Belle of the Ball Gown

$80 rental
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Shown here with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff and WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Also available in navy and black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
648 reviews
Fit
Large68
True to Size433
Small86
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
November 22, 2015
The dress was extremely flattering, and I received a ton of compliments.
I had to size up 2 sizes for the dress to fit in the bust ( I am a 38 DD). It was a little loose in the body, but the fabric hid the loose fit- and probably made it more comfortable. The dress was extremely elegant and classic- aside from the size (which is just a number) I felt great in it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Weight: 145lbs
November 20, 2015
It fit but the zipper stuck out in the back and it didn't feel "special" enough.
Pretty and simple but just didn't have a wow factor. If you like understated then go for it. It was comfortable and did have some stretch. I sent it back without wearing it. But customer service was awesome and overnighted a wonderful dress.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 45
November 19, 2015
very happy with this choice, simple and elegant, got many compliments!
I thought I had ordered this dress in a 6R and an 8R. The 6 fit luckily because the 8 was more of tea-length style. I was shocked. Same dress, but the the 8 was just below my knees. I def needed it to be floor length bc this was a formal event. My dresses came with no return label which was a bit of a pain. I handled shipping on my own and RTR credited me the shipping value. This was my first rental so I panicked but it was all handled well. Phew!
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 23
November 19, 2015
Many compliments on this dress throughout the night. It was not my original pick, so glad I got it!
Fit like a glove, sized up from what I would usually wear. The fit is EXTREMELY flattering. Gives off a Hollywood glam vibe, especially with the right bling!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185lbs
November 18, 2015
I was stopped several times throughout the night, being told how beautiful I looked in this dress
The body of the dress was extremely forgiving and made your "rolls" disappear. The arms fit very tight and the length wasn't quite as long as I'd hoped, but I wore beautiful shoes. The front of the dress is just a tad shorter than the back. I felt so beautiful wearing it and would love to wear it again. Next time I would probably wear a 12L just to feel looser in the arms.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
November 17, 2015
The wedding was black tie and I felt so glamorous!
The fabric is thick and a bit stretchy, so it keeps a lot of "bits" in. I did not know that it had ruching throughout the midsection, but that ended up being a bonus as well. I'm 5'5" and the 4Regular was a perfect height with my 3 inch heels. If your heels were 4" you would probably be fine too, since it can be pulled down a bit. You definitely need someone to help you zip it up, since your arms are slightly restricted when you're wearing the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 39
November 17, 2015
LOVE the dress. Fit like a glove.
This is my first experience with RTR. Loved it!! Renting was seamless. I am so glad I decided to give it a try. The second dress size option was not available so I ended up renting two just in case I didn't like one. I wish I would've taken a picture. This dress is very flattering however hides nothing if you are self conscious about your shape. Usually in a fitted dress I wear a 6 (I don't like the the super tight look) but this particular dress was absolutely perfect in a 4. Its elegant and just the right length. I wore 3 inch heels and it dragged a bit. 4inches would've been perfect (for the dress not for my feet. :)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 45
November 16, 2015
This dress fit like a glove and it was so comfortable, so many compliments.
Fit like a glove true to size
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
November 16, 2015
Simple but still elegant
This dress is great. Its very comfortable minus the spanx you have to wear if you want to smooth out any lumps or bumps. I'm 5'8 and I wore 4in heels and this dress hit the ground perfectly, even someone a little taller could probably wear heels with the long and it will still be long enough for them. I have pretty wide shoulders and larger arms, so I was a little worried that the dress wouldn't fit me up top, but with the stretchy fabric it turned out just fine.
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
November 16, 2015
Perfect for the Marine Corp Ball!
I ordered a 4r and a 6r. The 4r was too small, but the 6r fit just right. I was worried about getting a dress the day before my big event, but it worked out great! I would definitely use RTR again :) Also, the return process was easy and convenient!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 16, 2015
Gorgeous and easy to wear
I ordered the 8P and it was perfect. My toes just peeked out from under the skirt. My only complaint was that my heels kept getting caught in the train of the dress. Other than that, it was very forgiving in fit since the material had a good amount of stretch and the ruching hid all sorts of things. Very elegant and comfortable.
