Want And Wonder Gown

$89 to buy
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Let the music take over the room and work this Vera Wang Lavender dark teal gown at the gala! Wear earrings like the Kenneth Jay Lane's Emerald Drop Earrings and Elizabeth Cole’s Crystal Navette Bloom Ring to get the ultimate glam goddess look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size –comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – women curvy around their midsection should consider sizing up
HIPS: Not Fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'2'' to 5'7''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7'' to 5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size –comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – women curvy around their midsection should consider sizing up
HIPS: Not Fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'2'' to 5'7''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7'' to 5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Charcoal silk chiffon (100% silk). Sleeveless. V neckline. A-line skirt with front slit and beaded belt. Hidden side zipper. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
70 reviews
Fit
Large
(7)
True to Size
(60)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 13, 2013
Felt like a movie star!
I loved this dress - it was so flowy and I felt so beautiful in it and got compliments all night! I rented a 4 and a 6 and ended up wearing the 4... The 6 was just overall too big on me (I wear anywhere froma 4 to an 8 depending on how a brand or designer cuts their clothes). The one thing I would caution you on is that the slit is VERY high (mid thigh) and will reveal your crotch if you sit wrong in it. Also, I am very flat chested, so I had to use some fashion tape to keep from revealing myself up top... But that happens to me with 90% of the dresses I wear and I expected that to happen.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
January 8, 2013
This was my first time using RTR and I will absolutely recommend it to friends.
The only issue with this dress was the slit, It is very deceiving in the photos. I am just shy of 5'3 so that could of had something to do with it, but when i sat down the slit went up to my stomach, which is obviously unacceptable. However, I bought a black skirt slip to go under it and it worked perfectly. It looked like it was part of the dress and saved me from an inevitable wardrobe malfunction. I received so many compliments at the Military Ball and felt beautiful in this dress. Aside from the slit- I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 4, 2013
Felt amazing in this nice alternative to a full-length gown.
I was so excited to receive the dress, but was quickly disappointed when I realized RTR failed to send the beaded sash on either size! Luckily I was able to find an expensive alternative so I could still wear the dress. The dress is beautiful, but Hollywood Tape is a must to keep the top and straps in place. Also, you really do need to watch sitting as the slit is right in the middle, so I did worry I might have my own Anne Hathaway moment. As another review mentioned, no Spanx required for this dress as the fabric does well to hide any curves. All in all, loved wearing this dress. RTR even gave me a free future rental for failing to provide the belt, so they definitely made up for the inconvenience.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
January 2, 2013
Show off those sexy legs!
I wore this dress for a December wedding. I really liked the color, and although the length of the slit surprised me at first (nearly to the groin), I loved how it showed off my legs! It fit nicely around the hips and flowed perfectly for dancing. The long length worked very well for me with 3 inch heels. However, it was too loose on top. Even with a strapless padded bra, I still had to pin the front up. Also, I could tell that the dress had been worn a few times before (yes, I realize it is a rental). It had a number of loose strands, and the zipper was stubborn. Overall I was happy with this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 1, 2013
A very elegant dress, pleasantly surprised me
This was my #2 choice, but I ended up wearing this dress rather than the one I planned. It is more blue than lavender despite its name. However, it looked much more elegant in person than on the photograph shown here. It was true to my size (4), and was exactly the perfect length with 3.5" heels. I highly recommend you giving this dress a chance. I rented it for a black-tie occasion with a very affluent crowd, and felt appropriately dressed. I received quite a few compliments from both men and women.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 1, 2013
Beautiful fabric and color, but more revealing than it looks!
I rented this dress as a back up to my first choice for a New Year's Eve wedding. I tried both the 4R and the 6R. I was swimming in the 6R, but the 4R was much too revealing for a wedding. I wouldn't recommend this dress for anyone bigger than a B cup. The slit in the front goes all the way up, and I would have had to pin it shut.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 16, 2012
Absolutely breathtaking. Luxury to the fullest!!
I wore this lovely dress at our corporate holiday party. I received countless compliments. The fit is true to its size. I absolutely adore the color. I love the idea of wearing designer dresses without spending a fortune. The money Ive spent so far on all my holiday and party outfits from the past was a huge mistake. They are now collecting dust and out of style :-) Thank you so much for giving me that one memorable event :-)
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
December 12, 2012
Sexy, classy, unique - all at the same time!
I ordered this dress for a wedding and it was a hit! I received tons of compliments on it and it was super fun to wear. The dress ties like a wrap dress. I loved the slit in the front, except it was slit really high and I needed to pin it closed so that there were no big reveals. It was a perfect solution and remained hidden. Amazing dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 4, 2012
Beautiful but too low cut and high cut to be comfortable.
The material and dress are beautiful. Unfortunately the dress would have required a lot of fashion tape to keep the top in place, and I would have been worried about the high slight the entire evening. I ended up going with my backup dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 129lbs
December 4, 2012
So flowy! Felt beautiful in it!
