Trina Turk

Seashell Bateau Shift

$30 rental
$338 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Have a bridal shower to attend? Or going on that casual date night out? Rent this easy and stylish dress by Trina Turk.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Coral silk with embroidery. Bateau neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
395 reviews
Fit
Large
(99)
True to Size
(269)
Small
(23)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 2, 2013
Baggy
I ordered the size 2 and the 4. The 2 fit my body better as this dress runs large and loose, but the 2 was much too short. The 4 gave me more length, but was so loose that it looked sloppy. This dress was just not flattering on my body. The color was beautiful, though and the dress was in good condition.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 2, 2013
Beautiful, classy dress!
I rented this dress for brunch the weekend of my bachelorette party. The color is absolutely beautiful and the shape is easy and comfortable to wear. The dress runs true to size, but I recommend ordering a size smaller for the backup size in case you want it a bit more fitted. I love this dress and plan to rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
April 3, 2013
One-of-a-kind feel
It was pretty short, and the silk did NOT breathe so I had pit-stains on it before the night was over... but I felt pretty
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
April 6, 2013
The dress came right on time and with easy instructions on how to send it back!
So many compliments on this dress! It's gorgeous and you can tell it is very high quality. My boyfriend liked it so much he thought I should go out and buy it so I could wear it again! The only con I saw was that this dress is SHORT. I am only 5'4" and it was very short on me! So if you don't like showing off your legs...or if you are taller, you might want to keep that in mind. Overall I loved it though!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 8, 2013
Loved the dress, loved how easy RTR made it all.
the skirt lining was a little snugger than I had hoped, meaning the skirt rode up quite a lot when/if I sat in the dress. The size 8 fit the rest of me better than the size 10, but the lining fit meant the size 10 skirt was a more appropriate length for a family wedding. Glad to have had the belt to help define the waist a bit more on the size 10. I'm a pear-shaped petite and this dress was overall quite nice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 11, 2013
Great dress...a little short, but loved the color!
Got so many compliments and felt pretty in this dress ;)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
April 12, 2013
Looked matronly, caution to busty gals
I rented this for my engagement party as it looked so lovely on all of the previous renters, and I thought it would be fool proof as my body type can be tricky to style. Unfortunately I couldn't wear it because I looked, well, matronly. I am very curvy on top but I have zero curves on the bottom so the eyes went straight to the bust, with nothing to balance out the bottom. Would recommend this dress to those with proportionate body types. The color and fabric was beautiful though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
April 15, 2013
Pretty color and style for a spring wedding.
The size 6 fit as expected. I am tall, 5' 10", and the dress was the perfect length on me-- short without being over the top. I was disappointed that the dress did not come with the bow pictured. The dress is a little boxy without it. I did get compliments on the dress at a spring wedding, but I'm not dying to rent this dress again. RTR did have excellent customer service as always, though!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
April 15, 2013
Beautiful dress! A little too big.
I rented this dress for one of my bridal showers. I'm usually between a size 2 or 4. I rented the size 4 and probably needed the size 2, but it was already rented. It was pretty wrinkled by the end of the party, but overall I loved the color and it was very comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 16, 2013
gorgeous color!
Love this dress -- put it on and it fit beautifully, which I was worried about because I have a large chest. The sleeves are lovely and the scallop on the arms and hem looks fabulous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 24, 2013
Perfect dress!
I wore this dress to a retirement party, sans belt. Got soo many compliments! Very comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
April 29, 2013
Such a great dress! I wore it for my daughter's confirmation.
I loved this dress! It was so beautiful for a spring event and it looked much better without the belt. I got lots of complements and would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 29, 2013
LOVED this dress!
