You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Captivation Dress
Rental $35 Retail $550
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Vena Cava's mesh one-shoulder dress is a mix of sporty and sweet for your next night on the town. Add some bold bangles and sky high black pumps for an evening of glamour.
Chat with a Stylist
Black and grey stretch mesh. Sweetheart neckline. One shoulder. Draped body. Exposed back zipper. 33.5" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9".
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; overlay conceals midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs slightly narrow; consider sizing up in back-up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos23

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Mandii
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Aug 26, 2013
Felt like a princess, got tons of compliments
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits true to size, is very flattering, highly recommend
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 4424
Jul 25, 2013
fun and comfortable!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my backup dress as my first choice was a much louder and exciting metallicy dress, as this was for my bachelorette party. The dress was damaged and so RTR offered to send me this as a backup. I was concerned about it not being exciting enough, but it was really flattering, and hit in all the right places. I'm usually a 2 in mainstream stores (express, gap, jcrew, etc) and a 4 in designer, and the 4 fit me perfectly. it was comfortable for dancing and didn't ride up at all which was nice as well! overall I really loved it.
Corie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 2422
Jun 9, 2013
Awesome dress!!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit me perfectly and I felt very comfortable in it.
Nora
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Mar 26, 2013
This dress was so sexy but not trashy.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I chose this dress for my sisters bachelorette party in Las Vegas and it was perfect! It was very fitted with little stretch but I loved it. This dress was quite short on me, but this was the look I was going for. I would rent this dress for a similar occasion again.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2322
Apr 2, 2012
Awesome!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore it to the Welcome Cocktail for my debutante ball and got tons of complements. It has a corset top (I think-- that, or it's just tight), so you look itty bitty. I LOVED it.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4423
Nov 22, 2010
This was my first (and definitely not last) RTR rental!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress. Received many compliments. It's comfy and flattering (very forgiving in midsection.) To this day I'll randomly look online on different sites to see about purchasing this dress.
Kathleen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 4431
Aug 11, 2012
RTR was so easy, mailed right to me then shipped it out the next day! Loved the dress!!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
True to size, fit great. The strapless side did start to fold over at the end of the night but other than that it was perfect.
chelsea
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2323
Jul 28, 2012
Every girl wanted to know where I got my "fabulous" dress. Of course I said renttherunway.com :)
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I have nothing negative to say about this dress. I am 5'3, 100 lbs and ordered a size 0 which fit me perfect. I wore this dress to a bar/club and received so many compliments (if only I could keep it). It was comfortable, easy to dance in and the fabric was great. 110% satisfied :)
Irem
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Jul 13, 2012
I LOVE one shoulders!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The dress was a great fit for me. I wore it to a birthday dinner and paired it with an edgy necklace and flats to make it a bit more casual.
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Jun 17, 2012
He asked me where I'd been hiding this dress! It was a hit.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my boyfriend's reunion. It was the perfect dress! Easy to wear and super comfy. The material is stretchy and very forgiving with the draping. I'll have to rent this one again.
Alisa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 3431
Apr 30, 2012
Great customer service.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
My favorite dress.
JACKIE
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 3521
Mar 13, 2012
This dress made me feel fabulous!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was so flattering on, and pretty true to size. I got so many compliments!
Gina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3424
Feb 2, 2012
It was a great dress that fit me like a glove
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Simple and classy and oh so elegant.
Gina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3424
Feb 2, 2012
It was a great dress that fit me like a glove
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Simple and classy and oh so elegant.
Sophia
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Apple
Canonical User Type: 6234
Nov 30, 2011
.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I absolutely LOVED this dress. It was true to size and super flattering! It was perfect. I got loads of compliments.
Alexa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3343
Nov 30, 2011
Everyone knows how competitive it can be to have the best look, especially in high school and college. I loved wearing this dress and everyone else loved it too!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely loved this dress. It was for my senior ball so the length was perfect for the middle of June! I wore all gold accessories with it and it looked great. The shape is so flattering and with the mesh overlay it gives a great dimension to the shape and figure of the dress. I would absolutely wear this again!
Astin
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2321
Feb 27, 2014
love rtr!!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
the dress is so flattering! the way it is right in the back and has that extra fabric layer in the front. this was originally my second choice and I loved it more than the first option! OBSESSED
Malena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6334
Aug 15, 2013
Super sexy, fun dress.
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I didn't get to actually wear this dress out because I got sick. It was really a shame because its a really fun dress. It is very sexy. A little short (and I'm not very tall), but it did accommodate my 34DDs. I would happily rent again & hopefully actually get to wear it!