Was a little big in hip area...cld have worn a size smaller. So cool how it opens when you walk...was a tad long...had to pin up for my dance comp.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 28, 2012
The dress was more beautiful than I could have imagined and it fit perfect.
The description said the color was charcoal grey but the dress was really a beautiful shade of blue, which was a nice surprise for me. It fit very well and did not gap at the armholes. I was worried the dress may be too long as I am only 5' 4". It was a little long, even with heels, but the style of the dress made it appear as though it was intended to be that way rather than in need of a hem. Overall, a beautiful dress and I would highly recommend it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 27, 2012
Great color - too much skin
I rented this as a back-up dress for a black-tie wedding. I thought the color was gorgeous and the top of the dress was very flattering. Unfortunately, as others have noted, the slit up the front comes up VERY high and there's no way I could wear the dress out. Beautiful, though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
November 26, 2012
beautiful gown for a formal event
I wore this dress recently for a holiday formal event. The size 6 fit better, but because of how high the front slit is and being a pear shape, I ended up wearing the 8 because I felt like it gave more coverage in the legs. The 6 fit better on top but both the 6 and 8 are very low cut (more so than it seems on the model) and I needed to use fashion tape to keep my bra from showing. That all being said, this gown is lovely and I got so many compliments all night. It was comfortable and the length worked well with 3.5 inch heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
November 21, 2012
Chose the other dress I ordered.
It has a big slit in front that would have kept opening all night. The back is very pretty, from the front it isn't all that exciting, although I liked the color. I give it an "eh".
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 21, 2012
Gorgeous, flowy dress
Very low cut in the bust, very high slit -- nothing a few skillfully-placed safety pins can't fix!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 16, 2012
complements all night!
i fell in love with this gown when i found it on rent the runway. i loved it even more when it arrived!! the 0R fit perfectly and just hit the floor with my heels. the V in the front is VERY deep and I have a larger chest so i used some fashion tape to keep everything in. the slit up the front is very sexy but be careful not to walk super fast or else it might show a little too much. I opted not to wear the belt but over all it was a gorgeous dress. rent the runway never lets me down!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
November 13, 2012
Amazing dress! I wore it for a black tie wedding. Pretty color. I got lots of compliments
Overall, the dress is very flattering. The fabric is fluid and it was comfortable to wear. The belt makes the dress sexy. I wore the 2R size and it was the right size for me (5.5 and 115 lbs.).The cut is modern and elegant. The neckline is very deep-plunging though so I had to use a bobby pin to keep the dress in place. Nobody was able to notice it since I easily hide the bobby pin in the chiffon folds of the dress! The slit in the leg is very revealing as well so watch out for the wind if the event is outside… I wore 3 inch heels and the back of the dress was touching the floor.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 12, 2012
Darn that Sandy..!
It came in a couple hours too late due to the delivery disturbance of Hurricane Sandy. RTR was very upfront from the get go that they had been effected by the storm & they were trying the best they could for everyone to still get their dresses on time. Emily M (stylist) was very prompt with all correspondence. AMAZING Customer Service unlike any I have ever experienced--especially in retail. I did try the size 2R on after I got home. I Loved it! I felt like I will need to go get 4in. platform heals if I rent this dress again. Also fashion tape will be a must for the low V neckline.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 10, 2012
Could not wear it because of the slit
Big disappointment:(. When I walked the slit went up to my mid-thigh, and considering the slit is in the front middle it goes with out saying that it was VERY revealing. Also the neckline was much deeper than I expected and would have required fashion tape to keep everything in place. The belt looked kind of cheap. All said and done I could not wear this dress because of the slit alone, luckily I ordered two dresses.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
October 31, 2012
Sexy & beautiful fabric & cut!
The cut and fabric of this dress is so sexy and beautiful, it really hugs your body and feels incredibly good on! The neckline was too deep-plunging though, since I have a bigger bust (34F), so I opted for my back-up gown more in my comfort zone...thank goodness for the option to add a different dress for $25! My curvy hips also made the leg slit open a bit wider than when it's on the hanger. The 6R fit really well and for such a whispy fabric, I was very surprised that the cut was very forgiving in the waist-area...no Spanx required! I'm 5"2 and wore 3" heals and the length was perfect, the back just dusted the floor. The silk chiffon overlay is attached to the lining in a way that won't let it fly away & reveal too much, and the lining is supposed to show a little as part of the dress design. I'd order this again for an event that I could be a little more daring at, & would order an 8R to give me more support in the chest along and add a deep-V strapless bra. RTR is SO easy & efficient. They email you the shipping confirmation so you can track your package when it's on its way to you. If you log into your RTR account, it already includes the tracking link for your package on the way so you can check when RTR receives it. They've thought of everything!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 109lbs
October 29, 2012
I loved the mix of classic romance with a contemporary edge. This dress was unique and romantic
I was nervous about my first rental experience but it was a dream. The dress was as pictured and the size was perfect. My date loved my dress and multiple people used the terms "stunning" and "lost for words"... Such a beautiful, unique gown. The only issue I had was the that the thigh-high split was dangerous in a strong gust of wind and I had to keep it in check when sitting down to ensure it remained in place. The added bonus of Hollywood tape was an absolute necessity for this neckline. I am 5'7. Wore 4" heals and the length was perfect. The regular would have been too short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
October 23, 2012
The dress fit so well. I received so many compliments throughout the night. I loved it!
