Back in Action Romper

$40 rental
$300 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Walk in confidence wearing this insanely sexy Twelfth Street by Cynthia Vincent ruffle romper. Great to style with rocking stilettos, a fierce smile, and kate spade new york's I Kissed a Frog Clutch.

Size & Fit

This romper runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with elastic waistband
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This romper runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with elastic waistband
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black crepe. Surplice neckline. Cold shoulder with ruffle sleeve. Cuffed shorts. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
212 reviews
Fit
Large45
True to Size143
Small14
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2014
Sexy number for my bachelorette party
This outfit was just a lot of fun... definitely got a lot of turned heads in this sassy little number. Perfect for a night out or your bachelorette party - just the right touch of scandalousness :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 2, 2014
Dress it up or dress it down!
I was very excited about this romper because the design accentuates the 3 things I love about my body: shoulders, chest, and legs. Unfortunately, the XS was still a little too big on me so I used Rent The Runway's hem tape to make it shorter and fashion tape to keep the top from sliding too far down. I wore a regular bra without any problem however, I would have gone bra-less had I not been attending a dance party. It's a pretty casual romper but I dressed it up with a chunky necklace and super high ankle strap wedges.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 26, 2013
I loved this romper!
I rented this for my friend's 30th birthday party at a favorite pub. It was perfect! The romper was nice but had a little spunk to it with the ruffle on the sleeves. I'm a tall girl, so I was worried about a camel toe but I ended up wearing the medium and it was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 17, 2013
Not for the tall
First time I've ever not worn an outfit. The top looks hot, but I am 5'11" and the outfit is simply too short for someone that tall. Not sure how they manipulated it on the model, but for me it was riding up my crotch & extremely unflattering. Too bad because I wanted to love it, and the top did look great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 115lbs
December 11, 2013
Not what I was expecting
I desperately wanted to like this, especially since I saw a lot of reviews of women with similar body types to mine wearing it and saying they loved it...unfortunately this was a loose, baggy, hippy mess on me. I do not recommend this for petite people simply because the shoulder would not stay on. I also do not recommend this for those with short torsos...the ruched/smocked waist, meant to define the smallest point on your midsection, fell in the wrong place for me and made my hips look ENORMOUS. Both sizes looked terrible on me. Very disappointed with this rental. I am also annoyed that I can't just get my money back on returns...I will have to settle with in-store credit. Ugh.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
December 8, 2013
"Such a fun, classy, and yet, sexy romper!
This little romper fit perfectly! The material is light and has an elasticized waist. To get into the romper, I had to step into it and pull it up, as there are no zippers or clasps. The drawback to this romper, I had to take the romper 90% off to go to the bathroom. I would rent this romper again, wearing it to another outdoor concert, or a Hampton's day-into-night party, a classic yet sexy-but-not too-sexy romper.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 3, 2013
Rented for a summer shower for my daughter. The compliments were endless! I would buy it if I could!
My daughter is a full C, 5'1 and 140 lbs. This dress fit her well on top while showing some sexy cleavage.The material draped over her hourglass figure very nicely and very complimentary. There was no pulling anywhere. I also like the fact that the dress did not wrinkle readily! It was soft & cool and very comfortable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 3, 2013
Sexy romper...but a little too big
It was too large overall, but it was a very hot romper and extremely comfortable.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Body type: Petite
November 29, 2013
The fit was fantastic and the romper was just a cool look.
It was a tight fit, but not uncomfortable.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 21, 2013
IT FITS TO PERFECTION!
This romper is a MUST MUST RENT. its absolutely gorgeous and so easy to wear! obsessed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
November 7, 2013
Feels great, looks great!
I got this in an XS as a backup option. Rompers usually fit me funny, which is why I wanted to try a smaller size than usual. It fit well everywhere, except for in the crotch area. When I lifted my arms, it definitely wasn't comfortable, which is why I didn't end up wearing it :( May have fit a little better in a S. I didn't have any issues with the front, as other people have mentioned.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
November 4, 2013
This was super fun for my birthdy party.
I have a large bust, and was concerned it would be too low for me to wear a standard bra. However, I wore a regular bra with no problems. I wore mine with a belt, which made my waist look smaller, but I had to take the belt off each time I went to the ladies' room. It's kind of a weird material, but you can't really tell in the photos.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 21, 2013
Not cut for a fuller-legged body shape.
The shorts were tighter than I anticipated even after reading the reviews by previous renters with the same body shape.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Body type: Hourglass
October 19, 2013
I wore this for a college football game and it was terrific.
If you'll be moving around a lot - or cheering in the stadium - you may need a bandeau or fashion tape to keep the top together. I put a black bandeau with it and was happy I had it on in the ladies room- it's not easy to maneuver in a stall. The sleeves look great in pictures and it was comfortable for a long, hot game day in the south!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 16, 2013
Wow. Sexy!