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 41
November 14, 2015
I received many compliments. Awesome dress.
Awesome dress. Fit true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
November 10, 2015
So many compliments all night. I felt so glamorous
The small train was perfect. The fit was amazing. It hugged me in and hid my flaws. Loved this dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
November 9, 2015
The dress was classy and noticeable without being too over the top.
Dress length (regular) was perfect for me with 3 inch heels, which is a plus for those of you on the shorter side like me. Wore just a standard strapless bra and I was fine all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
November 6, 2015
Nice dress, but not super memorable
This dress was beautifully made, and was true to size. It did stretch a bit and relaxed as I was wearing it, so I felt I had to adjust a lot more as the night went on. Maybe some fashion tape would have made it more secure. I'm 5'3" and wore 3 or 4" heals and the regular length was perfect--just brushing the ground, but not tripping me up all night.
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
November 6, 2015
I loved this dress! Wore it to a military ball and was perfect for the event.
Accentuates curves and is very flattering.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 55
November 3, 2015
Loved this dress
I ordered the 0R and the 2R. This was my first time with Rent The Runway, I have always bought my gowns. We go to a lot of formal events and I really wanted something with a sleeve that didn't look matronly or the other extreme which was popular last year, long sleeve a two piece with a midriff showing. Not a good look at 55. I went with the 0, it fit better and the length was good for heels. I wore a 4 1/2" heel and it was perfect. There is a small train. I loved how comfortable it was. It was very flattering, understated and elegant. I love off the shoulder look. I liked that it didn't show too much cleavage. It felt a little snug in the bust but it didn't appear that way. Having the 3/4 length sleeve was awesome in November. If I could purchase this dress, I would.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
October 30, 2015
It was a beautiful outfit.
It looked wonderful. It has some give, I was able to get my postpartum body into it. Tight in the chest.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
October 28, 2015
I got so many compliments on this dress.
The dress fit perfectly, the 4 was a little tight in the chest but the 6 fit like a glove.
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 46
October 15, 2015
We rented the dress for my daughter's senior Prom & she was the most stunning girl there!
The dress fit true to size, it was comfortable & she felt confident in it.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 48
October 13, 2015
Celebrating with my daughters/family/friends and my significant other for the first time.
The dress was perfect! Just like I imagined it to be. The reviews were all on point. I ordered a size bigger because I read that it ran small; so glad i did! No bra necessary, so comfortable and flattering. It gave the classic look I was hoping for. I would highly recommend RTR for your occasion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
October 9, 2015
Amazing fit! Very deceiving as it looks somewhat plain but is a show stopper on! Tons of compliments
Fits like a glove! Accentuated all the right areas. I felt so elegant and received a ton of compliments all evening long. Wish I could have kept it!! But tons of ladies will be on RTR now because they loved the simplicity and elegance of the dress and the concept behind RTR as well as the affordability!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 23
October 9, 2015
THIS DRESS
Wore this to my law school's barrister's ball. I couldn't have picked a better dress! Though a little tight around the bust, I absolutely loved it. This dress hugs your curves but I was comfortable the whole night. I would definitely recommend this dress for any formal event!
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
October 8, 2015
This dress was exactly what I was looking for! Understated, yet eye catching at the same time.
I rented this dress for a fundraising gala for a non -profit organization I started. I got a ton of compliments and was able to dress it up with oversized earrings. This dress fit true to size and was comfortable all night long. I am on the shorter side (5' 1") and this dress was a bit long (even with heels). Overall, I was very pleased with this rental and am already looking forward to my next RTR experience!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
October 7, 2015
Classic glamour
Wore the backup size- my bust made it difficult to zip the smaller one because it is very structured. I was able to zip it myself into it but it took some maneuvering. Would have been the perfect length for heels, but I had to wear flats due to the state of my feet after a long week of walking. Had to pick up my train but that wasn't a big deal. I got complements all night long and it was effortless to wear. There wasn't another gown like it at the event and I felt very confident, even without shape wear.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 72
October 5, 2015
L.A. Philharmonic gala with Gustav Dudamel conducting
Beautiful dress. The 6 fit except for my ample bust so I wore the 8. Everyone kept saying 'wow'
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 4, 2015
Always fast and incredible service with RTR!
