Purple Bow Shoulder dress

$50 rental
$328 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rent the ultimate date dress by Trina Turk. It's color and one shoulder cut is perfect for a night of fun and romance! Go wild with accessories for an extra pop of style.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple silk(100% silk). One shoulder neckline with bow detail. Fitted bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
76 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(56)
Small
(9)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 30, 2012
Getting a new dress without leaving my house
I chose this dress but ended up wearing the back up dress I had also ordered. The color is beautiful--brighter than the photo. It is much more on the fuchsia side than the dark purple pictured. I found the pleating around the waist made it look to matronly. I already have hips and didn't need to add anything.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
September 19, 2012
The dress was perfect for dancing.
The dress was great! I don't normally wear this color, but it was very flattering, especially in the evening. I ordered the 4 and the 2, and I ended up wearing the 2. It fit well, but I thought it was a little long on me. I would definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 200lbs
September 18, 2012
You'll make an entrance in this dress!
I wore this dress for my bridal shower and loved it! The color is gorgeous. I received numerous compliments on it and the fit was wonderful. The only thing was the side of the dress with no strap kept on falling down and I was constantly pulling it up. You could probably get around this with a better strapless bra or bustier. I loved this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 17, 2012
What a beautiful dress! It looked stunning and was super comfortable throughout the night!
For a charity gala, I was fortunate to pick up this dress. The size 4 didn't zip up because of my chest size but the size 6 zipped up perfectly. Otherwise, this dress was beautiful and comfortable. Wish that it had pockets but otherwise, it was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
September 12, 2012
Loved it.
I ended up wearing the bigger size, the smaller one fit, but it wrinkled and folded over at the waste when I sat down. Got lots of compliments AND was comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 10, 2012
Beautiful color
This is a beautiful dress to rent. It is lovely and still comfortable to wear. I highly recommend it. The color is lovely. It looks like a rich color because of the material. I recommend HIGH heels for a great look. As a 34c it fit great but there was definitely no extra room up top. My size 8 had a slight curling out of the fabric on the bodice. It was too set to be put down with hollywood tape.Should you order the 8 please ask if the dry cleaning has fixed this issue. If you always fit into an 8, I would rent the 6 as well because this dress looks good a little fitted.
MarleenSeptember 17, 2012
Hi Jen! I wanted to let you know that you have inspired me to rent this dress...I was worried it might be a little "young" for me. We are close to the same age and size. How high were your high heels, if you don't mind me asking? I have a party to go to next month with my husband. I have yet to rent from this wonderful site! How easy was the process? Have a great night~ Marleen
MarleenSeptember 17, 2012
oh btw...what color heels did you wear, or what would you recommend?
RTR CustomerSeptember 18, 2012
Hi Marleen! We recommend wearing black or nude shows with this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 3, 2012
Beautiful dress
Wore this dress in the size 6, but should have rented the 8 because I had gained weight. The color was beautiful and I received many compliments.I wore a strapless bra which made the dress tight up top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
August 20, 2012
Delivered a day early! I really enjoy the option for back up dress sizes.
The dress was perfect for the wedding I attended. I got so many compliments and many requests to borrow the rented dress! I only wish I had taken more pictures and that the pictures we took were better quality. I love RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 13, 2012
Great Dress For a Semi Formal
The dress fit really well and I loved it! I got a 2 and a 4 and ended up wearing the 2 because the 4 was a little large in the bust. Great dress though!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
August 13, 2012
More beautiful in person
I rented this dress for a family wedding in Chicago! It was gorgeous in person and the color was stunning. However, for the weekend I needed it only a 12 and an 8 were available (I am a size 10) but I rented anyway hoping I could make one of them work. Unfortunately I couldn't (runs very true to size in my opinion), but the customer service at Rent the Runway took care of my return and refund right away. Overall, the dress is beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
August 13, 2012
This rental was extra special because my mom helped pick this dress out for me and she teared up when she saw me in it.
I rented this dress for my mother's wedding in which I was the maid of honor. The picture on the model does not do the color justice. It is such a unique and bright beautiful purple. I thought the size was a little large on the one shoulder side where it kind of hung on me a little even in the smallest size. Other than that, I would highly recommend this dress. It holds its shape very well and is very flattering.
