Badgley Mischka

Ruby Red Gala Gown

$70 rental
$740 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Learn More
Stylist Notes

Get glitzy for the gala in this red stunner by Badgley Mischka. A ruched waist and delicate pleating are an ultra flattering combination to make you feel confident! Layer on the jewels with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace, and Cara Accessories’ Gold Dress Me Up Bracelet.

Also available in green, cobalt and fuchsia.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 and plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Cherry red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Ruched waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
1249 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(771)
Small
(191)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
October 30, 2016
Made me feel beautiful!
I typically wear a 4 but had to wear the 6 due to the waste of the dress being really tight. It fit very well, though! I rented the regular and it was still very long. I'm 5,6" and wore 3" heels and it was just barely above the ground. I had to pull the dress up to walk around, especially going up stairs. Be careful walking up stairs as it's pretty easy to trip on the dress. I got endless compliments, especially because I was the only person in a striking red dress at this October wedding. I absolutely recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
October 28, 2016
Perfect dress for Art museum wedding!!
This was my first rent the runway experience as a friend referred me. I had just given birth to my second son and wasn't really ready to purchase a dress for this formal of an affair at the Philadelphia Art Museum. The dress was absolutely perfect. it arrived the day before, it fit perfectly, and I was only one of three people in a red dress as everyone else was in black. It was so nice to stand out and I got compliments from everyone. It fit just perfect and for having big hips it covered all the places you don't want anyone to see. I would absolutely recommend this dress to anyone for a wedding or formal affair and definitely recommend rent the runway to anybody. I will definitely be using it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 26, 2016
LOVED IT!!
I'm in love with this dress. I'm 5'10" and generally wear a 10L, however RtR only had a 10R available so I rolled the dice after reading other reviews saying it was a bit long. It worked out perfectly! As you can tell from the photo, my shoes peaked out from the bottom, but I was in heels, and at 5'10", the R length was perfectly fine. You definitely need a strapless bra with this if you're bigger chested like I am, though the tighter fit fabric helped hold them in on the dancefloor. I ordered a 12 as back-up, but the 10 fit well enough. Overall, got a TON of compliments, the bottom flowed to smoothly, I felt like a princess! would definitely rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16WP
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 20
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
October 26, 2016
I wore this dress to my first military ball.
I adored this dress. I felt really classy. The dress was so flowy and it hugged my curves flawlessly. I will def be using RTR again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 25, 2016
Comfortable and moved well
I love chiffon and the way it moves. The cut of the skirt makes you look so tall and the ruching around the waist gives a great silhouette. This was one of the most comfortable dresses I've worn. Both the 4L and the 6R fit well. I went with the 6R because I decided to wear flats that night. I'm 5'6.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
October 24, 2016
Dress was awesome, received tons of compliments.
Dress fit true to size. Easily wore a bra with the dress and didn't have to worry about strapless/bra less options. Dress is pretty long, added small heels so it wasn't dragging on the ground. I would definitely wear this dress again or in a different color.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
October 24, 2016
Red, fun and free!
I received the 12L and 14R and felt the 14 gave me more room around the stomach for dancing. It was very comfortable the whole night. I got many compliments and had fun in it! Made me (& him) feel sexy! The cons would be the length. My shoes (2.5in) worked perfectly but heels were certainly needed. I did need to pick the gown part up walking up stairs as there is a lot of fabric than trails. The only other con was the back puffed out a little dancing! photos)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
October 24, 2016
Beautiful dress for a formal wedding!
I would've given this dress 5 stars but it came with a pretty large run down the front :( Customer service was amazing and overnighted another dress to me, but all they had was a 6L and it was way too long (I'm 5'7) so I had to wear the original. It wasn't very noticeable as you can't even see it in this picture and I got many compliments on the dress! Overall a really good first experience and I'll definitely order from here again! (My sister in this pic is also wearing her RTR dress which was stunning!)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
October 22, 2016
Loved the dress, many compliments and the color was stunning!
It fit a little tighter than I had thought, from reading the reviews. But it was beautiful, well made and the bride was happy!
