Aztec Ruins Maxi

$50 to buy
$420 retail
Stylist Notes

Feel beautiful and comfortable in this chic Twelfth Street by Cynthia Vincent printed maxi. The perfect style for that beach vacation.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size- elastic band at bodice allows for room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - Full length skirt conceals lower abdomen, hips, and backside
LENGTH: Available in one length - Measures 59'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'3''-5'7'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch- some stretch in bodice but no stretch in full length skirt
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Off-white printed silk. Strapless neckline. Ruched bodice. Pleated skirt. Padded cups. Inner boning. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See size and fit notes for length. Model's height is 5'10''.

Share
79 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(67)
Small
(4)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
January 5, 2013
Prom night!
This dress was so mod and simple, I got so many compliments. It fit perfectly, which was lucky because I only got the one size. I definitely recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111lbs
January 13, 2013
the dress!
very tight bust otherwise perfect! i wore it to homecoming and it was just formal enough but very cute :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 26, 2013
Perfect Dress!
My first dress didn't work out very well so i decided to rent this one. i was nervous because if it didn't fit I would have nothing to wear. However, there was nothing to be concerned about because both the size 4 and size 2 fit me. I decided to wear the size 2 because it was a bit more snug and I didn't want to be pulling it up all night. The picture perfectly represents the dress. It was black and white with some light green, lights purple, and orange stripes throughout. My height was another concern for me but the dress was the perfect length.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
March 13, 2013
gorgeous print dress that got tons of compliments
Overall, the dress was great. The print/pattern was very cool; it's mainly black and white but has a touch of color so you can totally play with them for make-up, nails, accessories, etc. I was worried about the length of the dress since I'm on the shorter side and it only comes in one length (as opposed to other long dresses that have P, R, and L lengths), but I wore 4-inch heels and the length was perfect. The one major down (and the reason for only 4 stars) was the fit of the top. Like a lot of other reviews have said, the top of the dress has some rather uncomfortable boning. It bothered me to the point that I ended up wearing the size up and had to do that awkward strapless-dress-tug all night to keep the dress up. The constant tugging also resulted in that weird pouch thing you can see in the picture I posted, but that was easily fixed by just pulling the dress down a bit, so the pouch only happened when I wasn't being conscious of my dress. But in general, I really liked the dress. I got so many compliments on it the night of my formal event and even for days afterwards (both from people seeing pictures of it on Facebook and also people remembering the dress from the actual night). I'd definitely recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 8, 2013
I loved this dress so much I traveled in it, wore it to brunch in one city and to dinner in another.
It's long and flowy and truly beautiful. I am normally a size 4 and wore a 6 so that it would be roomy and the ribbing inside wouldn't drive me crazy. I am happy with my decision cause there was room for a bra (which was perfect when I wore it to dinner) but I could get a way without one which I loved when I traveled in the dress. I am 5'6 and 1/4 and the regular length was the perfect link for me with sandals. Amazing! Definitely plan to buy it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
May 2, 2013
Chic!
Loved the comfortable wear of this long dress, wore this on a date night. Sexy and sophisticated.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 5, 2013
Beautiful fabric, great fit
Standard for this brand, the dress fit perfectly to size and the boddess provided great support. Easily worn to a more formal event or with flats for a summer cocktail party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 3, 2013
Hippie Chic and Comfortable
I wore this to a outdoor wedding in 90 degree heat, the dress was very comfortable, light and flowing. It seemed that the bust was a little big, not sure if my rental was stretched out, I’m a 34 D and usually don’t have any issue filling out the bust of a dress, but this one was a little big, not by much, but enough to keep me pulling it up every once and a while. I had to wear flats, which I planned to anyway, but if I wanted to wear heels it would not have worked well as the dress just hit the floor in bear feet on me. Over all the dress was fun and comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
July 2, 2013
Great pattern, easy to wear!
I rented this dress for a daytime wedding. It was a great pattern that was subtle but had pretty details. I'm only 5'1 and thought some 4" wedges would do the trick. No dice! Great dress, but definitely best for taller ladies.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
July 15, 2013
Unforgettable? I wanted this dress and couldn't have it bc it was damaged!
But, even though it was damaged, the lovely people at RTR found other dresses to get in the mail to me so that I would have something for the wedding! So, even though I think this was the cutest of the ones that I thought would be available... I ended up with another Cynthia Vincent winner.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114lbs
August 7, 2013
Perfect dress for formal summer wedding!
This dress ran very true to size. The boning in the chest area was really supportive. The dress was the perfect height with 3-inch heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 28, 2013
comfortable, beautiful fabric that photographed well, loved the colors.
