You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Want And Wonder Gown
Rental $135 Retail $595
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Let the music take over the room and work this Vera Wang Lavender dark teal gown at the gala! Wear earrings like the Kenneth Jay Lane's Emerald Drop Earrings and Elizabeth Cole’s Crystal Navette Bloom Ring to get the ultimate glam goddess look.
Chat with a Stylist
Charcoal silk chiffon (100% silk). Sleeveless. V neckline. A-line skirt with front slit and beaded belt. Hidden side zipper. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size –comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – women curvy around their midsection should consider sizing up
HIPS: Not Fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'2'' to 5'7''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7'' to 5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
This style is currently unavailable.
Shop all dresses
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos25

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

TM
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6531
Mar 22, 2013
Great choice for black tie affair
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
beauitful dress, comfortable (but high slit), many compliments, photographs well, great color
nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4623
Mar 8, 2013
If only it looked as good in person as in the picture!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It is a beautiful dress and the color is striking. Even with 4 inch heels, the back of the dress trailed on the ground. When I walked down the stairs, the front slit opened too much and the top would probably fit better on someone with a larger chest. I also thought the belt was very cheaply made as compared to the rest of the dress. The dress arrived with both belt loops broken. RTR was incredibly responsive and offered to refund the rental price when I contacted them upon discovering this issue. Thankfully--this was my back up and the other dress I ordered worked perfectly for my event.
VScott
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Mar 4, 2013
Sexy black tie dress!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit well (normally a 4 or 6 and wore the 4R)- long but perfect if you wear 3" heels. I had to use tape for the chest otherwise you can see your bra a bit. The only other issue is the slit- very sexy and centered so it goes almost up to groin area when you walk. I wore a short black mini skirt underneath just to feel a bit more comfortable and it looked perfect- just like part of the dress! Overall beautiful color and lots of fun to wear.
TK
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8633
Feb 27, 2013
Loved this dress...easy to wear and not too much glitz for a party/fundraiser.
Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fabric is great, comfortable. The bodice gaps but I fixed that with a lace bandeau over my strapless bra. I'm not fond of hollywood tape. Length was perfect...no trips, catches, falls with 2.5" heel. The rental gown was in perfect condition on arrival, no signs of excessive wear.
Austin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5631
Feb 11, 2013
Dress was beautiful and flowy. Very elegant.
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
True to size. The slits were deep, but you can pin the top. Kind of fun to stalk around with a deep bottom split that showed some leg! Regular is long in length. Compliments from both men and women.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7443
Feb 10, 2013
HIGH Slit.
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't think it was too low cut, but the slit was completely unacceptable. I was trying the size smaller than I should have ordered, but still how the dress fit my hips made the slit pull open and expose most of my legs up to high thigh. I did think the beaded belt was very pretty, and the material was nice. I would size up for your backup size.
Jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5631
Feb 10, 2013
When someone was overheard to ask who is that? Referring to me!
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit perfect. I used just a little clothing tape to keep the front together. I wore this to a formal but flip flop, tennis shoe function. I am 5'6". And this was the perfect length for going with my Jack Rogers platinum sandals. A heel would work with it too.
JB-ATL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2634
Feb 5, 2013
Gorgeous blue satin lining and sheer overlayer that floats
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this gorgeous evening gown for the "formal night" on a 5 day Caribbean cruise. Walking up and down stairs, the dress just floated around me - definite leg exposure! Very elegant and just a fantastic shade of blue - not sure what to call it but it is a very flattering color for my red hair. Word to the wise: fashion tape will help you avoid a "wardrobe malfunction". I got the 2 and the 0 and the smaller size fit best.
Nat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3623
Feb 4, 2013
Beautiful dress for a great price. Amazing service!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Definitely needed tape for the top as it was very low cut on me and had to tape the slit so I could dance without flashing everyone! I wore 3" heels and it trailed the floor just a bit. The dress is gorgeous, I felt great in it and got lots of compliments from men and women! All in all very happy that I used RTR and will do again.
mina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Feb 3, 2013
Beautiful dress will make you look amazing if it fits.
