Back in Action Romper

$65 to buy
$300 retail
Stylist Notes

Walk in confidence wearing this insanely sexy Twelfth Street by Cynthia Vincent ruffle romper. Great to style with rocking stilettos, a fierce smile, and kate spade new york's I Kissed a Frog Clutch.

Size & Fit

This romper runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with elastic waistband
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black crepe. Surplice neckline. Cold shoulder with ruffle sleeve. Cuffed shorts. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
219 reviews
Fit
Large
(45)
True to Size
(146)
Small
(15)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 3, 2012
ABSOLUTELY stunning! This is definitely a flattering piece no matter what your body type.
I got both the XS and S just in case and the XS was a perfect fit. I have a petite frame but this jumper made me look like I had super curves!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 3, 2012
Fun for my bachlorette!!!
Was a fun outfit to wear. I felt funny with the little flutter sleeves so I ended up just not slipping my arm though and just letting them hang. Is low cut too, but luckily i had a bachlorette sash to help cover up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 30, 2012
Loved this! So sexy!
Used this romper for the husbands birthday dinner. Love this for a night on the town. Would rent this one again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 1, 2013
I got this little number for New Years, and it looked great on me! Lots of compliments.
It fit very well, and was extremely comfortable. I had some issues keeping my boobs covered though- if your breasts on the larger side, like mine, I might recommend some tape (or a lack of modesty).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
January 4, 2013
NYE party 2013 in KC!
I ordered the M thinking it would be the one to fit, but extremely glad I got the L as a back up because my torso was way too long for the M and gave me some serious camel toe / wedgie action. The L fit great and did not have any trouble with boobies popping out or anything. It was revealing in the front (deep V neck) and was very short in length, but that's what I was going for ;). Overall, this was the best decision I've made so far for the year 2013! RTR is ingenious and very accommodating (they provided dbl sided tape, garment bag for transport, free lipgloss, and return packaging) - next big party of formal event, I'll be searching RTR for another dress/romper!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 6, 2013
Perfect outfit for a low key NYE
This outfit fits fabulously! Very flattering and comfortable. The only thing I was slightly disappointed about was the material. Judging by the photos, I just assumed the material was more expensive and shiny, like a satin, but it is actually a rough polyester. Nonetheless, my first experience was RTR was phenomenal! The extra little touches they included in the package were great. I can't wait to rent again for a wedding in February!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 12, 2013
Very fun little number!
The large was a little bigger and I probably would have done better with a medium. When I first tried it on I felt it was too big or there was too much material, but I ended up absolutely loving it. It was so comfortable and I got a lot of compliments. I am glad I went with the large because it was a little difficult to take on and off when going to the bathroom.
RobinFebruary 25, 2013
How are you 5'9" and 160 lbs? This looks great on you! ButI am trying to figure out sizing for myself. and judging by your photo, it doesnt seem to match you profile.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 7, 2013
Very sexy, and unique. Great to stand out by wearing a romper while everyone else is in a dress!
You have to be prepared for it to fit small (low chest and short shorts, much like the model in the picture) but if you are going for that then it's perfect. you can also get away with it being shorter because it's a romper, not a dress, and there is no worry of exposing yourself! If you order a size up (the x-s looked good on me and im a 0-2 but pretty busty) then it will just be lower and hang in weird places, not be any more conservative. i accessorized by belting it in the middle and it looked great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 18, 2013
I danced all night in this romper!
A romper is a great outfit for dancing the night away! I danced all night and didn't have to worry about "showing the goods". The only drawback to any romper is that you have to plan bathroom breaks accordingly since you have to take the whole thing down to go. Another great thing about this particular romper is that I didn't need a special bra to wear it --- not even a strapless. I wore a plunging style bra and a tiny bit of dress tape to hold the straps in place. PS - sorry for the bathroom selfie....the night I wore the romper out was too crazy for an updated pic ;)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
February 19, 2013
San Valentine's.
It looks cheap, I had to use a golden belt to give it life because, that part of the shorts looked really bad. The upper part looks beautiful though.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134lbs
August 15, 2012
Awesome night!
I love this outfit. Highly recommend this romper very comfortable.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 22, 2013
So Cute and Flirty!!
Fit tight to the waist. Very flattering
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 26, 2013
My boyfriend saw me and said, "That's a dangerous weapon you've got on..."
I had such a great time I unfortunately forgot to take any pictures! I was a little nervous about wearing this outfit since I had never rocked a romper before, but I loved it and got tons of compliments all night. The guys thought the outfit was sexy and the girls loved the design and unexpected style. I wore it with a big gold statement necklace and nude/gold strappy heels and the outfit was a big hit. I'm still bummed I didn't get any pictures! The neckline definitely needs to be taped down or it will slide over and show your bra. This got a little tricky as the evening went on because you have to take the romper down from the top to use the restroom, so the tape loses it's tackiness. I kept having to reapply, which was kind of a pain. Overall though, I loved this outfit and it was great for the event I wore it to - it's the perfect way to look effortlessly chic and sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
March 13, 2013
I wore it during the day in Vegas. It was a fun way to feel sexy without being too dressed up.
