Yumi Kim

Girl Next Door Dress

$40 rental
$248 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Perfect for your beach vacation or girl's brunch! Rent this summer fun Yumi Kim dress and pair with accessories like a chunky bangle!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - straps are adjustable
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist with belt, pleated detail conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Fuchsia and navy floral printed silk. Surplice neckline. Tie waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Exposed back zip with black trim. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
55 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(46)
Small
(5)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 23, 2011
Definitely the reason the team I was rooting for won the polo match
I rented this dress to wear to a polo match and it was perfect - classy and comfortable. I wore an xs, it does run a bit large in the chest area.
AlexaAugust 3, 2012
Perfect dress for polo! Great pic.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 9, 2012
Perfect for a summer getaway!
I rented this dress for a weekend at the beach, and it was perfect. The color and print is so fun, and it's very light and breezy. Easy to dress up with accessories for a casual night out, or just by itself for daytime. Love it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
June 10, 2013
Cute and Comfy
I wore this dress to a Bridal Shower. It was very comfortable for a hot summer day. However, the dress was very big so I had to add a belt. Wish I would have gone down a size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 26, 2013
Loved the dress but it was a but big in the top area was a bit scared I would show the goods.
Fit is a bit big overall in areas, LOVED the pockets, color was great, material was a bit cheap. I did get lots of complements but don't know if I would get it again.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
April 10, 2012
Easter Brunch
I wore this dress for my Easter festivities. I normally wear a medium, but for this dress I had to wear a large. It fits find around the waistline but runs tight on the chest area. Even in a large it was very snug. Overall, the dress was very comfortable and I loved the colors.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
August 26, 2012
Pretty dress
Did not get to wear dress, only ordered the small and it was to tight in the bag and sides but big in the bust. I think I could have pulled it off with the M.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 27, 2013
Comfortable and feminine!
I wore this dress for a rehearsal dinner for a wedding during the summertime. It was light and flowy, which was perfect for the weather. I got several compliments and loved the dress. It ran kind of big, so I would opt for a smaller size if you are borderline.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 3, 2013
A bit too childlike (and small)
Sadly this dress really didn't work. I thought it would be nice for a breezy beach party, but other than the fabric (which felt lovely and draped beautifully), this was all wrong. The bust was MUCH too small (couldn't even zip it) and even if it had zipped it did terrible things to the top of me. It was also too short, which made it look like I was wearing the dress in a child's size. I think this would look great on someone more pear-shaped (or generally smaller on top), and under 5'6".
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 9, 2012
Perfect dress for Birthday day activities.
I ordered the large and it fit a little snug, especially in the chest area. Over all thought It was a beautiful and very comfortable dress. I am 5'5 and the dress was the perfect length.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 8, 2011
Fabulous! My first rental, and I was not disappointed. I had some concerns about rental sites. I read a few reviews that expressed dresses were being shipped that were not holding up from the rental usage. But, my dress arrived looking perfect. Great fit, and great designer. I plan on renting this designer again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 16, 2011
this dress is amazing. it fit flawlessly and the draping is perfect. i wore it without a bra and think that's prob the way to go. the only thing i wasn't crazy about was the black zipper running down the back.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 23, 2011
Everyone loved this dress. Fits true to size and wasn't too short, even though I am tall!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 61
Body type: Hourglass
June 6, 2011
I LOVED this dress. I was a little worried about it showing too much cleavage because I have a larger bust size, but it worked out perfectly! I wore it to my sister's graduation, which is outside. The material was so light that it was perfect for such hot weather. The dress definitely runs true to size, and overall it's just a great dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
June 22, 2011
Cute dress! I wore this for getting ready for a wedding. It was very cute for a low key day event that you want to look cute for. I am small chested and usually wear a 4-6, and the small was fine, but by no means tight. I probably could have worn the XS but ordered the M as my back-up size, so had to wear the S.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
July 1, 2011
definitely a best bet dress! looks great on girls with curves and i'm sure it'd be great on someone without them too! super hot! won't disappoint!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
July 5, 2011
Lots of compliments on the dress.
This a great casual spring/summer dress. It is flattering & versatile. I am a size 6/8 and ordered a M, it fit perfectly. I tend to have a large bust but once I adjusted the straps, it was fine (didn't even need a bra!).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 12, 2011
Cute dress, liked it but did not love it. However, it worked quite well for the outdoor family event I had that evening.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 6, 2011
This dress is super cute on. Wore it for a girls weekend in New Orleans. Good length, good coverage. First rental and I was not disappointed. I ordered a small and wore a push up bra w/clear straps.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 5, 2011
I absolutely LOVED this dress. It looks a little flat on the model, but if you have some chest like I do (C cup) then the dress really accentuates your upper body and cinches your waist. The small fit me perfectly and was easy to wear with a strapless bra. Definitely rent this!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
March 1, 2012
Great fitting dress!
I wore this for my 28th birthday date with my fiance and he absolutely loved it. The draping of the dress at the bust is totally flattering for bigger chests, it accetuates without making you look way too top heavy and gives you just enough cleavage without looking "trashy". LOVE it, the picture online does not do it justice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
March 1, 2012
Great fitting dress!
