Badgley Mischka

Emerald Gem Ruched Dress

$49 to buy
$560 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Walk into the party wearing this fabulous Badgley Mischka emerald one shoulder dress. A great style for any holiday, charity, or cocktail event. Pair with classic accessories like the Crislu's Classic Lady Earrings and Judith Leiber's Pop the Cork Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruching detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Emerald stretch taffeta(60% Polyester; 33% Nylon;7% Spandex). One shoulder neckline with oragami shoulder detail. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Measures 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
198 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(94)
Small
(103)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 22, 2014
Great dress for NYE!
Loved this dress! The fabric was very nice and shimmery. The color was a nice emerald green (as pictured). The flap over the left shoulder was a little large and in the way but you can tuck it under to make it less obtrusive. The dress runs very small. I'm usually a 10 but even the size 12 was a little snug. I'm tall (5'11") and the length was fine for me...a bit above the knee.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 27, 2014
Saved the Day!
I received this dress as an emergency back up to replace a dress that arrived in terrible condition. Turns out this dress was better for the event I was attending anyways - so it worked out. It was a letter "P" themed charity event, so this was a piece of a Peacock inspired ensemble. The cut is flattering, but has very little give in the fabric. I recommend sizing up if you can. The zipper was difficult, but most are. Ha! A great dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
January 10, 2014
Beautiful dress, just not right for me!
I rented this to wear at my formal birthday dinner. I rented an 8 and a 10, thinking that I would probably fit into the 8 since I've recently lost weight. The 8 was too tight around my hip/butt area. When I tried on the 10, I realized that the two sizes FIT EXACTLY THE SAME. I feel like this dress was not meant for those of the curvier nature, but if you decide to try it, I suggest running one or two sizes larger.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 16, 2014
everything about RTR was perfect, i can't wait for my next rental!
I got SO many complements :) the dress was slimming, sexy & I loved the color but the bow made it difficult to wear a coat/jacket.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Body type: Petite
September 27, 2011
Great dress! Wore it to my high school reunion and got tons of compliments. I'm usually a 4 but wore the 6 b/c it was more comfortable. One issue -- it does ride up a little, especially the lining. But overall, it's very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 6, 2011
The color of this dress is even more beautiful in person, but it was so small. I am an 8, and even my size up didn't fit. (It was my backup dress). I would absolutely rent again, just get a bigger size, since the dress is such an amazing color.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
November 7, 2011
Beautiful dress! Definitely runs small because it's stretchy, so order 1 to even 2 sizes up if you have any sort of backside. Very elegant and perfect for a black-tie wedding.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 17, 2011
Great!
Fantastic dress! As the other reviews say -- it runs on the small size. If you're a 4/6 -- get the 6. Better for small chested women (like myself). Great color and perfect fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
January 27, 2012
*
When I saw the dress on the hanger I was worried it was a little too reminiscent of an 80's prom dress. However, I was pleasantly surprised with the overall look. I wore the dress to a winter wedding in San Diego. For the daytime, this dress definitely stood out. I will say the color in person is much brighter than the picture. I picked two sizes and ended up wearing the size up, so I suggest following the reviews and going up one size. Overall- a great choice!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 20, 2012
Great color!
The color of this dress is absolutely stunning. The event I wore it to had an assortment of creative lighting, and it was very cool to see how the dress changed hues ever so slightly depending on the type of light I stood in. I wore it with a pair of Kenneth Jay Lane emerald drop earrings (which I own, but I believe are available for rent on RTR) and felt very glam. RTR is great! I received the dress quickly, and returning the dress was just as simple. Won’t be my last rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
May 22, 2012
Order a size up!
I'm a tried and true size 2 but in this dress I wore my backup size 4 and it was perfect. The 4 fit like my 2s usually do, so make sure you order up - at least as backup. The dress was like a tailor fit and was awesome for a wedding. Definitely makes you look great and stand out with the great color.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 11, 2012
Great dress!
Loved this dress and wore it for a St. Patty's Day wedding! The ruching was lovely, and the dress was very figure-flattering overall. Oh, and the color was more teal than emerald, I would say. My only complaint was that it had a large stain (a spilled drink) on the front of the skirt. I didn't notice it until I was in the cab on the way to the wedding...it wasn't all that noticeable otherwise I would have seen it when it arrived, but still would have preferred a dress in better condition.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 20, 2012
Everyone kept asking me about my style. I was a hit at the party. It made me feel extra special
Great fit. Love the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 6, 2012
Awesome RTR experience!
The dress was gorgeous, I had a million compliments on it!! The dress had a nice stretch to it to so it hugs your body nicely. I suggest sizing up a couple sizes though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 5, 2012
The color is a show stopper!
This dress is beautifully made, but does run a little small. I typically wear a 4 , but I wore the 6 and it was snug, but I think I pulled it off! I got a ton of compliments at the gala and felt like a million bucks!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 7, 2012
Loved this dress!
I was very impressed with this dress and got tons of compliments when I wore it. The color was perfect - a deep green that almost bordered on blue-green. The cut was great and very unique, however, the size runs small; I normally wear a 2, but had to size up to a 4. It was also comfortable and fun to wear!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 38
November 21, 2012
tight, hot number! Loved it.
It's tight, and it holds you all in.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
December 3, 2012
The dress fit really awkward and had to return both sizes
I purchased this dress for a wedding and read reviews and decided to order 2 sizes up like recommended. I am usually a 4 and ordered both a 6 and 8. The 6 would not fit and all and the 8 was awkward. The 8 was too tight in my bust and too baggy in my hip area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 13, 2013
Pretty green color. Got a lot of complements
Flattering but snug fit.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
January 22, 2013
This was my back-up dress. I didn't wind up wearing it, as it ran small...must be thin to pull off.
