Forbidden Territory Gown

$70 rental
$935 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Gorg-a-rama! Feel like the ultimate Bond girl in this stunning gown by Badgley Mischka - it's the perfect pick for your next black tie affair. Shown here with the Elizabeth Cole's Jet Ombre Bacall Earrings.
Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16 & plus 16W-20W

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16 & plus 16W-20W

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% Viscose). Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Straight skirt with side ruching and front slit. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
955 reviews
Fit
Large58
True to Size638
Small93
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 21, 2016
This dress was awesome! Classy yet sexy.
I love this dress!! I wore it for a black tie event and received compliments all night. Its very comfortable and was great to dance in. I suggest getting the long if you are 5'7" or taller and want to wear high heel shoes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
February 19, 2016
Some of the longs are short in length. Overall fit was amazing. Beautiful and very classic look.
The 6L fit perfectly but the length was way to short, didn't even over part of my heels. Had to go up to the 8 just so the length would look right. The 8 was large on me but I was able to wear it still. It did get looser as the night went on. Arms became baggy and shoulders also became wider. Would wear this dress again and plan on renting it for my next winter event. If you are looking for a classic look this is the dress for sure.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Weight: 140lbs
February 19, 2016
Comfortable and conservative chic
Comfortable, flattering, and conservative. I wore it to my husband's black tie Christmas party in freezing Nebraska and received a lot of compliments while also staying somewhat warm. The bottom hem seemed a little worn to me but I don't think anyone else could notice.
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 18, 2016
I wore this to my daughter's debutante ball in February & felt comfortable & elegant
This dress is a pretty heavy material so I would only recommend it for a winter event. I received a size 2 & size 0- there was not much difference & I ended up wearing the 0. It was comfortable & I felt good in it. The only thing I didn't like was the material kind of bunched up around the zipper in the back. Overall, I would recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 16, 2016
The dress contributed to the look i was aiming for!!
Fit was true to size. Dress was beautiful. The only issue was that i am 5'6 but the regular was to short. Next time I would rent the long version.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
February 15, 2016
This dress was perfect for the black and white ball that I attended!
It fit amazing! The split up the side along with the gathering of the fabric perfectly compliments curves.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 15, 2016
This dress is amazing for curves. Stunning leg slit.
The fit was pretty spot on. I carry my weight in my thighs and bottom, so that part was a little tight on me, which I expected. I'm 5'6.5 and definitely needed the long, so highly recommend that if you're 5'5 or above. This dress is amazing, definitely a show stopper.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
February 15, 2016
Unfortunate fit
This dress hit me wrong in the bust (lines kind of cut through the area strangely). It also doesn't rouche through the middle like it does on the model--it lays flat, which ends up looking less flattering with the swooping hips. The swoop in the hips also hit me too low, sort of a dropped waist, eliminating what should have been a very flattering fit. I ended up swapping this dress at a brick and mortar.
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
February 15, 2016
This dress received so many compliments! I loved it and felt like a movie star!
I rented a 4R and 6P and wore the 4R. Most reviews said the dress ran short but I felt like even with 4 inch heels it was still long. Not sure how the 4P would have felt and looked, so I can't comment on which one I would have worn. This dress was awesome for my friends wedding. The bride actually said she was going to rent it for my wedding!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
February 14, 2016
I loved how this dress fit my body.
Dress fit true to size. I loved the design just wished the ruffles and pleats were higher. The extra fabric hung by my hips and butt. I got several compliments and I was very comfortable all night.
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
February 14, 2016
Very easy to wear - pretty, yet professional for a work function!
I wore this dress to a black tie work function. I was the only female of the group so it was important to me to keep my look conservative, but still have fun with it. This dress was perfect. This dress was so easy to wear and very comfortable. I am generally a 4R, which is what I wore. It fit perfectly. I have very long legs for my 5'5" frame and I'm fairly curvy - that said, I did not think the slit was too high at all. It landed just a few inches above my left knee.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 14, 2016
How comfortable I was.
Fits true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180lbs
February 13, 2016
Elegant & sexy..
I'm 5'9" & only regular length was available, did not work out, very short. Also sleeves were big but short, wide sleeves throughout. Excellent material. Gorgeous gown I wish it fit better for me, I'm still thinking about it & want to give it another try in a different size. I would size down again & get long size.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 42
February 13, 2016
Many complements by a very fashion-conscious crowd!
I ordered the 12L and the 14L. I am 5'10" and usually wear a size 14. The 12L fit perfectly. It was very comfortable, and everyone loved it. I wore it to my NYC actor/dancer cousin's wedding. His groom came up to me before the ceremony (this is a 30 year old model/dancer) to tell me how f***ing HOT I looked. Keep in mind I am a 42 year old out of shape mother of 2. My husband LOVED it. And it felt modest because I have a 38DD bust and it was covered. Arms were covered. The slit was high so I had to be careful my Spanx didn't show when I sat. I am so glad I got this dress. It was my first RTR experience and it couldn't have been better.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 24
February 11, 2016
Perfect for black tie wedding!