The fit was a little bit snug in the chest area. I tried it with and without a strapless bra. Boning in the top of the dress makes it possible to not wear a bar. Material is very stretchy and comfortable. Easy to dance and move around in. I am 5'4 and I order a regular length and without shoes the front of the dress hit right at the top of my feet. The back was long enough so that with a 3 inch heel it did not touch the ground. Overall would highly recommend this dress for any formal occasion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 56
September 28, 2015
I absolutely LOVED this dress.
It fit beautifully. It had a small train in the back. The material had just enough stretch to it. It hugs in all the right places. I thought it was sexy but not too much, very classy. loved that it was off the shoulder. I have another event in February which is also black tie and I will ABSOLUTELY be ordering from Rent the Runway again. I probably could have worn the 6 because there was enough stretch in it to fit but I didn't want to take a chance so I ordered the 8 & 10.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 54
September 27, 2015
All the compliments I received.
Was a great experience all around. Love, love, love the dress & received loads of compliments. Would have liked if I had some double sided tape for sleeves to keep them in place, they were a little droopy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 24, 2015
Great black dress!
Wore this dress to a formal wedding. The dress fits true to size - I wore the 10 at 4 months pregnant. The dress really hugs your curves but is very comfortable. There's ruching in the body and the back is a bit longer than the front and comes to a point which looks very elegant. Got lots of compliments, I would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 22, 2015
Fits great but very long!
I wore the 4R with 4 inch heels and it was still a bit long for me. I had trouble walking without snagging it on my shoes or having others step onto the dress. I also felt like the sleeves were a bit long on my frame and ended up tucking the under a bit to make the ensemble look me proportioned. Fit was amazing though. Fabric is heavy so be prepared to be warm in this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
September 21, 2015
Everything worked and coordinated well.
Great fit. The quality of the material was good. The dress had structure to it. You can't go wrong.
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 20, 2015
Perfect fit and worry free
I rented this for a military ball and I was nervous since it's hard to find anything that fits the way I like. It fit perfectly and I didn't have to worry about the top falling down or the arms riding up, it all stayed in place. I wore the backup size 10R because I was more comfortable. The 8 fit fine but was a little tighter across the chest. Perfect dress for any formal affair and I will definitely be renting from RTR again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 44
September 20, 2015
I wore this dress to a military ball. It was a perfect choice. I received many complements!
When I ordered, I based my first size on my waist size and went with the 6L. However, I have broad shoulders and always have to go up one size to accommodate my upper body size. Therefore, I picked the 8L as my back up. Upon trying everything on, the 6L fit perfectly in the waist but I could not zip all the way up due to my upper body size and ended up with the 8L as I figured I would. Based upon this, the dress is rather true to size in my opinion. Just be sure to select the size based upon your largest measurement or it won't work.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
September 12, 2015
What a great dress!
Trying to find a dress 36 weeks pregnant that I liked was a challenge. I felt great and comfy in this dress. Thank you again Rent the Runway!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 10, 2015
Be prepared for tons of compliments.
The waist fit a little loose but with the ruching, it was not noticeable (and very comfortable).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 43
September 8, 2015
The dress was perfect! i am 5'4 with tummy issues and this dress hid all those flaws My man loved it
I ordered the 12L and the length was perfect! No issues with it whatsoever. Just make sure you hold the bottom of the dress when you dance so that you don't trip!
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
September 1, 2015
Very beautiful and elegant dress to wear to a masquerade event.
This dress was amazingly ELEGANT!. Very form fitting and comfortable to wear. The length was perfect.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
August 20, 2015
Beautiful dress for a beautiful wedding.
The dress was amazing! Its super hard to find a long dress when your tall and this dress was just perfect! It felt like the dress was made for me. Loved Loved Loved! Thank you RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 11, 2015
The perfect black gown - comfortable and glamorous
This dress is a hit if you want to go "low key" and beautiful in black. The fit is to die for yet comfortable and flattering.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 17

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×