Badgley Mischka

Belle of the Ball Gown

$70 rental
$595 retail
Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
1022 reviews
Fit
Large
(82)
True to Size
(589)
Small
(149)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 12, 2012
Loved this dress and got so many compliments on it! It was perfect!!!
Ordered size 12L and 12R and both were too big, I contacted RTR and they sent me a size 10R for no additional charge and over nighted it to me. They told me to keep all 3 dresses and send them back together. Their response was so quick and I will definitely use Rent the Runway for future functions.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 12, 2012
not my style
This dress looks gorgeous in the picture, but it was so heavy!!! Theres no way I could last all night long, it would have dragged me the whole night!
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 15, 2012
Absolute classic eye candy! Very flattering for ALL bodies and especially us curvy girls!
Wish I had a photo to show but I'm a hourglass, full bust woman. I am 36 DDD/G, 30, 37 at 5' 10" with NO heels on yet! I wore the 12L for the length that I needed with my heels ( 4 inch ) instead of the 10L. The 10L fit better and hugged more but I needed the length and the extra room in the 3/4 sleeves because of my broad shoulders. I wear 10/12 dresses. I am not petite by far but do have a fit medium build. This dress was such a success, I have wanted to buy this as a staple LBD ( long or little black dress for a couple a years now, I want! I want! I want! ). You cant go wrong ladies for an event when you want to feel, look or want to be noticed AND be complimented by many! Its the long version of the classic "Breakfast at Tiffany's". RTR throw me a bone, when can I buy?!?!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 189lbs
November 16, 2012
My overall RTR experience was amazing, although I did not end up wearing this dress.
This dress looks beautiful in all of the pictures, however, it was not figure flattering in the least. The corset seemed way too large (or possibly warped) and made the top look strange. The sleeves were very tight fitting. This was to be my primary, first choice dress. Thankfully, my back up size wasn't available and RTR sent me a different gown, which worked perfectly. That said, the RTR customer service and support team is AMAZING and the rental process couldn't be easier though and I would definitely rent again!
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
November 16, 2012
I love Badgley Mischka!!
This dress is AMAZING!! I wore this gown for the Marine Corps Ball that we attend every year. This year I decided that I did not want anymore gowns in my collection and decided to try RTR...and I can honestly say I'm so glad I did. The dress fit perfect and I received lots of compliments. I rented a size 10L as my first choice and it's the one that I decided to wear. My second choice was an 8L and to be honest it was way too big and too long..not sure how that's possible; with that being said I would recommend picking two sizes and your second size...size down...not up. The material is excellent quality and the weight is a little heavy, but the heaviness is perfect during the cooler months...especially if you don't want to wear a coat or a shawl. All in all this dress so far is #1 on my list of faves from RTR. I can't wait until next years Ball!! Thank you RTR you've just made shopping for gowns so much easier. =)
MoshitaNovember 16, 2012
I have an hour glass figure and on the buttocks I was wondering how does it fit.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 141lbs
November 17, 2012
I didn't wear this dress because it was a little too big. I had rented 2 dresses so it was fine!
The dress is heavy and thick. so ordering one size smaller would fit tighter and not feel like it is being pulled down. Beautiful dress and color!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 18, 2012
LOVE RTR! Even tho I did not wear this dress...
The length was a bit short and the sleeves were too tight and felt like I had to tug and pull and adjust while wearing it. It was also extremely heavy fabric. Luckily I ordered another dress that was perfect for me! RTR is awesome!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 18, 2012
Pretty dress but a bit of an odd fit.
The dress is pretty but the arms are restrictive and the rouching adds a lot of bulk to the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
November 19, 2012
Loved being able to rent and not go store to store for weeks!
5'2 110 34D It was a little long with 6 inch heels but I lifted when climbing stairs, etc. The sleeves were also a bit stretched out. Over all a beautiful dress. The body of the dress fit very well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 19, 2012
Very comfortable
I really loved this dress. Unfortunately, it was too big in the bust. I had ordered the 8 and no backup size and really wish I would have ordered one size down. The rest of the dress fit perfectly and the length was great (very long!). Even with my height, I could have worn heels with the dress. I will definitely be renting this dress for my next formal occasion but will just have to rent a size down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 19, 2012
N/A
I didn't end up wearing this dress for the event, but it was REALLY flattering and LOVED how it looked. I wore the other dress I rented but this is a SAFE backup.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 20, 2012
So Chic and Flattering; A Bit Shorter than Expected
I rented this for a black tie event in Miami in late November -- so chic, so flattering, so elegant. The neckline gives you a great opportunity to wear a major necklace. I am a pretty true to size 8 and at 5'7", I thought either the 8R or 10R would be perfect -- but the 8R was way too short; the 10R was borderline too short but better. Next time, I'd rent the 8L and it would probably be perfect. Built in bra helps, but at 34 C I still needed a strapless bra for support.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
November 23, 2012
I loved this dress! I rented it for the Marine Corps Birthday Ball, and had many compliments.
