Badgley Mischka

Belle of the Ball Gown

$50 – $70 rental
$595 retail
Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
932 reviews
Fit
Large
(79)
True to Size
(555)
Small
(134)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 1, 2010
I wore this dress to a wedding and felt incredibly confident! The dress fit and fell perfectly and the ruching hid my "problem" areas! It was extremely comfortable and easy to dance in! I don't usually wear a dress twice but this one I would make an exception for!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 3, 2010
excellent customer servuce
This dress is amazing! I received so many compliments!! The rouching detail hides all of your flaws. Awesome dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
November 6, 2010
I really loved this dress as did others -- I got many compliments. As for fit, I typically wear a 2 or 4 in dresses -- I went with the size 2 in this dress although I could have worn the 4 if need be. The major issue I had was the length. I'm 5' 4 1/2" and got the regular length. I put on 4" heels and felt the dress was a bit too short. I wished I had got the long and just scrunched it up, adding to the ruching if it was too long. Other than that, really a fabulous dress and very comfortable. Was sad to return it!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 23, 2010
This dress was perfect since I didn't get the chance to diet down to my ideal "event" size. It camouflaged my belly. However, I should have ordered it in long, so make sure that if you plan on wearing heels and are around my height, order the long. Great dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
December 9, 2010
True to size and Body of the dress fit perfectly! Gorgeous mermaid cut and very comfortable fabric. Problem is that the sleeves are not meant for people with muscular arms. Sadly enough I didn't have a chance to wear it because it wouldn't up my arms, and there was not back-up size for me to rent at the time. You would have to go a size up to ensure arms would fit and compromise with the body of the dress, but totally worth it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Body type: Pear
January 17, 2011
This dress is even prettier in person and is very forgiving to figure flaws.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 24, 2011
So flattering!!
Fabulous dress. First time on Runway and this was the dress that I rented. It was for a black tie wedding in DC. Incredibly flattering. The ruching is exactly where it needs to be and it stays up really well. I highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
February 20, 2011
runs about 2 sizes small. I wear an 8 really need a 12. was not available
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 59
Body type: Petite
March 21, 2011
Really gorgeous dress, and very flattering. I wore 3 and a 1/2 inch heels, but the length did work. Very comfortable dress, too. Wore it for a black tie wedding with a black sequin wrap and some glittery silver jewelery and sandals, and got a lot of compliments.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
March 23, 2011
This dress is PERFECT for those of us with a fuller bust- I am 34D and forever struggling to find dresses that flatter my top half. This dress worked perfectly for the black tie affair, and I got many compliments! It's also slimming in the tummy section. Great Dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
April 6, 2011
I wore this dress for a concert (I am a classical singer), and it was very much just the thing. Comfortable, classy, and very forgiving (what with all the ruching and the helpful sleevelets). I took off a star because I think that at least some of the individual dresses are getting worn: the size 4 I received had been re-built on the inside of the bodice and seemed very stretched out along the seams and in the sleeves and bust. It lacked structure and oopmh. The 6 I ordered as a back-up actually fit more snugly and was what I wound up wearing. The "regular" length was fine for me... my shoes showed (3" heels), but that was fine by me. One additional fit note: I'm not a particularly busty gal (34-B), and I needed two bras to fill out the top half of this gown and keep it from being gappy. All in all, a positive first experience with RTR!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
April 10, 2011
I went with this dress because i thought it would hide my tummy, it did NOT it was awful dont go with this it really is for people who look as good as the model.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Body type: Hourglass
April 26, 2011
This dress was very heavy in material and looked very plain on. I had a baby prior to the rental and every bump showed. Renter beware: be prepared to accessorize to death and be in top form or Spanx it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Body type: Full Bust
May 2, 2011
I couldn't have been more pleased with this rental! My first time renting, so I was a bit nervous, but it went off without a hitch. I really liked the off-the-shoulder sleeve look, as my upper arms are NOT my best feature! It is so flattering for a fuller figure. I am right at 5'6", so I tried the Regular and Long lengths of the same size. I thought the R was quite short for me, but the L was perfect (especially with very high heels). I really do think this is a rare dress that gives an edge to a curvier woman ... if you are very slim, I think the top and sleeves might sag and not look as nice. For me, it was just right!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
May 15, 2011
This was my back-up dress for a formal wedding and loved it so much that I wore it instead of my first pick. It's very comfortable, very forgiving of any "trouble areas" and quite flattering. I danced a lot and never worried about the fit or staying covered up. I received many compliments and highly recommend it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Body type: Pear
May 23, 2011
I ordered a 6 since I am a 6 on the bottom and a 4 on the top. (34A) I think the dress ran a little big and I could have taken the 4. Unfortunately, when I called to get the smaller size, someone had just ordered it. I used the tape to keep the top from sagging. In addition, you can easily wear lower heels with this dress. I wore 2 1/2 then went down to 1 1/2 shoes. The 1 1/2 might have been to low but I held the skirt a lot when I danced. One glitch. The zipper is really hard to get up and down. Perhaps RTR can fix this.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
May 25, 2011
Everyone complimented on my dress!
