Trina Turk

Seashell Bateau Shift

$30 rental
$338 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have a bridal shower to attend? Or going on that casual date night out? Rent this easy and stylish dress by Trina Turk. Add the Diane von Furstenberg Handbag's Forest Tonda Pony Clutch and kate spade accessories' Sapphire Treasure Chest Necklace for the ultimate feminine look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Coral silk with embroidery. Bateau neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

389 reviews

Fit
Small 23
True to Size 265
Large 99
Photos 185
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 28, 2012

Loved it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to a wine tasting event my local congressman put on. It fit great and was the perfect dress for the event. I ordered the same necklace the model is wearing with it and it looked fantastic.
kellie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Jan 16, 2013

This dress was a true stand out. Wonderful dress that was different!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Color and fit were awesome.
RR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 24, 2013

Beautiful color and details

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I love this dress and have actually rented it twice now (the second time as a backup). I wore this dress when I was 5 months pregnant so take my sizing info with that in mind. Size 4 is my normal pre-pregnancy size, so I ordered a 6 as back up. The 4 was more than roomy enough for my burgeoning baby belly. The color is a beautiful soft coral and the embroidery was exquisite. A very elegant, understated, and unique dress. I might even buy it if I ever find it somewhere :).
JH
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

I felt pretty in this dress even though it was only 6 weeks after having a baby.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress 6 weeks after I delivered a baby. I liked it because it hid my arms and was not real fitted. I obviously runs big because I was in a size four 6 weeks after having a baby. I normally wear a size four when I'm not pregnant. So I would order a size down, possibly 2 sizes down. Pretty color and cute fit.
stassi
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 4, 2013

Really loved the color. Received a ton of compliments. Came with no belt, but made it work.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect dress for a summer wedding party. Everyone loved it. It was dressy without being obnoxious. Looked effortless.
Laura
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 10, 2013

Not what I hoped for

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was to big and just wasn't very figure flattering for my shape. I am normally a size 2, but even the size 0 felt too big. The fabric didn't look as nice in person as I thought it would.
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124 lbs
Feb 18, 2013

Cute dress for Valentine's Dinner

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for Valentine's day and was concerned it would not work because it looks more like a spring/summer dress. It ended up being perfect and I received tons of compliments. The dress is a little shorter than I expected but it was still an appropriate length. I ended up wearing the 2 and it fit perfectly.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 20, 2013

Really beautiful dress. I wish mine had come with the belt, but it fit well

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
A little short. but otherwise a really nice cocktail party dress. Got several compliments throughout the night on what a pretty color it was. Just wished I had been a little tanner to wear it
Dayna
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Feb 22, 2013

The belt was missing which would have made the look but I still wore it

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The belt was missing which would have made the look but I still wore it
Bre
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Feb 26, 2013

So pretty! Everyone loved it. Wore it with the earrings pictured.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The belt that comes with it was a great addition.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 27, 2013

Dress was beautiful! Would definitely rent it again!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
Received tons of compliments!
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 27, 2013

Sadly, not a good fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was sad this dress didn't work. It looks beautiful in everyone's pictures and the color is gorgeous! I just don't think my proportions were the right fit for the proportions of this dress. In both sizes, the back bunched up so it looked like I had one of those microphones that they attach to people on reality tv shows. Then, the size 4, which was a slightly better fit, had a hole right by the arm pit. But truly, I think the biggest problem is that I am too short for this dress and my torso isn't as long as this dress required. And since I am shorter, the length of the dress wasn't flirty or sexy on me. I can't say to stay away from this dress. I just think that if you're my height and with my type of proportions, you might want to think twice.
Eva
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180 lbs
Mar 3, 2013

tons of compliments

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
runs short
Karen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 13, 2013

Recieved lots of compliments

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Nice, flattering fit
Tabbetha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Mar 25, 2013

My husband said next to my wedding day, this was the best he had seen my look.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress fit perfectly and the scalloped look really made the dress. I loved that it was long-sleeved. Very elegant and the color was beautiful. I wore it to my husband's birthday at French Laundry and it was the ideal dress for the occasion. It was one of my favorite rentals ever. I would love to own this dress.
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 29, 2013

Birthday Triple Date Stunner

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress for a pre-birthday night out with my husband and close friends. I noticed in reviews that the dress ran large, so I went with the 6. I'm curvy in the hip/butt area, so it was a teeny bit snug, but I think the 8 would have been too big. I didn't wear the dress with the belt, I didn't like how it broke me up. The color looked great and I was comfortable all night.
amyfigarelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 2, 2013

Baggy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I ordered the size 2 and the 4. The 2 fit my body better as this dress runs large and loose, but the 2 was much too short. The 4 gave me more length, but was so loose that it looked sloppy. This dress was just not flattering on my body. The color was beautiful, though and the dress was in good condition.
Caryl Ann
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 2, 2013

Beautiful, classy dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for brunch the weekend of my bachelorette party. The color is absolutely beautiful and the shape is easy and comfortable to wear. The dress runs true to size, but I recommend ordering a size smaller for the backup size in case you want it a bit more fitted. I love this dress and plan to rent it again!
Brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 3, 2013

One-of-a-kind feel

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was pretty short, and the silk did NOT breathe so I had pit-stains on it before the night was over... but I felt pretty
Sarah
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175 lbs
Apr 8, 2013

Loved the dress, loved how easy RTR made it all.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
the skirt lining was a little snugger than I had hoped, meaning the skirt rode up quite a lot when/if I sat in the dress. The size 8 fit the rest of me better than the size 10, but the lining fit meant the size 10 skirt was a more appropriate length for a family wedding. Glad to have had the belt to help define the waist a bit more on the size 10. I'm a pear-shaped petite and this dress was overall quite nice.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 10, 2013

