Back in Action Romper

$65 to buy
$300 retail
Stylist Notes

Walk in confidence wearing this insanely sexy Twelfth Street by Cynthia Vincent ruffle romper. Great to style with rocking stilettos, a fierce smile, and kate spade new york's I Kissed a Frog Clutch.

Size & Fit

This romper runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with elastic waistband
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black crepe. Surplice neckline. Cold shoulder with ruffle sleeve. Cuffed shorts. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
219 reviews
Fit
Large
(45)
True to Size
(146)
Small
(15)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
July 10, 2016
Cute, sexy and classy!
I have never got so many compliments from strangers before!! I felt sexy, yet classy and ready to party! Added a belt and a bright pair of heels. Sized down after reading the reviews of others. Loved this! Would buy for sure if I could!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 24, 2016
Comfy romper!
I rented this romper for my sisters birthday. It was very cute and comfortable but I found it to run a little large. I had to use double-sided tape for the top. The only other downside was that the romper seems to be on its last leg RTR should consider retiring this piece.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
August 24, 2016
30th Birthday
I wore this for dinner on my 30th birthday. It was very comfortable and it felt and fit great! I wore it more casual since we were on vacation and it worked!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
March 26, 2015
Cute romper! Wore it with a belt and cute wedges for a dinner. Needed fashion tape.
Fun outfit! Great for this beautiful Houston weather. I drink a lot of water and it was a bit of a pain to deal with as a romper should be. I also needed fashion tape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
April 1, 2015
Makes the girls go BAM!
LOVED THIS ROMPER! I've never found a cute enough romper to wear out and about, but I loved the fit and feel of this romper! It fits larger busted ladies (if you don't mind them hanging out a bit), and was super sexy! It does run larger, and I did have to use a cheap $5 belt to cinch everything in. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
June 4, 2015
Wore it out and loved it!
Comfortable and fit well. Early to dance in, still dressy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 1, 2015
Perfect for a more low-key night my bachelorette weekend in Miami
The fit was good overall, the front is a little more open but it was fine as long as the waistband didn't slide to the right. Great for showing off the legs
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 14, 2015
Cute shape, got lots of compliments. And it's so cheap to rent!
It was nice material, low-cut around the armpits, so probably better to not wear a bra if possible. I have 36D chest, so I had to wear a bra, and it showed at the armpits, at the cleavage (even though it was a deep V), and the straps also showed. It's becoming a trend that the dresses I rent from RtR are too tight in the chest ;(
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
July 27, 2015
Loved that I could wear an outfit I normally wouldn't have even tried on!!
Super fun and flirty! Never thought I could pull off a romper but it looked amazing! Only con was it was hard to get off to use the bathroom. Worn for a bachelorette party out to a beach bar, wore black flats and looked great together!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Everyday
Age: 27
November 12, 2015
Perfect Gameday outfit
I actually should have rented the small but it wasn't in stock so I decided to just try the XS .. It actual fit perfectly! I was shocked because most who ordered the XS were 0-2 and I am a 4 but it still fit and worked out perfectly for a football game
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 7, 2016
Amazing flattering romper
Fits very true to size. Comfy and darling!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
May 24, 2015
Loved this! Danced all night, it looked great in pictures, and got a lot of compliments!
I wore XS, it was so comfortable. I did use double sided tape for the top!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158lbs
August 12, 2015
Turning heads.
Wore this in Nashville for a bachelorette party. We did the pedal tavern and danced the night away. This romper fit the bill. I was super comfortable and felt gorgeous. We even got on stage and back into VIP that night. Truly comfy and classy. Warning the material wrinkles easy so plan on steaming when you get it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 7, 2012
Not Flattering
This romper is very cute but the cut wasn't very flattering on me. I am very petite and the way the arm is draped made me look like I had wings when I lifted up my arms. It also runs a large and I think that was part of the problem. I ended up not wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
July 3, 2012
I love rompers, and this romper is a WIN!!
This was perfect for my small soiree for my birthday! I wore it with a statement necklace that brought out all the right features of the dress. Perfect about of cleavage for a somewhat busty girl.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 25, 2012
Perfect fit!
I was worried about getting a romper, especially with how it looked on the model.. I ordered a size M and S but the S fit absolutely perfect!! I wear a 34D bra and the cleavage was not too revealing, nor did i need tape.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 2, 2012
City Chic!
I loved this outfit! I wore a Medium (I usually wear a size 8-10) and it was very flattering without being tight in any way! I received many compliments! I wore a red necklace and earrings for a striking look!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 17, 2012
Fun for Bachelorette
Wore this out in Nashville with boots for a bachelorette party. It is very loose in the top when you're not standing, so make sure to have tape or pins so you don't expose yourself. It's very comfortable and soft, fun to wear, but is exceptionally short!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
August 24, 2012
loved it
loved it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 17, 2012
Fun little romper!
Wore in Miami for a birthday weekend. This outfit is so cute and sexy...and perfect for the hot weather! If you are heavy chested, this might not be a good option.
LindsaySeptember 17, 2012
I'm approx. the same size as you. If you rented this dress again, would you get an xs? I have a smaller chest and larger rear and I'm concerned about either my chest not being covered enough or my butt not fitting int he romper. Suggestions welcomed!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 18, 2012
Very nice quality of fabric
The romper was very nice and you can tell the fabric was well taken care of and of very nice quality! Unfortunately it didnt fit and hopefully the merchandise credit gets returned soon so that i may order again for my next event!! :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
September 25, 2012
I like it, I recieved compliments. It's not too dressy. I wore it for just a regular night out.
The top is cut low and if you pin it, then you can't get it off to go to the bathroom. So, except some extra cleavage showing.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 7, 2012
