Rent the Runway

Trina Turk

Seashell Bateau Shift

$30 rental
$338 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have a bridal shower to attend? Or going on that casual date night out? Rent this easy and stylish dress by Trina Turk.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Coral silk with embroidery. Bateau neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

390 reviews

Fit
Small 23
True to Size 265
Large 99
Photos 186
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Mar 18, 2014

Had a lot of compliments on this dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
So cute for a rehearsal dinner party! Loved the color on my fair skin.
Jana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Mar 24, 2014

The material is a lot thinner than I expected. Better for warmer months.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a March wedding and thought the long sleeves would be warm enough for an outdoor ceremony. When I tried on the dress, it was just a little too thin (Linen-like material) for me to wear on a 40 degree day. The color and detail are beautiful, so this would be great to wear once it (finally) warms up!
Stefanie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 25, 2014

Flattering fit and color

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was a great dress for my bridal shower. The beltloops had been removed, which was fine with me because the belt doesn't really do much for me. I'll also say I'm only 5'3" and this was pretty short when I was sitting, so keep an eye on that!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 28, 2014

Very pretty but unwearable. Would fit an inverted triangle.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress is gorgeous but just didn't fit well at all. It was tighter in the hips and baggy in the waist and bust. It has an underlayer that continued to ride up even with a slip, to the point that I was concerned I would have a wardrobe mishap if I ventured out of my house.
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 3, 2014

This was a great dress for a bridal shower. I got tons of compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress is a little short. I wore a size up to gain some length, even though the body of the dress was a little baggy on me.
Jessie )
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158 lbs
Apr 9, 2014

Confidence booster!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great fit, soft material. The color was richer then I expected and I felt like a million bucks wearing it. I wore this for the pink themed cocktail shower I hosted for my sister in law. I got compliments as I ran errands before the party and tons from the guests and the bride. It was a little shorter then I expected, but it was balanced well with all the coverage uptop. I cant wait to rent it again.
Cortney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 9, 2014

Very classy and vibrant

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved the way this fit and the hemline on the skirt. It fit true to size and is the perfect dress for most dressy occassions.
Kristy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 21, 2014

The dress was very flattering without being too tight on my curves

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the dress, but it was delivered without the attached belt in the picture. It was last minute, so I did not have time to get a replacement, so the strings that hold the belt in place were hanging at my sides all night.
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 22, 2014

Beautiful stitching makes this dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
RTR only had a size 6 available, so I just got the 1 size. I am usually between a 4 & 6 with dresses. The size 6 fit just fine, it was slightly roomy but since it is a sheath style it was fine going a size up. Only reason it got a 3 - a few minor pulled stitches & also RTR forgot to send the belt with it. So be sure if you want the belt...to specify & check.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 22, 2014

I wore this for Easter Sunday. I felt a bit more dressed up for the holiday but not way overboard.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was a bit thinner than I expected. Very light weight and sheer. There is a liner, so I was not worried about see-through; but there was not much to it. The dress was shipped to me without the waist tie/belt-- and belting this dress is important. Luckily I had a belt of the right shade to wear instead. Size 6 fit very well.
Mandi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 24, 2014

Fun, Comfortable Dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is Beautiful. What I didn't think of was the dress being worn in. I could have worn a size 8 instead of a 10. No harm. Now I know. This was over all an amazing experience. I started with a 12, they shipped the smaller size overnight without me returning the other size. I got so many compliments on it. I wasn't sure if it would work at an October wedding, but I stood out in a great way!! I cant wait for the next opportunity to use RR again which looks like this November.
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
May 7, 2014

This dress got so many compliments!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a March wedding and it was a smash hit! The dress fit well and ran true to size. I did not wear it with the belt that it comes with because it looked out of place. I wore this dress with nude pumps and minimal jewelry. The pattern was so cute and the scalloped bottom was great. My only complaint was that the dress seemed to be a little worn out, but the only person who could tell was me!
MC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 11, 2014

