Trina Turk

Seashell Bateau Shift

$30 rental
$338 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have a bridal shower to attend? Or going on that casual date night out? Rent this easy and stylish dress by Trina Turk. Add the Diane von Furstenberg Handbag's Forest Tonda Pony Clutch and kate spade accessories' Sapphire Treasure Chest Necklace for the ultimate feminine look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Coral silk with embroidery. Bateau neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

390 reviews

Fit
Small 23
True to Size 265
Large 99
Photos 186
Deana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 11, 2013

I just tried this on apart of a promotion

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit great!
adriana
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 14, 2013

Love RTR they are the best

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Love the dress
Sandy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 15, 2013

Figure flattering!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Very cute dress! The cut would be flattering on any shape! The color was really nice too. However, you could tell this dress has been rented often, because the material looked a little worn. I was worried the 4 would've been too big since most people said that it runs large. However, any smaller and it would've been too tight in the chest. I would've liked it to be just a little longer though. It fell about an inch above my knees. FYI, it did not come with the belt, which is fine because I think it looks better without the belt.
Diana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 25, 2013

So pretty! But runs big.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I thought I had the sizing for this one figured out so I only rented one size, and it was just too big. It gapped in the back and bunched weirdly when I tried to sinch it with the belt. Too bad, it's a beautiful dress and my husband loved it. I may rent it for another wedding later this summer -- but in smaller size.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Jul 6, 2013

I wore this to work; it was a bit on the short side, but was super cute and still professional.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Most of the reviews said this runs big, but I don't really agree. I had grabbed it as a second dress for $25 on my order, so I didn't get to ask for two sizes. DISCLAIMER, THIS MIGHT SOUND BITCHY, BUT I'M JUST TRYING TO HELP: I almost ordered a 6 based on so many reviews saying it ran big, but was glad I didn't. It isn't body hugging, but especially at my height, I think it was important for it to fit with some room to move given the length, and I think that is the way it is meant to look. If it is tugging even in the slightest on your hips (as it is in some of the photos of people saying it "runs big"), it just wouldn't look classy -- not that kind of dress. I suppose I could have squeezed into the 6, but then it would have looked slutty not cute. I'm glad mine came with the waist tie. Apparently sometimes it doesn't (people probably lose them). I think it was important to cinch the waist. I wore it with a big blue necklace and really like the contrast. Actually got tons of compliments on the color, which I originally was skeptical of. Sorry not to have a picture. Since I only wore it to work, I forgot to think to snap one.
Alden
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 22, 2013

Classy and delicate!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented two dresses, this dress being one of them. The only reason this dress didn't make the cut was the sweltering Kansas summer heat combined with the sleeves (although very sheer) was not a good mix for my friend's engagement party which took place partially outside on the pool deck. This dress is very dainty and the belted waist adds just the right amount of sass. I styled with a light nude shoe and gold accessories. As for fit, it was slightly snug around my wide hips, but not too small or uncomfortable. If you are pear shaped like I am I would suggest sizing up on your extra size just to make sure you are getting the fit that is best for your body!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 24, 2013

Pretty dress for a post-wedding brunch.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to my post-wedding brunch the morning after I was married. It was pretty, light, elegant, and perfect for the new bride getting ready for her honeymoon.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Aug 5, 2013

Disappointing

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I must just have the wrong body type for this dress, I looked awful on me, I was diss appointed. Definitely not for curvy bodies!
kimberly
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Aug 9, 2013

great dress! very comfortable and true to size

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't end up using the sash...the dress looks great without it!
run4fun
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Aug 9, 2013

wore to a brunch

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
love it gorgeous! didn't use the belt
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 11, 2013

Great summer color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Overall, I thought the dress fit well and looked great in pictures. Cons - it is a little worn around the hem and sleeves (but this wasnt noticable to anyone but me). Also, the material always seemed a little wrinkled.. I lightly ironed the dress to no avail. The white stitching makes the silk ripple a bit no matter what. But I did get many compliments. :)
Leigh
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 19, 2013

Great Color, Pretty Details, Runs Short

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a baptism, but ended up not wearing it because it was too short and pulled a touch around the hips/bum. Loved the color and delicate details though - would be perfect for a outdoor summer party, baby/bridal shower.
Alison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Aug 23, 2013

Super cute, and classy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Love this dress. I felt very classy, while still showing some leg. The color is perfect, intensifying that summer tan. Want this dress permanently!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Aug 29, 2013

Easy and perfect option!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfectly classy for a my bridal shower. Comfortable and easy to wear!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 4, 2013

This dress was so comfortable, it felt like a sundress but was perfectly dressy for the party!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress and would absolutely wear it again! I usually wear an 8, but the 6 ended up fitting just a bit better as I found the larger size to be a bit too big/boxy through the middle. Moving to the 6 was great though. It looks very short on the model, so I was a bit nervous but it was just the right length to be fun and "young" feeling for the end of summer rehearsal dinner we attended. It is shown with a ribbon belt in all of the pictures but unfortunately mine arrived without it so that made me a bit nervous but it worked out great to wear a simple gold-ish belt I had at home.
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 7, 2013

This dress was WAY to short!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was WAY to short! I was not able to wear it. I am 5'7 and when I lifted my hands you could see my booty!!
PrettyinPink
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 9, 2013

A safe pick

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress looked very nice. I was comfortable, yet it was very flattering.
Feresheteh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 11, 2013