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4333
Jun 17, 2013
perfect dress for the occasion- a rugby banquet
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
shorter than it looked in pictures, be aware of that with higher heels
Ishani
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4324
Jan 28, 2013
I felt really comfortable and cute in the dress
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It hit in all the right places and had a slimming effect
Lee
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Jan 27, 2013
Pairing grey smokey eye with grey one-shoulder strap
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
short, pretty revealing but looked more conservative paired with black tights and bolero jacket
Jill
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4331
Nov 26, 2012
It fit perfectly!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Sweetheart neckline is flattering. The dress may be a little short for some.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3323
Nov 14, 2012
Loved it!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my sorority's semi-formal. It was very comfortable to dance in. The shoulder strap was a little long but I was able to make it work. Great length on me- not too long. Another beautiful dress from RTR.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4423
Sep 19, 2012
A little small.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I normally wear a 4 but this 4 was a little to small. Had I gotten the 6 as well it would have been perfect.
Ariana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Sep 19, 2012
Simple
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to my boyfriend's sister's wedding and got compliments left and rigt! This dress is so different and yet so simple at the same time. It is a little short (I have very long legs) so I had to be very careful bending down if I dropped something on the floor. But other than the shortness of the dress this dress was super comfortable and danced the night away!
Jessie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Sep 16, 2012
Great Dress! Classy and Flattering!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I work this dress in Vegas for a bachelorette party. It was flattering and very comfortable- I was dancing all night and never had to make an adjustment. You could wear this dress for so many occassions because while it was sexy it wasn't too revealing
Sue
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7533
Aug 9, 2010
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress fit very well and was perfect for a night out. I highly recommend it!
Ada
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2422
Aug 28, 2012
Beautiful dress, long strap
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Unfortunately I wasn't able to wear this dress to my event, but I can review it based on my experience trying it on at home! The material feels great - super comfortable. The shoulder strap was too long for me though, and not something that was easily fixable without having the dress altered. The rest of the dress fit pretty well - I'm super short/petite, but there is some stretch in the material so it could accomodate my weirdly small size. I was sad to have to return this!
Rachael
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 2322
Aug 20, 2012
cute and simple
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
cute and simple, good fit and cute, understated design. the zipper kept coming down on me whenever i tried to dance though and it wasn't too small. I wore my actual size so i think it's fairly true to size.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Nov 22, 2011
beautiful dress
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
wore this to vegas and it was gorgeous! very flattering and i got a lot of compliments. although it did run a bit small since i'm usually a 0. i'd definitely rent again, i wish i could buy it!
Morgan
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1231
Oct 27, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Loved this dress! I got the 0 and 2 and they both fit perfectly. I ended up wearing the 0 though because it was a little tighter. All my friends loved it! It's beautiful!
eve
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3534
Aug 31, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress! It was a bit short for the engagement party I went to, but a super hot LBD nonetheless. The mesh overlay made me less self conscious about eating, but was also super flattering. I was worried it might be frumy, but it was actually very nicely structured. I got tons of compliments and would definitely rent it again for a night out. Also, this is perfectly true to size. I am normally a size 2 and the 2 fit perfectly.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 1441
Aug 24, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Really cute dress, received a lot of compliments, wore it for a bachelorette party, the only thing I didn't like about it was the zipper. The girls I went out with kept having to zip it up for me all night because it kept coming down. Maybe it was just my dress in particular, but I ended up having to pin a safety pin at the top of the dress to keep it from coming completely unzipped.
April
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3223
May 22, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I absolutely loved this dress! The design was incredibly flattering and accentuated my curves at all the right places, while hiding any faults, leaving me free to eat as much as I wanted.
Emily
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 3231
May 22, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
this dress was amazing. it fit perfectly!
M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5423
May 16, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I'm 5'2 and 127 lbs with a curvy/hourglass figure. I was worried about fit because I have a bigger "rear" for my size, but the fit had significant give to it (Stretchy). Also, the draping was very flattering. Even if the dress were tight at the hip, the draping would cover any noticeable pulls. Very comfortable and cute overall. The 4 was pretty short on my 5'2 frame, so keep that in mind taller girls :)
Sophie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 5323
Apr 26, 2011
Overall fit: Small
I rented this as a backup dress in an 8 and it fit well everywhere (I'm usually a 4 and wear a 34B), though it was actually far too simple for my event. The entire dress seemed far darker to me in person (the blue more of a black and the grey off-black), and it didn't band in properly in the middle. Had it, I would have found it a lot more flattering. It was still absolutely lovely, however.
SA
Height: 5' 4"
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 1131
Apr 3, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress! Very flattering and I got a ton of compliments on it, definitely recommend!
Lauren
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 1331
Dec 7, 2010
Overall fit: Small
This dress ran a little small and fit snugly in some places that were unattractive for my body type. Best suited for a more narrow figure.
Jaime
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 1441
Nov 17, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
The dress fit very true to size. It was comfortable and I wore the Gemma Redux Liz Nugget Necklace with it. The outfit made my Saturday Night.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress