Trina Turk

Seashell Bateau Shift

$30 rental
$338 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Have a bridal shower to attend? Or going on that casual date night out? Rent this easy and stylish dress by Trina Turk.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Coral silk with embroidery. Bateau neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
395 reviews
Fit
Large
(99)
True to Size
(270)
Small
(23)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 4, 2014
Beautiful design but couldn't translate it to real life :/

Absolutely beautiful details like I expected, but ultimately not enough give or even movement enough to be comfortable/feel cute. I needed a dress-up look that was a bit modest but still flattering, and this dress was surprisingly unaccepting of my boobs/hips. Very pretty design, and go for it if you're of a very slim/straight build.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
March 24, 2014
The material is a lot thinner than I expected. Better for warmer months.

I rented this for a March wedding and thought the long sleeves would be warm enough for an outdoor ceremony. When I tried on the dress, it was just a little too thin (Linen-like material) for me to wear on a 40 degree day. The color and detail are beautiful, so this would be great to wear once it (finally) warms up!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
June 13, 2012
Great Dress!

Fit great and was a complete hit at the wedding shower I went to. I ended up wearing my smaller "extra" size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126lbs
May 6, 2013
Didn't end up wearing it.

I didnt end up wearing it because the 4 was too small and the 6 was too big. I don't recommend for hourglass or pear shapes. Other than that color and fabric was nice.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
July 29, 2014
Ok dress

I wore this dress for my bridal shower given by my groom's family. I wanted something conservative and young looking at the same time so this dress fit that criteria. However I hd hoped it wouldn't feel so fitted. It wasn't very flattering on my figure and was shorter than I'd hoped. Not a bad dress, but I wasn't overly excited about it like I usually am with my RTR dresses.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 21, 2014
Didn't end up wearing it...

Overall the dress is much lighter fabric and very static-prone. I didn't like the overall fit on me as I have more of an athletic build, and it was fine up top but didn't give me any flexibility on my larger bottom. It was unflattering and too tight around the hips and butt, as much as I wanted to love it! I had rented it for a Cape Cod wedding and had high expectations, but unfortunately it wasn't for me. I think you would need to be less curvy to really wear this dress. They also didn't have the 8 size available for back up, so I can't comment on whether that would have worked better for me.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
March 19, 2012
Perfect bridal shower dress!

This dress was amazing. I ordered the size up, could have wore the 10 but with the make of the dress and my height(5' 8") I played it safe. This dress definitely ran according to the size and fit chart. It was the perfect dress for me to wear to my step daughter's bridal shower. Beautiful, fun and classy!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
March 25, 2012
Perfect for "Love Boat" Cruise

I wore this dress for a Love Boat themed party. I loved the "seashells" on the dress. It fit great, and I had lots of compliments. I am usually a size 6, and the dress fit true to size, and wasn't too short, which was great! Thanks RTR!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 156lbs
May 17, 2012
Nice dress, would size down

I wore this for Mother's Day brunch with my family. I love the dress, I typically wear a size 10, but, according to reviews, I sized down for my back up. I ended up wearing the 8. The top is a little billowy, but, balanced out my slightly wider hips. I wore it with the Kate Spade necklace as shown and received a ton of compliments. I paired this with a simple nude heel. The belt seemed a bit flimsy to me, and didn't do much for my overall look, so, I tied it in the back to make it a bit more fitted around the waist and it worked well.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
May 18, 2012
comfortable, beautiful, and the kind of classy that looks obviously expensive, which is nice when you spend so little on a rental :)

I wore this to a bridal shower and got tons of compliments. I loved how light and airy it was and I wish I owned it because I could make it work for weddings, parties, night or office.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
May 21, 2012
I can never justify spending hundreds of dollars on a dress that I will only wear once or twice- rent the runway lets you wear a beautiful, expensive and well made dress that you will LOVE rather than settling for a dress that's just okay. I am hooked!

I was reluctant to order this dress but when I saw it in person I absolutely loved it! The color is beautiful in person and the fit is very flattering. I received TONS of compliments and definitely stood out in this dress:) HIGHLY recommend this one for any event!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
May 21, 2012
Stunning!

