Badgley Mischka

Belle of the Ball Gown

$70 rental
$595 retail
Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
1005 reviews
Fit
Large
(81)
True to Size
(585)
Small
(146)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
November 16, 2014
Dancing around the house in my dress with my husband AFTER he refused to dance at the party :)
Fantastic dress! Tight in the bosom which is saying a lot as I already am not well-endowed in that area. I think it really flattered my pear shape well. Two thumbs up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
November 19, 2014
The dress for like a glove, which made me feel elegant and sexy!
The fit was perfect and so was the length. I wore proper undergarments to flatten me all around. This helped make the look sleek and flawless. I wore a tiny tear drop necklace and a large silvery purple bangle, and grey peep toe shoes to top it all off. I am short so length was a big thing for me - but this totally hit the mark. I am also broad in the shoulders so I was concerned about the neckline and this hugged and showed off all the right places. I got many great compliments throughout my night!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 3, 2014
Couture gown, no sticker shock
Great fit! Train in the back was an issue trying to walk around and hope no one stepped on it. Loved the gown though!
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
December 13, 2014
I wore this dress to my husbands last Marine Corps ball and it was perfect! So comfortable
The fit is true to size. It was very flattering, it's made out of very nice material and it was slightly thick so I didn't have to wear a jacket to the event. I got a 4L and was still able to wear 4 inch wedges with this dress. It was the perfect length!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 15, 2014
Everyone loved my dress and was complimenting me all night!
The only thing was the length meant I had to hold it up so nobody trod on the tail end. Apart from that I loved it
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 47
January 1, 2015
My dress arrived as promised on time and in perfect, clean condition.
The dress was high quality. The fabric was fitted but very forgiving. The gathering at the waste is very flattering and for a 20 degree night I was not cold at all. I also got the 0R which was too small and too long but 2P was perfect. Will definitely use RTR again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 2, 2015
Beautiful dress. Just to tight in the top. Couldn't wear it
I ordered this as a backup dress. Ordered the 8L. I'm 5'7 and length was good. Dress was pretty and fit everywhere except my 36DD's. It was so tight I don't know how a D could fit in it. It hurt just trying it on for the picture! Ha. Other than that it was a nice look. Wore my first choice though.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Weight: 136lbs
January 3, 2015
Dress was perfect easy shipping! Very happy
This dress was a hit!!! I wore it to a friends wedding and I absolutely loved it. Hides any little fat no spanx needed and didn't wear a bra either. If you have bigger breasts I would probably size up or go braless. This dress was getting compliments all night! Wore it with 4 inch heels and it perfectly hit the floor. Took the size 6regular . Thanks rent the runway :)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
January 3, 2015
Classic and elegant
I'm super small in the waist but I have a big booty...the gathering made me look bigger in the middle but would definitely recommend this dress especially if your tummy is a problem area. It was really stretchy so other than that, fit like it was tailored. Couldn't move my arms because of the off-the-shoulder design, but that's to be expected.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
January 18, 2015
This was my first time to use RTR, and I can't wait to do it again!
This dress was glamorous and classy. I wore it to a black tie event, and felt it was the perfect look, without being too 'sexy'. The fit was perfect, and I wore it with normal heels. The train got stepped on a couple times, but the fabric is thick, so it bounced back. It has boning in the bust area that can sort of stick into your ribs, but I just adjusted them when necessary. No bra is needed. We did dance, although the sleeves are a bit constricting. Overall it was very flattering!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
January 24, 2015
Gorgeous fit!
Received lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Age: 34
January 27, 2015
I could not get enough compliments on this dress. I love the service from RTR. !!
I could not get enough compliments on this dress. I love the service from RTR. I accidentally ordered my dress for the wrong date. I emailed them and the responded within 30 minutes and told me not to worry just reorder the gown and they would issue me a credit when they received it back, even though it was my mistake. Amazing customer service!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
February 7, 2015
Sophisticated with a touch of sexy
The dress was super comfortable, and was a fun one to wear. Thanks to the wire support, I never had to pull it up! Sleeves were a little big (and I have bigger arms) and I had problems keeping the zipper flat on the back. Very minor, but worth mentioning. It was a tad long with 3.5" heels, so I probably could have gone with a 6R.
