Corundum Sapphire Gown

$80 rental
$790 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get ruched for that formal affair in this brilliant blue gown by Badgley Mischka. The super flattering waistline will have you feeling so confident! Simply add Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Luminosity Pearl Earrings and Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Silver Glitz Bangle Set.

Also available in green, red and fuchsia.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-16 & plus 14W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a racerback or strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-16 & plus 14W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a racerback or strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Cobalt crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Ruched waist. Straight skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
1379 reviews
Fit
Large
(54)
True to Size
(1004)
Small
(71)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 54
August 22, 2016
Light, easy to wear, flattering
This was my first time renting so was unsure about size. Thanks to all the ladies who posted review. I ordered 12 R and 14P. 12 R fit just right. Length was perfect for 2.5 inch heals. Didn't have any trouble with zipper. I have a tummy and the dress covered it. Whole process was fun and easy. Dress was clean with no dry cleaning or other odor. I'm 5'6''. Hourglass, 165 pounds and 54 yrs old. This dress should work for any chest size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 22, 2016
Very versatile & comfy dress, and the RTR experience was easy.
DRESS: PROs) great color, great fit, very comfortable, arm holes were the perfect size, didn't feel too over OR under dressed for a standard wedding that was not black tie. The loose fit and texture allowed for lots of 'forgiveness' including 'the girls' (I didn't even have to wear a bra (34DD)!. CONs) I was expecting to wear heels (and had bought some really cute new ones for this occasion) but ended up having to go out and buy flats and it still barely hit the floor (5'5"). Should've gone with the 8L to rock my pumps, but wasn't unhappy about being comfy in flats all night! RTR EXPERIENCE: PROs) on-time, affordable, upgraded to 'pro' for my next two weddings which now offers 20% off every order, great packaging, two sizes -one that I changed up last minute at no additional cost, easy return, real-time tracking and lots of communication...effortless really. CONs) I found myself sweating the small stuff (Will I be able to wear a bra? Will it be too fancy? Will it be too long? Did I pick the right sizes?). I am a 'planner' and overanalyze the details, so I found myself both relieved yet kind of anxious. It was good for me to sit back and not be in charge for once, yet that was hard for me to do! :) I would recommend to everyone and I will be trying this again for all my formal/semi-formal events!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 22, 2016
This dress is simple, elegant and comfortable!
I'm normally a size 2, but because I had ordered the long, I had to go down to a 0. (I'm 5'9", so long is usually required -- that is NOT the case with this dress). In retrospect, I wish I had ordered the 2R. The 0 was tight but not uncomfortably so. The draping of this dress would be flattering on any body type, I imagine! I am very small-chested, but because there is blousing and the material is gathered, the dress hides this fact. Similarly, the gathering and draping gently cascade to the floor. The only fitted parts of this dress are the cummerbund and the armpits.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
August 22, 2016
Amazing dress!
This dress was on point! A little tight at the top but very comfortable otherwise. I felt so elegant and classy all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 21, 2016
I went to the showroom in Manhattan and ended up choosing the dress I had in mind.
The dress was true to size. It was very flattering and comfortable. I received many compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
August 19, 2016
Black tie optional anniversary party.
This dress was my back-up but it was gorgeous. It fit perfectly and was very flattering. Made my waist look small and the color popped. This is a very easy dress to wear. Only con was that it clearly had been stepped on in the front by other renters so the front hem was stretched out and too long. Was able to run a quick running stitch to temporarily hem it to the appropriate length and then just pull it out after I wore it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
August 18, 2016
Beautiful dress!
I ordered this for a black tie optional wedding. I'm only 5'1" so I was very nervous about the length but it was perfect with three inch heels and I got so many compliments on it. The color was beautiful!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 18, 2016
Perfect dress!
It fit perfectly and I got tons of compliments at the wedding I went to. With heels it didn't touch the ground and I was able to wear it without a bra and felt like I had great support! The flowyness was an added bonus!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
August 14, 2016
This dress was gorgeous and I got so many compliments on it!
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding. I normally wear a 12 and the 12L fit perfectly! The regular length would not have worked with heels. I'm 5'6" and had about 3 inch heels on. For my backup style I got a 12R and it was floor length barefoot. The dress was super comfortable and definitely hid the problem areas. Overall the rental and return process was super easy!!! I will definitely be using RTR for all future events.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
August 14, 2016
Perfect for black tie optional wedding
This dress fit like a glove and was very flattering and comfortable! I was surprised that the 8R barely reached the ground on me (I'm 5'5") so taller girls beware! The 8P fit me a little better but would have been too short. I would definitely recommend this dress - it was so fun!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
August 14, 2016
Way too big
The color in this dress was gorgeous. Very flattering. The style was perfect too. Unfortunately, I went up a size based on availability (and reviews) and it was easily 2 sizes too big. I'm very hourglass shaped but the bust was huge on me (I'm a 38 DDD) Even the waist (which reviews said runs small) was 3-4" too big.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 140lbs
August 10, 2016
SO many compliments on the dress! The color really stood out too
I'm 5'5 and about 140 pounds, and the 6 fit well! This dress is "heavier" than you might think because of the chiffon with the under layer, but it was still comfortable and the perfect length. There was definitely plenty of room in the bust of the dress for ladies who might be a bit fuller up top! Overall I would highly recommend this dress. No complaints!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 182lbs
August 10, 2016
Great Experience
Everything was great!! Fit was absolutely perfect!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
August 10, 2016
Beautiful!
