Badgley Mischka

Belle of the Ball Gown

$50 – $70 rental?
$595 retail
Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
911 reviews
Fit
Large
(79)
True to Size
(544)
Small
(132)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
February 4, 2014
Gorgeous, elegant and so flattering!
I loved this gown and would rent it again. I wore it to a black tie event. It is so flattering because it cinches in at the waist and made me look thinner than I am (a plus!). Plus, it hid my arms (which are not as toned as they used to be!) and accentuated my neckline. My bust is on the larger side, and often size 4 dresses fit me everywhere but on top. But this dress was perfect!
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 162lbs
January 14, 2015
I cannot tell you how elegant this dress is! I have always detested my arms- not in this dress!
Beautiful fabric, elegant flow. Very forgiving. So many compliments- like people just knew it was designer. the back is slightly longer than the front and I did worry about hooking my heels in the hem, but it really wasnt a problem aferall
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 16, 2015
Massive black tie event. No one had on my dress and it was perfect!
A little long otherwise perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
January 18, 2015
This was my first time to use RTR, and I can't wait to do it again!
This dress was glamorous and classy. I wore it to a black tie event, and felt it was the perfect look, without being too 'sexy'. The fit was perfect, and I wore it with normal heels. The train got stepped on a couple times, but the fabric is thick, so it bounced back. It has boning in the bust area that can sort of stick into your ribs, but I just adjusted them when necessary. No bra is needed. We did dance, although the sleeves are a bit constricting. Overall it was very flattering!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
January 19, 2015
Not what I expected.
I rented this for a formal dinner. It was not what I thought it would be. First, this dress fits really snug. That would have been ok if it were easy to walk in. For some reason, the material was REALLY staticy (is that a word?) and clung to my legs. Second, the adhesive around the top of the dress was peeling. At first, I didn't know what it was that I found on my skin until I unzipped the dress and saw it all over the inside of the dress. It was very disgusting. I immediately called for a replacement.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 21, 2015
Beautiful, but size up if have athletic shoulders
The dress was beautiful. But, if you have athletic shoulders (not body builder, but toned and broad), you will need a bigger size. Due to the elastic in the shoulder piece, I had to zip it first and then get into the arms. It loosened by the end of the night, but not a comfortable wear in the beginning. But, I received a lot of compliments on the dress
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
January 21, 2015
Loved the dress, quality, and the way it fit.
Received a lot of compliments.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
January 22, 2015
The dress was a huge hit!
The dress was a huge hit! I am 6 feet tall I ordered a 10 L and I was able to wear small heels it was great. I received so many compliments. I am a curvy girl and it made me feel skinny!
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 23, 2015
Wore this dress to the 2015 Texas Governors Inaugural Ball.
Great fit and very comfortable. The tall was a bit long for my height but managed by just picking up when I walked. Felt elegant and mature looking.
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
January 24, 2015
Gorgeous fit!
Received lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 25, 2015
Perfect evening- comfortable dress, great date and was able to dance the night away.
I ended up wearing my backup size, I fit between an 8 and a 10. Wish I would have had just a tad taller heels, mine were about 3 1/2 in. heels. Otherwise the dress fit great and looked amazing! This was the first time using RTR and I will be sure use it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
January 27, 2015
I could not get enough compliments on this dress. I love the service from RTR. !!
I could not get enough compliments on this dress. I love the service from RTR. I accidentally ordered my dress for the wrong date. I emailed them and the responded within 30 minutes and told me not to worry just reorder the gown and they would issue me a credit when they received it back, even though it was my mistake. Amazing customer service!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 28, 2015
Form-fitting, classic long-black dress with a little sexy, a lot of class and a tiny train!
This dress is as described...Im usually a size 2 and I am so glad I ordered the 4 as a back up because it is tight. The ruching in the torso makes it more flattering, but it certainly doesn't leave much room to hide. I got a ton of compliments on it all night and you feel very old-hollywood sexy in it. I am almost 5'8" and I wore 4" heels and the 4L was JUST long enough. The top of the dress brushed the tips of my toes. I have athletic arms and the sleeves were a little tight and restricting, but nothing to really make note of. It was expected considering the cut. Overall, I would order again. It was fun and comfortable and warm!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
January 31, 2015
Calling The Adams Family
This dress will make you look like Mortica Adams . Its nothing special - very blah. I tired the size 4R and it was tight around the top. The bust also has stays on both sides that make your boobs look flattened out - not flattering at all.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 29, 2014
"One is never undressed or overdressed in a little black dress."
