Seashell Bateau Shift

$30 rental
$338 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have a bridal shower to attend? Or going on that casual date night out? Rent this easy and stylish dress by Trina Turk.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Coral silk with embroidery. Bateau neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
394 reviews
Fit
Large99
True to Size268
Small23
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 19, 2014
Great dress for my bridal shower!
Beautiful dress, received many compliments. The color matches the model photo but definitely photographs as a brighter coral. The size 2 fit me perfectly even though I was worried it would be too small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 19, 2014
Beachy Chic
Unfortunately this dress didn't work for me, so sad! The belt was missing when it arrived, and as I have no curves I could make it happen. RTR was incredible to credit my account, and I went with my backup dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
June 18, 2014
This dress has no shape, there was no way that I could wear it.
The pictures are so pretty but this dress was a huge disappointment. Everything was off from the color to the shape, it was all blah.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 17, 2014
Feeling sexy and confident in this amazing dress!!
This dress fit perfectly! It was roomy enough in the bust for me (something hard to find!) and was the perfect length! (being 5'10, most dresses end up being too short for me, but this was perfect). The sleeves weren't too tight (my arms aren't very toned). This dress was a homerun!!! My only issue was that the belt was very wrinkly and needed to be ironed flat...which I didn't realize until I took it out of the bag to put it on as I walked out the door.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 15, 2014
LOVED this dress! I received so many compliments.
The dress was great. A little on the shorter side when wearing heels, which made cutting a rug on the dance floor a little tricky, but the number of compliments I received made up for it. The color is gorgeous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 14, 2014
Book Signing.
Sweet & Sassy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
June 10, 2014
Loved the color of this dress.
This dress was great for the outdoor summer wedding I attended. The only bummer was the fabric belt was not sent to me. I think it was cute without it but I probably would have liked it better with it. It would have given me a more defined waist.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 9, 2014
I loved the look of this dress and received many compliments throughout the day!
Overall the dress fit great, I felt the sizes were true, but I chose to go with the 10 because it was longer in length. Because of the longer sleeves and higher neckline, I was fine with showing a little more leg than usual. I wore this dress to an early father's day lunch and a wedding the same evening, looked great with sandals for lunch and my nude pumps in the evening. There was a lot of dancing at the reception, and because of the sleeves, every time I would lift my arms up to spin, it would pull up the length of the dress, to uncomfortable lengths at times.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 8, 2014
Unique dress
The only thing that I was disappointed about was that the dress didn't come with the belt. I was so excited about it, too. The dress was so comfortable and it was the perfect length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 4, 2014
Beautiful, flattering and unique
I wore this to a wedding rehearsal and absolutely loved it. The dress fit perfectly and the belt did wonders to pull in the waist a bit. Overall the bit is a little shorter than I am used to, but I knew that when I ordered it, and it was perfectly fine. I wore it with black strappy heels, which were fine, but I didn't love them. I wish, instead, that I had worn a nude heel. I wore a black necklace and tan textured bag, and it brought the look together. I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 3, 2014
Flirty and Feminine
Although the dress was clearly a little worn, with slightly frayed edges and one small grease spot, it was nonetheless stunning. All it took was a little dab of my handy Tide To Go Pen, and this dress because perfectly suited for my high school graduation. The fit is fabulous throughout, the neckline keeps it classy, and the hemline (high-mid thigh) gave it a youthful, flirty quality. All in all, I was sad to send it back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 23, 2014
Fit perfectly. Received a ton of compliments. I would highly recommend it!!
Shift dress, but the belt helps show off your waist.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 23, 2014
Perfect wedding.
