Badgley Mischka

Belle of the Ball Gown

$58 – $80 rental?
$595 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff and WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
873 reviews
Fit
Large
(78)
True to Size
(528)
Small
(129)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
September 30, 2016
Gorgeous - for a cool weather event.
This was a substitute sent to me by RTR, since the dress I ordered wasn't available. I absolutely LOVE this dress. I have never felt more beautiful in my life. The sleeves were a little snug (but I do have large upper arms). My husband said I looked like I was going to an awards show. I was a little concerned about how my belly would look (I definitely needed a spanx under it to tighten everything up), but it's flattering. I will definitely rent this again to wear for a wintertime event. Sadly, since it's 100+ degrees in SoCal right now, this beauty isn't going to work for this particular wedding. Next time.... :(
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
September 28, 2016
This was the perfect forgiving, yet elegant dress for the gala!
I'm so glad RTR offers a second size for free! The size 4P fit well, until trying to zip it over my shoulders. Perhaps it's supposed to be really fitted, but I felt restricted, so I went with the 6P. I'm 5'2" and as long as I didn't tug the dress down from the hips, my 3 inch heels were perfect. There was a "scent" to the dress when I first unpacked it, but let me confess that I am very sensitive to smells on my clothes. I think the scent may be from the plastic packaging inside the garment bag. In any case, I hung it up to air for a day and it was unnoticeable. I got a ton of compliments and was so glad I went with the elegant option! I will definitely be a return customer.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 26, 2016
The dress was very flattering and comfortable! The ruching was perfect. Loved this dress!!
I found the dress really comfortable and would love to be able to keep it. It snugged nicely so I wasn't fidgeting with the dress all night. Very flattering look and made me feel great. Only negative was it had a slight odor when I received it but aired it out the night before and it was fine. I would rent this again for a formal event. I'm 5'2" and about 127lbs. The 2 Petite fit great. The 4 Petite fit as well but a little loose at the top so I felt like I would have been pulling it up all night. Nice to have both options
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 22, 2016
It fit great. I rented this for a formal. We end up not going. So I sent it back. I will rent again
Great fit comfortable classic. Love it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 61
September 12, 2016
This definitely is an elegant looking dress on!
Glad I read reviews and suggest people do before renting if unsure. My first time and I was disappointed that the bag while arriving on time was smashed up both dresses had hangers broken and dresses had fallen making them VERY wrinkled. I also found helpful that one gal had mentioned to put it on like its strapless and then pull you arms in. Definitely can not zip this by yourself. But material was nice comfortable and I really felt elegant in it. Received many compliments. I would order up a size. I am 5'11 and wore about 2" heel and it hit the ground which was perfect! I definitely was nervous about waiting for a dress but I will definitely rent again and the accessories added a very nice touch. Also would help to have tape for the top to keep in place better.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
22WL
Rented for:
Wedding
September 11, 2016
Beautiful Dress
This is the 2nd time I've rented this dress, and I've loved it both times. It fits well, it's flattering, it's super comfortable, and the Long was perfect for me with a 3-inch heel. I was disappointed in some of the other aspects of my order (dresses came balled up in a box this time, but last time they came nicely packed in a garment bag), but this dress itself is stunning.
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 1, 2016
I got so many compliments all night! I felt beautiful in the dress!
It fit perfect, it was flattering in the areas of my body I'm a little self conscious about. It was a little warm towards the end of the night, but dancing will do that :) I got compliments all night and felt great in it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
August 21, 2016
This dress was amazing!!
everything about it was perfect - I am 6' tall and it was long enough for me. the fabric is luxurious and the top fits nice and snug so the "off the shoulders" look stays in place.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
20WL
Rented for:
Wedding
August 14, 2016
Glamorous!
I felt beautiful in this dress! Very glamorous! There was some wire that poked through. A little uncomfortable .
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
22WR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Weight: 260lbs
August 10, 2016
Va-va-vooom!
I wore this dress on my recent honeymoon cruise for the last formal night. It fit like a glove - literally! Definitely a candidate for wearing a smoothing undergarment. Otherwise, the arms were a snug fit, but not too tight. I went up about 2 sizes, luckily! For anyone over 5'7" I would definitely recommend getting the long size or another size up -- unfortunately this was the last size left for me, and the hem barely touched the top of my feet (I wore flats).
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 41
August 9, 2016
Perfect Formal Gown
I odered a 6R and an 8R and the 6R would even zip up. I completely underestimated my size. I called the next morning and had a 10R and a 12R shipped out and received it the following afternoon. The 10R fit okay, was a bit snug on my chest since I'm a 38DDD. I tried on the 12R and it was comfortable draped alot around the bodice and sleeve, but I was okay with that since it didn't look at all too tight on my bust. I held the train up stairs and on the street, but while in the venue I was able to walk withour holding it. I wore 6" platform gold heels and the length was perfect. I love this dress and would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
August 8, 2016
This dress was beautiful and very comfortable.
