Selma Gown

$260 rental
$1495 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This Yigal Azrouel gown is red hot elegance. Perfect for showing off your chic style at a city wedding or black tie event.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust yet fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - dress is most fitted at the waist
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women; slit comes up to about mid thigh
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX due to the thin nature of the fabric
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust yet fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - dress is most fitted at the waist
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women; slit comes up to about mid thigh
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX due to the thin nature of the fabric
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Red and black silk crepe de chine(100% silk). One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. Front slit. Exposed black side zip. Made in USA. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
53 reviews
Fit
Large7
True to Size46
Small0
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 3, 2012
The slit in the dress was fun and flowy - I felt sexy and confident in this dress!
Rented this for a black tie gala we hosted and the dress was very elegant and comfortable to wear. It fits true to size and the Long left me with enough length to wear heels (I'm 5'7''). Only drawback was that for an expensive, designer dress, the fabric didn't feel "high end." It had no lining and was very thin.
JessicaJuly 4, 2012
you look beautiful in the picture... I'm 119, 5' 5'' and my bust size is 32DD... two questions: I'm definitely going to order a size 2 but should my back up be 0 or 4....and do you think I should order the 2R or 2L, I'm planning on wearing 3 inch heals...
RTRJuly 24, 2012
Hi Jessica, we recommend the long in this style with heels. The dress measures 61'' from shoulder to hem. We recommend sizing down for your back up size based on your measurements.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
May 2, 2012
NA
I had to host an awards show so I rented this dress! I loved it. I ordered a 2L and the length and fit was perfect! I am 5'8" and wore maybe 3 inch heels and the dress hit the floor perfectly! The only thing that was a slight issue was the very high slit up the front of the dress! I used the double sided tape that was provided to help lessen the slit! Loved the dress and received a TON of compliments!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
April 14, 2012
Great dress!
This dress is amazing but I had a huge issue with the face there's a very large black zipper on the right side of the dress that isn't shown in the picture. It'd be fine if it was just on the black part of the dress but it's almost 8 inches long and takes away from the red. I didn't end up wearing it but it was very comfortable and the slit was great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
April 2, 2012
Disappointing
Little surprised that the size zipper was one of those inverted zippers and black - that ran all the way down the red skirt. Didn't actually wear because of it plus the two sizes that I received were not in very good shape. Appeared worn just recently.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 144lbs
March 29, 2012
Lisa Lovett Smith, once an Editor of Vogue, complimented me on my dress! It doesn't get better than that! She is in the African styled ensemble in the photos! *hearts*
I rented this dress for a Black Tie Gala at the St. Regis NYC. My backup size was not available so I was nervous about renting but it worked PERFECTLY!! My measurements are 34-28-39 and the dress flattered my waist and my hips. I wore a regular VS strapless bra with no problems. Very sexy, yet formal. I received many compliments and caught some smiles and winks. Loved it!! Recommended! I matched it with Chamak Black Ice bangles and Kenneth Jay Lane Emerald earrings, and my own Chanel.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
March 25, 2012
Too wrinkled to wear
I unfortunately couldn't wear the dress as looked a mess upon delivery. I tried steaming it but it was so wrinkled (looked like it had been balled up and shoved in a bag) it looked terrible. The hem at the bottom was also ragged and showing. It fit great and looked good on my body though my boyfriend didn't love the exposed zipper on the side. RTR sent me another dress by mistake and it actually looked good and I had nothing else to wear so I ended up wearing that one. Sad because I thought this dress was very beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 24, 2012
Loved, loved, LOVED this dress
I recently rented this dress for a black tie party just before Valentine's Day. When I was browsing it immediately caught my eye, and reading other's reviews it confirmed my decision. My first choice dress was another Yigal Azrouel and chose this one as a back-up. When I opened the package, RTR actually had sent me the first choice wrong dress, but when I tried on the Selma gown, it fit perfectly and looked so elegant. I am 5' 7" with a long waist and shorter legs. I wore this with about 1 1/2" heel and the length was perfect. I didn't need a bra, but did choose to wear Spanx underneath to smooth out my mid section. Probably didn't need it. The fabric is light and has a lovely drape. The slit in the front does come up a little high, but it added some sexiness to the dress without it being over the top. I got tons of compliments all night, but the best part was that I felt great and mu husband loved it :) I would upload photos, but the files are too large. Highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 4, 2012
Love this dress!!
