Trina Turk

Purple Bow Shoulder dress

$50 rental
$328 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rent the ultimate date dress by Trina Turk. It's color and one shoulder cut is perfect for a night of fun and romance! Go wild with accessories for an extra pop of style.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Purple silk(100% silk). One shoulder neckline with bow detail. Fitted bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
76 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(56)
Small
(9)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
September 12, 2012
Loved it.
I ended up wearing the bigger size, the smaller one fit, but it wrinkled and folded over at the waste when I sat down. Got lots of compliments AND was comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
September 19, 2012
The dress was perfect for dancing.
The dress was great! I don't normally wear this color, but it was very flattering, especially in the evening. I ordered the 4 and the 2, and I ended up wearing the 2. It fit well, but I thought it was a little long on me. I would definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 30, 2012
Getting a new dress without leaving my house
I chose this dress but ended up wearing the back up dress I had also ordered. The color is beautiful--brighter than the photo. It is much more on the fuchsia side than the dark purple pictured. I found the pleating around the waist made it look to matronly. I already have hips and didn't need to add anything.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 1, 2012
LOVED this dress!
I don't get to dress up and go out much, so was excited to put this dress on. I wore it to a wedding rehearsal and dinner. Can't say enough good things about it. I felt beautiful, received numerous compliments of how pretty it was. Will look forward to another event that maybe I could wear it again to.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 1, 2012
Great cut and wonderful color on any skin tone. I felt great in it.
The fabric holds anything that is spilled or accidentally rubbed on it (deodorant especially).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 175lbs
October 1, 2012
Loved the color!
The dress came on Thursday for an event I had on Saturday night. I was worried about it not fitting so I got the 10 and the 12. The 10 was just a little too tight in the waist so I went with the 12 for my friend's wedding. The 12 was a great fit around the waist which I was concerned about since it's my biggest problem area. Unfortunately, since it was the bigger size, there was extra material around my chest (36DD) and back so it looked a little loose. I used the fashion tape that came with the dress (another awesome perk of RTR) and that helped a bit, but I think the 10 was a better fit for that area. Since the dress was a bit more roomy, I felt really comfortable in it- rather than feeling like I was being sucked in the whole night. I was able to dance the whole night and just feel good in what I was wearing. Occasionally, I felt like the material bunched around my stomach and chest at times, which was less flattering, but I think that was due to the extra material of the 12. Overall, I received a lot of compliments on the dress, and am happy I went with this one. It was also super easy to return and made my trip home much easier when I didn't need to tote the dress back with me. :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 2, 2012
Perfect for the wedding!
Loved this dress! It was very comfortable and fit like a glove. Honestly though if my bust was any larger (I'm a 32A) I probably would have had to go up a size because it "fit" my chest. I know the pic is dark (I'm looking for my camera with the others) I loved the color and had several compliments on the dress thoughout the evening.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
October 8, 2012
The dress was perfect! The color is very pretty and unusual...turned heads.
Wore this to a cocktail party & it was perfect! Fit to a "T", very comfortable, hugged all right places.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
October 14, 2012
Great color, elegant one shoulder dress
I'm tall, and this dress was the perfect length. It has a really cute slip under the dress. The six was a great fit too, except the armhole was tight. The zipper on the eight was a little messed up, had to struggle to zip it even though it was big enough.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
October 17, 2012
Great dress, great color
Fit true to size. Lining underneath the dress was a little tighter than the dress itself, but still fit true to size.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
October 20, 2012
Pretty dress... too tight
The dress was pretty but it was a little too tight in the waist. I had to return it since I value being able to breathe. I don't think this dress runs large like the details say. I think it's pretty true to size, I just gained a little bit of weight so it wasn't exactly comfortable. But like I said, it was really pretty and could have worked but I picked something else instead.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 16, 2012
i got lots of compliments on this dress!
It fit perfectly, very true to size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
November 29, 2012
I got a lot of compliments on this dress!!
The color was beautiful, the dress fit well, and it was easy to dance in! Great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 15, 2012
pretty, but damaged.
