Rent the Runway

Trina Turk

Seashell Bateau Shift

$30 rental
$338 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have a bridal shower to attend? Or going on that casual date night out? Rent this easy and stylish dress by Trina Turk. Add the Diane von Furstenberg Handbag's Forest Tonda Pony Clutch and kate spade accessories' Sapphire Treasure Chest Necklace for the ultimate feminine look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Coral silk with embroidery. Bateau neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

390 reviews

Fit
Small 23
True to Size 265
Large 99
Photos 186
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

Perfect dress for any occasion, very comfortable.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is loose fitting in the stomach, I wore it to the Kentucky Oaks while 4 months pregnant.
DeaB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 28, 2012

Cute Dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Ordered this dress along with another one for a wedding. Ended up wearing other choice. Great dress, would be perfect for a bridal shower or brunch. More on the conservative side, cute and classy.
Allison
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

Great dress for tall girls!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great! It fit really true to size. I am normally a 6-8, but the 6 was the perfect fit. I paired it with RTR's navy Kendra Scott earrings to wear it to a September wedding in Texas. It was a really flattering cut, not too boxy, and the sash would make it flattering on any body-type. I am 5'11" so I was worried that it would be too short, but it was fine. It was a little short when I sat down, but not a big deal!
Casey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

So.Many.COMPLIMENTS!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a wedding on outdoor wedding in September that ended up being the coldest wedding ever. It's thin, beautiful material so I was a bit cold during the ceremony, but the minute we moved indoors it was really comfortable. Because of this I'd recommend it for an outdoor event only if it's warm (dead of summer) or if you're smarter than I am and bring a wrap/sweater just in case the weather turns. I got a lot of compliments in it both at the wedding and the afterparty. I love this dress and wish it lived in my closet.
Candice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 4, 2012

Runs very large!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the six and the eight, but the six was very baggy and shapeless on me. I ended up having to send it back.
Bri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 4, 2012

love the color, love the design and love my expericence with RTR! Sadly, I had to return for another

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I have been eyeing this dress for so long, so I finally pressed submit to rent for my friend's wedding. I normally wear a 4, but they only had a size 6 left on the dates I needed. I love the color and design on the dress, but sadly the dress came without a belt making it look like a boxy bag which add pounds to my hourglass figure. I had my bf take a picture, and I added a navy belt just so you could see. I had to return, BUT I emailed RTR that evening and told them I needed a replacement in time for the wedding. They have been SO helpful and have shipped out another dress for me. Next time, I will certainly order a back-up option. Thanks RTR!
Nell
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 4, 2012

This was an absolutely perfect dress to wear for a fun fall wedding. I got TONS of compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I tied the sash in a small bow in the back so that it cinched the waist instead of being a visible sash in front. Because I'm 5'3" it hit lower on my thigh than the model, which I preferred. Paired with a pair of tan wedges and simple jewelry this dress doesn't need much else unless you're really looking to dress it up. The color is a beautiful coral and it's super comfortable. If/when it goes on sale from RTR I'd definitely want to buy it.
Ramya
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 8, 2012

Amazing color, pops in photos

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my engagement party and it was a big hit. The coral color is amazing and it stands out in pictures. Fit-wise, the dress generally runs a bit bigger so I would size down for the second size (I'm usually a four and wound up wearing the two). One issue was that they forgot to add the belt that went with the dress so I definitely had to size down to make it fit properly.
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 10, 2012

All of the compliments I received!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit really well! For some reason the ribbon wasn't included with my rental, but it still worked. It is very flattering and the color was great! I got so many compliments and actually tried to find it for sale but couldn't. I highly recommend this dress for a day function.
rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 13, 2012

Beautiful dress with great detail

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress in a color I would not normally wear. Loved that I didn't have to buy it but could go out on a limb and rock a color I would normally never own in my closet. The dress has a bit of wear to it as it is one of the most popular dresses on the website, but it still was ok.
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 15, 2012

