Ali Ro

Cate Dress

$82 rental
$328 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This dress by Ali Ro is the perfect blend of sweet and sassy. Bold hues in a fluttery shape are just what you need for the party! Simply add kate spade new york accessories’ Coral Statement Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red and purple printed chiffon (100% silk). Flutter sleeves. Boat neckline. Scoop back. Elastic waist with removable belt. Full skirt. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

48 reviews

Fit
Small 0
True to Size 40
Large 8
Photos 22
BH
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
May 19, 2013

Fun, easy to wear dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is so easy and light to wear. With the elastic waist and flutter sleeves it is comfortable and flattering. The colors are just how they look in the picture. The one minor problem I had is that sometimes the scoop back showed the top of band of my bra, but not a big deal. Might have just worn a stick on bra if I had thought to pack it so I didn't have to worry about that.. The dress has snaps to secure your bra strap at the shoulders so you don't have to worry about the shoulder straps showing. I was sad to send this dress back!
cat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 26, 2013

The dress was classy, fun, yet flirty! Loved it

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my senior baccalaureate ceremony and I have to say I love everything about it! The colors on the dress were so bright and vivid. For my height, the dress was the perfect length. The scoop in the back helped make this classy dress a little fun and flirty. The material is not of the highest quality in the world, seeing as how the dress is made in China, but it was truly not a problem. I recommend this dress
Vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
May 28, 2013

Another Great RTR Experience!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very comfortable dress, I wore the size 8 and it fit perfect. I was a little worried the dress would be short but at 5'4" it was just right (mid thigh). This is my 2nd time renting a dress and I will continue to keep coming back for all my special events. This was a great rental for a wedding. Many compliments, perfect pop of color! LOVED IT!! You should give this one a try :-)
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
May 29, 2013

Beautiful summer dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for the daytime portion of the wedding I attended. Very vibrant! The dress was light and fresh. The size was a tad bit to big around the bust area and sits low in the back. I didn't expect the back to be so exposed so I didn't prepare with the correct bra. Thank God I had a nude color bra on but that only went so far. I suggest wearing a backless bra. Overall, it was a great dress for the daytime. Got many compliments on the color and style.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
May 31, 2013

Flattering, easy-to-wear dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is really flattering and fun. I love the slightly low cut back - sexy without having to buy a special bra. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because it didn't come with the belt shown in the picture, so I just used my own. Overall it's a winner.
Jaime
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 24, 2013

great, fun dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
wore this for a wedding. it was flowy and really comfortable. fit true to size at size 8.
Robin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Jun 26, 2013

I loved wearing this dress. I got a lot of compliments and felt so skinny!!! Awesome experience!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was so comfortable and the fit was perfect. It was easy to find shoes to match, the belt was super cute and added a little something extra to it, and I found it didn't need too many extra accessories, because it was perfect as is. When I received it, it needed a light iron taken to it to get rid of some wrinkles, but overall it didn't wrinkle easily while at the wedding. It was the perfect dress for an outdoor vintage wedding. I would recommend ordering your size plus one size smaller as your extra dress, because I ended up wearing the smaller size and was happy to have it. And did I mention how comfortable it was?
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 16, 2013

Not having to worry about shipping!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I like it both with and without the sash!
Dylan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 24, 2013

Lovely summer dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my high school graduation and was very happy with it. The fact that it was pretty flowy made it very comfortable and flattering. The back scooped a little lower than I expected, but I ended up liking that. The reason I gave it a 4 is because it was a bit large around the waist. The belt definitely helped, but the fact that the waist was a bit large made the fabric bunch together beneath the belt. Not a huge issue at all though..it's a fixable issue. I would definitely recommend this dress.
Julie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 11, 2013

I loved the color and fit - but I actually wore it backwards!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Got a lot of compliments, it was hot and muggy and the dress was just right - the invite said "formal" but I didn't want to wear long, or black. This was a great summer event dress.
stephanie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 30, 2013

