Badgley Mischka

Ruby Red Gala Gown

$70 – $95 rental?
$740 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Stylist Notes

Get glitzy for the gala in this red stunner by Badgley Mischka. A ruched waist and delicate pleating are an ultra flattering combination to make you feel confident! Layer on the jewels with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace, and Cara Accessories’ Gold Dress Me Up Bracelet.

Also available in green, cobalt and fuchsia.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 and plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Cherry red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Ruched waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
1300 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(796)
Small
(198)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
January 19, 2017
I looked and felt amazing!
I got so many compliments on my dress and it was comfortable I didn't want to take it off.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
January 18, 2017
N/A
One of my favorite dresses! I would rent again! Such a great fit for a curvy, busty woman. Tight fit at the waist. Flowy in all the right places.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 17
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
January 15, 2017
fun, flowy prom dress!
I wore this to prom and was comfortable and had a great time dancing. This dress was excellent and I'd recommend this dress or any rent the runway dress to anybody looking for an event outfit! Being able to get two sizes also eased any nervousness about online ordering without trying on. Ordering and shipping and returns were all easy, and I loved getting a very pretty and high quality dress for less than some cheaply made department store gowns. The dress fit well, I loved the flowiness of the skirt and how it cinched my waist. The bottom is just a little sheer, just don't wear black underwear and it isn't a problem! I'm 5'8ish and ordered a regular length because I didn't want to have to wear very tall heels, and it worked out great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
January 14, 2017
Beautiful gown
True to size. Comfortable, not too heavy.
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Other
Age: 25
January 12, 2017
The perfect eye catcher
I rented this dress for my engagement photos because I needed something that stood out, and that allowed me to hide some warm clothing underneath. Normally I would be a size 6 but with the 8L I was able to hide a shirt, thermal pants and hiking boots which is just what I needed for this 15 degree day. The color is awesome and it was extremely comfortable. I couldn't have picked a more perfect dress. (Photo credit: Jonathan Gipaya)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
January 11, 2017
Beautiful, comfortable dress
The dress was gorgeous and the fabric very light which was great since it was an outdoor California wedding. I received many compliments on the color and the fit. I typically wear a size 12 but had to wear the 14R because I have a larger chest (36-38DD). The length was a little long so I had to pick the dress up when I walked to avoid stepping on it. Biggest con with the dress was how difficult the zipper was right along the seams. I had to grease the zipper a couple of times to get it to get past the natural seams in the dress. Overall, absolutely loved this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Weight: 180lbs
January 11, 2017
Long, gorgeous, flowy, dress in a fun, bright color!
I really liked this dress! I wore it to a black tie optional wedding and was very pleased with it. I'd never worn a long gown like this before (let alone rented one), but it worked out perfectly. The heels I wore were probably 3.5-4 inches, which helped with the length of the dress. It's super comfortable, very flowy, and fun to dance in.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
January 11, 2017
Comfortable, flattering dress
I rented this dress for a formal wedding, and was very pleased with the quality, condition, and fit of the dress. I'm 5'6" and was planning on wearing 4" heels, so I had a hard time choosing between the long or regular length. I ended up going with regular, which was about an inch above the ground with my shoes on. I think the long would have draped the floor even with heels. The only downfall was the zipper hung over the bottom part of the waistband when zipping up, so much so that my friend couldn't get it to zip up. My husband had to come and yank it over that section. Aside from that, I loved the dress and felt very comfortable in it all night. It was very flattering for a new mom like me who is adjusting to carrying around a few extra pounds.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
January 6, 2017
Beautiful color, flattering fit!
This dress was amazing! The fit was great, the color was beautiful! This is a dress a would buy and keep as a staple black tie dress. I think it would be flattering on pretty much any body type.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 5, 2017
Stunning color!
Loved the high neckline and empire waist. Got a long and was just the right length with 3 inch shoes.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 40
January 5, 2017
This gown was gorgeous and fit perfectly!!!
Very slimming and hides and trouble areas!!!
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
January 4, 2017
.
I rented this dress in a size 6R and it fit perfectly! I wore it for a New Years Eve wedding and got a lot of compliments. I wore a necklace with it to make it a little fancier but overall loved the dress and definately true to size. Very comfortable to wear as well. Would rent again! Thank you Rent The Runway!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 3, 2017
Beautiful movement in this dress!
The dress does run a little small in the top area around neck/ shoulders, so I'm glad I had a larger back up size. The dress is incredibly flattering and I would recommend to anyone! The material provides amazing movement when you walk and looks great in pictures.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
