Corundum Sapphire Gown

$80 rental
$790 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get ruched for that formal affair in this brilliant blue gown by Badgley Mischka. The super flattering waistline will have you feeling so confident! Simply add Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Luminosity Pearl Earrings and Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Silver Glitz Bangle Set.

Also available in green, red and fuchsia.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-16 & plus 14W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a racerback or strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-16 & plus 14W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a racerback or strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Cobalt crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Ruched waist. Straight skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
1379 reviews
Fit
Large
(54)
True to Size
(1004)
Small
(71)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
June 7, 2016
Great dress in a beautiful color
Was true to size but has no give at all at the waist band. I'm 5'6'' and with a heel the length was perfect. My only real complaint was how hard it was to zip up, the zipper kept getting stuck at the waist band.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 7, 2016
Lovely
This dress was overnighted to me to replace a different style that I did not like. It was so comfortable and the color was vibrant and beautiful. Fun to dance in!
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
June 7, 2016
What a great service and the dress was in perfect condition!
I wore the size 6. I am 5'6" and felt like I needed to wear heels to prevent the dress from dragging. I had expected to wear heels, but just not as high.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 6, 2016
Perfect dress for a black tie gala
I initially selected the green version of this dress in 10L and ended up having to go up a size because of the tightness in the stitching on the empire waist band. I'm almost 5'8" and wanted to make sure that the dress was long enough with heels. The 10L was perfect, but the 12L was a little longer so I had to be careful that myself and others didn't step on the dress. Rent the Runway was great to work with when the 10L didn't work and was great to offer suggestions to make sure that I got a dress that would work quickly. All in all I loved the dress and received many compliments all night long. I wish it would have been a little more fitted and didn't like having to go up a size, a 10.5 would have been ideal! ;)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
June 6, 2016
Perfect for a formal work holiday party
I wore this dress for my fiance's work holiday party and it was super cute!! It was a little long even with 4 inch heels, but overall it was a great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 64
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
June 5, 2016
Just enjoy the experience of wearing a beautiful dress!
The color is gorgeous deep cobalt blue. I had read that you might need help with the zipper and that was true! It has a full skirt so going up and downstairs is a bit tricky. I am 5'5 and a half and wore heels which I needed to keep skirt from dragging. Another happy experience for me with RTR.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
June 4, 2016
This gown fit me perfectly. I had lots of compliments And I looked like a queen.
The size was perfect
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
June 3, 2016
This dress was perfect for the formal wedding I attended.
This dress was perfect for a formal wedding!! I ordered an 8/10L. The 8L fit but was a little tight under my arms and across my chest giving that arm bulge we all hate! I wore the 10L and was more comfortable. This dress fit perfect! I am 5'10 and wore gladiator sandals with this dress. It was long enough that you couldn't see them. I could've worn a very low heel but I my personal preference is, the longer the better! I don't like when my feet show. If you have a larger chest, it might be a little tight across the chest; I am between a 38 B/C; I wore sticky boobs and was good to go! I would recommend this dress in any color!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
June 3, 2016
Beautiful
I tried on the 12 and it fit great except for I couldn't get it zippered up on my back bc of my Large chest... I had to wear the 14 bc I am 36/38 DD -- bc of that the dress was a little big... Outside of that - the dress was great -- the zipper when it got to the waistband got stuck and we had to fight to get it zipped up.. Wish there was a way to grease it up! Hubby said he thought the zipper was put on backwards and that is why it doesn't zip properly..
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
June 2, 2016
Stood out in a room of black dresses!
Loved it! So comfy, wore to a black tie wedding. Got compliments all night! Had so much fun dancing in it & being able to breathe!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 31, 2016
My first RTR!
Loved this dress! It fits true to size although I will say it was a teeny bit snug at the waist but not uncomfortable. I'm 5'7 and two and a half inch heels were perfect, I never stepped on the dress and it flowed beautifully, very nice movement. Best part was not needing to wear a bra or any kind of spanx, our event was outdoors so hosiery wasn't necessary. Made for a very comfortable evening. I'd rent this again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
May 30, 2016
The event was fun. I was able to make the dress work.
It was short and small. I am a size 8, but I can usually wear a six. However, this dress was tight on the top portion. Additionally, the length of the dress is deceiving; it was much shorter than it appeared in the picture and I am only 5'3". In any case, the color was beautiful and I was able to make it work.
