Badgley Mischka

Ruby Red Gala Gown

$70 – $85 rental?
$740 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Stylist Notes

Get glitzy for the gala in this red stunner by Badgley Mischka. A ruched waist and delicate pleating are an ultra flattering combination to make you feel confident! Layer on the jewels with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace, and Cara Accessories’ Gold Dress Me Up Bracelet.

Also available in green, cobalt and fuchsia.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 and plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Apple, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Cherry red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Ruched waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
1317 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(810)
Small
(200)
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
February 20, 2017
Stunning and comfortable
It fit really well. I read all the reviews and they were spot on with the tighter fit through the rib cage. The dress length was perfect, I'm glad I got a petite
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 19, 2017
Loved this dress so much, tons of compliments!
I loved this dress! I'm 5'5", 130 lbs, 34A. I really felt amazing in this dress, the color was beautiful and the chiffon material was very comfortable. I ordered a 4R and 2R, the 4 fit better around the ribs so I went with that size. I wore a racerback bra but probably could have done without. I wore 3" heels and the dress just grazed the ground, I wouldn't have wanted it any shorter. I got so many compliments on this dress, perfect choice for my work holiday party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
February 17, 2017
Beautiful color and a natural show stopper!
The band is not stretchy so if you order a size up be prepared that the top maybe a little loose. Otherwise I loved the dress!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Age: 32
February 16, 2017
Amazing dress and received so many compliments!! Very comfortable!
Fit was great, I am 5'5 and with heels it was the perfect length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 14, 2017
Valentine's Day
I wore this dress for Valentine's Day dinner and was in love! I felt so elegant and beautiful. Dress fit perfectly. I would definitely rent this dress again
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
February 13, 2017
Beautiful Dress. Received many compliments.
This dress was beautiful and fit true to size for me. I received many compliments. It is a floor length gown so I had to wear heals with it.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
February 12, 2017
This dress made me feel beautiful!
This was actually my back up dress to the Dara Jumpsuit. It ended up too big so I wore this jnstead. So happy with my decision! I had to run out and get a spray tan to wear it. It fit perfectly and was the perfect length. Only downside is that it's so flowy I had to hold it a bit on the dance floor. I stood out in a sea of black dresses at a black tie optional wedding. I'm 5'6" and the long was the perfect length. Rent this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 8, 2017
This dress was perfect for the AFCEA Valentine's Day Gala!
Very true to size!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 6, 2017
Classy, comfortable, and memorable!
This dress is very flattering and fun to wear! The zipper was a bit tricky but overall, I loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 4, 2017
Besides the bride, I felt like a Hollywood star!
I normally am a size 4 but am pregnant so had to fit into the 6 which was right up top. I loved the color and overall flow of the dress and got a lot of compliments on it!! Definitely recommend!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 3, 2017
Perfect for a formal wedding!
Based on recommendations I went up a size. The banding at the waist actually hits at ribcage so the size up was perfect. I am 5'1" and the petite length worked well with a 3 inch heel. I could have gone a little higher or lower with no problem. I wore a strapless bra and spanx but probably didn't need the spanx.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
20WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
February 2, 2017
The wedding we went to was absolutely beautiful!
I have never worn a dress like this!! It was fantastic and I felt so beautiful in it! I am 5'6 220 and I look like a baby giraffe in heels, so I wore my wonderful go to gold lane bryant sandals. I didn't have to wear shape wear or anything like that because the dress was so forgiving. I wore a racer back bra with it-i would suggest as thin of a strap as you have! It was so comfortable sitting and I could/attempt to dance with ease. I would absolutely recommend this dress!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 185lbs
February 2, 2017
Compliments all night.
In a sea of black dresses this red dress really stood out. It was comfortable, pretty complimentary on my figure and very pretty. Right around the rib/bra line things got a little tight but I managed to push through :) Everyone continued to compliment the color and the fit so I felt great all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
January 31, 2017
This dress was just as amazing as it looks!