Perfect for a bridal shower

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Lovely dress, perfect for the occasion.
Caroline
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 12, 2014

Beautiful! Wore it for my daughter's christening.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit Great!
Meg
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 23, 2014

Perfect wedding.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVED this dress and I can't remember the last time I got so many compliments! It was my first RTR dress and now I'm hooked. I'm usually either a 6 or an 8, so I ordered this dress in both sizes to be safe. Both sizes worked, but I felt more comfortable in the 8 (stayed put better when I lifted my arms, didn't ride up as much when I walked), so I went with that. It was definitely short, but not inappropriately so, especially with the long sleeves--and with heels, super flattering on the legs. The only problem was that it was much hotter during the ceremony than anticipated, and we had to wait longer than expected for it to start, and I felt pretty gross/sweaty in this thing during that. But that's not the dress' fault, and it was perfect for the reception afterward. I would just say, don't wear this dress if you're going to be in hot sun long-term. Otherwise, DO IT.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 23, 2014

Fit perfectly. Received a ton of compliments. I would highly recommend it!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Shift dress, but the belt helps show off your waist.
Whitney
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

I loved the look of this dress and received many compliments throughout the day!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Overall the dress fit great, I felt the sizes were true, but I chose to go with the 10 because it was longer in length. Because of the longer sleeves and higher neckline, I was fine with showing a little more leg than usual. I wore this dress to an early father's day lunch and a wedding the same evening, looked great with sandals for lunch and my nude pumps in the evening. There was a lot of dancing at the reception, and because of the sleeves, every time I would lift my arms up to spin, it would pull up the length of the dress, to uncomfortable lengths at times.
Angie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Jun 10, 2014

Loved the color of this dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great for the outdoor summer wedding I attended. The only bummer was the fabric belt was not sent to me. I think it was cute without it but I probably would have liked it better with it. It would have given me a more defined waist.
Regina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 14, 2014

Book Signing.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Sweet & Sassy.
Kelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 15, 2014

LOVED this dress! I received so many compliments.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was great. A little on the shorter side when wearing heels, which made cutting a rug on the dance floor a little tricky, but the number of compliments I received made up for it. The color is gorgeous!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 17, 2014

Feeling sexy and confident in this amazing dress!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfectly! It was roomy enough in the bust for me (something hard to find!) and was the perfect length! (being 5'10, most dresses end up being too short for me, but this was perfect). The sleeves weren't too tight (my arms aren't very toned). This dress was a homerun!!! My only issue was that the belt was very wrinkly and needed to be ironed flat...which I didn't realize until I took it out of the bag to put it on as I walked out the door.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Jun 18, 2014

This dress has no shape, there was no way that I could wear it.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The pictures are so pretty but this dress was a huge disappointment. Everything was off from the color to the shape, it was all blah.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 19, 2014

Beachy Chic

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Unfortunately this dress didn't work for me, so sad! The belt was missing when it arrived, and as I have no curves I could make it happen. RTR was incredible to credit my account, and I went with my backup dress.
Renee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 19, 2014

Great dress for my bridal shower!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress, received many compliments. The color matches the model photo but definitely photographs as a brighter coral. The size 2 fit me perfectly even though I was worried it would be too small.
Lyndsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Jun 22, 2014

A lovely dress for a summer wedding

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
My husband and I attended a wedding. I knew I had to have a dress that wasn't too dressy because the ceremony was outside and the bride and groom are very down-to-earth. I was thrilled to see that this dress was available that weekend because I had wanted to rent it for another event, but someone else was renting it. My husband loved the dress on me. The salmon color worked really well with my fair skin. I would recommend it for a nice summer date or summer wedding. It was super comfortable, and I got a lot of compliments.
Sarah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 22, 2014

Perfect!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I'm usually an 8, but due to reviews I rented the 6 instead. The backup 8 wasn't available so I rented another style too, but didn't even end up trying it on because the Trina Turk was perfect! I wore it to an evening wedding and accessorized with black, similarly to those pictured on the model. Tons of compliments, and in the heat, the light fabric was perfect. First experience with RTR and I was thoroughly impressed!
L.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 25, 2014

