Z Spoke Zac Posen

Houndstooth Halter Dress

$50 rental
$350 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rock this daring little dress by Z Spoke Zac Posen to that special anniversary party, work event, or dinner gathering. It is a piece you can wear year round by adding tights or blazer. Add a statement necklace like the RJ Graziano's Pirate Treasure Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - halter allows bust to be adjustable - smaller busts with Straight & Narrow body types should consider sizing down
WAIST: Fitted - fitted thorughout bodice and most narrow at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted in hips and backside but stretchy material allows room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Product Details

Dark blue stretch houndstooth(64% Acetate, 33% Nylon, 3% Spandex). Halter sweetheart neckline. Fitted bodice and skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
62 reviews
Fit
Large
(10)
True to Size
(44)
Small
(8)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
February 28, 2012
The best part about wearing this dress to my boyfriend's work event was the fact that I knew I was the best dressed person in the room, and that everyone else knew it too! It also felt great to have that confidence when meeting so many new and important people.
I am 5'4 118, 34c 24 32, usually wear a size 1-2 in jeans, or 26/27. I have a very small waist and torso so the torso part of this dress was a little large. I feel i could have gotten away with wearing a zero if my chest/hips/butt were a little smaller. I wore this dress to my boyfriend's manager dinner party for his work, I looked really classy but still looked sexy and elegant. Everybody loved it! I totally recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
July 29, 2012
Love.
I normally wear a 4-6, but I fit perfectly into this size 2. I felt sexy and classy while celebrating one month of marriage with my husband.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
October 11, 2012
It was the most simple stress-free process and the results made me feel gorgeous on my anniversary!
I ordered the 8 and the 10, thinking the 8 would fit. I usually wear about a 4, but I know because o my height and bust it's often hard to fit so I figured a 6 or 8 would work. (The six wasn't available!) I'm a busty, taller girl so I wanted to make sure it would be long enough and large enough in the right areas. Well, I wish I could have gone smaller. The dress was wonderful, except in the stomach area. The lower belly area was very saggy, as if I should have had a little more meat to me to fill it out. The saggyness gave the appearance of a beer belly, despite the fact that I don't have one! I had to fiddle with it a lot, to adjust it on my hips to try and make it less bulky. The fit elsewhere was perfect and it made my bum look great! (No spanks needed! Awesome!) I was impressed with the length, it came to about three inches above my knee and I expected it to be much shorter. Great for ladies of height! The material is thicker, which is nice for the cool crisp Pittsburgh air I experienced. I paired it with a Maroon scarf that has pops of color, to stay warm when outside. It complimented the deep navy of the dress very nicely. Tan pumps on my feet, made the dress stand out more. I went with more simple jewelry, though I tried on a silver statement neckless I own that looked AMAZING with it. It just made it a little more fancy than I wanted for the evening. I still recommend trying that if you have the right style statement piece. My simple drop neckless was perfect and dainty with the dress, too. I will definitely rent again, but probably a different dress or a smaller size of this one - hopefully the "belly" space won't be there on a smaller size.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
October 19, 2012
It fit like a glove and was comfortable!
The fabric covering the stomach is quite unforgiving, so beware - this issue can be addressed w/ Spanx. Awesome, loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
February 18, 2013
This dress is such a cool style, sleek and sexy!
This dress fit me very well except in the bust. It seemed like it had been stretched out by a previous renter who was a double D bust- and I am only a 34 C on a good day. The material was very smooth and sleek and I loved the halter style. I actually ended up stuffing my bra to make it work because I loved the rest of the dress so much. Also the navy color was unusual and cool-most dresses like this are boring black.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
April 4, 2013
Gorgeous dress for a party
The cut of this dress was not for me. It was very large in the chest and small through the hips. It is a beautiful dress, but it did not work for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
June 9, 2013
Great dress, but the sizing was off.
I rented this dress for my husband's birthday party after renting another Z Spoke dress the previous weekend that knocked his socks off. This was not quite the case with this dress. I sized up as I had for the other dress, but this one ran really large up top. I was glad for the roomier fit around my hips because the fabric shows everything, but you really want a halter to be snug on top. I easily had an extra two inches of fabric around the bust. I decided to wear it anyway since my backup size was unavailable. Even though the fit felt off, I still got lots of compliments! One thing that surprised me--the color was really more of a navy than a black. Also, if anyone out there is wondering why this dress is called "houndstooth" I am still wondering myself. The texture of this dress is as it's shown--very shiny!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
July 8, 2013
The dress was the look I was going for. My boyfriend really liked it!