This was SO SHORT! I had to wear flats which was a bit of a bummer since I don't think there is a long option. It was almost too short with flats, but I made it work. I liked that this dress is gray but there are pink, green, and purple accents in the fabric so you can play with how you accessorize and make it a bit more fun.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
March 12, 2014
Super confortable, perfect for any occasion!
Dress is exactly as described with stretch in bust area and free flowing below. I usually wear a 10 but liked the 12 better because I had more room for wearing a padded strapless bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
April 30, 2014
Rented for rehearsal dinner...
I rented this for my wedding rehearsal dinner at an outdoor venue near the beach in SC. It was really hot and humid out, but the dress was really light and flowy! I had never worn a maxi dress before, and I liked how this one fit. It was a good length, if not a touch too long with flat sandals. I received a lot of compliments on the print, and it was really comfortable!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 4, 2014
The dress was beautiful, comfortable and flattering! Plus it was just the right length.
The dress was a bit loose around the bust but a bit of Hollywood Fashion Tape held it up perfectly. It was very comfortable to wear (I wore it from around 5pm to midnight at the White House Correspondents Dinner). It also turned out to be the perfect length so I didn't need hem tape, even though I'm only 5ft tall! I wore it with platform heels and had the benefit of wearing super comfortable shoes since the dress hid them from view. The pattern on the dress is beautiful - playful and fun but still sophisticated. I would rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 1, 2014
The sheer look of the gown on my body! Form fitting in just the right places.
It was a little long since I'm 5 ft 3 inches, but I wore decent sized heels. If anything, I'm self conscious about my shoulders, they're quite wide, but a necklace took away from that.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 8, 2015
I LOVE this dress! It was very cool and comfortable and I got so many compliments!
The only thing wrong with this dress is that it was a tad short, but I kind of liked that because I could show off my shoes and it wasn't dragging on the ground.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 22, 2014
Love this dress!
This dress was so easy to wear and could be dressed up or down. I was really nervous about the sizing and ordered a 4 and a 6 and ended up wearing the 4. The 4 was a tad bit big (nothing major) in the chest which was so surprising because I was nervous that my boobs wouldn't fit since I am a 34D. I just had to pull it up from time to time and also the length was a bit longer for me but just by an inch or so. Overall the fit was great, the dress was so beautiful and thanks to Rent the Runway it was so easy and inexpensive for a one time wear!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 27, 2013
Great dress, fun colors!
I felt great in this dress! I love the colors that made it more fun and the structure of the top. The boning dug into me all night...but it was definitely great to wear. It does have a weird poof thing right under the bust, but I belted it and it hid it. Would wear it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
May 1, 2013
RTR made my event soo easy!
The detailing in this dress is beautiful! This dress could easily be dressed up or down. The length of the dress was perfect for me with wedges on. The chest was a little big but I easily fixed that with some fashion tape!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 13, 2013
I really enjoyed the dress, I had multiple people tell me how unique it was!
I'm 5'10 and wore flats and the dress was a bit short. Also, there was a rip at the bottom of the dress but it was very unnoticeable! I needed a 2 but the 4 worked fine-- was just a little big in the bust. The inner layer of material was much tighter than I expected and was hard to move around in at some points but didn't affect my evening at all. great dress! thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Body type: Athletic
April 15, 2014
Perfect summer wedding dress
Loved this dress for an August wedding in NYC. It felt a little casual so I recommend dressing it up with a dramatic necklace. But I loved how comfortable it was. Also accentuated my shoulders and downplayed my bust. I wore flats and a shawl at night. I'd totally rent this dress or this style again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
July 29, 2014
Love the long length and the print for a fun night of masquerading!
True to size, was actually a little tight in the bust area which was perfect for me. Got a lot of compliments on the fun print because it was a long length but not too formal. I would consider renting this again for a summer wedding - perfect length with heels
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
November 10, 2015
Flattering and unique dress for the party!
I wore this dress to my company holiday party and it was perfect. The fit was flattering and it was unique for the party. The pattern is a bit light/summery for a holiday event but as the party was at a hotel on the beach, it fit the event well. I would definitey rent again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 15, 2011
Loved it!
Bust runs a little large, but besides that fit perfectly!
KateJanuary 12, 2012
Was this dress long enough on you? Did it touch the ground?
ErinMay 1, 2012
was it long enough? i'm your height and i just want to make sure it fits perfectly
RTRMay 2, 2012
Hi Erin and Kate, this dress measures 59'' from shoulder to hem and recommended for heights 5'3''-5'7'' - if you plan to wear flats it may work on a taller height!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
January 18, 2012
Best rental yet!