This dress looks much better in person than it does on the website!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit very true to size. This is a very comfortable dress - not too short and the fabric is very lightweight. I wore this for my daughter's baptism ceremony and luncheon. It was the perfect dress - I received compliments all day!
DAC
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 1, 2014

Wore this to my sons rehearsal dinner, WOW

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect
C. Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Jul 3, 2014

Cute casual dress - nothing special

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved the color and print on this dress - rented it for a summer evening out in Newport, RI. The fabric was super casual, and overall it just didn't wow me. I am a bit more pear shaped, so it clung to my hips more than I would have liked, and bunched at the stomach. Luckily the belt helped to cinch my waist, but it was still overwhelming. Ran true to size elsewhere.
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 7, 2014

Gorgeous dress, but a bit small for me.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Love the vibrant color of this dress but the fit was a bit small so I ended up not wearing it to my event.
Marisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 22, 2014

Not very flattering for my shape.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't end up wearing this dress because it was not flattering for my shape. It was tight in the hips and also across the chest.
KC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 22, 2014

The dress was perfect for a day polo match - felt very sophisticated but fun in the coral pattern

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Probably would be a little large for a smaller 4 but for me it fit perfectly. The longer sleeves were also great for the day especially since it rained on and off and wasn't always sunny and warm!
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Jul 25, 2014

Great dress - can be casual or can glam it up with accessories, which I did.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my friend's rehearsal dinner with a fabulous large and sparkly Kate Spade necklace from RTR (it's in my reviews). I love that this dress can be casual or you can glam it up a bit with accessories, which is what I did. The cut on the bottom and the sleeves really makes this dress unique and stand out. I'd definitely rent it again. True to size.
Lucy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Jul 29, 2014

Ok dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my bridal shower given by my groom's family. I wanted something conservative and young looking at the same time so this dress fit that criteria. However I hd hoped it wouldn't feel so fitted. It wasn't very flattering on my figure and was shorter than I'd hoped. Not a bad dress, but I wasn't overly excited about it like I usually am with my RTR dresses.
Erika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 5, 2014

great dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a baby shower. I do wish it came with the belt but I made out ok without it. RTR contacted me to let me know one of my sizes wasn't available but the dress they sent fit great so no problems there. The shape is nice and the color is really pretty. I wore the jewelry pictures but it would look just as nice with turquoise. it wasn't too short on me either. would rent again!
Leslie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 148 lbs
Aug 13, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was great. The material on the inside of the dress has little to no give so if in doubt, order up. I wore with turquoise and gold accessories for a baby shower.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

The dress fit great! Looked great and I received a lot of compliments.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was a soft coral which was very complimentary. The style and cut of the dress made it very easy to dress up or down for any occasion. It was extremely comfortable and I would wear it again. I chose to not wear the belt.
pamela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 23, 2014

spring or summer stunner

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
rehearsal dinner hit! comfortable, great fit, gorgeous scallop design is flowy and perfect topped it off with some cute brown wedges and gold accessories and got all the complements. perfect for baby/bridal shower, rehearsal dinner or engagement party.
Becca
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 5, 2014

I received several compliments on my dress at a friend's baby shower!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress ran a bit big. (I'm a true 8, but fit perfectly into the 6). The dress is very comfortable and unique. It is short--I'm 5'5" and it was certainly mid-thigh or above. I recommend it!
Topperbabe2006
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Sep 23, 2014

Customer Service @ RTR is FANTASTIC!!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was SO excited to wear this dress and my heart sank when I got an email from RTR customer service that BOTH my original and back up sizes were damaged by the previous renters. Unfortunately, I have friends who have had this happen to them before, so I packed a spare dress of my own - just in case. Well, to my surprise not only did RTR refund my purchase price for this rental but they also gave me a code for a Free Rental! I was blown away! Good customer service would've been to return my money but FANTASTIC customer service is the Free Rental. Thanks- I hope to use it for another formal event!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×