I liked the feel of the dress, but it was a tad too big for me. Obviously, I couldn't order a size smaller. It was a very comfortable dress, and I could have worn it for hours.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
January 2, 2012
Simple and cute
I ordered this as my NYE back-up dress, but didn't end up wearing it since my first choice was perfect. I loved the cut of this dress and the (almost) hour-glass silhouette it gave my narrow frame. Not sure if it was just my dress, but my normal size seemed a bit stretched out. I don't know if it's the cut or a result of other rentals, but it probably still would have worked. I'd rent it again for another event or party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 3, 2013
wayy too big, gorgeous dress. I only wish the zero had been available
too big, great color
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 10, 2011
I rented this dress as a backup for my bridal shower. It is very beautiful - like a thick navy satin. I usually wear a size 4 or 6 in dresses (Banana republic, for example), so I ordered the 6 in this one. I should have ordered the 8 for the "look" I was going for. The 6 fit but was a bit clubby - I would have preferred it fit more like the model. In any case, lesson learned! Size up to take advantage of this very cool dress :-)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 17, 2011
I rented this for a wedding and the dress was much shorter and more fitted than it appears in the photo. While my boyfriend loved it, I felt that it was much to tight and short to wear to a formal event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 13, 2011
Cute, but didn't work for me
Super cute dress, but I couldn't get it zipped over my 36C bust. I'm a petite, hourglass woman and normally wear size 8. A size 10 may fit better on top, but it may be too loose on the bottom.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 2, 2012
It's o.k.
I am not in love with the dress. While it looked pretty-I knew it did not fit well. I am an 8 and that is what I wore. However, the upper portion of the dress was too small for 34 DD.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
September 18, 2012
Fits awesome! and love the bodice detailing
Halter and fitted torso looked great
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 25, 2014
Great dress!
Runs small
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 6, 2013
too tight and was flattering
I sent this dress back without wearing it as it wasn't flattering on me at all.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
February 20, 2014
Great look! I got tons of compliments!
Material has a nice sheen to it and I loved how structured the dress fit. Perfect length.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 8, 2011
Rented this dress for an uptown wedding. It's gorgeous! Very form fitting though - I ordered the 4 and the 6. The 4 fit but it was very tight and felt too clubish for a church wedding so i went with the 6. I used the tape to keep the back up and it worked great. Definitely need to bust out the spanx for this one, but overall it was a success!!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
September 20, 2011
This dress was awesome - I rented a 2 and 4, and went with the 4 (a little big, but not by much). I got components all night and it was really comfortable; definitely a great LBD.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 26, 2011
Customer service is awesome, super friendly and helpful. The dress came with a garment bag to keep. Everything was shipped and packaged very nicely with fashion tape and a couple little samples and a second dress! Very easy to ship back.
Great dress, wore it to a wedding. The top isn't for the larger chested girls, Spanx are a must. I'm slightly curvy on the bottom, and it fit just fine in my usual size 4. The fabric has some stretch to it. Over all I was very happy with it. Wore with the Cara Bling it on necklace and they looked awesome together. I wore a small black sweater for the ceremony and took it off for the reception.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
September 28, 2011
Beautiful dress! I was hoping it would be a little bit longer but it fit like the image. I'm 5'3" and 99 lbs and the zero was a perfect fit. I ended up wearing opera length pearls wrapped three times and an antique sterling silver mesh wristlete. I got tons of compliments and was very comfortable. Loved this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 124lbs
September 29, 2011
Stunner
This dress was adorable. The fit was great, and the fabric had a stretch that made dancing and moving around easy. I wore it for an evening wedding and it was perfect. I would rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 30, 2011
dress was cute but in my opnion fabric looked slightly cheap and was not very flattering. Also ran large in the bust. It would be cute for date or party but a little to tight and short for a wedding.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
October 17, 2011
I rented this as a backup just to see how it would fit. It was the correct size, but it was super unflattering on my size 12 pear shaped figure. The top was gorgeous, but the bottom was unlined, so even with some brands of shape wear my belly button showed. Overall, I would recommend it for someone with a smaller bottom half.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 20, 2011
Perfect Fit. Perfect Style
I rented this dress for a New Jersey wedding and it was perfect in every way! I usually run between a 4 and a 6 and I went with the size 6 because the dress is a little form fitting (others agree in reviews below). I have not worn a halter dress in quite some time but I LOVED it! The small details of the houndstooth pattern really make the dress special.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 24, 2011
The fabric of this dress is amazing! I was confused by Houndstooth in the title, but the fabric does have a small, barely visible houndstooth pattern to give it some texture. The fit was great, although I would suggest wearing spanx underneath for a good, smooth fit. I did have a small issue with the chest area becoming uncentered as I wore it. I was constantly pulling it back over to the middle. All in all, great dress!
jessicaFebruary 6, 2012
Did the chest area seem too big for you and like it would fit better for larger chest?