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
May 28, 2016
Perfect fit, very comfortable
This was my first time using RTR. I wore this to a May wedding. I don't usually wear long dressed but I absolutely loved this one. It fit perfectly and was so comfortable. I received a lot of compliments on it. You can easily dress it up or down. I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
May 27, 2016
Great dress!
I loved this dress! It was comfy and I got so many compliments!. I am 5'1'' and the petite was perfect with ~3 inch wedges.
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
May 26, 2016
Dancing is so fun in such a free flowing dress!
Fit well. The zipper sticks a bit even on the hanger. Very comfortable. Glamorous with lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
May 25, 2016
I loved the dress!
I wore this tons wedding and It was really comfortable to wear. It is true that the "sash" is snug and the zipper is VERY hard to get up. I wore the 6R and it fit perfect. I'm 5'3 145lbs 36B and I wore 3in heels. The 6R perfectly swept the floor. The 8P was just a bit baggy in the chest area and I felt like I had more fabric in the skirt area, although the sash area was a bit more comfortable. Ultimately chose to wear the 6R.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 24, 2016
Felt like I was walking on clouds!
This dress moved so beautifully! I absolutely loved the color and the length was great with 4" heels! I did not want to take the dress off! Flowy fabric, great walking and dancing. The one thing is DO NOT pair with a sequin/sparkly anything or jewelry that might snag it! My bracelet got snagged once minimally but the purse snagged it a bunch as I wore it on shoulder/hip. :( This dress is flawless though! Just loved it
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
May 23, 2016
Barristers Ball
I absolutely loved this dress! I'm 5'2" and about 117 lbs - this dress fit perfect! Extremely comfortable, the color was beautiful and the length fell just right once I put my 3 inch heels on. Got so many compliments! So glad I picked this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
May 23, 2016
Gorgeous and comfortable!
I wore this for a formal photo shoot for a charity event. The color is gorgeous and the fit very flattering. Oddly, this was the back up to my back up dress. My original choice arrived with a broken zipper and the backup dress was not available, so this was my last choice --- but turned out to be perfect! It is a bit long -- I am 5'5" and wore 3 inch heels and it was still a bit long. Also, the zipper has a little hitch right at the decorative waistline, but besides that it wears beautifully. One negative note... we took photos outdoor and any little bit of moisture is very visible on this dress. For example, I brushed against a dewy bush and had dark blue wet marks on my back. The dress dries relatively quickly, but it was weird.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
May 23, 2016
Love the gorgeous color!
I ordered this a little late so a regular 16 was not available so I got the 16W and it was a little bit of an awkward fit on me, the waist was lower than it should be and my chest did not fill out the top half so it looked a bit awkward because there was some bunched up fabric. However, overall, it was great! Very easy to walk around in and flows very nicely! I wore this to my graduation and it was the perfect color/perfect dress! even though the fit could have been a little better, I would still recommend this to anyone! My second RTR experience was a success!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
May 22, 2016
I wore this dress while officiating a black tie optional wedding.
Absolutely great dress for an hourglass figure woman. It made my waist look tiny, while still having room for my 38F+ bustline. Fantastic color and extremely comfortable to dance in as well! I got tons of compliments on it. My only caution is that the dress runs short. I am just shy of 5'5" and had to wear the flats I had planned to use for the after party all evening because it hit at the ankle. A taller woman or one whose heart is set on wearing heels definitely needs to order the long! Overall another RTR hit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 23
May 22, 2016
Wedding Guest Dress
The dress itself is gorgeous and fits perfectly received so many compliments on it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 21, 2016
Loved this dress!
Super comfortable and flattering. Got so may comments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
May 17, 2016
This was a beautiful, comfortable dress.
While I loved the color, fabric, and flow of the dress, it was way too long. I'm 5'3", and I had to wear 5" heels to keep the hem from dragging on the floor. I received tons of compliments throughout the night. Someone was wearing the exact same dress from Rent the Runway at the wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
May 16, 2016
So many compliments from both men and women on the color of this dress!
Love this dress! I've rented in other colors in the past and will definitely rent again. You can wear a regular bra and the dress is very comfortable. I'm 5'9 and the regular just made it to floor with flat sandals on.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 15, 2016
This dress was perfect for the black tie event I attended. It added some color to the event.
The dress runs small. I would recommend getting a size larger than what you normally wear. I loved the way the dress fit me.
