Back in Action Romper

$65 to buy
$300 retail
Stylist Notes

Walk in confidence wearing this insanely sexy Twelfth Street by Cynthia Vincent ruffle romper. Great to style with rocking stilettos, a fierce smile, and kate spade new york's I Kissed a Frog Clutch.

Size & Fit

This romper runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with elastic waistband
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black crepe. Surplice neckline. Cold shoulder with ruffle sleeve. Cuffed shorts. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
219 reviews
Fit
Large
(45)
True to Size
(146)
Small
(15)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
July 21, 2013
As soon as I tried it on, I didn't wanna take it off. When I had to give it back I was so sad!

The fit was very true to size, and it was very flattering and forgiving. Perfect length, and perfect amount of cleavage showing. I wore this to a Beyonce concert where I was jumping and dancing all night, so this was definitely comfortable. I loved it! Not one bad thing to say about this piece!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
July 23, 2013
Had to return but super cute!!

Unfortunately, I could not enjoy this outfit. I ordered the SMALL based on some other reviews, and my free second size MED was not available. I took the risk and has only the one size small delivered, and it was too short for my torso. I do recommend this outfit though. Great for cocktail party.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
July 24, 2013
Classy and easy to pull off

This outfit was a great choice. It was easy to dress up without being over the top. I looked class and sexy and bonus I was totally comfortable all night. I did have to pin the front as it was too low cut to be appropriate but overall a great pick!

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
July 29, 2013
Perfect for a Hollywood movie premiere.

Fit perfectly. Loved the casual look and how easy it was to dress up for something a little more formal. Wanted something different than a dress and this did the trick! Loved it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 5, 2013
Great for dancing the night away!

I wore this to a friend's bachelorette party in Las Vegas. This romper was a great choice for me; I wanted to be able to move and dance, but still look sexy and dressed up. This outfit definitely let me do this! It was very flattering and fit my body nicely without being tight or pulling. The reason that I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 was due to some issues with the construction of the romper. As some other commenters noted, the top of the outfit is completely open (you can definitely see it in the second photo I uploaded)! This is pretty easily fixed with fashion tape, but you may have to re-adjust the tape each time you take it off (which has to happen if you want to us the restroom). Additionally, the button that fastens the top of the romper in the back was very difficult for me to button and unbutton which was a real issue when it came time to use the restroom.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
August 5, 2013
I hated this garment!!

I rented this garment for a wonderful anniversary weekend. I received the garment the day before we were to leave and all i can say is that the quality of this frock is not even one step above Wal Mart. The fabric was cheap, and cheap looking. If you insist on renting this, make sure to also rent a nice belt to cover up the cheap looking eleastic waistband (that really does not show up in the photos on the RTR site. I tried it on thinking maybe it would'nt look so bad and I was wrong. Hoochie all the way. In a panic, I ran to Kohl's the morning we were to leave and found an AWESOME dress that looked like a million bucks, and it was on clearance for less than the rental cost of this nightmare. The accessories that I rented were all gorgeous and I will be renting accessories for RTR again, but I will be very leary when considering renting a garment from anything other than a top name designer.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 6, 2013
I felt great all night

loved the outfit. wanted to keep it

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
August 8, 2013
So cute for a casual date or a semi formal party!

The fit was very flattering. I wish I could have taken a pic wearing this outfit.. But I only wore it for a date night. It was really really cute, the neck plunge was a bit low but it could easily be secured with the fashion tape which was sent. I wore it with a cute Kate Spade necklace from RTR also. Could wear it with heels or wedges for a more formal affair, or sandals for a more casual one. I would definitely recommend for any body type!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
August 22, 2013
Comfortable, unique look. Great for dancing in.

Everyone rated this so highly, but to be honest I was a little disappointed when I received it. After trying it on when it arrived, I actually considered NOT wearing this at all to my birthday party and changing outfits completely. The neckline was WAY too low and the smocked/cinched waist was too high on me, that it felt like I was wearing high waisted shorts. I wish the waist was lower and sat more on my hips and that the neckline was not that low. Fit was a bit strange, but it was comfortable and perfect for dancing in, so I decided to wear it out. Plus I'd already paid for it, so I may as well get my money's worth. I dressed it up with large gold jewelry and sky high wedges.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
September 3, 2013
Very cute for a night out with the girls!!

