Emerald Gem Ruched Dress

$49 to buy
$560 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Walk into the party wearing this fabulous Badgley Mischka emerald one shoulder dress. A great style for any holiday, charity, or cocktail event. Pair with classic accessories like the Crislu's Classic Lady Earrings and Judith Leiber's Pop the Cork Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruching detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruching detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Emerald stretch taffeta(60% Polyester; 33% Nylon;7% Spandex). One shoulder neckline with oragami shoulder detail. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Measures 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
198 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(94)
Small
(103)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 27, 2012
Beautiful Emerald Dress!!
I origionally rented this dress in a 6 and an 8. The 6 became unavailable a few days before my rental. RTR emailed and called to let me know and to give me the option of renting another dress no charge. I had two events in the same night and ended up changing in between events. I loved both dresses so much and still could not decide which one I favored. The emerald color of this dress was amazing and great for my work Holiday party. The dress runs very small. The 8 fit perfectly with spanx! with out them, the dress was very snug in the hips and back side...other than that I loved this dress. So classy and beautiful!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
December 26, 2012
Didn't get to wear it :(
Unfortunately I was unable to wear this dress :( I ordered the 4 and 6, both were too small, and the 6 which I could have made fit had a very big stain on the front. Based on my location and the time frame RTR was unable to get me a replacement dress for Christmas Eve. I so wanted this to work out as I thought it was a beautiful dress, but just wasn't in the cards.
RTR CustomerDecember 31, 2012
Hi Elizabeth! So sorry that your rental was not a success as was stained. Definitely should not have received something with a stain on it. Please contact a stylist and we'll make sure to refund you!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 26, 2012
Beautiful emerald color and very striking asymmetrical shoulder.
Very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 20, 2012
Gorgeous dress, color is rich and beautiful
The word "stunning" was used to describe me in this dress more than once... wore it to my brother's wedding and got a million compliments and felt like a million bucks.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 18, 2012
I loved this dress! I wore it to my company Christmas party and it was a HIT! It fit like a glove :)
The dress is a little hard to get into but with a little help fits like a glove. The quality is great and you will definitely turn some heads. I chose to wear it with gold for the holidays. Love it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 18, 2012
Gorgeous dress!
I ordered this dress in a larger size than I normally wear because I have big hips and I kept reading that it was tight in the hips and I am really glad I did. I ordered this dress in a size 8 and a size 10, I didn't actually get the size 8 (they sent me a different dress instead of this one) but luckily the 10 fit. It fit my helps perfectly but it was a little large in the bust but not too incredibly large. It really is a gorgeous dress! I would recommend getting this dress just remember it does run small and it small through the hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
December 18, 2012
Gorgeous color, beautiful fit!
This was my first experience with Rent the Runway, and I couldn't have been more pleased. This dress is phenomenal, and I got compliments on it all night. The color is gorgeous - more teal in some lights, and more emerald in others. The dress definitely does run small, so I would absolutely suggest sizing up, especially if you're busty or have fuller hips. I was so pleased with my RTR experience with this dress that I also have reserved a dress from the site for NYE!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 13, 2012
Felt like a rock star all night!
Great company and service! Wore this to my company's Christmas party, and got compliments from everyone. I only ordered one size, and fasted all day because I was worried it would be too tight. It worked out ok though. The big shoulder thing was kind of weird, but I guess that's high fashion for ya. You can't help but have a great time in one of these dresses.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 13, 2012
beautiful, flattering dress and quite comfortable. Stretchy material!
This is the color of the season!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 12, 2012
Great for a Holiday Work Event
I wore the dress to a formal holiday dinner for work. I was a bit nervous based on other reviews that the color wouldn't be how it appears in the photo--I think what the photo doesn't capture is that there is a good deal of shine to the fabric, which does provide a more pale/teal tone in certain light. That being said, I wouldn't recommend this dress for a daytime event, but it was perfect for a holiday party in the evening! One last note--I would say the dress runs a full size small. I normally wear a 4 in dresses, but the 6 fit great (and the 4...did not!).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 64
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
December 11, 2012
Will order again in the correct size.
Beautiful dress. Ran very small across bust. I am a 36D. Fabric is gorgeous and color is wonderful. Just be sure you order up a size. I wore my back up dress instead.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 11, 2012
Wow effect.
