Seashell Bateau Shift

$30 rental
$338 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have a bridal shower to attend? Or going on that casual date night out? Rent this easy and stylish dress by Trina Turk.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Coral silk with embroidery. Bateau neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
394 reviews
Fit
Large
(99)
True to Size
(268)
Small
(23)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
May 6, 2013
Didn't end up wearing it.
I didnt end up wearing it because the 4 was too small and the 6 was too big. I don't recommend for hourglass or pear shapes. Other than that color and fabric was nice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 5, 2013
Unique
I got so many compliments on this dress. I ordered a 6 and an 8, and went with the 8. The 6 was too tight in the hip/thigh. The 8 was missing the sash, but luckily I had the sash from the 6. Otherwise, it was very unique and looked great on.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 2, 2013
Perfect fit, beautiful pattern. LOVED this dress!!
I wore this for my Master's graduation ceremony and lunch. It was classic and I felt so comfortable in it. It runs large, so I ended up wearing the 2 instead of the 4 and was very comfortable. The length is not too long and the neck is a perfect high boat cut which was perfect for a strand of pearls. I paired the dress with nude heels and got lots of compliments throughout the day. I was sad to see this one go!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 2, 2013
Cute
If I had time to dry clean or press the dress it would have looked better...came very wrinkly understandably so with the way it was packaged...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
May 1, 2013
Tight in the chest
This dress was so cute and fit everywhere but was a little too tight in my chest and made me look like I was wearing a sports bra. Sent back without wearing it, but I only ordered the 4 since some reviews said it ran large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
April 29, 2013
great color, scalloped bottom was a nice twist, a tad short
I recieved so many compliments on this dress. The color was great for a Spring party and the scalloped edge was very flatterig. I am 5'4'' and the dress was a little short but with a small heel worked out great.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 29, 2013
LOVED this dress!
I wore this dress for a wedding that I did a reading in. The larger size was a bit more comfortable (I have larger arms), however the back of the dress didn't lay flat by the zipper. I knew that would bother me so I went for the fitted version. It was super comfortable, and I received a ton of compliments. I've included a close-up photo just to show the type of necklace I wore. I hope this dress isn't retired any time soon as I would love to rent it for another even down the road.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
April 29, 2013
Such a great dress! I wore it for my daughter's confirmation.
I loved this dress! It was so beautiful for a spring event and it looked much better without the belt. I got lots of complements and would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 24, 2013
Perfect dress!
I wore this dress to a retirement party, sans belt. Got soo many compliments! Very comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 16, 2013
gorgeous color!
Love this dress -- put it on and it fit beautifully, which I was worried about because I have a large chest. The sleeves are lovely and the scallop on the arms and hem looks fabulous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 15, 2013
I would buy this dress in a heartbeat!
This was the perfect dress. So fun with the scalloped bottom and I loved the tie at the small of the waste to aid a perfectly polished look. I typically wear an 8 but got a 6 based on the reviews that it runs large. The 6 fit perfectly and I was so flattered all evening with compliments. You will definitely not regret getting this dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
April 15, 2013
Beautiful dress! A little too big.
I rented this dress for one of my bridal showers. I'm usually between a size 2 or 4. I rented the size 4 and probably needed the size 2, but it was already rented. It was pretty wrinkled by the end of the party, but overall I loved the color and it was very comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 163lbs
April 15, 2013
Pretty color and style for a spring wedding.
The size 6 fit as expected. I am tall, 5' 10", and the dress was the perfect length on me-- short without being over the top. I was disappointed that the dress did not come with the bow pictured. The dress is a little boxy without it. I did get compliments on the dress at a spring wedding, but I'm not dying to rent this dress again. RTR did have excellent customer service as always, though!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
April 12, 2013
Looked matronly, caution to busty gals
I rented this for my engagement party as it looked so lovely on all of the previous renters, and I thought it would be fool proof as my body type can be tricky to style. Unfortunately I couldn't wear it because I looked, well, matronly. I am very curvy on top but I have zero curves on the bottom so the eyes went straight to the bust, with nothing to balance out the bottom. Would recommend this dress to those with proportionate body types. The color and fabric was beautiful though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 11, 2013
Great dress...a little short, but loved the color!