I wore this for my 28th birthday date with my fiance and he absolutely loved it. The draping of the dress at the bust is totally flattering for bigger chests, it accetuates without making you look way too top heavy and gives you just enough cleavage without looking "trashy". LOVE it, the picture online does not do it justice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 23, 2012
Cute and comfortable
I ordered this as a back-up and didn't end up wearing it. I gave it 4 stars because I don't know how I would have liked it over several hours, but the few minutes I had it on were pretty good. The fabric is soft, but slightly sheer in the sunlight. The dress isn't great for a conservative event because it ended up being either short on me or too revealing, depending on how I adjusted the straps. I probably would have gone braless because the back is low. The medium was a little tight on me, large probably would have been fine or maybe too big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 13, 2012
Cute and good for summer
This dress worked really well for a casual summer dress. I usually wear a size 4 and I got the small and it worked perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
August 14, 2012
Flattering and comfortable!
I rented this dress during my birthday weekend and fell in love with it for its cute pattern, flattering fit and comfortable style (pockets included). Yumi does it again. You can dress this up or down depending on the shoes and jewelry you wear, as well as whether you pair it with a cardigan or blazer. However, I wore it casually and it didn't look too dressy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 17, 2012
Fun Party Dress
Rented this for a summer luncheon. Great fit super comfortable and everyone loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 18, 2012
Lots of compliments!
Dress fits true to size. Great color. Wore to bridal shower and received lots of compliments. Pockets are fun too.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
August 31, 2012
Great Dress!
I wore this to a crawfish social at the country club and recieved a bunch of compliments. the colors are beautiful and the dress is easy to dress up or down. i loved the pockets! would definetly reccomend
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 30, 2011
I got tons of compliments at a casual rehearsal dinner and felt like a million bucks!!
I loved this dress! Both the medium and large fit, but I ended up wearing the large for a blousier look.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 17, 2012
Great colors for a end of the summer wedding
I wore this dress to a end of the summer wedding in mid september on the Eastern shore in maryland. The wedding was outside on the water and the reception was in a tent in the backyard. I rented both the S and the M, however, I went with the M for a bit more length and comfort. The dress has great colors and was a nice transition dress into cooler weather.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
October 15, 2012
Comfortable, & Forgiving
I rented this dress for an outdoor wedding a few months after the birth of my daughter. It is very forgiving and easy, yet very flattering. My only negative is that any water spot shows was visible to me but probably not to others because of the pattern. Its silk, so be prepared for a few wrinkles and the thinness of the material. I wore some spanx underneath which I would suggest for others.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 24, 2012
Dress is great for any event
This dress fit wonderfully. The adjustable straps ensured a great fit. The pockets were an added bonus. Great dress to go casual or dressy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 3, 2012
cute
Wore this for a nice brunch outside, perfect for a warm summer afternoon!! Fit a bit tighter in the rib area which is why i wore the Medium. I love the adjustable straps!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 9, 2012
Awesome dress, never got a chance to wear it.
Loved the dress. It was so cute and perfect for the event I was headed to but unfortunately due to a mix up the dresses I ordered never got to me in time so I was stuck dress-less. :( would have loved to wear it though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 7, 2013
Great bridal shower dress
Wore this dress to a friend's bridal shower and it worked really well. The bridal shower was at a hotel on the beach in NH in August. The reviews I read were very accurate in terms of sizing.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 30, 2013
Very flattering and feminine dress, perfect for wedding shower or daytime event!
The dress was vibrant and beautiful in person and very flattering, especially in the stomach area which I am very self conscious about. The whole rent the runway experience could not have been easier and I will surely do it again! I would say this dress is true to size, although it runs slightly smaller in the torso/ bust area so if you have a full bust or broad torso I would consider sizing up for your second size.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 30, 2013
I loved this dress! I wore it for a summer wedding. It was so comfortable and fit true to size.
Great dress. Causal but can be dressed up with the right accessories. Its light weight so it is good for summer and spring events.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
May 10, 2013
Fun Date
got this for an anniversary date with my BF. ended up wearing the larger size for a flowier feel, but it ran true and would have been fine with a medium. the fit was great and so was the length. LOVED this dress, and so did my man!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
May 28, 2013
loved.loved.loved this dress
I loved wearing this dress. The colors are so pretty and it was a perfect for a daytime bridal shower. It fit pretty true to size, I usually wear small and sometimes medium - but I wore the medium with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 17, 2013
Perfect for a summer day.
I really liked this dress! The lightweight material was perfect for a hot summer day, yet not too sheer that I was uncomfortable wearing it too Mass. I got lots of compliments on it; I just wish that I had thought to get someone to take my picture while I was wearing it! Since I am not very busty, the top of the dress was pretty loose, so I adjusted the straps to make it better, but that only made it shorter and dig into my under arms. I wore this dress all day: to Mass in the morning and while I worked at a music festival in the afternoon. I paired it with some a pair of teal sandals, and a mint and navy cardigan.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
July 9, 2013
I haven't seen my boyfriend a lot this summer so I wanted to look cute on our date!
This dress is AMAZING! Seriously! I wore it to work the next morning and my boss asked if I had lost weight (Not that I know of but an awesome thing to hear!). The colors are seriously perfect! If I ever need a dress for a summer wedding I'm totally renting this again (I wish I could have kept it I loved it that much!)
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×