Rent the Runway

Badgley Mischka

Orion Sequin Orbit Sheath

$40 rental
$995 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rent the ultimate party dress by rocking this Badgley Mischka sequin sensation! New Years, birthdays, cocktail events, dinner parties, ladies this is your dress! Pair with fab accessories like the Badgley Mischka's Crystal Cluster Earrings.

Also available in cream.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Fitted - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Not fitted - generous fit at waist
HIPS: Very Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Fitted - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Not fitted - generous fit at waist
HIPS: Very Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy silk georgette with silver paillette embroidery. Crew neckline. 3/4 length bell sleeves with elastic hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35" from shoulder to hem. Imported

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

538 reviews

Fit
Small 178
True to Size 329
Large 19
Photos 292
jacscott
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 121 lbs
Dec 5, 2013

Beware curvier girls!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'd been eyeing this dress in my Shortlist for quite some time. I ordered it in anticipation to wear to my annual Nutcracker outing, wherein me and my mom or me and my friends dress up in black tie/opera regala and go out on the town for a night. Unfortunately, I was unable to wear this dress. I am a true size 8 and was blessed with curvier hips and thighs. This dress style is more of a sheath style that runs straight down - perfect for girls who are straight up and down or with slight curves. The 8 was snug in the hips and thighs, but big in the chest/abdomen area. I called RTR immediately upon receipt of the dress and Katie was SO helpful in finding me a replacement. I probably gave her a headache in the process of trying to nail down my style/what I was going for in shopping for a dress, but we did narrow it down to one that she found to be AVAILABLE in time for my event!! This just shows you how impeccable RTR's customer service is. They are willing to work with you because they WANT your evening to be memorable. Hopefully with my new dress it will be memorable but so will RTR's impeccable, top notch customer service.
Margie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 9, 2013

This Dress Runs true to size. However, It has no give so if your a bit larger on the top size up!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was not able to wear this dress and wore my back up. The material does not stretch at all so it was quite tight on the top for a 36D. It looked tight and I would not have been comfortable hugging people and didn't want to pull the dress in that area. However, everything else about the dress was great and I will probably order again for another event in a bigger size!
Kelli
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
Dec 11, 2013

Unique dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was a little bit more conservative than I thought it would be, but overall a pretty dress and very unique. I wish the color was a little brighter (its a bit more navy than bright blue) but its definitely classy and fun and different! Dress runs true to size, although I'd say for people with wider hips they should stay away from the dress or size up.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 19, 2013

Great Dress - Lots of Sparkle

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for an formal wedding being held in a Museum. I received TONS of complements all night!! It fit just a bit snug in the the arm/shoulder area for my taste - but it was not bothersome that night and was a dress I could easily move and dace in. Would highly recommend for someone looking for a short sparkly dress that is a little on the formal side :)
Claudia M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 27, 2013

Love the style. It's great for parties.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It runs small. Order one size bigger. It looks like a loose dress but it's tight from waist down.
Mary Christine
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 28, 2013

Great dress for a winter wedding

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fit really well and was definitely true to size. Perfect for my first rent the runway experience!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 30, 2013

Very pretty but did not wear it

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wanted to love this dress but unfortunately it was too tight through the hips and RTR did not have my back-up size. However, it's very pretty in person and would have been perfect for NYE! Despite the disappointment the RTR customer service is truly top-notch. They were able to overnight me a replacement dress that was perfect.
Aleyna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Jan 5, 2014

LOVE!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress!! It was soo beautiful and I got a lot of compliments on it! :)
Lianaya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 10, 2014

Great NYE dress! Very beautiful and sparkly!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I would have given the dress five stars, but the only issue with the dress for a 5'3 gal is that it is a bit long. The dress is a perfect length on the model. The fit though was great. It was easy to wear, no special bra or panty. It was comfortable and really fun!
Nikki
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Jan 10, 2014

Great Wedding Dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a formal beach wedding that I attended in Oct. down in Asbury Park. The dress fit me great, and ran pretty true to size, although the top of the arms was a BIT tight. Pretty flattering dress, and photographed awesome. I got a bunch of compliments on this dress....it was actually the second time I rented it, as I got it as a backup dress a few months earlier, and chose the wear the other one, but still really liked the way it looked.
Kelley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 11, 2014

Fun and comfortable

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
My husband gave me a "wow!" for this dress and wanted me to buy it. It's not fitted in most places, but it was pretty snug around the bottom, which is good, because it is quite short. I was told by another woman that it made my but look extra perky. It was a very fun, sparkly dressy that felt classy and stood out in a crowd.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 14, 2014