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Im usually size 4 and after reading the reviews I was looking at size 2R, but it was unavailable. I went ahead and got the 4R. Although it is beautiful and the movement of it while you walk will make you look like a goddess, it is too big (Im 30" below my breast - the dress was 2" bigger). If you get the right size the top should not be a problem. If not fashion tape helps to keep the dress in place. The length was perfect: I am 5' 4" and used 3" heels and the dress was just touching the floor. The slit was in the right place and it did not overexposed skin.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Jan 13, 2013
Felt like a movie star!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress - it was so flowy and I felt so beautiful in it and got compliments all night! I rented a 4 and a 6 and ended up wearing the 4... The 6 was just overall too big on me (I wear anywhere froma 4 to an 8 depending on how a brand or designer cuts their clothes). The one thing I would caution you on is that the slit is VERY high (mid thigh) and will reveal your crotch if you sit wrong in it. Also, I am very flat chested, so I had to use some fashion tape to keep from revealing myself up top... But that happens to me with 90% of the dresses I wear and I expected that to happen.
Julia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4534
Jan 1, 2013
A very elegant dress, pleasantly surprised me
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my #2 choice, but I ended up wearing this dress rather than the one I planned. It is more blue than lavender despite its name. However, it looked much more elegant in person than on the photograph shown here. It was true to my size (4), and was exactly the perfect length with 3.5" heels. I highly recommend you giving this dress a chance. I rented it for a black-tie occasion with a very affluent crowd, and felt appropriately dressed. I received quite a few compliments from both men and women.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Jan 1, 2013
Beautiful fabric and color, but more revealing than it looks!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress as a back up to my first choice for a New Year's Eve wedding. I tried both the 4R and the 6R. I was swimming in the 6R, but the 4R was much too revealing for a wedding. I wouldn't recommend this dress for anyone bigger than a B cup. The slit in the front goes all the way up, and I would have had to pin it shut.
maia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Dec 12, 2012
Sexy, classy, unique - all at the same time!
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress for a wedding and it was a hit! I received tons of compliments on it and it was super fun to wear. The dress ties like a wrap dress. I loved the slit in the front, except it was slit really high and I needed to pin it closed so that there were no big reveals. It was a perfect solution and remained hidden. Amazing dress!
S
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Dec 4, 2012
Beautiful but too low cut and high cut to be comfortable.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The material and dress are beautiful. Unfortunately the dress would have required a lot of fashion tape to keep the top in place, and I would have been worried about the high slight the entire evening. I ended up going with my backup dress.
Livonb
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 129 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5633
Dec 4, 2012
So flowy! Felt beautiful in it!
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Was a little big in hip area...cld have worn a size smaller. So cool how it opens when you walk...was a tad long...had to pin up for my dance comp.
coshoegal
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5633
Nov 28, 2012
The dress was more beautiful than I could have imagined and it fit perfect.
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The description said the color was charcoal grey but the dress was really a beautiful shade of blue, which was a nice surprise for me. It fit very well and did not gap at the armholes. I was worried the dress may be too long as I am only 5' 4". It was a little long, even with heels, but the style of the dress made it appear as though it was intended to be that way rather than in need of a hem. Overall, a beautiful dress and I would highly recommend it.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Nov 27, 2012
Great color - too much skin
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this as a back-up dress for a black-tie wedding. I thought the color was gorgeous and the top of the dress was very flattering. Unfortunately, as others have noted, the slit up the front comes up VERY high and there's no way I could wear the dress out. Beautiful, though!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Nov 26, 2012
beautiful gown for a formal event
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress recently for a holiday formal event. The size 6 fit better, but because of how high the front slit is and being a pear shape, I ended up wearing the 8 because I felt like it gave more coverage in the legs. The 6 fit better on top but both the 6 and 8 are very low cut (more so than it seems on the model) and I needed to use fashion tape to keep my bra from showing. That all being said, this gown is lovely and I got so many compliments all night. It was comfortable and the length worked well with 3.5 inch heels.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6643
Nov 21, 2012
Chose the other dress I ordered.