I rented two styles to choose from for my formal occasion, and I really loved this one best. However, I was hesitant to wear it because there was a hole in the liner when the dress arrived. I usually wear a 2 or a 4 and the 2 in this dress fit, but it was a little big. The dress also seemed like it had been worn and laundered A LOT. It was still pretty and would probably be okay; I was just nervous that the hole (although not visible from the outside) would get worse if I wore the dress... It was disappointing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 21, 2012
Perfect dress for a Texas Thanksgiving wedding!
I wore this dress to a wedding over Thanksgiving. The color and cut was absolutely perfect. However, keep in mind when ordering, the dress has no give whatsoever.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 22, 2012
Great color...but didn't quite work for me
The fit was really small in comparison from what I normally wear...I think I would have had to go at least two more sized up. So unfortunately, I was unable to enjoy it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 17, 2011
So many compliments from so many people all night!
This dress fit really well and I got so many compliments on it! I'm glad I read previous reviews, because it did run large, and I was able to fit into the smaller, back-up, size that I ordered. Even in the smaller size, I was able to move easily, sit easily, and eat & drink at the party. I just wish there weren't so many pictures, because I would love to wear it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 14, 2013
MY friend had a brunch for her birthday and this dress received so many compliments .
The dress fit perfectly on my curvy body. No complaints at all whatsoever . thank you RTR!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
January 30, 2013
Perfect for the Occasion
The dress was true to size and fit perfectly. I received a lot of compliments. The color was a deeper purple, so was appropriate for a winter wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
February 8, 2013
I wore this to the Lady Gaga concert in Las Vegas, celebrating my cousin's birthday.
The dress was an absolutely beautiful color- very vibrant purple. The dress was comfortable, but a little bit short. To play up the drama for Gaga I added a cheetah print necklace and black cheetah patterned tights. I have a little bit of a tummy and wore some control top undergarments, which mostly pulled me in, but there was a wee bit of bunching around the midsection. Also,speaking of undergarments, the side that is strapless is low- because I'm busty, it didn't fully obscure my strapless bra, so I actually ended up wearing a normal bra and tucking one strap, which worked fine but was not the best solution. Loved the color and bow on the side, but the actual fit was not exactly right for me.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 27, 2011
This dress was perfect for a fall wedding I just attended. It fits true to size (I usually wear a size 4 at 5'9", 135 pounds), was a perfect length for me (even with 3-inch heels), and looks more elegant in person than it does in the photo. It is a beautiful, deep color. It's fully lined and the material was not as delicate as I anticipated - a good thing for a long night of dancing. Loved it and got lots of compliments - would definitely rent it again. Thanks, RTR!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 29, 2011
This dress was fantastic! I wore the dress for a fall wedding and received many compliments! As an extremely curvy girl, I was very pleased with how the dress fit. I am 5'7", weigh 155 and am 36DD - I ordered both the 10 and 12 and the 10 fit perfectly! The material of the dress was very nice and the length was appropriate for a wedding. I danced the night away!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 24, 2011
I wish I could have worn this dress but unfortunately both the sizes I ordered (4 and 6) were too big. I weigh 125 and am 5'5 and usually wear a 4 or 6 (to fit my hips) but both I was swimming in both the dresses. The color and material of the dress were beautiful but unfortunately the sizing just didn't work.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
October 26, 2011
Loved this dress! Very flattering fit and great color. I wored it with turquoise jewelry and got lots of compliments. True to size, if not slightly on the larger side. I'd rent it again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 26, 2011
I ordered the size 0. When I tried it on. I noticed two huge stains, one on the top of the dress and the other on the bottom in the back. On the bust there was also a tear. The dress was unwearable! I am expecting a full refund on my order. Do not rent the size 0.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 7, 2011
Perfect for fall outdoor wedding. Got tons of compliments. Comfortable and fit perfectly. Yet another great RTR experience!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
November 14, 2011
So Pretty!