I wore this to a James Bond/Casino night event, and it was amazing--Bond girl style! My husband was completely floored. The fit was perfect, it makes your legs look incredible, and it was very comfortable. Loved it! My husband is begging me to rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
September 22, 2013
Hot romper!
I gave this 3 stars because you definitely need the chest for this. It's pretty open and loose in the front. But if it works it's a hot little number!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
September 22, 2013
The comfiness was great!
It was a little big, so it kept slipping off. Also, it was sort of hard to go to the bathroom in it. But I thought it was super comfortable and cute.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 16, 2013
LOVE this romper!!
So incredibly flattering and very comfortable!! Great party outfit!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 15, 2013
Being comfortable and confident all night!
The M size fit me great. One thing to note is that the back doesn't have the V-shape like the picture, there is a little button to do it up. It wasn't too difficult to undo and button myself when going to bathroom. You will need to basically take the whole thing off, though. The fabric was soft and it was super comfy, I would gladly keep this romper. It also has pockets, which is always a plus!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 8, 2013
Comfy AND sexy!
The fit was good, although I was glad that my rental came with some fabric tape so that my bra remained unexposed. I loved the outfit and everyone thought I looked great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124lbs
September 4, 2013
versatile romper!
this worked great for a cover up at he MGM pool in Vegas, it definitely could be dressed up as well!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
September 3, 2013
Very cute for a night out with the girls!!
The fit was spot on!! This romper could either be dressed up or down. The open shoulders gave it just enough sexiness. I used fashion tape to keep the front closed so I didn't pop out. I received plenty of compliments from everyone!! Thanks again RTR!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
August 26, 2013
Never felt sexier!
I was pretty nervous about the fit of this romper and I even order a back-up outfit for the $25 because of it... but I seriously could not have been happier! It fit perfectly and I felt so great in it. I wore it to my bachelorette party and got so many compliments. I didn't wear a bra and I didn't even need double-sided tape. Everything stayed in place and fit perfectly! I was totally comfortable the entire night! My favorite part of the romper is the sleeves and open shoulders. Perfect Touch! Once again THANK YOU RTR! =)
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
August 22, 2013
Comfortable, unique look. Great for dancing in.
Everyone rated this so highly, but to be honest I was a little disappointed when I received it. After trying it on when it arrived, I actually considered NOT wearing this at all to my birthday party and changing outfits completely. The neckline was WAY too low and the smocked/cinched waist was too high on me, that it felt like I was wearing high waisted shorts. I wish the waist was lower and sat more on my hips and that the neckline was not that low. Fit was a bit strange, but it was comfortable and perfect for dancing in, so I decided to wear it out. Plus I'd already paid for it, so I may as well get my money's worth. I dressed it up with large gold jewelry and sky high wedges.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
August 19, 2013
Loved it!
Fun alternative to the little black dress! It did require some double sided tape and was somewhat difficult to take down when having to use the bathroom, but worth the effort!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
August 8, 2013
So cute for a casual date or a semi formal party!
The fit was very flattering. I wish I could have taken a pic wearing this outfit.. But I only wore it for a date night. It was really really cute, the neck plunge was a bit low but it could easily be secured with the fashion tape which was sent. I wore it with a cute Kate Spade necklace from RTR also. Could wear it with heels or wedges for a more formal affair, or sandals for a more casual one. I would definitely recommend for any body type!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 6, 2013
I felt great all night
loved the outfit. wanted to keep it
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
August 5, 2013
I hated this garment!!
I rented this garment for a wonderful anniversary weekend. I received the garment the day before we were to leave and all i can say is that the quality of this frock is not even one step above Wal Mart. The fabric was cheap, and cheap looking. If you insist on renting this, make sure to also rent a nice belt to cover up the cheap looking eleastic waistband (that really does not show up in the photos on the RTR site. I tried it on thinking maybe it would'nt look so bad and I was wrong. Hoochie all the way. In a panic, I ran to Kohl's the morning we were to leave and found an AWESOME dress that looked like a million bucks, and it was on clearance for less than the rental cost of this nightmare. The accessories that I rented were all gorgeous and I will be renting accessories for RTR again, but I will be very leary when considering renting a garment from anything other than a top name designer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 5, 2013
Great for dancing the night away!