This dress is true to size and is perfect for all body types! The dress is very starchy i order a backup size 6R and wore it instead of the size 8 R. I unusually never wear a size six but since this dress is so starchy the size 8 was a little loose. What I loved about this dress is the built in bra I wear 36DDD in VS and had no problems with this dress. I would not ordered long in this dress unless you are taller then 5.7. You really can't go wrong with this dress! It's perfect for all shapes and ages!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 2, 2015
Very flattering, tons compliments!
Ordered 2R & 4R. The 4R: was a tad bit lose (I usually wear a size4) but too long by a couple inches. The 2R was perfect zip up, length was good for my height 5'3 (Note: the fabric stretches). The toe of my shoe (3" heels) showed just a bit when I walked but the back has a small train (couple inches). I wanted to be able to walk & have fun without tripping all night. Tons of compliments, very Audrey Hepburn with pearls. Feels great on, comfortablet. Shows your curves, but is scrunched so can be forgiving too. Process with RTR was extremely easy will do it again.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Body type: Hourglass
February 4, 2015
An amazing, classic gown. I wore this to a Black Tie gala and got lots of complements!
Forgiving fit, nice material. One thing-Would have liked it they put a hook at the hem to accommodate for the train.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
February 4, 2015
Perfect dress for a formal affair. I received lots of compliments all night.
I wore this dress to a formal affair in Charleston. The dress is very elegant and comfortable. Perfect dress for a perfect night. I wore 3.5" heels and the length was great for dancing the night away. If you want a little bit of a longer train in the back I would order the longer length.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
February 7, 2015
Sophisticated with a touch of sexy
The dress was super comfortable, and was a fun one to wear. Thanks to the wire support, I never had to pull it up! Sleeves were a little big (and I have bigger arms) and I had problems keeping the zipper flat on the back. Very minor, but worth mentioning. It was a tad long with 3.5" heels, so I probably could have gone with a 6R.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 8, 2015
Classy and elegant dress!
My first time using RTR, won't be my last! I love the free second size and the included fashion tape - also, returning the dresses was very easy and convenient. I ordered my usual size 4L but chose to wear the back-up 6L for comfort, there isn't any give from the waist up so if you are between sizes I would recommend sizing up. This dress was so easy to style and wear, it is incredibly flattering - I received compliments all night, wish I owned it! A great choice for a classic, glamorous and timeless gown.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113lbs
February 10, 2015
This dress is called the "Belle of the Ball" and that's truly how it made me feel! Great fit!!!!
So many people said that I looked absolutely AMAZING! I'm a zero and this dress fit great. It was snug in the breast area, but it worked out even with a strapless bra under. I wear a 32 C so it's not for a busty girl. It was very flattering and comfortable. I ordered a 0L and a 2R. The length was the same on both. I wore 4 inch (or 5) heels and the dress touched the floor but didn't drag or prevent me from walking. I'm 5'2 and a quarter... basically 5"3, but my legs are long in proportion to the rest of my body.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 11, 2015
Classic and elegant.
This dress is absolutely beautiful on. The classic look of this dress make it elegant and timeless. This dress is comfortable enough to dance in while hiding any body flaws that you may have. At 5'0" the 0P was almost too short with 4" heels on. I could have worn a 0R. So, if you are taller go with the regular length.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
February 14, 2015
This dress fit perfectly and was very lovely. Simple yet classy.
I saw great reviews on this dress and decided to order it for my first prom. I was worried it wouldn't fit, but i was truly happy with this dress. I highly recommend this for petite girls!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 16, 2015
Dress rented for formal engagement photos
Dress rented for formal engagement photos. Dress fit well except for the fact that I believe I was shipped an 8R instead of an 8L. I am 5'5 and dress was ankle length without shoes on. Based on past renters comments, I rented the long because I wanted the dress to sweep the ground for a more formal look. I will have to have my photographer edit photos.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 17, 2015
This was my boyfriend's first movie premiere! It was a night I'll never forget.