Got so many compliments and felt pretty in this dress ;)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 10, 2013
Engagement Pictures Stunner
This dress was simple, delicate, pretty and comfortable for our dressier engagement pictures look. The color looked amazing at the beach and I felt great in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 8, 2013
Loved the dress, loved how easy RTR made it all.
the skirt lining was a little snugger than I had hoped, meaning the skirt rode up quite a lot when/if I sat in the dress. The size 8 fit the rest of me better than the size 10, but the lining fit meant the size 10 skirt was a more appropriate length for a family wedding. Glad to have had the belt to help define the waist a bit more on the size 10. I'm a pear-shaped petite and this dress was overall quite nice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
April 6, 2013
The dress came right on time and with easy instructions on how to send it back!
So many compliments on this dress! It's gorgeous and you can tell it is very high quality. My boyfriend liked it so much he thought I should go out and buy it so I could wear it again! The only con I saw was that this dress is SHORT. I am only 5'4" and it was very short on me! So if you don't like showing off your legs...or if you are taller, you might want to keep that in mind. Overall I loved it though!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
April 3, 2013
One-of-a-kind feel
It was pretty short, and the silk did NOT breathe so I had pit-stains on it before the night was over... but I felt pretty
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 2, 2013
Beautiful, classy dress!
I rented this dress for brunch the weekend of my bachelorette party. The color is absolutely beautiful and the shape is easy and comfortable to wear. The dress runs true to size, but I recommend ordering a size smaller for the backup size in case you want it a bit more fitted. I love this dress and plan to rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 2, 2013
Baggy
I ordered the size 2 and the 4. The 2 fit my body better as this dress runs large and loose, but the 2 was much too short. The 4 gave me more length, but was so loose that it looked sloppy. This dress was just not flattering on my body. The color was beautiful, though and the dress was in good condition.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 29, 2013
Loved the color and fit of this dress!
The dress itself had a loose fit, so for a girl with a bust and booty it fit well. I got so many compliments from family and friends at the bridal shower on this dress! The dress fit well even though it was looser and it wasn't too long or too short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
March 29, 2013
Birthday Triple Date Stunner
I wore this dress for a pre-birthday night out with my husband and close friends. I noticed in reviews that the dress ran large, so I went with the 6. I'm curvy in the hip/butt area, so it was a teeny bit snug, but I think the 8 would have been too big. I didn't wear the dress with the belt, I didn't like how it broke me up. The color looked great and I was comfortable all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 25, 2013
My husband said next to my wedding day, this was the best he had seen my look.
This dress fit perfectly and the scalloped look really made the dress. I loved that it was long-sleeved. Very elegant and the color was beautiful. I wore it to my husband's birthday at French Laundry and it was the ideal dress for the occasion. It was one of my favorite rentals ever. I would love to own this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
March 22, 2013
Loved that i subconsciously matched my bff :)
The 8 fit like a glove but was about an inch shorter than the 10 and was tighter around the butt. I liked that the 10 was longer but the sleeves were too baggy. However I still recieved lots of compliments!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
March 18, 2013
unique color and style. stood out.
I wore this to a book signing, and while it was comfortable, it did need to be tugged down and repositioned every time I stood up or sat down. It was fairly short (and I'm only 5'3") and it didn't stay in place well. It ran a bit big, I ordered the 8 and 10, because I fall somewhere in between. The 8 fit really well, the 10 swam on me. The middle of the dress is unforgiving if you don't have some great ab's, though, lol. :) All in all, it was pretty and different and stood out in the crowd.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 13, 2013
Recieved lots of compliments
Nice, flattering fit
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 11, 2013
Good, not great.
