Badgley Mischka

Forbidden Territory Gown

$70 rental
$935 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Gorg-a-rama! Feel like the ultimate Bond girl in this stunning gown by Badgley Mischka - it's the perfect pick for your next black tie affair. Shown here with the Elizabeth Cole's Jet Ombre Bacall Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% Viscose). Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Straight skirt with side ruching and front slit. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

561 reviews

Fit
Small 72
True to Size 414
Large 31
Photos 371
RTR Customer
Nov 3, 2014

Definitely shows off your curves in a classic way

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
First time in my life to need the "long" version. I loved the pictures of the dress but he warned if does cling. Perfect for a formal fall affair.
RTR Customer
Nov 3, 2014

Hated it at first....... Ended up alright

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
In the pictures I didn't notice the draping around the hips..... What most women want around their midsection is extra bunches of material ;) did have many compliments and it was super comfortable. I went up a size as I normally have issues zipping around the bust area but could've went with an 8 as the material has quite a bit of give
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 4, 2014

Best dress for my vampire costume!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is extremely comfortable! I wore it for my vampire costume- perfect dress for a vampire. I would have worn the 8 but the draping of the dress was not cooperating, though the 10 fit almost the same it was just a little loose in the back/shoulders. I rented the long size and it was perfect! I was complimented all night and felt amazing. I'd recommend it for a body with long legs or height as the slit can be a little revealing.
sandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 5, 2014

LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was so comfortable and I felt so good! Totally recommend this dress. Who knew SEXY and CLASSY could be in the same sentence. :) It was long but I like to wear my dresses long… adds drama to the look. lol
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 5, 2014

Great dress for a black tie optional wedding!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was a little snug and a bit short. I tried my backup size (10R) on and it was too big and fit a little funky with all of the layers. The slit was a little short, so I wore stockings... that worked to my advantage because it ended up being pretty chilly that night! I did receive a lot of compliments the dress! Overall, I would recommend this dress!
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
Nov 5, 2014

Beautiful dress - was perfect for my Morticia Halloween costume!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Gorgeous fit, accentuates all the right curves. Subtly sexy with high slit. It runs true to size, maybe slightly larger (usually I'm a 6 or 8, and the 6 was a smidge too big) My only complaint was that it was a little short - the dress just barely grazed the top of my 3 inch boots. This was fine for my costume, but I usually wear 4-5 inch heels and it definitely would have been too short with heels that high. Overall I would highly recommend this dress and rent again!
Heather
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 7, 2014

I have never received more compliments on a dress! Elegant, classy, the perfect amount of sexy.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I am so happy that I ordered a long. Without heels I am 5'7"..Had I not ordered the long I would have looked awful. The dress is a bit difficult to zipper because there is a lot of fabric around the lower half. There are more layers to this dress that I thought there would be- not really an issue, but makes fixing the dress after each bathroom trip a little taxing.
Shae
Usually wears: 16
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 187 lbs
Nov 10, 2014

This dress was sexy and elegant

Size worn: 16L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfect, I was able to wear 6' heels and the dress wasn't too short or too long!. I'm 6'0 tall with broad shoulders and big boobs; a bit fat in the waist and no behind. The cut of this dress was perfect, as it took the attention off of what I "don't have" and accentuate what I "do have"!!! I've read other reviews that said the dress ran small, must have been those who do not want to let go of their smaller size because this dress is definitely true to fit.
Michell
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 10, 2014

Amazing dress!

