Forbidden Territory Gown

$70 rental
$935 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Gorg-a-rama! Feel like the ultimate Bond girl in this stunning gown by Badgley Mischka - it's the perfect pick for your next black tie affair. Shown here with the Elizabeth Cole's Jet Ombre Bacall Earrings.
Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% Viscose). Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Straight skirt with side ruching and front slit. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
824 reviews
Fit
Large51
True to Size561
Small83
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185lbs
December 4, 2015
Beautiful dress
I am a true size 14, the 12L could zip up but the 14 fit looser and since the dress has a tendency to be warm, the 14L was more comfortable. I am 5'9" and the length was good even with 4 inch heals. I live in South Florida and even in December it can be hot and the dress was a little warm, not too bad. The dress has a lot of draping. There is extra fabric that is draped around the skirt part. It is a sophisticated look and will hide any imperfections. The shoulders were a little wide but it could be that I wore the larger size. I wore a strapless bra with jeweled straps attached so they peeped out. The dress does not photograph well as it photographs like a big black thing. Mostly my hat made the statement at this fundraiser.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 3, 2015
Great dress for a fall evening outdoor wedding
This dress has a beautiful and flattering fit. The fabric is heavy, which was nice for a chilly outdoor wedding on a fall evening. If you are average height or taller and plan to wear heels, definitely opt for the long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 2, 2015
Not worn too small.
Too tight.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 39
December 1, 2015
Very elegant!
Fit true to size for me. Slimming and forgiving with lots of stretch. Felt sexy without showing a lot! Perfect backdrop for beautiful jewelry.
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
November 30, 2015
Can I buy this dress?!
Loved this dress. I was surprised by how heavy it was but overall it was a great dress. The rouching on the front hung low on me. I thought it would cover my tummy but it was right underneath my stomach so I threw on some Spanx and covered it up. The dress was great, kept me warm all night in an outside wedding in South Carolina. Would definitely rent again. Dress fit nicely, probably could have gone down a size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
November 30, 2015
It worked.
This dress fit really well and would have been perfect if it was in fact the longer length that I asked for. I wound up having to wear the dress with flats (thankfully I brought sparkly black flats with me) otherwise with heels it would have been way too short.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 16
November 29, 2015
This dress was comfortable and looked great! I received many compliments all night long!
Pay attention to the length and buy shoes accordingly. I am 5,7". The 12L was perfect in 4" heels but the 10L was too short from the start. Otherwise great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
November 29, 2015
Comfort and elegance, loved it.
I am 5'5" and the L was WAY to long, but so beyond beautiful with the "train"... I also received the 10L but it seemed like someone shrunk it, the difference between the two sizes was so drastic and unusual. So I wore the 12L which was a little large around the arms.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 28, 2015
Multiple compliments on the dress
The dress was a little heavy and a little awkward. It was true to size for me. Hour glass shape, 36DD. 5'3" 150lbs. The extra fabric made me look extra hippy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 28, 2015
loved this, received many compliments. simple and sexy
Loved the way this dress fit. I am curvy and dont like to accentuate but this dress made me feel great
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 24, 2015
LOVE this dress! I received endless compliments all night! Classy yet sexy!
The fabric was comfortable and not too heavy. I ordered a long because I was wearing 6 inch heels and it perfectly swept the floor. Felt gorgeous and sexy in this dress. Would definitely rent again! Felt the dress ran true to size!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
November 24, 2015
Great dress
I wasn't crazy about the draping on the hip area. It added more bulk to my hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
November 23, 2015
great basic black dress
i really like the dress it was nice ... but it was a bit short which was odd because i am short at 5'4" tall
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
November 23, 2015
I got soo many compliments on this dress. It was conservative with just the right amount of sexy.
It hid my problem areas and accentuated my curves. I wish I could afford to buy it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
November 23, 2015
Great dress!
Originally rented the 12 & 14 but the 14 was unable to get delivered. Luckily the 12 fit - but almost wish I had the 10 to try as well. The dress was great and I received a lot of compliments on it! My only complaint was that it was a bit big in the arms, which I think might've not been the case for the 10. I was very pleased though and was able to dance and eat without feeling uncomfortable. Rented the 12R and wore 3inch heels - perfect length!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
November 22, 2015
Felt so beautiful!!
