Belle of the Ball Gown

$70 rental
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff and WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
776 reviews
Fit
Large75
True to Size488
Small119
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 37
March 11, 2016
I wanted this to fit so badly!
Oh, I wanted this dress to work! It was perfect for a formal/semi-formal event in Colorado in the wintertime. I read all the reviews and I saw that other full busted women had worn it, so I went for it. Ordered 8L and 10L--got an email two days before that the 10L would not be available so could I please select another style--no cost restriction. I still wanted this dress--and I was on the border of regular/long anyways, as I'm 5'7"--so I asked for the 10R. The dresses arrived, and NOPE. Couldn't even get the 8 zipped, it was smashing my chest so badly, plus my arms wouldn't fit in the sleeves! Put on the 10, and it was even worse! As it turns out, they'd sent a 6 by mistake so I was stuck with no dresses. BIG shoutout to RTR, though. After talking with Customer Service, I was overnight shipped two more dress styles at no cost , along with new jewelry in case my current selections didn't work with the new gowns. Love this company! Long story short--gave 3 stars b/c I love the look of the gown and it seemed to be in good shape & well constructed. But if you're busty (I'm actually 36 DD ) I'd avoid this dress!!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
March 8, 2016
Great fit! It's figure flattering and I received a ton of compliments all night.!
Perfect fit
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
March 7, 2016
Worn for a black tie awards show.
I really loved this dress. The ruching was flattering and it was very comfortable to wear. However, I have a few complaints. Other women who are my height ordered the long and reported that it was so long they had to wear incredibly high heels with it. This was not the case for me. I am 5'8" and I ordered a long and ended up having to wear flats because it barely touched the ground unless I pulled it down so low on my bust that it covered my feet. I question if I was actually sent a long or not... I was also nearly in a panic when trying it on because I couldn't get it to zip up. I thought it was way too small- But my roommate was able to zip it with ease. Since it's over the shoulder, it's difficult to zip yourself, but once it's zipped is very comfortable and easy to move in. My upper arms are a little bigger, so the sleeves wouldn't come on all the way, and if I held my arms at a certain angle you could see the top of the stick-on bra I was wearing. Not a huge deal, but just a word of caution for other women with larger arms. Seems like I had a lot to complain about but it was actually a gorgeous dress with a gorgeous fit and I received many compliments throughout the evening. I'd rent it again if there weren't so many other options!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 44
March 6, 2016
Black tie fundraiser. Tons of compliments. Very comfortable . Great fit.
Float between size 10 and 12. I wore the 10 R. It fit so perfectly and was very comfortable! Length was great too. I received so many compliments. The whole experience was fantastic. It was my first time using RTR, but will not be the last!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
March 6, 2016
Gorgeous full length that works for petites!
This dress was gorgeous! The fabric was stretchy and comfortable - I ate a huge meal at a black tie affair and it was perfect for that. The ruching is in just the right place if you are concerned about your stomach area. I am fairly short and was concerned that even the petite would be too long, but it was right to the floor and worked with small heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 4, 2016
Annual Awards Dinner
I was really worried about finding a dress to fit for my annual work sales dinner. I was feeling fat and like nothing fit. This dress with the rouching and pleats hid all of insecurities and made me comfortable for the entire night. It's a great dress for a formal event when you want to hide a few things ;)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
March 4, 2016
...
It was elegant and slimming! A little tight on top but we made it work.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
February 29, 2016
Loved this dress!
I wore this to a black tie gala in January. Very Comfortable and accentuated all of the positives. Was the perfect length - I wore with 2.5 inch heels. You can personalize this dress with accessories of your choice.
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 29, 2016
Arrived on time and was very easy to do!
The fit was perfect! Gots lots of compliments with this one. My only advice is when in doubt, go with the long. Both of my sizes fit because the material is forgiving but I went a size up for the extra length.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 28, 2016
Sadly disappointed, but the dress is beautiful.
I ordered this dress for a formal event in a 2L, unfortunately my backup size was unable to ship due to damages. When I received the 2L it was way too short. I am 5'8" and planned to wear 3-4 inch heels so I ordered extra length, when the dress came you could see my feet even without any heels on. So unfortunately it was too short for me to wear and I ended up going with a backup dress.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 23, 2016
It was very easy to pair accessories and really had fun with it.
Had to pull it up a few times like most strapless dresses but no snags and got a ton of compliments
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
February 23, 2016
Too long for me even with heels, 5'4"
This is my 5th or 6th rental and the first time a dress hasn't worked out. I rented this for a wedding and the challenge was looking for something breastfeeding friendly since I was bringing my 11 mo daughter. I thought for sure this would work, however, once I tried it on, the length was was far too long for my 5'4" self, even if I added 4" heels. Being that I would be carrying my daughter around, I really couldn't afford to trip. Rent the Runway's customer service was AMAZING in trying to remedy this, they offered to send hem tape, but in the end, I decided to look for an alternative dress the morning of the wedding...luckily I was able to find something but if I were to gamble and order a 2nd style through RTR, it was only $12.95 more for Sat arrival by noon. Still a loyal renter here!
