Z Spoke Zac Posen

Houndstooth Halter Dress

$50 rental
$350 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rock this daring little dress by Z Spoke Zac Posen to that special anniversary party, work event, or dinner gathering. It is a piece you can wear year round by adding tights or blazer. Add a statement necklace like the RJ Graziano's Pirate Treasure Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - halter allows bust to be adjustable - smaller busts with Straight & Narrow body types should consider sizing down
WAIST: Fitted - fitted thorughout bodice and most narrow at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted in hips and backside but stretchy material allows room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Product Details

Dark blue stretch houndstooth(64% Acetate, 33% Nylon, 3% Spandex). Halter sweetheart neckline. Fitted bodice and skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
62 reviews
Fit
Large
(10)
True to Size
(44)
Small
(8)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 27, 2012
Yikes!
This did not look good on my body type, especially my chest. This might be better for women with a smaller chest. I'm 38C.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 28, 2012
Cute but simple
Cute and flattering dress, great material. Doesn't have a "wow" factor in pictures but looks very nice in person.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
September 10, 2012
Wonderful dress!
I absolutely loved the dress! It was a wonderful evening :)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
April 4, 2013
Gorgeous dress for a party
The cut of this dress was not for me. It was very large in the chest and small through the hips. It is a beautiful dress, but it did not work for me.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 4, 2013
FANTASTIC DRESS! fit like a glove, perfect length, and extremely flattering.
I am 5'7", 140 and am usually a size 4 in most dresses, so I went with the size 4 after reading the reveiws. The dress is beautiful and perfect for an evening wedding; I received so many compliments. I am always worried about length as a lot of dresses these days are very short and this hit the perfect length. The neckline was extremely flattering and I loved the halter. Overall, EXTREMELY satisfied, a total knockout dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
June 9, 2013
Great dress, but the sizing was off.
I rented this dress for my husband's birthday party after renting another Z Spoke dress the previous weekend that knocked his socks off. This was not quite the case with this dress. I sized up as I had for the other dress, but this one ran really large up top. I was glad for the roomier fit around my hips because the fabric shows everything, but you really want a halter to be snug on top. I easily had an extra two inches of fabric around the bust. I decided to wear it anyway since my backup size was unavailable. Even though the fit felt off, I still got lots of compliments! One thing that surprised me--the color was really more of a navy than a black. Also, if anyone out there is wondering why this dress is called "houndstooth" I am still wondering myself. The texture of this dress is as it's shown--very shiny!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
July 8, 2013
The dress was the look I was going for. My boyfriend really liked it!
I liked the feel of the dress, but it was a tad too big for me. Obviously, I couldn't order a size smaller. It was a very comfortable dress, and I could have worn it for hours.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 25, 2014
Great dress!
Runs small
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
October 6, 2011
Great dress! Looks just as pictured, it is narrow through the hips and pretty fitted at the waist band. True to size, size up as a backup
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 4, 2012
My husband loved the dress, as did I. It definitely turned heads as I walked around. Not sure which my husband enjoyed more, me in the dress or watching everyone else stare. =]
I rented this dress for my anniversary. Everyone loved it, including me. It fit perfectly and the corset style top accentuated my waist. Pros: Fits well, flatters curves, isn't too short! Cons: Bust is smaller, very little stretch, halter straps hang in the back. If you have a small waist I think it would look great on you. If you are large chested you may want to choose a size up. I rented a 4 and wear a 34 B/C and I thought it was perfect. I selected a 2 as my backup size, and both the 2 and the 4 fit, but the 2 seemed to "smoosh" my chest a little more, but there was very little difference in the fit throughout the rest of the dress. If I were a full C or larger, though, I think it might have been a close call even in the 4.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 20, 2012
I have never felt sexier in any other dress.
This is my favorite dress I've ever rented from RTR. The fit/cut is incredible (thanks, Zac). The halter is comfortable, the material is silky, but doesn't reveal too much underneath (it's thick enough to lay smooth all the time). The color is this rich, deep, shiny blue in real life, which the photo doesn't read necessarily. I felt sexy, but not overtly so at my friend's wedding. Most reactions to the dress were just a dropped jaw. It's comfortable to sit and dance in too. Would be great for any cocktail party or date.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
March 17, 2013
I got a lot of compliments wearing this really cute dress!
The dress fit really well, however I have a smaller bust so the section across the upper back was a little lose and I had to pin it to my bra to get it to stay where I wanted it! I wore seamless panties - a MUST with this dress because it has such a smooth fabric that you can see everything! Really cute, I got a lot of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
January 2, 2012
Simple and cute
I ordered this as my NYE back-up dress, but didn't end up wearing it since my first choice was perfect. I loved the cut of this dress and the (almost) hour-glass silhouette it gave my narrow frame. Not sure if it was just my dress, but my normal size seemed a bit stretched out. I don't know if it's the cut or a result of other rentals, but it probably still would have worked. I'd rent it again for another event or party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 16, 2012
Obsessed with this dress!
This dress is so amazing that I've actually rented it twice already - once for a nighttime hotel wedding, and once for a formal occasion. It has some stretch to it, so it's very flattering and very forgiving. It looks BEAUTIFUL, and I've gotten tons of compliments each time I've rented it. I wish I could BUY this dress; I'd wear it all the time!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 12, 2012
I wouldn't rent again
It was a pretty dress but I didn't think it was appropriate for the occasion. The material was very shiny and the corset-look didn't seem classy enough for the wedding I wore it to. It was also sllightly uncomfortable because I had to keep tying the halter because it would loosen throughout the night. Pretty dress but I wouldn't recommend for a wedding.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
November 27, 2012
Showstopper
I loved this dress. I felt super classy, and dressy. I'm tall, nearly 5'10'', and slim, so sometimes I worry that dresses like this look cute on shorter girls, but look slutty when you factor in my legs, and whether or not the dress would look appropriate for a wedding. But the dress worked out great. I got both the 4 and the 6, cause i was worried about my hips (i wear a 27/28 in jeans), but the 4 was great, and even a bit roomier than I expected, (re: not skin-tight and inappropriate).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
January 3, 2013
Cute party dress
I wore this for my bachelorette party and it totally fit the bill, so cute and fun and the price was right. It's more of a dark navy color in person but really pretty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
January 14, 2013
Beautiful Dress!
I rented this for a party with a vintage-glam look in mind and it was exactly what I wanted. I actually didnt wear it b/c I felt a little too exposed in the bust area (it was for a party with my husband's boss and co-workers). This was just my preference for the party - I will totally rent this again for a date night! The dress is made of a very nice material; one reviewer mentioned it reminded her of a swim suit and I kind of agree (in a good way). It is very flattering on...I am a 34c/d and would consider myself a petite-pear shape and it fit like a glove. I'm 5'3" and it came to right above my knee.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
April 2, 2013
Sexy and fun
REceived a ton of complements on this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 3, 2013
wayy too big, gorgeous dress. I only wish the zero had been available
too big, great color
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 6, 2013
too tight and was flattering
I sent this dress back without wearing it as it wasn't flattering on me at all.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
February 20, 2014
Great look! I got tons of compliments!
Material has a nice sheen to it and I loved how structured the dress fit. Perfect length.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×