Dazzling Deco Gown

$85 rental
$430 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Wear this stunning Twelfth Street by Cynthia Vincent dress for an old school Hollywood vibe. A sweetheart neckline and boned bodice make this style so flattering.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- runs small throughout bust due to boning
WAIST: Very fitted - Very fitted until natural waist with bodice
HIPS: Not fitted - mesh overlay highlights lower abdomen and backside- wear SPANX to cinch in waist and backside
LENGTH: Floor length - available in one length; best suited for heights 5'8'' and below.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Pink silk chiffon with black overlay. Sweetheart neckline. Boning at bodice. Exposed back zip. 52'' from bodice to hem.

Share
51 reviews
Fit
Large
(13)
True to Size
(32)
Small
(6)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
September 5, 2012
Easy and beautiful
This dress was an absolute dream. The overlay kept it interesting. It's a universally flattering cut. Recommend to anyone who has qualms about ordering a formal dress online!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 23, 2012
The top of the dress looked horrible on my chest (32DD)
The top made my chest look very saggy. The material looks cheaper in person than in the picture.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
October 20, 2012
I couldnt dance in it, so I left early :( But the material was amazing, felt strong, soft not cheap
if you're 5'0," have it hemmed. The top section, is a looser fit than it looks.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 7, 2012
got so many compliments!
this dress was so unique and very different from all the other dresses at prom! really happy with my RTR experience
BethJanuary 9, 2013
Alex, we're about the same size, what height of heels did you wear with it?
RTR CustomerJanuary 14, 2013
Hi Beth! You should be able to wear 2-3 inch heels with this dress if you are around the same height as Alex!
AlexJanuary 19, 2013
beth, i wore 4 inch heels!
michaelaMay 1, 2013
Was the dress more black in color or did it have more of a pink tone?
RTR CustomerMay 3, 2013
Hi Michaela, This dress is more of a black but it does have an evident nude underlay!
AlexMay 3, 2013
its more black but when you take a picture with flash it came out more silver
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
November 10, 2012
SHORT! Beware if you are tall!
I'm 5'7" and rented this dress because the majority of the reviews I saw were all excellent. When it arrived I was very disappointed that it was above the floor when I was barefoot and it could only have been worn with flats. For a formal affair, I like to wear heels so I had to return it and wear something else. I wish it would have been longer because it fit great in the chest area and it looked flattering on me. Only problem is the length.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
November 19, 2012
This dress was perfect for a black tie dinner. Highlight of the nite, hearing finance brag on me :-)
Fit: True to size Pros: Shipment arrived on time. The dress did not wrinkle, well made, and comfortable. The underlay is more of a peach color which matched perfectly with my BCBG pumps. Customer service was awesome! The ladies at RTR are happy to answer question and help you find a solution. I will order from RTR for all of my formal events! Cons: A little long for me at 5' 1". After reading a few reviews, I added invisible hem tape to my order, but should note it requires more than one packet to do the trick. Also the padding on the inside of the dress was a little jumbled, so getting the top to lay flat was a little tricky.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Body type: Apple
November 30, 2012
Elegant
This dress was perfect for a black-tie wedding I attended. Classic look, loved the shear black details. Super flattering because of the bodice. I'm only 5'1 and wore 3-4in heels and it slightly swept the floor. Would highly recommend.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
December 9, 2012
Loved this dress! Comfortable too!
Fit great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 12, 2012
This dress was absolutely amazing!
The dress in person is a bit different then it appeared on the site. I'm on the bustier side and it was really flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 26, 2012
SO CLASSY! My dress was so special and unlike any other dress at my event!
I have been in love with this dress for months! I wanted to get it for prom last year, but unfortunately I didn't order it soon enough and couldn't get it. I ended up getting a different dress from rtr and I loved it! Anyways, I was so glad I finally got to rent this dress. I was in love with the picture online. It's so sophisticated and has a vintage air that I love. The corset boning makes you feel very sexy without being provacative. It's such a classy dress over all!! However, I do wish I could have gotten a 2 in time for my event (which was really my problem for not ordering it ahead). I just pinned the sides a little because the top wasn't very tight-fitting and the pink chiffon linning would show from the side. It helped a little. Also, it was not floor length on me because there was not a longer length option. The size notes say the length works best for girls who are 5'8 and below. It doesn't look too weird with heels on. I got so many compliments and felt beautiful!!! I wore simple jewelry since it was for a concert, but for a more formal event the blue agate? earrings looked beautiful! LOVE LOVE LOVE RTR!
AngieJanuary 29, 2013
Hi, I'm around the same size/measurements as you, except I'm a few inches shorter. I'm 5'7", 120 lbs, and 32A. What size would you recommend getting, based on your experience with the dress? Thanks!