I wore this to my bridal shower yesterday and it was a great choice! I received lots of compliments and felt really comfortable in the dress - except that it was a bit shorter than I had originally thought. Also, even with the liner it is a bit see-through, so I wore a short slip. Although other reveiwers thought it ran big, I do tend to wear a 2 in a dress, but the 4 was a much better fit for me. I just had to be careful when hugging taller people, not to lift my hands over my head! Otherwise, the fabric and design are amazing and I'm so excited about my next rental! I wore it with earrings that echoed the seashell pattern of the dress and nude sandals.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 11, 2012
Really pretty, comfy dress

I rented this for a wedding in Newport, RI. I was disappointed to see when it arrived that there was a small stain on the left chest, but I was able to cover it with my hair and no one was the wiser. I got a ton of compliments on the color and the embroidery detail. It was super comfortable. While it is true to size, it is not as fitted as it looks on the model. It bloused a bit where the belt is, but it was totally cute. I would definitely recommend this, but keep in mind the fabric is very light so make sure you are in a warm locale :)

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
June 20, 2012
Perfect summer color!

This dress was not available in my size, so I had to wear the size up. It wasn't TOO big, but I think my regular size would have been better. It's a gorgeous color and I received many compliments. I wore this to an outdoor rehearsal dinner and it was perfect.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 2, 2012
Great color

I wore this dress to a Sunday wedding brunch. The color was great. I ordered the 6 since reviewers said it ran large. I would agree the 6 fit more like an 8, but I am taller and I felt I could have used the extra length from the 8. I just wore flats with it so it didn't look too short. I would order your true size. You can always tighten the fit with the belt.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
August 7, 2012
Pretty but short!

I wore this dress to a wedding and received a number of compliments. I am 5'8" and usually wear a 4 in dresses, but ended up wearing the size 6 just for the extra length. Even with the larger size, the dress only just came to mid-thigh (and that's the outer shell- the liner underneath is even shorter). It's a beautiful dress, but I would definitely advise that tall ladies size up to avoid some indecent exposure!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
August 8, 2012
So many compliments

Loved this color, the fit and how it breathed easily. I wore this dress at the end of May, in KS, where it's hot, and it was still very light and breezy. Very flattering. Would definitely wear it again.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
August 10, 2012
Wonderful Bridal Shower Dress

I rented this dress for my sisters bridal shower and it was perfect. Very classy and unique. Even though there were long sleeves the fabric was so lightweight it was fine even for June weather.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 10, 2012
Adorable & comfortable

This dress fit really well, was a great color and was so comfortable on the dance floor all night! It's lightweight so it would even work for an outdoor wedding. I didn't wear the belt with it because it seemed flimsy and I didn't need the cinch at the waist because of the fit. I'd highly recommend.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
August 10, 2012
Very cute!

Loved this dress, it was super cute. But where was the belt? Does it not normally ship with one and it is just pictured? Was my only complaint.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
August 11, 2012
Yons of compliments on the dress!!!

Love the dress!! Tons of compliments!!! Great fit and very comfortable!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
August 12, 2012
Tons of compliments on the dress!!!

Love the dress!! Tons of compliments!!! Great fit and very comfortable!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 14, 2012
Flattering and lightweight

I really liked this dress and it kept me cool for my outdoor event.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
August 13, 2012
Great for shower or brunch!

This dress ran true to size, and was a beautiful shade of coral.i wore this to a bridal shower, and it was very comfortable. I wore this dress without the sash, as I felt that the sash "cheapened" the look.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
August 13, 2012
Great for shower or brunch!

This dress was true to size, and a great color. I wore this to a bridal shower, and it was very comfortable to wear. I wore this dress without the sash, as I felt that the sash "cheapened" it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
August 14, 2012
Perfect for Bridal Shower

I rented this dress in a 4 and a 6. The 4 fit perfectly so I didn't even try on the 6. I wore it to a friend's bridal shower and got TONS of compliments. My only complaint is that I wish I could've kept it. Although, sitting it was kind of short for me but other than that it was perfect. I paired it with a nude heel and a cute statement necklace and did an updo. LOVED it!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 14, 2012
Everyone loved it!

