Yumi Kim

Minya Dress

$40 rental
$258 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rent this Yumi Kim one shoulder, cobalt blue dress. Easy fit and great for a casual date or beach party! Pair with light and colorful accessories like the AV Max's Gold Bangle Stack.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8. Size L=10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; some pleating conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''. )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8. Size L=10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; some pleating conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''. )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Cobalt silk. One shoulder neckline with flower detail at shoulder. Front pockets. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

87 reviews

Fit
Small 15
True to Size 69
Large 3
Photos 37
Sarah
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jun 19, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress to a wedding in Texas, and it fit very well/was appropriate for the occassion. I was expecting it to be tight in the hips/stomach from the picture, but it was actually forgiving in this area. The dress is a little bit short, but not scandalous! I loved the dress and would suggest the rental. The color of the dress is also much more vibrant/bold than it is shown in the picture.
RW123
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
Jun 22, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
ADORABLE DRESS! I wore this to my sister's Bridesmaids Luncheon. It was really great and so cute. I am pretty tall and it was short but not too short on me. Got lots of compliments! I have a smaller waist and chest and usually wear a 4-6, the small fit me well but was not tight across the chest or waist at all, but due to lenght could not have an XS.
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Jun 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I’m pretty curvy so it was very fitted in my thigh area. Definitely size up if you have larger hips and back side! Beautiful dress, though!
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Jul 7, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved this dress! It's a tad more shinny in person, but a really pretty blue. I rented the S and M, thinking I would have to go with the M - but I was able to wear the S and it was still big! I am curvy through the hips, but it fit me perfectly!
amy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 15, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Beautiful dress. I wore this to my bridal shower and got so many compliments! The color is way more vibrant than the photo suggests. I usually wear a 4 and the small fit me nicely. The only thing I didn't love was the back poufs up a little and it is pretty short so just remember to cross your legs when you sit down, haha!
KMeech
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Jul 18, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is very cute and easy to wear. I wore to a rehearsal dinner and it was perfect- guys were yelling "hey you in the blue dress" from across the bar later that night! The dress has pockets which I was worried would stick out and look akward but the material is so light it looked perfect. I LOVE RTR and definately got some new customers that night!
WDP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 18, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is super cute, however, the sizing was very frustrating. I rented both a small and a medium. The small was too tight in the hips and borderline too tight in the bust. Also, the small was VERY short - way shorter than what it looks in the picture. The medium, on the other hand, was way too loose all over. I almost returned both dresses for a refund, but I ended up being able to wear the medium with the help of a padded bra. Also, the medium is much longer than the small. I felt like the dresses should have been labeled a small and a large and that there was an intermediate size between the two that was missing.
BH
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Jul 25, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding this past weekend and have never gotten more compliments on a dress. The color is really brilliant, more so than you can tell in the picture, and really sets it apart. It's super comfortable since it's so unstructured. I did use a little bit of tape on the side to make sure the non-strap side stayed up. The dress is definitely short though, so keep that in mind when choosing it. I liked it so much, I was sad to return it!
Katie
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Aug 9, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is gorgeous in person. The color is just beautiful - but there are a few things. I usually wear a 4 so I ordered the small and medium. When I tried on both dresses the hem was showing on both. I had to actually pin up the hem the night I wore the dress. Also - my body type is smaller on top and fuller on bottom. The small really hugged my legs/butt and the medium was really big on top. I pinned the shoulder strap up on the medium so that the top fit a bit more snug. Even with all my "alterations" I received so many compliments!
JSnapp
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Aug 22, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was absolutely fabulous. I'm short and athletic, it wasn't too long for me. I wore a size 4 and it was great. The color is unreal and it was very comfortable.
TaylorC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Sep 6, 2011

