Seashell Bateau Shift

$30 rental
$338 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have a bridal shower to attend? Or going on that casual date night out? Rent this easy and stylish dress by Trina Turk.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Coral silk with embroidery. Bateau neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
394 reviews
Fit
Large
(99)
True to Size
(268)
Small
(23)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 19, 2013
A friend said she was going to try RTR just to rent this dress!
I wore this for my wedding rehearsal/rehearsal dinner. It was the exact color of my bridesmaids dresses, so it fit in well with the weekend theme. Everyone absolutely loved it - I got almost as many compliments on it as I did on my wedding gown the next day! I wore the 2 because I wanted a slimmer fit and was very happy in it. It was a little tight in the arms, but not bad at all. Gorgeous color, very flattering fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
August 19, 2013
Great Color, Pretty Details, Runs Short
I rented this dress for a baptism, but ended up not wearing it because it was too short and pulled a touch around the hips/bum. Loved the color and delicate details though - would be perfect for a outdoor summer party, baby/bridal shower.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 11, 2013
Great summer color!
Overall, I thought the dress fit well and looked great in pictures. Cons - it is a little worn around the hem and sleeves (but this wasnt noticable to anyone but me). Also, the material always seemed a little wrinkled.. I lightly ironed the dress to no avail. The white stitching makes the silk ripple a bit no matter what. But I did get many compliments. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
August 9, 2013
wore to a brunch
love it gorgeous! didn't use the belt
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
August 9, 2013
great dress! very comfortable and true to size
I didn't end up using the sash...the dress looks great without it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 5, 2013
Great Color and Overall style.
This dress fit true to size. I opted to not wear the belt with it because it was too wrinkled, and I liked the style much better without. I was concerned about the length since the dress looked very short on the model but this dress fit right above my knees. Wore it to an outdoor wedding and the downside is the fabric doesn't breathe!! So I was very hot all night. Overall the style and color were great, but I felt like the hem on the fabric was unfinished, and looked a little cheap and the stitching had been coming out from too much wear. Not a bad dress for $75 but I just don't see this dress really retailing for $350+. Comfortable though and fits true to size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
August 5, 2013
Disappointing
I must just have the wrong body type for this dress, I looked awful on me, I was diss appointed. Definitely not for curvy bodies!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 2, 2013
This dress was amazing! It looked gorgeous on!
I wanted something fun to wear out to dinner and the club for my birthday. This was actually my backup dress and I liked it better than the original one I selected. I thought the fit was great overall. The length was perfect and the material was really comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 164lbs
July 30, 2013
Scallop princess
Loved the detailing of the scallops and the beautiful coral color that goes great with a tan. Liked the fact this dress could be dressed up or down depending on shoes and accessories. I wore for ladies night at the beach. Classic dress, can not go wrong with this pick. However this is second dress I have rented that has not come with the waist tie. Luckily I preferred without but just be mindful you may not receive.
KristyAugust 25, 2013
I love the necklace that you chose to wear with the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
July 24, 2013
Pretty dress for a post-wedding brunch.
I wore this dress to my post-wedding brunch the morning after I was married. It was pretty, light, elegant, and perfect for the new bride getting ready for her honeymoon.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
July 22, 2013
Classy and delicate!
I rented two dresses, this dress being one of them. The only reason this dress didn't make the cut was the sweltering Kansas summer heat combined with the sleeves (although very sheer) was not a good mix for my friend's engagement party which took place partially outside on the pool deck. This dress is very dainty and the belted waist adds just the right amount of sass. I styled with a light nude shoe and gold accessories. As for fit, it was slightly snug around my wide hips, but not too small or uncomfortable. If you are pear shaped like I am I would suggest sizing up on your extra size just to make sure you are getting the fit that is best for your body!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
July 6, 2013
I wore this to work; it was a bit on the short side, but was super cute and still professional.