I have a very slim hourglass shape and thought that a size 2 would do since I am a size 2 in other haute couture brands. While the dress is gorgeous and complements my figure very well, the top kept sagging and I couldn't move much for fear that the top would fall! My top is a 34C so I am certain it is not because my chest couldn't hold up the dress. Beware if you have a slim/petite figure. The back zipper is also difficult to pull up and down, sometimes I tugged so hard that I thought I would damage the dress. Overall, though, it does very well to hide flaws and the runches on the sides actually enhances the length of your legs to make you look very elegant. Length-wise, I am 5'7 and wore 5 inch heels with the dress draping about half an inch which was great, so go for the regular length unless you are taller.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 3, 2011
Luckily I ordered this dress as my backup, because I absolutely hated it! It accentuated all the wrong areas and was way too tight on the arms. I was hoping for a simple, flattering black dress and was deeply disappointed. The only dress I've ordered that I haven't loved from RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 10, 2011
.
Loved this dress! It was perfect for a black-tie work event my company had. I received so many compliments. I would even rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 65
Body type: Full Bust
June 27, 2011
Dress is nice but very heavy material, not so much a summer gown. It is a flattering fit. Rent it in cooler months.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 176lbs
July 19, 2011
This dress was amazing. im 6'1" and the 8L was perfect. its hard for me to find a floor length dress thats long enough, but this one was. i even wore heels with it. i got so many compliments on this dress. the material feels a bit heavy, which i like. it has a bit of a train which makes it flow behind you, but its not overwhelming, so its easy to handle.the ruching ends at the bottom of your bum, which is always flattering. i would definitely rent this again.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 24, 2011
Makes you feel like an old hollywood movie star.
I needed a dress for an extremely fancy wedding. After looking through a few options, I found this dress and though it would be absolutely perfect with its classic silhouette and old hollywood look! The entire evening I was showered with compliments! It definitely makes you feel like a movie star for sure! AND unbelievably flattering! The actual fit of the dress is amazing- snug but not overly tight. The the ruching on the waist, hides any flaws that need to be hid. Also, I'm self-conscious about my arms, so the sleeves made me even more comfortable. Yet, even though my arms were covered, my shoulders stole the show. If you have amazing shoulders to show off (and most women do) this is a dress to be had! The only negative I found was that the product detail informed the possible renter that 'if you are taller than 5'5" order the Long.' I did just that. DONT!! It was much too long with the train, even with the high heels that I wore. I had to carry the train the whole evening just so I wouldn't trip over the extra fabric. My suggestion: Rent this dress, you'll love it, just don't order the 'long' if you're between 5'7" and under. Other than that, rent away and be prepared to be the belle of the ball.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Body type: Full Bust
October 12, 2011
great forgiving fabric and silhouette, i wore this with spanx for more shaping in the waist and all my flaws were not noticeable. i did feel like the sleeves were on the tight side. if you have big arms you may want to keep this in mind and size up if you're b/w sizes. it's a heavy matte jersey and i felt very chic wearing this to a gala in nyc! length wise, at 5'3" the dress was NOT to the floor in my 3.5" heels, i felt like it could've been a little longer.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 14, 2011
This dress is incredible! So flattering and sophisticated. . . The way the dress is structured it stays up quite nicely - normally a huge battle for me with strapless and off the shoulder gowns. It still has a lot of give in the fabric though so I was able to size down and still be super comfortable. Plus the black jersey ships well and is a bit heaver and warmer, good for winter. Some reviews say the sleeves are tight, but one thing I noticed was that on one of my dresses the sleeves were somehow twisted up with the different layers of fabric so while they looked normal they felt incredible tight, my smaller sized dress actually had sleeves that felt too loose because they didn’t have this twisting problem. The long was appropriate for my 5’8 with low heels . . . Sometimes I feel the long sizes are a bit much but this dress didn’t go overboard on the length.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 66
