Belle of the Ball Gown

$70 rental
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff and WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
760 reviews
Fit
Large73
True to Size481
Small119
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 56
February 18, 2016
I want this dress!
I would buy this dress in a minute. It fit well, was comfortable, and flattering.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
February 17, 2016
I felt stunning!
Wore this for my best friend's wedding (we opted out of Bridesmaid dresses) for a black tie optional. I had a baby and still had pregnancy weight and bigger boobs than I was used to. the dress "sucked in" my stomach and was extremely flattering for my curvy body. Black was easy to dress up and I felt comfortable the entire evening in Nov in South Florida! I ordered Regular and it fit perfect on me: 5'6" + additional 3 in heels
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
February 17, 2016
Perfect for black tie wedding
This was a back up dress that was over- nighted to me and it was a life saver. I wore two sizes larger in this dress than I usually wear and it fit like a glove. The ruching hugged my curves without being tight. The off the shoulder style was flattering, glamorous and classy. The 10 R was the perfect length for me with 3 inch heels, the toes of my shoes just peeked out. I received compliments all night and would rent this dress again. Con: the ribbing can start to chafe under your arms after a full day in the dress, but I'd still consider it completely worth it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
February 17, 2016
Great dress if you're prepared to be a little uncomfortable
I am very happy I rented this particular gown for the Grammys this year. I received many compliments and I think the photos looked great. I do suggest ordering a size up, as this dress does run small. Also, I'm 5'5" and could not wear heels in the regular length so if you want to wear heels, I suggest ordering it long. A few other comments: The boning in the midsection is really uncomfortable. In fact, it left bruises under my boobs. You'll need a strapless. And the zipper does stick. These negatives aside, this is a great option for ladies that are relatively modest but want to feel beautiful.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 38
February 17, 2016
The dress was perfect for a charity gala.
Easy to move around in. The front is slightly shorter than the back.
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 16, 2016
This dress was very flattering and fit well.
Pros: flattering, classy, easy to wear, and not too long. Cons: the boning isn't super comfortable, arm range of motion is limited. I wore the 8R but ordered the 10R as a backup size. The 10 was too big, but actually appeared a little shorter than the 8. I wore this with 4 in heels and the dress was the perfect length for me at 5'6".
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 16, 2016
Lots of compliments!
Hugged every curve just the right way.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
February 15, 2016
This is a beautiful dress that is easy to wear. It was very flattering.
I felt the sizing was accurate and the fabric travels well. It has a small train that makes the dress more dramatic but it did not get in the way or make it difficult to move around in
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 40
February 15, 2016
Very elegant. Lots of compliments...
I'm 5'4 110lbs. I wore size 2P with really tall heels i felt it was just a "tad" short but it worked. Very comfortable.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
February 15, 2016
Fanciest wedding I have ever attended.
Wore this for a Black Tie Wedding - it was absolutely perfect! It fit like a glove! Very slimming. Since it was a cold winter night, the heavy material kept me warm even wearing heels in the snow. I have wider hips but the ruching slimed me down. The dress is so much prettier in person than in pictures.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 17
February 13, 2016
It was my last military ball, and the best one I've been to
I ordered this dress last minute, and it came right on time. It was a very pleasant surprise, I loved it. The dress was absolutely stunning. I was worried about the dress falling down all night, but it never moved an inch (I was dancing and moving around the entire night. The dress made me feel incredibly confident and beautiful, one of my favorites I've ever worn. I definitely would buy this dress and wear it again and again if I could.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 43
February 13, 2016
This dress was very comfortable and elegant.
Reviews had said it ran a little big so I'm happy I got a size down. I'm 5'3" and was surprised the size chart recommended a regular vs. petite - and the petite was out of stock, so I worried about the length. It was a little on the long side, which required a higher heel than I was comfortable with. But I wasn't tripping over it. I got a lot of compliments! I'm 140 lbs but really thin in the waist and above (thicker in the butt/thighs, but not heavy). I think that's why even a size down didn't seem snug enough, but it worked out great. Perfect for the colder weather.
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
February 10, 2016
What an amazing dress! I'm a 40DDD and this fit like a glove.
Didn't have to wear a bra with this one, and the cut was very slimming. Perfect for a winter Gala, as it was kind of heavy material. Wire in the bust got a little pokey by the end of the night, but overall very comfortable gown.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
February 10, 2016
Very emotional evening, glad I felt as good as I did in the dress!
