Santa Cruz Sun Dress

$84 to buy
$278 retail
Stylist Notes

Rock this cobalt blue Trina Turk party dress out for that bachelorette bash at the beach. An easy fit and perfect to take over the dance floor in. Dress it up with accessories like the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable waistband
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable waistband
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Blue crepe de chine with embroidery at shoulder. One shoulder neckline. Draped sleeve. Bloussant body with tie waist. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
139 reviews
Fit
Large
(69)
True to Size
(65)
Small
(5)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 28, 2014
Obsessed with this dress!
I am obsessing over this dress and currently try to find it online to buy! I loved it! it ran very large - I wore the 2 and I am not normally a 2. It fit perfectly though - not too snug in the hips or big/small on top. I dressed it up with nude heels and wore it in Vegas and but it would look cute with flats too. The color was so pretty too - overall a great and comfy dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 61
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
August 7, 2014
Gorgeous color!
This dress is a beautiful bright blue silk with embroidered detail on the shoulder that is even prettier than photos show. I ordered size 4 with the 2 as a backup and ended up wearing the 2 because it fit the shoulderless underarm area more snugly. This dress is very pretty and comfortable and the drawstring waist allowed me to eat as much as I wanted. The bottom is a little snug making the dress ride up while sitting and getting down on the dance floor. Even so, it was perfect for a fun summer outdoor party night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
August 23, 2014
perfect fit, great color for summer
rehearsal dinner winner!! super comfortable , nice fit- fancy while casual.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
August 25, 2014
Great, easy to wear dress!
I got this to wear for a dinner out in Vegas. My husband loved it and I felt great in it. It was easy to wear and very comfortable. The sleeve did seem a bit shorter than what is pictured, but it wasn't an issue for me. Great experience overall. I would rent this one again!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 145lbs
August 30, 2014
Love the one shoulder detail on the dress
Great dress for a wedding
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 5, 2014
The color of this dress is beautiful. I received many compliments and felt extremely comfortable.
True to size, very comfortable, and can be dressed up or down.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
April 22, 2014
Great Dress
#great dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 21, 2014
My favorite rental so far!
This is the prettiest, most comfortable, perfect-for-any-occasion dress. The bright blue is beautiful! It could be dressy or casual, depending on the accessories. It does run a tad big, so size down for your back up - but the drawstring waist makes it easy to adjust the fit. This was my free birthday rental and I just loved, loved, loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 21, 2014
My favorite rental so far!
This is the prettiest, most comfortable, perfect-for-any-occasion dress. The bright blue is beautiful! It could be dressy or casual, depending on the accessories. It does run a tad big, so size down for your back up - but the drawstring waist makes it easy to adjust the fit. This was my free birthday rental and I just loved, loved, loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 16, 2012
I don't have a full body pic; i just took this one to document my lipstick color :)
I am usually a size 6, but that was quite big and the 4 fit perfectly. I wore it to dinner and to a nice latin club for salsa dancing and got compliments on it (from both guys and girls). The color is really rich and vibrant, it really stands out in a good way. It is a casual dress in that it's not super form fitting but the color makes it more formal somehow. It is very comfortable and worked well for dancing and I felt relaxed and pretty in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 21, 2012
The pretty dress, awesome earrings, and the ease of the process! Totally stress-free!
I loved wearing this dress to an evening wedding this weekend! The color is so vibrant and the dress is very comfortable! It looked great with the Kate Spade chandelier earrings that were my Mystery Bling :) I felt like a million bucks! I was worried at first that it wouldn't be formal enough for the event, but the color and fabric is super classy. Great first experience!
KaleyJuly 11, 2012
What kind of bra would you wear with this?
RTRJuly 24, 2012
Hi Kaley, this style can be worn with a standard strapless bra.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
May 21, 2012
PERFECT
Dress was a perfect "semi-dressy" outfit!! Loved it, very rich in color and received many compliments. Would definitely rent again! :-) Thanks RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113lbs
June 11, 2012
perfect for dancing
I danced all night in this dress, ate a ton of food and it remained soooo comfortable. It's lightweight and fun! The color is actually very beautiful too, I don't think the website does it justice. I think it ran a little big for me. A little longer than I would've wanted and a little big in the top. Overall, i really enjoyed it. I would recommend renting it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 18, 2012
Every dress that I've rented from RTR has always gotten multiple compliments. Love their selection and service!