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
October 19, 2011
I LOVE this dress!!! I had so many compliments and it really made my figure look "better than it is"! I wouldn't hesitate to rent it again.....of course for a different crowd.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 57
Body type: Apple
October 27, 2011
I Loved Wearing This Dress. My husband forever 21 years couldn't keep his hands off me and constantly whispering in my ear when he had the chance. It looked beautiful and I felt beautiful. You won't regret renting this dress. I wish it was mine.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 63
Body type: Hourglass
November 2, 2011
Pretty dress, very heavy. I was not able to wear this dress much to large in the tourso area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 14, 2011
How to wear black, and still stand out!
Wore this to a Black Tie Awards Ceremony for work... very classy. Only thing I was surprised by was the *weight* of the material. It's very thick, and can hang on you heavy... and it gets warm in there. Glad I got the long version, because it fit perfectly. Love the detailing on the back... but was a tad annoyed by the tail. While it's pretty in theory... everyone seems to step on it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
November 17, 2011
I felt perfectly appropriate.
There is nothing harder than finding a non-frumpy, very attractive but not at all revealing (no cleavage, no low back, not super tight, no leg) evening gown to wear to a black tie event where you are seated with work colleagues. This dress fits the bill perfectly. It is elegant, stylish, and a little bit sexy while being fully covered-up. I felt perfectly appropriate in front of work colleagues, but still got quite a few appreciative glances (my husband thought I looked stunning!). I wore the regular length with 5" heels (i'm only 5'2") but I could have gotten away with a 4" heel. One thing to be aware of: the dress has a train. It was raining the night of my event, so this required some logistical management on my part. Depending on your height and shape the dress could fall longer or shorter -- it seemed like if I pushed up the ruching, I could have gotten away with lower heels. The jersey stretches out through the night, not so much that the dress is unattractive but I did find the top sliding down a little towards midnight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 6, 2011
The quick delivery was awesome and I'd never have been able to find a dress that fit the theme at an affordable price if I had looked anywhere else.
I wore this dress to my friend's Old Hollywood themed wedding (where guests were encouraged to wear something reminiscent of the 20's, 30's, 40's or 50's). I went for a 40's Ava Gardner/Gene Tierney look. The dress fit perfectly and I got a lot of compliments and comments that it fit the theme well, too. Very comfortable as well. I'm tall and the length of the Long was perfect. Would definitely recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 14, 2011
Too Long!
This was my first choice of dress -- but the 6L was WAY too long (and I'm 5"7" and was wearing 4" heels). Front hem wasn't even clearing the toes of my shoes. Even without the length issue I would have chosen the other dress I rented -- as the zipper on this dress "bulged" at my lower back and the shoulders required fashion tape to stay up -- too much work and fussing all night.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 60
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 147lbs
December 15, 2011
Former Ball
We attend an annual Ball which is very formal and I usually purchase a new gown each year. I learned of Rent the Runaway while browsing the internet for gowns and thought I'd give it a try. I loved it! And had a 'ball' looking for that perfect gown and found it. Thank you previous dress wearers for your reviews. I loved the gown, it fit perfectly and now I don't have buyers remorse along with the 15 other once-worn gowns in my closet!!!!!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 31, 2011
People told me I looked slimmer in this awesome black dress and very chic! It was great for the winter deb party I went to. The sleeves helped keep me warmer and looked great.
