Sky Shoulder Dress

$126 to buy
$840 retail
Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! This Yigal Azrouël runway favorite is picture perfect in sky blue.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0,1,2,3. Size 0= 0,2; Size 1= 4; Size 2=6; Size 3=8; Size 4=10; Size 5=12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - draping over midsection conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - not fitted on narrow hips while slightly fitted on curvy hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - may be shorter on curvy women

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0,1,2,3. Size 0= 0,2; Size 1= 4; Size 2=6; Size 3=8; Size 4=10; Size 5=12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - draping over midsection conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - not fitted on narrow hips while slightly fitted on curvy hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - may be shorter on curvy women

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Chambray 100% rayon jersey. Draped bodice. One shoulder with butterfly sleeve. 34" from top of shoulder. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
62 reviews
Fit
Large
(38)
True to Size
(22)
Small
(2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 29, 2011
Simply Stunning
I love this dress. This was my first RTR rental and my favorite. It was so flattering that the bride told me I was the best dressed at her wedding. It's super comfortable, but be sure to go a size down the dress runs large. I'm between an hourglass and athletic build.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2011
I got tons of compliments
Very roomy and flowy, great for a beach wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
5
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 12, 2012
Love it!
My boyfriend and I went out for dinner with his college friends. Everyone complimented me all night. A great dress! I loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
5
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 18, 2012
This dress was Perfect! I Ordered 2x's within 2 months!
I felt like "eyes were on me" with this dress. It is not only eye catching but it's comfortable and slimming! , and the way it lays along the body line - is very slimming. My daughter said I should definitely buy this dress to keep. But I think I'll keep trying more RTR dressing, and keep my dress options fresh! Thank you RTR!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 24, 2012
I thought the color was beautiful but was way too large for me to wear it.
Runs Really BIG!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 25, 2012
Too large too much fabric. Did not wear.
Alot of fabric, not fitted like the picture shows...order a smaller size than you think.
Size worn:
1
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 29, 2012
LOVED THIS DRESS!
It fit perfectly, but was a little longer than expected. I had to tape it to make it a tad shorter but over all loved it!
Size worn:
5
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
October 11, 2012
Fits Strangely
I got this dress for an engagement party in July & thought it would be super comfortable & loose fitting which I thought would be perfect for an outdoor party in the heat of July. However the top was huge and the bottom was so tight around my thighs! It looks unfitted in the picture but there's an elastic bottom that makes it tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 27, 2012
Sexy Grecian look
I love this dress... I am tall, and it worked for me. It does run large... I don't remember what size I ordered, but I do remember it being a lot of fabric! It wasn't too short for me, which is great as so many dresses are skimpy due to my height. I wore a regular bra, just tucked the bare shoulder strap underneath the dress :-)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 2, 2013
Too big to consider
The dress was my second choice, but it was way too big to even consider. Perhaps I'd try to order it next time two sizes smaller. :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
1
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 8, 2013
Eye-catcher!
GORGEOUS color! The fit was effortless and the material was nothing but luxurious. Did hang a bit but I'm sure a smaller size would have cured that. Enjoy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
1
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
January 23, 2013
Love!
Love this dress! Very flattering! I thought it may be too short since i'm 5'8 but it wasn't all. I wore it a month after I had our daughter and I felt very comfortable in the way I looked from how it hung on my body.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
August 23, 2010
Super comfortable and forgiving but required a decent amount of double-stick tape in the hem to keep it from looking too sack-like
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 1, 2010
My first dress from RTR, and this one made it a great experience! The fabric breathes and is stretchy, but you feel secure and sucked in. For the bare shoulder, I would recommend double sided tape to secure it to your bra,it moved around on me until I did that. Color is gorgeous and unique - head turner!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Body type: Hourglass
February 11, 2011
The dress was a big hit! I loved the fit and the color is beautiful. I also did similar jewelry! I found the fit to be a little big, but not too much. Loved it! Perfect for the summer wedding I attended!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
March 7, 2011
An awesome dress! I wore it to a birthday party in February, and the dress totally worked for winter (with silver jewelry). It was really comfy and a very flattering fit. Loved it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
March 7, 2011
Great for beach vacation. Looks fabulous on! True to size.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 27, 2011
This dress is great material and super comfortable, but was a bit large. Because of the drapey material it worked, but I wish I had gotten a size smaller than what I normally wear. Great color and loved the dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 55
Body type: Pear
May 2, 2011
I had a 6 and an 8 delivered and the 6 fit perfectly (I wear an 8 pant). Very comfortable and easy to wear. Lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 9, 2011
What an awesome rental! this dress looks smashing and fits exactly to size, if anything a bit bigger. If you a size 0-2 in any normal dress definitely get the 0. Its drapey so you dont want it to look too huge. The color is great against anyone with a little bit of color! Got tons of compliments all night!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
May 19, 2011
This dress looked a little sloppy on me. The bottom half was extremely tight around my butt (I've got a little junk) and thights but the top portion flowed over my shoulder and torso in a very sloppy manner. This was my back-up dress to the Mark & James Draped Dream dress in the peacock blue color which was fabulous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
June 14, 2011
I still get emails about this dress...and I refer everyone to Rent the Runway! I wish I owned this one!
I love this dress and recieved soooo many compliments...but it runs HUGE!! I wish I would have ordered 2 sizes down. I used double sided tape to make it storter....i would rent again, just smaller!
View photos (2)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