The fit was spot on!! This romper could either be dressed up or down. The open shoulders gave it just enough sexiness. I used fashion tape to keep the front closed so I didn't pop out. I received plenty of compliments from everyone!! Thanks again RTR!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
September 22, 2013
The comfiness was great!

It was a little big, so it kept slipping off. Also, it was sort of hard to go to the bathroom in it. But I thought it was super comfortable and cute.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
September 22, 2013
Hot romper!

I gave this 3 stars because you definitely need the chest for this. It's pretty open and loose in the front. But if it works it's a hot little number!

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 16, 2013
Wow. Sexy!

I wore this to a James Bond/Casino night event, and it was amazing--Bond girl style! My husband was completely floored. The fit was perfect, it makes your legs look incredible, and it was very comfortable. Loved it! My husband is begging me to rent it again!

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Hourglass
October 19, 2013
I wore this for a college football game and it was terrific.

If you'll be moving around a lot - or cheering in the stadium - you may need a bandeau or fashion tape to keep the top together. I put a black bandeau with it and was happy I had it on in the ladies room- it's not easy to maneuver in a stall. The sleeves look great in pictures and it was comfortable for a long, hot game day in the south!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
October 21, 2013
Not cut for a fuller-legged body shape.

The shorts were tighter than I anticipated even after reading the reviews by previous renters with the same body shape.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
November 7, 2013
Feels great, looks great!

I got this in an XS as a backup option. Rompers usually fit me funny, which is why I wanted to try a smaller size than usual. It fit well everywhere, except for in the crotch area. When I lifted my arms, it definitely wasn't comfortable, which is why I didn't end up wearing it :( May have fit a little better in a S. I didn't have any issues with the front, as other people have mentioned.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 21, 2013
IT FITS TO PERFECTION!

This romper is a MUST MUST RENT. its absolutely gorgeous and so easy to wear! obsessed.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 3, 2013
Sexy romper...but a little too big

It was too large overall, but it was a very hot romper and extremely comfortable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 3, 2013
Rented for a summer shower for my daughter. The compliments were endless! I would buy it if I could!

My daughter is a full C, 5'1 and 140 lbs. This dress fit her well on top while showing some sexy cleavage.The material draped over her hourglass figure very nicely and very complimentary. There was no pulling anywhere. I also like the fact that the dress did not wrinkle readily! It was soft & cool and very comfortable!

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
December 8, 2013
"Such a fun, classy, and yet, sexy romper!

This little romper fit perfectly! The material is light and has an elasticized waist. To get into the romper, I had to step into it and pull it up, as there are no zippers or clasps. The drawback to this romper, I had to take the romper 90% off to go to the bathroom. I would rent this romper again, wearing it to another outdoor concert, or a Hampton's day-into-night party, a classic yet sexy-but-not too-sexy romper.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Apple
Weight: 128lbs
December 11, 2013
Not what I was expecting

I desperately wanted to like this, especially since I saw a lot of reviews of women with similar body types to mine wearing it and saying they loved it...unfortunately this was a loose, baggy, hippy mess on me. I do not recommend this for petite people simply because the shoulder would not stay on. I also do not recommend this for those with short torsos...the ruched/smocked waist, meant to define the smallest point on your midsection, fell in the wrong place for me and made my hips look ENORMOUS. Both sizes looked terrible on me. Very disappointed with this rental. I am also annoyed that I can't just get my money back on returns...I will have to settle with in-store credit. Ugh.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 17, 2013
Not for the tall

First time I've ever not worn an outfit. The top looks hot, but I am 5'11" and the outfit is simply too short for someone that tall. Not sure how they manipulated it on the model, but for me it was riding up my crotch & extremely unflattering. Too bad because I wanted to love it, and the top did look great!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
August 9, 2012
Very cute

very cute would not wear it to anything formal

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 15, 2013
It was a comfortable and easy outfit to wear

I needed a clubbing outfit for a bachlorette party and needed something that would be easy for me to dance in. This was the perfect outfit!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 26, 2013
I loved this romper!