RTR CustomerJanuary 30, 2013
Hi Angie! If you have a similar body type, I would suggest getting the 4 as well, since it looks like it fit Margaux great!
JacquelineMarch 31, 2013
Did you take prom pictures? I fear that the color of the dress won't show up true to color with the flash in the prom pictures.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
December 27, 2012
Simple and beautiful
This dress is a great deal if you want to get a long dress, look elegant but not pay much. I rented for a wedding. The dress looks classic but simple. Under the black translucent fabric it is purple so that way it is sort of a black dress but festive. Also it is great for girls with big hips, I usually wear a 6 or 8 because of my wide hips but I fit in a size 4 no problem. I didn't feel trap at all. It was tight but comfortable. Enjoy it!!
BethJanuary 12, 2013
What size heels did you wear?
LizApril 29, 2013
flats
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 4, 2010
I rented the 4R and the 6R and wound up wearing the 4. It was very tight in the waist but I couldn't fill out the bust (34B). A push-up bra fixed the problem. Overall really cute and well made and looked great with black shoes
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 18, 2011
I LOVED this dress. Even my date's dad said I looked like a movie star lol I ordered the 0 and 2 and wore the 2. The length was great with a 4 inch heel.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
April 3, 2011
Wore this dress to a black tie wedding. The 6R fit beautifully and I was able to have the option of either dressing it up or dressing it down. I would absolutely recommend it..a truly lovely dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
May 5, 2011
So cute! Not really as brown as shown here, because it has a pale pink lining and black overlay. Runs slightly large. The 0 fit beautifully on 110 lbs, 34 C.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Body type: Pear
May 17, 2011
This dress is SO CUTE! Like the other reviewers have said, it's more grayish-silver, which means you can wear pretty much anything with it. I wore it to prom and got so many compliments, it's totally different and classy/sexy! The top is pretty loose; I'm no pixie, but i needed some tape to hold up the 4. If you have curvy hips and are self-conscious about them I'd be careful, the silk highlights every curve; it was too cute for me to care, though! Highly recommended :)
MaggieMarch 2, 2012
I'm 5'11 and really want to wear this dress and I won't be wearing heels. Do you think that the end of the dress will still reach the floor?
RTRMarch 9, 2012
Hi Maggie! This dress will be short on you even without heels! I would recommend looking for a dress that comes in two lengths and definitely go with the Long!
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 26, 2011
The dress ran large (I wore the 2 and I'm a 32B 115 lbs. My mom could fit into the 4 and she normally wears an 8/10) so I was pulling it up all night, but it was gorgeous. But, when I received it it was distressed to say the least. The boning in the corseted part was sticking out. It poked into me and made the dress look weird. It was also torn on the inside. I ended up temporarily stitching the boning into place so that I could at least have something to wear. It was a gorgeous dress (which is why I gave it a 3) but it came to me in such poor condition that I would not rent again.
RTR CustomerNovember 28, 2011
Hi Katherine, we are so sorry to hear this dress arrived in less than perfect condition. We have retired the dress you were sent, and we are checking every remaining unit to make sure it is in perfect condition. Thank you for sending your feedback. In the future, please contact our stylists if you have any issues with your dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
June 1, 2011
I LOVED this dress. I'm 5'4", 123 lbs, 34B and I ordered the size 4 and size 2 for back up. I actually ended up wearing the 2 and i'm rarely that size. If you wear this in the winter time, I would say skip the tights because the static is hard to control. Got tons of compliments and felt beautiful in it!
MeganFebruary 5, 2012
how long was this on you?
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 29, 2011
Perfect. Night.
This dress was just perfect! I wore it for my winter formal and everyone loved it. It's so classy yet sexy at the same time. I Suggest buying tape for the top, but otherwise very flattering and comfortable. A little long, but nothing a pair of heels can't fix.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 29, 2012
Gorgeous Dress
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding and it was stunning. I am 4 months pregnant and it even showed off my baby bump gracefully. However, I could wear it when not pregnant and it would just lie a bit flatter. So great I wanted to buy it!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 11, 2012
Not what I was expecting
I rented this dress for a military formal, and was so disappointed when it arrived. This dress fit on a sense that it zipped, but that's about it. The dress itself is beautiful. However, the bust is designed for a smaller cup, I'm currently a nursing size F and this just wasn't going to cut it. The fabric is also extremely thin and flimsy, and the dress is short. I am not a tall person, 5'3, and I wasn't going to be able to wear any kind of heel. The way the dress sits at the waist is awkward. I still looked incredibly pregnant in it, and I don't still look pregnant in anything else. While I was disappointed in my selection, RTR was great about getting back to me, and gave a site credit. This won't deter me from using them again :)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 5, 2012
Convenient packaging, email updates
I rented this dress for my senior prom. The description seemed to fit my body type pretty well (small chested, petite, short) but I was still scared it'd end up too long being only 5'1 and super flat. To my surprise, it fit absolutely perfectly. It's a thin material that's comforable to wear all night.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
May 23, 2012
Rent the Runway is easy to rent from, and there are lots of amazing dresses to choose from! No one could get over how awesome she looked with her dress. Words quoted by someone: "Wow, she looks like a celebrity!".
