Seashell Bateau Shift

$30 rental
$338 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have a bridal shower to attend? Or going on that casual date night out? Rent this easy and stylish dress by Trina Turk.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Coral silk with embroidery. Bateau neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
394 reviews
Fit
Large
(99)
True to Size
(268)
Small
(23)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 26, 2012
Cute, comfy and VERY classy.
Very cute dress - looks sort of dowdy on the hanger but is great on. As other reviewers have mentioned, it doesn't come with the belt, and I think a belt would have given the dress a little bit more shape. It was fine without the belt (though you could see the tiny thread belt loops on the side). Got a lot of compliments on it though - and it was comfortable enough for an all day shower.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 26, 2012
Pretty dress but nothing amazing
Didn't come with the belt and was on vacation so ended up having to buy one to wear for the night
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 144lbs
September 26, 2012
Show stopper for my bridal shower!
My friends and family loved this dress! So many compliments and a couple of girls were on a a mission to track it down so they could purchase it. The fabric is thicker so it was really hot to wear on a sunny day in Northern Calif, but the pattern and look was worth it! The sash was a little delicate, wish I had another belt or sash that would have worked, but I tied it loosely and no one seemed to notice.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
September 25, 2012
Loved this dress and got tons of compliments all night.
Fit was true to size.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
September 24, 2012
I wore this to a wedding rehearsal dinner. It was beautiful and fit like a glove !
Fit perfect! Length was just right even though I am quite petite. I received so many compliments! I would love to buy the dress, so I can wear it for other special occasions.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 24, 2012
Loved it
Just wish it came with the belt pictured, but I wore it without the belt and it was totally fine. I got lots of compliments
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 24, 2012
LOVED IT
This was super cute and fun. It is a little short...so watch yourself when you bend over. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner. I rented a chunky black necklace with it, too. I think the black necklace made the dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
September 23, 2012
I had nothing but good things to share with my friends about my first Rent the Runway experience!
Very beautiful pattern and color. I received several compliments from both men and women of all ages. Definitely order a size down. I didn't wear the belt because my boyfriend actually preferred the dress without it, so my look was not as form fitting...still reaped the compliments though.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 21, 2012
Loved this dress! Received many compliments.
Liked that you cold belt the waist.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 20, 2012
wore the dress for save the date pics and received tons of compliments!
i love this dress! it is great for all occasions - it can be dressed up or down. even though it is not form fitting, it still gives you a nice figure. i received 2 sizes of this dress: 0 and 2. i listened to the other reviewers and ordered 1 size down and that one fit like a glove. the only con is that neither of the dress came with the coral belt shown in the picture. i added a white and silver skinny belt and it looked great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 20, 2012
When my boyfriend I was on a date with told me I looked beautiful.
I liked the look of this dress, but it fit kind of strange. What other people have said was true, it was restrictive in the arms. If I lifted my arms up too high, it pulled the dress up uncomfortably. Great color, but kind of thin material. It was fine, I just wasn't blown away by it like I was with some of the other dresses I've gotten from RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
September 19, 2012
Loved this dress...and so did everyone else!
Fit was true to size, the material was a little different than I anticipated but was okay with it. Overall I LOVED wearing this dress, I wore it to a rehearsal dinner and it was very comfortable and I kept getting compliments on it all night and on Facebook afterward! I definitely recommend it!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 19, 2012
Loved this dress. It was perfectly classy and flirty at the same time.
Loved this dress. It was perfectly classy and flirty at the same time.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
September 19, 2012
Perfect!
I normally wear a 6 or 8, I eneded up wearing a 4. I recieved so many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
September 19, 2012
Pretty Dress!
Loved wearing this dress! It was very comfortable and the belt gives great definition. I wore to a bridal shower and will rent this dress again in the future!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
Amazing rental experience for a wedding rehearsal. The dress was the hit of the night!
I have never received so many compliments on a dress I've worn before. People loved it and kept asking me where I got it. I even had friends ask if they could borrow it. The dress fit wonderfully, but it does get a bit short when you sit down! Overall, the entire rental experience was better than expected...and I now wish that I owned this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
September 17, 2012
Ill-fitting, arrived horribly wrinkled and with no belt
This dress is very long in the torso so you need to be at least 5'4" and evenly proportioned to make it work. It also seemed disproportionately larger in the bust than around the hips. I was very disappointed with its condition - it arrived very wrinkled and did not come with the belt.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
September 17, 2012
Beautiful, comfortable and versatile dress!
I wore this dress to my friend's rehearsal dinner and got so many compliments! The color is beautiful and the pattern is simple but adds so much to make this dress stand out. My only complaint is it felt a little short when I sat down, but it wasn't a huge deal. It fits true to size and would really flatter any figure. I
KellyeNovember 20, 2012
what other dresses have you rented? we're exactly the same sizes (and age.. #creepy)
KatherineNovember 30, 2012
I've rented CAMILLA AND MARC Linen One Sleeve Romper, ML MONIQUE LHUILLIER Your Moment Sheath, MILLY Flutter Away Dress, and HELMUT LANG Torrent Gown. All have been great fits! Anything you've rented that you love? Always looking for new ideas...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
September 14, 2012
Great dress for casual wedding!
I wore this dress to a bridal rehearsal dinner! I am busty and was a little worried about the fit on top but ended up absolutely loving the dress. It was really flattering and the color is great! Everyone complimented me on the dress and my Fiance absolutely loved it!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 14, 2012
TONS of compliments. Very classy. Wore in my engagement pics.