Great dress for a great event

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Runs pretty true to fit. I have a larger bust so the 4 would have fit but was tight around the bust.
Sherri Aynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Sep 16, 2013

this dress is just lovely!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
wore to an outdoor rehearsal dinner
Mellie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Sep 16, 2013

The bride at the wedding complimented my dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit really well, and the especially nice thing was that it wasn't too tight. The dress made it really easy to dance and have fun with friends without worrying about pulling at it/fixing it throughout the entire night!
Carrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 18, 2013

Wore it to my sister's rehearsal dinner and received so many compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I should have worn the 4 which fit perfectly. I chose the 6 because it was a little longer but my bra strap kept showing in the back and on one shoulder because it was too big. There are snaps for bra straps but one was missing. Definitely order your size and backup one size up! Paired it with silver strappy heels and voila, perfect outfit. Elastic waist makes wearing the dress soooo easy and belt/sash finishes the look! Thank you again RTR!
Rebecca
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 13, 2013

Great dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fundraiser gala with a Hawian theme, need I say more. Great dress! Very comfortable, not clingy.
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 18, 2013

Perfect for a summer party; many compliments all night!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my 30th birthday party in June. RTR is great for bold, special occasion dresses like these because while it was *perfect* for my event and I felt special and lovely in it-- this isn't the kind of dress I could wear multiple times per year since it is so memorable! I wore the 8, but the style is very forgiving-- I could have probably gone up or down a size with little change to the overall look. I was worried that the hemline would look too short with my extremely long legs, but I think it was just right for a party (maybe not for a wedding). Very flattering on! I wore with nude shoes and no jewelry. Just let the colors and bold flower shine!
Carey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132 lbs
Oct 21, 2013

Wonderful dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I had so many compliments in this dress. It was fun and flattering! Enjoy!
Elaine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 22, 2013

I loved this dress! The color got lots of attention in photos and at the rehearsal dinner!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very flattering especially for your back! The length is great too!. IT is a little high cut at the neckline in the front which is why I gave it a 4 instead of a 5 star
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 4, 2013

Great color!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit like a dream and I loved how the dress flowed. It was perfect for a work function by gather attention for the color but not the wrong type of attention
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 18, 2013

Love the color of this dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for a fun Summer wedding. I loved the backless detail on it and the color. I got lots of complements and it was great to dance the night away in!
Mirjam
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 8, 2014

Wore this to a city hall wedding. Perfection!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Can be worn with a regular bra but may show at times, since the dress does run large. I would say size down! Otherwise, it looked and felt great.
Suzanne
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Feb 6, 2014

I wore this for my rehearsal dinner.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fits true to size, comfortable, flowy and light (great for NYC summer). The flows also cover any flaws :)
Suzy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 12, 2014

loved it, and so did everyone else!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for my opening night party for my club. It was fun and flirty without being too sexy But it was attention getting and many people commented on how lovely the dress was and how unique, as well.
tricia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

Great dress super comfortable with no issues to worry about. Colorful but not crazy

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got 6 and 8. Neither were at all tight. Waist on 6 higher and a bit better so wore that.
Mel
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132 lbs
Mar 19, 2014

Perfect for any occasion! And SUPER comfortable!! I'm saving up to own this dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for an early evening rehearsal dinner in Texas. The moment I put this dress on I fell in love! It's light and airy, super comfortable, and flattering. The fabric is high quality and flows nicely. It was an all you can eat Tex-Mex and BBQ dinner, so needless to say I ate a lot, and I was still super comfortable in this dress and stayed flattering! (The picture is post-dinner!) I paired it with simple earrings and nude heels. The back gives it a little something fun also. Everyone complemented me on how much they loved my dress. I'm currently saving up to buy this dress… that's how much I love it! It's worth every penny. I would have to say it's true to size and the belt helps it fit any body shape. Thanks RTR for another amazing experience!
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 23, 2014