I ordered this for my sister for her to wear to her prom. We were scared that if would fit her too tight, but it was a perfect fit! She looked GORGEOUS and received lots of compliments. We were really satisfied, and it also wasn't too pricey to rent.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
June 7, 2012
The best compliment was from my younger sister who said I looked perfect.
This dress was amazing. I wore it for my senior prom and it turned out to be a hit. I am average height (5'5) and the length was perfect for me while in a pair of heels. The only problem I had was with the dress staying up. I ordered a 6 and 8 but realized that I most definitely should have gone 4 and 6. It was kind of lose on my bust area, and I have C cup boobs, so maybe go smaller. Other than that, it was cute, and classy, and wonderful.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
June 10, 2012
Overall good, some flaws
I really loved the overall look of the dress. Great for a senior prom! I got lots of compliments and felt it was flattering especially for a small bust with bigger hips. It changes appearance with the light, which was really cool and pretty, but it was never as coppery as the picture here suggests. My dress had one of the boning wires sticking out in the back, so I was sort of uncomfortable in that respect. I usually wear an 8 because of my wide hips etc., but I wore the 6 because maybe just from repeated wearing the dresses were kind of stretched out. I noticed some wear and tear on the inside (invisible once put on), but maybe this particular dress needs to be retired soon.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 28, 2012
People told me I looked like an Audrey Hepburn!
I rented this dress for prom and was so excited when it came in the mail. The size six was significantly shorter than the size four, and was too big, so I ended up wearing the size four. It was really tight, and the boning was popping out, but other than that the dress was lovely! I used the dress tapes RTR sent along with the dress to hem it a little. I went with a classy look - a bun, red lipstick, and winged eyeliner - and got tons of complements. Perfect for an hourglass shape. Great feel to it.
michaelaMay 1, 2013
I'm 5'3 and weigh 120 pounds with an hourglass body type. I ordered a size 2 and 4 just in case one didn't fit right. Do you think those sizes were right for me to choose?
RTR CustomerMay 3, 2013
Hi Michaela, Yes this is what sizes we would recommend for your body type!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 13, 2012
Not great...
This dress was WAY too short and looked a little cheap. I would not get this one again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 106lbs
August 20, 2012
Very Pretty
I loved how light and comfortable this dress was! Received lots of compliments all night ;-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
August 21, 2012
runs a little short
very cool dress, sophisticated but runs short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
March 9, 2013
didnt wear
too big
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
March 13, 2013
My boyfriend loved it!
Some of the bone structure in the top was coming out of the dress, which made it a little uncomfortable because the plastic kind of stuck into my ribs. Other than that, great!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 6, 2013
This dress is gorgeous in person and photographs so well! I got compliments all night!
I'm a size six, but they didn't have a six, so I went for an eight. It worked out fine! I had a little extra room and had to pull it up every time I moved, but it was worth it! It was the perfect length for short heels or flats, and I got compliments on how pretty it was all night.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 29, 2013
I received so many compliments that night!
This dress fit me like a glove. The length was great with my 4-inch heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 23, 2013
Simple and classy with a bit of edge. Love this dress!
Extremely comfortable and easy dress. Definitely recommend. Worked perfectly for a black tie wedding. One con is that the bust area is loose and I had to keep pulling the dress up.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
October 23, 2013
Didn't want to send it back.
Loved it
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
October 23, 2013
I wore this for a concert. It was perfect because of the light fabric and flattering fit!
However, my only complaint is that it is very wide at the top of the bust. I had to pin it so it wouldn't fall down. Otherwise I would have given it 5 stars.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 12, 2013
I got compliments on it all night
this dress was.... perfect! Ive never worn a better fitting more comfortable dress. thank you:)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 17, 2014
it did not fit
I ordered the sizes that I thought would be best for me, I tried them on and they did not fit, especially in the bust area (which never happens with me). It would have been super pretty had the bust area been bigger.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 13, 2014
Cuter in pictures than I felt in it
The only available size was a 6, which was just too big in the chest ( even though I'm busty!), so I was pulling it up all night. But I got a ton of compliments and it looks GREAT in pictures!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 22, 2011
I loved this dress, but I had to wear flats with it because the hem was so short. Not my favorite from RTR, but I got a ton of attention. :)
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×