great first expierence
Very cute! I got a lot of compliments on it! I have a pretty large chest and even then my bra would peek out, the fashion tape helped though. I am usually a bit wary to order rompers online, but this was one was great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 7, 2013
Very sexy, and unique. Great to stand out by wearing a romper while everyone else is in a dress!
You have to be prepared for it to fit small (low chest and short shorts, much like the model in the picture) but if you are going for that then it's perfect. you can also get away with it being shorter because it's a romper, not a dress, and there is no worry of exposing yourself! If you order a size up (the x-s looked good on me and im a 0-2 but pretty busty) then it will just be lower and hang in weird places, not be any more conservative. i accessorized by belting it in the middle and it looked great!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
February 19, 2013
San Valentine's.
It looks cheap, I had to use a golden belt to give it life because, that part of the shorts looked really bad. The upper part looks beautiful though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
March 14, 2013
Awesome romper. Wore it for a club night in vegas. Very comfortable and easy to accessorize.
I am a size 8/10 and got the large. It was a little loose but the waist kept it fitted. I needed a little fashion tape for the top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 21, 2013
Cute going out romper!
This fit a little large but overall looks exactly like the pictures. It was extremely comfortable and fun to wear for a night out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
June 13, 2013
A total lifesaver and an amazing outfit!
I picked this out as an extra option for my friend Aisha on my bachelorette/birthday weekend in Vegas. It turns out she REALLY needed it because Delta lost her luggage! It arrived the next day, but she was certainly glad to have a hot outfit from RTR to wear on our first night out on the town. She's 5'7" and usually wears a 4, and has an athletic build. The XS was perfect and comfortable and I think she's a total Rent the Runway addict now.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 19, 2013
Might look cute but I got the wrong size.
I got the L to try out as my bonus dress but didn't end up wearing it because it was too large. I think the medium might have worked a bit better (which I couldn't get for the day I wanted it, so I knew it was a risk!). It was specifically baggy around my waist; there was extra fabric where it cinched in and, after pinching the fabric tighter, I could see a huge improvement. I also think the M might work better because I have a short torso so the narrowest part of the waist was hitting me lower than I would have preferred. That just might be a general torso issue! The sleeves are still adorable and and would look great with the right belt! Side note: If you want to look super crisp, you might want to keep an iron handy. The material can wrinkle easily.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 6, 2013
I felt great all night
loved the outfit. wanted to keep it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
August 22, 2013
Comfortable, unique look. Great for dancing in.
Everyone rated this so highly, but to be honest I was a little disappointed when I received it. After trying it on when it arrived, I actually considered NOT wearing this at all to my birthday party and changing outfits completely. The neckline was WAY too low and the smocked/cinched waist was too high on me, that it felt like I was wearing high waisted shorts. I wish the waist was lower and sat more on my hips and that the neckline was not that low. Fit was a bit strange, but it was comfortable and perfect for dancing in, so I decided to wear it out. Plus I'd already paid for it, so I may as well get my money's worth. I dressed it up with large gold jewelry and sky high wedges.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
September 22, 2013
The comfiness was great!
It was a little big, so it kept slipping off. Also, it was sort of hard to go to the bathroom in it. But I thought it was super comfortable and cute.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
September 22, 2013
Hot romper!
I gave this 3 stars because you definitely need the chest for this. It's pretty open and loose in the front. But if it works it's a hot little number!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Hourglass
October 19, 2013
I wore this for a college football game and it was terrific.
If you'll be moving around a lot - or cheering in the stadium - you may need a bandeau or fashion tape to keep the top together. I put a black bandeau with it and was happy I had it on in the ladies room- it's not easy to maneuver in a stall. The sleeves look great in pictures and it was comfortable for a long, hot game day in the south!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 3, 2013
Sexy romper...but a little too big
It was too large overall, but it was a very hot romper and extremely comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Apple
Weight: 128lbs
December 11, 2013
Not what I was expecting
I desperately wanted to like this, especially since I saw a lot of reviews of women with similar body types to mine wearing it and saying they loved it...unfortunately this was a loose, baggy, hippy mess on me. I do not recommend this for petite people simply because the shoulder would not stay on. I also do not recommend this for those with short torsos...the ruched/smocked waist, meant to define the smallest point on your midsection, fell in the wrong place for me and made my hips look ENORMOUS. Both sizes looked terrible on me. Very disappointed with this rental. I am also annoyed that I can't just get my money back on returns...I will have to settle with in-store credit. Ugh.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 29, 2014
ehhhh
This fit made my waste look incredible small although overall it felt like there was to much fabric and it runs large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 20, 2014
Like an LBD but classier
Just all around fabulous. I was worried the medium would be too small (they were out of L) but it fit perfectly. Like a glove. Used sticky bra & fashion tape to finagle the neckline, which is super sexy. Overall just a really hot romper. I wish I could keep it forever. And ever.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 23, 2014
Super cute on someone who is super tall.
Unfortunately, I'm 5'7". The top fit great, but the shorts were too long and just had way too much material. If you're blessed with height, this is a great option.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
March 12, 2014
Sexy & Comfortable!!!!
This romper is an all purpose outfit! It can be dressed down or up depending on your event. It screams JAZZY without trying too HARD!!!! It does run large. I normally would wear either a small in something like this, but after reading the reviews I opted to get the XS. I used fashion tape for the cleavage area and that worked perfect! Very satisfied!!!! I would rent this one again.....perfect for a cruise!!!!!!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×