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It has a big slit in front that would have kept opening all night. The back is very pretty, from the front it isn't all that exciting, although I liked the color. I give it an "eh".
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Nov 21, 2012
Gorgeous, flowy dress
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very low cut in the bust, very high slit -- nothing a few skillfully-placed safety pins can't fix!
Bueller
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Nov 12, 2012
Darn that Sandy..!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It came in a couple hours too late due to the delivery disturbance of Hurricane Sandy. RTR was very upfront from the get go that they had been effected by the storm & they were trying the best they could for everyone to still get their dresses on time. Emily M (stylist) was very prompt with all correspondence. AMAZING Customer Service unlike any I have ever experienced--especially in retail. I did try the size 2R on after I got home. I Loved it! I felt like I will need to go get 4in. platform heals if I rent this dress again. Also fashion tape will be a must for the low V neckline.
S
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Nov 10, 2012
Could not wear it because of the slit
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Big disappointment:(. When I walked the slit went up to my mid-thigh, and considering the slit is in the front middle it goes with out saying that it was VERY revealing. Also the neckline was much deeper than I expected and would have required fashion tape to keep everything in place. The belt looked kind of cheap. All said and done I could not wear this dress because of the slit alone, luckily I ordered two dresses.
Mickey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5633
Oct 22, 2012
Did not wear this dress - too big on top. Wound up buying a Sue Wong dress at Neiman Outlet.
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Too long & but was too big. I am a 36 B & it was still really loose on top- the shoulders straps were also too long. Not happy. The belt was kind of cheap looking.
SAMINA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6533
Oct 17, 2012
Plunging neckline and very deep slit!
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is beautiful! This dress has a very plunging neckline, that I had to use a safety pin, so that I would feel more comfortable. I found that the slit on the dress is very deep, too. I think it's because I have wide hips, so even when just standing, my thigh/leg was exposed. Very long length. I wore 4 inch heels and had to keep picking up my dress when walking up/down steps, so that I wouldn't trip. Although, I admit to the discomfort of the dress, I do not regret my rental. I felt pretty and had so many compliments from both men and women because of this dress.
Suzanne
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 6524
Oct 13, 2012
Beautiful color. The lining feels luxurious.
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
You need HIGH heels (we're talking 5") if you are under 5'3". I am a smidge over 5'1" - just not tall enough to keep the hem from dragging the floor without wearing a platform heel - and that starts to get out of my comfort zone. I really needed a petite size - unfortunately, the only options were regular and long - I really liked the dress, so I took a chance and ordered the regular size. I am short-waisted, so the top half was a bit low on me, but I was wiling to fix everything in place with fashion tape. The split in the front draped a little oddly - the lining was showing - I think I could have fixed that with shapewear - or I could have used some fashion tape there, too - I didn't pull out the fashion tape to address the low bust or the split concerns because I couldn't do anything to change the hem length. I didn't order a backup size because I figured (correctly) that a larger dress would be too low on the sides (the underarm area) and a smaller dress would be too snug on the hips (and possibly the bust). I enjoyed the experience of trying on the dress and getting familiar with Rent the Runway.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Oct 10, 2012
A unique style that made me stand out and was flattering.
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Pros: Comfortable, amazing fabric, great color Cons: Top too low-cut, wind/walking to fast can end up showing too much leg
mlm910
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Oct 8, 2012
gorgeous dress for black tie wedding
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
loved this dress! i rented a 4 and a 6 - the 4 actually fit perfectly except if you're bigger on the bottom it will open the slit pretty high in the front and i wanted a more conservative look for this wedding. i wore the 6 so i would be comfortable and used fashion tape to make sure the top stayed put. the dress is also quite long, it hit the floor and i was in 5 inch heels, so probably best for those 5'5 and over.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress