Trina Turk

Seashell Bateau Shift

$30 rental
$338 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Have a bridal shower to attend? Or going on that casual date night out? Rent this easy and stylish dress by Trina Turk.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Coral silk with embroidery. Bateau neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
395 reviews
Fit
Large
(99)
True to Size
(269)
Small
(23)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
September 23, 2012
I had nothing but good things to share with my friends about my first Rent the Runway experience!
Very beautiful pattern and color. I received several compliments from both men and women of all ages. Definitely order a size down. I didn't wear the belt because my boyfriend actually preferred the dress without it, so my look was not as form fitting...still reaped the compliments though.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 24, 2012
LOVED IT
This was super cute and fun. It is a little short...so watch yourself when you bend over. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner. I rented a chunky black necklace with it, too. I think the black necklace made the dress.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 24, 2012
Loved it
Just wish it came with the belt pictured, but I wore it without the belt and it was totally fine. I got lots of compliments
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
September 24, 2012
I wore this to a wedding rehearsal dinner. It was beautiful and fit like a glove !
Fit perfect! Length was just right even though I am quite petite. I received so many compliments! I would love to buy the dress, so I can wear it for other special occasions.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 144lbs
September 26, 2012
Show stopper for my bridal shower!
My friends and family loved this dress! So many compliments and a couple of girls were on a a mission to track it down so they could purchase it. The fabric is thicker so it was really hot to wear on a sunny day in Northern Calif, but the pattern and look was worth it! The sash was a little delicate, wish I had another belt or sash that would have worked, but I tied it loosely and no one seemed to notice.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 26, 2012
Pretty dress but nothing amazing
Didn't come with the belt and was on vacation so ended up having to buy one to wear for the night
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
September 26, 2012
Perfect dress for any occasion, very comfortable.
This dress is loose fitting in the stomach, I wore it to the Kentucky Oaks while 4 months pregnant.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 28, 2012
Cute Dress
Ordered this dress along with another one for a wedding. Ended up wearing other choice. Great dress, would be perfect for a bridal shower or brunch. More on the conservative side, cute and classy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
October 1, 2012
Very flattering, so many compliments
This dress was so comfortable and flattering. They forgot to send the belt that goes with the dress, but it didn't matter, it looked great on and I received an unbelievable amount of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 3, 2012
So.Many.COMPLIMENTS!
I wore this to a wedding on outdoor wedding in September that ended up being the coldest wedding ever. It's thin, beautiful material so I was a bit cold during the ceremony, but the minute we moved indoors it was really comfortable. Because of this I'd recommend it for an outdoor event only if it's warm (dead of summer) or if you're smarter than I am and bring a wrap/sweater just in case the weather turns. I got a lot of compliments in it both at the wedding and the afterparty. I love this dress and wish it lived in my closet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 4, 2012
love the color, love the design and love my expericence with RTR! Sadly, I had to return for another
I have been eyeing this dress for so long, so I finally pressed submit to rent for my friend's wedding. I normally wear a 4, but they only had a size 6 left on the dates I needed. I love the color and design on the dress, but sadly the dress came without a belt making it look like a boxy bag which add pounds to my hourglass figure. I had my bf take a picture, and I added a navy belt just so you could see. I had to return, BUT I emailed RTR that evening and told them I needed a replacement in time for the wedding. They have been SO helpful and have shipped out another dress for me. Next time, I will certainly order a back-up option. Thanks RTR!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 8, 2012
Amazing color, pops in photos
I wore this dress to my engagement party and it was a big hit. The coral color is amazing and it stands out in pictures. Fit-wise, the dress generally runs a bit bigger so I would size down for the second size (I'm usually a four and wound up wearing the two). One issue was that they forgot to add the belt that went with the dress so I definitely had to size down to make it fit properly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
October 8, 2012
Chic and sleek!
Perfect dress for a second wedding in Arizona. It's so light but the material is very impressive. I received a ton of compliments that night! Only con - a little short when seated.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
October 14, 2012
OMG!! Best dress ever!!
Kind of short, great fit, I wanted to keep it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
October 15, 2012
I LOVED this dress! I will definitely rent this dress again!
The dress did fit large. I went with the 8. I also rented the necklace in the picture and it went perfectly with the dress. Wear nude heels, they match the best.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 15, 2012
Cute, but not super flattering
I wore this for a bridesmaids luncheon and got tons of compliments. It's super feminine and pretty, but isn't all that flattering (it's basically a big bag). I wore it without the belt, though - I have a very narrow waist and the dress bunched too much with the belt.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
October 15, 2012
Awesome service, loved the packaging and freebies.
Fit matched the stylists description from the website. Dress was really comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 139lbs
October 15, 2012
I looked really classy!
I almost didn't go for this dress because I thought it was going to be too much but it looked great on and not tacky. Fits great, flattering. I used my own belt.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 19, 2012
Did not fit right - I had to return it, but I was very impressed with the service
N/A
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
October 21, 2012
I walked into my friends bridal shower and got numerous compliments on both the dress and necklace!
This dress fit perfectly! I ordered both the size 8 and 10 just in case, and the 8 fit like it was made for me. The material is very lightweight and comfortable. My favorite part of this outfit had to be the necklace; I feel like it really completed my look. I will most likely find it and buy it because I loved it so much.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
October 22, 2012
Great dress - a little short
I loved this dress but it was a little short. I originally planned on wearing this dress to a beach wedding but I couldn't raise my arms up without the skirt getting to be too short so wore out on a date the night before. When you stand, it's a fine height but becuase of the sleeves, the whole dress moves when you move your arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
October 22, 2012
Super! Lots of compliments.