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
February 23, 2016
Loved the dress.
Slimming
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 57
February 22, 2016
This dress is simply elegant.
Beautifully structured and the perfect fabric. Not too fussy or frilly; neither too sexy nor too staid. A size 10 would have fit tighter, maybe a little better, but I'm self-conscious and felt completely at ease in this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
February 21, 2016
Loved this dress!
I ordered this dress in an 8R and a 6R. I usually have to size up a lot in formal dresses because I have a very wide rib cage and DD bust so I almost ordered the 8R and 10R, thank god I didn't! The 8R was big on me... it did nothing for my shape and was very loose. The 6R was snug, but damn did it make me look good! It sucked me in in all the right places and the built in bra was fabulous for someone like me with a big chest! I didn't wear a bra and I loved it. Because the 6 was snug my arm movement was limited but didn't bother me at all since I felt so damn good in this dress. I definitely recommend for a simple but formal look! I got a ton of compliments on this dress. Length on the 8 was way too long for me and the length on the 6 was perfect with a pair of heels. The size difference between the 6 and 8 is kinda crazy but I'm ok with it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 21, 2016
This was the perfect dress for a formal benefit gala in St. Louis in September. Loved the fit .
This is an elegant dress. Very form fitting.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 56
February 18, 2016
I want this dress!
I would buy this dress in a minute. It fit well, was comfortable, and flattering.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
February 17, 2016
I felt stunning!
Wore this for my best friend's wedding (we opted out of Bridesmaid dresses) for a black tie optional. I had a baby and still had pregnancy weight and bigger boobs than I was used to. the dress "sucked in" my stomach and was extremely flattering for my curvy body. Black was easy to dress up and I felt comfortable the entire evening in Nov in South Florida! I ordered Regular and it fit perfect on me: 5'6" + additional 3 in heels
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
February 17, 2016
Perfect for black tie wedding
This was a back up dress that was over- nighted to me and it was a life saver. I wore two sizes larger in this dress than I usually wear and it fit like a glove. The ruching hugged my curves without being tight. The off the shoulder style was flattering, glamorous and classy. The 10 R was the perfect length for me with 3 inch heels, the toes of my shoes just peeked out. I received compliments all night and would rent this dress again. Con: the ribbing can start to chafe under your arms after a full day in the dress, but I'd still consider it completely worth it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
February 17, 2016
Great dress if you're prepared to be a little uncomfortable
I am very happy I rented this particular gown for the Grammys this year. I received many compliments and I think the photos looked great. I do suggest ordering a size up, as this dress does run small. Also, I'm 5'5" and could not wear heels in the regular length so if you want to wear heels, I suggest ordering it long. A few other comments: The boning in the midsection is really uncomfortable. In fact, it left bruises under my boobs. You'll need a strapless. And the zipper does stick. These negatives aside, this is a great option for ladies that are relatively modest but want to feel beautiful.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 38
February 17, 2016
The dress was perfect for a charity gala.
Easy to move around in. The front is slightly shorter than the back.
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 16, 2016
This dress was very flattering and fit well.
Pros: flattering, classy, easy to wear, and not too long. Cons: the boning isn't super comfortable, arm range of motion is limited. I wore the 8R but ordered the 10R as a backup size. The 10 was too big, but actually appeared a little shorter than the 8. I wore this with 4 in heels and the dress was the perfect length for me at 5'6".
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 16, 2016
Lots of compliments!
Hugged every curve just the right way.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
February 15, 2016
This is a beautiful dress that is easy to wear. It was very flattering.
I felt the sizing was accurate and the fabric travels well. It has a small train that makes the dress more dramatic but it did not get in the way or make it difficult to move around in
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 40
February 15, 2016
Very elegant. Lots of compliments...
I'm 5'4 110lbs. I wore size 2P with really tall heels i felt it was just a "tad" short but it worked. Very comfortable.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
February 15, 2016
Fanciest wedding I have ever attended.
Wore this for a Black Tie Wedding - it was absolutely perfect! It fit like a glove! Very slimming. Since it was a cold winter night, the heavy material kept me warm even wearing heels in the snow. I have wider hips but the ruching slimed me down. The dress is so much prettier in person than in pictures.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 18
February 13, 2016
It was my last military ball, and the best one I've been to
I ordered this dress last minute, and it came right on time. It was a very pleasant surprise, I loved it. The dress was absolutely stunning. I was worried about the dress falling down all night, but it never moved an inch (I was dancing and moving around the entire night. The dress made me feel incredibly confident and beautiful, one of my favorites I've ever worn. I definitely would buy this dress and wear it again and again if I could.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 43
February 13, 2016
This dress was very comfortable and elegant.
