Badgley Mischka

Ruby Red Gala Gown

$70 rental
$740 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get glitzy for the gala in this red stunner by Badgley Mischka. A ruched waist and delicate pleating are an ultra flattering combination to make you feel confident! Layer on the jewels with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace, Cara Accessories’ Gold Dress Me Up Bracelet, and Serpui Marie’s Fireuze Crystal Minaudière.

Also available in green, cobalt and fuchsia.

Also available in sizes 16-22.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Cherry red crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Ruched waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

571 reviews

Fit
Small 92
True to Size 429
Large 8
Photos 445
Marjorie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 7, 2014

Great dress for a black tie wedding!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I'm only 5'2" so I wore 4" heels and it the length was just about perfect. It skimmed the floor just a little. I usually wear a 2 but there's no stretch at all in band around the middle so I had to wear the next size up. So if you're a little broad you may want to size up. Other than that, the dress is perfect!
Jules
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
Aug 25, 2014

I received compliments on this dress all evening!

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was fantastic! I received compliments all night. The red color is so rich and vibrant and matched the gold accessories by Alexis Bittar I rented as well. The fabric was so flowy and it made for great dancing all night. It was little bit long (the regular) for my 5ft 2in for bare feet (let's be honest I kicked those shoes off as soon as possible during the reception) but I LOVED it and would gladly rent it again!
Carissa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 8, 2014

Perfect for this "optional" black tie wedding

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was so lovely. It flowed nicely and the material was light and rich with color (fun to dance in too!). Standing up and down was tricky because I kept stepping on the dress. But that could just be my own clumsiness! I wore a cuff bracelet which you can't see in the pictures. It was a little tight for my rib cage but not a big deal. My height is probably closer to 5' 8" and the 2R was perfect - although my heel height was about 3 inches. I will say there was a little stress the next day about finding a UPS store that was open on Sundays. We had to catch a flight home right in the middle of the day. But finally found one back in our home city with 15 minutes left to closing and it worked out fine. (I recommend planning your drop off location if you are traveling like we were)
Tiffany
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 2, 2015

This dress is gorgeous - I wore it for Christmas photos, and it was the star of our card this year.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It fits true to size, though it's a bit on the long side if you're petite like me. Such a flattering cut, and the color is stunning. Also very comfortable!
KB
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 14, 2015

A perfect black tie dress!

Size worn: 0R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really loved wearing this dress which is even more elegant in person than it looks online. I am 110 lbs, 5'5" and the size 0R was the perfect floor-skimming length with my 3" heels. I was worried as my backup size 2 was unavailable, but it worked out fine. The material and color are gorgeous and the dress doesn't wrinkle at all, even after being shipped. All in all, a great experience which I will absolutely do again! Also love the "extras" RTR sends along like gum, body lotion, etc.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

Beautiful and flattering dress

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I ordered this as a backup dress for my engagement pictures and liked it significantly more than the original dress I intended to wear. It was lightweight, comfortable and very flattering. I am 5'8 and wore a low heel (2 inches, max) and so the regular length worked for me. If I had planned to wear higher heels, I definitely would have needed to order the long.
Lady
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

Comfortable yet sassy

Size worn: 0R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I must say this dress was not my first choice for a Valentine's Day gala, but I had slim pickings when I decided to order somewhat late. The gown enhances a small bust, but it does not highlight your bottom. It is very comfortable to walk, dance, and eat in (without fear of growing a food baby)! Like many RTR reviewers, I received many compliments all night. The dress does run just a tad long, and I wore 3" heels to have the dress skim the ground. The size 0 gown I had sent came with some fabric displaced so the back zipper wasn't fully covered so hopefully that gets repaired prior to the next rental!
Olivia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 18, 2015

I was obsessed with this dress, I mean OBSESSED!! It was perfect and I received tons of compliments!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was spot on. I loved the way it draped and the color was just wonderful! Sorry I just can't say enough about how great it was :)
Dana
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 18, 2015

This is the Perfect Dress!!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rented the 2R and the 4R. The 2R fit good but once I had it on, the strap around the chest started feeling a little tight so I wore the 4 instead. This dress is BEAUTIFUL! I got compliment after compliment. I am a red head and was worried the color would be to much but it wasn't at all. I ended up not wearing a necklace and wearing larger earrings. Felt a necklace took away from the dress. I highly recommend this dress! It is worth the money and I can't say enough nice things about Rent the Runway. Wonderful company & Beautiful dress!
Katie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 18, 2015

I LOVE this color red, so comfortable and fun! I received so many compliments on the dress.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm so glad that I ordered the size larger (8), because I could not zip up the size 6! I had my third baby a year ago, so maybe my ribcage is still expanded, but I thought it was tight around the bra line/ ribcage. I have never worn long, since I'm 5'5, but the 8R was not available, so I wore 5 inch heels and the dress was touching the ground. Overall, super fun dress and I would rent it again!
Stephanie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Feb 20, 2015

This dress was perfect for a pageant farewell. It's classic, bold, and insanely flattering.