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was just what I was looking for. I was attending a black tie affair for work and needed something that was classy, sexy, and not too revealing since it was an older crowd. This dress was all of the above. I felt amazing in it and the slit was a great touch. I went with the 0L since the 2L was unavailable and I am glad that I did. It was fitted and the fabric gave stretch where needed. I am almost 5'8 and the length was perfect with 3 inch heels. I couldn't have been any happier with my first choice, I didn't even need to try on the backups :-). Thanks RTR!!
Jackie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 10, 2014

The dress was perfect!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I LOVED this gown!! Being my first time renting from RTR, I was a little unsure about what size to get. Originally I ordered a 4L and 6R but switched the 6R to a 2L after reading the reviews, and I'm glad I did.I ended up wearing the 2L which was a little tight in the bust and came to 3/4 length sleeves but the 4L was bunchy around the waist and a little too long. The draping fell perfectly around the waist and is really slimming. My favorite part was the slit, it made the dress a little sexy while still being super classy. I would definitely suggest this dress for a black tie or formal work event, it was perfect!
Leshia
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Nov 13, 2014

Compliments Galore!!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was a showstopper! Simply commands the room for attention. The split is high ladies, but no complaints here. It was a classy yet sexy dress.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 16, 2014

Easy to return

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Formal Affair
There is a decent amount of stretch in the fabric
Erica
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Nov 19, 2014

Loved it!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this to a professional award ceremony that was black tie optional. I'm 5'9" and with my heels the long was perfect. I'm curvy in the hips and the dress was very flattering, but perhaps because of my curves the slit came up a little higher than I would have thought based on other reviews. I wore spanx which helped greatly so that i wouldn't accidentally expose myself while seated. Frankly the dress would have been fine without if not for the slit. Glad I tried sitting at home before leaving the house! I loved the feel of the dress and received many compliments.
RTR Customer
Nov 20, 2014

I was looking for a long sleeve dress and long at length, this was prefect

Size worn: 12L
Rented for: Formal Affair
Everything was prefect
Tanya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 21, 2014

This dress is simple, classic, and pure drama.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
When I reserved this they didn't have any of the back up sizes so I went with my normal 6 and crossed my fingers. When I got here, I was relieved to find that it fit and wasn't too long! I'm on the cusp for the regular/short. The dress is a nice weight for the winter and the sleeves were a godsend. My only critique would be that it has a little stretch in it, and I felt like the longer I wore it and it warmed up, the longer the dress got so by the end of the night I was picking it up to walk. Oh, also, if you have wide shoulders and narrow hips this dress will do nothing for you in that area. I think it would probably be better for someone more hour glass than I am.
Hope
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 23, 2014

WOW!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The second I put this dress on I was in LOVE! It radiates elegance. I wore the gown to a black tie wedding (My BIL's wedding). You cant help but to feel confident when wearing this gown. It's simple & stunning all at the same time. I did not want to give it back. And will rent it again.
samantha
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 190 lbs
Nov 24, 2014

This was a very comfortable and flattering dress.

Size worn: 14L
Rented for: Wedding
It fit really well, I am only 5'4'' and ordered a long after reading other reviews and I was glad I had. The sleeves were still a little short but it still looked nice. I received numerous compliments. It did take a little fussing to get it to lay right, but it was smooth sailing after that.
kristen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154 lbs
Nov 24, 2014

great, simple comfy, but sultry dress

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I normally wear an 8 but this fit me fine. Had to get a LONG. even though IM only 5 foot 3. I loved how it as simply yet sultry.
Cheyenne
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 25, 2014

This dress manages to be sexy and conservative at the same time!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to an all black, black tie wedding. The length and fit was good however, I have larger hips and the draping around the butt and hips overly accentuated this area in a way that I normally would have avoided. Other than that, this dress was comfortable, was appropriate for the church and reception venue, and I got many compliments.
Gennie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Nov 26, 2014

The dress was perfect for a black tie optional wedding!