Overall, I can't say enough good things about this dress. I ordered the 2L and 4L and while the 2L fit really well, it was shorter than I would have liked. I'm 5'7 and the 4L fit me like a glove. I wore 3.5" heels (I ended up going with the strappy sandals) and felt comfortable walking around/dancing. This dress requires minimal accessories- I paired it with the Kendra Scott turquoise Deily earrings and received so many compliments throughout the night! I was 100% satisfied and even had a few friends rent the same dress for upcoming events after seeing me in it. Will definitely RTR again for my next big event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
February 9, 2016
I wore this gown for a gala I was working at.
The dress was beautiful. I order a 10L and a 12L and ended up wearing the 10L and could have probably gone a size down. That being said, it fit GREAT! The fabric hugged my body well without being clingy. I loved the draping across the back and side and it was really easy to move in. I wish I could have kept the dress and would ABSOLUTELY rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 39
February 8, 2016
I rented this dress for a black tie work function of my husbands.
I initially ordered this dress in red in a size 8 and 6. I received an email last minute saying they didn't have the size 6 in the red. When the size 8 in red arrived, it was too big causing it to drape funny and make my hips look larger then they are. RTR sent me the size 6 in black as a back-up and the dress fit really well. I have a true hourglass figure with a size 32G chest. The only problem was the lining was a bit screwy, but no one but me could tell. I would rent this dress again. I felt sexy, without showing to much skin.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
February 7, 2016
My father had a veterans event.
I wore the 12P I usually wore a 14. It was good but snugged. Got a lot of compliments. The dress runner big on me but the stretching of the material helped a lot with my curves.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 152lbs
February 7, 2016
Perfect slinky black dress!
It fit like a glove, but true to sizing! The material was a bit think but perfect for a winter formal. RTR saved the night with this pick!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 3, 2016
The dress was the perfect touch to an amazing night!
The dress was absolutely amazing! It fit perfectly, not too tight or loose, and I even dressed it up with a cute belt. The slit was the perfect length since I have long legs. I got many complements and the dress made me feel confident and beautiful! I'm so happy I rented it. I recommend that you get your exact size and if you are tall (5'7 or up) get it in long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 3, 2016
Dress was beautiful. Fit great.
The fit was perfect. Length was long enough too.
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
February 1, 2016
I had a mishap with the dresses but overall I'm very satisfied and will absolutely use RTR again!
This dress is perfect! I couldn't figure out which dress to wear to the black tie wedding I had to attend. When this dress came in the mail I ordered a 10 R and back up 8 R ( I'm a 10) the 8 fit like a glove but I was a little too short I'm 5'4 and with 4 inch heels so it was short. So they overnighted me a 8L and it was perfect!! I felt super sexy and classy. It wasn't a stiff dress , it was flowy and super comfortable!! I never felt so good in a dress! If you are on the fence about a dress. This is the one!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
February 1, 2016
I wore this for a formal wedding and it was perfect.
This fit beautifully. Very well made and very slimming. I just had a baby three months prior to the wedding and it hid everything that needed hid very well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 185lbs
January 31, 2016
Felt comfortable in a stunning dress!
I was torn between whether to get it in regular or long, but think a long would've looked a little better with my heels. I was surprised the 14 fit because I've always had to size up in badgley mischka dresses, but I almost wish I had gotten a size smaller as my backup just to see if it would've looked a little better being tighter in certain places. Also, I thought the slit would come up a little higher, so I was a little disappointed I had to stage it more for pictures. Overall, loved the dress and received several compliments throughout the night!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 26, 2016
Perfect dress, perfect service, perfect evening!
I am 5'8" tall, 125 pounds, straight and narrow body with no tush. The ruching and draping of the dress was very flattering on my narrow frame. The moment I pulled this dress out of the zippered bag I was absolutely thrilled with its quality and construction, the material was beautiful and very heavy. After reading the reviews I figured either the 2l or 4l would work. The 4 was actually a little big on me and not that flattering-I felt I was drowning in too much fabric. The 2l was perfect! I have long arms and broad shoulders and the dress seemed tailor made for me. I wore 4" heels and the bottom still skimmed the floor perfectly and the sleeves were perfect length! I felt fabulous in this gorgeous dress, don't hesitate, just rent it! I was sad shipping it back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 43
January 26, 2016
It was easy. I didn't have to worry about finding a dress.
None.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
January 25, 2016
I felt like a Goddess in this dress!! Super sexy yet super classy! Will absolutely rent this again!!
