Fit n Flare Dress

$84 to buy
$570 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This dress by Vena Cava is the perfect combo of sexy and sweet. Perfect for a cocktail party or just a night out.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8; Size L=10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fabric is very sketchy
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout bodice - contrast waist band great for creating a waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at fullest part of hips then flares
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10' . )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8; Size L=10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fabric is very sketchy
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout bodice - contrast waist band great for creating a waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at fullest part of hips then flares
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10' . )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black heavy stretch knit. V-neckline with halter strap. Flared skirt body. Hidden back zip. 33" from shoulder to hem.

Share
76 reviews
Fit
Large18
True to Size53
Small4
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
November 3, 2015
Lovely simple black dress!
Very comfortable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
April 8, 2015
Didn't wear it because it was too short
Flattering
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
December 31, 2014
Super flattering and comfy!!
This was my first RTR rental, so I was worried about how it would work. I loved it!! It came right on time which was my main concern, as my school post office often takes a long time with packages. The dress was heavier than I expected but the weight was not noticeable while I was wearing it. The straps were long so I fixed that with some safety pins, but other than that the dress was perfect- the tight waist with a flared skirt is super flattering, I didn't have to pull the dress up all night, and it was long enough to feel comfortable dancing/bowling but it was definitely not too long (especially with heels). Highly recommend this dress!!!
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 24, 2014
Awesome dress. Awkward fit
I tried this on at an RTR shop and loved it. However when I arrived today the straps were way too long. I'm 5'9" and don't think of my torso as short so I'm not sure what the issue was. The shoulder straps just sort of gapped and flipped over. Strange. The fit of the dress is very flattering, even for someone with big hips and a little baby belly. I'm wondering if it's just a bit stretched out in the shoulders?? Too bad I can't wear this but luckily Id purchased another dress. C'est la vie
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
October 20, 2014
Really pretty if you are not worried about a pooch
I renting this for my free birthday rental for being a pro member. I was hoping it would hide my pooch but it did not, Even with Spanx I felt like I had a gut. Fabric is stretchy but you need confidence to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
September 14, 2014
Very flattering shape
Stretchy material made the dress super comfortable to be in for the entire night, straps were slightly loose, but not annoyingly so. Material is very thick so I wouldn't wear if it's going to be really hot, but perfect for fall/winter. Very flattering, got lots of compliments, highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
August 14, 2014
The customer service is great!
It was a snug fit but the band around the neck seemed stretched out which made the dress hang below my chest. I did not wear this dress for my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
August 14, 2014
Super cute for a night out!
I'm short so the small was way too long in the straps and chest. Very fitted through the midsection. I ordered the small and xsmall and ended up wearing the xsmall because the straps were a smidge smaller. I did have to use safety pins for help. Spanx were needed to smooth everything out but the dress does cover the "chicken cutlets" (armpit fat) which was a huge plus. Comfortable dress and didn't ride up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 13, 2014
Fits like a glove
Great fitting dress with a fluted hem - really flattering if you want to show off your figure! I usually wear XS and I ordered the XS - it was skin-tight, like a bandage dress. Loved this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 4, 2014
Loved loved loved this dress!
I actually intended to wear a different dress to my cousin's wedding, with this as my second choice. However, I am so happy that I ended up with this one! I got so many compliments. It was true to size and very flattering!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
July 28, 2014
Bachelorette Party
I wore this for a friends bachelorette party. We were all told to wear little black dresses. This was extremely flattering, comfortable, and cute. It would definitely be hard to wear a bra so I didn't wear one. Also, it is very snug around the stomach area so if you are self conscious about that it may not be the dress for you. I would rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
July 12, 2014
Meh
The dress is just okay. It is a little long and a bit matronly really...it's not the best for a date night or birthday which is what I wore it for.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 5, 2014
Walking in and feeling great in my dress like everyone was watching me
The dress was form fitting in the torso which I liked, and was a very sassy dress. It was chic and it made a statement without being too bold.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
July 3, 2014
One of my favorite RTR rentals - EVER!
This dress is so underrated, it is AMAZING! I have already ordered it again for later in the summer. I was worried about it being short (I'm 5'11") but it was fine for a date night of dinner and dancing. The fabric is stretchy but flattering - it really holds you in! Think Herve Leger-esque banding. The flare is a flattering, slimming, and fun touch!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
July 1, 2014
Comfortable but it was long.
I'm 5'9 and no hoochie, but felt like this was long for a typical party dress, it was close to my knees! Most dresses I've rented from here have actually been close to too short so I guess that was refreshing. I wore it for a night out in Vegas, it was extremely comfortable and felt really secure. I read other reviews that it felt like an Herve Leger / French Connection dress they way they suck you in like spanx, I did not feel that way, but wasn't unhappy either.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
June 30, 2014
So cute but huge!!
I usually rent the small with an xs as my back up but almost never wear the xs. I'm 5'3, 125, 34DD. When this dress was sent the back up size apparently came back in bad shape so they sent another dress instead. Sadly, the small was HUGE. Like down to my knees, too much fabric, straps way too long. Maybe if I was like 5'6 it would have been better to pull off but even in 6 inch heels it looked ridiculous, definitely too big for a night out in vegas :( the xs i'm sure would fit so i'll definitely try to rent again but if you're renting, size downnnn!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
June 25, 2014
Not great
Fits weird, heavy fabric, not flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 19, 2014
Free birthday dress!