I ordered the 12L and the 14L. The 12 fit perfectly but because I had the 14 and it looked good too with more wiggle room I went with that one. I LOVED it. Felt glamorous! I am 5'8 and the length of the Long was perfect. I wore 3" heels and it did hit the floor but as part of the long dress look I like to hold it up upon steps or outside. I did not drag, it was just perfect.
Size worn:
14WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Age: 50
February 9, 2016
Loved the dress!!! Flattering and stretches so you don't have to worry about it not fitting. :-)
Perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WL
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 8, 2016
Great customer service. This was my second dress and so glad I got it as the other dress was so bad!
Dress runs a little legs, but is very comfortable. I was worried about the sleeves but they are very flattering and don't fall down. The dress feels good on-slinky and soft.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
February 7, 2016
This was a New Years Eve Masquerade Ball. I did feel pretty although a little uncomfortable.
I have a D cup so even the size 12 was snug on the top. The rest of the dress was extremely comfortable. I only problem I found was with the boning on the top of the dress. I found the on both the left and right sides the plastic boning was bent and stuck into the side of by breast occasionally. I did feel very pretty in this dress and got a lot of compliments. I rented the necklace with it which just took the outfit to a higher level. I would recommend this dress for a C cup or smaller.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16WP
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
February 5, 2016
Everyone complimented the gown!
the fit was amazing and sat perfectly in all the right places. Loved the built in bra which made for dancing. Off the shoulder fit was perfect! Loved the gown.
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 5, 2016
This was my first time using Rent The Runway, and it was awesome! Will definitely use it again!
Loved the dress! The material was incredibly comfortable, and I was able to dance the night away with no issues! My chest is on the small side, so no bra was needed (huge plus!), because the dress had built in wire... I was a collegiate gymnast, so I'm 5'3, 120, and usually wear a 0 in everything... I have a small waist, but I also have a butt and muscular thighs, so I'm always leery to order anything online... Because of this, I read all of the reviews for girls around my size, and wanted to go with the 0, but it wasn't available. A lot of the reviews said that if you normally wear a 0, you might want to size up to a 2P. I ended up getting the 0P with the intentions of wearing the 2P, but I'm glad I did, because the 2P would have been WAY too big! The 0P was plentyyy long for my 5'3 frame... So much so that I could wear my 3" heels with it! If you're on the fence about this dress, get it! It's classy, comfy, and fits great! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
February 5, 2016
Loved this dress. I would definitely rent it again for a special occasion.
The fit was perfect. It hugs in all the right places and is very flattering. The dress screams sophistication but also has a hint of sexiness with it.
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 148lbs
February 3, 2016
Great Dress for a Classic Look
This dress looked amazing on! Definitely ran small in the bust. It was much tighter than I expected up top, but that actually worked to my advantage. I didn't have to wear a bra due to the boning in the top of the dress. That never happens with my bust size of 34DDD. I thought that the dress would be stretchy throughout, but the structure up top worked well. The bottom of the dress hugs in all the right places and the petite size was the perfect length with my 3 inch heels. Definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16WP
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 2, 2016
LOVED this for my Mardi Gras ball! I got SO many compliments!
My preferred size was unavailable, so they sent my backup and an alternate gown in my preferred size. I didn't get the email until the day it was supposed to ship. And due to the security concerns of my job, I don't have access to my phone to have any input on which alternate dress they shipped. I hated the backup gown. I didn't even try it on. Luckily, the dress I chose fit fairly well. It was a size too big and ran a little long, but with heels and luck, I made it work.
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
February 1, 2016
This wasn't the right dress for me
I loved the back of this dress - my butt looked amazing but the front of the dress didn't work for me. I need a v-front or sweetheart neckline. I sent it back.
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 31, 2016
Event for a worthy cause!
Perfect fit! Was so comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 31, 2016
An elegant look; a comfortable fit!
This dress was the elegant, simplistic look I craved from a long black gown. It was comfortable and fit true to size. I wore it for a black tie winter wedding and the compliments flowed like the champagne all night. Would highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
January 27, 2016
This dress is beautiful. Wish I could have owned it as it would be my go to black dress!!!