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
October 21, 2016
Great dress, great weather and even better wedding
The dress was an amazing fit and color. I received so many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
October 21, 2016
Bold color, flowy skirt
I liked this dress a lot but it wasn't my favorite Badgley Mischka dress ever and here's why. 1) This dress fit great on me BUT as other reviewers have mentioned, there is no give in the band that runs around the waist and I found it to be a little tight for my comfort; ideally I should've sized up for my back up, but didn't want to risk it being too big everywhere else. This didn't stop me from wearing the dress by any means, I just had to "suck it in" a little more than I would've liked to all night. Also, it was great at downplaying my hips and butt because of the flowy skirt. 2) The length; seemed a little long to me but I'm a shorty at 5'2 so I kind of anticipated the length might be a slight problem for me. Oddly enough though, it seemed longer in the front than the back (as you can see in my photo), not sure if that's my body shape's fault or the dress's fault but thought I would point it out anyway. I also only wore a 2/3 inch heel so the length maybe could've been better had I worn a higher heel - but let's be honest, why kill yourself wearing a super high heel all night if no one is even going to see them, no thanks. 3) The ruching in the bust area will probably compliment someone with a smaller bust because, at a D cup, I definitely didn't need any help in that area, therefore I was little self-conscious at how big my girls appeared to look but that's just a personal preference. 4) The skirt part of this dress is slightly sheer, wear nude undergarments! I got away with wearing no bra which was nice. All in all, this was a great rental for the price and occasion. It definitely demands attention with its bold color and the flowy skirt makes you feel SO pretty.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Wedding
October 20, 2016
Lady in red
The length was shorter than I would've liked and I'm only 5'6.5. The red was bright and beautiful. I wear an 18 and the 18 fit perfect. There's a lot extra material on the top layer over the boobs which wasn't super flattering. Overall it looked great and was bold enough that is didn't need a ton of jewelry.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
October 18, 2016
Great for a formal event!
This dress was perfect for a black tie wedding. I am glad that I went with the Long size because it ended up being perfect with my heels. The bust area was a little snug, but other than that the dress was very comfortable and great for my event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 17, 2016
Pop of color for a fall wedding!
I rented this dress for a fall wedding and it was very comfortable and flowy. With heels, the dress was the perfect length but with flats/sandals it would have been a bit too long. I wore my backup size - so I would size-up for the extra dress. Enjoy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 195lbs
October 16, 2016
Beautiful but didn't get a good size
I really needed a 14 long and that wasn't available. I ordered the 12 long (too tight across the rib cage, at the band but gorgeous length) and the 14 regular (fit better but inches too short). I ended up wearing another rented dress.
Size worn:
20WL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
October 16, 2016
Beautiful and comfortable!
I wore this dress to a wedding, and I am so glad I did! This was my first RTR experience and it was great. The top of the dress was cut slightly different than I'm used to, so on my backup size (22WL) the band around the middle was just slightly more comfortable but the top was way too big on the bust, so I opted for my initial size. Like others have mentioned the band is a little tight but that is how the dress is styled. The top fit nice and snug without being tight, and the bottom was flowy, flattering, and very comfortable. I am fairly tall so I got the long and it worked well with my heels. I got many great comments on it all night! I will definitely be renting in the future.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 40
October 12, 2016
It was a flattering fit and the perfect color red! Plus I was truly comfortable the whole night.
Perfect fit for me but runs small. Perfect color. So many compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 12, 2016
i loved the way the dress flowed when i walked.
it fit perfect, wasn't too long, wasn't too tight and i wore this dress for a Beauty Pageant, even though i didn't win, I Won Runway Model. i also loved that it was affordable too.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6P
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
October 5, 2016
Black tie wedding
Loved this dress! I am under 5' 2" and was worried about the length. It was perfect! I recently had two babies and loved that you could order two sizes!!!!!! Totally recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
October 5, 2016
Loved it but....
.... I wore my backup dress instead. Still love this dress though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
October 5, 2016
Flattering fit!
It was a flattering fit and I loved the way it flowed. The color was beautiful. The neck came up very high and was pretty uncomfortable. It left a large red spot where it was rubbing me the wrong way. I wore a R and it was a touch long with flats.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Other
October 3, 2016
Gorgeous dress, perfect fit
Amazing!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
October 2, 2016
Amazing dress!
I had to go up a size, I'm a normal 12. I'm 5'4 and didn't like the length with my heels so I wore a small wedge. The rib cage was killing me be the end of the night! I wear a 36G and was glad my boobs fit fine!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
October 2, 2016
Gorgeous dress - elegant, flattering and versatile.
Can't go wrong with this dress - seems universally flattering and like it would work on pretty much any body type. It was surprisingly comfortable and forgiving for a formal dress, and I appreciated that I didn't have to wear a strapless bra with it (I went with racerback and it worked well). Also could easily dress it up or down and I think it would work for a wide range of events. Beautiful color.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Weight: 120lbs
October 1, 2016
Literally the most beautiful dress I have ever worn
I felt like a princess all night. People would compliment me left and right about the dress and how beautiful it was. The color red was perfect brightness and hue. The fit was amazing for my body type. I have a small waist and it just fit snug and perfect. It hid my underarm fat and helped hold up my strapless bra all night so it never moved. The material flows very nicely and makes you look like you are gliding across the floor. My only recommendation is for you to wear heels high enough to keep the dress off the floor. The material sticks to your heels very easily and I almost tripped a few times when I knelt down to grab my kids. Enjoy - truly an amazing dress.
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 27, 2016
Perfect dress that made me feel like a princess!