I absolutely LOVE this dress!!! The fit was perfect and I felt so beautiful in it. I ordered a 10 L and a 12 L, I am usually about a 12 in dresses but I went with the 10 L because I liked the fit better. The return was quick and easy, I would definitely recommend RTR and will absolutely use them again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
November 22, 2015
Dress drapes really well, but the long size left something to be desired
I fit much better in the 6L, but the dress was not long enough. It barely skimmed the ground so wearing even a low heel would look ridiculous. The 8L fit great in terms of length (I wore a kitten heel), but the overall fit was not nearly as good as the smaller size. It was just a little too big and didn't hug my body the way the dress was intended to. The dress itself is really beautiful though and the fabric draped well... just maybe consider the length if you are around my height and weight.
sadeJanuary 13, 2016
Hi, What is your height?
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
November 20, 2015
So comfy
When I first received the dress, I tried it on and didn't love it. The draping is much more than the original picture shows. Once I tried on the dress with hair and makeup I loved it more, but it wasn't as slimming as I'd hoped. The slit was perfect, and definitely glad I got the long after reading reviews. I wore this to a formal event at the end of November and didn't need a shawl. The material isn't as heavy as many have said, it's very comfortable, light and stretchy. The 12 was too big and I think the 10 could've been tighter but looks wise you can't tell. Overall this was the perfect choice, compliments all night! My first #RTR experience, definitely will rent from here again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 19, 2015
Great dress - comfortable and flattering
I rented the 4R with the 6R as backup. The 4R fit well; it was a little big in the shoulders so I do wish I had tried the 2R as backup. Many people said the dress ran short, but even with heels, I thought the dress was just a touch long. The dress was very flattering and comfortable; I have a slight tummy but did not feel like I needed to wear spanx or suck my stomach in; the draping did a nice job with the stomach area. Overall, this was a great experience and I'd definitely rent again (and would even consider getting this dress again.)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 19, 2015
It was pretty and comfortable but it didn't wow me like some others I have rented
Heavy material better for winter events
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 44
November 18, 2015
Shipment was received on time and and it looked fantastic! Loved it!!! Will definitely rent again!
I rented the dress for a formal work event. I received 2 dresses but my size (6R) fit true to size. It is form fitting, but stretchy and the length was perfect for my height (5'6"). I wore it with 3 1/2 in strappy heels. I wore the dress all evening and it was super comfortable. I am still hearing compliments today about the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 200lbs
November 18, 2015
Beautiful modest dress with a sexy twist!
Dress fit well though it has a weird mesh slip underneath that only goes down past your bum and leave some lines. I had to keep pulling the slip down so it didn't bunch up around the waist. I was able to wear spanx with it, just had to hike up the side where the dress slit exposed the leg. Overall, I really enjoyed wearing this gown!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 53
November 17, 2015
Honoring my daughter at this gala and being very comfortable in this dress.
This is an excellent sight...I will definitely use it again if the need arises and will definitely let other people know if they need a dress. Very convenient and affordable. Awesome experience.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 17, 2015
Elegant for a fall/winter wedding
First, the wardrobe package that the dresses arrived in had a jammed zipper and did not unzip all the way. It was annoying to negotiate the bag with a jammed zipped. I ordered the dress in a 0R and 2R. The 0R I received had a defect in that for some reason, the back of the dress was shorter than the front of the dress. It was also too short for my 5'5 height. So, if you're ordering a ), I would recommend 0L if you are 5'5 and over. The 0R fit my bust and hip area perfectly, and I probably would have worn it anyway, but the asymmetrical defect was just too much. I had to go with the 2R. The 2R was actually perfect for my height and hit my 3inch heels perfectly. The problem was that the sleeves, the bust area, and the hip area were now too big on me. The rouching in the hips made my butt look lumpy. If I had the dress in a 0L, I probably would have been a lot happier. The wedding I went to was on a boat for the cocktail hour. It kept me pretty warm without a coat.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 17, 2015
Loved this dress!!!
I loved this dress!!! The whole process with RTR was seamless and pleasant. The dress came on time and was clean with no wrinkles. I'm so glad I ordered two sizes, I ended up wearing the 6L. I would order a size down if you're in doubt just to make sure it fits snug enough to flatter your curves! I loved the ruching - placement was perfect to hide what you want hidden and accentuate what you want accentuated! I paired it with simple black strap heels and an ear cuff with chain to a stud on exposed ear. I was extremely comfortable the whole night and received a lot of compliments on the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 195lbs
November 17, 2015
Didn't wear. Too short!