This dress was perfect for the outdoor wedding that I attended. It fit great and got so many compliments. The detailing on the shoulder added a perfect amount of colorful pop. Great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
June 25, 2012
Standout Dress
I got soooo many compliments on this dress. Fit very well and the color was great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
July 19, 2012
Not only felt beautiful wearing this dress, but had so much fun celebrating with my favorite girls in NYC! Receiving so many complements on your "last night out" makes you feel the the beautiful bride you've always wanted to be.
I absolutely love this dress! Everyone's reviews about this dress being on the slightly roomier side is right. I usually wear an 8, but wound up wearing the back-up size 6. It fit perfect and I felt beautiful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 19, 2012
So cute and fun to wear
I wore this dress with cowboy boots for a wedding at a ranch. It was perfect! So cute and comfortable. Looked great with heals and with the boots. I got tons of compliments and felt great in the dress. I would definitely recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
July 24, 2012
Nice dress
I liked this dress but it didn't fit me perfectly. I ordered the size 2 and 4 and even though you'd think the larger size would be better, it was too loose in the waist. So I wore the size 2. It was a little more snug in the hips than I thought it would be which changed the way it looked. But I would recommend it for girls without as curvy of hips. :) Other than that, the embroidery was beautiful.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
July 26, 2012
Beautiful Embroidery
I probably should have gone down a size, like the reviews say--but my normal size worked fine. Fitting note: I've got a lot on top but small booty. On me, the dress looked fine. But on my friend with less up top and a lot booty, this dress looked AMAZING!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
July 29, 2012
The Trina Turk dress is the blue one! It went from a party to ladies hat day at the horse races and it worked in both situations.
I love this dress! It is really comfortable and turns heads. On that note, the material wrinkles fairly easily and both sizes came wrinkled. Be prepared to iron or steam the dress before you wear it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
July 30, 2012
Loved the dress
I loved this dress. I was sad that i had to return it. It fit great! i nomaly wear a size 2 but took the advice of the syslist and ordered a size down for my second size. the color is amazing on this dress. I recieved compliments all night long!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 7, 2012
Runs slightly large
Other members were correct in saying that it runs a bit large. I usually wear an 8 or 10, but for this one I ordered a 6 and an 8 and chose to wear the 8. Even though the 6 fit just fine, the 8 gave a little more room at the bust so that the lines of my strapless bra weren't visible. Overall, the dress fit very well and falls nicely, and what's great is that it could suit any body type. The color is bold and eye-catching and I wore it with a yellow bubble necklace to give it some even bolder contrast. The only thing I would've liked is for it to be a tiny bit shorter.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 8, 2012
Great Color!!!!
Loved this dress. It was so easy to wear and flattering for almost all body types. I wore the 2 and have to agree that it does run big, I typically order the 4's. There is plenty of room up top and in the hip area for all body types. What a great summer dress. It was perfect for the coastal wedding we attended and I received a ton of compliments. AGAIN... Thx RTR!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 10, 2012
Pleased
I loved this dress!! But I ordered my normal size and it was way too big! Very disappointing! the dress looked amazing though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
August 13, 2012
nice dress, no zipper
this dress looked beautiful, would have fit perfect if the dress had a zipper. the fabric has no stretch, i could get the dress all the way up, but could not get the sleeve on because there is no zipper and the fabric does not stretch at all, but i can tell if there had been a zipper the dress would have fit no problem and been beautiful. i ended up returning and had to run out a few hours before the wedding i was attending to buy something to wear.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 14, 2012
Perfect!
I loved this dress and had tons of compliments on it... super comfy and fit great :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
August 14, 2012
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE
This dress is just adorable! I can't say enough about it. Rent this today!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 15, 2012
Great first rental!