Most of the reviews said this runs big, but I don't really agree. I had grabbed it as a second dress for $25 on my order, so I didn't get to ask for two sizes. DISCLAIMER, THIS MIGHT SOUND BITCHY, BUT I'M JUST TRYING TO HELP: I almost ordered a 6 based on so many reviews saying it ran big, but was glad I didn't. It isn't body hugging, but especially at my height, I think it was important for it to fit with some room to move given the length, and I think that is the way it is meant to look. If it is tugging even in the slightest on your hips (as it is in some of the photos of people saying it "runs big"), it just wouldn't look classy -- not that kind of dress. I suppose I could have squeezed into the 6, but then it would have looked slutty not cute. I'm glad mine came with the waist tie. Apparently sometimes it doesn't (people probably lose them). I think it was important to cinch the waist. I wore it with a big blue necklace and really like the contrast. Actually got tons of compliments on the color, which I originally was skeptical of. Sorry not to have a picture. Since I only wore it to work, I forgot to think to snap one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 27, 2013
Fun & different
I wore this for an engagement party. It runs a little big, but the belt helped hold it all in. It can be worn with our without the belt, but I preferred to wear it since I wanted it to be more fitted at my waist. I loved the details on the dress, and it was really comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
June 25, 2013
amazing color... great fit !!
wore this to my cousins wedding and it was a hit !! the color is amazing the fabric is light weight ... felt very great Gatsby !!!! I have a bit of a tummy ... and this dress was forgiving :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 25, 2013
So pretty! But runs big.
I thought I had the sizing for this one figured out so I only rented one size, and it was just too big. It gapped in the back and bunched weirdly when I tried to sinch it with the belt. Too bad, it's a beautiful dress and my husband loved it. I may rent it for another wedding later this summer -- but in smaller size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
June 17, 2013
Celebrating in the Big Easy
I wanted a dress perfect for Easter in New Orleans, fun but with a little bit of a Southern Belle style. This dress was nice and lightweight, perfect for the humidity and while it flattered my figure it was not clingy. I wish it would have come with the belt though, I thought that was the only piece missing from this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 15, 2013
Figure flattering!
Very cute dress! The cut would be flattering on any shape! The color was really nice too. However, you could tell this dress has been rented often, because the material looked a little worn. I was worried the 4 would've been too big since most people said that it runs large. However, any smaller and it would've been too tight in the chest. I would've liked it to be just a little longer though. It fell about an inch above my knees. FYI, it did not come with the belt, which is fine because I think it looks better without the belt.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
June 15, 2013
Unusual, stunning design
Wore this dress for my engagement photos. I was in love with it online and even more when it arrived! The design is beautiful and the color was flattering on my pasty skin. I wish I had ordered a size 2 because the 4 was on the larger side for a 4, although having the belt made it somewhat adjustable. Would be good for an outdoor function when the weather is a little cooler.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 14, 2013
Love RTR they are the best
Love the dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
June 11, 2013
.
Wore this to a brunch on a wedding weekend. Very comfortable. Runs just a little big.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 11, 2013
I just tried this on apart of a promotion
Fit great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
June 11, 2013
I absolutely loved this dress!
I have been eyeing this dress for over a year. So excited to finally have been able to wear it! The fit was very true to size, and the color was even more amazing than the website depicts. The cut was flattering and I received many compliments! The only negative was that the little fabric belt/sash kept coming untied, nothing a quick re-tie couldn't fix! I would love to own this dress, but seeing as it is no longer for sale, I will certainly be renting it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 4, 2013
Got lots of compliments on this dress and the color.
This dress was perfect for a NYC baby shower. I got compliments on both the style and Springy color. I debated about wearing the sash since it was faded and kind of dirty so it didn't match the dress fabric very well, but I ended up using it to cinch in at the waist and give me some shape. Even with the linking the dress was sheer, so wear nude colored undergarments. The scalloped edges are a nice detail.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
June 2, 2013
I loved it!
There was no belt with my rental but it still looked great! The material was thinner than I was expecting but it was very flattering. I got a ton of compliments on it! I'm only 5'1" and it was short enough for me so it may be really short on those really tall girls!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 28, 2013
Shower Showstopper
Wore this for my bridal shower, and it was perfect for a lukewarm day. It was so comfortable and fit very well, I got so many compliments. The details on this dress are really exquisite.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
May 26, 2013
Perfect for my engagement photos!