The dress was absolutely amazing! My heels were about 3 inches, so the 4L hit just right. I could have gotten away with ordering a 2L, but I ordered the 4L because I was nervous about it fitting (I wear a 2 or 4 depending on the style)! It was definitely true-to-size and is loose over your hips so you have a little wiggle room. It was absolutely stunning when I would walk because the dress flows all around your legs and looks amazing. I got so many compliments! Very comfortable and worked out perfectly. The only "con"- I am not used to wearing formal gowns very often, so it took a little getting used to. There are quite a few layers on the bottom, so if you lift your dress to go up stairs, make sure you get all of the layers!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Age: 26
September 27, 2016
I ordered two dresses for my engagement pictures. I think this one was my favorite.
Runs a little bit small. Order a back up or size up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 26, 2016
Beautiful!
Dress was true to size and very comfortable..
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
September 25, 2016
Perfect dress! Color is gorgeous and it fit well. Effortlessly elegant, while very comfortable!
I received tons of compliments on the color and fit of this dress. 8L was perfect for my 5'9 frame with heels. Another great experience using RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 60
September 23, 2016
Dress was great!
Loved the dress!. Was flattering, provided enough cover, and more importantly was really comfortable!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
September 22, 2016
Everything!! Incredible night celebrating the organization I work for's 40th Anniversary.
Beautiful dress- this was my first time using RTR and I was so impressed by their customer service and selection of gowns in my price range. I ordered a different dress but it was not flattering- the stylist recommended this dress. I thought it was kind of boring going through all the different options but it is so gorgeous on- very flattering and has this wonderful flow in the skirt that just makes you feel glamorous. Next time I use RTR I will rent well in advance of the event as many of the styles I wanted were sold out in my size when I got around to renting. I've also got a better idea of what formal dresses suit my body type. Great experience overall!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
September 18, 2016
Amazing dress for any occasion
Words cannot describe my love for this dress! Wore this for a wedding in the thousand Islands. I wish I could post more than one picture because this dress made me feel and look amazing. I'm 190 pounds (basically butt and thighs and hips are my downfall) but this dress's long lines and tight waist made me look great. I didn't wear but still felt secure. The only maybe not-so-great thing was the length. The regular length was about an inch too long for someone who is 5'3 and in heels. The 12P wasn't available and the 10P was just a bit too tight so I mean the option for the shorter dress was there, just not for my dates :( I will be renting this dress in every color for all my other events. Love love this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
September 18, 2016
"The girl in the red dress!"
This dress was amazing! It was my first RTR experience, so I did some serious research on the designer and dug deep for reviews by woman similar to my build. I'm 5'7" with a fairly athletic build. I'm flat in the behind area, so I was concerned how this would fit, but it shaped me beautifully! The waist line made me look slim enough that it actually looked like I had hips! HOORAY! Everyone kept referring to me as "the girl in the stunning red dress," so I felt like a rockstar! It was a great dress for an end-of-summer/early Fall wedding. Plus it was easy to dance in! Side note: it was a teeny bit long, as I was hoping to not wear heels. But, a few inches would've been left dragging, so I wore a small wedge and it worked out just fine!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
September 14, 2016
:)
It fit me very well, I am 5,3
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Weight: 125lbs
September 14, 2016
I loved having such a beautiful dress to wear - I felt comfortable yet "fancy" all night!
I loved this dress, though I had to wear the bigger size I ordered because I felt like this one was a bit high-waisted with the waist hitting me at the lower part of my ribcage instead of at my true waist. But, the size up fit fine. I was nervous about ordering a long gown as they are almost always too long (even when ordering a petite), but the length was perfect. Unlike other reviews that spoke about being tight in the bust, I did not have this problem - never have, never will - ha. But, it fit really quite nicely, and was very comfortable. I was very pleased and loved the dress!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 37
September 14, 2016
Great dress!
Great dress. I'm a busty girl but this fit well. I had to get with the larger size due to it being tight around the ribcage.
Size worn:
16WL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 12, 2016
Worn for Black Tie Optional Wedding at a Winery
I loved this dress. I normally wear a 14L but I'm now 12 weeks pregnant and the 16WL help make up the increase in my bust (I'm normally a 40DD) I've experienced so far. I'm 5'10 and it worked well with flats. It may have been a little too short for heels. It was warm out but I didn't feel overheated in this dress. It was easy to pull up to my knees to allow some air flow if I did get too hot.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
September 10, 2016
Ahhhhhhh-amazing!!
Loved it. Hands down. Amazing. It fit like a glove and was so simple and beautiful and the color is gorgeous and I looked great all night long! Sooo happy with this dress. Thanks RTR
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
September 8, 2016
I wore this dress for a black tie wedding, it was perfect!
This dress was so great and so pretty. I would recommend getting your size and also the next size up. I wore the bigger size because of the cinching around the torso. It is smaller and I would have been uncomfortable had I worn the size I normally wear. Plus the dress is more flowy and more fun to dance in :) Love this dress so much I wanted to keep it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Weight: 175lbs
September 7, 2016
Nice day for a wedding
The dress fit great, I had a lot of compliments on it. Even though it was a hot day in July, the dress was light and airy
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 32
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×