The fit around the waist was great, no need to suck anything in. It was amazing. The fabric was so comfortable. I was a little nervous ordering the 4R because I run between a 4 and 6. The 4R was perfect. For me the dress was a little long so I had to be sure to wear some good heals. The slit up the front was very high and so as an extra precaution I bought a black slip that looked like it was part of the dress so I didn’t have to worry about any unwanted exposure. The belt was lovely but I opted not to wear it. I highly recommend!
KimberlyOctober 31, 2012
jackie- the dress looks amazing on you! i rented this for an event i have next week. i am nervous about the comments about people saying its large in the bust but yours looks awesome. was it tight on you up top?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
October 22, 2012
Did not wear this dress - too big on top. Wound up buying a Sue Wong dress at Neiman Outlet.
Too long & but was too big. I am a 36 B & it was still really loose on top- the shoulders straps were also too long. Not happy. The belt was kind of cheap looking.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 22, 2012
Loved this dress! It was my backup, and made me wish I had another event to attend.
I didn't wind up wearing this, but I did love it. Yes, it does show plenty more leg than the picture suggests, but for me that's a good thing. It's light, very comfortable, and flows nicely when you walk. It can be worn easily with a regular racer-back bra. I'm rather small-chested, so I would have required some tape to keep the top from gaping. It's very flattering, and I doubt I would have needed spanx in this one. I'm 5'9", and this worked perfectly with about 1 1/2" heels. I wish I could have worn this as well as the Nicole Miller's Silver Lining Gown!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
October 19, 2012
everyone commented how fantastic I looked the the pictures
the dress fit perfect in the armpits, waist and hips bit it was major gaposis in the bust. I had to use wardrobe tape and pin it three times.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 17, 2012
Plunging neckline and very deep slit!
This dress is beautiful! This dress has a very plunging neckline, that I had to use a safety pin, so that I would feel more comfortable. I found that the slit on the dress is very deep, too. I think it's because I have wide hips, so even when just standing, my thigh/leg was exposed. Very long length. I wore 4 inch heels and had to keep picking up my dress when walking up/down steps, so that I wouldn't trip. Although, I admit to the discomfort of the dress, I do not regret my rental. I felt pretty and had so many compliments from both men and women because of this dress.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
October 13, 2012
Beautiful color. The lining feels luxurious.
You need HIGH heels (we're talking 5") if you are under 5'3". I am a smidge over 5'1" - just not tall enough to keep the hem from dragging the floor without wearing a platform heel - and that starts to get out of my comfort zone. I really needed a petite size - unfortunately, the only options were regular and long - I really liked the dress, so I took a chance and ordered the regular size. I am short-waisted, so the top half was a bit low on me, but I was wiling to fix everything in place with fashion tape. The split in the front draped a little oddly - the lining was showing - I think I could have fixed that with shapewear - or I could have used some fashion tape there, too - I didn't pull out the fashion tape to address the low bust or the split concerns because I couldn't do anything to change the hem length. I didn't order a backup size because I figured (correctly) that a larger dress would be too low on the sides (the underarm area) and a smaller dress would be too snug on the hips (and possibly the bust). I enjoyed the experience of trying on the dress and getting familiar with Rent the Runway.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
October 12, 2012
Great first time experience with renttherunway!
I've never really had a good experience with ordering clothing online but my first time experience with renttherunway was awesome! Everything went extremely smoothly! I was so pleased =) The process of picking sizes was very well guided, the dress arrived exactly when it said it would (with an email reminder of it's arrival as well), the dress fit just like it looked on the model. The return process was so easy too. Everyone LOVED my dress (and kept telling me so throughout the night) It was comfortable, flowed nicely, and i felt pretty and elegant in it. Overall I think renttherunway provides/runs a great impeccable service and I was incredibly satisfied. I will definitely use this again and I've already recommended it to so many people ;)
AndreaOctober 15, 2012
What's the best length for a 5'7" chick? R or L?
RTR CustomerOctober 16, 2012
Hi Andrea! We recommend ordering a Long length for all heights over 5'7" with at least a 3" heel
IsisOctober 25, 2012
You look gorgeous!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 10, 2012
A unique style that made me stand out and was flattering.
Pros: Comfortable, amazing fabric, great color Cons: Top too low-cut, wind/walking to fast can end up showing too much leg
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 8, 2012
gorgeous dress for black tie wedding
loved this dress! i rented a 4 and a 6 - the 4 actually fit perfectly except if you're bigger on the bottom it will open the slit pretty high in the front and i wanted a more conservative look for this wedding. i wore the 6 so i would be comfortable and used fashion tape to make sure the top stayed put. the dress is also quite long, it hit the floor and i was in 5 inch heels, so probably best for those 5'5 and over.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×