January 3, 2017
NYE wedding
The petite runs a little long but perfect fit every where else- great for dancing and makes your waist look tiny! I would 100% recommend this dress for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 1, 2017
LOVED IT!!
Beautiful gown! I wore it to my husband's holiday party and loved every minute of wearing it. I felt amazing all night and I received so many compliments. The P length was perfect with 3" heels. The 4P wouldn't quite zip due to my athletic build/wide shoulders but the 6P was perfect. I definitely wanted to keep it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 21, 2016
Stunning!
I loved this dress! This was my first RTR experience, and I couldn't be happier. I wore it for my work Christmas party. It was beautiful, and I felt like a million bucks! I received tons of compliments all night. It was true to size, and the style isn't one that has a ton of give. I am definitely glad I got the 2, it was a perfect fit, but any smaller and it wouldn't have been comfortable. It was very flattering, hour glass and accentuated all the right places. I felt classy and sexy without reveling a lot of skin. I highly recommend it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 19, 2016
I felt like a princess all night.
The dress is classy and the skirt flows greatly while walking and dancing. It was way more comfortable than wearing a cocktail dress (which is/was my usual for such events), and I received plenty of compliments. The 4p would have been perfect for flats, and the 4R was perfect with the 3in heels I wore. I also rented the necklace!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 18, 2016
Flowy feel and lightweight material
I am 6 months pregnant so I got this dress since the waist sits high. I'm normally a 4 but w pregnancy changes (belly/breasts) I wore the 6P. Honestly, I wished I had gotten the 8P because the 6P was pretty tight around my ribs and had to have serious help getting it zipped up. The length was longer than I thought and even with wearing 3" heels. I was sometimes tripping over it (going up stairs). I'm only 5'2" so I'm very glad I read reviews that it runs long. If you're going to order this dress, I'd recommend going 1 size up because as I mentioned, the empire waist line is tight! Either way, I loved how I felt and looked in this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
December 18, 2016
Gorgeous dress!
Felt like a princess! Comfy, flattering, danced all night in this dress. Rented the necklace too, which definitely completed the look. I'm 5'5 so I did wear almost 3 inch heels to not have it drag.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 17, 2016
Red Classic
This dress is stunning! I'm never disappointed with this designer either! Only problem is the top of the dress runs small. If you have a decent sized chest I would suggest going up 1-2 sizes!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
December 17, 2016
The dress was gorgeous just like the other reviews I had seen, it had a lot of flow and elegance!
I normally wear a 10, so I ordered a 10L and a 12L at 5'7 and 170 lbs, the 10L was not shipped due to late rewritten from another customer so a replacement was sent. Thankfully the 12L fit well for me, my rib cage is the widest part of me and that is where the tightness was in the dress, hence the "runs small" rating. Overall, I loved this dress and got a ton of compliments throughout the evening!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 195lbs
December 16, 2016
Felt like a princess. The fabric is wonderfully light and flooring. Wish the event had dancing.
Great for curves
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
December 16, 2016
I received repeated compliments all night long! The dress is so much better in person!
The dress definitely runs small! I wore 2 sizes above my normal size (normally a size 10). I rented a 12 and a 14 as a back-up. I ended up wearing the 14 because, even though the 12 fit, it was too snug for my liking. The 14 fit like a glove!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 14, 2016
Engagement photos
Fit great, felt very light and flowey. Worked perfectly for pictures!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 13, 2016
Comfortable and pretty.
Size up if busty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
December 9, 2016
Lovely dress!
Love this dress. It hides what you want it to hide and looks very elegant. It was perfect for the formal affair I had to wear it to. I would highly recommend it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16WL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 220lbs
December 7, 2016
Spectacular!
This dress was just what I wanted! Something long and formal, room to move around and forgiving on the hips/thighs. I didn't love my arms in it so planned ahead to have a bolero jacket over it. The top was a big "saggy" with extra material but other than that it was wonderful, I got endless compliments. I'm 5'8" and wore 2.5" heels to keep it off the ground. Glad I went with the Long, a regular would surely have been too short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
December 7, 2016
Beautiful dress for a beautiful night
The dress was perfect! I paired it with a vegan leather moto jacket and a swept up do. Felt elegant and edgy all in one. The dress was super comfortable and easy to get in and out of. I was also comfortable all night long. Not too tight or anything along those lines. Would 100% rent again
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 141lbs
December 5, 2016
Beautiful color and fit!
