage pretty snug but it was true to size. I needed help with the zipper so make sure you have a second pair of hands when you put it on. I ordered my regular size with no backups and it fit fine. The skirt was nice and flowy which was perfect for keeping track of our three busy kids during the event. Plenty of room for tugging, being stepped on and my youngest trying to hid behind me - it was perfect! I felt put together and dressy but able to bend down to pick up kids, or chase after them without feeling frazzled. The one problem with the fit and style of the dress was the bust was really droopy. I'm very pear shaped - size 14 but with a size B cup the front was really saggy but not evenly blousey. It looked fine from the front but odd from the size. Pairing it with a statement necklace helped keep the fabric down but if your body type is the same be aware of the look for the fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 216lbs
April 24, 2016
Gorgeous dress, great service!
I felt BEAUTIFUL in this dress. It emphasized my waist and my boobs and flowed over my hips. I was completely covered up but felt very sexy in a classic way. It was perfect for the black tie wedding I attended in Georgetown. Another girl wore the same dress in the fuchsia (which was my back up dress) so luckily I chose the red. Go for this dress!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 19
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 24, 2016
First sorority formal!
Pros: beautiful color, fit perfect, arrived in time Cons: A little tight around the middle, and a little long even with petite and heels
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 29

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×