I wore this to a friend's bachelorette party in Las Vegas. This romper was a great choice for me; I wanted to be able to move and dance, but still look sexy and dressed up. This outfit definitely let me do this! It was very flattering and fit my body nicely without being tight or pulling. The reason that I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 was due to some issues with the construction of the romper. As some other commenters noted, the top of the outfit is completely open (you can definitely see it in the second photo I uploaded)! This is pretty easily fixed with fashion tape, but you may have to re-adjust the tape each time you take it off (which has to happen if you want to us the restroom). Additionally, the button that fastens the top of the romper in the back was very difficult for me to button and unbutton which was a real issue when it came time to use the restroom.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
July 29, 2013
Perfect for a Hollywood movie premiere.
Fit perfectly. Loved the casual look and how easy it was to dress up for something a little more formal. Wanted something different than a dress and this did the trick! Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
July 24, 2013
Classy and easy to pull off
This outfit was a great choice. It was easy to dress up without being over the top. I looked class and sexy and bonus I was totally comfortable all night. I did have to pin the front as it was too low cut to be appropriate but overall a great pick!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
July 23, 2013
Had to return but super cute!!
Unfortunately, I could not enjoy this outfit. I ordered the SMALL based on some other reviews, and my free second size MED was not available. I took the risk and has only the one size small delivered, and it was too short for my torso. I do recommend this outfit though. Great for cocktail party.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
July 21, 2013
As soon as I tried it on, I didn't wanna take it off. When I had to give it back I was so sad!
The fit was very true to size, and it was very flattering and forgiving. Perfect length, and perfect amount of cleavage showing. I wore this to a Beyonce concert where I was jumping and dancing all night, so this was definitely comfortable. I loved it! Not one bad thing to say about this piece!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 19, 2013
Might look cute but I got the wrong size.
I got the L to try out as my bonus dress but didn't end up wearing it because it was too large. I think the medium might have worked a bit better (which I couldn't get for the day I wanted it, so I knew it was a risk!). It was specifically baggy around my waist; there was extra fabric where it cinched in and, after pinching the fabric tighter, I could see a huge improvement. I also think the M might work better because I have a short torso so the narrowest part of the waist was hitting me lower than I would have preferred. That just might be a general torso issue! The sleeves are still adorable and and would look great with the right belt! Side note: If you want to look super crisp, you might want to keep an iron handy. The material can wrinkle easily.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
July 16, 2013
Sexy and Stylish
I wore this little number to celebrate my birthday and received many compliments from men and women alike. It fit perfectly AND was comfortable. How often does that happen? I also appreciated being able to wear a regular bra with it. I found that it ran true to size. The only inconvenience is having to undress to use the restroom but that's a small price to pay for looking so swanky.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
July 4, 2013
Love the fit and I felt hip and glamorous.
Fit really well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 2, 2013
Get ready for a good time :)
Could not be more fun. Compliments all night long! This is very easy to wear - the waist is stretchy but gives you a nice grip. Wore it with a rockin' pair of red heels and danced the night away. I thought it ran fairly true to size with the following qualifier - I'm about 5'6 1/2". If I raised my arms above my head (we danced a lot), it definitely gave me a wedgie. So for length the shoulder to inseam length is not incredibly generous. Probably couldn't be longer without making you look like you were wearing a diaper. If you pull your arms out of the fringe sleeve (and just let that drop down), then you can get around this. Honestly, it's not noticeable until it's dancing time. Fantastic - everyone told me I should buy it. Just fun, fun, fun.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
July 1, 2013
Wore to a Tim Mcgraw concert but tried to dress it down with sandals but it was still hot!
Needed the large for the extra length since I am 5"10. Med fit but way too short!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
June 28, 2013
Was Told I looked like a Movie Star by everyone when I walked in!!!
THIS IS ONE OF THE CUTEST OUTFITS I HAVE EVER WORN!!! Coming from the girl who has two walk in closets full of clothes! The styling of the romper is super chic, cool, and unique at the same time. It is definitely figure flattering, while forgiving at the same time (but not forgiving in an over baggy obvious way!). The open back, low cut neckline and cut of the scalloped sleeves really give this an extra sexy look, without being too much. I won't lie, I was quite scared of the low cut neckline...I am a 34D and thought I would be putting waaaay too much out there, but to my wonderful surprise, it was very flattering and still classy looking. The smocking of the waistline (which is almost invisible to others) makes for a "high waist" cut, which is even more flattering for the legs and the tush (yes, your butt will look as amazing as your breasts do, in this romper!!). I DID NOT WANT TO SEND THIS BACK I LOVED IT SOOOOOO MUCH! I am giving super strong consideration to buying this because of how freakin awesome an outfit it is. I paired with animal print heels, gold jewely, and bright red lips for a well pulled together sassy outfit :D O and I wore this for a Bachelorette party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 168lbs
June 26, 2013
I made everyone's head turn!
The fit was sexy. Just enough thigh and cleavage to get the job done! Cute and comfortable at the same time.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×