The dress fit a little tight around my neck, but once I got use to that it was fine. The zipper on both dresses that I ordered had issues, but we managed to make them work so I could wear them to the wedding I was attending. The dress felt amazing on despite those issues. RTR was an amazing company to deal with and I will gladly rent from them again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 29, 2017
I received numerous compliments on this dress!
The dress perfect. It was comfortable and flattering. I danced the night away!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
January 25, 2017
The dress was perfect! I loved how much it flowed and the high neck!
It was such a great dress and fit fairly true to form. Sometimes I can fit into an 8, but this dress fit me well at a 10. A great dress!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
January 20, 2017
Got so many compliments on this gown - was great for a holiday wedding!
I am 5'9", but I went with the regular length dress because I wore flats and it worked great! My only complaint would be that the cost of the gown after taxes and shipping ended up being quite a bit more than I originally anticipated. But overall a great first experience for me. Thanks RTR!
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
January 19, 2017
I looked and felt amazing!
I got so many compliments on my dress and it was comfortable I didn't want to take it off.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
January 18, 2017
N/A
One of my favorite dresses! I would rent again! Such a great fit for a curvy, busty woman. Tight fit at the waist. Flowy in all the right places.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 17
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
January 15, 2017
fun, flowy prom dress!
I wore this to prom and was comfortable and had a great time dancing. This dress was excellent and I'd recommend this dress or any rent the runway dress to anybody looking for an event outfit! Being able to get two sizes also eased any nervousness about online ordering without trying on. Ordering and shipping and returns were all easy, and I loved getting a very pretty and high quality dress for less than some cheaply made department store gowns. The dress fit well, I loved the flowiness of the skirt and how it cinched my waist. The bottom is just a little sheer, just don't wear black underwear and it isn't a problem! I'm 5'8ish and ordered a regular length because I didn't want to have to wear very tall heels, and it worked out great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
January 14, 2017
Beautiful gown
True to size. Comfortable, not too heavy.
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Other
Age: 25
January 12, 2017
The perfect eye catcher
I rented this dress for my engagement photos because I needed something that stood out, and that allowed me to hide some warm clothing underneath. Normally I would be a size 6 but with the 8L I was able to hide a shirt, thermal pants and hiking boots which is just what I needed for this 15 degree day. The color is awesome and it was extremely comfortable. I couldn't have picked a more perfect dress. (Photo credit: Jonathan Gipaya)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
January 11, 2017
Beautiful, comfortable dress
The dress was gorgeous and the fabric very light which was great since it was an outdoor California wedding. I received many compliments on the color and the fit. I typically wear a size 12 but had to wear the 14R because I have a larger chest (36-38DD). The length was a little long so I had to pick the dress up when I walked to avoid stepping on it. Biggest con with the dress was how difficult the zipper was right along the seams. I had to grease the zipper a couple of times to get it to get past the natural seams in the dress. Overall, absolutely loved this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Weight: 180lbs
January 11, 2017
Long, gorgeous, flowy, dress in a fun, bright color!
I really liked this dress! I wore it to a black tie optional wedding and was very pleased with it. I'd never worn a long gown like this before (let alone rented one), but it worked out perfectly. The heels I wore were probably 3.5-4 inches, which helped with the length of the dress. It's super comfortable, very flowy, and fun to dance in.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
January 11, 2017
Comfortable, flattering dress
I rented this dress for a formal wedding, and was very pleased with the quality, condition, and fit of the dress. I'm 5'6" and was planning on wearing 4" heels, so I had a hard time choosing between the long or regular length. I ended up going with regular, which was about an inch above the ground with my shoes on. I think the long would have draped the floor even with heels. The only downfall was the zipper hung over the bottom part of the waistband when zipping up, so much so that my friend couldn't get it to zip up. My husband had to come and yank it over that section. Aside from that, I loved the dress and felt very comfortable in it all night. It was very flattering for a new mom like me who is adjusting to carrying around a few extra pounds.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
January 6, 2017
Beautiful color, flattering fit!