June 23, 2011
Love the Dress!! Drapes wonderfully to accentuate and flatter the body. I wore it for a Girl's Night Out and it definitely turned heads. Fabulous color would compliment any skin tone.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 24, 2011
Love this dress!
I ABSOLUTELY LOVED this dress. I wore it to an awards ceremony and everyone raved about it (I'm in our newspaper for Best Dressed!)Im a size 8-10 normally and so I got the size 4 and it was still a little bit large. Definitely size down!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
July 1, 2011
size down if you want the dress to be a little more fitted and show off more leg! great dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 5, 2011
I rented this dress for a night out in South Beach. It fit perfectly, was very comfortable, and flattered my curves. It was a bit long for South Beach, but I got numerous complements nonetheless. I would definitely rent this dress again for a classier occasion.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 7, 2011
I received more compliments at my friend's wedding ... and this dress could not have been a more comfortable fit with all of the dancing that night! I will absolutely be renting this again :) Great color, great fit, super comfortable & flattering.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 1, 2011
Love this dress!!! Great color will make your eyes sparkle!!! I received so many compliments and felt no restriction with dancing or eating. This dress will stand out in a sea of black !!! Suggest ordering the size down,larger size will fit you but will be longer. Awesome dress, wish I could keep it!!!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 26, 2011
I wore this dress to a friend's summer wedding. I am pretty short and have a large bust, so I was not too sure how this dress would look, but it was amazing! The material is a little stretchy, so I wore the smallest size and it hugged my curves perfectly. I got tons of compliments, and had a wonderful time enjoying the wedding and this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 22, 2011
love! maybe fave?!
I usually wear about a 4 in dresses and rented the 0 in this dress. Definitely fit perfectly... so go a size smaller! LOVED this dress. Felt depressed upon sending it back. Got a million compliments and feel the urge to rent it again. Was so elegant, comfortable, and glamorous! Wore a necklace I had that looks just like the one shown; definitely wear a chunky necklace. Bracelet- a big gold braided cuff. Also wore nude patent leather strappy heels. LOVED IT.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
November 16, 2011
Love it !
This dress is a show stopper! Super comfy but hot. Be sure to order a size or two down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 28, 2011
This dress was a great start to my wedding weekend!
I wore this dress for our wedding weekend, and everyone loved it. I was constantly getting compliments on the color and the overall style. I was a little bigger, than I expected, and I would suggest getting a size smaller than usual. But its a great choice if you are hoping to hide or conceal a tummy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
3
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 25, 2012
Beautiful material and color!!
I rented this dress as a back up, but never wore it. It was beautiful but would have been a bit large and longer than shown on the model. It does drape beautifully!!!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
July 8, 2012
Beautiful and comfortable!
I have never gotten so many compliments on a dress in my life! This dress was absolutely perfect for the summer wedding I attended. The material kept you cool and the fabric fits loose to the body. It runs true to size, but I would recommend sizing down for your back-up size. Great dress! Thank you, RTR!!!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
1
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
July 22, 2012
Beautiful dress and still got compliments, but personally wasn't really a fan.
This is definitely a nice dress and is very comfortable...drape-y just isn't the most flattering style for me. I rented this for fun as a back up dress, just to see. It does run large. The size 1 (size 4 equiv) had plenty of room and at the time I was actually probably more of a size 6.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
3
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 10, 2012
Great for travel
Wore this at a summer indoor evening wedding. It ran larger than other Yigal dress I have rented. Still workable, of course, since this cut is forgiving in sizing in general. I loved how this dress traveled; it got some wrinkles in the process of flying, but you couldn't tell. This cut would flatter almost anyone. Forgiving in the waist and flattering elsewhere.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
August 19, 2012
Cute - not my personal style
Loved the color - not crazy about the fabric. I think sizing was pretty true based on the sizes offered - the 0 would have worked if I had worn it the event. Material was a little less expensive looking that I had hoped, but was comfortable to wear and easy to sit in. Just not the best representation of my style.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 9, 2013
Very comfortable, flattering
I think this dress would be flattering on any shape and it was incredibly comfortable! Looks exactly as pictured. Very happy with this rental, would recommend to anyone!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
5
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 22, 2013
Absolutely Perfect.
I rented this dress for my last sorority formal and I am so glad I did. As a bigger girl, I didn't want anything too tight, but not a paper sack. This dress was perfect. The color was amazing and I got compliments all night from everyone. Some say it runs too big, but I think it runs fairly true to size. However, if you are thinner, I can see how it may be too baggy. I accessorized with silver and blue (which I thought looked the best). I would definitely recommend wearing a pair of seamless spanx to give the smooth illusion. Overall- best dress I have ever rented. I wish I could keep it. Seriously.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 113lbs
July 3, 2013
A bit of a risk for me, but I loved it!!
I loved this dress so much. I am petite with a full bust and I usually choose shift or sheath dresses so I can wear a standard bra. I totally went out of my comfort zone with this dress, and I'm so glad I did! I took the advice of a past reviewer and wore a standard bra with one strapped tucked into my strapless Spanx, which worked great--I felt like I had much more support than I would have with a strapless bra. The color was gorgeous and really stands out in a crowd. I wore the dress to an outdoor wedding rehearsal followed by a river cruise to the post-rehearsal party. I was worried that the sleeve might be uncomfortably hot on a humid June afternoon/evening in Eastern NC--but it wasn't at all. The fabric is very light and breathes well. My only issue was the length, as other reviewers have mentioned. I tried to tape the hem but it didn't work well. Pins may have worked better. Otherwise, it was perfect. I wore it with nude patent espadrilles and the Alexis Bittar Quartz Scale chandelier earrings, and carried an off-white Tory Burch clutch. I got so many compliments. Seriously, this is an awesome dress.
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×