Badgley Mischka

Belle of the Ball Gown

$80 rental
$595 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Shown here with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff, Diane von Furstenberg Handbag's Zebra Tonda Pony Clutch, and WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Also available in navy and black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

509 reviews

Fit
Small 65
True to Size 356
Large 68
Photos 305
Kerri
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 9, 2013

I was not disappointed. This dress fit like a glove. I had so many compliments. Will do it again

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Will rent again
Anabel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
May 9, 2014

I received many compliments. Very comfortable- I was able to dance/eat all night.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I normally wear a size 4 or 6 but the size 4 I ordered was a little big in the waist area. I wish the dressed fit a little snugger, but all in all it was a classy dress to wear to a black tie affair.
Chelsea
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
May 10, 2014

Warm elegant dress for formal events!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to the inaugural ball last year in the middle of January and it was a very warm dress (thick fabric). The length was perfect for low heels and the overall fit was form fitting without feeling too tight.
Julie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
May 12, 2014

A true gem!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was very lovely and true to size. It was a little roomy in the bust area for me and the upper bodice boning was a little noticeable through the fabric - but none the less this dress was stunning. The ruching in the back of the dress accentuates ones rear assets in the utmost flattering way!
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Age: 43
May 25, 2014

Had complements all evening! My husband could not keep from looking at me. It's a head turner!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
My first experience with RTR, and I loved it! Will absolutely try it again! I chose 3 options one came free as my alternate back up. All three were absolutely gorgeous, but this one stole the show! Excentuated my assets and made me feel beautiful! The dress was very comfortable and easy to wear. Did not have to wear a bra, but I did wear spanx even though the dress is very forgiving. Highly recommend it!
Nilo
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Jun 2, 2014

Beautiful for a formal event!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
My first dress with RTR and it was perfect! I was a bit worried that it would be tight around my hips, but it truly fit fine! No Spanx needed! I wore it with 4 inch heels and had no problems with the dress dragging on the floor. I would rent this dress, again as it such a timeless, classic gown!
Meridith
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190 lbs
Jun 4, 2014

The dress was different from all others I saw that night.

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit well and hid alot of my "trouble" spots (arms, tummy). The material made it comfortable to wear all night. I will be renting it again.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 27, 2014

This was worn for a photo shoot. Dress was stunning; wonderfully figure flattering, loved it!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The elasticized fitting was very figure hugging, yet comfortable...
Cheryl
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 28, 2014

i was looking fab

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfectly.. I had no issue
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 29, 2014

I liked the dress many compliments simple elegant.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The plastic strips that in the breast area that give it shape had sharp edges as it came out of the trim/binding. I had to use double faced tape to cover so my skin was not scratched. This cannot be zipped by yourself you will need help both on and off.
Armida
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

Classy yet ver sexy!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress very forgiven. Great material it felt very good on my body. I got so many compliments that night. Looking for that Little Black with touch classy yet sexy this is the one. I said it run a little small only just because I am bigger busted for my size(34DD).
Arline
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Jul 3, 2014

Length and fir were perfect..

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great first experience with rent the runway
Jana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

I got so many compliments. The dress was comfortable and even nice for a summer wedding.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered petite at first because I am short but I could not my arms or my bust in the dress. It was even a little short for being 5'1". I called RTR right away because the wedding I was attending was in 2 days. They overnight two regular dresses and the 8R fit perfect. I fell in love with it right away. I got so many compliments all night long. The RTR customer service is very helpful and accommodating. Not only did they send me two different sizes dresses overnight they also sent me hem tape in case they were too long.
Taylor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 17, 2014

Beautiful and elegant

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this figure flattering dress. Received many compliments! I'd definitely rent it again, however one con is that the dress has a train that more than one person stepped on. The length of the long was perfect for my height and 3" shoes.
Feeling pretty
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 27, 2014

This dress was perfect for a black tie charity event. I felt pretty all night!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit really well. The zipper requires another person. I got the regular length and wore a short heel. It was just right. I liked how the dress covered up my arms and the textured cut is flattering. Loved this dress. I am small chested and thick waisted. I didn't have to tug the dress up at all. It just stayed right where it was supposed to. Super comfy while feeling sexy is the best combo ever! It was hot and humid at my event and the dress was a little warm. Not horrible by any means. Would be good for a cooler event where you didn't want to be freezing all night. Definitely give this one a try!
NurseJacki
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jul 28, 2014