This dress is amazing.... Fit like a glove and super comfortable. I chose the 4 as my primary size but also got the 2L as my back-up. Ended up wearing the 2L- it was just a touch more fitted and the perfect length for 3" heels. The slit made it super sexy but wasn't too high and I never felt too exposed. The ruching along the sides and middle covered up any lumps and bumps that the Spanx didn't. I wore a regular bra with this and it peeked out a bit which wasn't a problem as I wore my hair down and around my shoulders. I felt long and lean which is a rare feat when you're 5'3" and curvy! I wore minimal jewelry- just long sparkly earrings and my wedding band. I highly recommend this dress and RTR. It was my 1st rental but definitely will not be the last!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 57
January 24, 2016
RTR is a great experience. I will do it again
Overall the dress fit true to size - my shoulders are on the narrow side so the neckline was a bit loose on the shoulders. The gown is long - if you are not 5'8' + do not rent the long version. I worn 1.5" heels and the dress was hitting the ground. Easy to wear, comfortable - lets you 'glide' across the floor.
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Weight: 115lbs
January 21, 2016
Too short, but gorgeous and comfortable!
I ordered this dress in a 0P and 2P. I ended up wearing the 2P because it actually fit more tightly than the 0 - maybe a previous renter stretched it out. I'm 5'2"-5'3", 115 lbs, and I wish I had ordered regular length instead of petite. The petite sizes seem to be poorly-hemmed regulars, because the slit hit my leg at an awkward spot and the dress hit my ankles in the heels I was wearing - not the floor-length stunner I was expecting. All that being said, the dress got a lot of compliments, was very comfortable to wear and dance in all night, and overall I'm very happy with my experience - I just know to order a longer length next time!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 208lbs
January 20, 2016
It was a really nice dress. Simple yet sophisticated in the details and attention grabbing.
I didn't have to add too many accessories- Just some nice bracelets and long earrings. I did notice that the sleeves were short on me for some reason so I ended up pulling them up. Also the length of the 12L compared to the 14L was a little shorter. I would've preferred the length of the 14L on the 12L Overall, beautiful dress and an amazing experience using RTR for the first time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 18, 2016
High quality fabric, great cut. The long length was definitely necessary to wear with heels!
This dress fit very well, felt like there was a bit too much fabric in the draping at he waist, (something I would address if I had purchased the dress) but overall it was very comfortable, warm (perfect for the January wedding that I attended). One sleeve was missing part of it's hem when it arrived, and after I had it on for a bit the rest was gone too. I received a ton of compliments, and my mom even wants to buy it for herself!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 17, 2016
Perfect dress! Simple and sophisticated
This dress was amazing! I expected it to be made of jersey-like material, but it's made of heavier fabric that hangs and drapes perfectly. I would ABSOLUTELY rent this dress again and recommend it to others. It was so classy and I felt like a million bucks! I wore 3 inch heels and the dress fell right at the floor with the regular length. Consider ordering one size smaller as your second size when you rent- I usually wear a 4 and the 2 fit perfectly. My first dress from RTR and I can't wait to rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 36
January 16, 2016
This dress is AMAZING! Very elegant and sexy all at the same time.
It was very comfortable to wear and I felt gorgeous in it. It is definitely a dress to rent! The fabric has great gathering in trouble areas and is very flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
January 14, 2016
Wish I took a photo in this beaute!
This dress was perfect! I rented both the regular and the long, but ended up wearing the long bc I'm 5'5" and wore 4.5" heels. The material is like spandex but thicker, so it was stretchy in the right places (arms), and the ruching in the front hid my tummy perfectly. There's a sexy slit in the leg, I will definitely rent this dress 100 more times. It was perfect!
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 38
January 14, 2016
The dress looked great.
I should have got a size smaller.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 73
January 14, 2016
Don't think I've ever received as many compliments on anything I've ever worn.
It fit perfectly except for the length. I'm 5'3" and was told the 4R would be okay but it was about 3" too long (so gently basted it up). Didn't include the photo because the lighting was such that the beautiful draping at the hips doesn't show at all. Would definitely rent this again.
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
January 13, 2016
Beautiful, form fitting, and classic!
Be sure to wear high heels if you are short. It will drag.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 13, 2016
It was a nice dress for a formal event during the winter.
It was a great dress. However, it's a flimsy zipper. Thankfully they sent me 2 dresses because the first one I tried on, the zipper was caught and easily broke.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
January 13, 2016
Beautiful and easy to wear.
I did not end up wearing this 12L dress. The 10L fit exactly the same with the exception that the 12L was shorter (go figure). Did not seem like a LONG size at all. Seemed very average.The material was comfortable and the rouching was nice and made my waist look amazing. But it accentuated my derriere much too much. However, at 5'7" and 170 pounds, this was a winner overall.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 64
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 174lbs
January 12, 2016
Very forgiving dress for a recent weight gain.
This is a very forgiving dress. I am usually a size 12 but have put on about 15 pounds in the past 6 months so wasn't feeling good about my prospects for a dress. This dress fit well and I felt good in it. It did a good job of masking my tummy. Other reviewers wrote about the weird slip configuration inside the dress - I did not find that to be true. I am 5"6" and the long length worked perfectly with 3" heels. The zipper was a bit sticky but not a problem once it got up.
See more reviews:
3 / 24

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×