I wore this dress for a wedding that I did a reading in. The larger size was a bit more comfortable (I have larger arms), however the back of the dress didn't lay flat by the zipper. I knew that would bother me so I went for the fitted version. It was super comfortable, and I received a ton of compliments. I've included a close-up photo just to show the type of necklace I wore. I hope this dress isn't retired any time soon as I would love to rent it for another even down the road.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
April 29, 2013
great color, scalloped bottom was a nice twist, a tad short
I recieved so many compliments on this dress. The color was great for a Spring party and the scalloped edge was very flatterig. I am 5'4'' and the dress was a little short but with a small heel worked out great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
May 1, 2013
Tight in the chest
This dress was so cute and fit everywhere but was a little too tight in my chest and made me look like I was wearing a sports bra. Sent back without wearing it, but I only ordered the 4 since some reviews said it ran large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 2, 2013
Cute
If I had time to dry clean or press the dress it would have looked better...came very wrinkly understandably so with the way it was packaged...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 2, 2013
Perfect fit, beautiful pattern. LOVED this dress!!
I wore this for my Master's graduation ceremony and lunch. It was classic and I felt so comfortable in it. It runs large, so I ended up wearing the 2 instead of the 4 and was very comfortable. The length is not too long and the neck is a perfect high boat cut which was perfect for a strand of pearls. I paired the dress with nude heels and got lots of compliments throughout the day. I was sad to see this one go!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 5, 2013
Unique
I got so many compliments on this dress. I ordered a 6 and an 8, and went with the 8. The 6 was too tight in the hip/thigh. The 8 was missing the sash, but luckily I had the sash from the 6. Otherwise, it was very unique and looked great on.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
May 7, 2013
fit well!
this dress hit closer to just above the knee on my petite frame. dress was in great condition. only complaint was dress ran large so was not as fitted as I hoped.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 7, 2013
I've never received more compliments!
The belt needed to be ironed, but otherwise the dress was comfortable, a great color, unique, and was hit! I almost wish I had bought it instead!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 8, 2013
Great dress for the Derby party we went to!
This dress is short so be prepared to show a little leg. I couldn't wear my spanx because you could see them sticking out the bottom of the dress. Luckily, the dress skimmed and didn't cling. I have a large chest- 34F and the fit was fine. I didn't wear the belt- it looked kind of cheesy. I got lots of compliments on this really different color and design. Cute.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 184lbs
May 10, 2013
Beautiful dress, but slightly awkward fit; worn look.
This was my first rental from RTR. I was concerned renting because my body shape is so hard to fit (short, large bust & hips, bit of a belly). I unfortunately waited too long and couldn't get my first-choice rental, but I found this dress and by the reviews I felt confident I would be ok w/ the dress. It does run a little large, but I was banking on it since I usually wear a 14. It is also a bit short; ladies, beware! I wore it to my sis-in-law's baby shower at a yacht club w/ a pair of nude flats and my own pearls. I got a lot of compliments on the dress, even though I thought it wasn't the most flattering shape in the world (I was, however, happy it fit and the sleeves made me feel more comfortable). My biggest gripe is that it was pretty damaged when I received it: lots of fraying and picked stiches all over the sleeves and hem. The color seemed faded and the dress was downright limp. I think I'll use RTR in the future, but I wouldn't rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 12, 2013
This dress felt appropriate yet pretty for a rehearsal dinner in the south.
Rented this for a rehearsal dinner. Flattering and pretty. Looks nice paired with brightly colored jewelry in a contrasting color (I went for a turquoise/green color statement necklace).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
May 13, 2013
it is a pretty dress, i just don't fit well in it..
tight in the arms(i have big arms), i looked like i was wearing a short mumu, but it's not the dress fault..im fat and the cut was not flattering on me..too short for my fatty legs and knees...someone in better shape would look better in this..the color is beautiful and dress is lovely..just not on me...
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 14, 2013
Great color, fun pattern, loved it!