Cute, but not super flattering

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for a bridesmaids luncheon and got tons of compliments. It's super feminine and pretty, but isn't all that flattering (it's basically a big bag). I wore it without the belt, though - I have a very narrow waist and the dress bunched too much with the belt.
Caroline
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 16, 2012

Delicate & Beautiful

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a spring work function. It was beautiful and elegant and flattering without being too sexy. The color is spectacular. I got lots of compliments.
Lucrecia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 19, 2012

Did not fit right - I had to return it, but I was very impressed with the service

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
N/A
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Oct 22, 2012

Great dress - a little short

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I loved this dress but it was a little short. I originally planned on wearing this dress to a beach wedding but I couldn't raise my arms up without the skirt getting to be too short so wore out on a date the night before. When you stand, it's a fine height but becuase of the sleeves, the whole dress moves when you move your arms.
Cameo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

Lovely color & pattern

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Rented this dress for a semi-formal event (parents' lunch) leading up to my wedding. Loved the pinkish-coral color, seashell pattern, and unique sleeve length, and received lots of compliments on it. Overall, though, the dress was a bit boxy, even with the belt, and felt a bit short. Liked it well enough, but probably would not rent it again.
Krista
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

Not the best.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is more peach than in the photo. I had actually rented it for my godaughter's baptism, but ended up also wearing it to a wedding that weekend as well. The back zipper kinda gave you a duck tail and I think it could have been a more flattering fit. I got some compliments, but not as many as I usually get with a RTR dress :)
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 24, 2012

It runs a little large, but looked great on!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was comfortable and loose fitting, and I got tons of compliments. The only issue was it felt a lilttle worn. All in all, it was a great choice for a rehearsal dinner party!
RTRlover
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Oct 26, 2012

Pretty color & design

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress to an early evening wedding in May. I liked that the belted sash was removable so I could tie it a little higher than where the loop wholes are since I'm short-waisted.
Gina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 29, 2012

So many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a bridal shower and got endless compliments! Perfect vintage looking cocktail dress. Absolutely great! I wish I owned it.
Lorelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Oct 29, 2012

It was perfect for the outdoor southern wedding I attended.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The size I usually wear was not available so I had to go up one size, which it the warm weather worked out even better.
Carolyn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Nov 1, 2012

Great dress for post-wedding brunch. One guest applauded this dress when I walked into the brunch!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a very pretty and feminine dress; the color is far more "coral" than the model picture can relay. It is clearly a popular dress based on reviews, and mine had seen some wear along the way, but arrived clean and pressed. Only detraction was faint scent of body odor in the armpits. Also, as in prior reviews, no belt was provided - although it is still shown on the RTR model! But I was ready with a perfectly matched roll of satin ribbon that easily cut to fit. I sent the ribbon back with the dress so someone else can use it!! Overall enjoyed the RTR experience.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127 lbs
Nov 1, 2012

I wanted this dress to fit but it didn't.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress in a size 4. Unfortunately, the top was too big and the bottom was too tight. The dress was beautiful thought. I really wanted it to fit.
JL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 6, 2012

classy, great color!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
beautiful dress, I have a small bust, not sure if this size would work for a larger bust.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 8, 2012

I wish I could have worn this but due to Hurricane, my event was cancelled.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The size four fit perfectly and the fit was very flattering. The best part is that the waist belt is not attached so you can either wear with tie around waist or not. Both styles looked great. I would recommend this dress to someone who is a few months pregnant as well, just in a larger size because I got impression it could be bump friendly as well. I rented a beautiful Kate spade necklace that was paired with dress on site and I had navy blue pumps as well. I was extremely Bummed out that my cousin's shower was cancelled because I was looking so forward to wearing this dress. I will definitely rent again.
rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 9, 2012

Great with a tan for spring dinner party or wedding. Hem compliments legs !