Size worn: 2P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit perfectly and got many compliments. It ran true to size. It was a little short in the length but I thought it looked nice with fun shoes. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Tsvetana
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Nov 29, 2014

N/a

Size worn: 10R
Rented for: Party
Runs pretty small. I'm a size 10 and wore a 12 long, which was still extremely tight on me. I should have worn a 14 instead. This dress is beautiful but runs super small so even with spanx it will show all the curves, even those you don't want seen.
RTR Customer
Nov 29, 2014

Felt so elegant in this piece

Size worn: 16R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Definitely need spanx if your midsection is a concern. Nicely accentuates the bum and should be worn with heels but looks ok with flats
Wendy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 30, 2014

Movie star glamour

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit is very true to size. I am 5'7" and wore the Long with 3 inch heels. It hugs your curves in ALL the right ways. I chose this dress after receiving help online from a stylist after we discovered the dress I had ordered had been damaged and wouldn't be coming. There is a LITTLE stretch in this fabric but not much so I would order a size up if you don't want it clinging to you as mine did. I received so many compliments. There are beautiful details in the draping that make this a standout without any "bling". I don't believe my pic does it justice but it's the only one I have.
April
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116 lbs
Dec 1, 2014

Sexy!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress to watch Phantom of The Opera. I went ahead and clicked on true to size, however it was slightly a bit big on my arms and the back. However, it did fit nicely. After reading reviews regarding the length size, I probably should've ordered a P instead of R. A lot of reviews said that the P was short and so I picked the 6R to be safe. I'm 5"1 and wore 4" heels and the dress was long, but not too long. I did held the dress as I walked. Next time, I will order the P if available. After trying it on, I noticed the mark of the hanger on one side. I didn't try to fix this since my hair covered it, but I can see it being an issue if future renters either have short hair or style it up. Another slightly issue I noticed was that the dress had white dust marks all over it. I assume this probably happened during packaging/shipping process. I took a damp towel and took away the white dust. The slit was very sexy. I wore dark blue and gold earrings along with a blue gold clutch that was hand made from Japan. No necklace was worn. I wore dark blue open toe heels. Using the bathroom was easy and I was able to hold the dress up. This dress is ideal to rent if you know that the weather may be chilly. I would rent this dress again. I apologize for not having a full body picture.
Danielle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 5, 2014

LOVED this dress! Received so many compliments. Perfect mix of classy & a touch of sexy!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Made of thicker material, so it was perfect for an outdoor autumn wedding. The 2R fit, but was strangely short once I put on my heels, so I went with the 4.
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 7, 2014

This dress is delicious!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered the 0R and the 2R. Ended up going with the 2R because the 0R was just way too short. I am only 5'1 so I usually wear 3-5 inch heels. The size 2R hit the floor perfectly with my heels. The weight and movement of this dress made walking in it the sexiest part. My boyfriend is a professional opera singer so I have tons of fun chances to use RTR and they NEVER disappoint. This dress almost felt like pajamas it was so comfy :-)
Cheryl
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Dec 9, 2014

The dress was overly comfortable and the long sleeves were nice for a cold night.

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wish a size 12 was available for a second dress option. The 14 was comfortable but since it was a little big it was bunchy in areas (mostly the zipper on the back). Overall, I thought the dress was very flattering and comfortable. It was a hit for the night and my husband loved it!
julie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 10, 2014

knock out dress!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
this is a sexy dress - too sexy for my work Christmas party unfortunately-I included a picture, but I didn't end up wearing it-also it was a bit tight. 8 is my regular size, but was unavailable, so picked the 6 and crossed my fingers! A great dress though!
Tessa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Dec 10, 2014

Modest, but SEXY

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for a formal Army ROTC event where I had to be covered! It showed all my curves, but the draping made it modest. Tons of compliments. I ordered an awesome metal belt that I think helped define my waist a little better -- the fabric was heavy and didn't cinch it in like I wanted. The 6L was perfect with 4inch heels. The slit was just enough leg when I wanted it. The under-skirt was a bit tight though, I wish I'd ordered a size up instead of a size down as my backup. Would rent again!
Sara
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 11, 2014

Beautiful dress and would work for so many occasions since you can dress it up or down.