Wore the dress to my brother's college graduation. Got a ton of compliments, great spring dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
May 15, 2013
Cute
This dress is cute. It was a back up and I didn't wear it, but it fit well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
May 20, 2013
Very cute:)
I've been eyeing this dress for some time now. I ended up wearing it to my girlfriend's wedding shower. Very comfortable dress. I usually wear a 4; however, I wore a 2 in this particular style. So, I wouldn't say it runs super large as I am not busty. If you're busty, it may be true to size for you. I received several compliments on the dress as well. Perfect for a shower or day party. It was hot outside when I wore it, so I was roasting a little bit. Make sure you won't be outside in 80 degree weather while wearing it :)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
May 23, 2013
This was actually my back-up dress, but it ended up being perfect for the event.
It was a little looser at the waist than I would have liked, but overall very flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 24, 2013
I wore this dress for an 8th grade graduation dinner. It was beautiful!
Almost true to size. I am between a 4 and 6 and ordered the 6. The 4 would have been too small and there was just a bit of room in the 6. Overall, this was a beautiful dress and great for the event.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
May 26, 2013
Perfect for my engagement photos!
Dress fit great and the belt just added to the look. Dress is a little short so had to be careful when taking action shots! Ordered a 4 and a 6 and ended up wearing the 4 because it was more fitted. Accessorized with one of my own statement necklaces and the look was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
June 2, 2013
I loved it!
There was no belt with my rental but it still looked great! The material was thinner than I was expecting but it was very flattering. I got a ton of compliments on it! I'm only 5'1" and it was short enough for me so it may be really short on those really tall girls!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 4, 2013
Got lots of compliments on this dress and the color.
This dress was perfect for a NYC baby shower. I got compliments on both the style and Springy color. I debated about wearing the sash since it was faded and kind of dirty so it didn't match the dress fabric very well, but I ended up using it to cinch in at the waist and give me some shape. Even with the linking the dress was sheer, so wear nude colored undergarments. The scalloped edges are a nice detail.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 11, 2013
I absolutely loved this dress!
I have been eyeing this dress for over a year. So excited to finally have been able to wear it! The fit was very true to size, and the color was even more amazing than the website depicts. The cut was flattering and I received many compliments! The only negative was that the little fabric belt/sash kept coming untied, nothing a quick re-tie couldn't fix! I would love to own this dress, but seeing as it is no longer for sale, I will certainly be renting it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 11, 2013
I just tried this on apart of a promotion
Fit great!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 14, 2013
Love RTR they are the best
Love the dress
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
June 15, 2013
Unusual, stunning design
Wore this dress for my engagement photos. I was in love with it online and even more when it arrived! The design is beautiful and the color was flattering on my pasty skin. I wish I had ordered a size 2 because the 4 was on the larger side for a 4, although having the belt made it somewhat adjustable. Would be good for an outdoor function when the weather is a little cooler.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 15, 2013
Figure flattering!
Very cute dress! The cut would be flattering on any shape! The color was really nice too. However, you could tell this dress has been rented often, because the material looked a little worn. I was worried the 4 would've been too big since most people said that it runs large. However, any smaller and it would've been too tight in the chest. I would've liked it to be just a little longer though. It fell about an inch above my knees. FYI, it did not come with the belt, which is fine because I think it looks better without the belt.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
June 17, 2013
Celebrating in the Big Easy
I wanted a dress perfect for Easter in New Orleans, fun but with a little bit of a Southern Belle style. This dress was nice and lightweight, perfect for the humidity and while it flattered my figure it was not clingy. I wish it would have come with the belt though, I thought that was the only piece missing from this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 25, 2013
So pretty! But runs big.
I thought I had the sizing for this one figured out so I only rented one size, and it was just too big. It gapped in the back and bunched weirdly when I tried to sinch it with the belt. Too bad, it's a beautiful dress and my husband loved it. I may rent it for another wedding later this summer -- but in smaller size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
June 25, 2013
amazing color... great fit !!
wore this to my cousins wedding and it was a hit !! the color is amazing the fabric is light weight ... felt very great Gatsby !!!! I have a bit of a tummy ... and this dress was forgiving :)
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
5 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×