I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner, received a ton of compliments. I was worried it would be too short, but it wasn't and I'm 5'7" and wore 3 Inch heels. It was comfy and easy to wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 22, 2012
Lovely color & pattern
Rented this dress for a semi-formal event (parents' lunch) leading up to my wedding. Loved the pinkish-coral color, seashell pattern, and unique sleeve length, and received lots of compliments on it. Overall, though, the dress was a bit boxy, even with the belt, and felt a bit short. Liked it well enough, but probably would not rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
October 22, 2012
Not the best.
This dress is more peach than in the photo. I had actually rented it for my godaughter's baptism, but ended up also wearing it to a wedding that weekend as well. The back zipper kinda gave you a duck tail and I think it could have been a more flattering fit. I got some compliments, but not as many as I usually get with a RTR dress :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 24, 2012
It runs a little large, but looked great on!
It was comfortable and loose fitting, and I got tons of compliments. The only issue was it felt a lilttle worn. All in all, it was a great choice for a rehearsal dinner party!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
October 26, 2012
Pretty color & design
Wore this dress to an early evening wedding in May. I liked that the belted sash was removable so I could tie it a little higher than where the loop wholes are since I'm short-waisted.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
October 28, 2012
I keep getting compliments on this dress!
This dress was perfect for a busy wedding night of a dear friend of mine. I was running around all day - and the weather was sunny, but not quite warm - the sleeves on this dress kept it trendy and special-occasion-looking, while keeping me warm too! It should be noted I wore the dress without the sash; I just thought it looked better to not cut myself in half in pictures. I got so many compliments on the dress that night - I wish I didn't have to return it. I could see myself wearing this dress for *everything* - I wish it was my uniform!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 29, 2012
So many compliments!
I wore this to a bridal shower and got endless compliments! Perfect vintage looking cocktail dress. Absolutely great! I wish I owned it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
October 29, 2012
It was perfect for the outdoor southern wedding I attended.
The size I usually wear was not available so I had to go up one size, which it the warm weather worked out even better.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
November 1, 2012
Great dress for post-wedding brunch. One guest applauded this dress when I walked into the brunch!
This is a very pretty and feminine dress; the color is far more "coral" than the model picture can relay. It is clearly a popular dress based on reviews, and mine had seen some wear along the way, but arrived clean and pressed. Only detraction was faint scent of body odor in the armpits. Also, as in prior reviews, no belt was provided - although it is still shown on the RTR model! But I was ready with a perfectly matched roll of satin ribbon that easily cut to fit. I sent the ribbon back with the dress so someone else can use it!! Overall enjoyed the RTR experience.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
November 1, 2012
I wanted this dress to fit but it didn't.
I rented this dress in a size 4. Unfortunately, the top was too big and the bottom was too tight. The dress was beautiful thought. I really wanted it to fit.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 4, 2012
Fantastic customer service!
This was a really comfortable dress to wear for a casual party or baby shower. I will agree with some of the other reviews about it feeling a little short when I sat down, but other than that, it was a really classy dress that I could see wearing to lots of different events! I normally wear a 12, but wore a 10 in this dress, so I think this dress runs a little big. This is a great dress I would wear again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 6, 2012
classy, great color!
beautiful dress, I have a small bust, not sure if this size would work for a larger bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 6, 2012
Received so many compliments on this dress! Thank you RTR, you made this event so easy!
The dress fit perfectly. I ordered a 4 and 6. Both fit well, but the 6 was baggy in the waist. It had a good length for a fun/causal wedding feel. I'm tall and tend to be on the conservative side, but this hit low thigh, so I was happy with it. My only complaints would be I didn't realize where the belt was in the packaging (didn't look very hard either) and assumed RTR forget to include it. So I went sans belt and when I went to package it up for return, found the belts. Oh well! Will definitely use RTR again and told everyone I know how great and simple RTR is to use. Reviews helped a lot too. PS apologizes for the weird-bathroom-self-portrait :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 8, 2012
I wish I could have worn this but due to Hurricane, my event was cancelled.
The size four fit perfectly and the fit was very flattering. The best part is that the waist belt is not attached so you can either wear with tie around waist or not. Both styles looked great. I would recommend this dress to someone who is a few months pregnant as well, just in a larger size because I got impression it could be bump friendly as well. I rented a beautiful Kate spade necklace that was paired with dress on site and I had navy blue pumps as well. I was extremely Bummed out that my cousin's shower was cancelled because I was looking so forward to wearing this dress. I will definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
November 9, 2012
Great with a tan for spring dinner party or wedding. Hem compliments legs !
Really versatile to accessories any kind of jewelry. Sleeves and length of dress were perfect making arms spook slimmer and legs longer
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
November 9, 2012
Cute for a bridal shower!
The dress was really pretty, I was worried it might be too "pepto pink" but it was a deep pink/coral with lovely scalloped details. Just fancy enough for a bridal shower but not so flashy it upstages the bride-to-be :)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 11, 2012
Very pretty details; a little too short for a day event.
I got a lot of compliments on this dress, which I wore as I hosted my sister's bridal shower. I was a little dissapointed with the length; it was a little short. It was about the length on me as it is on the model in the picture. However, I assumed it wold be longer on me, since I'm only 5'5". I didn't wear the belt, since that made it even shorter.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 13, 2012
Perfect spring, fall, or summer dress. The color is wonderful and the fit is flattering.
I wore this dress to a baby shower while being 6 months pregnant. It was awesome and I received so many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
November 14, 2012
Adorable Dress- Great for tropical locals like Florida!
The Dress fit perfectly- even the shoulders, which worried me because its so fitted on top. Its a great length too. It was a tiny bit wrinkly when it showed up, but nothing a little shower steam couldn't fix.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×