I rented this dress for a Navy Ball and if it wasn't so $ in real life I would have bought it in a heartbeat. I'm usually a size 4 but got the 6 as backup and didn't even try it on. Only issue was having to pull up the top but that happens with strapless dresses. I'm 5"4 and wore 4 inch heels which were perfect, and everyone complimented me the entire night! Cute pattern and overall extremely flattering. Seriously recommend and would definitely rent again!
Amanda April 16, 2012
Did this fit in the bust area fine? did you have to keep pulling it up or did it stay put?
RTRApril 20, 2012
Hi Amanda! This style has boning in the top to keep the bust supported.
AmandaApril 20, 2013
I have a very large butt. Do you think it would look awkward in this loose dress?
AmandaApril 20, 2013
I have a very large butt. Do you think it would look awkward in this loose dress?
RTR CustomerMay 3, 2013
Hi Amanda, This dress is very flattering as it flows quite nicely! Highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
April 20, 2012
fit well, beautiful pattern!
This dress fit perfectly! however, I did not wear it...I ordered it as a backup and the other dress (BCBG feminine floral gown) was much more formal, flattering on me, and better length. I am 5'6" and with heels this dress was too short. Also, it flows from the waist so it was not as form fitting and flattering. Still beautiful but would not recommend for an extremely formal event! More casual!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 4, 2012
One of my favorties!
Loved this dress! The zipper was a stuck a little so I had to zipper and then turn the dress around, but I loved it, great color. I was also able to wear without super high wedges. I could get away with wearing flats but it would drag a little! Loved this dress though, even better in person!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 27, 2012
perfect, easy to wear
wonderful, flattering fit. it was a bit difficult to zip but was not tight when it was on. Also, the hem is a bit uneven.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
October 10, 2012
This dress is gorgeous and perfectly casual yet classy for a summer garden wedding
I wore this in May and it was perfect. The wedding was in a botanical garden and this dress was idea. I am 5'8" and wore flats and it was a great length. It would have been too short for heels, just an FY for the taller girls out there.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 10, 2012
More fitted in the skirt than it seems from the photo
I put that this runs true-to-size because normally I wouldn't fit into a 4 on the bottom but thought based on the dress style it would be more loose on the bottom. I ended up wearing a different Twelfth Street dress in the same cut but different print (Pastel Kaleidoscope), yet this dress seemed a lot tighter in the skirt and therefore didn't fit my pear-shape body as well (I normally wear a 4/6 on top and 6/8 on bottom). My only guess is that the Kaleidoscope has been worn more often and is perhaps stretched a little bit -- the outer chiffon-y print part is nice and flowy on the Aztec Ruin but it was the lining that was tight. That being said, the print is gorgeous in person and if it had fit, I had ordered the RTR-recommended Margaret Elizabeth Creamsicle Druzy Drop earrings to bring out the subtle orange in the print.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 16, 2013
i order the wrong date so i got the dress a hour before the event
the fit was perfect! i was in love with the dress. the cut was amazing and i really that it was simple with a unique pattern
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
March 11, 2013
Comfy, flattering, & casual
I rented this dress to possibly wear for engagement photos, but did not end up wearing it. I really liked the fit and the pattern is beautiful and subtle - light grey with small orange and mint stripes. I only chose not to wear this because it was too short - I'm about 5'9" and the dress was at least an inch too short without shoes. I wouldn't recommend renting if you're over 5'7" or 5'8" and wearing flats.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 23, 2013
Great dress for day or night
Wore this dress for lunch and to walk around Vegas. I'm short so the dress was really long, but heels kept me from tripping over it. The boning in the ribs did dig into me a little bit, but was worth it. Loved the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
May 20, 2013
This dress was very comfortable and wore great throughout the day/night.
The top stretched out a bit as the day went on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
May 29, 2013
Loved!
This was by far my favorite dress I have ever worn!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
July 12, 2013
dress looked great, got a million compliments!
dress is long and flowy, and is surprisingly easy to accessorize with all the colors in the print. perfect for a spring or summer wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 19, 2013
Loved this unique dress.
All the reviews are pretty spot on. The boning in this dress left marks in me by the end of the night. Also, I have 34c chest, so it was a little snug, but it was perfect for a work affair. I wore this dress after a vacation so it was definitely forgiving in the middle area. :)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
April 1, 2014
Fun night, rent the runway helped make it unforgettable!
The dress fit well, however for the event I went to it had a little more of a maxi dress look to it and I needed something a little more formal. I ended up going with the other dress i ordered.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×