Ray of Light Dress

$73 to buy
$415 retail
Stylist Notes

You shine in your sassy Badgley Mischka one shouldered little number. Rock the bow, and your fav pumps and don’t be afraid to steal the show! Go with a blingtastic bangle set like the Chamak's Imperial Crystal Bangle Set.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout dress - pleated and thick fabric helps to conceal midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt is slightly narrow but material has stretch
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9''. )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout dress - pleated and thick fabric helps to conceal midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt is slightly narrow but material has stretch
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9''. )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Yellow shantung. One shoulder neckline with petal at shoulder. Ruched skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
58 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(42)
Small
(16)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
June 6, 2011
This dress is a bit darker than pictured, but a gorgeous color, and a very flattering cut. It's a heavy, textured silk with gathers across the center. It was very flattering and forgiving, and so much fun to wear! I wore it to an evening wedding, paired with The Secret Garden cuff, and got so many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 10, 2011
The dress!
This dress was phenomenal. I wore it to an evening outdoor wedding and it was a hit. The quality of the dress is excellent, and you would never know this since the fabric is very thick, but the fabric is actually stretchy so it is not restrictive when you sit or dance. The way the fabric gathers over the tummy area is very flattering. I ordered an 8 and a 10. I have thighs so I went with the 10 but could have worn the 8 had I realized sooner that the fabric stretches. If you have blonde hair like I do, you will look like sunshine in this dress. Some of the other reviews said the dress is darker than pictured...it is in person but the pictures I took made it look a beautiful vibrant yellow. Highly recommend! Loved my first RTR experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
July 1, 2011
Great dress!! I was kind of sad to have to return it. Like someone else said in the reviews, the fabric on the dress is really stretchy, so you never really feel restricted and it's flattering in general.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
July 11, 2011
I loved this dress! I wore it to a summer wedding in Chicago. Like others said, the skirt portion is quite tight, so I ended up wearing the back-up Size 8 instead of the Size 6 I had ordered. The fabric is stretchy and very forgiving. And - the color is a little darker than in the picture. I received SO many compliments and LOVED wearing this dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
July 19, 2011
the color is much prettier in person!! hugged all my curves in the right places. size up in backup if very curvy! loved it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
August 3, 2011
This dress is so sexy! I have dark hair and had a nice tan at the time, but it was so flattering. I had the brightest dress on at a wedding, and I felt so confident in it! I ordered the 8 because I have big hips and bum, and it was a little snug but still fit nicely. It would have been more comfortable in 10 (which is my normal size), and the lining seemed to want to ride up quite often. Other than that, it's gorgeous-fabric, color, and style. If you're more curvy, stick to your normal size, and it will absolutely get attention.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
June 8, 2011
I loved this dress. I wore it to an outdoor wedding. The dress was very flattering and fun to wear!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 28, 2011
Sunny Summer Wedding
This a beautiful dress in a gorgeous color. I felt that it ran a bit small though, but perhaps I'm just not used to wearing extremely form-fitting dresses. I'm normally a 6, but wore the 8. Got a lot of compliments regardless.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
December 1, 2011
I wore this dress to a spring wedding, and got compliments all night! I told everyone how much I love RTR!
I wore this dress to a wedding, and it was a hit! I ordered my size, and a size up, and my size fit just fine. The material is nice and thick-it holds everything in, so no Spanx needed!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 18, 2012
Very flattering
I LOVED this dress. I normally wear a size 2 but it was just a little too snug. The size 4 fit way better. I wore this to a wedding Labor Day weekend at a vineyard in California. It was absolutely perfect!!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 23, 2012
Shiny and New
This is a really great dress! It does run a tad small, so I would do the back up dress incase. Super simple dress design, the bow on the arm is BIG so be ready accessorize accordinly.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 2, 2012
Smokin hot!
I rented this for my engagement party with the intention of standing out, and I DID! I could tell immediately when I zipped it up that I was wearing designer clothing. Forgiving fabric, but still rather snug. I am a 2 or 4 waist up and typically a 6 or 8 in the butt and legs (unpropotional I know). But somehow the 6 in this dress fit magically. I m tall and was just the right length, hit two or so inches above my knees. I was very happy with my experience and I will be a returning customer!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
May 5, 2012
Perfect!