The dress actually fit great and true to size everywhere except length. I ordered the L knowing I would be wearing heels. I am 5'8". The dress I received hit my ankles in bare feet and very obviously been altered by a previous RTR customer. Sad, because the dress is beautiful!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 19
November 16, 2015
Loved this dress!! Kept getting told I was rocking a Khloe Kardashian look.
The dress fits fairly short, I am 5'8 and should have rented the long. The material is extremely forgiving and I felt very comfortable wearing it for hours during the evening, also due to this forgiving material I found that it ran big and I sized down
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 191lbs
November 16, 2015
Beautiful dress. Would rent again
It fit perfect. Was a lifesaver as I am up and down in size. I wore it to my daughters wedding and got many compliments
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
November 16, 2015
This was a really great dress - super comfortable!
This dress was very flattering. It was form fitting but not too tight, sexy but not revealing, and kept me warm in the chilly building. The best way to describe this dress is understated elegance. Great with a statement necklace or earrings!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
November 16, 2015
I felt glamorous with a hint of sexiness - it was perfect!
The 8L fit my curvy body amazingly but someone had either altered the 8L or it was not truly the long because it barely hit my ankles! I ended up wearing the 10L and although it was roomier and not as form fitting, it was long enough and I felt stunning! I got millions of compliments on the dress and I felt beautiful in it, especially on the dance floor dancing with my husband! In love with this dress and the night it gave me!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 16, 2015
I loved how the draping took this dress from a basic to an elegant classic. I felt great in it!
I am 5'10 and 140 lbs and I got the 4 and the 6, as I am often between sizes. The 4 fit like a dream. I felt sophisticated and comfortable all night, and got a lot of compliments. I didn't get any photographs I like of the dress, however, because the details don't show up well in the ones we took. However, I would rent again, and I loved wearing it.
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 186lbs
November 15, 2015
The dress arrived on time!
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding. I received plenty of compliments and the dress was comfortable. The dress fit big in the sleeves and I wish I would have ordered down a size. While I enjoyed the dress, I did feel the need to heavily accessorize.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 61
November 15, 2015
This dress was perfect! I received so many compliments all evening and felt so glamorous!
The fit was perfect...I am 5'7" and weigh 135 lbs. The length was absolutely perfect with my 3.5 inch heels. I couldn't have been happier with my selection. The dress was comfortable to move around in and to dance in. The slit was not too revealing at all...just enough to show a hint of thigh. I would rent this gown again in a heartbeat!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 15, 2015
My friend and I were THEEE best dressed cats in the place.
Super versatile; can be dressed up or dressed down. Comfortable, breathable, old Hollywood glamorous. Flattering on literally every body type.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2015
I wore this dress to night wedding in Santa Barbara, Ca. The dress fit perfect!
It was so comfortable! elegant and classy all in the same. I'm short and curvy so the 4R fit perfect! the 6P was just so snug. I would 100% rent this dress again
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2015
I loved how classy the dress looked. I'm pretty short, but it was the perfect length.
I don't feel that it looked exactly like the picture. The two front pieces that kind of hang made it feel like it weighed the dress down. I felt like those pieces made me look a little frumpy. Plus it fit like someone with a bigger bust squeezed into it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 11, 2015
Loved the dress! Got lots of compliments and felt great in it.
Very slimming, and also comfortable. I am average height (5' 6'') and would have worn the size 0 except it was too short. The size 2 was a much better length. Just consider your height with shoes when buying this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 24
November 10, 2015
SHOW STOPPER! But you must add accessories!
I wore this to a fall black tie wedding. I absolutely loved the dress and received plenty of compliments. I had to jazz it up with a metallic gold belt and sparkly heels with a matching handbag to make the dress pop. I definitely would not have worn the dress without the added accessories, because it would look baggy and boring. I am 5,4 and 125lbs and I chose to wear a size 4R. The size 2R fit tight and looked weird for my body type. The. 4R was a little big but with the added belt it worked out great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
November 10, 2015
Very pretty dress, great fit and comfortable.
Easy to wear with normal thong and bra - comfortable and chic.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
November 10, 2015
Loved!
Loved this dress! Pictures are hard to capture the beautiful draping. Much better in person. Very classic and understated yet sexy. Would wear this again in a heartbeat! The whole process was very simple.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 21

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×