This dress fit perfect. It was extremely flattering and slimming. When you walk you can see the slit (also while you sit). I received so many compliments on it...telling me it was the classiest dress at the wedding. I loved the dress and would wear it again!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 16, 2012
Amazing!
absolutely gorgeous dress and it fits perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
January 7, 2012
Beautiful dress!
Although I did not end up wearing this dress (I wore my second choice) it was absolutely beautiful! Fabric is very light & fluid but not see through. The length was perfect with 31/2 inch heels. The top was a little snug but you couldn't tell because the fabric draped across your shoulder and I think the 4L would've been too big through hips. Very comfortable and if I did wear it probably would've used a little double sided tape at top of slit to hold close because slit ran all the way to waist but very sexy. Would definitely rent again for another formal affair.
CaitlinJanuary 30, 2012
Can I ask how tall you are? Or how high of a heel you wore? Thanks, Caitlin
RTRJanuary 30, 2012
Hi Caitlin! The L length in this dress is best for heights 5'6" and over and you are able to wear about a 3-4 inch heel!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 5, 2012
love this dress!
i really loved this dress! i am normally between and 8 and a 10 and i only received the 10 in the mail. i wore it and got a TON of complements but would have felt more comfortable if i ordered the 8. the slit is definitely high so i wouldn't recommend wearing this to an extremely formal event because when you walk or sit you see a lot of leg! love the fit of this dress and everything about it.. order it if you are on the edge! :) thanks for the wonderful customer service rent the runway!
EspritMarch 13, 2012
We have the same measurements so I was curious as to what height heels you wore and where it hit you at the bottom...thanks!
EspritMarch 13, 2012
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 7, 2011
great dress! so pretty on!
loved this dress i felt like a princess! i am short ( 5 foot). i had to pin it up even though i was wearing heels but besides that i was very happy with it!
MichelleMay 1, 2012
Hey - can I ask how tall the heels were you were wearing? I'm 5'1" and thinking about renting this dress. Thanks!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
November 16, 2011
Absolutely amazing!
I loved this dress! The fabric was amazing. The slit in the front was an added bonus! It still had the tags on it when I received it! Definitely get this dress! Runs true to size.
JenniferNovember 29, 2011
I am 5'2 and I wore 4 inch heels and it worked very well! because of the slit I didn't step on the dress any. definitely would recommend!
JessicaDecember 7, 2011
How see through is the fabric on the bottom?? If I wore spanx would you be able to see them lol
JenniferDecember 11, 2011
it's not see through at all. just depends how open you let the slit be really.
MeganDecember 16, 2011
what color is the bottom portion? it looks orange in the picture but red in your pictures, thanks!
JenniferDecember 28, 2011
it is red, a very pretty bold red.
BrandyJanuary 16, 2012
is it stretchy at all? or super tight?
JenniferJanuary 16, 2012
it's not stretchy, but the only place you could say it would be tight is where it zips up the side but I had no problem zipping it! if you're scared about the size I would order your regular size and the backup smaller.
AmandaFebruary 3, 2012
This dress looked amazing! I am thinking of renting it for an upcoming military ball and seeing you in it next to your husband in his uniform pretty much seals the deal for me.
JenniferFebruary 14, 2012
well thank you :)
JenniferFebruary 14, 2012
also I won the weekly style award in this dress! if that helps anyone!
LaurenMarch 13, 2012
How long is this dress? I am 5'11 and wondering if it will be too short..
JenniferMarch 14, 2012
I would say depends on your heels. with the long you should be good. I'm 5'1 and wore 5 inch heels and mine still drug the floor. hope that helps :)
RTRApril 9, 2012
Hi Lauren! The long length measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11). This length would be best for you in a 2" heel!
KimberlyOctober 12, 2015
Love you energy Kellynista! This is my first time- I'm nervous
View photos (3)
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×