Santa Cruz Sun Dress

$84 to buy
$278 retail
Stylist Notes

Rock this cobalt blue Trina Turk party dress out for that bachelorette bash at the beach. An easy fit and perfect to take over the dance floor in. Dress it up with accessories like the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable waistband
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable waistband
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Blue crepe de chine with embroidery at shoulder. One shoulder neckline. Draped sleeve. Bloussant body with tie waist. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
139 reviews
Fit
Large
(69)
True to Size
(65)
Small
(5)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
May 12, 2013
casual and comfortable!
It was a nice casual dress. it was very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
May 15, 2013
This dress was perfect for a destination wedding to Aruba!
I wore this dress for a friends wedding in Aruba, it was perfect. light, airy and a pop of color. I had ordered the 12, but it was unavailable and RTR was fabulous and called me to help me decide on what to do. After speaking with a RTR stylist she assured me the 10 would fit and also sent me 2 other dresses complimentary to ensure I had options. The 10 fit perfectly and I received so many compliments. This dress also traveled fantastically and I didn't even have to iron it as I hung it up when I arrived and it was ready to go 2 days later!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
June 6, 2013
LOVED this dress!! Runs a little big but the color and shape of the dress were amazing!!!!
I rented this dress for an out of town semi-formal wedding. This was my first time using RTR and the whole process was so much fun! I loved looking through all the dresses and seeing the pictures of "normal" people wearing them so I could get an idea what they might look like on me. I normally wear a size 6 but the reviews said it ran a little big so I got that and a size 4. Well the reviews were right and I went with the 4. I received so many compliments on the dress. It was dressy but fun and trendy also! Very comfortable. The rental process was so easy! The wedding was on a Saturday so I had it delivered Thursday. It gave me time to decide which size I liked best. I returned it to a UPS drop box on Sunday in the town we were at for the wedding. SUPER easy! I cannot wait to rent from RTR again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 17, 2013
Amazing Dress!
i wanted something lovely to wear for my birthday and this really stood out. The fit, cut and color was amazing. It's fully lined, so you don't have to worry about underwear lines. The color is exactly the same as on the website.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
July 8, 2013
Awesome dress!
I wore this for my friends wedding over memorial day. Great dress! Wore with nude pumps and accented it with lime green jewelry. Perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 30, 2013
Beautiful!
I wore this dress to a June wedding and it was perfect. The color is amazing in person and I love the detail on the shoulder. I usually wear a 4 in dresses but the 2 fit perfect. Hit just above the knee.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 3, 2013
Stunning color, just too big
I don't have much of a figure, so this dress just hung on my body. I am a true size 0 and it was just too big, even with the drawstring waist. Beautiful color and detail. It came a bit wrinkled.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
September 17, 2013
Amazing dress for an outdoor wedding. Striking color.
Very comfortable dress. It fit perfectly after I tightened the drawstring around the waste. Got many compliments and the color is gorgeous. First experience with RTR was a success!!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 19, 2013
The dress fit perfectly, was very flattering and completely original!
The dress fit true to size and was a very comfortable style. The sleeve was not as long as it appears on the model, but I think it looked better that way. It was easy to dance in and numerous people came up to me to complement the dress and talk about how gorgeous the color was. It was the perfect dress for a perfect night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 5, 2013
My outfit made my night!
My boyfriend broke up with me two days before my friend's wedding. But I still went, and I felt like a million bucks! The dress runs a bit on the large side because of the drawstring waist. The embroidery details on the shoulder are amazing in person. I took a second photo of just the shoulder since the pics on the model just don't do it justice. The dress was in great shape as well. I paired it with the Kate Spade Crystal Kate Chandelier Earrings and Chamak by Priyar Kakkar Silver Wave Bangles, both available on RTR. Overall, it was a perfect look for an outdoor late spring wedding, and I would definitely rent this again for a similar occasion.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 105lbs
November 19, 2013
great color.
great alternative to a black dress. rented for a wedding and loved!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
December 16, 2013
Fun dress!
I rented this as a back up for my work holiday party and went with the 1st choice. The dress fit nicely (runs large, so size down) and the length was fine (i'm 5'10 - may be long on anyone short). The detail on the shoulder was nice but overall thought it wasn't dressy enough for the party. Would be a great dress for a bridal shower or lunch though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 7, 2013
Hassle Free Experience!