I wore this to an outside wedding and it was perfect. Couldn't be happier with the rtr experience. Everyone loved the dress, it was a hit! I usually wear an 8 but the fabric wasn't forgiving enough around the hips so I went up a size for comfort.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
June 10, 2012
Fantastic dress
I rented for a freinds' wedding. This dress fit me like a glove and I received tons of compliments. The color was great for a summer wedding and I loved the detail on the shoulder. Fantastic dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
June 22, 2012
Classy & Sexy
This dress was perfect for a summer wedding. The fabric stretches well so the dress really hugged my curves. I wore the larger size 6 but the smaller size 4 would've worked for a night out with the girls. I would rent this dress again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132lbs
August 20, 2012
I received tons of compliments and loved the perfect fit of the dress <3
Beautiful dress. Very flattering. I thought the shoulder piece might be awkward but it actually looked great. I got tons of compliments on the bright yellow color. Would definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 4, 2012
Renting from RTR is always an easy and enjoyable experience! I received many compliments on my dress that night!
I absolutely loved this dress. I thought that the fit of the dress reflected other reviews and was generally true to size (although often a "true to size" 0 is too big on me so this could mean the dress runs slightly small.) The color is much more beautiful in person, more of a golden yellow than a lemon yellow. The bow is lovely and not too big. I did have some trouble with the lining twisting and riding up and if I owned the dress I definitely would have had it hemmed an inch or two but neither of those things were even close to being a deal breaker! I felt great in the dress and got a ton of compliments! I would definitely recommend renting this for your next event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 11, 2012
Having the bride tell me that this dress was exactly what she imagined her bridesmaids wearing, but could not find.
I wore this dress for a wedding last fall and it was such a huge hit! It was comfortable, forgiving, and SO fun. The color is vibrant but more of a golden-yellow color. The fabric was pretty stretchy so towards the end of the night it was a little looser than when I first put it on, but I definitely still feel that it ran close to true to size. Loved the RTR service so much, I've been anxiously waiting another opportunity to rent!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 12, 2012
N/A
Literally one of my favorite things I've ever worn. Fits true to size. Very structured and flattering. Rich yellow color. Looked good on my super pale skin and light red hair...who knew I could wear yellow.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 17, 2012
This was so easy to do and I have never gotten so many compliments as I did in this dress!
The fit is pretty true to size and the fabric is really pretty. The rouching on the side is very flattering, and I love the neckline. I felt so amazing in this dress, and I hardly met anyone who did not comment on what a unique dress it was. If you want to stand out in a crowd, this dress will definitely do it for you.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 19, 2012
I was a head-turner!
I wore this dress to a wedding and it was a winner. The dress had good stretch to accommodate my generous hips :-). It was, however, a wee bit shorter than I intended to go so I kept having to pull it down from time to time. Nevertheless, I think it is a great shade of gold/yellow and a solid rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
October 1, 2012
The color is fantastic!
Obsessed with the one shoulder look last year so I rented this for a party. Got lots of compliments on the color and styling (I wore it with a silver oxydized necklace and cuff). Fit around the bust and midsection really well, but was a little snug in the hips. Wear it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
November 11, 2012
This dress was awesome. Everyone loved it. I really stood out, since the wedding colors were dark.
No cons. The size 0 fit perfectly!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 116
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
February 20, 2013
I felt beautiful in this dress!
The dress fit perfectly, true to size. The construction is top notch, it never gathered in the wrong place, was flattering in the mid-section. The fabric looks like it might need ironing, but it does not- the lines in the fabric are meant to be there. I used some steam to take out the wrinkles (from being packed in a suitcase). I got tons of compliments in this dress and it helped make me feel beautiful. After wearing a great dress and getting tagged in it on Facebook, I'm glad to "retire" the dress. RTR is perfect for special occasions! Thank you RTR!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 2, 2013
Loved this dress! Got SO many compliments!
