Rent the Runway

Trina Turk

Seashell Bateau Shift

$30 rental
$338 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have a bridal shower to attend? Or going on that casual date night out? Rent this easy and stylish dress by Trina Turk. Add the Diane von Furstenberg Handbag's Forest Tonda Pony Clutch and kate spade accessories' Sapphire Treasure Chest Necklace for the ultimate feminine look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Coral silk with embroidery. Bateau neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

390 reviews

Fit
Small 23
True to Size 265
Large 99
Photos 186
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139 lbs
May 6, 2012

Color and Comfort great

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This is an easy to wear dress. I got the 6 -and it worked for me. The 4 not available. I would not wanted it tight as family Sunday brunch wedding. It is a pretty dress- may be slightly worn. The color is very flattering
Maggie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 8, 2012

So many compliments

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this color, the fit and how it breathed easily. I wore this dress at the end of May, in KS, where it's hot, and it was still very light and breezy. Very flattering. Would definitely wear it again.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Apple
Aug 15, 2012

Very Cute Dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wanted to purchase this dress several months ago, but while I was waiting for it to go on sale, it sold out! Other reviewers mentioned that the dress did not come with the sash as pictured, and I thought that the sash did not come as well...however, I realized AFTERWARDS that the sash came in a separate pouch and I didn't realize it. However, even without the sash, I felt that the dress was still very cute. I wore this dress to a wedding and felt that the color and fit were beautiful. Overall, worth the rental!
Lynsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 12, 2012

I loved this dress!! I got so many compliments at the bridal shower I wore it to. I want to buy it.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit perfect!!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Loved this dress...and so did everyone else!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was true to size, the material was a little different than I anticipated but was okay with it. Overall I LOVED wearing this dress, I wore it to a rehearsal dinner and it was very comfortable and I kept getting compliments on it all night and on Facebook afterward! I definitely recommend it!
lisa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Sep 20, 2012

wore the dress for save the date pics and received tons of compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
i love this dress! it is great for all occasions - it can be dressed up or down. even though it is not form fitting, it still gives you a nice figure. i received 2 sizes of this dress: 0 and 2. i listened to the other reviewers and ordered 1 size down and that one fit like a glove. the only con is that neither of the dress came with the coral belt shown in the picture. i added a white and silver skinny belt and it looked great!
A
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Sep 23, 2012

I had nothing but good things to share with my friends about my first Rent the Runway experience!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Very beautiful pattern and color. I received several compliments from both men and women of all ages. Definitely order a size down. I didn't wear the belt because my boyfriend actually preferred the dress without it, so my look was not as form fitting...still reaped the compliments though.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 144 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

Show stopper for my bridal shower!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
My friends and family loved this dress! So many compliments and a couple of girls were on a a mission to track it down so they could purchase it. The fabric is thicker so it was really hot to wear on a sunny day in Northern Calif, but the pattern and look was worth it! The sash was a little delicate, wish I had another belt or sash that would have worked, but I tied it loosely and no one seemed to notice.
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

Very flattering, so many compliments

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was so comfortable and flattering. They forgot to send the belt that goes with the dress, but it didn't matter, it looked great on and I received an unbelievable amount of compliments.
Kathryn
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 2, 2012

Loved the dress, great color, lots of compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress runs large. I usually wear an 8 but the 6 fit well. I wore a nude belt and nude heels. I wore it to a late summer wedding. I definitely recommend this dress!
Bailey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 6, 2012

I LOVED this dress! I got so many compliments--wish I owned this one!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fits true to size...the sleeves may be a little tight in some areas. It was perfect for a spring wedding since the dress has long sleeves. The color is beautiful and the details are gorgeous up close. I've seen a few other girls wear this dress and all of them have looked great! You really can't go wrong with this one.
Courtney
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 8, 2012

Perfect for Multiple Events!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for the day before my wedding. I wore it to a bridal luncheon, my wedding rehearsal and then rehearsal dinner. It was easy to wear throughout the day through many events. It was just the right amount of dressiness that I could wear during the day and then to a nice dinner. I wish I could keep this dress it was so comfortable!
Sam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Oct 8, 2012