Wore to my company holiday party. The color is incredible - I can't tell you how many compliments I got. A slam dunk. I also got the 0 - took one look at how narrow the torso was and didn't even try. 2 hugged my ribs but not in an uncomfortable way. Length - I'd feared it would go past my knees, but not even close. It hit about where it does on the model photo, despite the disparity in our measurements. I wore with sparkly white studs (I'm told they look convincingly like diamonds), a blingy green & white cocktail ring, and black Nine West pumps. I'm not a fussy gal when it comes to accessories so letting this dress speak for itself was totally up my alley.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
December 4, 2012
loved it!
it was a little tough to get into, because it's meant to be tight...but it was worth the effort. this dress was beautiful and i felt so happy and confident in it. i felt really skinny in it which always made the night more fun. :)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
December 3, 2012
The dress fit really awkward and had to return both sizes
I purchased this dress for a wedding and read reviews and decided to order 2 sizes up like recommended. I am usually a 4 and ordered both a 6 and 8. The 6 would not fit and all and the 8 was awkward. The 8 was too tight in my bust and too baggy in my hip area.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 26, 2012
The color of this dress was great.
The color was great. This wasn't my first choice, but I was so glad I rented a second choice. I felt great in it all night. A little snug under the armpit, but not to bad. The zipper had a little ripple in it, so it was hard to zip on our own.But still a great choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 23, 2012
Best Dress Ever.... Fun and classic!
Hugged the right places and hid the omg wish I could lose weight places, all while looking classy.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 36
November 21, 2012
tight, hot number! Loved it.
It's tight, and it holds you all in.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 18, 2012
Gorgeous and comfortable dress for a formal affair!
Although I've been a member of RTR for years, this was my first rental. I was a little apprehensive at first because I'm short but curvy through the hips so fit can be an issue for me. However, I was pleasantly surprised! The dress, clutch, and earrings all arrived on time and were in excellent condition. The dress fit well and was very comfortable. I recieved a ton of compliments on the dress from both my own relatives and relatives of the bride. I definitely don't regret my rental and I look forward to renting a similar style again!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 18, 2012
The perfect dress for my Occasion!
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding and pretty much every loved it and the color!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 16, 2012
Perfect in every way!
Vibrant color and very comfortable. Material was forgiving enough to dance (and eat). Wore this to a black tie wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
November 15, 2012
Perfect for the holidays!
Loved the structured fit of the dress :) The emerald green was stunning and I received many compliments! I loved the one shoulder, and the ruching of the dress was very forgiving :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 15, 2012
Good, but not great
Beautiful color. Fit TTS, but material is a bit stiff and the shoulder detail was a bit cumbersome. I have a very straight athletic body, so it wasn't the most flattering dress for my body type - probably better for curvier ladies.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
November 14, 2012
Pretty dress but didn't fit
I loved the material, but I ordered an 8 and it was too big in the waist but tight around the ribs.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 14, 2012
NICE COLOR. GREAT TEXTURE.
RENTED THIS DRESS FOR THE GALA EVENT. PERFECT OUTFIT FOR FORMAL EVENTS & DINNER.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 12, 2012
pretty color, snug fit
This dress is more jewel-like in color than the picture shows. It was a bit snug in the hip area if you're curvy. I also folded the shoulder flap under since I felt that it was a bit too big.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 12, 2012
What made my night unforgettable was the look on my husbands face when he saw me walk out in it
The dress was nice fitting .... I ordered both a 4&6 just in case I wasn't able to fit the 4 .... Once i got the dresses i tried both on and i felt like the 4 was a little snug but the 6 was too loose .... The 4 hugged what I wanted to hug and hide what I needs to hide .... Lol .... Overall I enjoyed the dress and I received a lot of compliments on the dress .....
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2012
Gorgeous color, unique style
I loved the color and fit of this dress! It's VERY fitted, but gives you a nice shape. I'm almost always a size 0, but this dress I wore the 2. Thank god for the extra size. I'm not usually a one shouldered dress girl, but this one may have changed my mind. It wasn't too short which I also liked. I got a ton of compliments on it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 12, 2012
Great dress, color is awesome
Fit runs small, definitely not for the large busted. I usually wear 6, and the 6 in this dress was a good, but very figure-hugging, fit. I'm glad I had the 8 to compare it to, and I almost wore the 8 until I "spanx'd" the size 6. Color is great, length was perfect (just above the knee and I'm 5'10"). This would be a great dress for Holiday parties. Neckline does not lend itself to a necklace, just some fun earrings and a bracelet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 7, 2012
Loved this dress!