This dress is even better in person. It was so comfortable. The fabric has a little stretch to it which was nice. It is pretty form fitting. In a sea of black dresses I stood out in my bright fun yellow dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 13, 2012
I got sooooo many compliments on this dress! It was beautiful and so comfortable
Went great with my gold shoes!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 22, 2013
Tons of complements, fits great, very figure flattering
love the dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 29, 2013
Great dress for a wedding and "high tea"
This is a great dress! I wore it twice in one weekend, once to a wedding and once to a tea party. The color is amazing, even prettier than in the picture. Go a size up if you have boobs. It was a little tricky zipping the 2 up around my chest.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
May 31, 2013
This was definitely a stand-out dress at the wedding, the color was perfect.
While the fabric was forgiving, I had to size up due to my chest. Still looked great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
June 3, 2013
Perfect For A Summer Wedding
I wore this dress for a June wedding and it was perfect! The color is a bright, taxi-cab yellow (not pale). The ruching at the waist is very strategic--it lets you eat and drink without fear! The shoulder bow makes this dress look modern and dramatic. I dressed it up with a bright red lip and red nail polish.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
July 10, 2013
When the bride says she couldn't take her eyes off the stunning color, you know you have a winner.
The color is eye catching - not sunlight or neon, but a bright warm yellow/gold hue. The fit is standard, the fabric has a nice structured fit with a little bit of give. I was worried that the shoulder fabric was going to be floppy or sloppy looking, and not the case at all. It was stiff enough to stay put together but not to the point that it was constantly in your vision. A+ on this dress, it was perfect for the San Antonio summer wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
September 5, 2013
Love the color.
Cute dress - very fitted but true to size. Ended up wearing the back up dress I ordered instead since it was more comfortable. But would definitely rent again - just need to wear Spanx!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 18, 2013
Loved the dress!
Fit great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 15, 2014
Amazing customer service, but I couldn't wear it.
I was unable to wear this rental because it arrived with a small stain on the rear. RTR tried to overnight me a replacement however logistically it wasn't possible. I will say that it is an amazing dress. Hugs all of curves in the right places and you wont even need spanx.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
March 30, 2014
The color is so much better in person!!
I was skeptical because I had to wear yellow for an event and as a blonde, yellow doesn't normally look good on me. If I could buy this dress I would have because it's the best yellow dress I have ever seen on a blonde. It's the perfect shade and the photo does not do it justice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
May 11, 2014
Fits perfectly and hugged my curves!
I have big hips and booty, this dress is perfect for pears!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 17, 2014
I felt like a celebrity in this dress! Loved my first RTR experience.
The dress fit small and I would have preferred the 6, but the 4 fit too and was a more vibrant yellow then the 6.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
September 15, 2014
This dress was the perfect combination of classy and sexy!
The dress fit perfectly! I'm usually somewhere between a 4 and 6 so I got both. Both dresses fit and could've been worn, but the 4 hugged in all the right places and was ultimately more flattering. The yellow is bright, but the color and the material make it completely tasteful and attention grabbing. I LOVED this dress! Due to the multitude of pictures I took in it I can't wear it again, but I entirely wish I could!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 3, 2014
My Best Friend's Wedding!!!
Loooooved it!! This was my first time with Rent the Runway and I've been recommending this site to everyone since!! I was the maid of honor for the wedding, and this was the perfect dress. The color was truly beautiful, not mustardy, more of a golden yellow; definitely a deeper shade of yellow than pictured. The size 2 ran a little tight, definitely size up as your 2nd option. Material was also high quality, the texture was like raw silk but still had some stretch. It was so easy to wear, very flattering with the rouching in the stomach area. The shoulder detail was so cute! I received several compliments for having such a flattering and unique dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 11, 2014
I really wanted to like this dress, but I just couldn't
The dress wasn't as yellow, more orange-y, in person. The material was very stiff and not stretchy at all. It definitely runs small. I so wanted this one to work for me, but it didn't. I am short-waisted and that may have been part of it.
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×