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fits true-to-size, except if you're over 5'6" and plan on wearing heels, be sure to opt for long length.
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 23, 2015

This dress was so comfortable and a great true red color!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit true to size. I wore 3" heels and the dress floated just barely above the ground. The zipper takes a little extra effort to get over the band around the waist, but it is not very difficult. I loved this dress!
Sandra
Age: 42
Feb 24, 2015

Efficiency in selecting and renting as well as timely delivery and easy return.

Size worn: 8R
Rented for: Wedding
The fit runs a bit small but once you have the right size it looks awesome. Received lots of compliments.
Megan
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
Feb 24, 2015

Comfy but flattering! The perfect princess dress!

Size worn: 14L
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a Mardi Gras Ball. The top was very fitted but allowed enough room to move, sit, dance, etc. the skirt was super flowing which gave it that process feel. The dress is true to color. It's red with peach undertones. This dress was so comfortable. The picture does not do it justice. I'm even considering renting it in a different color for next year!
Tawni
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142 lbs
Feb 25, 2015

Great dress. Everyone told me that night and are continuing to tell me how beautiful I looked.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. Great to dance in! It was a little bit long but add the right heels and it was fine! So great. Made my night a blast.
Stef
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170 lbs
Feb 28, 2015

Beautiful, elegant dress.

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to an event for the children's heart foundation and loved being in red in a room where everyone wore black. I loved the high neckline and the way the dress flowed. I had a baby 6 months ago and have lost weight, but not all. I didn't need shape wear with this dress and truly felt pretty.
Shelby
Age: 29
Mar 2, 2015

Perfect dress!

Size worn: 8R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Absolutely loved this dress! I went with the 8R for the length which was perfect with flats! Although it was more comfortable I felt the 10R was too long as I'm only 5'5".
Jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 2, 2015

Beautiful gown! Lots of compliments!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! I felt incredible in it, and the way it flowed and moved when I walked was so much fun. I got lots of compliments on the color and the fit. It is very flattering. I think it's pretty true to size. I was surprised how tight it was in the bust, and I'm a 34B! However, it was comfortable and I didn't notice it after about 10-15 mins. I will say, you will need a friend to help zip you up. The zipper is very difficult, especially as it goes up over the part that defines the empire waist in the dress. Also, I heavily debated what length to get, as I am about 5'8", and that's right on the bubble between R and L in the designer recommendations. I am very happy I went with the R, since I wore 2 inch heels. It was just about the perfect length with that height of shoe, which is as high as I want to go for a night of dancing!
Kristen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Mar 2, 2015

Gorgeous dress

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm 5'4 and 128lbs and I wore about 3 inch heels and the dress was a little long but the fit was great. I wore it to a formal charity event. Received a lot of complements!!
Jessica
Age: 39
Mar 4, 2015

Amazing dress! Loved being the lady in red!

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved wearing this dress! It was fun and comfortable. I received several compliments on it through out the night! I would happily rent this dress again!
cleshopaholic
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Mar 6, 2015

I LOVE this dress. The color is great, its incredibly comfortable.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is very fitted in the rib area. So if you are busy, you are going to want to size up. I usually size up to a 10 in dresses anyway, but there was no way the 10 was going to fit. the 12 was a nice fit, slightly large up by the neck and collar bones, but nothing I couldn't work with. I wore it with 3 inch heels, length was not an issue although you do want to hold the bottom while you navigate stairs. Overall, a beautiful color, incredibly comfortable, would order again!
Bonnie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 7, 2015

Gorgeous Dress!!!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a gorgeous dress - the color made it standout, it's super flattering, and I got tons of compliments all night. The top is a bit on the tighter side, so bustier girls should consider going up a size. I wish I had ordered the 6L - the 6R was about 2 inches too short with heels on. Slightly transparent - definitely go with nude underwear! But overall, this was a great choice!!
Lauri
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 9, 2015

The color is spectacular. At an event where everyone wore black, I totally stood out in a good way.

Size worn: 8R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great for a black tie affair. Comfortable, fit perfectly, needed no care after unpacking.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 10, 2015

A little see through and a tricky zipper, but gorgeous!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was one of two people wearing this dress (not on purpose). Only complaints are that the zipper on this dress for both sizes that I received got stuck in between the middle, even though it was a little loose on me. It took another set of hands to get it zipped and I was terrified it would break; also, you wouldn't think it, but it's SEE-THROUGH. You better not plan on having dark undergarments. I tried to wear some dark grey panties and homegirl would've made a fool of herself! Other than that, it was so stunning. It flowed nicely and I got about one million compliments. Highly recommend, especially to bigger chested girls!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Mar 17, 2015

Raving compliments all night long!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fits like a glove. Very comfortable and a beautiful color.
Talia
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Mar 23, 2015

Amazing dress! Everyone loved it! The color stood out without being over powering!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was amazing. I ordered the long since I was going to be wearing heels. It was still too long even with the heels on and then when I took off my shoes I had to hold the dress up to dance. Other then that, the dress fit perfectly! It was comfortable and easy to sit in. A little see through on the bottom but nothing a pair of spandex couldn't take care of. If wearing this in the summer, it is heavy so it might get warm. It photographed great and everyone loved it! I would love to wear it again!
Kathryn
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 25, 2015

I wore this dress to my law school's barrister's ball.