I rented this for my friend's 30th birthday party at a favorite pub. It was perfect! The romper was nice but had a little spunk to it with the ruffle on the sleeves. I'm a tall girl, so I was worried about a camel toe but I ended up wearing the medium and it was perfect!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2014
Sexy number for my bachelorette party

This outfit was just a lot of fun... definitely got a lot of turned heads in this sassy little number. Perfect for a night out or your bachelorette party - just the right touch of scandalousness :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 24, 2014
Super cute romper!

Wanted something that was cute without being too fancy for an outside New Year's party. This was perfect! Wanted to keep it.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 29, 2014
ehhhh

This fit made my waste look incredible small although overall it felt like there was to much fabric and it runs large.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
February 14, 2014
Fun romper!

Romper was very cute and flattering! Received lots of compliments. However, dancing (with arms up) was difficult due to the sleeves' cut so keep that in mind, but overall, great outfit!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 20, 2014
Like an LBD but classier

Just all around fabulous. I was worried the medium would be too small (they were out of L) but it fit perfectly. Like a glove. Used sticky bra & fashion tape to finagle the neckline, which is super sexy. Overall just a really hot romper. I wish I could keep it forever. And ever.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 23, 2014
Super cute on someone who is super tall.

Unfortunately, I'm 5'7". The top fit great, but the shorts were too long and just had way too much material. If you're blessed with height, this is a great option.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 7, 2014
Very nice romper!

This was super comfortable, a little short in the waist and def needs to be belted. I am small and wore a small. Get your double sided tape and don't be in a hurry to go the bathroom! I really did feel great n this!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
March 12, 2014
Sexy & Comfortable!!!!

This romper is an all purpose outfit! It can be dressed down or up depending on your event. It screams JAZZY without trying too HARD!!!! It does run large. I normally would wear either a small in something like this, but after reading the reviews I opted to get the XS. I used fashion tape for the cleavage area and that worked perfect! Very satisfied!!!! I would rent this one again.....perfect for a cruise!!!!!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157lbs
April 2, 2014
Customer service

Although I never got this item and I really wanted to wear this. I have to say that the customer service at the end was stellar. A few hiccups along the way but they more than made up for it at the end. Will definitely try this again. The other dress I ordered had no problems and was shipped in a timely fashion.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 3, 2014
Fun Fun Fun

I rented this for a bachelorette weekend in Palm Springs. This romper was unbelievably comfy! It ran a little large but that probably contributed to how comfortable it was. I am pretty proportionate in my torso and legs and didn't find that this "rode up" too much. Loved that I was able to wear a regular bra with this. My only complaint is that it was a hassle to use the restroom yanking this entire outfit on and off! I definitely recommend this outfit!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
April 15, 2014
Fun Alternative to a LBD!

I wore this to my friend's bachelorette party in Vegas and loved it! I normally wear a size 6 and the medium fit me perfectly (a small would have been too short for me!). It was so fun to wear, and a great alternative to a dress. I would definitely consider renting this again!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
April 21, 2014
Casual dressy

I'm a huge fan of rompers! This one did not disappoint .. it fit well and was comfortable. If I owned it, I would wear it regularly!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
April 30, 2014
Comfortable and sexy

I worse this for a going away party and it was great. I danced the night away without fear of being exposed. Loved this.

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 5, 2014
I could dance the night away comfortably.

No cons....perfect for showing off your legs.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 16, 2014
Received lots of compliments while wearing it in NYC.

The XS fit pretty well but probably could have been a little smaller. You definitely need to use fashion tape, as the front gaps open and exposes a lot of bra. Luckily, I had some tape from a past rental, though it would be nice if they included it with this particular rental. The fabric is nice and light, making it ideal for a summer event. The style creates a slimming silhouette, and I loved the high waist on it because it makes legs look longer. I didn't think it was too awful to remove for going to the bathroom, but I am also a frequent romper-wearer. I think this one is best suited for hourglass, athletic, or straight and narrow figures.

See more reviews:
3 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×