Ruby Red Gala Gown

$70 rental
$740 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get glitzy for the gala in this red stunner by Badgley Mischka. A ruched waist and delicate pleating are an ultra flattering combination to make you feel confident! Layer on the jewels with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace, and Cara Accessories’ Gold Dress Me Up Bracelet.

Also available in green, cobalt and fuchsia.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 and plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 and plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Cherry red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Ruched waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
1083 reviews
Fit
Large15
True to Size703
Small171
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 24, 2016
Perfect red dress!
It was a little long in the torso. Other than that, perfect fit!
Size worn:
6P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 22, 2016
Rented for my daughters red dress gala - perfect fit - very comfortable - flattering - loved it!
Besides zipper hard to zip - perfection !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
March 22, 2016
A formal ball
I was not able to get this dress in the petite size for my weekend, so went with the regular. I wore 2 inch heels which is all I can tolerate, and the dress was a bit too long. Might have been doable, but I had another dress that I just happened to like better, so I went with the other one. I did love the fit and the look of this dress. Very nice flow to the skirt and was quite comfortable. It would have been lovely but the other dress was a tad shorter and I simply liked it better. I will certainly consider this for my next formal event, however.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
March 21, 2016
It was a red carpet event dress!
I am petite and because the dress was unavailable in that size, I ordered a regular. Aside from the length, which I knew was going to be long, the actually fitting of the dress was perfect! Fitted from the top and flowy at the bottom, created a very glamorous look - I received compliments all night. Thanks for the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
March 19, 2016
This dress is everything!
This dress is hands down my favorite dress on rent the runway. I love it so much that I have now worn it in two colors and would rent the rest of them if I had a formal event to wear them to! The top would fit all chest sizes and the bottom is so flowy and comfortable. I am petite so I was worried about the length but I wore three inch heels and the bottom hit the ground perfectly. I got so many compliments and would definitely recommend this dress for someone who wants to look glamorous but also values comfort!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 152lbs
March 19, 2016
Many compliments
I love this dress. So soft and high quality materials. I got so many compliments all night long. Definitely will rent this again
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10P
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
March 17, 2016
Amazing customer service, it was my second time renting from RTR and it didn't dissapoint.
Love the color and fit, really comfy fabric and shape. Perfect to dance the night away without worrying about anything else. You can wear a regular bra, which is definitely a plus for me since I hate to wear strapless. I ended up wearing the 10S and it was a little bit shorter than expected considering I wore 4" heels but the 12R was too big for me. As other girls have mentioned, this dress is a bit difficult to zip so have someone help you with that :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 17, 2016
Very beautiful dress!
I wore this to my winter formal and it looked great! I was very happy with the fit, but I am really busty so I had to wear a bra and use safety pins to hide it on the sides. I received a lot of compliments and definitely would rent again!
RTR CustomerApril 18, 2016
Did you wear heals? How high were they (if you did)?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 16, 2016
So many compliments, and my husband loved it!
the dress was a little big but otherwise fit perfectly. Will most certainly use the site again and tell everyone about it.
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
March 15, 2016
Gorgeous dress that fit the theme of the evening!
The bust/waist was a little tight where there is the sash in the middle, but once zipped it looked perfect. It was exceptionally comfortable. I am a little short but with normal heels the dress did not get caught under my shoes. I loved wearing this dress, it was very comfy and it fit very well for someone who is petite.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 14, 2016
It came in time perfect, fit perfect, and made me feel amazing the entire night!
I loved this dress and got so many compliments on it throughout the night. I am 5'4 and got the regular dress but it was a little long on me with flats! I wore it to my boyfriends military ball and the dress was absolutely perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 14, 2016
Pop of Color in a Sea of Black
I wore this to a fundraiser gala for my Husband's school. In a room full of black dresses, it was nice to have something different. I was hoping to wear a regular bra, but had to go strapless. Overall the fit was true to size, and I wore 2.5-3in heels and the length was fine (I'm 5 5)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 13, 2016
All red everything!
Loved this dress and received so many compliments. The neckline was perfect - didn't need to readjust once. The stylist I spoke with suggested I rent the longer dress because of my height - good thing I rented both! The regular was perfect with a 4" heel. It was also forgiving in the hips which helped tremendously.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 12, 2016
Comfortable yet fabulous
It fit well, was comfortable, and looked fabulous. No complaints
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 8, 2016
Perfect in every way!