Reviews had said it ran a little big so I'm happy I got a size down. I'm 5'3" and was surprised the size chart recommended a regular vs. petite - and the petite was out of stock, so I worried about the length. It was a little on the long side, which required a higher heel than I was comfortable with. But I wasn't tripping over it. I got a lot of compliments! I'm 140 lbs but really thin in the waist and above (thicker in the butt/thighs, but not heavy). I think that's why even a size down didn't seem snug enough, but it worked out great. Perfect for the colder weather.
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
February 10, 2016
What an amazing dress! I'm a 40DDD and this fit like a glove.
Didn't have to wear a bra with this one, and the cut was very slimming. Perfect for a winter Gala, as it was kind of heavy material. Wire in the bust got a little pokey by the end of the night, but overall very comfortable gown.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
February 10, 2016
Very emotional evening, glad I felt as good as I did in the dress!
I ordered the 12L and the 14L. The 12 fit perfectly but because I had the 14 and it looked good too with more wiggle room I went with that one. I LOVED it. Felt glamorous! I am 5'8 and the length of the Long was perfect. I wore 3" heels and it did hit the floor but as part of the long dress look I like to hold it up upon steps or outside. I did not drag, it was just perfect.
Size worn:
14WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Age: 50
February 9, 2016
Loved the dress!!! Flattering and stretches so you don't have to worry about it not fitting. :-)
Perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WL
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 8, 2016
Great customer service. This was my second dress and so glad I got it as the other dress was so bad!
Dress runs a little legs, but is very comfortable. I was worried about the sleeves but they are very flattering and don't fall down. The dress feels good on-slinky and soft.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
February 7, 2016
This was a New Years Eve Masquerade Ball. I did feel pretty although a little uncomfortable.
I have a D cup so even the size 12 was snug on the top. The rest of the dress was extremely comfortable. I only problem I found was with the boning on the top of the dress. I found the on both the left and right sides the plastic boning was bent and stuck into the side of by breast occasionally. I did feel very pretty in this dress and got a lot of compliments. I rented the necklace with it which just took the outfit to a higher level. I would recommend this dress for a C cup or smaller.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16WP
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
February 5, 2016
Everyone complimented the gown!
the fit was amazing and sat perfectly in all the right places. Loved the built in bra which made for dancing. Off the shoulder fit was perfect! Loved the gown.
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 5, 2016
This was my first time using Rent The Runway, and it was awesome! Will definitely use it again!
Loved the dress! The material was incredibly comfortable, and I was able to dance the night away with no issues! My chest is on the small side, so no bra was needed (huge plus!), because the dress had built in wire... I was a collegiate gymnast, so I'm 5'3, 120, and usually wear a 0 in everything... I have a small waist, but I also have a butt and muscular thighs, so I'm always leery to order anything online... Because of this, I read all of the reviews for girls around my size, and wanted to go with the 0, but it wasn't available. A lot of the reviews said that if you normally wear a 0, you might want to size up to a 2P. I ended up getting the 0P with the intentions of wearing the 2P, but I'm glad I did, because the 2P would have been WAY too big! The 0P was plentyyy long for my 5'3 frame... So much so that I could wear my 3" heels with it! If you're on the fence about this dress, get it! It's classy, comfy, and fits great! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
February 5, 2016
Loved this dress. I would definitely rent it again for a special occasion.
The fit was perfect. It hugs in all the right places and is very flattering. The dress screams sophistication but also has a hint of sexiness with it.
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 148lbs
February 3, 2016
Great Dress for a Classic Look
This dress looked amazing on! Definitely ran small in the bust. It was much tighter than I expected up top, but that actually worked to my advantage. I didn't have to wear a bra due to the boning in the top of the dress. That never happens with my bust size of 34DDD. I thought that the dress would be stretchy throughout, but the structure up top worked well. The bottom of the dress hugs in all the right places and the petite size was the perfect length with my 3 inch heels. Definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16WP
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 2, 2016
LOVED this for my Mardi Gras ball! I got SO many compliments!
My preferred size was unavailable, so they sent my backup and an alternate gown in my preferred size. I didn't get the email until the day it was supposed to ship. And due to the security concerns of my job, I don't have access to my phone to have any input on which alternate dress they shipped. I hated the backup gown. I didn't even try it on. Luckily, the dress I chose fit fairly well. It was a size too big and ran a little long, but with heels and luck, I made it work.
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
February 1, 2016
This wasn't the right dress for me
I loved the back of this dress - my butt looked amazing but the front of the dress didn't work for me. I need a v-front or sweetheart neckline. I sent it back.
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 31, 2016
Event for a worthy cause!
Perfect fit! Was so comfortable!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 20

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×