The dress fits like a glove and the material is lightweight and comfortable. I am curvy and had just spent 12 weeks on crutches with multiple casts on my feet. I am very short and had been in a walking boot. I wanted to wear something to the wedding that hid the boot well but still made me feel pretty. This dress was perfect. The petite was long enough to cover what I had going on my feet. My body wasn't as tight as it normally was due to my injuries but the dress was very forgiving and pulled my curves in the right places so no one noticed that I hadn't walked or worked out in 12 weeks! It was a self esteem savior. The low cut shoulder part of the dress was so sexy and allowed for the beautiful accessories.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 196lbs
January 27, 2016
I absolutely loved this dress...
Beautiful dress, I received so many compliments. If you are looking for something , sexy and elegant this is the dress for you..I was a little reluctant to rent a dress at first..I must tell you that the process was very smooth..it arrived in perfect time for my event, and everything arrived very neat. Phenomenal experience.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
January 25, 2016
I loved this dress. It has a classic look and was easy to accessorize with.
I had a backup of 14L which to my surprise felt tighter than the 12L I ended up wearing. I think this dress looks great. It just needs to be adjusted every so often because, you know, gravity. The dress has wiring in areas, but it wasn't too uncomfortable. With heels the 12L didn't touch the ground. Overall, very nice dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
January 24, 2016
Very comfortable, HUGE compliments. I felt it ran a bit small. Lovely.
Snug, form fitting but very comfortable and flattering. I wished I could have gotten the navy blue but they were out.
Size worn:
20WP
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 39
January 22, 2016
beautiful dress
I would have sized down one size. Also, I ordered petite because I am short, I would have gone with the regular because the tops of my feet peaked out from under the dress. The dress gives amazing curves and is very comfortable to wear.
Size worn:
22WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 15
January 21, 2016
Thank you ! It fit well!
Fit tight and perfectly! Felt so sexy!
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 21, 2016
Received many compliments on this dress.
The dress was great, I resent having to write a review. Every time I log in it' hangs out there. There is no way to remove it, so here I am writing a review.
Size worn:
18WP
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 41
January 21, 2016
I attended the Dallas Margarita Ball, formal charity event, so a great opportunity to over glam!
I would say the dress is true to size, I selected an 18W because I have extra-large arms, (I had to have friends grip and shimmy up, because the sleeves have no give, hence going up one size due to arms). It was roomy, so a 16 would've worked for my body but not the sleeves. The dress is soooo complimentary to the body. I have curves but plenty of fluff. I wore my regular girdle, so didn't have to go buy an extra tight one to accentuate curves because the dress does all the work!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Age: 27
January 18, 2016
Worn to my fiance's formal work party. Looked and felt amazing!
Rented both the 12 and 14 because other reviews mentioned the sleeves running small. The zipper on the 12 got stuck a lot and the lining on the top was a little worn. It fit and looked great though!
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 49
January 18, 2016
Great dress for an apple shaped girl.
LOVED THIS DRESS.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 48
January 17, 2016
I was complimented all night! This is a very elegant dress. LOVED it!
I'm usually a 8/10 and I wore the 12. I didn't even try the 10. The fit was a bit tight around the ribs. The small train was a bit long for a the event I went to. The venue was very crowded and it was stepped on a few times. Other than that the dress was GREAT! I felt very classy and confident. If I had perky boobs I could have gone without a bra!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 52
January 12, 2016
It was exquisitie!
The dress felt great on. The fabric was heavy. The only thing was I was glad I ordered a backup size. I normally wear a 6 or 8. I ordered both and the 8 was super tight in the breast line. Other than that I felt very sexy in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 10, 2016
The dress was elegant and classic. I wore this to a New Year's Eve wedding and it was perfect!
I broke my leg and had a cast, I was trying to hide it as well as all the weight I had gained from not working out. The roushing made it so flattering and comfortable! I could hide my cast and my trouble spots. I felt elegant and glamorous. I have a large chest and it still fit. The arms were weird only when zipping it up, after that it was great! Note that petite sizes you need to get the size up for normal size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16WL
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 250lbs
January 6, 2016
It was awesome to rent a dress and it get here on time with no worries fast and easy service.
The dress for amazing, had a little trouble with the zipper it once on I felt amazing and got tons of complements and questions of where o got my dress from! Will definitely use RTR again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
January 6, 2016
Great customer service.
It's very comfortable to wear. I just had a baby and wasn't sure about size. Ordered the 8L and 10L. I didn't need the long. I wore it because it was what I ordered but could've used the regular.
See more reviews:
2 / 19

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×