Sparkly Dress - Great for a Dressy Occassion

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for my Rehearsal Dinner. One of my bridesmaids (also pictured) wore the Carmen Marc Valvo dress. I had originally planned to wear the CMV dress and she was going to wear this dress. But when they arrived, this dress was too short for her (she is 5'10''). So we switched and it worked out perfect. The sparkles gave me an extra pizazz on the day before my BIG DAY! Dress fit well. Some evidence of wear and tear on the sequins/sparles. Some strings hanging. Not the easiest dress to sit in bc of the short, tight fit, but overall I was happy with it. Loved the bell sleeves and recieved lots of compliments.
Sonia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Jan 15, 2014

Dress was pretty but did not fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered this dress as a backup to the white version that I saw by the same designer. My size is 2, and I wanted to order a size 0, but it was not available in white so I got this blue one in its place. It said on the website that it ran on the larger side. When I received it, I found I actually liked the blue color better than the white, but the size 0 was just a tiny bit too small - if I had ordered a 2 it would have fit perfectly.
Pattywak
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Jan 20, 2014

The dress was a hit at our holiday party!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great fit, very comfortable
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Jan 20, 2014

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a evening wedding in NYC this past weekend. The original dress I'd ordered didn't fit and the stylist got this one to me within 24 hrs! I am usually a 6, but found the 8 gave me a little more breathing room. The dress was a beautiful blue and so pretty with all the silvery sequence detail. I received TONS of compliments and think I even persuaded a few friends to try RTR! Once again, great experience!!
Tonii
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 22, 2014

too small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
too small in waist and bust
Wendy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 24, 2014

No give in the hips.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress; however, I couldn't wear either the 6 or the 8. The 6 was too tight through the waist and hips. The eight fit snugly through those areas, but was also loose in the shoulders. It was disappointing, since it is such a beautiful dress; however, the stylist at RTR was able to quickly send me other options.
Katalin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 11, 2014

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The details on the dress are breathtaking. Great, sleek style. If you have great legs, it's a must have for you!
Rach
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 11, 2014

Great, Comfortable Dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Got lots of compliments, and no one was wearing anything like it. It was the perfect length for me; short, but balanced well with the sleeves & high neck. It was a fun dress to wear, nice quality, and I would recommend it. Only negative: very fitted around hips, but a little baggy in mid section. Sometimes it would bunch a little, but overall really happy!
Rachelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 12, 2014

GORGEOUS (but tight fit!)

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was AMAZING!!!!! I can't believe I don't have a single picture of it. But I loved it so much I plan on renting it again for a different event. It does run very tight. I had to wrap my body in Spanx just to get into it. For both the 6 and the 4. I ended up with the 4 because once I squeezed into it, the 6 was too baggy on top.
Rhonda
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 18, 2014

I wore this dress to the Bruno Mars concert in Las Vegas.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I'm so glad I was able to see how the dress looked on others. If I had only seen in on the hanger, I would have never even tried it on. It looked very shapeless and maybe even kind of matronly. But once it was on, it took on another life and looked fantastic. It did fit rather tight in the booty. I tried to pull it up over my hips first but no go. Had to go over the head and shimmy it down. Once it was all in place, there was no wiggle room at all. I thought the length was great but I was in a dark theatre most of the night so I wasn't too concerned about it riding up. If I was at a more formal affair, I might have been more concerned. Overall, this was a good choice for me.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175 lbs
Feb 19, 2014

loved it. sparkled, but not crazy.

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
true to size. short, but i'm short.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 20, 2014

Wore the cream color of this dress instead. Great fit

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress, sexy and fits great!
Krystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Feb 23, 2014

Compliments from friends and strangers!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress, obviously expensive, unique, and comfortable for moving around/sitting/dancing/etc.! Can be worn by different body types!
Kelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 2, 2014

Recommend Dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a size 4-6 but had to wear a size 6 in this dress because it fits very tight around the hips and but, so if you are more curvy like me I would get a size larger just for this reason. It was a looser than I would like in the waist because I had to go up a size but was hardly noticeable. Great dress overall, was not too short and was easy to dance in for the wedding I was at.
becca
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 2, 2014

LOVE this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is amazing. It has the perfect amount of sparkle, is form fitting, yet classy. I adored this dress, and wish I could own it! It is so flattering, and I got compliments all night long. GORGEOUS!
Erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 3, 2014