Overall fit: Small
If you are tall, beware of this dress. It runs really short and I couldn't even wear it as a dress. I was able to wear it as a top with white pants. The bottom half of it is much more form fitting than how it looks in the model photo. It is a very pretty color of blue.
Val
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Sep 12, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I'm short- but this dress was TOO SHORT. It hugged in all the wrong places, and I had to return it. If you're on the shorter/thinner side, this dress is a pretty color, and would likely be a huge hit. Sadly for me, it did not work out.
Kristen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 19, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Like many of the other reviewers, I found there was a very large discrepancy between size S and M. I rented both sizes hoping one would fit, but the S was way too short for someone my height to be considered acceptable for a wedding. The M was a more proper length, but I was swimming in it! I ended up wearing something else because I was not comfortable with the length of the better fitting S. It was a beautiful color though...I wish I could have worn it. It was my first rental with RTR so I was a little disappointed, but I was very impressed with the service and have since rented again ( a dress I actually wore) and was very pleased.
Kia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Oct 9, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this dress for homecoming and it was great! I got tons of compliments on it! Only problem was that it was hard to move around in but besides that, it was great!
Sophie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Oct 26, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
The dress is great and so many people complimented it! The lining ran a little longer than the dress, but I just fashion-taped it up. The dress also slightly rides up, so its best if your short. Would definitely rent again!
Lindsey
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 28, 2011

Beyond disappointed

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
After much research, I selected this dress for my first (and only to date) RTR experience. I loved the color, have always found one shoulder necklines flattering, and was excited to try an out-of-the-box dress (I often find myself in a LBD rut, never venturing far from the likes of Shoshanna, BCBG, and Milly). I wear a size 2 or 4, so I ordered the XS and S. The XS was incredibly short and tight over my hips and derriere but comfortable on top. The fact that the size small was slightly too large on top could've been corrected with double-sided tape, but the incredibly cheap looking, poorly made lining made the dress impossible to wear. The lining was completely visible at the bottom, hanging out, completely visible beyond the silk of the dress. It would've required stitching to hide. Needless to say, I found myself in a last minute jam, scrambling to find a dress for the wedding. Even worse is that I had a red eye flight that night and thus wasn't able to return the dress in time to get a refund. So $40 gone and no cute outfit. I recommend renting a designer with whom you're already familiar so you know PRECISELY how the dress will fit and can gauge how high (or, in this case, low) its quality will be. That said, RTR shipping was excellent and on time. Had the dress fit, I'd be a fan!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 1, 2011

Cute, but nothing special

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a wedding, but ultimately wore a different dress. It's definitely cute on, but its relatively informal. I would only rent for a casual event.
Annie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 25, 2012

Pretty Color!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The M was a little short for me but otherwise it fit great! I loved the bright blue color and the pockets!
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 13, 2012

Great color, funky fit

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a wedding and loved the color but the medium was really big and the small was just a little too small. Overall, it wasn't my favorite RTR pick but it was a nice dress-- actually the material is much nicer than it looks online.
k
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
May 9, 2012

Loved it!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was such a beautiful color, and rent the runway was perfect. Delivery was on time, dress was clean and ran true to size, and it was super easy to ship back! This was my first RTR experience, and I will definitely do it again.
Mary-Margaret
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
May 29, 2012

Very cute!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a cocktail party in May and received so many compliments. The color is very pretty and I found the cut to be flattering. It fit well across my chest, waist, and hips. My only gripe about the dress is the lining of the skirt was almost hanging down below the hem of the dress itself and was visible at times.
Dubb
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 5, 2012

WAAAAAY too short for me

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is a stunning color. I was very excited about it but it was way too short for me. One of my friends who was 5'3 tried it on and said it was too short on her as well.
LA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
Jun 21, 2012

Great for petite frames

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding. It fit perfectly. I am petite and it was not too big or long. The dress hit about 3 inches above my knee. The color was very pretty and the fabric was formal enough for a nice occasion.
Caitlin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 29, 2012

Too short!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a wedding and got both the small and the medium. The small was a little too big around my waist/back but I probably could have gotten away with it- if it wasn't so short! I didn't end up wearing it so that was a bummer! Otherwise, the color was beautiful and I'm sure it would look good on some people if the fit was correct.
Lily
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 17
Body type: Pear
Weight: 101 lbs
Aug 24, 2012

Great Dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding I was going to, it was my first rental from RTR. I got a XS and a S. The XS was too small for me, but the S fit perfectly! it was a simple little dress, thats dressy but not TOO dressy. I got several compliments on it! I was nervous that I was going to rent a dress that was too long on me, because im so short (5'1), but this dress was just the perfect length on me. It isnt too short or too long, it hits mid thighs. I definitley recommend this dress, its an appropiate dress for teens and young women as well. Thanks RTR for the great rental, will definitely rent again. :)
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Aug 24, 2012

