Trina Turk

Seashell Bateau Shift

$30 rental
$338 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Have a bridal shower to attend? Or going on that casual date night out? Rent this easy and stylish dress by Trina Turk.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Coral silk with embroidery. Bateau neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
395 reviews
Fit
Large
(99)
True to Size
(270)
Small
(23)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
November 14, 2012
My favorite RTR dress yet!
Fits true to size. The hem runs slights short but nonetheless, very tasteful.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 14, 2012
Fits well.
Fits well.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
November 17, 2012
Super cute and comfortable!
I loved this dress! I loved the length considering how short I am, usually dresses are too long. This was a very flattering length on me. Very comfortable. A little snug at the chest, but a minimizer bra helped with that! I loved the color and the shell design too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
November 20, 2012
Beautiful Detail
I rented this dress for my friend's rehersal dinner, but didn't end up getting to wear it becuase the tie was not included in the shipment. The detail of the overlay was beautiful and the color was great, but it just didn't quite work as a shift, on my body at least.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 25, 2012
Classy and comfortable!
So cute and comfortable. Great length, not too short but still sexy. Wore this for my wedding tasting, fabric had room to grow and did not wrinkle easily. Loved it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 28, 2012
Beautiful!!
I wore this dress to my bridal shower. It is so unbelievably gorgeous. I got so many compliments. I wish I could buy it - trust me, it's no longer available anywhere for purchase. I've scoured the internet. If I owned this dress, it would be my go to dress - weddings, showers, parties, whatever! The color is gorgeous! It's well made. I love it. I just can't say enough about it. One thing though, is it is quite a bit shorter than I expected. I am short - 5'4" and this was mid thigh on me. Still, this dress is amazing. I want this... note to site mods, if there is any way I can purchase this dress once ya'll retire it from the rotation, I will. (I considered keeping it and paying full price. I love it that much!)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 1, 2012
Never received so man compliments on anything...Gorgeous dress.
This dress is incredible. If you are even CONSIDERING renting this dress, do it. You will not be disappointed. So classy, comfortable, and gorgeous. I always wear a size 2 and/or Small...I got the 0 and 2 in this dress and both fit well, but I ended up going with the 0. I wore this to my fiance's cousins wedding and I had people commenting on how gorgeous my dress was all evening. Towards the end of the night one of his other cousins came over and was like "Okay, I have to ask. Where did you get your dress. I wasn't going to say anything, but I've been watching you ALL night...where is this from." I was so thrilled to get to share my RTR secret with her and will be sending her an invite tonight! :)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 3, 2012
Absolutely beautiful. Feminine details. I got so many compliments on this dress!
Beautiful fit. Very flattering. No stretch, so you'll need to get the right size, but I found it runs very true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
December 5, 2012
Very feminine and pretty.
This is a lovely dress. I ordered an 8 & 10. I am usually an 8, but to fit my big booty into some dresses, I have to size up. I almost decided to wear the 10 in this dress because it didn't look too tight. However, because it was just a little too snug, every time I moved my arms, the dress rode up and did not fall back down. I decided that I didn't want to be pulling down my dress all night, so I went with another dress. But for anyone with a proportionally reasonable butt, this would be the perfect dress! One more bummer tho - both sizes I got did not come with the sash, but it was clear that they were supposed to because the dress had belt loops at the waist...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
December 7, 2012
The color was stunning and I received so many compliments!
This was an amazing rent the runway experience. The dress ran a little large so I sized down to a six. The only down side was that it did not come with the belt shown in the picture but luckily I had something that would work with the dress. A little short when sitting but overall the dress was perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 9, 2012
Such a perfect date night dress.
It is so comfortable and beautiful. It is a little short though, so be careful when sitting. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone for almost any occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 23, 2012
I wore this for our Engagement photos!
My fiancé loved this dress! The 4 fit me better but was a little short. I wore the 6 which was a little big on me, but once I belted it, it fit better!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 24, 2012
This dress made my night out with my best guy in Santa Cruz, California perfect. Thank You!
