Badgley Mischka

Belle of the Ball Gown

$70 – $80 rental ?
$595 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Shown here with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff, Diane von Furstenberg Handbag's Zebra Tonda Pony Clutch, and WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Also available in navy and black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

519 reviews

Fit
Small 68
True to Size 360
Large 67
Photos 310
KC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Dec 6, 2011

The quick delivery was awesome and I'd never have been able to find a dress that fit the theme at an affordable price if I had looked anywhere else.

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to my friend's Old Hollywood themed wedding (where guests were encouraged to wear something reminiscent of the 20's, 30's, 40's or 50's). I went for a 40's Ava Gardner/Gene Tierney look. The dress fit perfectly and I got a lot of compliments and comments that it fit the theme well, too. Very comfortable as well. I'm tall and the length of the Long was perfect. Would definitely recommend.
Elle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 31, 2011

People told me I looked slimmer in this awesome black dress and very chic! It was great for the winter deb party I went to. The sleeves helped keep me warmer and looked great.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was nice and form fitting! Black looked awesome. I loved the sleeves!
Kamisha
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 5, 2012

So many people stopped me and told me I looked beautiful and classy!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am about 6ft tall with a curvy frame. Ordered the dress in a 12L and it fit perfect! The length was just what I needed and I was able to wear it with 3 inch heels and the dress still touched the floor. Definitely will be renting again!
Sam
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 5, 2012

My mom told me I "was glowing" and my husband asked if I could buy the dress because I looked so great in it.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I normally wear a ten and the ten fit perfectly. This dress made me feel great and I received many compliments. It is comfortable and I had fun dancing in it all night. I was sad to send it back. In the photo I am on the left. My cousin is on the right and she also rented from Rent the Runway!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
Jan 8, 2012

Wearing something new, something designer, and then sending it back instead of filling my closet with more dresses I won't wear again...

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I am almost 5'11" and the dress length was great! I wore a 3" heal and the dress was just a tad shorter than I like...however, the fishtail at the back compensates. I agree with the other review that this fishtail can get in the way, so if you're going somewhere with lots of people in close proximity, it may not be the best choice. However, my 2 friends and I were just celebrating a birthday and so it was perfect! We rented a limo and with the looks of this dress - people thought I was from Hollywood! LOL. Anyway, the only negative I have to say is the sleeves were either designed poorly or the particular dress I wore was worn out because they kept sliding down to my elbow - losing the "cinched / ruffled" look. I used the double-sided tape to help but still had to push them back up several times. Overall, great dress with great fit! This was my first time renting at RTR and I will definitely do it again - SOON! :-)
sonja
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 24, 2012

Loved it

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was absolutely gorgeous on, I received several compliments at the black tie event that I attended. RTR had the best customer service I had ever seen and I will definitely be renting with them in the future.
Amy
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Feb 1, 2012

Wow Where did you get that dress?? ha!! Thank you RTR... So easy to Order, So easy to Wear, and So convenient to Return!! Thanks

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit Great! I wore 3 inch heels and it just swept the floor.. Perfect! I am 5 '10" and the dress was so Comfortable and Easy to move in! I usually wear between a 12 and 14 and chose the 14L for length .. perfect!
hedrinc
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Feb 13, 2012

Fun night... first and last on the dance floor!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit great! Dance All night long in this one. I have nothing to complain about.
Lea
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Dec 11, 2014

Wore this to a professional speakers conference where everyone looks pretty fabulous. Felt great!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The boning in the top of the dress was awkward but was adjustable. I received a lot of compliments on the dress and felt good in it. I usually take a size 6 so I was surprised that the size 8 was snug. I loved the fact that the dress came up high enough to cover any bra bulge. :)
Candace
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 16, 2014

Sexy sophistication

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit, beautiful lines, comfortable to wear, and easy to move in. Loved the off the shoulder neckline!
Kristin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Dec 16, 2014

Loved this dress...fit so well and was really comfortable at the same time.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit great...was snug but not too tight. I however disagreed with the length...I am 5'6'' and wore2 1/2'' heels so I got the long as recommended, but it was definitely too long. I had to pay close attention all night so as not to trip over the dress, which wasn't ideal. Otherwise, I loved it and it fit true to size!
Christina
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 26, 2014