This dress was not a flattering fit

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The 2 was too short and too small, the 4 was too big and too long. This seemed more like a dress for a "long and very lean" type of person. It's also very restricting to your arm movement and awkward looking when you move your arms
A
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137 lbs
Aug 10, 2014

I felt incredible in this dress.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I run between a 2-6 in dresses depending on the style and fit. I originally ordered a 2 (backup) and a 4 (my intended size) as I had been trending between those sizes lately . The 4 fit perfectly everywhere bedsides the bust where it was too small due to the boning in the dress . I unfortunately did not listen to reviews that indicated the dress is smaller than your normal size and you should order up - definitely order up one size. I called up RTR panicked that the dress didn't fit and they overnighted the next size up without any additional fees- the new dress arrived by 10am the next morning. RTR has wonderful customer service !! I am 5'6" and would recommend going with extra length especially if you wear heels. This is a perfect dress for an evening black tie event/ wedding even in the summer. The material is on the heavier side but it's so classy and I didn't mind.
julia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

Elegant and beautiful!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
There is an under lining in this dress making it slimming yet very warm. At my prom, most girls wore a flowy sleeveless dress but this dress showed off my collarbones. I decided to do a hepburn-eque look and put my hair in a loose bun and wore pearls. I could not have been happier!!!
RTR Customer
Sep 2, 2014

The way the dress fit was absolutely amazing!

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
No complaints!
Queenie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 11, 2014

This event was very important to me and I wanted a dress that was AMAZING...this was def the dress.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was true to size. It was comfortable and very forgiven. I was super bloated and felt like should have floated down the aisle, but the dress did a great job of hiding my bloat. I would def rent this dress again. No complaints here.
Lora GG
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Sep 15, 2014

Stunning dress.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit and design. The only problem was the wire in the dress broke through the fabric and pinched me the whole night.
amy
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Sep 20, 2014

Everyone said I looked like a movie star!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Found out on Monday that I needed a dress for a black tie gala on Friday. RTR made this event possible for me to attend! Dress fit perfectly and was comfortable. I loved the fact that I could see this on "real" women of all sizes! I would rent from RTR again.. Just so many choices!!
Zina
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 146 lbs
Sep 21, 2014

Got many many compliments... Elegant, sophisticated and very classy!!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress!!
RTR Customer
Sep 21, 2014

Very elegant gown. Great fit! Everyone complemented "my" dress! Can't wait to use RTR again !

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great experience, loved the dress!
odile
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158 lbs
Sep 23, 2014

38 DD could not wear the 8 or the 10 went with a different dress which worked perfect from RTR

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Didn't Fit my 38 DD
Danielle
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Sep 28, 2014

This dress was stunning and I had compliments all through out the night

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is true to size, the only thing I wasn't thrilled about was the plastic parts that shape the breast area. They were a little misshapen. But very comfortable and easy to move in.
B-bop
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 29, 2014

"One is never undressed or overdressed in a little black dress."

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is true to size and is perfect for all body types! The dress is very starchy i order a backup size 6R and wore it instead of the size 8 R. I unusually never wear a size six but since this dress is so starchy the size 8 was a little loose. What I loved about this dress is the built in bra I wear 36DDD in VS and had no problems with this dress. I would not ordered long in this dress unless you are taller then 5.7. You really can't go wrong with this dress! It's perfect for all shapes and ages!
meg
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Sep 30, 2014

dress was beautiful, little big. wish i would've gone petite.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
in the other reviews, I read that girls of similar height said the petite sizes were too short so I opted for the regular 0. It was just a little big and still a bit long with 5 inch heels. hard to walk in but worth it b/c it was really a gorgeous dress
Dee
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180 lbs
Oct 8, 2014

I loved this dress, it was an amazing event with an amazing dress. I am glad I went with this dress!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fortunately for me this dress fit me well. I ordered a size 10 and my back up was a size 12. I say true to size because I am between a 10 and 12 but I ended up going in with the 12. It fit me like a glove (just the way I love it) I accented the dress with gold jewelry I had at home (I had ordered a beautiful pearl necklace on this website but it was way too gaudy for this dress) This dress needed something simple to keep the beauty to the dress. I wore simple black wedge shoes (Steve Madden, I would have gone with a simple open toe shoe but this dress order was last minute and I did not have a shoe that went well with the dress. My hair was left down, but with this dress you can wear the hair down or up in a nice neat bun to complete the look. I loved the mini train of the dress it was beautiful, I am typically a petite but I ordered the Regular length (per the comments left on the dress) and I think that was the best decision I made because the dress length fit just right. If I had order the petite it would have not been a long gown. So, depending on your preference go with the regular to get the full length of the dress. I love love loved this dress. (BODY TYPE-- I placed my body type as hour glass, but I am curvy with an hour glass shape)
jen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 9, 2014