I rented this dress for my engagement photos. I ended taking most of my pictures with a red cape over it as it was wintertime, but the dress was elegant and fit like a glove. Because I have thick arms I opted to wear the size 10, but I do believe it runs true to size. I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
August 1, 2016
People thought I was in the bridal party! This dress was a hit!
This dress fit perfectly! It hid all my flaws (my tummy) and it was comfortable. I loved the fabric. I have an hourglass shape but am overweight. I was very happy with this! Would definitely recommend it!
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 53
July 29, 2016
Perfect dress for my wedding!
Fit was fabulous! Fit like a glove and so comfortable to wear all day. Fabric is heavy but very easy to move in.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
July 28, 2016
Perfect dress
Perfect dress. I couldn't of picked a better one!!! I'm 5'7, 36 B. The dress fir perfect. The only thing was that it was a bit too long and I was wearing 4 inch heels. Get this dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 49
July 12, 2016
Felt super confident.
Fit was nice and snug. The garment is well constructed and you feel support all over. Perfect for the girl whose figure is not...well, perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
20WL
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
July 12, 2016
Different from everything else in the room.
The dress ran large in my opinion contrary to other folks opinion. I should of went a size down for it to fit me the way it fit the model. Also, the boning was coming out of the sides which stuck me on and off all night. It was beautiful overall though. I loved showing my shoulders while being more covered on my arms. The process with RTR was incredible. I knew where my package was at all times and sending it back was a breeze. I will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 27, 2016
The fit was perfect, dress was not only comfortable but beautiful . RTR is the BEST !!
Loved everything about this dress .
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 38
June 26, 2016
I LOVED everything about this dress!!!
Fits true to size!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 25, 2016
Loved this dress!! Want to keep it forever.
Hugged my body in all the right places. I want to wear it every day:)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
June 23, 2016
Comfortable and Figure Flattering
Although I should have gone with a 6R, I chose the 8R because I'm a few months postpartum and not quite fitting into my old dress size. However, this dress was a little droopier on me than I would have liked. The material is kind of heavy, but very comfortable. I LOVED the sleeves. The rouching made it very figure flattering. I received MANY compliments. I would absolutely rent this again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
June 14, 2016
Very classy gown with perfect fit!
I wore this sexy yet classy gown for a Charity Ball event for the Children's Home of Northern Kentucky! The length and measurements of this gown were true to sizing measurements. The boning in the torso that gives this dress the flatter shape does make it fit tightly, so if you're not sure on sizing definitely go a size up. Loved this gown!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 12, 2016
Amazing dress but a few flaws
This dress was rented as my backup style for a black tie wedding. I wore the other style dress for 2 reasons - first, there was some very well-placed boning in the breast area of the dress that really accentuated the dress's shape... except... it was only in my backup size (10R) that was too big for me; someone may have cut it out of the one I would have liked to wear (8R). Secondly, it had a pretty bad odor, however I think if I had hung it up in an open doorway for 24 hours or so, it would have aired out. I actually liked this dress well enough to try ordering it again (and hope for a clean one with the boning still in place). It's an elegant design that felt really glamorous on, and it's SO RARE to find a great dress with sleeves that isn't too matronly. I LOVE dresses with sleeves! It also had a textured band around the top inside that kept it perfectly in place on my shoulders, no matter how much I moved around. I also wanted to note that the size 10R was the perfect length with a 4" heel (I'm 5'5.5") however I would have had to find a shorter heel for the 8R. It was right at 2 inches shorter than the 10.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 210lbs
June 7, 2016
Deciding on whether to wear this one to the event.
Fit perfectly and looked really nice! Had no issues with back fat bulges and the fabric helped camouflage any areas I would consider problematic. Fit on the bust and hips like a glove. I wore a steel boned corset under it and it made the dress 10 times sexier! This is a definite contender for my event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180lbs
June 2, 2016
Very flattering design
I rented this dress for a formal wedding. It is very flattering and I received many, many compliments. The fabric is black jersey with some stretch and the length was perfect for me (5'6" with 4" heels). However, there were two issues: 1) if you are alone , there is absolutely no way to zip this - and even with help, the zipper is very tough to move, and 2) the boning was sticking out everywhere (kind of like little black wire fish bones), so I was being stabbed all evening. I ended up with bruises and tiny punctures all over my torso as a result. I cannot even imagine what it would have been like if I hadn't worn spanx to cover certain areas. With that said, I think it may have just been a dress that is on its last leg and I notified RTR about the issue, so hopefully it will be remedied. Other than that, it is a great dress and very flattering.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 2, 2016
Comfortable and Simply Elegant
Simply designed gown, the fit was nice. The material was heavy and hung loosely, which made me feel like the dress was sliding down. I should have ordered a 0P as my second size, to make the bodice slightly tighter and shorter. Overall very comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 1, 2016
The dress was great for this Gala!