The only reason I rented a dress on my birthday was because it was free with my pro membership (highly recommend investing in this!!!)! I didn't have any big plans so I thought this dress would be fun just for a relaxed night out. It was a little more formal than I thought but I dressed it down by wearing sandals and minimal jewelry. It was super sexy though, and I loved the heavy material! The straps were a little long like other reviewers said, but I didn't mind the low neckline that it created. My bf was pretty upset when he learned that I didn't actually own it :( great rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
June 11, 2014
Figure flattering LBD
So many compliments! I didn't find the neck strap to be loose like some of the other reviewers mentioned. Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
May 14, 2014
Great for a bachelorette party!
Rented this for a bachelorette party with a dress code - aka "black dress night" It is a great dress, very form fitting though! I thought the flared skirt was super fun, and was a great dress for dancing all night. I didn't have the same problem that others had with the straps, but I did wear the XS instead of the S to avoid that problem. Didn't need spanx, as the dress was its own version! Would rent again!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
April 27, 2014
Amazing dress that makes you feel like a million bucks!
Loved this dress. Can not say enough about how this dress makes you look and feel. Fabric sucks you in but the straps are super long like other reviews say but easily fixed with safety pins.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 8, 2014
This dress is so flattering! It made me feel beautiful and confident!
This is definitely a figure flattering dress. I loved it because it accentuated my waist but hid my problem areas (butt and thighs). The flare at the bottom is flirty (not "little girl-ish") and the double straps keeps it interesting. Overall, a very beautiful, classy, and fun dress appropriate for any occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
March 31, 2014
Hott LBD!
Cute little black dress. Had some head turns and girls walking by saying they loved the dress. Rent this for a LBD girls night!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 3, 2014
Wore this to two different holiday events in December and I received so many compliments on it!
Looks like a simple black dress but the details and fabric add a lot of character. It's very fitted in the waist, so definitely take that into consideration before renting. It's a great LBD!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 30, 2014
extremely flattering
very stretchy and runs a little on the large size. i ordered a M and it fit perfectly i am usually a size 6-8
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 26, 2014
Flirty Black Number
I wore this little black number for a rehearsal dinner for a Charleston wedding. The thick fabric is forgiving and I was able to wear a strapless bra with the dress. The strap that goes around the neck is a little loose and awkward, but overall, I loved the dress. Small fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
January 12, 2014
Perfect for my New Year's Eve Party!
Wore this dress for a New Year's Eve Party! I got so many compliments all night; the dress is form fitting through the waist and flared right at my hips…super flirty and sexy! I recommend ordering a size up if you have doubts; the material is stretchy but still runs pretty tight.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 18, 2013
Super sexy dress.
I rented this dress for a "Sinatra Soiree" event in Washington DC in the summer of 2011. It was super sexy, body-con but with the drop waist skirt. Unfortunately the shoulder straps were just too long for me- as I was petite on top. But I would highly recommend to anyone- it would just be dependent on getting the right size. It does run large so make sure to size down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 25, 2013
HOT
Loved this. Super hot dress. Ran large for me--I usually never wear an XS.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 23, 2013
Very faltering but weird straps
Great dress but the straps were really weird. They were about 4 inches too long which made it imposable to ware with out a hair-thing to shorten them... which means a sweater to cover the back. I wore it anyway it was very comfortable- minus the straps.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
July 26, 2013
Perfect party dress!
The dress for sure runs big, but was super comfortable and very slimming! I got a ton of complements, and would highly recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 21, 2013
I loved the dress, the material was thick, but sadly it was too big.
The straps were too big, they sorta hung there.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
May 22, 2013
cute but not ideal
I ordered this as a backup for my bachelorette party but ended up wearing a sequin Milly dress instead. This was cute, but the other reviewers were right -- the straps were way too long. There's also a look to it that makes it look like a mix between a LBD and a suburban mom's tennis dress. My boyfriend loved it because it was very tight fitting, but my friends thought it was too daytime. I wish I had ordered an XS instead of the S...maybe the straps on the XS would've fit better. And it's so stretchy, even more so than a Herve Leger, that I don't think I would've had a problem zipping the XS up. Maybe I'll get it again for another occasion, but it wasn't right for this party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105lbs
May 1, 2013
My friends loved it so much that 1 of them wore it the next night!
great fit, very comfortable, arrived in great shape (no fading, no stains)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 22, 2013
Extremely flattering - got so many compliments.
The dress was very flattering. The material has a little give in it. I'm usually a small/medium in dresses and the small fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
April 10, 2013
rented to wear on vacation.
fits true to size. definitely flares out at the bottom. nice dress, but nothing special really. easy to pack since it does not wrinkle.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
April 8, 2013
Hot dress
I rented this dress to be a judge for some exhibition boxing matches, and I loved it. It was incredibly comfortable, and I got the ultimate boyfriend seal of approval: "It looks hot, but like you're not trying." The halter strap at the neck was a little bit loose, but not bad at all, and it was actually probably more comfortable that way. The skirt was short, but not so short it made me nervous. I was very happy with this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
February 26, 2013
"Best you've ever looked"
I definitely don't normally wear dresses this fitted but I felt very comfortable and sexy in this one. I am an 8 in most dresses and wore the M in this, but the S also fit (the looser M was slightly more flattering in the stomach). I did not have a problem with the neck strap as some have, both sizes fit comfortable there (but I also have a fairly full bust). Great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
February 13, 2013
It mostly fit really nicely.
The straps were a bit long for me so the dress hung a bit low in the front.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 8, 2013
Perfect fit!
I love this dress, it is so flattering on. I added a belt to it to add a little more definition to the waist and to break up the dress a little bit. Great length, definitely sucks you in, loved it!
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×