The dress is bunched up around your thighs and waist hiding the unflattering areas. I will definitely be renting this dress again. I just had a baby so I'm still losing all my baby weight from both children, it was a nice ego boost to be able to wear a dress size smaller than my pant size! woohoo :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 26, 2012
It was my first gala to go to after my divorce with no date, and i felt so beautiful!
Im 5'9 and it was a little long for me in the 12L but other than that it was amazing, im self consious of my arms and it covered them perfectly, plus i have rather large boobs and i didn't feel self consious about them at all in this dress, it was so flattering. Im thinking i will rent it again for another gala in january!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
November 27, 2012
I loved this dress! I got so many compliments that I looked great in it!
I would totally recommend this dress for a formal affair! It was tight but made me look hott!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 174lbs
December 2, 2012
I used this magnified gown to my Husband 40th Men's Wearhouse Christmas Party.
This Gown fit great!
maryDecember 2, 2012
Look Great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 58
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
December 2, 2012
Very pretty, nice fit
Very nice dress but not very practical if you plan to dance. Has long trail that I was constantly tripping over.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 6, 2012
excited to give my sister the spotlight and haver her shine in rocking out this BM dress! gorge!
my sister wore this gown....typically a sized 4, and thank goodness we got the long...she is 5''8"...i am wearing an RTR Nicole Miller dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 62
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 7, 2012
Loved this dress!
Hugs all the curves but is extremely comfortable.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 49
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 7, 2012
Truly had WOW factor!
The fit was great if not for a bit too long. I think a regular may have been better. I can't think of a single con...the dress was beautiful, truly flattering fit and perfect for the occasion. This was my first experience with Rent the Runway and I couldn't have been more pleased with the entire process. I won't buy special occasion dresses anymore since they usually are worn once and hang in the closet until I give them away. For less money I can have a designer gown I'd never afford otherwise and be happy to send it back in the prepaid envelope.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 9, 2012
Amazing, flattering dress!
"Wow, what a gorgeous dress!".... Heard it all night! Seeing this dress on the hanger, I was a little concerned, but once I zipped it up - I was thrilled. The off the shoulder neckline, 3/4 sleeves and beautiful runching make for the aboslute perfect combination. The length was perfect - the small train in the back makes it very versatile for all heights.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 10, 2012
It was just amazing! True to fit. Can't wait to rent another dress!
Runs a little long, but still was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 94lbs
December 11, 2012
Quality material, well made.
I ordered the dress for my Mother for my black-tie wedding. Since she is so petite (5'0" and typically wears a childrens size 12-14) I prayed that the zero would fit her. It was perfect. She looked stunning.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 5, 2012
So many people stopped me and told me I looked beautiful and classy!
I am about 6ft tall with a curvy frame. Ordered the dress in a 12L and it fit perfect! The length was just what I needed and I was able to wear it with 3 inch heels and the dress still touched the floor. Definitely will be renting again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
December 26, 2012
Loved it!
Received many compliments. The dress was quite lovely. It fits the body like a glove. Elegant yet comfortable. Equally nice for dancing, and sitting down.
AmyDecember 26, 2012
How high was your heel? Thanks!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
December 26, 2012
This dress was so comfortable and elegant! I danced the entire evening because I was so comfortable.
I thought I would go up a size to make sure my chest was not squeezed or overexposed, but they did not have the 14L available for those days so I ordered a 16L. The dress did fit big, but still looked beautiful on. If you're looking for a snug fit in the waist I suggest sticking with your true size. It also has a built in bustier that should fit snuggly so you don't have to fidget with it all night. Other than that...I was totally comfortable enough to dance all night, and everyone kept complimenting how amazing I looked in the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
December 28, 2012
Though it said it was a size 16 it would not even go on. I had to get another dress last minute.
Did not fit way too small
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 149lbs
December 28, 2012
Great fitting dress!
I didn't have to worry about anything slipping down. The gown had enough support that i didn't need a bra. It had a bit of a train in the back, and in a very crowded room it got stepped a few times. The rental process was seamless! I got my dress two days before the event, glad I had two sizes to try, 8L and 6L, the 8 was too loose and the 6 fit like a glove! My husband couldn't keep his hands off me!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
December 30, 2012
Dramatic and Lovely!
I got so many compliments on this dress! I felt like a princess. The (L) made it long enough for my tall stature. I wore 3 inch heels and the dress still grazed the ground. Also the dress was stretch so you didn't feel constricted. Rent a statement necklace like I did in order to accentuate your neckline. I have a large bust so it was nice to conceal it and draw attention to my shoulders. I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
January 24, 2013
This dress was amazing. It was super sexy while still being really tasteful and classy.
I usually wear a 6, but RTR only had the 8L left and I wanted to give the dress a try. Since it's pretty stretchy, the fact that it was a little roomier wasn't a problem, and it's structured enough on top that it stayed up just fine. The only complaint was the small train in the back - didn't like having to gather my skirt when i walked. But it was totally worth it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 28, 2013
Great comfortable sexy dress, tons of compliments. Crystal chandlier earings/ bangle set.
