Girl Next Door Dress

$40 rental
$248 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Perfect for your beach vacation or girl's brunch! Rent this summer fun Yumi Kim dress and pair with accessories like a chunky bangle!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - straps are adjustable
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist with belt, pleated detail conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - straps are adjustable
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist with belt, pleated detail conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Fuchsia and navy floral printed silk. Surplice neckline. Tie waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Exposed back zip with black trim. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
55 reviews
Fit
Large4
True to Size46
Small5
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 114lbs
November 1, 2014
Fun and casual
I wore it to an outdoor concert. It was a fun sundress. Something I would buy.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
March 4, 2014
Comfortable and bright!
I wore this on my wedding day while we were getting ready. It's super comfortable, light weight and bright and the v-neck is great - not too deep. The length was perfect too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 8, 2014
Fun sundress for a casual event
I wore this dress on a booze cruise and it was adorable. It's very casual, but was flattering and cute. I would buy this dress because it seemed perfect to throw on in the summer and look put together but not trying too hard. The front is a little low cut but I wore a strapless bra and it was fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 138lbs
October 22, 2013
Print of this dress matched the Hawaiian-theme shower perfectly
The fit was true to size and for being on the shorter side at 5'2"ish, the dress hit above the knee. I was attending a Hawaiian-theme bridal shower and this dress fit the bill perfectly without looking too costumey or cheap.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
August 4, 2013
Beautiful Dress
I loved loved loved this dress. The material feels very lux. It fit well, came about 2 inches above the knee. It was a little tight in the chest, but came in helpful as I did not need to wear a bra. I would definitely recommend renting this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
July 9, 2013
I haven't seen my boyfriend a lot this summer so I wanted to look cute on our date!
This dress is AMAZING! Seriously! I wore it to work the next morning and my boss asked if I had lost weight (Not that I know of but an awesome thing to hear!). The colors are seriously perfect! If I ever need a dress for a summer wedding I'm totally renting this again (I wish I could have kept it I loved it that much!)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 17, 2013
Perfect for a summer day.
I really liked this dress! The lightweight material was perfect for a hot summer day, yet not too sheer that I was uncomfortable wearing it too Mass. I got lots of compliments on it; I just wish that I had thought to get someone to take my picture while I was wearing it! Since I am not very busty, the top of the dress was pretty loose, so I adjusted the straps to make it better, but that only made it shorter and dig into my under arms. I wore this dress all day: to Mass in the morning and while I worked at a music festival in the afternoon. I paired it with some a pair of teal sandals, and a mint and navy cardigan.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
June 10, 2013
Cute and Comfy
I wore this dress to a Bridal Shower. It was very comfortable for a hot summer day. However, the dress was very big so I had to add a belt. Wish I would have gone down a size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 3, 2013
A bit too childlike (and small)
Sadly this dress really didn't work. I thought it would be nice for a breezy beach party, but other than the fabric (which felt lovely and draped beautifully), this was all wrong. The bust was MUCH too small (couldn't even zip it) and even if it had zipped it did terrible things to the top of me. It was also too short, which made it look like I was wearing the dress in a child's size. I think this would look great on someone more pear-shaped (or generally smaller on top), and under 5'6".
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 28, 2013
loved.loved.loved this dress
I loved wearing this dress. The colors are so pretty and it was a perfect for a daytime bridal shower. It fit pretty true to size, I usually wear small and sometimes medium - but I wore the medium with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
May 10, 2013
Fun Date
got this for an anniversary date with my BF. ended up wearing the larger size for a flowier feel, but it ran true and would have been fine with a medium. the fit was great and so was the length. LOVED this dress, and so did my man!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 30, 2013
I loved this dress! I wore it for a summer wedding. It was so comfortable and fit true to size.
Great dress. Causal but can be dressed up with the right accessories. Its light weight so it is good for summer and spring events.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 30, 2013
Very flattering and feminine dress, perfect for wedding shower or daytime event!
The dress was vibrant and beautiful in person and very flattering, especially in the stomach area which I am very self conscious about. The whole rent the runway experience could not have been easier and I will surely do it again! I would say this dress is true to size, although it runs slightly smaller in the torso/ bust area so if you have a full bust or broad torso I would consider sizing up for your second size.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 27, 2013
Comfortable and feminine!
I wore this dress for a rehearsal dinner for a wedding during the summertime. It was light and flowy, which was perfect for the weather. I got several compliments and loved the dress. It ran kind of big, so I would opt for a smaller size if you are borderline.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 18, 2013
LOVE IT
Would rent it again...loved it! Brought to a girls' vacation and it fit the bill for nights out and late night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 5, 2013
So cute! Great colors!
Wore this to a wedding rehearsal in Montana in September. Great fit, flattering style and love the pockets!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
April 2, 2013
Overall great dress and got tones of compliments
I loved the dress and so did everyone else. It was a great dress to dance in. It didn't have to worry about it. It fit well but was a little tight in the chest but most things do on me. I highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 7, 2013
Great bridal shower dress
Wore this dress to a friend's bridal shower and it worked really well. The bridal shower was at a hotel on the beach in NH in August. The reviews I read were very accurate in terms of sizing.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 26, 2013
Loved the dress but it was a but big in the top area was a bit scared I would show the goods.
Fit is a bit big overall in areas, LOVED the pockets, color was great, material was a bit cheap. I did get lots of complements but don't know if I would get it again.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
December 14, 2012
Such a cute dress! Very flattering.