Chic and sleek!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect dress for a second wedding in Arizona. It's so light but the material is very impressive. I received a ton of compliments that night! Only con - a little short when seated.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 14, 2012

Delicate and feminine

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress for my 4 year anniversary with my boyfriend:) I paired it with the sapphire treasure chest necklace which actually worked beautifully. This dress's design is sewn on which makes it even cuter. I had several people (all women) stop me in stores, restaurants, a candy shop, and on the street. To tell me how beautiful the dress was! One gal stopped me in my tracks on my way to the bathroom and motioned with her hands from the top of my head to my feet saying "this is beautiful!" The dress runs large though. I might have even been able to size down..There was a little room in the shoulders but I did not mind. The length was flirty but classic cute as were the 3/4 length sleeves. Will rent again I am sure! :)
D'Ann
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 14, 2012

OMG!! Best dress ever!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Kind of short, great fit, I wanted to keep it!!
Patty
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Oct 15, 2012

I LOVED this dress! I will definitely rent this dress again!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress did fit large. I went with the 8. I also rented the necklace in the picture and it went perfectly with the dress. Wear nude heels, they match the best.
Melissa
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Oct 15, 2012

Awesome service, loved the packaging and freebies.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit matched the stylists description from the website. Dress was really comfortable.
CS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 139 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

I looked really classy!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I almost didn't go for this dress because I thought it was going to be too much but it looked great on and not tacky. Fits great, flattering. I used my own belt.
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 21, 2012

Fun color! Definitely stood out from all the black!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was such a great color! I wore it to my 10 year high school reunion and received so many compliments! I ordered the 2 and the 4. The 2 fit, but I thought the 4 would be best for dancing :). I decided to do with out a statement necklace. I saw other pictures with such cute necklaces, and I had one already picked out to wear with the dress. When I tried the full outfit on, I decided to go with fun gold earrings instead. Very comfortable, but I had to pay attention to the length when I sat down.
Bre
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Oct 21, 2012

I walked into my friends bridal shower and got numerous compliments on both the dress and necklace!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit perfectly! I ordered both the size 8 and 10 just in case, and the 8 fit like it was made for me. The material is very lightweight and comfortable. My favorite part of this outfit had to be the necklace; I feel like it really completed my look. I will most likely find it and buy it because I loved it so much.
Corinne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

Super! Lots of compliments.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner, received a ton of compliments. I was worried it would be too short, but it wasn't and I'm 5'7" and wore 3 Inch heels. It was comfy and easy to wear.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 28, 2012

I keep getting compliments on this dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for a busy wedding night of a dear friend of mine. I was running around all day - and the weather was sunny, but not quite warm - the sleeves on this dress kept it trendy and special-occasion-looking, while keeping me warm too! It should be noted I wore the dress without the sash; I just thought it looked better to not cut myself in half in pictures. I got so many compliments on the dress that night - I wish I didn't have to return it. I could see myself wearing this dress for *everything* - I wish it was my uniform!
Samantha
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 4, 2012

Fantastic customer service!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This was a really comfortable dress to wear for a casual party or baby shower. I will agree with some of the other reviews about it feeling a little short when I sat down, but other than that, it was a really classy dress that I could see wearing to lots of different events! I normally wear a 12, but wore a 10 in this dress, so I think this dress runs a little big. This is a great dress I would wear again!
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 6, 2012

Received so many compliments on this dress! Thank you RTR, you made this event so easy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit perfectly. I ordered a 4 and 6. Both fit well, but the 6 was baggy in the waist. It had a good length for a fun/causal wedding feel. I'm tall and tend to be on the conservative side, but this hit low thigh, so I was happy with it. My only complaints would be I didn't realize where the belt was in the packaging (didn't look very hard either) and assumed RTR forget to include it. So I went sans belt and when I went to package it up for return, found the belts. Oh well! Will definitely use RTR again and told everyone I know how great and simple RTR is to use. Reviews helped a lot too. PS apologizes for the weird-bathroom-self-portrait :)
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Nov 9, 2012