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 38
May 15, 2016
Stunning dress!
This dress was perfect for a 6:30 wedding. I recently gave birth to twin girls, and this dress helped cover up my remaining baby bump. The zipper was a little tough, but definitely worth it! I received numerous compliments on the dress!! I am 5'4'' 145 lbs and needed 3" heels. The dress made me feel stunning!
Angela May 25, 2016
What size did you order?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 56
May 14, 2016
very elegant event ...glad I had something long...
Fit was great, zipper was difficult and I was traveling alone, so had to ask two women at the elevator in the hotel to help me with the back. I did contact the company about the difficult zipper and noticed other reviewers said the same. The color was classic and simple...most of the bridal party and family were in sequins, but I felt like a classic.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 18
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
May 14, 2016
Wore for prom junior year.
Beautiful color and material was incredible. The top fits a little tight.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
May 13, 2016
Light, comfortable, flattering
The dress was perfect for a black tie wedding I attended. It was good for dancing, comfortable and not heavy. Runs a little small - I am usually an 6 or 8 and I wore a 10 regular so I would definitely size up as a back up size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
May 11, 2016
White tie/Black Tie Gala Auction
The fit was true to size and comfortable. With the help of just a little Hollywood tape, I was able to wear my regular bra. The fit was flattering, yet you could relax and eat! I wore 2.5" heels and the dress was maybe a quarter inch too long. I had to hold up the front or I would trip on the outer layer. If you want to wear true heels, I'd go with the long (if you are taller than 5'5"). Would definitely rent again. Rent the runway is two for two with me, so I will continue to utilize their services when I don't see the need to keep a $500 dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 11, 2016
This was for my college senior formal dance, and the dress was beautiful.
The dress fit well and zips easily. I am 5"5 and the Regular brushed the floor. I ended up wearing like 2 inch heels so I wouldn't trip in it, and the length was great! The chest area was a little roomy. It looks AMAZING when you dance and twirl around, and I got a ton of compliments on how classy and elegant it was. The color is a stunning royal blue. I would highly recommend this dress. It is great quality.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
May 11, 2016
This dress never faltered. It was comfortable, a hit, I felt great in it, etc. AMAZING
This dress fit very well. The length was great (I wore flat shoes) It even fit me well in the bust area where I am... well endowed. ;)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
May 9, 2016
Loved this Dress!
This was a fantastic dress for a formal charity gala. I'm a true size 0 and it fit perfectly! I have a very small chest, and it wasn't an issue. I wore a regular bra - maybe not the best idea, but it worked for the most part. My stomach bulges a little after giving birth to twins and I felt that this dress hid it well. I'm 5'5" and the length was great with 3 inch heels. I do think that the color is a little different than the picture - more blue, less purple, but it's still a beautiful dress. It was very comfortable as well! As always, RTR customer service was fantastic!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
20WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 8, 2016
#prom2016chaperone
The color was great. I thought the size was true but I am 5'8 and it would've been too short if I would've picked a shoe with much of a heel.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 8, 2016
The dress was perfect!!!! So many compliments on the elegance and color. I wore it to prom.
The fit is true to size. It is nice to be able to wear a strapless bra with this dress. The 0R was the perfect length with a 2-3 inch heel. People loved the color; it is so pretty. This dress is extremely flattering and doesn't give away when you eat a lot at the dinner and the stomach expands a bit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 6, 2016
Beautiful, Beautiful Dress
I *loved* this dress!! It is amazing and is far and away my favorite rental so far. I got so many compliments when I was wearing it, and it was incredibly comfortable. It flows fantastically and the color is eye catching. Almost everyone else at my event was wearing black, and this dress stood out. I got this dress as a replacement at the last minute (RTR customer service is amazing!) and 0R was sold out, so I got the 0L. I am 5'4 and with 3 inch heels it was still an inch or an inch and a half too long, but because of the way it flows I wasn't stepping on the hem too badly. The 0R would have been absolutely perfect. I would certainly rent this dress again, and definitely will rent it again in another color. It is amazing.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 6, 2016
Pretty, but a little too "matronly" on me.
A slight bit tight in the bust. I would suggest that this dress works better for slender, smaller busted girl.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 41
May 6, 2016
Loved the dress, got lots of compliments!
Great fit. Very flattering color and style.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
May 5, 2016
goood fit
fit well, perfect length and comfortable
See more reviews:
3 / 35

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×