As many others have said, this dress runs big. I ordered and wore the M but could probably gotten away with the S if it had been available. The drawstring waist helped, in that I was able to tighten it quite a bit. This dress is super comfortable and the color is very flattering. I had the dress sent to my hotel so I didn't have to worry about traveling with it. Love RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
August 10, 2013
The dress was fabulous, wore it for a trip to Vegas.
The fit was great, the size 4 was perfect fit. Would absolutely rent this dress again
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 23, 2014
Vegas Wedding
Perfect for a day time wedding in Vegas. The fit is so comfortable. I think it runs a bit big but you can adjust the waist. LOVE this dress and definitely stood out and had many compliments. Will rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 27, 2014
Wore this dress for NYE. My BF loved it!
Loved the top, it fit perfectly. but the bottom was a longer than I hoped. The skirt on it is also a bit straighter than I expected.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 20, 2014
Effortless showstopper!
Wore this to my brother's rehearsal dinner in June, a semi-outdoor event, and strangers were walking up to compliment me! One woman even stopped me and "gave me the award for best-dressed in the city." The material wasn't the most expensive-feeling, and it almost has a swimsuit coverup kind of feel, but the colors are so rich and vivid I'd say this is the perfect stunner for those semi-casual/semi-formal events. Great for all body types!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 7, 2014
Great for straight bodied ladies
Gorgeous color. This has an overall wierd fit. If you are pear shaped it is not for you! It ended up just not being very flattering.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 12, 2014
Great dress! I wore the coral at a wedding last year and the blue this year! Love this dress!
I wore the size 2. I'm 5'4, 120lbs and 32D. The dress is loose just enough so I can move around dance and most important eat and have a few drinks but doesn't look frumpy at all. I received lots of compliments and paired it with the Kate Spade Canary Statement Earrings.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 1, 2015
One shoulder style is a signature look
I LOVE the one shoulder style, I wore this out in NY for my bachelorette. I wore the 0, there was little difference between the 2 and 0, but the 0 seemed to fall just a little nicer. The length was perfect, not too short. The color is to die for.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
May 6, 2015
Love the color, the embroidery detail and the style! I received a lot of compliments! Perfect!
RTR only had the size 2 available in this dress. Thankfully it fit perfectly. I'm pear shaped and loved the drawstring waist to help define my curves. The dress fit like a glove yet very forgiving. The color is a wonderful cobalt blue. I liked the one sleeve design, showed off some skin without being too revealing and no tugging at a dress that doesn't stay up. I would definitely rent this one again. I loved it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 11, 2015
Fun dress for bachelorette night
I usually wear a size 6, but the 6 was not available and based on the other reviewers saying the dress ran large- I ended up ordering and wearing a size 4. The dress was a bit snug in the leg area (but I am bottom heavy) and was a bit loose in the armpit area. I should have brought some fashion tape with me to use- as that would have solved the problem. I am 5'8" and the dress was a bit shorter than I would have liked, but it worked just fine,
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
July 16, 2012
My boyfriend told me I looked "super hot." Good enough for me!
Wore this to a more casual wedding. Great color and overall look. It runs a little big, but this could also be because its a baggier fit so I'd go down a size if you get a backup. I ended up wearing my normal size because I just felt slightly more comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 10, 2012
My husband told me I looked beautiful and all of my friends loved the dress and the fit-- it was a home run!!!
I wear a size 10 in dresses and size 8 in pants and this was a perfect fit. It was such a beautiful color and I received a ton of compliments. The earrings were also to die for. I LOVED the packaging and how easy RTR made it to get a special occasion dress. Will be renting again!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
January 9, 2013
Gorgeous color and comfortable fit! This dress got lots of compliments!
This dress was such a fun, flirty, pretty, vibrant, and COMFORTABLE dress! I wore this dress for a dressy engagement party, but this dress would be great for lots of different occasions (you can dress it up with different accessories... I chose to pair it with diamond gold tear drop earrings, a gold bracelet and a gold sequined purse). I typically wear a size 8 but after reading previous reviews (which stated the dress ran big), I decided to get a size 6 and it fit perfectly (I didn't even bother trying the 8 on). The detail on the shoulder was neat as well and I received lots of compliments on this dress. I'd definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
January 13, 2013
Easy dress to wear, show-stopping color!