Thin dress, but very forgiving

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Got this as a substitute dress when the other one I rented was too small. It's very thin--I wouldn't wear it unless it's very hot out--but not see-through. Very comfortable and cute, got lots of compliments. Good for girls who either have small busts or small ribcages.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 7, 2012

Fun and flattering!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Yet again, I scored a home-run with RTR. This dress received SO many compliments allllll night. The color is gorgeous. The material is so comfortable and beautiful. My only problems were a) my small chest and b) my big rear. The dress ended up being just a little snug across my hips, but it wasn't so uncomfortable I couldn't sit, stand and dance. And a little bit of fashion tape took care of the sagging top. I was very happy once again!
onenutcake
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 16, 2012

Great Color. Awful Cut.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The liner on this dress was awful! It was an inch too long all the way around and stuck out. I had to safety pin it under the dress. The color was beautiful, though the top was very loose fitting. I should have gotten the extra small and then maybe I wouldn't have had to pin it in around the arm holes to keep from flashing people!
Maureen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

My first RTR disappointment :(

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was beautiful, the color and material were great, but unfortunately, the dress was totally un-wearable. The inner lining hung down about a half inch below the dress, in both sizes that I ordered (XS and S). I think maybe all the dry cleaning had shrunk the main dress material, but not the lining. But it looked bad and I couldn't wear it the wedding I had rented it for. RTR was great about letting me return the dress and giving me a credit for the rental cost, though. I think I will stick to the designers I know and the newer dresses to make sure this doesn't happen again.
Heidi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 21, 2012

Casual and cute, fantastic vibrant color for the summer!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I loved this dress, while it ran a bit short, the fit was true to size - the color was bright and fun and was perfect for a dinner at the beach club!
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 4, 2012

I gave a great speech in this dress and got lots of compliments on the dress and speech!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The hem was coming out at the bottom, and I wasn't crazy about how it fit around my one shoulder bra. I was hoping it would fit more like the purple Trina Turk dress I rented in December 2011. It was a good choice for the type of event and the season when the event happened.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 7, 2012

disappointing

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Absolutely stunning color but I couldn't wear this. It was so tight around my hips! Not for hour glass shapes!
Brooke
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

cute but short!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
i really liked it and did wear it . . . but i had to be careful because it did seem like it was verging on the edge of being too short!
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 23, 2012

SO cute but didn't work!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I did not end up wearing this dress after all. It was much shorter than expected. It almost perfect except for in the lower hips. Since this dress doesn't give, it awkwardly made a bulge in the front. Cute dress but not for those with wider hips.
MJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 27, 2012

The dress was a beautiful blue color and was great for a wedding!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The length was a bit short, but it fit pretty true to size and was not tight anywhere. Fabric was also a bit clingy.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 27, 2012

Really cute dress; not wedding appropriate

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress for a summer outdoor wedding for my cousin thinking the color and one shoulder would be a nice departure. The dress arrived and fit really well, but upon trying it on I realized that it would not be wedding appropriate for me. It was incredibly short. When I sat down, it rode almost all the way up my thighs. There is no way I could have sat to have dinner in the dress. If it was a touch longer it would have worked. I would definitely wear this to an evening event out or even to a little club, but not to a wedding. Overall, the color is just as pictured, a lovely vibrate blue. The one shoulder fits well and holds everything in.
Dalton
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 18, 2012

This was the perfect statement dress for my sorority semi-formal.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It was a great fit
Gena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 20, 2012

Couldn't wear it...

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This is not Curve Friendly! I have a 7 month old so I still have a bit of baby weight, this dress was VERY tight on my thighs but had room in the belly area making me look disproportionate. I wasn't able to wear the dress to the party.
Laura
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 2, 2013

Didn't fit.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented the L, which is my usual size (and the size I ended up wearing in another dress), but this dress did not fit. The bottom was just too tight and unflattering.
n/a
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 14, 2013

Very cute, great color!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved wearing it but the small was so short I wore the medium. Once problem then was teh top was way too big. I pinned it up and it was fine, but just a heads up that it runs pretty short!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×