Stretchy and form fitting, but very comfortable. Long so wear high heels. Perfect for formal wedding. I should have asked for a smaller size. Top was a little big for me but I am not busty.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
February 3, 2013
The dress has a beautiful train and nice fit! <3 it
The dress has a beautiful train and nice fit! <3 it
CharleyFebruary 3, 2013
Gorgeous! Which necklace is that?
RTR CustomerFebruary 3, 2013
Hi Charley! Raizel is wearing the Entrancing Emerald Necklace by Badgley Mischka!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 4, 2013
This dress is TIMELESS! It was perfect for my awards ceremony!
I really enjoyed wearing this dress. I love timeless, elegant pieces and this surely fit the bill. The only issue I had with the dress was that the Long was TOO LONG and the Regular was TOO SHORT. I wear super duper high heals but even then the long was dragging way too much. I went with the short and didn't feel entirely comfortable. Other than that, I received many compliments and felt beautiful!
elissaFebruary 4, 2013
OMG Kristy, you look stunning... I'm considering this for a black tie wedding I have late April, what do you think?
elissaFebruary 4, 2013
IT's Elissa Toledo by the way... lol
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
February 4, 2013
Really cute dress but need right bra
My breasts are really big and I was unable to wear due to the type of bra I have, really cute on just had wrong undergarment.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
February 11, 2013
Great Dress!Very Long.
Dress fit great however was very long! I tried on the 6R orginally, however, that was far too short. I am 5 7' and it came to my ankles. All in all it was a great dress though and I got tons of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 23, 2013
Picture perfect moment!
Stretchy, almost like spandex, so as long as you're close to your dress size, it should fit, no problems. Wore this for family pictures. It was the perfect dress/fabric for a new mom of 5 months with pounds to still lose.
NormajeanFebruary 23, 2013
Thank you so much for this review! I am 4 months pregnant and about the same size as you but an inch shorter. How did the length work out for you? Was it too long or did you have to get super high heels?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
February 24, 2013
Great dress but worn too many times...
It had a tear in the gown in the back and had been worn a few too many times. Great look but was more of pain than it was worth. Rented the 4L, should have gone for the 2L.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 5, 2013
Wore this dress to a gala at the Waldorf Astoria and it was simple yet classy. I'm very pleased : )
I normally wear a size 8 but the looseness of the dress gave it a frumpy look. The 6 was snug but breathable and held everything in nicely. There didn't seem to be much of a train on the 6R or 8R.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 6, 2013
Fine, but Not Great
First of all, as always the Rent the Runway customer service was great. The dress came on time and was in perfect condition. Unfortunately, though, this was my least favorite rental I've had from RTR. The dress is very mature, and while I can see it being lovely on someone 50+, it wasn't great for someone my age. Also, despite wearing 4 inch heels I still had to pick it up and carry the train whenever I walked, which was annoying. I have a very small bust, so perhaps that's why this dress felt like it ran large. I'm in between a 2 and a 4 for a dress size these days, and the 2 had room to spare. Plus, the dress was heavier on the bottom, so with the neckline I had to keep hoisting it up. Overall, it was fine, but it's a pretty boring dress, not fun or interesting at all.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
March 6, 2013
Super flattering dress that made me feel awesome
I love, love, love this dress! It was so classy and made me feel great at a black tie ball. It's very forgiving with the ruching and although its very form fitting, it managed to hide my tummy which is always a problem for me. I wear 10-12 in most clothes (although this winter it's been on the upper end of 12, sadly) but always wear a 8 or 10 in dresses because I'm smaller up top and larger sizes just don't work for my top half. I read almost all the reviews and quite a few said it stretched or that they could have worn a smaller size so I ordered both the 8 and 10. The 8 was impossible, and the 10 was pretty tight when I got it the night before the event. I was worried I'd pop out of it, so off I went in search of industrial strength Spanx - in black, just in case of any problems. Those things are magic - once I got into the dress and got everything adjusted I felt great, and not worried about wardrobe malfunctions. Yes, it was tight, but not so much that I couldn't move, sit or breathe normally. In fact, if I would have gotten a larger size I think I would have been hiking it up all night and looked sloppy as the night went on. I wore the 10L and it was NOT too long; I wore 3" heels and could not have gone any higher without the dress looking way short. The train wasn't an issue at all either; it just helped it hang nicely and pool a little on the floor. I have to say I'm more than happy with the whole experience - I got a fabulous dress and bag for far less than I would have paid to own something of far lesser quality that would end up hanging in my closet because I wouldn't want to wear it again. I'll be using Rent the Runway again when I need a statement or special occasion dress. Thanks!
ChrissieMarch 6, 2013
wow, it looks great on you! I am looking at all of the pix trying to find someone who wore it close to may size, I think you are it!! I am 5'7" and about 165 now, but am losing some weight before the April event. So you think the 10L is the right size? Thanks!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 26

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×