It didn't fit right in the bust.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dresses looked the same from the outside but one had a built in bra on the inside that didn't sit right on my chest with the boning and looked bad. The back up size was too small around my arms to even move (without fear or ripping) but no built in bra so it fit there. Couldn't wear either. The wedding is tomorrow and I will be wearing an old dress with a jacket on to cover a stain that I didn't realize was there and it's too late to dry clean :(
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 29, 2014

I wore this dress to a black tie gala in New York

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was sent to me as a sub when the dress I had previously ordered was damaged - it wasn't my usual style, but the fit was very flattering. I liked how the material was a little bit thick which helped the dress to lay well. I wore it with a big crystal statement necklace and received many compliments! I'm not posting a picture, because while it was a great dress, it is a black dress and you can't really tell how great it is in pictures!
Banana
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Weight: 136 lbs
Jan 3, 2015

Dress was perfect easy shipping! Very happy

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a hit!!! I wore it to a friends wedding and I absolutely loved it. Hides any little fat no spanx needed and didn't wear a bra either. If you have bigger breasts I would probably size up or go braless. This dress was getting compliments all night! Wore it with 4 inch heels and it perfectly hit the floor. Took the size 6regular . Thanks rent the runway :)
Linda
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112 lbs
Jan 6, 2015

Great Experience

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress is very beautiful. It arrived on time and was in great quality. I wore the 4P. It seems the size 4 runs longer than the 2P. However, I was able to tack it up a few inches.
Ashley
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Jan 6, 2015

This was a black tie wedding and I got so many compliments all night!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fits like a glove. I thought that the off-the-shoulder sleeves would be kind of annoying, but I barely even noticed them. The boning in the corset part of the dress kept it up all night long. I wore 4" heels and the dress brushed the ground, which I liked.
Jilli
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 8, 2015

The off the shoulder look and ruching is flattering but overall the dress is meh.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The zipper gets caught very easily and causes a lot of anxiety and time spent fixing it. The gown looks okay but there is too much gathering in the chest.
Madelynn
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 162 lbs
Jan 14, 2015

I cannot tell you how elegant this dress is! I have always detested my arms- not in this dress!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful fabric, elegant flow. Very forgiving. So many compliments- like people just knew it was designer. the back is slightly longer than the front and I did worry about hooking my heels in the hem, but it really wasnt a problem aferall
lesa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 16, 2015

Massive black tie event. No one had on my dress and it was perfect!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
A little long otherwise perfect.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Jan 19, 2015

Not what I expected.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for a formal dinner. It was not what I thought it would be. First, this dress fits really snug. That would have been ok if it were easy to walk in. For some reason, the material was REALLY staticy (is that a word?) and clung to my legs. Second, the adhesive around the top of the dress was peeling. At first, I didn't know what it was that I found on my skin until I unzipped the dress and saw it all over the inside of the dress. It was very disgusting. I immediately called for a replacement.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 21, 2015

Beautiful, but size up if have athletic shoulders

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was beautiful. But, if you have athletic shoulders (not body builder, but toned and broad), you will need a bigger size. Due to the elastic in the shoulder piece, I had to zip it first and then get into the arms. It loosened by the end of the night, but not a comfortable wear in the beginning. But, I received a lot of compliments on the dress
T
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 21, 2015

Loved the dress, quality, and the way it fit.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Received a lot of compliments.
Laura
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
Jan 22, 2015

The dress was a huge hit!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was a huge hit! I am 6 feet tall I ordered a 10 L and I was able to wear small heels it was great. I received so many compliments. I am a curvy girl and it made me feel skinny!
Deb
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 23, 2015

Wore this dress to the 2015 Texas Governors Inaugural Ball.

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit and very comfortable. The tall was a bit long for my height but managed by just picking up when I walked. Felt elegant and mature looking.
Gail
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 31, 2015

Calling The Adams Family

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress will make you look like Mortica Adams . Its nothing special - very blah. I tired the size 4R and it was tight around the top. The bust also has stays on both sides that make your boobs look flattened out - not flattering at all.
Lisa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 2, 2015

Very flattering, tons compliments!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Ordered 2R & 4R. The 4R: was a tad bit lose (I usually wear a size4) but too long by a couple inches. The 2R was perfect zip up, length was good for my height 5'3 (Note: the fabric stretches). The toe of my shoe (3" heels) showed just a bit when I walked but the back has a small train (couple inches). I wanted to be able to walk & have fun without tripping all night. Tons of compliments, very Audrey Hepburn with pearls. Feels great on, comfortablet. Shows your curves, but is scrunched so can be forgiving too. Process with RTR was extremely easy will do it again.
Kristi
Age: 30
Feb 7, 2015