I was very impressed with this dress and got tons of compliments when I wore it. The color was perfect - a deep green that almost bordered on blue-green. The cut was great and very unique, however, the size runs small; I normally wear a 2, but had to size up to a 4. It was also comfortable and fun to wear!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 5, 2012
The color is a show stopper!
This dress is beautifully made, but does run a little small. I typically wear a 4 , but I wore the 6 and it was snug, but I think I pulled it off! I got a ton of compliments at the gala and felt like a million bucks!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 29, 2012
Great dress, but lightly soiled
This dress was beautiful. Thankfully, I listened to the reviews and ordered a size up - I definitely needed it. I tried the dress on right when I got it, looked at it for size, loved it and hung it up for the next night. However, when I put it on for the wedding - in the bright lights of my bathroom - I noticed a very large water stain down the center of the dress. Luckily, the ruching in the fabric and the dark color/dimly lit reception helped it to blend into the fabric relatively unnoticed. The night was wonderful, and I felt very good in the dress. Just a little disappointed with the cleanliness of the rental. RTR did offer me 25% off my next rental as an apology...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 23, 2012
Great standout dress!
I usually wear a 10, but it was a bit snug so the I settled for the 12. The color was vibrant and the dress was so fun, I would highly suggest this for a formal event! Very comfortable and easy to wear all night. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 22, 2012
The Emerald color and flattering dress was GLAMOUROUS! Everyone complimented it!
Pro- fit like a glove! NO cons!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 22, 2012
I felt elegant and stood out in a sea of black at an art museum wedding. Got many compliments!
My boyfriend was stunned when he first saw me in this dress, so I guess it was a good sign. :) It felt amazing on... just stretchy enough to be comfortable, though definitely fitted in the bust. Being a chesty girl, I'm very glad I sized up. The 2 would have been far too tight. The color is gorgeous - a cross between teal and emerald with many varying shades when the light hits it. And it's worth noting that the dress is not satin as it appears in the photo, but rather similar to a silk shantung, both in iridescence and feel (which to me is a good thing!) My only complaint is that it would sometimes ride up as I walked around (it is a bit in the pic), so I had to keep fussing with it, but overall it was lovely and I would definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 16, 2012
This dress was so comfortable and very flattering, the one shoulder added drama to a cocktail dress!
Very comfortable dress, very forgiving in areas that you would like to hide. Rich jewel tone color. I received compliments all night! So glad I rented this dress. RTR has the most amazing customer service.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114lbs
October 15, 2012
I could not believe all of the compliments I received that night! I felt like a million bucks!
This dress fits like a glove. The color and fabric are amazing. It looked and felt so luxurious!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 13, 2012
i LOVED it!!!!!!!!!
I usually wear and 2 or 4 but since I have implants, I have trouble with side zippers. I ordered a 4 & 6 based on the "runs small" reviews. I needed the 6 cause 4 wouldn't zip past my chest! I received so many compliments!!!! Can't wait to order again
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 12, 2012
Beautiful dress. Incredible color.
This dress is GORGEOUS in person. I got so many compliments on it. The color is not quite as dark as it appears in the picture online, but the color is absolutely beautiful. This dress was perfect for my fiance's company Christmas party!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
October 11, 2012
I slipped on that gorgeous dress, soaked up the beautiful color and I just felt beautiful.
The fit was perfect. A lot of the reviews say the size runs small, and I do agree but only a tiny bit small. I typically wear a 2, ordered the 2 and 4. I wore the 2 and it fit like a glove. I was concerned about the material (in the pic it looked a bit stiff and heavy to me) but it was light, and soft and had just enough stretch in it. The color is a beautiful, rich green, the shoulder piece is not too big or distracting and the fit is wonderful...very flattering and classy. I wore this to a wedding and received a lot of compliments. This was a great choice and I was sad to have to send it back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
October 9, 2012
Simple and easy! Can not wait to use RTR again.
The fit of this dress was perfect and it was comfortable. I choose to wear all gold accents, my shoes, jewelry and bag. It looked great, I got compliments all night long. Oh and no dress sitting in my closet that I will never wear again. I will say that in some of the review photos this dress appeared to be lighter that the web pictures, but the dress that was sent to me was exactly like the one on the web site. I prefer classic fashion and this dress fit the bill.
View photos (3)
See more reviews:
3 / 5
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×