Gorgeous dress with some flaws

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered this dress for my 30th birthday celebration in NYC. The dress is very pretty and I really liked it. The size 10 fit my well but I thought the dress would be looser, more of a shift dress, but it wasn't. I tried the 12 on and it was looser but looked like it didn't fit. The dress that I received had sequins hanging off, and the lining inside was hanging out past the dress , so I had to keep adjusting it. All in all it is a gorgeous dress and I felt great in it!
Lyndsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Mar 4, 2014

Dress was comfortable! But looked way better on model than me!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear sz 4. I loved how the 4 fit, but it was WAY too short. If i lifted my arms the dress would expose everything!! I ended up wearing the 6. Didn't love the fit, but liked it. It was a lot longer than the 4. It was cute, I liked it but didn't love it!
Jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 5, 2014

Memorable dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The only reason this dress gets 4 stars instead of 5 is because I didn't receive the backup size that I was supposed to get. I LOVED this dress. The 12 was kind of big, but since I didn't have the 10 I didn't have any options. This dress is classy and super comfortable. It's a little worn (hence the $30 rental) with missing sequins, so if it was a super polished event I probably wouldn't have worn the dress. Photographs well, and I loved wearing navy.
Yibai
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 5, 2014

Loved the sparkles - perfect for a winter formal!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Some of the beads were coming a little bit loose, but not too noticeable from a distance. The blue was less bright than I would have expected from the picture. For girls with wider hips, beware that this dress is pretty fitted around the hips and butt.
Krystal
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 126 lbs
Mar 6, 2014

It just did not fit right.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
the dress was stunning, but i couldn't wear it cause it didn't fit right. i got a size 4 and a size 6. the size 4 was extremely tight around my legs and hips area but had a weird fit on the top. Then i tried the size 6 on and it fit perfectly around my hips, but then it was WAY to loose on the top. The dress was literally folding over because there was so much extra material on the top. I wish the dress could have fit properly. I had to straight away go and buy a brand new dress last minute.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 6, 2014

Didn't wear

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't wear as it was tight around the bottom. Beautiful dress!
misty
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 9, 2014

This dress runs really small. I normally wear a 4/6 and the 8 in this dress was tight.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Unfortunately I did not love this dress. I really wanted to, but the fit was awkward. It was too tight at the bottom, too loose on the top and I felt like the dress twisted all night. Plus, whenever I walked the sequin mesh layer would ride up, revealing the lining underneath.
Sue
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 198 lbs
Mar 10, 2014

Nice that I got a credit even though nothing fit.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Never got to wear it runs small & short.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 12, 2014

Beautiful ... but a little tight in the bottom

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was absolutely gorgeous! True to color with great shine. Only problem was the it was really tight around my big thighs and butt, but loose around my smallish bust. This resulted in a fair amount of bunching in the mid section (granted, I've also put on a good amount of weigh since I had shoulder surgery a few months ago). Will definitely order again... after I'm back down to a size 4.
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Mar 16, 2014

Sparkly and pretty, perfect for a girl's night out.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my friend's birthday party/girl's night out. It was very sparkly and comfortable. It was a little tighter then I would have liked but it fit nice. I received many compliments.
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Mar 18, 2014

Really cute dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I found that because of my curves, this dress was too tight on my hips and too loose around my stomach. I think that having a less curvy body type would be ideal for this dress!
Martha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 18, 2014

Really nice!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Felt like I was the best dressed!! Wore this for a Christmas party and it definitely lit me up like the tree. Lots of compliments and my man couldn't keep his eyes off me. If you have great legs this is the dress for you.
Mary-Margaret
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 21, 2014

Go With Your Gut Size Wise

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was kind of surprised with how this dress fit based off of other reviews, and what RTR recommended for me. I usually hover between a 4 and a 6, but everything said the dress would run small, and RTR recommended ordering a 6 and an 8. I was drowning in navy blue sparkle in the 8, and the 6 didn't fit quite right either. I'm fairly hippy, and even though the material doesn't give, I had plenty of room. I'm small chested, and the extra fabric ended up bunching weirdly over my stomach. I wish it had been a bit snugger, and the 6 was plenty long enough. The dress is still gorgeous, and I got a lot of compliments. It may have just not been made for my body type.
Ruba
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 24, 2014

Sparkly dress for a work holiday party

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress - wore a belt with it and it looked great. Very sparkly and stood out among a sea of solid black dresses.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×