I ended up wearing the smaller of the two sizes that I got and it still was a little big; but, I might have just ordered a size that was too big to start with, so it was probably my mistake.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 28, 2012
Loved it!
I wore this dress to a wine tasting event my local congressman put on. It fit great and was the perfect dress for the event. I ordered the same necklace the model is wearing with it and it looked fantastic.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 2, 2013
Meh.
I loved the idea of this dress but it did nothing for my body. The fabric on the dress I received felt a bit worn and over-washed. Some guy at the wedding I attended informed me that I looked like a theatre curtain. Will not rent again.
ireneMarch 28, 2013
I think you look great! It skims your body without being tight. You look classy, not like a curtain! Who cares what some guy says? What a jerk.
hannahMay 13, 2013
You look so beautiful girl! Yes, a classy look like Irene stated.
GinnyApril 29, 2014
he was probably hitting on you , but is a jerk so used a dumb line
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 7, 2013
Gorgeous details!
I rented this for a rehearsal dinner. The color was the perfect shade of coral and I combined it with the Kenneth Jay Lane deep blue drop earrings and the Lily Pulitzer blue crocodile clutch. I rented the 8 and it fit perfectly and hit mid-thigh. As this was my first RTR experience, I couldn't have been any happier! I was sad to return this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 8, 2013
Love the color!
I wore the size 4 for my engagement party and it was a hit! Very comfortable, sleeves were not too tight so I could move easily
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
January 18, 2013
Just as beautiful in person, coral color, fine without the belt.
Rented this for a rehearsal dinner at a winery for a wedding I was in. They had lost the belt, but I prefer it without it. I am busty but it still fit great and more importantly I felt great wearing it. I got so many compliments, I wish I could wear it again. Great coral color, doesn't require lots of accessories. I wore it with a gold watch and nude pumps.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 21, 2013
I wore this dress for my bridal shower and received numerous compliments on it!
To me, the dress fit perfectly. It was the perfect length and it wasn't so tight that I couldn't move around in it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 28, 2013
I will never again worry about finding a dress to wear to an event thanks to RTR!!!! Thank You RTR
I wore this dress to a good friends wedding. It was amazing!! I choose two sizes one my actual size (4) and then one size smaller (2), I ended up going with the size 2. It was a perfect fit and I received so many compliments as well. I did not wear the belt that goes with the dress, and it still worked out just fine. This dress is very roomy and light yet shows off every curve you want. I will for sure be a RTR repeat renter.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 28, 2013
I felt pretty in this dress even though it was only 6 weeks after having a baby.
I wore this dress 6 weeks after I delivered a baby. I liked it because it hid my arms and was not real fitted. I obviously runs big because I was in a size four 6 weeks after having a baby. I normally wear a size four when I'm not pregnant. So I would order a size down, possibly 2 sizes down. Pretty color and cute fit.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
February 4, 2013
Really loved the color. Received a ton of compliments. Came with no belt, but made it work.
Perfect dress for a summer wedding party. Everyone loved it. It was dressy without being obnoxious. Looked effortless.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 10, 2013
Not what I hoped for
This dress was to big and just wasn't very figure flattering for my shape. I am normally a size 2, but even the size 0 felt too big. The fabric didn't look as nice in person as I thought it would.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
February 18, 2013
Cute dress for Valentine's Dinner
I rented this dress for Valentine's day and was concerned it would not work because it looks more like a spring/summer dress. It ended up being perfect and I received tons of compliments. The dress is a little shorter than I expected but it was still an appropriate length. I ended up wearing the 2 and it fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 20, 2013
Really beautiful dress. I wish mine had come with the belt, but it fit well
A little short. but otherwise a really nice cocktail party dress. Got several compliments throughout the night on what a pretty color it was. Just wished I had been a little tanner to wear it
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
February 21, 2013
Great color!
I wore this dress for my wedding shower a couple weeks ago. I definitely felt like I stood out, and received many compliments. The dress was very comfortable to move in. My only suggestion would be to wear a size down.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
February 22, 2013
The belt was missing which would have made the look but I still wore it
The belt was missing which would have made the look but I still wore it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
February 26, 2013
So pretty! Everyone loved it. Wore it with the earrings pictured.