I recieved SO many compliments on it all night! The necklace was the perfect addition!

BreAugust 14, 2012
Could you tell me if you got the necklace in the green or black color? I can't really tell in your picture. You looked fabulous, and the necklace solidified my decision to rent this dress!
RTRAugust 14, 2012
Hi Bre! It looks like Casey got the necklace in the green color! It looks great with this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
August 14, 2012
Pretty and professional.

Loved this dress and got a lot of compliments but admit that it wasn't the most comfortable dress to wear because it was narrower than expected. Beautiful fabric and design, though. If you are straight and narrow you can't go wrong with it, but curvier girls who note the fit is a bit restrictive.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 17, 2012
So many compliments

Fit great, beautiful color - made my legs look fantastic! Perfect!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 18, 2012
Great party dress/comfortable!

Really, really pretty. Great length, just above the knee for us short gals. The scalloped sleeves add a bit of interest and the color is lovely - not too bright, more of a muted coral. The embroidered detailing is really well done. Super classy look with a no-hassle neckline that wears easily. I wore with nude wedges and turqoise colored chandelier earrings and matching bracelet. Tons of compliments. Love Trina Turk!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
August 19, 2012
Soooo many compliments!

I loved this dress, so fashion forward and classy. I was complimented left and right all night!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
August 19, 2012
This was definitely a dress that I am sad to return after only 2 days!

I had my eye on this dress for a long time so I finally ordered it to wear to a bridal shower and it was just as perfect as it looked in the photo. The coral color is beautiful and it fits true to size - I wore it with the belt it comes with but would also look cute with a nude belt.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
August 20, 2012
PERFECT DRESS

I wore this to Confirmation for my daughter and got so many compliments! It was the perfect dress that would work for so many other events too.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
August 28, 2012
Foxy!

I rented this dress to wear to an outdoor wedding and it was perfect for day into evening. Many of us who were present are Stanford Band alumni and I rocked this dress while playing the sax during an impromptu reunion.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
September 8, 2012
Just don't bend over...

Cute dress, with a few caveats. I'm a tall girl and I'm used to short dresses but the scalloped hem was very short. It was also a little see-through in the butt--definitely wear nude underwear. Both sizes shipped without the belt and I wore it anyway because I had nothing else to wear at my out-of-town wedding, but there are belt loops on the side that look a little silly without a belt there.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 57
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
September 9, 2012
wedding guest

Loved the dress and received lots of compliments!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
September 9, 2012
Very pretty.

this dress was very pretty. Although, it was my 2nd dress so it didn’t come with the complimentary 2nd size. I ordered a size 6 and should have ordered a size 4. The 6 was entirely too big and looked frumpy on me. My dress didn’t include the belt pictured with the model, so I couldn’t get that waist cinched in. I think with the belt I could have made it work. Oh well, it was for a rehearsal dinner. Maybe next time. I’m very glad that it wasn’t the dress I got for the actual wedding.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
September 9, 2012
Thinner Material Than Expected

I was looking for a dress that would keep it shape a little better. Pretty dress just not my style -- was looking for something a little more fun for a date with my husband. This might be better for a Sunday brunch or bridal shower.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
August 9, 2012
When the bride's grandmother told me she'd been eyeing the dress all afternoon!

I loved this dress the moment I saw it on RTR. As I had several weddings to attend, I thought it would be the perfect dress for a summer wedding -- and it was! I got so many compliments throughout the night and even from the bride's grandmother. Definitely worth it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 10, 2012
Cute & Summery

This was a cute little dress - the details are adorable & the color is great. I wore it out to dinner in Miami and ended up wearing the larger size for a looser fit in very humid weather, and for the extra length - I'm almost 5'10" so most mid-thigh dresses end up being mini on me!

See more reviews:
4 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×