This dress was all around amazing. I actually could have worn a 10, but I was super comfortable all night. I got a ton of compliments and the color is gorgeous.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 57
August 9, 2016
great event
the 12L was a bit snug across the waist. the zipper is difficult to zip because of the waistband. I paired this with a vintage turquoise squash blossom necklace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 142lbs
August 7, 2016
Great color
Didn't end up wearing this one, but beautiful color and fit. Zipper was a bit hard to finagle.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
August 6, 2016
felt beautiful in this dress!
Loved this dress. perfect royal blue color. (i believe i wore the 4L) length was great... I'm 5'9" and wore 4" heels.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
August 4, 2016
This dress really turns heads
Beautiful dress, this picture doesn't do the color justice. I did have a little trouble with the zipper on both dresses I received but totally worth the zipper struggle.
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
August 2, 2016
It was a great night catching up with old and new friends. The dress was very easy in which to dance
I am short so the petite was the right fit since I wasn't wearing heels. The fit was flattering and very comfortable. The zipper was a little tough to move up and down but outside of that I loved the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Weight: 125lbs
July 31, 2016
Very comfortable and flattering for any body type!
This dress fit wonderfully! It was look at the bust and snug where the fabric wraps. You can wear a normal bra with this dress which makes it even more comfortable. I should have worn a 0p however the petite was unavailable, I wore 4 inch heels but the dress was still a little long. The fabric was heavy, exactly as I had expected for a designer gown! My back up dress was a 2R and that one fit well enough that I could have worn it but the 0 fit just a bit tighter. All in all this dress was extremely comfortable, can easily be worn with just statement earrings and would work well for any formal event!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
July 29, 2016
Perfect dress for wedding guest & awesome customer service
I rented this for a friend's formal wedding. It was perfect for the event and transitioned from the early evening ceremony to the late night reception. The other reviews of the dress being short are completely accurate. I'm 5'6-5'7 and usually wear 3" heels. The LONG size was necessary to accommodate height and heels. Even in flats, the regular length would have been too short for me personally. I ordered the regular length not reading the reviews and didn't try on the dress till two days before the out-of-town wedding. I contacted RTR late in the evening (9pm CST) via website chat on a Wednesday and they actually answered! They had the correct length dress sent to my hotel by Friday when I arrived. GREAT customer service and great dress and have already ordered the same dress in a different color for another wedding.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
July 29, 2016
the blue was perfect for a spring wedding.
I wore a 4R without a bra due to the fact of where it hits right under the bust line. It was super tight and I should of worn the 6 but I made it work. It's super flattering for all shapes, but does run a little long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
July 27, 2016
Great for summer formal wedding
I unfortunately don't have a photo of me in the dress as we unexpectedly had to cut the night short; but this is the second time I felt this designer ran small in the chest area (which I should have made more attention to). Definitely order a size up if you have a larger chest. But it was flowy and very light to wear!
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
July 25, 2016
The event was wonderful! The best part is that I was comfortable, and looked amazing!!
The fit was perfect! The smaller size fit better - which I expected. The lovely cobalt blue was just like the picture! Just stunning!! The fit just felt like it was made for me when I tried it on! I did get a long because I am 5'9 1/2 so I needed it. The dress met the floor with a lovely silver pump. I didn't want to mess up the front with a necklace, so I left that alone and just wore a blingy fat bracelet. I was worried about the stomach area for the dinner and dancing - it looks fitting, but gave plenty of room to dance the night away!! I got compliments all night!!! I am already looking for my next outfit!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16P
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 25
July 23, 2016
Classy and flattering
This Drs fit my body perfect. I was really nervous about renting a gown without trying it on but when I tried this dress on I was in love!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 44
July 20, 2016
Great dress but I needed the petite size due to length. Color was amazing.
great fit!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
July 19, 2016
Rented this for a summer black tie optional wedding in NYC. I loved wearing a pop of color for once!
I usually wear a 2 so I found this true to size. My one gripe is there was a slight snag or seam out of line running down the front but once I left the house I forgot all about it. I received many compliments on the dress and color. Absolutely loved it and the gold/rhinestone hoop earrings I rented. Highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
July 18, 2016
LOVED this dress!!
