Badgley Mischka

Belle of the Ball Gown

$70 – $95 rental?
$595 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
888 reviews
Fit
Large
(79)
True to Size
(534)
Small
(130)
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 43
October 27, 2016
this dress made me feel amazing - it was perfect and I didn't want to take it off!
the fit is super nice. It hugs your curves in a gentle way, making you look quite glamorous. I had two sizes and I feel like the stretchy material gets too stretched with use. Also the boning was a little issue. But, in the end, the dress was jaw-droppingly fantastic.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
October 26, 2016
Comfy and easy to dance in!
This was a backup dress that RTR sent me for a Gala that I attended because my original dress I ordered was returned damaged. I really loved the neck line of this dress, it is extremely flattering and I did not have to wear a bra. I have a larger chest so it is extremely hard to find dresses that look flattering on me, and fit correctly on the top. This dress has just enough stretch to hold everything in place, and also allow you to dance/sit/stand comfortably. I would definitely rent this dress again and recommend it to any of my friends!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 65
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 137lbs
October 21, 2016
Runs really small....I ordered an 8 so I couldn't wear it. Very pretty dress, though.
Fit very, very tight in the chest and I could not zip it.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 21, 2016
Very sexy neckline and perfect length!!!
The pros for this dress is it's stretchy and had boning in it so I didn't have to wear a bra which is probably the reason I wore it . I paired it with a purple suede pump from jcrew prob 3 inches..dress was great until about 9pm the boning started to stick me and felt stabbing so I just kept moving my chest around ...if this didn't happen I would of given 5 stars !! I'm 5-7 170bs with a 38d chest ps wore tummy span x
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 20, 2016
LOVE this dress - it was difficult to send it back! Hoping that RTR puts it up for sale eventually!
Dress fit true to size - and the arms stayed in place all night without any adjusting. The dress itself was very comfortable, and extremely flattering. Absolutely recommend renting this one!!!
Size worn:
16WP
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 204lbs
October 17, 2016
This dress was stunning!
First off, sadly the dress was *really* dirty when it arrived. There were 3 strips of blue tape marking stains...and I didn't see them until I was already out of town at the event, so had to make do with wearing a dirty (YUCK) dress. That said, the dress was beautiful. Contrary to what others said, it was a little big on me. Maybe being laundered would have helped my 16 shrink up a bit, but it was a little looser than I'd hoped it would have been. I had ordered a size up as my backup and there was no way I could have ever worn it. I got compliments all night and felt really good in the dress, but wish it had been clean. I would have felt fabulous then.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 47
October 17, 2016
Loved it. You cannot go wrong with this LBD.
I absolutely loved this dress. It had boning and elastic so it stayed up without any tugging or pulling. The fabric was forgiving and stretched. The rouching smoothed everything out. Definitely choose a size up as the bust was smaller than anticipated. I found wearing Spanx helped the dress to lay well with no issues. Enjoy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
October 15, 2016
So flattering
My husband picked out this dress! It's my favorite RTR dress to date. I normally wear between a 10-12 and found the fit to be a little small. The reviews were helpful so I went with size 14 as my backup and it was a great fit. Of note, the wires from the boning on the back of the dress came out of the lining and poked me, but that was fixed with band aids. Overall a great dress for a formal occasion!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Rented for:
Wedding
October 11, 2016
Fit like a glove
Dress was very comfortable. The boning in the dress stuck out a bit in the top but it was a very flattering dress. It was a bit long but I am short.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 11, 2016
Sexy, comfortable and sleek dress!
I rented this dress for a Gala and loved it! Expect to be limited in your arm movements (no ponytails), but otherwise, the train is stunning, dress comfortable and super long. I am 5'9" and got a Long, though probably could have gotten away with a Regular.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 10, 2016
I was comfortable and felt beautiful
Very conservative for a wedding I did not outshine the bride
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 42
October 8, 2016
Customer service and their knowledge!
First ordered the 8P and 10P. Thinking I'm Short. Well both too small. My bust was too big 36DD. Customer service then sent me the 12P and then the 10R. 12P too small. 10R still little tight in bust. To my knowledge I didn't know there was a built boning or bra. Took off my bra and it fit like a glove! I danced and was comfortable in it all night! So many compliments!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 47
October 6, 2016
I wore this to a gala and it was absolutely stunning. Received nothing but compliments.
The fit was perfect as I'm a 36DDD and it fit like a glove. It flowed nicely when walking and was exactly what I was looking for.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 225lbs
October 4, 2016
Lots of compliments
This was my backup dress for a wedding I was attending, but ended up being the main dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 2, 2016
Beautiful gown
Does run small...boning did cut in to my rib cage, but it was worth it. Elegant gown.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
September 30, 2016
Gorgeous - for a cool weather event.