This dress is great to rent! I rented the 8 and the 6 and I was surprised to find that the 6 fit better than the 8! I got tons of compliments and I was able to dance all night comfortably.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163lbs
December 1, 2011
Great experience
I rented this dress for a wedding and it fit beautifully! I was worried at first because this was my first rental and the wedding was out of town so I was concerned about a second option in case the dress did not fit properly but it was gorgeous and I received so many compliments on it! The only problem that I ran into was because the wedding was out of town and the rental was for 4 days, I had a little trouble retuning it in the time frame given to me and the post office told me that the postage that was prepaid was not for the correct weight. But, given the small problem I had with the return it was overall a great experience and I will return!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119lbs
January 8, 2012
Not the best fit
I rented this dress for a NYE wedding and the dress is very long and not flattering for a petite-5'2 lady! I ended up not wearing this dress. Highly recommend for someone taller but petite ladies rent with caution!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
January 11, 2012
Loved it!
This dress looks exactly like it does in the picture -- fits really nicely and perfect for a wedding. it's comfortable to dance in and a very appropriate length (not too short or too long). I got a lot of compliments. It's a great color whether your pale in the winter or tan in the summer. Highly recommend!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 19, 2012
Not Forgiving
I didn't end up wearing this dress but it was beautiful. Even if you are a size 12, you need to be in great shape to wear this dress. It is true to size and you need tight arms, stomach and breasts to look killer in this dress. But if you are in good shape, even the 12 can make will look great because this dress is very well made!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 6, 2012
perfect dress
This dress is just beautifully made and looks gorgeous and flattering on. The color is so rich and unusual. The draping accentuates your curves. I was complimented all night
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
February 22, 2012
This dress runs small
I rented this dress for a new year's party. It was beautiful. However, contrary to the website's guidance, this dress run very small through the midsection. I was able to wear it, but it was not comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
April 23, 2012
The amazing customer service!
I rented this dress for a wedding but it runs a little big. Even with a little fashion tape I was too worried I'd expose myself with a night of dancing. However, it's such a beautiful color, incredibly comfortable and figure flattering I decided to wear it to the rehearsal. Great fabric for a warm evening but a little disappointed it wrinkles easily. Best part of the experience was the amazing customer service from RTR!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
May 21, 2012
I was able to wear this gorgeous dress while celebrating my friend's special day!
The color is amazing and the dress is of course very well made! I read the reviews so I made sure to order up and received both the 0 & the 2. Unlike some of the other reviewers this dress fit me snug all over (instead of loose in the hips). Since I am pear shaped it can be difficult to find a dress that fits me on top and on bottom. I'm probably a 0 on top and a 4 on bottom. While this dress was not loose in the hips It still looked really good and did not have that "too tight" look.
NAMay 24, 2012
The dress looks amazing on you! I am also a 2/4 and pear shaped. Did you feel comfortable in the 0?
melanieMay 24, 2012
Thank you! I felt great in it and it was only a little tight when I sat down but not uncomfortable at all.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 31, 2012
Great Dress!
This dress was great. It came on time, fit great, and I got lots of compliments. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
June 12, 2012
pretty color and great dress! one of my favorite rentals yet.
Wore this dress for an October wedding. The dresses came in perfect condition. I ordered a 4 and 6 and went with the 4. Loved the sheen and color of the fabric! Wore it with black/diamond shoes and earrings. Looking at the other photos the dress color seems to look darker in many of the shots...but it was more of a deep rich purple that photographed brighter with a flash!
SarahOctober 26, 2012
oh gurl you looking fine!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
June 22, 2012
Beautiful color
This was my first experience with RTR and I was very impressed. I ordered this one along with the Shoshanna Adore Me Dress in navy, and while I liked both, I decided to wear this one because the color was more festive. I got the 2 and 4, and wore the 2. There was a bit of gaping at the bust because I'm very small up top, but then I found the built-in slip to be uncomfortably tight around my hips. That's the problem when you're small on top and fuller on the bottom! I used a bit of fashion tape to keep the top in place, and after a few drinks, I no longer noticed the slip squeezing my bum! I got a lot of compliments and was overall very happy with the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 4, 2012
Amazing!!
This dress is so beautiful and fits all the right spots!! I received so many compliments and will absolutely wear it again!!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 25, 2012
Loved the color!
I wore the 2 which fit well through hips and waist. It was a little big in the chest but the fashion tape fixed it perfectly. I wore this to a black tie summer wedding, but it could easily be worn to a party in colder weather too. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×