Rent the Runway

Z Spoke Zac Posen

Houndstooth Halter Dress

$50 rental
$350 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rock this daring little dress by Z Spoke Zac Posen to that special anniversary party, work event, or dinner gathering. It is a piece you can wear year round by adding tights or blazer. Add a statement necklace like the RJ Graziano's Pirate Treasure Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - halter allows bust to be adjustable - smaller busts with Straight & Narrow body types should consider sizing down
WAIST: Fitted - fitted thorughout bodice and most narrow at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted in hips and backside but stretchy material allows room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - halter allows bust to be adjustable - smaller busts with Straight & Narrow body types should consider sizing down
WAIST: Fitted - fitted thorughout bodice and most narrow at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted in hips and backside but stretchy material allows room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Dark blue stretch houndstooth(64% Acetate, 33% Nylon, 3% Spandex). Halter sweetheart neckline. Fitted bodice and skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

62 reviews

Fit
Small 8
True to Size 44
Large 10
Photos 16
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 8, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented this dress for an uptown wedding. It's gorgeous! Very form fitting though - I ordered the 4 and the 6. The 4 fit but it was very tight and felt too clubish for a church wedding so i went with the 6. I used the tape to keep the back up and it worked great. Definitely need to bust out the spanx for this one, but overall it was a success!!
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Sep 20, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was awesome - I rented a 2 and 4, and went with the 4 (a little big, but not by much). I got components all night and it was really comfortable; definitely a great LBD.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Beautiful dress! I was hoping it would be a little bit longer but it fit like the image. I'm 5'3" and 99 lbs and the zero was a perfect fit. I ended up wearing opera length pearls wrapped three times and an antique sterling silver mesh wristlete. I got tons of compliments and was very comfortable. Loved this dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124 lbs
Sep 29, 2011

Stunner

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was adorable. The fit was great, and the fabric had a stretch that made dancing and moving around easy. I wore it for an evening wedding and it was perfect. I would rent this dress again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 30, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
dress was cute but in my opnion fabric looked slightly cheap and was not very flattering. Also ran large in the bust. It would be cute for date or party but a little to tight and short for a wedding.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Oct 6, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Great dress! Looks just as pictured, it is narrow through the hips and pretty fitted at the waist band. True to size, size up as a backup
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 10, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I rented this dress as a backup for my bridal shower. It is very beautiful - like a thick navy satin. I usually wear a size 4 or 6 in dresses (Banana republic, for example), so I ordered the 6 in this one. I should have ordered the 8 for the "look" I was going for. The 6 fit but was a bit clubby - I would have preferred it fit more like the model. In any case, lesson learned! Size up to take advantage of this very cool dress :-)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Oct 17, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this as a backup just to see how it would fit. It was the correct size, but it was super unflattering on my size 12 pear shaped figure. The top was gorgeous, but the bottom was unlined, so even with some brands of shape wear my belly button showed. Overall, I would recommend it for someone with a smaller bottom half.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 17, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I rented this for a wedding and the dress was much shorter and more fitted than it appears in the photo. While my boyfriend loved it, I felt that it was much to tight and short to wear to a formal event.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 20, 2011

Perfect Fit. Perfect Style

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a New Jersey wedding and it was perfect in every way! I usually run between a 4 and a 6 and I went with the size 6 because the dress is a little form fitting (others agree in reviews below). I have not worn a halter dress in quite some time but I LOVED it! The small details of the houndstooth pattern really make the dress special.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 24, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
The fabric of this dress is amazing! I was confused by Houndstooth in the title, but the fabric does have a small, barely visible houndstooth pattern to give it some texture. The fit was great, although I would suggest wearing spanx underneath for a good, smooth fit. I did have a small issue with the chest area becoming uncentered as I wore it. I was constantly pulling it back over to the middle. All in all, great dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 7, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I can't even tell you how much I love this dress!!! It is one of the most flattering dresses I have ever worn. It hugs in all the right places but still has a little stretch so it moves with you. I ordered the 0 and 2 and wore the 2 and LOVED IT!! Wore it to a wedding in New Orleans and had people stopping me on the street to tell me how great my dress looked. I will rent this dress again for sure. Can't recommend it enough!!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Nov 20, 2011

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to an evening at the Met Opera. It is very classy but sexy at the same time. I have a rather petite frame and it fit me perfectly. My boy friend loved it! I would recommend.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 13, 2011

Cute, but didn't work for me

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Super cute dress, but I couldn't get it zipped over my 36C bust. I'm a petite, hourglass woman and normally wear size 8. A size 10 may fit better on top, but it may be too loose on the bottom.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 14, 2011

Love it- renting again for NYE

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress is simple and beautiful. It fits true to size, I am very consistently a six and the six fit perfectly. It is a thin fabric that is not especially forgiving. I'd recommend it especially for hourglass-shaped ladies.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Jan 2, 2012

Simple and cute

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered this as my NYE back-up dress, but didn't end up wearing it since my first choice was perfect. I loved the cut of this dress and the (almost) hour-glass silhouette it gave my narrow frame. Not sure if it was just my dress, but my normal size seemed a bit stretched out. I don't know if it's the cut or a result of other rentals, but it probably still would have worked. I'd rent it again for another event or party.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123 lbs
Jan 3, 2012

Love this dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am normally a size 2, sometimes a size 4 if the designer runs small. I wore the size 2. It was a very flattering dress and I got a lot of compliments. I loved it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 31, 2012

Amazing Dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a cocktail party and absolutely loved it! The material is beautiful and the fit was perfect! This dress is super flattering and hugs all the right places. It is a bit darker than in the picture - it's a very dark blue (almost black). Overall an awesome dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 2, 2012

It's o.k.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I am not in love with the dress. While it looked pretty-I knew it did not fit well. I am an 8 and that is what I wore. However, the upper portion of the dress was too small for 34 DD.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 16, 2012

Obsessed with this dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is so amazing that I've actually rented it twice already - once for a nighttime hotel wedding, and once for a formal occasion. It has some stretch to it, so it's very flattering and very forgiving. It looks BEAUTIFUL, and I've gotten tons of compliments each time I've rented it. I wish I could BUY this dress; I'd wear it all the time!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 9, 2012

Bombshell party dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this! Very comfortable, I wasn't wiggling and adjusting it all night. I am very curvy, and this was a rare find that fit my waist without being too snug in the hips, and fit the hips without being huge in the waist. And my boobs looked awesome (I went braless, the halter had plenty of support). Lots of compliments!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142 lbs
Jun 21, 2012

Cute, but not perfect

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The color is great, and the fabric is very different--it a good way. It's stretchy and has a nice sheen to it. I would have loved it, but the sweetheart neckline was a bit funny. The fabric seemed to be uneven, and I had to keep adjusting myself all night. Overall, it was a fun dress for a Vegas bachelorette!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×