This was a substitute sent to me by RTR, since the dress I ordered wasn't available. I absolutely LOVE this dress. I have never felt more beautiful in my life. The sleeves were a little snug (but I do have large upper arms). My husband said I looked like I was going to an awards show. I was a little concerned about how my belly would look (I definitely needed a spanx under it to tighten everything up), but it's flattering. I will definitely rent this again to wear for a wintertime event. Sadly, since it's 100+ degrees in SoCal right now, this beauty isn't going to work for this particular wedding. Next time.... :(
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
September 28, 2016
This was the perfect forgiving, yet elegant dress for the gala!
I'm so glad RTR offers a second size for free! The size 4P fit well, until trying to zip it over my shoulders. Perhaps it's supposed to be really fitted, but I felt restricted, so I went with the 6P. I'm 5'2" and as long as I didn't tug the dress down from the hips, my 3 inch heels were perfect. There was a "scent" to the dress when I first unpacked it, but let me confess that I am very sensitive to smells on my clothes. I think the scent may be from the plastic packaging inside the garment bag. In any case, I hung it up to air for a day and it was unnoticeable. I got a ton of compliments and was so glad I went with the elegant option! I will definitely be a return customer.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 26, 2016
The dress was very flattering and comfortable! The ruching was perfect. Loved this dress!!
I found the dress really comfortable and would love to be able to keep it. It snugged nicely so I wasn't fidgeting with the dress all night. Very flattering look and made me feel great. Only negative was it had a slight odor when I received it but aired it out the night before and it was fine. I would rent this again for a formal event. I'm 5'2" and about 127lbs. The 2 Petite fit great. The 4 Petite fit as well but a little loose at the top so I felt like I would have been pulling it up all night. Nice to have both options
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 22, 2016
It fit great. I rented this for a formal. We end up not going. So I sent it back. I will rent again
Great fit comfortable classic. Love it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 61
September 12, 2016
This definitely is an elegant looking dress on!
Glad I read reviews and suggest people do before renting if unsure. My first time and I was disappointed that the bag while arriving on time was smashed up both dresses had hangers broken and dresses had fallen making them VERY wrinkled. I also found helpful that one gal had mentioned to put it on like its strapless and then pull you arms in. Definitely can not zip this by yourself. But material was nice comfortable and I really felt elegant in it. Received many compliments. I would order up a size. I am 5'11 and wore about 2" heel and it hit the ground which was perfect! I definitely was nervous about waiting for a dress but I will definitely rent again and the accessories added a very nice touch. Also would help to have tape for the top to keep in place better.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
22WL
Rented for:
Wedding
September 11, 2016
Beautiful Dress
This is the 2nd time I've rented this dress, and I've loved it both times. It fits well, it's flattering, it's super comfortable, and the Long was perfect for me with a 3-inch heel. I was disappointed in some of the other aspects of my order (dresses came balled up in a box this time, but last time they came nicely packed in a garment bag), but this dress itself is stunning.
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 1, 2016
I got so many compliments all night! I felt beautiful in the dress!
It fit perfect, it was flattering in the areas of my body I'm a little self conscious about. It was a little warm towards the end of the night, but dancing will do that :) I got compliments all night and felt great in it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
August 21, 2016
This dress was amazing!!
everything about it was perfect - I am 6' tall and it was long enough for me. the fabric is luxurious and the top fits nice and snug so the "off the shoulders" look stays in place.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
20WL
Rented for:
Wedding
August 14, 2016
Glamorous!
I felt beautiful in this dress! Very glamorous! There was some wire that poked through. A little uncomfortable .
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
22WR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 22
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 260lbs
August 10, 2016
Va-va-vooom!
I wore this dress on my recent honeymoon cruise for the last formal night. It fit like a glove - literally! Definitely a candidate for wearing a smoothing undergarment. Otherwise, the arms were a snug fit, but not too tight. I went up about 2 sizes, luckily! For anyone over 5'7" I would definitely recommend getting the long size or another size up -- unfortunately this was the last size left for me, and the hem barely touched the top of my feet (I wore flats).
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 41
August 9, 2016
Perfect Formal Gown
I odered a 6R and an 8R and the 6R would even zip up. I completely underestimated my size. I called the next morning and had a 10R and a 12R shipped out and received it the following afternoon. The 10R fit okay, was a bit snug on my chest since I'm a 38DDD. I tried on the 12R and it was comfortable draped alot around the bodice and sleeve, but I was okay with that since it didn't look at all too tight on my bust. I held the train up stairs and on the street, but while in the venue I was able to walk withour holding it. I wore 6" platform gold heels and the length was perfect. I love this dress and would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
August 8, 2016
This dress was beautiful and very comfortable.