I LOVED this dress and received so many compliments! It was a great length. I'm tall and don't love my legs, so a lot of dresses are borderline too short for my taste. This hit just above the knee. The color stood out, and it really was very flattering. In fact, someone asked me if I had lost weight. And I most definitely had not! haha Any dress that gets that reaction gets 5 stars in my book!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 9, 2012
Awesome dress, never got a chance to wear it.
Loved the dress. It was so cute and perfect for the event I was headed to but unfortunately due to a mix up the dresses I ordered never got to me in time so I was stuck dress-less. :( would have loved to wear it though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
December 4, 2012
Cute - Perfect for a summer day.
This little number was classy and comfortable. I just wore it for a regular summer day but could easily wear for something more formal like a bridal shower, etc. This dress is much more flattering than it looks on the model too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 3, 2012
cute
Wore this for a nice brunch outside, perfect for a warm summer afternoon!! Fit a bit tighter in the rib area which is why i wore the Medium. I love the adjustable straps!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 24, 2012
Dress is great for any event
This dress fit wonderfully. The adjustable straps ensured a great fit. The pockets were an added bonus. Great dress to go casual or dressy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
October 15, 2012
Comfortable, & Forgiving
I rented this dress for an outdoor wedding a few months after the birth of my daughter. It is very forgiving and easy, yet very flattering. My only negative is that any water spot shows was visible to me but probably not to others because of the pattern. Its silk, so be prepared for a few wrinkles and the thinness of the material. I wore some spanx underneath which I would suggest for others.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 9, 2012
Perfect dress for Birthday day activities.
I ordered the large and it fit a little snug, especially in the chest area. Over all thought It was a beautiful and very comfortable dress. I am 5'5 and the dress was the perfect length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 17, 2012
Great colors for a end of the summer wedding
I wore this dress to a end of the summer wedding in mid september on the Eastern shore in maryland. The wedding was outside on the water and the reception was in a tent in the backyard. I rented both the S and the M, however, I went with the M for a bit more length and comfort. The dress has great colors and was a nice transition dress into cooler weather.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
August 31, 2012
Great Dress!
I wore this to a crawfish social at the country club and recieved a bunch of compliments. the colors are beautiful and the dress is easy to dress up or down. i loved the pockets! would definetly reccomend
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
August 26, 2012
Pretty dress
Did not get to wear dress, only ordered the small and it was to tight in the bag and sides but big in the bust. I think I could have pulled it off with the M.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 18, 2012
Lots of compliments!
Dress fits true to size. Great color. Wore to bridal shower and received lots of compliments. Pockets are fun too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 17, 2012
Fun Party Dress
Rented this for a summer luncheon. Great fit super comfortable and everyone loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
August 14, 2012
Flattering and comfortable!
I rented this dress during my birthday weekend and fell in love with it for its cute pattern, flattering fit and comfortable style (pockets included). Yumi does it again. You can dress this up or down depending on the shoes and jewelry you wear, as well as whether you pair it with a cardigan or blazer. However, I wore it casually and it didn't look too dressy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 13, 2012
Cute and good for summer
This dress worked really well for a casual summer dress. I usually wear a size 4 and I got the small and it worked perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 9, 2012
Perfect for a summer getaway!
I rented this dress for a weekend at the beach, and it was perfect. The color and print is so fun, and it's very light and breezy. Easy to dress up with accessories for a casual night out, or just by itself for daytime. Love it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
July 30, 2012
Great for a fun, casual party
I rented this dress for my bridal shower, and it was very cute and flattering. I was a little surprised at how thin the material was and that it wasn't lined at all. I felt a little exposed when the wind blew, but I eventually got used to it. It was comfortable and nice and cool for an outdoor summer party. The colors are pretty and bright.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 23, 2012
Lovely summer dress
The picture doesnt do this dress justice. It is very comfortable and flattering. I recently had a baby and it is flowy enough in the right places yet body skimming in others so it looks great. The pockets are barely noticeable, dont stick out or detract from the dress but add a cute casual feature.am a 34D and the top was very comfortable and had just enough support that I didn't need to wear a bra. Can be dressed up or down, very versatile and pretty color and fabric..
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
June 19, 2012
Super Cute outfit!
I love this dress. I wear it for a quick lunch with family. I ordered a large and it fit me perfectly. I'm usually between an 8 and a 10. Very accomodating on the belly :) I love the adjustable strap. Really helps to customize fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 23, 2012
Cute and comfortable
I ordered this as a back-up and didn't end up wearing it. I gave it 4 stars because I don't know how I would have liked it over several hours, but the few minutes I had it on were pretty good. The fabric is soft, but slightly sheer in the sunlight. The dress isn't great for a conservative event because it ended up being either short on me or too revealing, depending on how I adjusted the straps. I probably would have gone braless because the back is low. The medium was a little tight on me, large probably would have been fine or maybe too big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 19, 2012
An excellent beach vaca dress.
I wore this to a casual beach wedding rehearsal dinner and LOVED it. The print and colors are lovely and it was incredibly comfortable. I did have to wear a strapless bra but I didn't mind at all because I was such a fan of the dress. Really easy to wear.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Body type: Pear
April 10, 2012
Easter Brunch
I wore this dress for my Easter festivities. I normally wear a medium, but for this dress I had to wear a large. It fits find around the waistline but runs tight on the chest area. Even in a large it was very snug. Overall, the dress was very comfortable and I loved the colors.
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×