The dress made me look and feel beautiful!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfect. I just had a baby and the dress hid my stomach and accentuated my better parts.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Bust size: 32D
Oct 16, 2014

Best rental yet!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Gorgeous, slimming and so comfortable!
Candace
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 17, 2014

Effortlessly chic!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was truly perfect. I wish I owned it! I got this for a formal charity gala and it was perfect for this type of occasion. It really stands out, and even though it's just a black dress it is so elegant. I got a ton of compliments and I felt great in this! I ordered the 2L and 4R, and I'm usually a 0/2 but in this dress the 4 was perfect. The 2 that I got was too big because it seemed like it was stretched out and has some busted seams, so just beware of that. I highly recommend this to any body type, it's super figure flattering and with some statement jewelry it's just amazing.
Sayward
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 27, 2014

I felt great in this dress!!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the effortlessness and classic look that this dress has. I would definitely recommend going up a size though! My usual size 4, fit kind of snug but wasn't uncomfortable. The arms sleeves are a little tight too but other than that, the dress was perfect!! I got several compliments on it throughout the night and everyone loved how classic and old-hollywood it looked
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Oct 27, 2014

Elegant. Chic. Comfortable. A trio you can't beat.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got tons of compliments all night. Felt very chic. Very comfortable.
Darlene
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 133 lbs
Oct 28, 2014

How well this dress fit

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this dress. It is very flattering even after having cocktail hour and an entree. Has a small train which cAn be bothersome if in a crowded room. I rented the 6r and 8r I'm usually a size 6, but the 6 did not even zipper. The 8r was perfect. Love rent the runway!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 3, 2014

I received many compliments on my dress. I felt great and was very happy with my RTR experience.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The Long length was very long for me (5'7"). Some reviews said the regular would be short but I had shoes tall enough for the dress to hang nicely. It's very forgiving and very comfortable.
Wtwrigh
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 16, 2014

Dancing around the house in my dress with my husband AFTER he refused to dance at the party :)

Size worn: 10L
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fantastic dress! Tight in the bosom which is saying a lot as I already am not well-endowed in that area. I think it really flattered my pear shape well. Two thumbs up!
eejipt
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 124 lbs
Nov 16, 2014

As advertised "We recommend selecting a delivery date one day before your event" GUARANTEED!!

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
#BlackTieEvent In my opinion this is a simple and elegant dress that doesn't need much! With the Right hairdo, Few accessories, and subtle makeup you can rock this dress! I ordered a 2R : 0L the 2R felt great but was entirely too short, once I tried the 0L it was perfect but a tad bit tight in the arms. Had the 2L been available, GLORY!! I am normally a size 3/4 standing 5'4 :) I loved this dressed, and received nothing but compliments!!
Caryn
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Nov 17, 2014

Our annual fundraiser is a stressful affair BUT this dress helped me feel graceful under pressure.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was PERFECT! I was working our large-scale annual fundraiser which required lots of movement and schmoozing. This dress did not require any adjustment during the evening. The length was just right but I was wearing flats. It was comfortable, flattering, and elegant as I was running up and down stairs. It slimmed down my big arms and best part -- because of the fabric and fit, I didn't have to wear Spanx! That's always a plus :) One con which thankfully ended up not being an issue, the backup dress (size 14R) was in really poor condition. The wires were sticking out of the bust and the zipper was somewhat damaged.
Penethia R
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
Nov 23, 2014

EXCELLENT FOR A FORMAL EVENT!!!!

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Being this was my first time with RTR didn't know how sizing would be for me.....I usually wear 12/14. I ordered both 12R/14R trying on the 14R first. It was very snug on top but a nice fit on the hips. The dress hit right at the top of my feet....wish it was longer. The plastic tabs along the bust allowed me to not to wear a bra. Which is usual for me but I was good. But at the same time these plastic tabs are also in the back which stuck me when I was sitting. Other than that I loved the way the dress looked on me and its a Very nice dress for the occasion. I plan to order another dress from RTR for another event next month
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×