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit beautifully and I felt so elegant wearing it. As a taller woman, this dress (in size 14L) was long enough for me to be able to wear heels. The bright statement color was fun and I loved everything about the dress.
woody1229
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 57
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101 lbs
Mar 26, 2015

I have never gotten so many compliments on my dress in my entire adult life! It made a big impact.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I found out last minute that I was going to the Red and Black Ball for the premiere of Mad Men. I picked out this gown and it got here practically overnight. It fit beautifully -- I am really slim and sometimes O's run too big, so I was glad that it fit with comfy breathing room. I wore 4" heels and am 5'4 1/2; the dress was about 1" too long. I did have an small issue trying not to step on the dress, and other people stepped on it too! I don't know if the petite would have been too short. It was absolutely gorgeous, and the response I have gotten from pics on FB has been nuts. One friend thought I should buy it! I'd re-rent for sure.
Casey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132 lbs
Mar 31, 2015

My first RTR experience was amazing. Dress could not have fit more perfectly!!

Size worn: 4P
Rented for: Formal Affair
The petite length was perfect for me. I would recommend this length for anyone 5'2 and under.
Allie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 31, 2015

This dress was perfect! The high neckline and empire waist give length to petite women.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm short and the regular length worked perfectly with my 3" heels. If I wanted to wear sandals though, a size 4P would be great for you. I have no complaints about the dress--I just wanted to buy it!
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 1, 2015

this dress was perfect for an african safari themed wedding!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore the size 8L in this dress. It fit perfectly and was incredibly flattering. I wore about 4 inch heels with the dress and the bottom of the dress just grazed the floor! Would rent this dress again in a heart beat!
Lauren
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Apr 1, 2015

Lady In Red

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is definitely a head turner. Very classic and very chic. For me, since I am 5'2, I felt that it was a little bit long (even with my highest heels on). I wish they had a petite size that I could have ordered. I felt like I had to pick up the bottom of the dress to walk and not ruin it. Also, some of the other reviews are correct when they say that the zipper is a little bit difficult. My friend had to help me get it up and over where the bra line would clasp. Once you got over that area the zipper was fine. Overall I really liked this dress. I got a lot of compliments on it and I was very happy with my selection.
Lindsey
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Apr 2, 2015

A show stopper!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am very petite, so renting a long dress was a risk. It was long, dragged on the floor all night, but since it was so flowy it didn't really matter that much. The belt was a little tight around my rib cage. Since the rest of it is flowy, I think that measurement should make your decision with what size to go for. The red was not my first choice, but found out I had to go to this event with not much notice. I was got compliments all night and my husband loved it! So happy I stepped out of my comfort zone and did this dress!
Kaitlyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 5, 2015

Perfect for a benefit gala!! It fit like a glove and the fabric moves beautifully.

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
There really isn't any wiggle room with dress so definitely go up a size and up two for your backup!
Melissa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 8, 2015

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was complimented all night. It fit perfectly in the size I am used to wearing. I also rented the necklace that is shown with it and that went perfectly as well. Very happy with the dress!
Liz
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Apr 9, 2015

Beautiful color!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit! Very flattering. It was a little tough to zip up in the back around the waist but that was true whether it was on me or the hanger. I wore 3 inch heels and the length was perfect. Very low maintenance dress and it was easy to move around in. Perfect for dancing!
Stephanie
Age: 24
Apr 10, 2015

Everyone loved the dress!

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit perfect!! I am 5'7 and got a 4 R and wore flats with it because it was the perfect length and did not want to wear heels !
Jessi
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

Very comfortable all night!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
When I first started looking at Rent The Runway I was really nervous to commit to it. This dress was actually my second choice because by the time I went to order it the other one was all gone in my size. The dress was the perfect length with my small heels and even when i had my flats on for the dance it did fine. The only con was that i was hoping to be able to wear a bra with it and couldn't because you could see it at the arm holes. I got many compliments all night even though it isn't your typical Prom dress. One friend of mine informed me that i looked sophisticated like the first lady. It was comfortable to dance in all night and didn't get too hot. I didn't want to send it back and will be watching to see if it ever is for sale!
Kate
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

Flowed beautifully and looked fabulous against his dress blues!

Size worn: 10R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Standing up and sitting frequently (up down up) was difficult. Dress would get caught under my shoes and chair. Excellent to dance in.
Kathryn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

Great color and perfect for a formal event!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely would rent this dress again! I loved how flowy it looked when it was on and covered up my "problem areas." The color is definitely a bright red which looked great with my pale skin and blond hair. The other problems I had was the zipper was very difficult to get up past the waist band and the waistband and area around my neck were tight. Due to the tightness I ended up wearing the 8 instead of the 6. I also originally ordered the long since I'm fairly tall, but since I don't enjoy wearing heels the dress was too long. The regular was perfect on me with flat sandals!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×