I rented this for a wedding rehearsal dinner and loved the brightness of this dress. RTR didn't have my backup size so I was only able to rent the 4 which ended up being a bit too big but I just went with it. The dress also came without the belt which I would of liked to help cinch in the waist since it was too big but oh well! The dress was also a bit worn at the hem and the end of the sleeves from normal wear and tear. That didn't really bother me but I know it would bother others. Although this rental experience wasn't the best it won't deter me from renting again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 9, 2013
I wore this for my bridal shower and got SO many compliments!
This dress fit great and when I got compliments most people also touched the fabric. My bridal shower was outside on a very hot day in May, which I didn't anticipate when I selected this dress to wear. After a few hours outdoors the fabric wrinkled, but other than that the dress was great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 5, 2013
Wore this for my bridal shower!
This dress runs a bit large, I usually wear a size 4 and I ordered the 4 and the 2 but ended up wearing the 2. It was the perfect dress for my bridal shower. A little on the short side for taller girls but overall, a great dress. The dress came with a belt that didn't look great on me so I just decided not to use it.
saraMarch 30, 2013
I am the same build as you, was it fitted or more of a roomy feel to it? I was also worried about the length. It looks great on you!
SarahApril 2, 2013
Thank you! I would say it was just right - not super fitted but definitely not loose either. The material doesn't have any stretch to it so I wouldn't have wanted it to be any more fitted. If you wear flats I don't think the length will be a problem. I hope that helps!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
March 3, 2013
tons of compliments
runs short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
March 1, 2013
Great for charity luncheon...stand out dress and a headturner!
Wore this to a ladies-who-lunch charity fashion show and luncheon. In a sea of dark colored clothing worn by most of the attendees, this dress was clearly a stand out...in a great way! Definitely turned some heads with the fashionable look and color of this winner dress! Loved the light, floaty feel of the fabric. Loved wearing it! :D
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
March 1, 2013
Great first rental!
I rented this dress for a fancy baby shower. I also rented the necklace the model wears in the picture. It fit great, it was comfortable, and I received tons of compliments! It was a winter shower so I paired it with black tights and black heels. I went back and forth between sash and no sash but ultimately kept it because I felt like it made my figure look a bit better. This was my first rent the runway experience and I will definitely be renting again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 27, 2013
Sadly, not a good fit
I was sad this dress didn't work. It looks beautiful in everyone's pictures and the color is gorgeous! I just don't think my proportions were the right fit for the proportions of this dress. In both sizes, the back bunched up so it looked like I had one of those microphones that they attach to people on reality tv shows. Then, the size 4, which was a slightly better fit, had a hole right by the arm pit. But truly, I think the biggest problem is that I am too short for this dress and my torso isn't as long as this dress required. And since I am shorter, the length of the dress wasn't flirty or sexy on me. I can't say to stay away from this dress. I just think that if you're my height and with my type of proportions, you might want to think twice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 27, 2013
Dress was beautiful! Would definitely rent it again!!
Received tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
February 26, 2013
So pretty! Everyone loved it. Wore it with the earrings pictured.
The belt that comes with it was a great addition.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Body type: Athletic
February 22, 2013
The belt was missing which would have made the look but I still wore it
The belt was missing which would have made the look but I still wore it
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
February 21, 2013
Great color!
I wore this dress for my wedding shower a couple weeks ago. I definitely felt like I stood out, and received many compliments. The dress was very comfortable to move in. My only suggestion would be to wear a size down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 20, 2013
Really beautiful dress. I wish mine had come with the belt, but it fit well
A little short. but otherwise a really nice cocktail party dress. Got several compliments throughout the night on what a pretty color it was. Just wished I had been a little tanner to wear it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
February 18, 2013
Cute dress for Valentine's Dinner
I rented this dress for Valentine's day and was concerned it would not work because it looks more like a spring/summer dress. It ended up being perfect and I received tons of compliments. The dress is a little shorter than I expected but it was still an appropriate length. I ended up wearing the 2 and it fit perfectly.
See more reviews:
5 / 10
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×