Depending on the dress, I either wear a 0, 2, or 4. After chatting with one of style consultants, I was advised to get sizes 0L and 2L in this dress. If I could go back, I would have got a 2L and a 4L. Though the 2L fit, the boning of the dress pressed into my skin on my chest. It wasn't too noticeable, but it was a bit uncomfortable. Also, even though I went with the longer size, the dress still didn't reach the floor in the front. Overall, however, I think the dress was beautiful and made me feel like a movie star.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
February 18, 2015
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding.
It fit like a glove! The boning created a beautiful, solid waistline and the ruching basically eliminated the need for spanx. I'm normally a size 2 but after reading the rest of the reviews, I decided to order the 4L. Definitely the way to go. I'm not sure I could've moved much in the 2L. Definitely order your normal size and possibly a size up from that. It needed a little pop of color, so I paired it with a statement necklace/earrings to keep it from looking a little too plain. I got compliments all night :) Go for it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
February 19, 2015
Wore this to a black tie wedding - it was the best dress there!
I loved this dress! I wore it in Feb in Indiana to a very cold and snowy wedding. I found the dress to be very comfortable and it did a great job of hiding and accenting all the right areas. I hope I have another event like this in the future so I can rent it again! RENT IT!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
February 19, 2015
This dress runs short. I am 5'5" and originally ordered the 10R and had to swap for the longer one
Loved it! I looked and felt great. the dress is very comfortable and slimming.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
February 21, 2015
Great customer service! Dress runs small and short.
Dress arrived WAY too short. I felt the size ran small as well. Size up for your back up. RTR sent me another dress that worked for me.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 21, 2015
The dress was fabulous! The material was amazing and perfect for a formal event.
It runs a size smaller than what I usually wear, but it was an all around perfect dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 4, 2013
danced the night away~~~~
This dress was perfect! It was really flattering. The black was slimming and it was formfitting in an attractive way. I wore this back when I was 25 lbs heavier so add that to my weight! Also, I went down a size because the dress is so stretchy. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 26, 2015
Very Hollywood, red carpet-esque!
This dress felt great, wore well and received many compliments. I am a 36D and it was a tiny bit tight across the bust, but I needed the 4 to fit the rest of my frame. It was overall a great dress! I'm 5'8" and the 4L was exact. It wasn't too long nor too short with 4 inch heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
March 2, 2015
Elegant, fit great in all the right places, perfect dress.
Pros - I'm really petite and I had no issues with this dress fitting. I did use hem tape to hold up the bottom. Cons - the metal wiring in the chest is definitely made for people with a bigger cup size. Being an A, it dug into my chest a bit, but i was able to adjust it a bit so it didn't bother me too much. Overall, I got a bunch of compliments and am definitely renting again as this was my first time using RTR.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
March 3, 2015
Runs extremely small and very short
Don't get me wrong, this is a beautiful gown, and the pictures from others really shows what a statement it can make...just make sure you plan accordingly if you rent this dress. It runs about two sizes too small and is very short. I'm 5'6 and ordered the long and it was still quite a bit off the floor. I ended up not wearing this dress for my event due to the fit and length. I will say that the customer service from Rent The Runway has been outstanding and now that I have a return credit, I will certainly try another rental for an event I have next month,
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
March 3, 2015
Super sexy
The fit is very firm fitting so you have to be comfortable with that. I also rented the necklace.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 11, 2015
Simply stunning!
I wrote this to a Black & Gold Gala. I absolutely loved how the dress fit. I was worried about my biceps not fitting, because of lifting weights, but it fit perfectly. The only minor issue I had was that the dress was shorter then expected. I almost had to wear flats it was barely touching the ground. I wore heels anyway and just pulled my dress down (at the hips) for photos.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
December 20, 2014
Gorgeous dress.
This dress was perfect. The fabric was so forgiving, any bending, sitting or folding didn't leave any marks. I felt comfortable the whole evening. The train did create a few obstacles, as people stepped on it frequently. I'm 5'9" and wore 3" heels and the 4L was still extremely long. The size 6 (my normal size) looked too boxy, it didn't pull in at the waist. The 4L fit like a glove.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 16, 2015
easy to wear! comfortable to dance in!
I didn't have to wear a bra with this dress. It had a lot of support from the boning.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 16, 2015
People complimented me on the dress all night AND it was comfortable
The length was perfect
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
March 20, 2015
Didn't wear it.
This was a selection made for me by RTR after a situation with a dress I ordered became unavailable. Was not thrilled with this, so they overnighted me a beautiful option that worked perfectly! See my other reviews!
See more reviews:
3 / 23

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×