The belt that comes with it was a great addition.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 27, 2013
Dress was beautiful! Would definitely rent it again!!
Received tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 27, 2013
Sadly, not a good fit
I was sad this dress didn't work. It looks beautiful in everyone's pictures and the color is gorgeous! I just don't think my proportions were the right fit for the proportions of this dress. In both sizes, the back bunched up so it looked like I had one of those microphones that they attach to people on reality tv shows. Then, the size 4, which was a slightly better fit, had a hole right by the arm pit. But truly, I think the biggest problem is that I am too short for this dress and my torso isn't as long as this dress required. And since I am shorter, the length of the dress wasn't flirty or sexy on me. I can't say to stay away from this dress. I just think that if you're my height and with my type of proportions, you might want to think twice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
March 1, 2013
Great for charity luncheon...stand out dress and a headturner!
Wore this to a ladies-who-lunch charity fashion show and luncheon. In a sea of dark colored clothing worn by most of the attendees, this dress was clearly a stand out...in a great way! Definitely turned some heads with the fashionable look and color of this winner dress! Loved the light, floaty feel of the fabric. Loved wearing it! :D
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 5, 2013
Wore this for my bridal shower!
This dress runs a bit large, I usually wear a size 4 and I ordered the 4 and the 2 but ended up wearing the 2. It was the perfect dress for my bridal shower. A little on the short side for taller girls but overall, a great dress. The dress came with a belt that didn't look great on me so I just decided not to use it.
saraMarch 30, 2013
I am the same build as you, was it fitted or more of a roomy feel to it? I was also worried about the length. It looks great on you!
SarahApril 2, 2013
Thank you! I would say it was just right - not super fitted but definitely not loose either. The material doesn't have any stretch to it so I wouldn't have wanted it to be any more fitted. If you wear flats I don't think the length will be a problem. I hope that helps!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 9, 2013
I wore this for my bridal shower and got SO many compliments!
This dress fit great and when I got compliments most people also touched the fabric. My bridal shower was outside on a very hot day in May, which I didn't anticipate when I selected this dress to wear. After a few hours outdoors the fabric wrinkled, but other than that the dress was great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 11, 2013
Good, not great.
I rented this for a wedding rehearsal dinner and loved the brightness of this dress. RTR didn't have my backup size so I was only able to rent the 4 which ended up being a bit too big but I just went with it. The dress also came without the belt which I would of liked to help cinch in the waist since it was too big but oh well! The dress was also a bit worn at the hem and the end of the sleeves from normal wear and tear. That didn't really bother me but I know it would bother others. Although this rental experience wasn't the best it won't deter me from renting again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 13, 2013
Recieved lots of compliments
Nice, flattering fit
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
November 29, 2012
Such a great dress!
Loved wearing this dress for a friend's wedding! It was really fun and cute and I definitely got alot of compliments :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
March 3, 2013
tons of compliments
runs short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 25, 2013
My husband said next to my wedding day, this was the best he had seen my look.
This dress fit perfectly and the scalloped look really made the dress. I loved that it was long-sleeved. Very elegant and the color was beautiful. I wore it to my husband's birthday at French Laundry and it was the ideal dress for the occasion. It was one of my favorite rentals ever. I would love to own this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
March 29, 2013
Birthday Triple Date Stunner
I wore this dress for a pre-birthday night out with my husband and close friends. I noticed in reviews that the dress ran large, so I went with the 6. I'm curvy in the hip/butt area, so it was a teeny bit snug, but I think the 8 would have been too big. I didn't wear the dress with the belt, I didn't like how it broke me up. The color looked great and I was comfortable all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 29, 2013
Loved the color and fit of this dress!
The dress itself had a loose fit, so for a girl with a bust and booty it fit well. I got so many compliments from family and friends at the bridal shower on this dress! The dress fit well even though it was looser and it wasn't too long or too short.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×