I rented this dress for my engagement photos. I ended taking most of my pictures with a red cape over it as it was wintertime, but the dress was elegant and fit like a glove. Because I have thick arms I opted to wear the size 10, but I do believe it runs true to size. I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
August 1, 2016
People thought I was in the bridal party! This dress was a hit!
This dress fit perfectly! It hid all my flaws (my tummy) and it was comfortable. I loved the fabric. I have an hourglass shape but am overweight. I was very happy with this! Would definitely recommend it!
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 53
July 29, 2016
Perfect dress for my wedding!
Fit was fabulous! Fit like a glove and so comfortable to wear all day. Fabric is heavy but very easy to move in.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
July 28, 2016
Perfect dress
Perfect dress. I couldn't of picked a better one!!! I'm 5'7, 36 B. The dress fir perfect. The only thing was that it was a bit too long and I was wearing 4 inch heels. Get this dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 49
July 12, 2016
Felt super confident.
Fit was nice and snug. The garment is well constructed and you feel support all over. Perfect for the girl whose figure is not...well, perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
20WL
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
July 12, 2016
Different from everything else in the room.
The dress ran large in my opinion contrary to other folks opinion. I should of went a size down for it to fit me the way it fit the model. Also, the boning was coming out of the sides which stuck me on and off all night. It was beautiful overall though. I loved showing my shoulders while being more covered on my arms. The process with RTR was incredible. I knew where my package was at all times and sending it back was a breeze. I will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 27, 2016
The fit was perfect, dress was not only comfortable but beautiful . RTR is the BEST !!
Loved everything about this dress .
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 38
June 26, 2016
I LOVED everything about this dress!!!
Fits true to size!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 25, 2016
Loved this dress!! Want to keep it forever.
Hugged my body in all the right places. I want to wear it every day:)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
June 23, 2016
Comfortable and Figure Flattering
Although I should have gone with a 6R, I chose the 8R because I'm a few months postpartum and not quite fitting into my old dress size. However, this dress was a little droopier on me than I would have liked. The material is kind of heavy, but very comfortable. I LOVED the sleeves. The rouching made it very figure flattering. I received MANY compliments. I would absolutely rent this again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
June 14, 2016
Very classy gown with perfect fit!
I wore this sexy yet classy gown for a Charity Ball event for the Children's Home of Northern Kentucky! The length and measurements of this gown were true to sizing measurements. The boning in the torso that gives this dress the flatter shape does make it fit tightly, so if you're not sure on sizing definitely go a size up. Loved this gown!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 12, 2016
Amazing dress but a few flaws
This dress was rented as my backup style for a black tie wedding. I wore the other style dress for 2 reasons - first, there was some very well-placed boning in the breast area of the dress that really accentuated the dress's shape... except... it was only in my backup size (10R) that was too big for me; someone may have cut it out of the one I would have liked to wear (8R). Secondly, it had a pretty bad odor, however I think if I had hung it up in an open doorway for 24 hours or so, it would have aired out. I actually liked this dress well enough to try ordering it again (and hope for a clean one with the boning still in place). It's an elegant design that felt really glamorous on, and it's SO RARE to find a great dress with sleeves that isn't too matronly. I LOVE dresses with sleeves! It also had a textured band around the top inside that kept it perfectly in place on my shoulders, no matter how much I moved around. I also wanted to note that the size 10R was the perfect length with a 4" heel (I'm 5'5.5") however I would have had to find a shorter heel for the 8R. It was right at 2 inches shorter than the 10.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 210lbs
June 7, 2016
Deciding on whether to wear this one to the event.
Fit perfectly and looked really nice! Had no issues with back fat bulges and the fabric helped camouflage any areas I would consider problematic. Fit on the bust and hips like a glove. I wore a steel boned corset under it and it made the dress 10 times sexier! This is a definite contender for my event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180lbs
June 2, 2016
Very flattering design
I rented this dress for a formal wedding. It is very flattering and I received many, many compliments. The fabric is black jersey with some stretch and the length was perfect for me (5'6" with 4" heels). However, there were two issues: 1) if you are alone , there is absolutely no way to zip this - and even with help, the zipper is very tough to move, and 2) the boning was sticking out everywhere (kind of like little black wire fish bones), so I was being stabbed all evening. I ended up with bruises and tiny punctures all over my torso as a result. I cannot even imagine what it would have been like if I hadn't worn spanx to cover certain areas. With that said, I think it may have just been a dress that is on its last leg and I notified RTR about the issue, so hopefully it will be remedied. Other than that, it is a great dress and very flattering.
See more reviews:
3 / 23

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×