This dress was nice and form fitting! Black looked awesome. I loved the sleeves!
RTR CustomerSeptember 5, 2012
im exactly the same age, height, weight, and bust size as you and looking to rent this dress! im a little worried about how tight it looks on the model - do you find that it hides the stomach area well? were you able to wear heels with the regular size?
RTRSeptember 5, 2012
Hi! The ruching detail conceals the abdomen and can be very forgiving, so I wouldn't worry about the dress being too tight! If you are 5'8 as well, I would suggest getting the long length if available, but you should be able to wear short heels with the regular length as well!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
January 6, 2012
AMAZING GOWN - SUPERMODEL!
BEST CHOICE BY FAR, IF YOU ARE BETWEEN GOWNS, SELECT THIS ONE! IT IS SO GLAM, YET SO DIFFERENT AND I GUARANTEE YOU WILL RECEIVE NOTHING BUT COMPLIMENTS. MUST HAVE YOUR BODY IN GREAT SHAPE TO WEAR (HAVE BEEN WORKING ON MINE FOR A LONG TIME AND LOST LOT WEIGHT); PERFECT FOR LARGE BUSTED WOMEN, TALL, CURVY - WOW! HOTT!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
January 8, 2012
Wearing something new, something designer, and then sending it back instead of filling my closet with more dresses I won't wear again...
I am almost 5'11" and the dress length was great! I wore a 3" heal and the dress was just a tad shorter than I like...however, the fishtail at the back compensates. I agree with the other review that this fishtail can get in the way, so if you're going somewhere with lots of people in close proximity, it may not be the best choice. However, my 2 friends and I were just celebrating a birthday and so it was perfect! We rented a limo and with the looks of this dress - people thought I was from Hollywood! LOL. Anyway, the only negative I have to say is the sleeves were either designed poorly or the particular dress I wore was worn out because they kept sliding down to my elbow - losing the "cinched / ruffled" look. I used the double-sided tape to help but still had to push them back up several times. Overall, great dress with great fit! This was my first time renting at RTR and I will definitely do it again - SOON! :-)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 24, 2012
Loved it
This dress was absolutely gorgeous on, I received several compliments at the black tie event that I attended. RTR had the best customer service I had ever seen and I will definitely be renting with them in the future.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
January 25, 2012
My friends were so jealous...
My friends were so jealous, that one of them completely changed her NYE outfit and decided to go with a long black dress because she LOVED my dress! It was perfect, the off the shoulder look was beautiful but made arm raising a little difficult. But it was a fantastic New Years Eve dress!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 30, 2012
Loved this!
I ususally wear a 4 in everything but the two fit like a charm, the four wasnt bad either but the 2 just looked better. This dress so was comfortable and exactly what I needed, elegant. The only surpirse was that it was not as long as I thought it was going to be. I wore 3.5 inch heels instead of my taller ones and it worked out fine. There was a girl in the same dress at my event!!
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 53
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
February 1, 2012
Wow Where did you get that dress?? ha!! Thank you RTR... So easy to Order, So easy to Wear, and So convenient to Return!! Thanks
It fit Great! I wore 3 inch heels and it just swept the floor.. Perfect! I am 5 '10" and the dress was so Comfortable and Easy to move in! I usually wear between a 12 and 14 and chose the 14L for length .. perfect!
KathyNovember 6, 2012
This is gorgeous! I think have a very similar shape. I love the dress and will be going on a cruise in a few weeks. May just rent it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 13, 2012
Fun night... first and last on the dance floor!
Fit great! Dance All night long in this one. I have nothing to complain about.
StephanieApril 11, 2012
Are you 5'6" with heels?
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
1 / 24

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×