Dress fit great and the belt just added to the look. Dress is a little short so had to be careful when taking action shots! Ordered a 4 and a 6 and ended up wearing the 4 because it was more fitted. Accessorized with one of my own statement necklaces and the look was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 24, 2013
I wore this dress for an 8th grade graduation dinner. It was beautiful!
Almost true to size. I am between a 4 and 6 and ordered the 6. The 4 would have been too small and there was just a bit of room in the 6. Overall, this was a beautiful dress and great for the event.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
May 23, 2013
This was actually my back-up dress, but it ended up being perfect for the event.
It was a little looser at the waist than I would have liked, but overall very flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 20, 2013
This dress was quite flattering and eye catching. It made my bridal shower all the more special!
I ended up wearing a slip underneath this dress, but it was very flattering! I was actually surprised by the fit because it was more of a sheath dress that is meant to lay loosely. I got tons of compliments at my bridal shower :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 20, 2013
Very cute:)
I've been eyeing this dress for some time now. I ended up wearing it to my girlfriend's wedding shower. Very comfortable dress. I usually wear a 4; however, I wore a 2 in this particular style. So, I wouldn't say it runs super large as I am not busty. If you're busty, it may be true to size for you. I received several compliments on the dress as well. Perfect for a shower or day party. It was hot outside when I wore it, so I was roasting a little bit. Make sure you won't be outside in 80 degree weather while wearing it :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
May 15, 2013
I love this dress! I had been eyeing it for a while and wore it to an engagement dinner.
Fit was great. I have an hourglass shape and I found the "belt" accentuated my small waist perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
May 15, 2013
Cute
This dress is cute. It was a back up and I didn't wear it, but it fit well.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
May 14, 2013
Great way to enter a party with confidence is in a pretty pink dress!
It fits true to size and was very flattering. It was my first experience with Rent the Runway and I based my pick entirely on the user reviews. I saw many a girl with my body type that looked amazing in this dress. I totally loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 14, 2013
Great color, fun pattern, loved it!
Wore the dress to my brother's college graduation. Got a ton of compliments, great spring dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
May 13, 2013
it is a pretty dress, i just don't fit well in it..
tight in the arms(i have big arms), i looked like i was wearing a short mumu, but it's not the dress fault..im fat and the cut was not flattering on me..too short for my fatty legs and knees...someone in better shape would look better in this..the color is beautiful and dress is lovely..just not on me...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 12, 2013
This dress felt appropriate yet pretty for a rehearsal dinner in the south.
Rented this for a rehearsal dinner. Flattering and pretty. Looks nice paired with brightly colored jewelry in a contrasting color (I went for a turquoise/green color statement necklace).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 184lbs
May 10, 2013
Beautiful dress, but slightly awkward fit; worn look.
This was my first rental from RTR. I was concerned renting because my body shape is so hard to fit (short, large bust & hips, bit of a belly). I unfortunately waited too long and couldn't get my first-choice rental, but I found this dress and by the reviews I felt confident I would be ok w/ the dress. It does run a little large, but I was banking on it since I usually wear a 14. It is also a bit short; ladies, beware! I wore it to my sis-in-law's baby shower at a yacht club w/ a pair of nude flats and my own pearls. I got a lot of compliments on the dress, even though I thought it wasn't the most flattering shape in the world (I was, however, happy it fit and the sleeves made me feel more comfortable). My biggest gripe is that it was pretty damaged when I received it: lots of fraying and picked stiches all over the sleeves and hem. The color seemed faded and the dress was downright limp. I think I'll use RTR in the future, but I wouldn't rent this dress again.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 8, 2013
Great dress for the Derby party we went to!
This dress is short so be prepared to show a little leg. I couldn't wear my spanx because you could see them sticking out the bottom of the dress. Luckily, the dress skimmed and didn't cling. I have a large chest- 34F and the fit was fine. I didn't wear the belt- it looked kind of cheesy. I got lots of compliments on this really different color and design. Cute.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 7, 2013
I've never received more compliments!
The belt needed to be ironed, but otherwise the dress was comfortable, a great color, unique, and was hit! I almost wish I had bought it instead!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
May 7, 2013
fit well!
this dress hit closer to just above the knee on my petite frame. dress was in great condition. only complaint was dress ran large so was not as fitted as I hoped.
See more reviews:
4 / 10
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×