I wore this dress to a black tie optional wedding and it was perfect! I wore the 6L with 2.5 inch heels and the dress hit right at the ground. The dress accentuates your waist without pinching or pulling anywhere. I didn't feel the need to wear a bra, just some pasties. The wedding was also in New Orleans in July, so it was really hot and humid, but the movement of the dress and the fabric made it feel light and airy and it didn't show sweat. The blue was really vibrant in the daylight but more subdued in indoor lighting. I didn't want to return it! (The red dress in the picture is also from Rent the Runway and it was a big hit too)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 147lbs
July 18, 2016
It looked beautiful blowing in the wind. The color was vibrant! Everyone loved it!
I ordered the 6L and backup 8L. I wore the 8 even though the 6 fit. The 6 was a little tight in the bust and under the arms. I'm also wearing 4 inch heels with the dress. I would definitely rent this dress again. The only con is zipping it. It's tough to zip in the middle because the fabric is thick.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
July 14, 2016
Lightweight and a beautiful color
I'm 5'9 and wore the long length with a 2.5ish inch wedge. I could have gone slightly higher. This dress is lightweight even for summer and easy to wear. I'm generally a size 8 so I'd say this runs a tad small through the waist and bust but probably not a full size. Gorgeous color!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
July 13, 2016
Gorgeous, modest - yet sexy - dress.
I loved wearing this dress. My sister had a very small wedding and asked me to choose any dress I wanted, but due to the religious nature of those attending asked that it be modest. I found this style and let her choose the color (it also comes in green and pink). This royal blue was vibrant and a perfect choice; I wore a white pashmina over my shoulders to compliment it. The material was great for the summer heat and would have been good for an indoor winter venue as well. Pros: I felt like a Greek goddess with the fitted bodice and the flowing skirt layers. It's elegant and sexy without showing off all the goodies. (My husband asked if we could keep it.) Cons: The bodice was a wee bit tight for me, though not constrictive or uncomfortable; I probably could have gotten away without wearing a bra, though I didn't try it like that. My regular bra straps also showed outside shoulders; I wore a navy bra so it wasn't too obvious, and with the pashmina covering my shoulders the entire time it wasn't even an issue, but next time I'd wear a strapless or racerback bra if I need one. Also, the regular length was pooling on the floor with my 5'5" frame; it skimmed the floor even with 2.5" heels - I likely could have gotten away with the short length. Fortunately I didn't have to do a whole lot of walking around in it, but when people were right behind me they did step on it a few times. I paired this with a short strand of pearls (choker-length) and it sat right at my collarbone above the neckline. I think most any pearl or sparkly accessories would go well with it. Would absolutely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 20
July 13, 2016
Wore this to an Indian wedding
For a little tight around the underarms but fit well once I got the right size. Sizing is a little small. Typically I'm a size 8 and I wore a 12
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
July 12, 2016
Great first RTR experience!
I loved this dress, it was a very flattering fit and I got tons of compliments. The 4 was tight in my ribs so I wore the 6.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 12, 2016
Simply perfect
I couldn't have been happier with this dress. True to size and the length was just right with a short heel.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
July 11, 2016
Love it
It fit well and made me look great, it was a little long with my heels and so that's why I didn't wear it because I didn't want to fall and trip over the dress but the color is amazing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 11, 2016
LOVED THIS DRESS
I absolutely adored this dress! It was perfect for a formal wedding and has a great skirt that looks so pretty when you dance (even if you have no rhythm like me). The color is super rich, the material is lovely and it was so comfortable. I'm 5'7" and wore 3 inch heels and the length was perfect. Could not have been sadder to send it home.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 52
July 11, 2016
This dress was perfect for me as Mother of the Groom - it was comfortable, lovely and elegant.
I wore a 0L, but, but could have easily wore a 0R. I am 5'8" and I wore a small heel - usually I would need a long, but not with this dress. The customer service dept. gave me great advice and recommended temporary fabric tape as they did not have a 0R at the last moment. The temporary tape worked great - do not use the kind that you iron on as that will ruin the dress. I was nervous about renting a dress that I never tried on, but Rent the Runway will take care of any issues that you have and will send you another size the next day. They were fantastic to work with and I highly recommend Rent the Runway.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
July 11, 2016
Great color, some fit issues
The color was gorgeous. I ordered the 10R, but it was unavailable, so RTR sent me the 12R. Luckily I got the 12R, because the band around the middle fit perfectly on my ribcage, and a smaller size would probably have been too tight. Also at 5'4" the dress was a little long, even with heels, so I had to be careful not to trip. Finally, the bust was a little loose on my right side, in a way that suggested a stitch was missing. Despite the fit issues, I did like this dress and got a lot of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158lbs
July 10, 2016
I wore this to my friend's wedding and knew that there would be many well-dressed people attending!
The color of this dress is amazing. Also, if you need to wear a bra or if wearing one just makes things much more comfortable, this dress allows that (racerback).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
July 9, 2016
Perfect blue for a 4th of July wedding.
This dress was beautiful, but does run a little small, especially if you are larger cheated like myself. I just barely got the 8 to zipper up and felt a little constricted across the chest with the dress on, but because of the material, you couldn't tell! I received many compliments on the color and style.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 35

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×