I LOVED this dress and I can't remember the last time I got so many compliments! It was my first RTR dress and now I'm hooked. I'm usually either a 6 or an 8, so I ordered this dress in both sizes to be safe. Both sizes worked, but I felt more comfortable in the 8 (stayed put better when I lifted my arms, didn't ride up as much when I walked), so I went with that. It was definitely short, but not inappropriately so, especially with the long sleeves--and with heels, super flattering on the legs. The only problem was that it was much hotter during the ceremony than anticipated, and we had to wait longer than expected for it to start, and I felt pretty gross/sweaty in this thing during that. But that's not the dress' fault, and it was perfect for the reception afterward. I would just say, don't wear this dress if you're going to be in hot sun long-term. Otherwise, DO IT.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
May 19, 2014
Great for a graduation but my rental did not have the belt included
It fit really nicely and I'm 5'8" so it was short, but not too short - cute and conservative enough for a daytime graduation. Looked great with turquoise jewelry!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 12, 2014
Beautiful! Wore it for my daughter's christening.
Fit Great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 11, 2014
Perfect for a bridal shower
Lovely dress, perfect for the occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
May 10, 2014
Looks great on & extremely comfortable!
I ordered a 6 & was sent an 8. A 6 would have fit but the 8 just gave me a little more room. Since it's a shift dress it didn't look bad. Mine didn't come with the pictured sash but it worked well without it. The fabric is comfortable & not too hot or thin so it could be worn in varying temperatures. I was nervous about packing it in a suitcase & getting wrinkled but the fabric doesn't seem to wrinkle easy. I got loads of compliments on my gorgeous dress & you know I just had to tell my secret!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 7, 2014
This dress got so many compliments!
I wore this dress to a March wedding and it was a smash hit! The dress fit well and ran true to size. I did not wear it with the belt that it comes with because it looked out of place. I wore this dress with nude pumps and minimal jewelry. The pattern was so cute and the scalloped bottom was great. My only complaint was that the dress seemed to be a little worn out, but the only person who could tell was me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 4, 2014
Loved this dress!
I loved the fit of this dress! I was so comfortable and I loved the color!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
April 29, 2014
Love the dress. Didn't love the holes in the armpit
Definitely runs on the large side.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
April 24, 2014
Fun, Comfortable Dress
This dress is Beautiful. What I didn't think of was the dress being worn in. I could have worn a size 8 instead of a 10. No harm. Now I know. This was over all an amazing experience. I started with a 12, they shipped the smaller size overnight without me returning the other size. I got so many compliments on it. I wasn't sure if it would work at an October wedding, but I stood out in a great way!! I cant wait for the next opportunity to use RR again which looks like this November.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
April 23, 2014
Fun, comfortable and flattering.
Unique and eye-catching dress. Flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 147lbs
April 23, 2014
Great day-to-night dress
I'm between a 8 and 10. The 8 wasn't available but the 10 worked great. It was a little roomy but that made it comfortable. Mine didn't come with the sash shown, but felt that it did need a belt. It was a little shorter than I expected, especially when sitting. It's a great dress that is easy to dress up or down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 22, 2014
I wore this for Easter Sunday. I felt a bit more dressed up for the holiday but not way overboard.
The dress was a bit thinner than I expected. Very light weight and sheer. There is a liner, so I was not worried about see-through; but there was not much to it. The dress was shipped to me without the waist tie/belt-- and belting this dress is important. Luckily I had a belt of the right shade to wear instead. Size 6 fit very well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 22, 2014
Beautiful stitching makes this dress
RTR only had a size 6 available, so I just got the 1 size. I am usually between a 4 & 6 with dresses. The size 6 fit just fine, it was slightly roomy but since it is a sheath style it was fine going a size up. Only reason it got a 3 - a few minor pulled stitches & also RTR forgot to send the belt with it. So be sure if you want the belt...to specify & check.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 21, 2014
The dress was very flattering without being too tight on my curves
I loved the dress, but it was delivered without the attached belt in the picture. It was last minute, so I did not have time to get a replacement, so the strings that hold the belt in place were hanging at my sides all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 182lbs
April 21, 2014
It fit!