I wore this to a friend's bridal shower and received numerous compliments. It's a fantastic dress.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress fit beautifully. There were no areas where I would have wished for a better fit. Very flattering cut.
Virginia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 11, 2012

The lace detail is stunning.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Again, not my favorite RTR rental. Would look better on someone with a smaller bust.
Kelley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127 lbs
Nov 14, 2012

Adorable Dress- Great for tropical locals like Florida!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The Dress fit perfectly- even the shoulders, which worried me because its so fitted on top. Its a great length too. It was a tiny bit wrinkly when it showed up, but nothing a little shower steam couldn't fix.
SONJA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Nov 20, 2012

LOVED this DRESS!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was beautiful and the color was great. I'm pretty tall, but the dress was SHORT, had to be careful sitting down. BUT, loved the dress and wish it was still hanging in my closet. Wore it with nude peep toe platform shoes.
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 25, 2012

Classy and comfortable!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
So cute and comfortable. Great length, not too short but still sexy. Wore this for my wedding tasting, fabric had room to grow and did not wrinkle easily. Loved it!
April
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 29, 2012

Such a great dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Loved wearing this dress for a friend's wedding! It was really fun and cute and I definitely got alot of compliments :)
Courtney
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 1, 2012

Never received so man compliments on anything...Gorgeous dress.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is incredible. If you are even CONSIDERING renting this dress, do it. You will not be disappointed. So classy, comfortable, and gorgeous. I always wear a size 2 and/or Small...I got the 0 and 2 in this dress and both fit well, but I ended up going with the 0. I wore this to my fiance's cousins wedding and I had people commenting on how gorgeous my dress was all evening. Towards the end of the night one of his other cousins came over and was like "Okay, I have to ask. Where did you get your dress. I wasn't going to say anything, but I've been watching you ALL night...where is this from." I was so thrilled to get to share my RTR secret with her and will be sending her an invite tonight! :)
Jillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 7, 2012

The color was stunning and I received so many compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This was an amazing rent the runway experience. The dress ran a little large so I sized down to a six. The only down side was that it did not come with the belt shown in the picture but luckily I had something that would work with the dress. A little short when sitting but overall the dress was perfect.
Lili
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 9, 2012

Such a perfect date night dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
It is so comfortable and beautiful. It is a little short though, so be careful when sitting. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone for almost any occasion.
Monica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 16, 2012

The experience with RTR was great!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Dress was perfect! Wore it to a baby shower and received many compliments. The dress detail and material was beautiful and the fit perfect.
Aliza
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 23, 2012

I wore this for our Engagement photos!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
My fiancé loved this dress! The 4 fit me better but was a little short. I wore the 6 which was a little big on me, but once I belted it, it fit better!
Cassie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 24, 2012

This dress made my night out with my best guy in Santa Cruz, California perfect. Thank You!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
I ended up wearing the smaller of the two sizes that I got and it still was a little big; but, I might have just ordered a size that was too big to start with, so it was probably my mistake.
Elisha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 28, 2012

Got me out of my LBD slump! I love RTR!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was a little afriad this dress might be to springy for a December holiday party, but it totally worked! My friends all loved it and I loved wearing something unexpected beyond my usual LBD. I had some questions before my dress arrived and called customer service, the woman I spoke to was very helpful and had all the answers I needed. I already have a couple dresses lined up for my bday party in January.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Meh.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the idea of this dress but it did nothing for my body. The fabric on the dress I received felt a bit worn and over-washed. Some guy at the wedding I attended informed me that I looked like a theatre curtain. Will not rent again.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137 lbs
Jan 7, 2013

Gorgeous details!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for a rehearsal dinner. The color was the perfect shade of coral and I combined it with the Kenneth Jay Lane deep blue drop earrings and the Lily Pulitzer blue crocodile clutch. I rented the 8 and it fit perfectly and hit mid-thigh. As this was my first RTR experience, I couldn't have been any happier! I was sad to return this dress!
Kylie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 8, 2013

Love the color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore the size 4 for my engagement party and it was a hit! Very comfortable, sleeves were not too tight so I could move easily
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×