I wore 4 inch heels and they went perfectly with the dress, it was long enough to work well together. Tons of compliments. Don't go crazy bra shopping, it worked fine with a regular bra, I pulled the sleeves up a little. The fit was tight but the dress is very stretchy so it isn't snug. It looks a bit more flattering on the model though. I felt that I looked like a littler matronly in it, I'm 5'8" and 130lbs.
Size worn:
20WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Weight: 240lbs
May 31, 2016
I got non stop compliments!
The fit was great, I ordered both the 18WR and 20WR, The 18 fit but the 20 was more comfortable. It was flattering in all the right places, the rouching hid all my tummy problem areas and accentuated my "assets." I do have to say that if you are small chested it may not fit perfectly. I typically am a B and it didn't look quite right so I ended up wearing a padded bra. I got the regular length because I knew I wanted to wear flat shoes, It was a good length for that but I feel it would have been much too short with heels. Also there is a little bit of a train in the back (not huge but it did get stepped on a couple times on the dance floor) so keep that in mind. This was my first time ordering from RTR and it worked out perfectly. Hope this review helps!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 230lbs
May 28, 2016
The dress was elegant and classy...It made people look at me twice :)
I wanted a long gown that would cover my tummy and this dress was perfect! My arms are always another issue and are usually too big to fit into a dress my size. I usually wear 14 but the dress couldn't zip up and my arms couldn't fit but 16 dress fit me perfect all around.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
May 26, 2016
I was planning to wear this too a formal charity event, but didn't end up using it.
Loved this dress, but it just didn't fit my body well. It is form fitting - the ruching helps, but I have a smaller chest, so the "curvy" look just doesn't do well on me.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
May 24, 2016
Elegant and a great fit
Rented this for a formal gala I had to attend for work and it was perfect!! I rented both the 12 and 14 Long, I wound up wearing the 12 and it fit perfectly. I'm 5'10" and found that while the front was a little short the back was longer and even in 4" heels I had to hold the skirt to walk across the room--not to mention up and down stairs. Its a great dress for someone like me--I'm small in the bust and much larger in the waist/hips--but this dress looked great on me, I got a lot of compliments!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 23, 2016
The classic, off-the-shoulder, column silhouette is universally flattering.
Pros: Great for a petite, slightly hourglass figure like mine. I like showing off décolletage and back over legs and arms because the risk of taking a bad photo is close to zilch! Black is a great color for everyone, obviously. This is also a timeless design. Cons: The wires inside the bust poked me all night and made me uncomfortable. I had to fold some fabric in to protect my skin from getting scratched. The weather for the May black tie wedding I attended in Detroit was 75 and sunny -- not expected given a recent cold spell! I was a little overheated during the outdoor ceremony and until the sun started to drop but then it was great when it cooled down at night. The reception was indoor-outdoor. All in all, glad I rented this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
May 20, 2016
didn't end up wearing the dress
the fit was still too small for my body even if I ordered up. i think my shoulders may have been too broad for this dress. the R was also not as long as i would have liked. I normally order a 6, but in this case I ordered an 8, but I should have gotten a 10, and perhaps it would have been a better fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
May 20, 2016
Very elegant, runs large, wish I had gotten the back up.
Luckily we were using this dress for portraits and just used clips in the back.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 19, 2016
I loved the fit and the length. Fits like a glove. I may just order this again!
Love love loved this dress! It fits like a glove and I felt so sexy and beautiful! The length was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34D
May 17, 2016
All the compliments that I received wearing this great dress! I felt like a million bucks!
Beautiful fabric and design! The fit of this dress was perfect. Again, Rent the Runway came through for me!
Size worn:
6P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 15, 2016
The dress fit like a glove. It was perfection. And customer service at RTR, once again, rocked it!
I ordered a 6R and 8R based on other reviews and they both were ridiculously long. I called customer service and they overnighted another dress in petite. It fit perfectly. I'm 5'4 and 130. I wore very high heels. The petite fit exactly the same as the regular...just shorter in length. It was perfect. I wore a padded strapless bra underneath (34C) but could easily have gone without a bra. I also wore Spanx and I'm very glad I did. It's a tight dress but very flattering. Love this dress and I would love to rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 15, 2016
Perfection
This dress is a perfect 10. The cut is generous and flattering with a structure that supports you in all the right places. I felt like a movie star. Incredibly comfortable and easy to wear. Loved it, and will rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
May 11, 2016
Gorgeous dress!
I rented this for my Halloween costume as Miss America. The dress just looked so elegant and classy. It was comfortable but a little tight in my boob/stomach area. I did receive several compliments on the dress. Thanks RTR for another beautiful dress!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 11, 2016
I'm really happy with my choice. It looked great and was actually very comfortable.
I needed someone to help me clasp and zip up the dress the whole way. I was worried at first it wasn't going to fit, but it ended up working out really well. It fit like a glove and was very flattering.
See more reviews:
3 / 22

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×