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 11, 2015
Classic and elegant.
This dress is absolutely beautiful on. The classic look of this dress make it elegant and timeless. This dress is comfortable enough to dance in while hiding any body flaws that you may have. At 5'0" the 0P was almost too short with 4" heels on. I could have worn a 0R. So, if you are taller go with the regular length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
February 21, 2015
Great customer service! Dress runs small and short.
Dress arrived WAY too short. I felt the size ran small as well. Size up for your back up. RTR sent me another dress that worked for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
March 3, 2015
Super sexy
The fit is very firm fitting so you have to be comfortable with that. I also rented the necklace.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 16, 2015
People complimented me on the dress all night AND it was comfortable
The length was perfect
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
March 20, 2015
Didn't wear it.
This was a selection made for me by RTR after a situation with a dress I ordered became unavailable. Was not thrilled with this, so they overnighted me a beautiful option that worked perfectly! See my other reviews!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 4, 2015
Ended up not wearing it
Very boring dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 5, 2015
Loved!!
This dress felt amazing! Old school glam and just enough stretch to fit my waist and hips. The length was great for my 5" heels. No issues at all with the top slipping either, very comfy!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
April 18, 2015
Zero stress! Excellent service, quality of garment!
Zero stress! Beautiful dress and fit. Options provided should 1st size not fit. Effortless. Ease of app and return. Expectations completely and thoroughly managed. Thank you!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 23, 2015
This dress fit well and was very comfortable for the evening!
The fit was true to size. It fits well around the bust; not loose or falling. No need to worry about fighting your dress all evening! I am 5'6" and ordered a regular length. It was a bit short for my liking in the front. Other than that, great dress for a formal affair!
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
April 25, 2015
So beautiful! And easy to do!
Wore to a military Ball and jaws were dropping! Beautiful dress the 6L back up size I got fit perfectly! I'm 5'8'' 141lbs and small chest. this dress was amazing! This was my first time using RTR and I will definitely use RTR again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
June 9, 2015
The service was impeccable
When I first ordered this dress I got what I thought was my size which is usually an 8R but it was way too big so no need to try the 10R. I'm only 5'4, curvy athletic build but a 34 DD. I called and they overnighted the dress expeditiously. It arrived the next morning . The 6R fit perfect on the body but a bit snug around the boobs. All in all a great dress for a formal event. Received many compliments. Danced all night in it while holding the train but I didn't mind.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 13, 2015
Perfect for a conservative military ball
Fits true to size, very forgiving, perfect for the ball!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 148lbs
August 9, 2015
Effortless elegance and sophistication!
This gown is a winner. I can see why it's so popular. It fits true to side and is very slimming. The gown is not lightweight, but it felt comfortable and was substantial. It's one of those gowns that make others do a double take when you pass by! I was told I looked like one of those movie stars on the red carpet! A truly timeless and elegant gown and one of my best rentals so far!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 22, 2015
Fits great but very long!
I wore the 4R with 4 inch heels and it was still a bit long for me. I had trouble walking without snagging it on my shoes or having others step onto the dress. I also felt like the sleeves were a bit long on my frame and ended up tucking the under a bit to make the ensemble look me proportioned. Fit was amazing though. Fabric is heavy so be prepared to be warm in this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 56
September 27, 2015
All the compliments I received.
Was a great experience all around. Love, love, love the dress & received loads of compliments. Would have liked if I had some double sided tape for sleeves to keep them in place, they were a little droopy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
October 4, 2015
Always fast and incredible service with RTR!