Fit great - definitely not a tight piece, but the color is gorgeous. Definitely needs some kind of statement necklace.
AmandaJanuary 20, 2013
what color shoes did you wear with this dress?? Out of all the pictures, yours was the best put together outfit from hair down to shoes! i am going to rent this dress for a wedding and love your shoes!
JamieJanuary 24, 2013
Thanks so much! I got champagne colored shoes and it worked fine. I actually loved the shoes so much, I re-bought them and used them for my wedding day. Enjoy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
September 14, 2012
Cute but Smoky
I had my eye on this one for a while - I just thought it was such a fun summer dress. I wore it for a rehearsal dinner for a summer wedding. I will say, it smelled a lot like smoke when I got it. Luckily I had enough time to let it bathe in febrezze before I wore it and that did the trick.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 12, 2012
I wore this to a friend's wedding and it was so unique and comfortable too.
I thought it fit well, but the belt twisted up easily. Overall, I really enjoyed wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 12, 2012
I loved this dress!! I got so many compliments at the bridal shower I wore it to. I want to buy it.
Fit perfect!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 12, 2012
Stand out for all the right reasons
I wore this for a 'Royal Wedding' themed bridal shower where all the guests doned fascinators. I got a ton of compliments on the color and style of the dress. It fit perfectly and hit about mid-thigh. The fabric was light (not hot) and the belt did a nice job adding shape. The only downside was how it wrinkled after sitting in it for a while, but it wasn't too bad.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 11, 2012
Easy to wear
I liked this dress...really easy to wear, and flattering. Perfect for a casual party or a special dinner. Ideal for vacation.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
September 12, 2012
Amazing!
Fit beautifully! The scallop hem is really great and the dress is so flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 10, 2012
Cute & Summery
This was a cute little dress - the details are adorable & the color is great. I wore it out to dinner in Miami and ended up wearing the larger size for a looser fit in very humid weather, and for the extra length - I'm almost 5'10" so most mid-thigh dresses end up being mini on me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 10, 2012
lots of compliments
the dress was terrific - got compliments all night. the only con was that neither of the sizes i ordered came with the belt, but you really didn't need it, it looked fine without it. i paired this with a turquoise bubble necklace and it looked great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
September 9, 2012
Thinner Material Than Expected
I was looking for a dress that would keep it shape a little better. Pretty dress just not my style -- was looking for something a little more fun for a date with my husband. This might be better for a Sunday brunch or bridal shower.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
September 9, 2012
Very pretty.
this dress was very pretty. Although, it was my 2nd dress so it didn’t come with the complimentary 2nd size. I ordered a size 6 and should have ordered a size 4. The 6 was entirely too big and looked frumpy on me. My dress didn’t include the belt pictured with the model, so I couldn’t get that waist cinched in. I think with the belt I could have made it work. Oh well, it was for a rehearsal dinner. Maybe next time. I’m very glad that it wasn’t the dress I got for the actual wedding.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
September 9, 2012
wedding guest
Loved the dress and received lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
September 8, 2012
Just don't bend over...
Cute dress, with a few caveats. I'm a tall girl and I'm used to short dresses but the scalloped hem was very short. It was also a little see-through in the butt--definitely wear nude underwear. Both sizes shipped without the belt and I wore it anyway because I had nothing else to wear at my out-of-town wedding, but there are belt loops on the side that look a little silly without a belt there.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 7, 2012
Great color, very comfortable
Great dress. Does run a little big in the waist, but because of the belt, it doesn't look frumpy. It's the perfect length for a girl my height but for a girl with super long legs, be wary.. it could be too short to move in :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 7, 2012
Great dress!
It did run a little large but fit great. Very comfortable and good length. Perfect for a summer wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 3, 2012
Perfect dress for a day event
I rented this my birthday lunch/Easter and it was perfect for the day. I actually liked it'd better without the tie at the waist, but the fit was great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
August 30, 2012
amazing dress
loved!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 30, 2012
The Perfect Dress
I already have seperation anxiety over having to return this amazing dress! I attending a wedding in San Diego that was outside. Before getting on my flight to the wedding I was told the vendor did not have the belt to go with my dress. I was able to pick another dress last minute just in case but was sent this one as well, and it worked great without the belt! I was told all night that I was the best dressed, and everyone wanted to know where I got the dress from. It was super light weight, comfy, and truly the best dress ever.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 30, 2012
The Perfect Dress
I already have seperation anxiety over having to return this amazing dress! I attending a wedding in San Diego that was outside. Before getting on my flight to the wedding I was told the vendor did not have the belt to go with my dress. I was able to pick another dress last minute just in case but was sent this one as well, and it worked great without the belt! I was told all night that I was the best dressed, and everyone wanted to know where I got the dress from. It was super light weight, comfy, and truly the best dress ever.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
August 28, 2012
Foxy!
I rented this dress to wear to an outdoor wedding and it was perfect for day into evening. Many of us who were present are Stanford Band alumni and I rocked this dress while playing the sax during an impromptu reunion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 27, 2012
Perfect for a summer wedding.
Ordered this for a summer wedding at a vineyard in CA and received a ton of compliments. Really happy with this dress, but I probably wouldn't recommend this if you're busty or really tall!
See more reviews:
8 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×