Size worn: 16L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I have a large bust(38G), but there is plenty of room there for all of that and then some. I really liked the give in the dress, but also made my cures look sexy. Paired it with pearls and some black heels and I was set.
Sarah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 15, 2014

Got the most facebook likes!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got the 8L because of the suggestions in the reviews, but it was too long! I am 5'7 1/2" and I wore shortish heels probably 3 inches but the gown dragged a bit on the floor and my boyfriend kept stepping on it ALL night. So I would have ordered the 8R or at least got that as a backup size next time. But this dress is stunning! The slit is perfect, just a little bit of sexy. I seriously got compliments all night on this dress. It does cling to your curves (as others have noted) and I didn't even wear with SPANX because of the high slit, but since it was black and has this extra draping the cling was just fine. I would highly recommend this dress!
Pohai
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 15, 2014

Accesorizing is key with this dress! This dress makes you feel elegant :)

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fits well, but I am only 5'0 so I'm always concerned about length for a gown. I wore 4" heels, and the dress was still a bit long, but manageable. Fabric is smooth and comfortable; perfect for this event. This was my first RTR experience and I already ordered another outfit for another event. Thank you RTR for shipping to hawaii now!!! Ask a stylist if you have a question about a dress, they are so helpful. :)
Sydney
Age: 24
Dec 17, 2014

I got so many compliments with this dress! It fit great! It was very comfortable!

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Formal Affair
My only complaint about this dress was it was a little short in the front. I am 5'7" and with heels on I was even taller so I think if I rent this dress again I will get the 6L instead of the 6R.
KLC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 18, 2014

Great Hollywood themed holiday party.

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was beautifully sexy. It is hard to tell in the pictures, but the dress has draping on the hips, where it looks like ruching, it is actually draped fabric. In the rental pic's this is very hard to see. At first I was very nervous this would emphasis my hips, but if you pull it down and position it right it is okay. Overall super comfortable and beautiful gown.
Charlotte
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Dec 18, 2014

Fit like a dream and simply gorgeous!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was amazing. It hugged in all the right places and was very flattering. I received comments all night! It is a very classy dress. I wore it with 3 inch heels. The dress was the perfect length, and actually was close to the ground. The way I am standing in the picture doesn't do it justice. People are different shapes and sizes so the extra fabric that hugged the hip varies person to person, but I loved it! I am athletic and it added a curvier shape to me. I danced all night and the dress didn't make me too hot. It was perfect. I can keep going on and on but this dress, but this is an elegant, sexy, classy dress. I wore it with a nice pair of earrings and that was it. I complimented it with a white hand bag. I would actually buy it and keep it in my wardrobe.
Lena
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 22, 2014

Perfect for an awards gala! I needed a "conservative" dress, but this still made me feel sexy!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am usually a 10 but the 8 was more flattering and hugged my curves.
Kaley
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 22, 2014

Great dress. Classy yet sexy. The length was perfect with heels. Got a lot of compliments!

Size worn: 4L
Rented for: Party
Loved that it had stretch so even if it's a little small/big it still fits great. The slit is higher than it looks so sitting in public can get a little tricky..
Margaret
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 26, 2014

Classic.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
this dress worked for me, however, I had to literally bind my breasts to make sure that the diagonal seam across the bust didn't pucker.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 28, 2014

Loved this dress

Size worn: 2L
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really could have worn the 4L as the 2 was a bit tight in places, but the 4L had obviously been hemmed at some point. I'm 5'7" and it came up almost to my ankles with heels on. The 2L still didn't reach the floor, which I prefer, but it was a much better length. This dress is extremely forgiving and flattering and great for a winter formal affair.
liz
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 29, 2014

The neck line and the slit up the leg was perfect! Subtly sexy and perfect for my black tie affair

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The neck line was perfect and I loved showing a little leg. A few cons, I am shorter and this dress was a little heavy because of the excess fabric in some areas. It was a little unflattering but the pros outweighed the cons. overall loved it!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×