Engagement Pictures Stunner

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was simple, delicate, pretty and comfortable for our dressier engagement pictures look. The color looked amazing at the beach and I felt great in it.
Abby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 11, 2013

Great dress...a little short, but loved the color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Got so many compliments and felt pretty in this dress ;)
Monet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 12, 2013

Looked matronly, caution to busty gals

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for my engagement party as it looked so lovely on all of the previous renters, and I thought it would be fool proof as my body type can be tricky to style. Unfortunately I couldn't wear it because I looked, well, matronly. I am very curvy on top but I have zero curves on the bottom so the eyes went straight to the bust, with nothing to balance out the bottom. Would recommend this dress to those with proportionate body types. The color and fabric was beautiful though.
Elizabeth C.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 15, 2013

I would buy this dress in a heartbeat!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This was the perfect dress. So fun with the scalloped bottom and I loved the tie at the small of the waste to aid a perfectly polished look. I typically wear an 8 but got a 6 based on the reviews that it runs large. The 6 fit perfectly and I was so flattered all evening with compliments. You will definitely not regret getting this dress!
NJMom
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 16, 2013

gorgeous color!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Love this dress -- put it on and it fit beautifully, which I was worried about because I have a large chest. The sleeves are lovely and the scallop on the arms and hem looks fabulous!
Suzanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 29, 2013

great color, scalloped bottom was a nice twist, a tad short

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I recieved so many compliments on this dress. The color was great for a Spring party and the scalloped edge was very flatterig. I am 5'4'' and the dress was a little short but with a small heel worked out great.
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
May 1, 2013

Tight in the chest

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was so cute and fit everywhere but was a little too tight in my chest and made me look like I was wearing a sports bra. Sent back without wearing it, but I only ordered the 4 since some reviews said it ran large.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 2, 2013

Cute

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
If I had time to dry clean or press the dress it would have looked better...came very wrinkly understandably so with the way it was packaged...
jeslev
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122 lbs
May 6, 2013

Didn't end up wearing it.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I didnt end up wearing it because the 4 was too small and the 6 was too big. I don't recommend for hourglass or pear shapes. Other than that color and fabric was nice.
Serephina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
May 7, 2013

fit well!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
this dress hit closer to just above the knee on my petite frame. dress was in great condition. only complaint was dress ran large so was not as fitted as I hoped.
Hadley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 7, 2013

I've never received more compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The belt needed to be ironed, but otherwise the dress was comfortable, a great color, unique, and was hit! I almost wish I had bought it instead!
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 184 lbs
May 10, 2013

Beautiful dress, but slightly awkward fit; worn look.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This was my first rental from RTR. I was concerned renting because my body shape is so hard to fit (short, large bust & hips, bit of a belly). I unfortunately waited too long and couldn't get my first-choice rental, but I found this dress and by the reviews I felt confident I would be ok w/ the dress. It does run a little large, but I was banking on it since I usually wear a 14. It is also a bit short; ladies, beware! I wore it to my sis-in-law's baby shower at a yacht club w/ a pair of nude flats and my own pearls. I got a lot of compliments on the dress, even though I thought it wasn't the most flattering shape in the world (I was, however, happy it fit and the sleeves made me feel more comfortable). My biggest gripe is that it was pretty damaged when I received it: lots of fraying and picked stiches all over the sleeves and hem. The color seemed faded and the dress was downright limp. I think I'll use RTR in the future, but I wouldn't rent this dress again.
AEG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 12, 2013

This dress felt appropriate yet pretty for a rehearsal dinner in the south.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented this for a rehearsal dinner. Flattering and pretty. Looks nice paired with brightly colored jewelry in a contrasting color (I went for a turquoise/green color statement necklace).
linda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175 lbs
May 13, 2013

it is a pretty dress, i just don't fit well in it..

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
tight in the arms(i have big arms), i looked like i was wearing a short mumu, but it's not the dress fault..im fat and the cut was not flattering on me..too short for my fatty legs and knees...someone in better shape would look better in this..the color is beautiful and dress is lovely..just not on me...
Dawn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
May 15, 2013

Cute

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is cute. It was a back up and I didn't wear it, but it fit well.
Whitney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
May 15, 2013

I love this dress! I had been eyeing it for a while and wore it to an engagement dinner.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit was great. I have an hourglass shape and I found the "belt" accentuated my small waist perfectly.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 20, 2013

Very cute:)

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I've been eyeing this dress for some time now. I ended up wearing it to my girlfriend's wedding shower. Very comfortable dress. I usually wear a 4; however, I wore a 2 in this particular style. So, I wouldn't say it runs super large as I am not busty. If you're busty, it may be true to size for you. I received several compliments on the dress as well. Perfect for a shower or day party. It was hot outside when I wore it, so I was roasting a little bit. Make sure you won't be outside in 80 degree weather while wearing it :)
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
May 20, 2013

This dress was quite flattering and eye catching. It made my bridal shower all the more special!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ended up wearing a slip underneath this dress, but it was very flattering! I was actually surprised by the fit because it was more of a sheath dress that is meant to lay loosely. I got tons of compliments at my bridal shower :)
Julie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
May 24, 2013

I wore this dress for an 8th grade graduation dinner. It was beautiful!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Almost true to size. I am between a 4 and 6 and ordered the 6. The 4 would have been too small and there was just a bit of room in the 6. Overall, this was a beautiful dress and great for the event.
Lindsey
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
Jun 2, 2013

I loved it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
There was no belt with my rental but it still looked great! The material was thinner than I was expecting but it was very flattering. I got a ton of compliments on it! I'm only 5'1" and it was short enough for me so it may be really short on those really tall girls!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×