I wore this dress to my husband's formal holiday party. I have a smaller rib cage, so the 6 may fit a little tight on someone else with a similar size to me. I am 5'4, so it was a little long with the 3.5 inch heels I wore, but I didn't trip or step on while standing or walking (only when sitting). A taller heel would have been just right. The dress was very elegant and I received lots of compliments. It hid my lower baby belly that likes to make an appearance whenever I eat or drink anything :) It was definitely all that I expected and more based on the reviews that I read, and would totally rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
December 5, 2016
This dress made me feel so beautiful! I received a ton of compliments all night!
Very flattering around the waist and back. It was comfortable and easy to dance in. I recommend this for any formal event or holiday party!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 4, 2016
Customer service at RTR is amazing
I didn't end up wearing this dress but the fit was great! It is definitely very flowy and has an airy feel to it when you wear it! I'm 5'8 and would definitely need to wear this dress with tall heels or I would have been tripping over it all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WP
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
December 3, 2016
Perfect for a Christmas gala
I rented this dress for a Scottish Christmas gala and it worked perfectly. The color set off the colors in my clan tartan beautifully and it was super comfortable. The one downside was the top portion was slightly too large, but due to some unexpected last minute issues, I felt it would be more comfortable to wear the bigger size. Other than that, everything worked beautifully.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 31
November 27, 2016
rented this dress for my engagement pictures and the ones in this dress were the ones we picked
it was true to fit and flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 22, 2016
Greek goddess
I felt so great in this dress. The winched waist is so flattering and the material Is luxurious and flowy. So fun to dance in and got so many compliments. The waistband had no stretch but it was a great cut for me with a small waist and bigger hip area. I went braless but a strapless would work fine
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
November 21, 2016
Most flattering dress!
I rented this dress for a work gala this past weekend! I loved it! I've recently gained some wait and have not been in love with my body but this dress fit me and made me feel and look amazing! The band is tight and does not give at all so I went with a size 8 to have a little extra room! I'm 5'2 and with a 4" wedge, this dress with the perfect length. With the petite length, I never felt like i was tripping over the dress. I felt like a princess and would totally recommend and rent this dress again!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 220lbs
November 20, 2016
Good Dress, a tad tight for busty ladies
I wore this dress to a formal wedding. I was nervous because I've never rented from this specific designer. It was a tad bit tight in the bust (I wear a 40 DDD). But the bottom was very flowy and comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
November 20, 2016
Needed a dress for a Black Tie Preferred wedding - looked great! Does run small.
Ordered this dress in a size 8 with a size 10 back up. Typically wear a size 8. When I received on a Thursday, the 10 just felt too snug. So RTR shipped me a size 12 for next day delivery for Saturday before noon! Their customer service is phenomenal. No charge and it had to be shipped to where we were staying for the wedding. The wedding was Saturday night so I was concerned it wouldn't arrive in time. It did come late around 2pm but the important thing is it arrived! Overall fit great - a little big in the chest area but I loved the look. I did wear Spanx for my stomach, which I recommend. Another RTR success story! I ordered the same jewelry the model wore.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 20, 2016
Gorgeous red gown!
Gorgeous red chiffon gown with lots of room to feel comfortable and also conceal mid-section areas, if needed. I would say because of the looser, flowy style of the dress, you could potentially go a size down. I fit into both the 6L and 8L, and while the 6 looked a bit better fitted, it was just snug enough around my rib cage that I thought I may not be comfortable in it after eating a meal and sitting down for a period of time. Thus, I wore the 8, and it felt so comfortable with plenty of room to sit, eat and breathe. I am 5'7" and the long was a great length, and the dress pretty well covered my shoes so that they were hardly visible. This was great because it allowed me to wear nice 3-inch sandals that were more comfortable, but that were not exactly formal shoes, but no one could really see them anyway so it didn't matter. I paired the dress with the Seeing Double Earrings and Gold Ainsley Cuff bracelet which were the perfect complement of gold color against the beautiful red color.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 46
November 19, 2016
A perfect fit - stunning color!
I typically wear a 6 and rented a 6R. Another size was not available so I rented a second style which I didn't end up using. This dress fit like a glove and was super comfortable. Other renters have said that the empire strap is too tight but this was not the case for me. No bra needed. The weight of the dress is absolutely perfect - heavy enough to drape but not heavy at all to wear. I got a million compliments. I'm pretty tall and wore a 2-inch heel....my toes peeked out but b/c I had red toenails and sandals, that actually worked perfectly. I'm 5"9' and 140 lbs, size 36B bust. Will definitely rent again from RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Age: 30
November 16, 2016
Such a vibrant red!
This dress was perfect for Christmas pictures! So elegant and flattering. I am 5'3 and weigh 140 pounds. I wore a 6R. It fit like a glove! The length was perfect with heels. It flowed smoothly and photographed lovely. Definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (3)
See more reviews:
2 / 33

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×