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Really versatile to accessories any kind of jewelry. Sleeves and length of dress were perfect making arms spook slimmer and legs longer
Nora
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 9, 2012

Cute for a bridal shower!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was really pretty, I was worried it might be too "pepto pink" but it was a deep pink/coral with lovely scalloped details. Just fancy enough for a bridal shower but not so flashy it upstages the bride-to-be :)
Courtney
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 11, 2012

Very pretty details; a little too short for a day event.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I got a lot of compliments on this dress, which I wore as I hosted my sister's bridal shower. I was a little dissapointed with the length; it was a little short. It was about the length on me as it is on the model in the picture. However, I assumed it wold be longer on me, since I'm only 5'5". I didn't wear the belt, since that made it even shorter.
SBKB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 13, 2012

Perfect spring, fall, or summer dress. The color is wonderful and the fit is flattering.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to a baby shower while being 6 months pregnant. It was awesome and I received so many compliments.
Megan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128 lbs
Nov 14, 2012

My favorite RTR dress yet!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits true to size. The hem runs slights short but nonetheless, very tasteful.
AG
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 14, 2012

Fits well.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits well.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 14, 2012

Rented this dress for an event at husband's work- it was perfect- classy but flattering

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am tall, so my only complaint was that the dress was a bit short and they didn't send me the sash that goes with it :-( Still- beautiful and comfortable dress for a summer event- looked great even without the sash- loved it!
Erin
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 17, 2012

Super cute and comfortable!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I loved this dress! I loved the length considering how short I am, usually dresses are too long. This was a very flattering length on me. Very comfortable. A little snug at the chest, but a minimizer bra helped with that! I loved the color and the shell design too.
G-Mart
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 20, 2012

Beautiful Detail

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for my friend's rehersal dinner, but didn't end up getting to wear it becuase the tie was not included in the shipment. The detail of the overlay was beautiful and the color was great, but it just didn't quite work as a shift, on my body at least.
brookeleigh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 21, 2012

amazing

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect fit, vibrant color, most beautiful detail that is guaranteed to get compliments.
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Nov 28, 2012

Wedding brunch!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ended up not wearing the dress for my bridal brunch because it was more casual than I have expected. It is absolutely gorgeous but it is obvious that it has been rented many times. I felt it would be better for a more casual daytime look.
Briana
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 28, 2012

Beautiful!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my bridal shower. It is so unbelievably gorgeous. I got so many compliments. I wish I could buy it - trust me, it's no longer available anywhere for purchase. I've scoured the internet. If I owned this dress, it would be my go to dress - weddings, showers, parties, whatever! The color is gorgeous! It's well made. I love it. I just can't say enough about it. One thing though, is it is quite a bit shorter than I expected. I am short - 5'4" and this was mid thigh on me. Still, this dress is amazing. I want this... note to site mods, if there is any way I can purchase this dress once ya'll retire it from the rotation, I will. (I considered keeping it and paying full price. I love it that much!)
Ann
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 3, 2012

super cute & flattering

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
overall it fit well and was comfortable
Whitney
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 3, 2012

Absolutely beautiful. Feminine details. I got so many compliments on this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful fit. Very flattering. No stretch, so you'll need to get the right size, but I found it runs very true to size.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 5, 2012

Very feminine and pretty.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a lovely dress. I ordered an 8 & 10. I am usually an 8, but to fit my big booty into some dresses, I have to size up. I almost decided to wear the 10 in this dress because it didn't look too tight. However, because it was just a little too snug, every time I moved my arms, the dress rode up and did not fall back down. I decided that I didn't want to be pulling down my dress all night, so I went with another dress. But for anyone with a proportionally reasonable butt, this would be the perfect dress! One more bummer tho - both sizes I got did not come with the sash, but it was clear that they were supposed to because the dress had belt loops at the waist...
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 28, 2012

Loved it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to a wine tasting event my local congressman put on. It fit great and was the perfect dress for the event. I ordered the same necklace the model is wearing with it and it looked fantastic.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×