My favorite of the bunch

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Very pretty and the material is breezy. Perfect for a summer day . Runs a little large. Didn't use the belt as it didnt match, it looked like it was from a different dress. Looks good with out it as well but if you want to accent your waist you can always switch it out with another one. Looks best with nude heels.
Kaisa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 12, 2013

Great dress, great deal

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Got a lot of compliments on this dress. It was perfect for dancing and looking cute, but was totally wedding appropriate, too.
laurie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 12, 2013

Cute and different

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't end up wearing this dress because the belt was missing. I didn't know I could call Customer Service and they would've overnight shipped the belt to my location. Now I know that! The dress was cute and would've been perfect for the late summer wedding I was attending. It's a different dress and the fit was perfect for me including the length which is always an issue since I'm only 5'0".
Chrissy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 17, 2013

Perfect for a bridal shower. Was a little short.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Wore this to a bridal shower and I loved the detail. However, I felt like I was constantly pulling it down. I am pretty short too...
Haley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Sep 18, 2013

Another success!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It didn't look all that cute when I got it, but when I put it in, it totally changed my opinion. It rode up a little so I would get a size larger as a backup. Very cute with turquoise jewelry!
Sasha
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Sep 26, 2013

Loved it!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved the way this dress fit. It was really flattering on me. I wore it with a gold necklace, gold drop earrings and black heels, and I felt perfect the whole night.
Jenay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Sep 29, 2013

Loved the feel of the dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was the perfect dress for a fall wedding. I got a lot of compliments. I really loved that it was very versatile. You can play it up for day or dress it up for night. Beautiful dress!!!
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 30, 2013

this was a perfect beach-y dress for a beach vacation

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
So it was supposed to be a summer evening in Fire Island...it ended up being quite cool, so I appreciated having the longer sleeves. The dress covered where it needed and showed off my legs in a non-slutty way :) I really liked this dress
Diane
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 1, 2013

Love!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love this dress, would totally rent it again. It's fun, the color is vibrant, and it's just super cute for many occasions! Wore with some nude heels.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Oct 11, 2013

Wrong color for this redhead.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm a fair-skinned redhead, and while the shift dress fit like a typical shift dress, the color wasn't incredibly flattering on me.
Mave
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 18, 2013

Very cute with great details!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore it without the belt, and it was great! The pattern is so fun in person and its very comfortable.
Haley
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Nov 23, 2013

it was great!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
still pretty loose for a 0
Blythe
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 15, 2013

Perfect for a summer outdoor rehearsal

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was exactly what I had been looking for to wear to my rehearsal and bridal luncheon. It was a light fabric (a necessity for an outdoor affair in the southern summer), and photographed great!
Colleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 24, 2013

Super cute, great for a wedding shower

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful fabric. The ribbon for the waist was a litle wrinkled but it didn't matter once it was tied. Great daytime party dress.
Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 4, 2014

Beautiful design but couldn't translate it to real life :/

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Absolutely beautiful details like I expected, but ultimately not enough give or even movement enough to be comfortable/feel cute. I needed a dress-up look that was a bit modest but still flattering, and this dress was surprisingly unaccepting of my boobs/hips. Very pretty design, and go for it if you're of a very slim/straight build.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 26, 2014

Comfortable dress, tons of compliments

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my rehearsal dinner - we had a beach wedding. I got tons of compliments and thought it fit great. It was fun to wear and would highly recommend it.
Larissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 10, 2014

Great dress!! Wore it for a baby shower and received lots of compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
True to size! Fits great but it was a little shorter than I would have liked.
Christine
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137 lbs
Feb 17, 2014

Very pretty dress and perfect for a work benefit! Received tons of compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for a black tie casino night for my work. The dress was the perfect for this occasion since it was conservative enough for me to wear to a work benefit and it was still a fun dress. Received lots of compliments on it. I am extremely curvy so I opted to wear the 6 instead of the 4 just so it wouldn't be extremely fitted. I also decided to forgo the belt since I have a short torso and wide hips. Would totally rent it again!
Erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 19, 2014

Wanted to love this dress but it just didn't go with my skin tone.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I'm half Mexican and I have slightly tanned skin year round and this coral/orange color just didn't work on my skin tone. It completely washed me out. I love the dress style and the fit but the color just didn't work for me.
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Mar 2, 2014

Pretty Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This was a really pretty dress but was a little bit like a box. It did not have the most flattering fit but was still fun to wear.
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

Super comfortable and cute

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress is fantastic for a petite frame. I usually have a hard time finding dresses that are the right length because I'm pretty short, but this dress was so perfect. It is so beautiful; the pictures just don't do it justice. The lace overlay is so delicate and detailed. The only problem I had was with the static cling! The dress is silk, so needs a slip underneath. I can't wait to rent this one again!
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Mar 7, 2014

Perfect rehearsal dinner (guest) dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was so comfortable, and very flattering. It's a straight cut, more 'bag' style fit, so you could size down if you wanted it to hug a little closer. I have a curvier build, and the tie cinched it perfectly to look feminine while still allowing roof for comfort and enjoying a dinner without feeling confined by your dress :) The scalloped bottom and sleeves are very feminine. Arms are comfortable, even for larger arms (which I sometimes struggle with). Length is a teensy short if you're over 5'7", but it was ok for an evening dinner in summer.
Lisa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 12, 2014

I wore this to a wine auction in June. It was the perfect party dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm 5'2" with a boyish frame but the tie belt gave helped define a waist! Very comfortable and chic! Received a lot of compliments! Thank you RTR - I'll definitely be back :)
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×