The color, fit, and fabric of this dress were perfect. It was eye catching and elegant, but still marvelously comfortable. The bodice shape is a favorite of mine and was particularly flattering. I would definitely rent this dress again.
RTR CustomerApril 18, 2016
Did you wear heals? How high were they (if you did)?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 185lbs
March 8, 2016
Rented this dress for a gala.. received tons of compliments on the color and style of the dress!!
Definitely order a size up because it is tight fitting in the bust area. My original order was a totally different dress that was too loose so RTW shipped me this dress overnight. I truly love RTW and I will be ordering my bridal shower dress soon!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
March 5, 2016
Didn't fit, tight in the waist, huge in the bust
The bust fits weird, it's very baggy
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
March 2, 2016
Loved this dress! Comfortable and chic!
I wore this dress to a military ball and it was a huge hit! I received so many compliments throughout the night on the style and the color. Aside from being a beautiful dress, it was SO comfortable which is always a huge plus. I had planned on wearing a necklace to complete the look but I ended up just wearing earrings. I ordered a 2 and a 4 and ended up going with the 2 which is my usual size. Definitely one of my favorite dresses!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 2, 2016
Belle of the ball!
Loved the way the chiffon material flowed. I felt like I was walking on a cloud. Beautiful red color that photographs really well. I could wear a regular bra so the dress was super comfy. I'm 5'3" and the 6R dress length was perfect with 4" heels. It was the perfect dress for a perfect evening.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 1, 2016
Hanging out with my friends? (why is this a question haha)
PROS: length CONS: a little hard getting it zipped in the back. The rest of the dress fit me every well, but the last centimeter was the last part that wasn't exactly true to size. If this is where dresses are normally tight on you, I recommend getting the bigger size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 23
March 1, 2016
Comfortable!
Beautiful color and the fabric laid perfectly throughout the night.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 22
March 1, 2016
Rented this dress for my sorority formal. Got tons of compliments!
Dress fit true to size and fit my DDD bust! The waist does not budge, making it a little snug, but it kept everything in place! Length was perfect with mid-sized heels. Color is BEAUTIFUL! Very vibrant. Looks a little pink in my picture because of camera flash, but it's very, very red!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 1, 2016
Gorgeous and comfy! Can wear will racer back bra
If my shoes were any shorter I couldn't have worn the Long. But overall super comfortable and looked great! My favorite is that I could wear a racer back bra and didn't have to wear strapless or sticky boobs, tho you could do that if you wanted.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
March 1, 2016
Red dress delight!
This dress is AMAZING! I wore it to the American Heart Association Heart Ball and got compliments on it all night. I was actually surprised that no one else was wearing it (in red, anyway). It fits a little tight in the ribcage, but that helped keep my strapless bra where it was supposed to be so I didn't really mind. The dress is very comfortable. I wore 4 inch heels and the dress hit right at my toes.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
February 28, 2016
Gorgeous, extremely comfortable, and moved beautifully. I received countless compliments.
The fabric looks and feels very lux. I ordered the size 6 regular and 8 regular and ended up wearing the 6 which is my true size. The length was perfect on me ( I'm 5'7 and wore 3 inch heels) Sexy without being revealing which made it a great dress to dance in.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
February 28, 2016
Gorgeous color and super comfortable!
I'm 22 weeks pregnant and this dress sized up accommodated my baby bump! It made the top a little too big but it was okay. I got compliments all night. I had to have a long size overnighted to me because my bump was causing the regular size to be above my ankles. Rep was super helpful and quick in getting me the right size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
February 27, 2016
Stunning Dress!
This was a great dress! I ordered the size 4, and went with a size 2 as my backup. I ended up wearing the 2, because I liked the way it fit better. I was able to wear a strapless bra and my usual heels. The fit is fabulous! It is extremely comfortable, I was able to walk, eat a full meal, and dance all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
February 25, 2016
The dress was extremely comfortable and flowed beautifully!