The fit was a little bit snug in the chest area. I tried it with and without a strapless bra. Boning in the top of the dress makes it possible to not wear a bar. Material is very stretchy and comfortable. Easy to dance and move around in. I am 5'4 and I order a regular length and without shoes the front of the dress hit right at the top of my feet. The back was long enough so that with a 3 inch heel it did not touch the ground. Overall would highly recommend this dress for any formal occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
October 7, 2015
Classic glamour
Wore the backup size- my bust made it difficult to zip the smaller one because it is very structured. I was able to zip it myself into it but it took some maneuvering. Would have been the perfect length for heels, but I had to wear flats due to the state of my feet after a long week of walking. Had to pick up my train but that wasn't a big deal. I got complements all night long and it was effortless to wear. There wasn't another gown like it at the event and I felt very confident, even without shape wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 8, 2015
This dress was exactly what I was looking for! Understated, yet eye catching at the same time.
I rented this dress for a fundraising gala for a non -profit organization I started. I got a ton of compliments and was able to dress it up with oversized earrings. This dress fit true to size and was comfortable all night long. I am on the shorter side (5' 1") and this dress was a bit long (even with heels). Overall, I was very pleased with this rental and am already looking forward to my next RTR experience!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
November 10, 2015
So many compliments all night. I felt so glamorous
The small train was perfect. The fit was amazing. It hugged me in and hid my flaws. Loved this dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
November 16, 2015
Perfect for the Marine Corp Ball!
I ordered a 4r and a 6r. The 4r was too small, but the 6r fit just right. I was worried about getting a dress the day before my big event, but it worked out great! I would definitely use RTR again :) Also, the return process was easy and convenient!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185lbs
November 18, 2015
I was stopped several times throughout the night, being told how beautiful I looked in this dress
The body of the dress was extremely forgiving and made your "rolls" disappear. The arms fit very tight and the length wasn't quite as long as I'd hoped, but I wore beautiful shoes. The front of the dress is just a tad shorter than the back. I felt so beautiful wearing it and would love to wear it again. Next time I would probably wear a 12L just to feel looser in the arms.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
November 22, 2015
The dress was extremely flattering, and I received a ton of compliments.
I had to size up 2 sizes for the dress to fit in the bust ( I am a 38 DD). It was a little loose in the body, but the fabric hid the loose fit- and probably made it more comfortable. The dress was extremely elegant and classic- aside from the size (which is just a number) I felt great in it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
November 22, 2015
This dress will turn heads!
I loved this dress from the moment I saw it. I normally wear a 2, so I ordered a 2 and a 4. I ended up wearing the 4 because of the extra room at the bust. I'm glad I ordered a long. I'm 5'7 and it was the perfect length with 3-4" heels. There is a little bit of a train that you don't see in the pictures. I got so many compliments on this dress all night long. I felt like a million bucks!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
November 23, 2015
Great fit!
Was very flattering and fit true to size!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163lbs
November 30, 2015
Worked Wonderfully for my masquerade party...
This dress was beautiful. I received many compliments the whole night. The only negative is the zipper is very delicate and you have to be very careful. I chose two sizes and both fit. I would have loved to wear the 10R but the dress has been worn a lot and the boning inside the dress isn't holding up as great. This was my first rental and won't be my last. Love this site.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
November 6, 2015
Nice dress, but not super memorable
This dress was beautifully made, and was true to size. It did stretch a bit and relaxed as I was wearing it, so I felt I had to adjust a lot more as the night went on. Maybe some fashion tape would have made it more secure. I'm 5'3" and wore 3 or 4" heals and the regular length was perfect--just brushing the ground, but not tripping me up all night.
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 9, 2015
I loved wearing this dress! It was so comfortable and made me feel beautiful. Lots of compliments!
Pros: fits perfect, easy to wear without a bra, had good give. Cons: I read too many reviews and decided I needed a long... Way too long even with 4" heels. Would've been perfect as a regular. A little tough to walk in bc of the train in the back combined with the extra length. But, the sexy, classy look I had was worth it!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 26

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×