I ordered a 4 and a 6, as those are the two sizes I usually wear in dresses; however, neither dress worked. It was very small in the mid-section and chest. If you have a bit of a belly or carry your weight in your stomach, this dress may not be for you. If it had fit, the dress looked like great quality and was definitely a "dressy" dress. Too bad, as I would have ordered it again for future weddings.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
May 4, 2013
Beautiful color.
This dress ran a little small. But the fabric was beautiful and expensive looking.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
October 18, 2013
simple, easy to wear
The fabric was more sheen than I thought and the sleeve on the left made it look like an 80s prom dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
December 22, 2013
Beautiful dress, runs REALLY small
I rented this in two sizes, my usual dress size and a size up. It was not at all kind to my pear-shaped body. It fit around the bust and waist, hugged way too tightly around my bottom-half and would only zip to just below my bust. Needless to say, I didn't end up wearing this one.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
April 1, 2015
Such a fun, comfortable dress!!! Would highly recommend, but size up.
Comfortable but runs small
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Body type: Pear
September 5, 2011
Beautiful and very flattering dress that disguised my post-baby tummy completely. It is stretchy and very comfortable to wear. The color is true emerald, in the picture on my screen it looked a little more teal, but beautiful. Just add high heels and some sparkly earrings and you are red carpet ready!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 21, 2011
This dress was beautiful in person. I got tons of compliments. The color was a bit brighter than the online picture. I ordered a 4 and a 6, and went with the 6. It was snug, but it's supposed to fit that way. Loved this dress.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
September 24, 2011
This dress was perfect! I ordered a size 4 and 6 and the 4 fit great :) It came in timely and was so much easier than going shopping in a mall! I will be ordering again for my next event for sure!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 2, 2011
The dress was comfortable to wear and I felt beautiful in it.
This is an amazing dress! I received tons of compliments and double takes (the positive kind) when I wore it. I am 5’5, a 34B and 125 pounds; the size 4 fit me well. The dress is emerald green with a beautiful sheen that catches the light. I would definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
October 11, 2011
I got a 2 and a 4 - the 4 was a bit big in the bust (I'm a 32DD/34D) but fit great on my hips, the 2 fit perfectly in the bust but was tighter than I'd prefer in the hips. I wore the 2. Ended up being knee length on me since I'm much shorter than the model! Overall, it fit great. The fabric looks like satin in the picture, but is actually polyester-taffeta. It is fairly stretchy, which helps the fit.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 11, 2011
I found this dress to be very flattering. I liked the length too... not too short and not too long. I usually wear a 4 or a 6 and I took the 4 in this dress (with a pair of spanx of course). I recommend that you wear this dress if you want to be noticed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
October 12, 2011
Loved it.
If you're on the busty side, definitely size up! Other than that, what a great dress! Very comfortable. Got so many compliments!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 13, 2011
LOVED this dress for my friends wedding - fit my body perfectly - I am usually between and 2 and 4 and the 4 was perfect. It made my waist look so tiny because of the pleating detail and the color is so rich. Great dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
October 24, 2011
Super cute dress! It is much more emerald in person. Very flattering but form fitting. I am between a 2 and 4, so I opted for the 4 because I thought the 2 was a bit too tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 31, 2011
One of the mother of the bride's friends came up to tell me how great I looked!
I rented this dress for a friend's black tie wedding in NYC, and it was perfect! Great, rich color for the fall/winter, and nicer (heavier) fabric in person. It's form-fitting, but was true to size and very flattering.
AmyJanuary 31, 2012
This is my review - not sure why it didn't say what size I rented, but I wore a 0, and usually wear a 0. I weigh 108 and am a little hippy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 8, 2011
Wore this dress to my brother's wedding and got many compliments on it: the color, the fit, and overall how elegant it looked! I wear a 2 or 4 and the 4 fit me just right. Paired it with champagne colored Badgley Mischka heels to complete the look!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2011
Love it!
I wore this in a size 8, to my cousin's wedding. Even though I'm only 5'1", the hem hit just above the knee and fit perfectly. The ruching accentuated my curves and the material was stretchy enough to hold my girls in place (36D)... without giving me an unsightly side-cleavage muffin top. Since the material has some give, I probably could have worn a 6. I got so many complements throughout the night and would love to rent this dress again in the future.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
November 15, 2011
Loved it!!
Wore it to a friend's wedding & got compliments all night. The color is such a vibrant emerald green. The pic doesn't do it justice. I'm def renting from RTR for all events from now on. Very satisfied customer :)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113lbs
November 22, 2011
Gorgeous!
I can't say enough great things about this dress. Fit perfect, looked gorgeous, and had STRETCH in it. Super comfortable and I got tons of compliments. I'm 5'5" and it hit a bit above the knee which was perfect. Want to rent it again!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 23, 2011
Fantastic!!
This dress is absolutely fabulous! It fit perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
December 18, 2011
Sexy and Sophisticated
I loved this dress so much I didn't want to send it back...but I did anyway. I'm a size 12 with lots of curves and this dress looked stunning on me. I wore it at the Christmas party my husband and I hosted in our home to over 100 people and everyone is still talking about "the Dress" and even people who were not there that evening have seen pictures on facebook and twitter and they love "the Dress" as well. I wore this dress with high waisted Spanx and a regular strapless bra. I'm 5'6" so the dress was about 3-4 inches above my knee. I wore it with nude platform heels and I also wore a large emerald cocktail ring from RTR as well. I wore my hair up loosely and topped it all of with a glass of Champagne in my right hand. Can't wait to rent some more dresses!
See more reviews:
3 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×