The fit is true to size. It definitely can look plain with no accessories. Easy to dress up with shoes and jewelry. Fun item for sure.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
March 14, 2013
Awesome romper. Wore it for a club night in vegas. Very comfortable and easy to accessorize.
I am a size 8/10 and got the large. It was a little loose but the waist kept it fitted. I needed a little fashion tape for the top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
March 20, 2013
This little number is fun and flirty with the right accessories.
I loved this outfit... the fabric is increible quality. Fitted like a glove and actually super comfortable. My only gripe is that this probably is not the best "party" wear ensemble because drinking several cocktails and then having to use the restroom is not the best combo, haha
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 3, 2013
Comfy & Cute
Wore this to a friends bachelorette party. It was cute, comfy and perfect for a night out. It was a little hard to go to the bathroom due to the straps, though nothing unmanageable. Also, when I was standing up the chest area looked great but once I sat it would slouch down and my bra would show - definitely recommend taping it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
April 8, 2013
Loved the outfit!!! Would defiantly rent again.
The fit was great. It had a great look that you could wear anytime depending on your accessories.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 13, 2013
LOVED LOVED LOVED
I will totally rent this again. I loved I could wear a normal bra (although I did need some fashion tape to keep the straps from sliding) but otherwise I loved this. Great alternative to a dress. I wore it in Vegas and played it up with lots of jewelry. I rented both a small and a medium (I am a 4/6) and the small worked well for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 17, 2013
Sexy, fun, comfortable for my bachelorette party
I rented this for my bachelorette party in Austin, and it was perfect for a night of dancing! The small was way too short for someone with long legs, but the medium was perfect. I wore a bright belt to cinch in the waste. Only negative thing I have to say is that it's not easy to get off. I had to have a friend help me every time I went to the bathroom the whole night!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 18, 2013
This was a great outfit for dancing!
This outfit had everything I wanted- sexy, slimming, comfortable, and I was able to dance all night! I loved how the draping over the arm photographed, and was sad to have to return it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 21, 2013
Cute going out romper!
This fit a little large but overall looks exactly like the pictures. It was extremely comfortable and fun to wear for a night out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 24, 2013
If you have a short torso, this is not for you
I loved this jumper, but the when I put it on, the waist has a thick elastic band which pulled the rise of the shorts up due to my short waist and it was not flattering at all. I am sure it would work beautifully for a taller girl, but for me it just did not work.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
April 27, 2013
My fear of going to the bathroom.
As much as I love the look of a romper, it is a nightmare to go to the bathroom with, especially with double sided sticky tape around the bust area and shoulder area to hide my bra. I chose this outfit to wear to a concert. The little ruffle that hangs half way down your arm also doesn't allow you to lift your arms very high.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 5, 2013
I had compliments all evening!
Great fit, especially comfortable for going dancing. Only one word of advice... use dress tape. All night I was worried about the top slipping down in the front and revealing a little too much.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 122lbs
May 6, 2013
So sexy!
I rented this jumper for a night out with my girls & it was so sexy! This was a bolder outfit for me & definitely out of my comfort zone but I got so many compliments! I felt great in it as well. I rented the XS & M because the small wasn't available. The XS was a little short for my comfort but the M seemed a little baggy so the S probably would have been perfect. It is very comfortable but as other reviewers have mentioned make sure you use the bathroom before putting it on and plan to pretty much take it entirely off to do so. My only issue was having to tape the front to keep it from opening up but that was minor and I would still rent it again. (P.S. Please excuse the crib in my pic. But hey I think I look pretty good to have had 4 kids!)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
May 13, 2013
Sexy, yet elegant
This romper is just beautiful. The sleeves are unique and the cut is very flattering. I was concerned about the plunging neckline being too low, but it was not too revealing. It was just right. I ended up not wearing it because it was short in the back on me (I'm ample in the rear - should have done those extra squats in the gym :-)). Other reviewers have mentioned going a size up if you have a long torso; I found this to be true also. The small was not available, but it probably would have worked better on my body type. However, the xs fit perfectly at the neck and shoulders. This would have been perfect for my event and would have looked great in photos. The fabric drapes beautifully, but it is not filmy or thin so it can be dressed up or down and worn any season. It hit that elusive balance of looking fabulous but not overdoing it for a casual get together with friends. My husband loved it too. He joked that had I worn it, he would have had to break up some fights that night :-). This was my first RTR experience and I was very impressed. Will be renting again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 22, 2013
SEXY ROMPER!