Sophisticated with a touch of sexy

Size worn: 6L
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was super comfortable, and was a fun one to wear. Thanks to the wire support, I never had to pull it up! Sleeves were a little big (and I have bigger arms) and I had problems keeping the zipper flat on the back. Very minor, but worth mentioning. It was a tad long with 3.5" heels, so I probably could have gone with a 6R.
Alexandra
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 9, 2015

beautiful gown

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
classy, simple!
Kimberly
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 9, 2015

The dress was the perfect fit!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit tight but a good tight, where it was very comfortable to walk around in. The length was perfect for me, I wore 3in heels and the gown just graced the ground. I would rent this dress again, it was very elegant!
Alyssa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 11, 2015

Classic and elegant.

Size worn: 0P
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is absolutely beautiful on. The classic look of this dress make it elegant and timeless. This dress is comfortable enough to dance in while hiding any body flaws that you may have. At 5'0" the 0P was almost too short with 4" heels on. I could have worn a 0R. So, if you are taller go with the regular length.
Vic
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 16, 2015

Dress rented for formal engagement photos

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress rented for formal engagement photos. Dress fit well except for the fact that I believe I was shipped an 8R instead of an 8L. I am 5'5 and dress was ankle length without shoes on. Based on past renters comments, I rented the long because I wanted the dress to sweep the ground for a more formal look. I will have to have my photographer edit photos.
Liz
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Feb 19, 2015

This dress runs short. I am 5'5" and originally ordered the 10R and had to swap for the longer one

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved it! I looked and felt great. the dress is very comfortable and slimming.
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 21, 2015

Great customer service! Dress runs small and short.

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Wedding
Dress arrived WAY too short. I felt the size ran small as well. Size up for your back up. RTR sent me another dress that worked for me.
M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 26, 2015

I didn't wear the dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for an event and unfortunately couldn't wear it - it was SO tight! I always rent a backup size one size up - but I couldn't even get into this dress. Fortunately RTR customer service is amazing. I ended up wearing something else, sent this one back, and got a refund.
Elyse
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Mar 2, 2015

Elegant, fit great in all the right places, perfect dress.

Size worn: 0P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Pros - I'm really petite and I had no issues with this dress fitting. I did use hem tape to hold up the bottom. Cons - the metal wiring in the chest is definitely made for people with a bigger cup size. Being an A, it dug into my chest a bit, but i was able to adjust it a bit so it didn't bother me too much. Overall, I got a bunch of compliments and am definitely renting again as this was my first time using RTR.
Kiley
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Mar 3, 2015

Runs extremely small and very short

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Don't get me wrong, this is a beautiful gown, and the pictures from others really shows what a statement it can make...just make sure you plan accordingly if you rent this dress. It runs about two sizes too small and is very short. I'm 5'6 and ordered the long and it was still quite a bit off the floor. I ended up not wearing this dress for my event due to the fit and length. I will say that the customer service from Rent The Runway has been outstanding and now that I have a return credit, I will certainly try another rental for an event I have next month,
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 11, 2015

Simply stunning!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wrote this to a Black & Gold Gala. I absolutely loved how the dress fit. I was worried about my biceps not fitting, because of lifting weights, but it fit perfectly. The only minor issue I had was that the dress was shorter then expected. I almost had to wear flats it was barely touching the ground. I wore heels anyway and just pulled my dress down (at the hips) for photos.
Ramey Kay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 20, 2015

Didn't wear it.

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a selection made for me by RTR after a situation with a dress I ordered became unavailable. Was not thrilled with this, so they overnighted me a beautiful option that worked perfectly! See my other reviews!
Naledi
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Mar 20, 2015

The dress went well with my jewelry.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit true to size, was just an inch or so too long with my heels. Would have been perfect if I wore higher heels.
B
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 24, 2015

Wore this dress as a bridesmaid in my friend's black tie wedding.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very flattering, very comfortable, received numerous compliments. Biggest drawback is that it's a hard to lift your arms above your head. The 4 came with a built in bra, the 6 did not.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×