When I first got the dress I was really turned off by the flat tube like shape of it, but then when I put it on and tied the strings it was like magic. The dress fitted nicely and it hit in all the right stops. The color is really rich and the fabric feels really nice against the skin. Got tons of compliments from other wedding goers. I will definitly keep RENTTHERUNWAY in my aresonal of "WHAT TO WEAR!"-Thanks for a great first rent and easy return!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 16, 2012
Beautiful and comfortable
I wore this dress for a wedding after-party. It is a beautiful, bold royal blue. The style is somewhat casual because of the tie belt, but the material keeps it just formal enough for a semi-formal event. It fit perfectly. Loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
August 20, 2012
love.
i loved the color and the fit. it was a great dress for a summer wedding. everyone loved it and i got lots of complements
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 20, 2012
Great color
I have mixed feelings about this dress. On one hand it was a great color and very comfortable. On the other the fabric wrinkled very easily, also it was rainy that day so when the back got a few rain drops on it the fabric stayed blotchy for the rest of the night even though it was dry. Also, not sure if this is the case for everyone, but if you have hips the belly area tend to pooch out (and I don't have anything close to a pooch). In some pics it looks great, others not so much. Didn't hate it, didn't love it.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
August 20, 2012
Happy
I received many compliments! Dress was a good fit & I was happy I liked it just as much in person as i did the picture online.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 22, 2012
My husband telling me I looked beautiful, sexy AND skinny was the best compliment and its just so easy with RTR...Love it!
This was a beautiful dress, great blue color! Perfect for a outdoor/beach wedding, very light material and breathable. I am usually a 4 or 6 in dresses and wish I would have ordered the 2 like the other reviews warned, the dress does run large. I was worried it would be too small but a smaller size is def. the way to go, however, with the drawstring it is easy to make any size work. Very flattering dress I received lots of compliments all night and my husband loved it! Thanks RTR!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 22, 2012
My husband telling me I looked beautiful, sexy AND skinny was the best compliment and its just so easy with RTR...Love it!
This was a beautiful dress, great blue color! Perfect for a outdoor/beach wedding, very light material and breathable. I am usually a 4 or 6 in dresses and wish I would have ordered the 2 like the other reviews warned, the dress does run large. I was worried it would be too small but a smaller size is def. the way to go, however, with the drawstring it is easy to make any size work. Very flattering dress I received lots of compliments all night and my husband loved it! Thanks RTR!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 23, 2012
Perfect Summer Dress!
I loved this dress! I wore it for a summer wedding I attended and it was the perfect choice. I got so many compliments on it. I ordered an 6 and 8 and ended up wearing the 8 (which is my normal size). It was silk so it was hard to keep from staying unwrinkled, but it was very forgiving and didn't hug places where it shouldn't.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 2, 2012
I was beginning to stress a little bit as the dress I ordered (purchased) online from a different site and when it arrived it was awful and I was left looking for a new dress at the last minute. I tried RTR for the first time and LOVE LOVE LOVED it. The dress arrived exactly when they said it would, was in perfect condition, contained an extra size for free, and the packaging was super cute. I cant wait to RTR again soon.
I was a little worried the dress may not be dressy enough for formal, evening wedding but the fabric of this dress really set it into a fun but classy style. The dress is flowy enough that it would work great for any body type. The drawstring waist it also really helpful allowing you to control how form it fits to your body.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
September 7, 2012
the ease of ordering! I am hooked!
I received lots of compliments in this dress! very comfortable, loved the sleeve and the bright color. It created a shape with the sinched waist as well. My Mother in Law and I happened to have the same color on :-)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
September 9, 2012
My boyfriend couldn't take his eyes off me the whole night!
I rented this dress for my 30th birthday dinner with my boyfriend. I loved it and he did too! I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
September 10, 2012
Loved it!
Received a ton of compliments on this dress...very forgiving.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 12, 2012
Great Color/Flattering Fit
I loved this dress! I wore it to a going-away party and received compliments all night. The blue is very vibrant and the fit is extremely flattering. Only issue was that the top runs a little large, so if you are pear shaped like me I would recommend going a size smaller. Would definitely recommend!
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×