I had this dress in a 0 and the 2, and they fit almost identically! The 0 was just a little bit shorter which I preferred being just 5'3". The color was great, the fit was loose, and I loved the tie at the waist to cinch in the dress. All this dress needed was a pair of gold earrings and a bangle to go with it! Thank you RTR! This was a great birthday dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 2, 2013
Loved it! Very fun looking!
The reason this didn't get five stars is because the second dress had makeup all over the embroidery so I couldn't wear that even if I wanted to. The dress itself was beautiful, a lot heavier/thicker fabric than what I was expecting.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 22, 2013
Beautiful and effortless, thanks RTR!
I love this dress! It is unique without screaming for attention, and pretty without sweet ruffly, lacy details. Strong and feminine are good descriptors. Definitely recommended. The sleeve was shorter than shown on the model, but it wasn't a problem to me. I didn't even try on the 6, the 4 was roomy enough over my hips (and the 6 would've been way too big in the bust). The fabric didn't wrinkle from sitting during the ceremony or reception, and it was very comfortable. I paired it with nude heels and a silver bag from my own closet.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
April 27, 2013
So flattering!!!
I rented this for a banquet because we all had to wear royal blue. It was perfect! I got a 2 and a 4 but I never even tried on the 4 because the 2 fit perfectly. Not too tight and not too loose. The adjustable waistband makes it easy to fit any size. The embroidery at the sleeve is so pretty and a nice touch to make you stand out more. Loved this dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
May 21, 2013
LOVE this dress!
I wore this dress to a formal event -- it's great for a party, night out, or summer wedding! Not only is the color gorgeous, but it's comfortable and elegant! The cinched waist is perfect for a curvier figure. Love it, would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 15, 2013
Perfect dress for my 30th birthday! :)
This dress did run a little big. I ordered the 4 and 2, wore the 2 and could have gotten away with a 0. The color was perfect... bright and vibrant! I paired it with flat gold shoes and simple stud earrings. I received so many compliments and just felt perfect in it! I highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 131lbs
July 6, 2013
Comfortable and beautiful!
This was a great dress for a summer event. The silk is beautiful and bright, and the fit is very comfortable. I got the 4 and the 2 but ended up wearing the 2 because it fit better on the strapless side. This dress is forgiving around the belly.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 30, 2013
comfortable, and such a beautiful color
i rented this dress for a nice night on the town, and received many compliments. it's comfortable and easy, and a beautiful, eye-catching color. highly recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 21, 2014
Bright, FUN dress
Sorry for the terrible picture, didn't take any full body pics the whole night. Wanted to show off the dress and earring though. As many others have said, the dress runs a tad big. I ordered the 4 and the 6, and I went with the 4. I also ordered the BADGLEY MISCHKA Showstopper Earrings... and I wish I could've kept them too. Loved my entire outfit! Would definitely order this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
September 2, 2014
Great color, super comfortable, pretty casual though.
The blue color is amazing and rich. Super comfortable and easy to wear. Took a lotta jewelry and heels to dress it up. Would definitely recommend for more casual events. Longer than I thought it would be, especially since I'm 5'11 but looked less frumpy with heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2014
Love this dress!
I rented this dress for a September wedding. Got a ton of compliments! I definitely had to tie the belt so it would be more form fitting but doing that made it fit and look great. I would rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 11, 2012
Great color!
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and sunset cruise in Newport, RI. While I got a TON of compliments on the color and detail on the shoulder it was a tad chilly for this dress. The silk is super luxurious, but also very thin. It was very cute. I wore it with some silver Jack Rogers sandals on the boat and it looked perfect. I would definitely recommend this dress.
LizAugust 17, 2012
I'm thinking of renting this for my sister's engagement party in October - will it be too thing for that? Thanks!
RTRAugust 29, 2012
Hi Liz! I think this dress will be perfect for an engagement party in October! It is certainly not too thin and is a great color for fall!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 16, 2012
Great dress!
This dress was a great dress to rent for multiple events in one weekend. I attended a summer cocktail party and baby shower and I got tons of compliments at both parties.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 12, 2012
Such a great dress that I have rented it twice now. Love the color and the detail.
The top is meant to be loose and that fit great but the skirt portion can be a little tight around the hips/butt. The fabric is rather simply made but also very lightweight in case you are going to be outside at all.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
September 17, 2012
Came on time, perfectly pressed and got tons of compliments!
Fit perfectly, and great length for tall girls!
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×