Gorgeous & flattering fit

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a fashion week event and loved it! It's a fabulous, bright color, love the accent floral, and was a flattering fit. The back is a little bit lower than I usually wear because I have to wear a bra with a back closure so it didn't always stay hidden, but I stopped caring if it showed. For those who don't mind low-back or sticky bras, it's adorable! #floral #bright #femenine
Heidi
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 3, 2014

Love the color!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful color. Ties at your actual waist, I usually prefer it to be either a little higher or lower. Received many compliments though. Comfortable dress to wear all night and chase a two-year old in!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Apr 14, 2014

Adorable dress, so many compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a day full of events: two bridal showers (one for myself, actually), a fundraiser, dinner and bachelorette party. I felt great all day- and received tons of compliments! I absolutely loved the color. This dress is very comfortable and "flirty". I would recommend to anyone. It's a little short if you have long legs, but otherwise the belt works to for your size just right. I am normally an 8 but went with the 6 because the top is pretty loose.
PoisonPenAnnie
Age: 39
Apr 21, 2014

This dress made my party great because this dress stands out.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I selected a larger size to accommodate the Winter gifts my midsection collected over the past few months. However, I didn't need it. The cut of the dress gives you extra room to sit and dance in. I received so many compliments and was happy with the vibrant colors. It's definitely worth checking out.
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 25, 2014

Great dress for any occasion!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Easy to wear, comfortable and the color is striking. I would love to have this dress in my closet!
nicole
Top Contributor
Age: 30
Apr 27, 2014

Loved this dress.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pretty dress!
Mave
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 30, 2014

Super Comfy and Cute

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress, the back was cute. Very comfy.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
May 4, 2014

Great color

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
True to size. Very comfortable. Great color. Wore this for a 40th birthday party and got lots of compliments. Definitely good with a strapless bra. Easy to wear. Highly recommend. Flattering for many body types.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 5, 2014

Perfect for Spring

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to my fiance's law school graduation. It is conservative enough for a family affair but the bright color and lower cut back make it fun! I got soooo many compliments! The only downside is that it did not come with the sash. I'm very disappointed that RTR didn't check to make sure all accessories were included before sending it out.
Cambrey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
May 13, 2014

Wish I had a picture!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was ADORABLE! So many compliments! I would love to own this dress. It was perfect for Mother's Day brunch and get togethers.
Lola
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
May 16, 2014

LOVE IT!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The color is FABULOUS! The fit around the arms is so flattering; the way it lays is incredibly flattering. I LOVE this dress! I'd buy it in a heartbeat if I could...(it did show up without the belt but I don't think I'd have used it anyway. I added a cute brown leather belt)
Raquel
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
May 19, 2014

Dress was a huge success. Looked great on.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
True to size. Flattering color
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 19, 2014

SO many compliments on this dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore it to a friend's baby shower and it was the perfect tone. I paired it with a white jean jacket since it was April and it went together well. Almost everyone at the shower asked me about the dress. It's a fun pop of color that I don't normally have in my wardrobe. I didn't wear or need a belt like some of the other reviews mentioned but if there was one drawback, the elastic at the waist was kind of itchy.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195 lbs
Jul 11, 2014

Nice summer Bridal Shower Dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my best friend's bridal shower. It ran a little big, which was good because I run more like a 12/14. It was missing the matching belt, so the dress didn't quite look right, and unfortunately it was too late to get another dress sent out. It did a run a little short, but I received a ton of compliments!
Erika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

Fabulous color!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got this for my bridal shower and unfortunately the size I wanted was destroyed by the previous Renter (c'mon ladies, be nice to the dresses!!) so it didn't come in my size. This one was a little too big so I didn't end up wearing it but it is truly a beautiful dress. The colors are absolutely fantastic. The belt helps cinch the waist so it can subtly show off your figure. I think sizing down is a good idea. Perfect for a shower, outdoor wedding, picnic, night on the town. Nude heels are perfect with this to show off the legs.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×