Dress was very fitted in waist as detailed by other reviews as well as having a zipper that is difficult to zip through waistline. Once zipped, it was beautiful! I normally wear a 6 or 8. The regular length is very long but with 3" heels it just brushed the ground. I received compliments throughout the evening.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
February 25, 2016
Wore this dress to my boyfriend's Barristers' Ball. Gorgeous, flattering, glamorous
I am 5'7'' and was considering the long size but definitely am glad I went with the 0R. If you are btw 5'6'' and 5'7'' the regular length was perfect with 3'' heels. A little snug in the chest, I'm a 32B so consider ordering a size up as a backup size. Overall great fit and I received a ton of compliments on it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 24, 2016
Perfect for military ball!
This dress stood out (in a great way) at my husbands Navy ball. It is true to size and the long is definitely long. I wore 4" heels with my 8L and it was perfect. The ONLY con was that it wore around my underarms a little and was just slightly uncomfortable. Totally worth it for this beauty though!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 43
February 24, 2016
Wore this dress to a black tie event supporting American Heart Association. Perfect color!
The dress fit perfectly and loved the flowing fabric on the bottom half. Great for dancing the night away.
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Work
Age: 24
February 22, 2016
Great dress for a work gala, loved the way it flowed
I was very nervous that the length of this dress wouldn't work, since I'm 5'2" and it was my first RTR, but the petite length was perfect for me! I was very relieved. I'm usually a 4 but the other reviews said the dress was tight around the rib cage, so I ordered the 6 as well. I was comfortable all night and very happy with the experience
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
February 22, 2016
The event was very special and I got to support a great cause with my coworkers!
Unfortunately for me, the 12P wasn't available so I got the 12R & 14P. The 14P was a bit large, but right length, whereas the 12R was a better fit, but much too long for my short legs. I decided that I would rather have a loose gown than fall on my face, haha! Even though it was a bit large I still got lots of compliments on my gown, and I felt very glamorous. I paired the gown with a black statement bracelet and black earrings, with a black clutch. I also wore black wedges but you couldn't see them, so I might as well have worn slippers haha!
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 21, 2016
The endless compliments made my night unforgettable.
The dress fit snug around my rib cage, but was comfortable to dance in all night long. It was not completely floor length so I had to experiment with shoes. I recommend a necklace with this dress, but it can definitely stand alone. I highly recommend this dress for anyone that wants to look sophisticated and chic for the night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 28
February 21, 2016
Used this for engagement photos.
This dress was amazing. Loved the fit, loved the quality of the dress. No complaints. The dress was pretty long, I'm 5'3 and wore 4 inch heels in order to make it manageable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 21, 2016
The color was breathtaking! A very romantic dress.
The dress moved beautifully! When I walked, it moved and flowed flawlessly. Loved the dress! Will totally rent another piece soon!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 20, 2016
Fabulous Dress!
ordered this dress in 4P and 6P for a last minute fundraiser gala. They both fit, with the 6 just being a bit looser. The length was perfect with heels, and I'm very short. I got many compliments on this dress, the color was amazing and stood out in a good way from all the little black dresses. I would definitely recommend this dress, especially for those shorter women who have a hard time renting long dresses. My only complaint is the zipper is hard to get up over the seams of the dress. I loved that I was able to wear a bra with it, I just used a connector for the straps in the back to make it razorback style. The shipping was fast and on time and very easy to return. Thanks RTR!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
February 18, 2016
This dress was absolutely stunning. I wish I could keep it forever!
This dress was perfect for a military ball, and I felt so elegant wearing it. I seriously wish I could wear it to every formal event I go to! I wasn't sure which size would work best, so I chose the 6R and the 8R as a backup. I honestly didn't even need to try on the 8, because the first one fit just right! I'm on the shorter side, so even with 4 inch heels, the dress still skimmed the floor. However, it wasn't a problem for me to just pick it up a little while I walked. I'm a 34DD, but I didn't even need to wear a bra, because this dress lifted everything up nicely and more importantly, I was comfortable :) the only slight issue I had was that I would never have been able to zip the back up by myself. The reviews have said the zipper is tricky, and they are definitely right!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
February 15, 2016
The dress was wonderful for the formal wedding I attended.
The dress was true to fit and I loved the color.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
February 15, 2016
I got so many complements and my husband LOVED IT!
I thought this dress was PERFECT and in-fact have rented it for other occasions as well in other colors. If you are "hippy" like I am with an athletic build on the bottom this flows and hides while providing a slimming effect on the top.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 28

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×