This dress was amazing! The fit was great, the color was beautiful! This is a dress a would buy and keep as a staple black tie dress. I think it would be flattering on pretty much any body type.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 5, 2017
Stunning color!
Loved the high neckline and empire waist. Got a long and was just the right length with 3 inch shoes.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 41
January 5, 2017
This gown was gorgeous and fit perfectly!!!
Very slimming and hides and trouble areas!!!
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
January 4, 2017
.
I rented this dress in a size 6R and it fit perfectly! I wore it for a New Years Eve wedding and got a lot of compliments. I wore a necklace with it to make it a little fancier but overall loved the dress and definately true to size. Very comfortable to wear as well. Would rent again! Thank you Rent The Runway!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 3, 2017
Beautiful movement in this dress!
The dress does run a little small in the top area around neck/ shoulders, so I'm glad I had a larger back up size. The dress is incredibly flattering and I would recommend to anyone! The material provides amazing movement when you walk and looks great in pictures.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
January 3, 2017
NYE wedding
The petite runs a little long but perfect fit every where else- great for dancing and makes your waist look tiny! I would 100% recommend this dress for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 1, 2017
LOVED IT!!
Beautiful gown! I wore it to my husband's holiday party and loved every minute of wearing it. I felt amazing all night and I received so many compliments. The P length was perfect with 3" heels. The 4P wouldn't quite zip due to my athletic build/wide shoulders but the 6P was perfect. I definitely wanted to keep it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 21, 2016
Stunning!
I loved this dress! This was my first RTR experience, and I couldn't be happier. I wore it for my work Christmas party. It was beautiful, and I felt like a million bucks! I received tons of compliments all night. It was true to size, and the style isn't one that has a ton of give. I am definitely glad I got the 2, it was a perfect fit, but any smaller and it wouldn't have been comfortable. It was very flattering, hour glass and accentuated all the right places. I felt classy and sexy without reveling a lot of skin. I highly recommend it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 19, 2016
I felt like a princess all night.
The dress is classy and the skirt flows greatly while walking and dancing. It was way more comfortable than wearing a cocktail dress (which is/was my usual for such events), and I received plenty of compliments. The 4p would have been perfect for flats, and the 4R was perfect with the 3in heels I wore. I also rented the necklace!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 18, 2016
Flowy feel and lightweight material
I am 6 months pregnant so I got this dress since the waist sits high. I'm normally a 4 but w pregnancy changes (belly/breasts) I wore the 6P. Honestly, I wished I had gotten the 8P because the 6P was pretty tight around my ribs and had to have serious help getting it zipped up. The length was longer than I thought and even with wearing 3" heels. I was sometimes tripping over it (going up stairs). I'm only 5'2" so I'm very glad I read reviews that it runs long. If you're going to order this dress, I'd recommend going 1 size up because as I mentioned, the empire waist line is tight! Either way, I loved how I felt and looked in this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
December 18, 2016
Gorgeous dress!
Felt like a princess! Comfy, flattering, danced all night in this dress. Rented the necklace too, which definitely completed the look. I'm 5'5 so I did wear almost 3 inch heels to not have it drag.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 17, 2016
Red Classic
This dress is stunning! I'm never disappointed with this designer either! Only problem is the top of the dress runs small. If you have a decent sized chest I would suggest going up 1-2 sizes!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 31
December 17, 2016
The dress was gorgeous just like the other reviews I had seen, it had a lot of flow and elegance!
I normally wear a 10, so I ordered a 10L and a 12L at 5'7 and 170 lbs, the 10L was not shipped due to late rewritten from another customer so a replacement was sent. Thankfully the 12L fit well for me, my rib cage is the widest part of me and that is where the tightness was in the dress, hence the "runs small" rating. Overall, I loved this dress and got a ton of compliments throughout the evening!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 195lbs
December 16, 2016
Felt like a princess. The fabric is wonderfully light and flooring. Wish the event had dancing.
Great for curves
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
December 16, 2016
I received repeated compliments all night long! The dress is so much better in person!
The dress definitely runs small! I wore 2 sizes above my normal size (normally a size 10). I rented a 12 and a 14 as a back-up. I ended up wearing the 14 because, even though the 12 fit, it was too snug for my liking. The 14 fit like a glove!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 33

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×