After searching endlessly on RTR, I finally found this dress perfect for a spring time wedding. My issue is my large chest and not so flat tummy. As much as I did not want to draw attention to my mid-section, the belt really gave the dress some shape. This was my back up dress and after reading reviews I went a size down, reluctantly, and the 10 fit perfectly . First time renting, can't wait to see what other gems I can find as dresses are hard to find for those with a big chest!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
April 16, 2014
Fabulous dress for a Spring wedding in the Mountains!
I wore this dress to my long time friends wedding in the mountains of Northern California. I opted to wear the dress without the belt & got compliments all night! Loved the detail on the dress. Would definitely wear this dress again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 9, 2014
Very classy and vibrant
I loved the way this fit and the hemline on the skirt. It fit true to size and is the perfect dress for most dressy occassions.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
April 9, 2014
Confidence booster!
Great fit, soft material. The color was richer then I expected and I felt like a million bucks wearing it. I wore this for the pink themed cocktail shower I hosted for my sister in law. I got compliments as I ran errands before the party and tons from the guests and the bride. It was a little shorter then I expected, but it was balanced well with all the coverage uptop. I cant wait to rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
April 6, 2014
Love the seam detailing!
This dress fit like a glove. I am nearly 5'11" and the 6 fit perfectly, thankfully since they can sometimes run very short on me. The color was rich and beautiful and the seam detailing along the bottom was stunning. I wore with nude heels and a royal blue Kate Spade statement necklace, to a baby shower and then a dinner party. I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 3, 2014
This was a great dress for a bridal shower. I got tons of compliments!
Dress is a little short. I wore a size up to gain some length, even though the body of the dress was a little baggy on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 28, 2014
Very pretty but unwearable. Would fit an inverted triangle.
This dress is gorgeous but just didn't fit well at all. It was tighter in the hips and baggy in the waist and bust. It has an underlayer that continued to ride up even with a slip, to the point that I was concerned I would have a wardrobe mishap if I ventured out of my house.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 25, 2014
Flattering fit and color
This was a great dress for my bridal shower. The beltloops had been removed, which was fine with me because the belt doesn't really do much for me. I'll also say I'm only 5'3" and this was pretty short when I was sitting, so keep an eye on that!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 25, 2014
I really loved this dress and received many compliments!
The dress fits true to size but a little large in the chest area (I'm small chested). The color is gorgeous and the fabric is light was great for an outdoor wedding in Feb for South Texas.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
March 24, 2014
The material is a lot thinner than I expected. Better for warmer months.
I rented this for a March wedding and thought the long sleeves would be warm enough for an outdoor ceremony. When I tried on the dress, it was just a little too thin (Linen-like material) for me to wear on a 40 degree day. The color and detail are beautiful, so this would be great to wear once it (finally) warms up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
March 18, 2014
Had a lot of compliments on this dress.
So cute for a rehearsal dinner party! Loved the color on my fair skin.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 12, 2014
I wore this to a wine auction in June. It was the perfect party dress!
I'm 5'2" with a boyish frame but the tie belt gave helped define a waist! Very comfortable and chic! Received a lot of compliments! Thank you RTR - I'll definitely be back :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
March 7, 2014
Perfect rehearsal dinner (guest) dress
This dress was so comfortable, and very flattering. It's a straight cut, more 'bag' style fit, so you could size down if you wanted it to hug a little closer. I have a curvier build, and the tie cinched it perfectly to look feminine while still allowing roof for comfort and enjoying a dinner without feeling confined by your dress :) The scalloped bottom and sleeves are very feminine. Arms are comfortable, even for larger arms (which I sometimes struggle with). Length is a teensy short if you're over 5'7", but it was ok for an evening dinner in summer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 4, 2014
Super comfortable and cute
This dress is fantastic for a petite frame. I usually have a hard time finding dresses that are the right length because I'm pretty short, but this dress was so perfect. It is so beautiful; the pictures just don't do it justice. The lace overlay is so delicate and detailed. The only problem I had was with the static cling! The dress is silk, so needs a slip underneath. I can't wait to rent this one again!
See more reviews:
2 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×