Wore this in Vegas to see the Rolling Stones. What a GREAT choice. The fit was perfect and it was super sexy without being too over the top :) Very comfortable and the fabric did not wrinkle. Would love to wear this in Vegas AGAIN!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
May 23, 2013
My husband HATES rompers, and he loved this. Even now, he asks if I can rent it again!
Beware of the "nip slip" this is low. I'm 5'11" and it fit great. The only reason I went with the larger size was that the arm holes kind of restrict movement. I felt great in this!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 28, 2013
It fit perfectly and I paired it with a cobalt blue BCBG bead necklace and cut-out heels
It fit like a glove!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 11, 2013
Super cute romp with a little edge
I loved this romper...as I love most rompers...they just fit my body type really well. I did have to pin the wrap v-neck closed because it hung open awkwardly and showed way too much bra without. Would def rent again for a party, girls night out, or Vegas outing!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
June 12, 2013
This outfit was perfect for my birthday party.
Love it. Fit really well and was very comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
June 13, 2013
A total lifesaver and an amazing outfit!
I picked this out as an extra option for my friend Aisha on my bachelorette/birthday weekend in Vegas. It turns out she REALLY needed it because Delta lost her luggage! It arrived the next day, but she was certainly glad to have a hot outfit from RTR to wear on our first night out on the town. She's 5'7" and usually wears a 4, and has an athletic build. The XS was perfect and comfortable and I think she's a total Rent the Runway addict now.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 168lbs
June 26, 2013
I made everyone's head turn!
The fit was sexy. Just enough thigh and cleavage to get the job done! Cute and comfortable at the same time.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
June 28, 2013
Was Told I looked like a Movie Star by everyone when I walked in!!!
THIS IS ONE OF THE CUTEST OUTFITS I HAVE EVER WORN!!! Coming from the girl who has two walk in closets full of clothes! The styling of the romper is super chic, cool, and unique at the same time. It is definitely figure flattering, while forgiving at the same time (but not forgiving in an over baggy obvious way!). The open back, low cut neckline and cut of the scalloped sleeves really give this an extra sexy look, without being too much. I won't lie, I was quite scared of the low cut neckline...I am a 34D and thought I would be putting waaaay too much out there, but to my wonderful surprise, it was very flattering and still classy looking. The smocking of the waistline (which is almost invisible to others) makes for a "high waist" cut, which is even more flattering for the legs and the tush (yes, your butt will look as amazing as your breasts do, in this romper!!). I DID NOT WANT TO SEND THIS BACK I LOVED IT SOOOOOO MUCH! I am giving super strong consideration to buying this because of how freakin awesome an outfit it is. I paired with animal print heels, gold jewely, and bright red lips for a well pulled together sassy outfit :D O and I wore this for a Bachelorette party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
July 1, 2013
Wore to a Tim Mcgraw concert but tried to dress it down with sandals but it was still hot!
Needed the large for the extra length since I am 5"10. Med fit but way too short!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 2, 2013
Get ready for a good time :)
Could not be more fun. Compliments all night long! This is very easy to wear - the waist is stretchy but gives you a nice grip. Wore it with a rockin' pair of red heels and danced the night away. I thought it ran fairly true to size with the following qualifier - I'm about 5'6 1/2". If I raised my arms above my head (we danced a lot), it definitely gave me a wedgie. So for length the shoulder to inseam length is not incredibly generous. Probably couldn't be longer without making you look like you were wearing a diaper. If you pull your arms out of the fringe sleeve (and just let that drop down), then you can get around this. Honestly, it's not noticeable until it's dancing time. Fantastic - everyone told me I should buy it. Just fun, fun, fun.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
July 4, 2013
Love the fit and I felt hip and glamorous.
Fit really well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
July 16, 2013
Sexy and Stylish
I wore this little number to celebrate my birthday and received many compliments from men and women alike. It fit perfectly AND was comfortable. How often does that happen? I also appreciated being able to wear a regular bra with it. I found that it ran true to size. The only inconvenience is having to undress to use the restroom but that's a small price to pay for looking so swanky.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 19, 2013
Might look cute but I got the wrong size.
I got the L to try out as my bonus dress but didn't end up wearing it because it was too large. I think the medium might have worked a bit better (which I couldn't get for the day I wanted it, so I knew it was a risk!). It was specifically baggy around my waist; there was extra fabric where it cinched in and, after pinching the fabric tighter, I could see a huge improvement. I also think the M might work better because I have a short torso so the narrowest part of the waist was hitting me lower than I would have preferred. That just might be a general torso issue! The sleeves are still adorable and and would look great with the right belt! Side note: If you want to look super crisp, you might want to keep an iron handy. The material can wrinkle easily.
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×