RTRFebruary 10, 2012
Hi Jessica! We are finding that this dress does run very true to size throughout!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 7, 2011
I can't even tell you how much I love this dress!!! It is one of the most flattering dresses I have ever worn. It hugs in all the right places but still has a little stretch so it moves with you. I ordered the 0 and 2 and wore the 2 and LOVED IT!! Wore it to a wedding in New Orleans and had people stopping me on the street to tell me how great my dress looked. I will rent this dress again for sure. Can't recommend it enough!!!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 20, 2011
Beautiful dress
I wore this dress to an evening at the Met Opera. It is very classy but sexy at the same time. I have a rather petite frame and it fit me perfectly. My boy friend loved it! I would recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 14, 2011
Love it- renting again for NYE
This dress is simple and beautiful. It fits true to size, I am very consistently a six and the six fit perfectly. It is a thin fabric that is not especially forgiving. I'd recommend it especially for hourglass-shaped ladies.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 22, 2011
This dress was so comfortable and fit me perfectly and I loved the dark color that allowed me to wear bright accessories! Got lots of compliments!
Loved this dark blue (almost black) dress! I ended up wearing contrasting bright purple shoes and purse to compliment the solid color of the dress. I was wearing it out to a party/club atmosphere so I decided to wear the smaller of the two sizes I ordered. It was very form fitting but the material is EXTREMELY comfortable and flexible. Would be great to wear to nearly every occasion!
AlexaAugust 3, 2012
This dress absolutely did fit you perfectly!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
January 3, 2012
Love this dress
I am normally a size 2, sometimes a size 4 if the designer runs small. I wore the size 2. It was a very flattering dress and I got a lot of compliments. I loved it!
NinaApril 11, 2012
Hey! You are about the same height as me! How was the length for you?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 31, 2012
Amazing Dress!
I rented this dress for a cocktail party and absolutely loved it! The material is beautiful and the fit was perfect! This dress is super flattering and hugs all the right places. It is a bit darker than in the picture - it's a very dark blue (almost black). Overall an awesome dress!
jessicaFebruary 6, 2012
How was the length for you?
RTRFebruary 10, 2012
Hi Jessica! This dress will come just above the knee if you are about 5'4"
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 24, 2012
I am committed to RTR for life, I seriously cannot stop talking about it. My friends and sisters already have dresses lined up to choose for an occassion once it arrises after they saw how easy it was for me. It honestly felt like Christmas, it was so exciting! I already have another dress picked out for a wedding this summer!
I wanted to keep it forever! Fits like a glove and I felt amazing in it. Bust size is key, if you have small boobs but wear a size 0 then the bust will have some gaps. Overall I rate it very high.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
June 9, 2012
Bombshell party dress
Loved this! Very comfortable, I wasn't wiggling and adjusting it all night. I am very curvy, and this was a rare find that fit my waist without being too snug in the hips, and fit the hips without being huge in the waist. And my boobs looked awesome (I went braless, the halter had plenty of support). Lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
June 12, 2012
The mystery bling was the most exciting part of the experience. The stylist picked out the perfect pair of earings!
I rented this for a bachelorette party. The material is very soft and kind of reminiscent of a bathing suit. The fit was just right. The only problem I had with the dress was that there were what looked like white paint spatters on the back :-/
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 21, 2012
Cute, but not perfect
The color is great, and the fabric is very different--it a good way. It's stretchy and has a nice sheen to it. I would have loved it, but the sweetheart neckline was a bit funny. The fabric seemed to be uneven, and I had to keep adjusting myself all night. Overall, it was a fun dress for a Vegas bachelorette!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
August 9, 2012
LBD
This dress was quite big in the bust for me. Although its the perfect little black dress, i was surprised that the fabric had no stretch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 27, 2012
Yikes!
This did not look good on my body type, especially my chest. This might be better for women with a smaller chest. I'm 38C.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 28, 2012
Cute but simple
Cute and flattering dress, great material. Doesn't have a "wow" factor in pictures but looks very nice in person.
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×