MarleenSeptember 17, 2012
the purple is very striking with your blonde hair, Madison!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
July 29, 2012
It was SO easy to ship the dresses back. They were in such great shape when they arrived. I will definitely be renting more dresses from RTR!
I received SO many compliments on this dress. It looked even better than the online photo. So pretty!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 25, 2012
Loved the color!
I wore the 2 which fit well through hips and waist. It was a little big in the chest but the fashion tape fixed it perfectly. I wore this to a black tie summer wedding, but it could easily be worn to a party in colder weather too. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 4, 2012
Amazing!!
This dress is so beautiful and fits all the right spots!! I received so many compliments and will absolutely wear it again!!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
June 22, 2012
Beautiful color
This was my first experience with RTR and I was very impressed. I ordered this one along with the Shoshanna Adore Me Dress in navy, and while I liked both, I decided to wear this one because the color was more festive. I got the 2 and 4, and wore the 2. There was a bit of gaping at the bust because I'm very small up top, but then I found the built-in slip to be uncomfortably tight around my hips. That's the problem when you're small on top and fuller on the bottom! I used a bit of fashion tape to keep the top in place, and after a few drinks, I no longer noticed the slip squeezing my bum! I got a lot of compliments and was overall very happy with the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
June 12, 2012
pretty color and great dress! one of my favorite rentals yet.
Wore this dress for an October wedding. The dresses came in perfect condition. I ordered a 4 and 6 and went with the 4. Loved the sheen and color of the fabric! Wore it with black/diamond shoes and earrings. Looking at the other photos the dress color seems to look darker in many of the shots...but it was more of a deep rich purple that photographed brighter with a flash!
SarahOctober 26, 2012
oh gurl you looking fine!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 31, 2012
Great Dress!
This dress was great. It came on time, fit great, and I got lots of compliments. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
May 21, 2012
I was able to wear this gorgeous dress while celebrating my friend's special day!
The color is amazing and the dress is of course very well made! I read the reviews so I made sure to order up and received both the 0 & the 2. Unlike some of the other reviewers this dress fit me snug all over (instead of loose in the hips). Since I am pear shaped it can be difficult to find a dress that fits me on top and on bottom. I'm probably a 0 on top and a 4 on bottom. While this dress was not loose in the hips It still looked really good and did not have that "too tight" look.
NAMay 24, 2012
The dress looks amazing on you! I am also a 2/4 and pear shaped. Did you feel comfortable in the 0?
melanieMay 24, 2012
Thank you! I felt great in it and it was only a little tight when I sat down but not uncomfortable at all.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
April 23, 2012
The amazing customer service!
I rented this dress for a wedding but it runs a little big. Even with a little fashion tape I was too worried I'd expose myself with a night of dancing. However, it's such a beautiful color, incredibly comfortable and figure flattering I decided to wear it to the rehearsal. Great fabric for a warm evening but a little disappointed it wrinkles easily. Best part of the experience was the amazing customer service from RTR!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 2, 2012
Wanted To love it!!!
I typically wear dresses that hug my curves and even though this dress was gorgeous in color and fabric, it just didn't drape over my hips and butt the way I would've liked it to. It made me look bottom heavy so I ended up using my backup dress instead since that one fit like a glove!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
February 22, 2012
This dress runs small
I rented this dress for a new year's party. It was beautiful. However, contrary to the website's guidance, this dress run very small through the midsection. I was able to wear it, but it was not comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 6, 2012
perfect dress
This dress is just beautifully made and looks gorgeous and flattering on. The color is so rich and unusual. The draping accentuates your curves. I was complimented all night
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 19, 2012
Not Forgiving
I didn't end up wearing this dress but it was beautiful. Even if you are a size 12, you need to be in great shape to wear this dress. It is true to size and you need tight arms, stomach and breasts to look killer in this dress. But if you are in good shape, even the 12 can make will look great because this dress is very well made!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
January 11, 2012
Loved it!
This dress looks exactly like it does in the picture -- fits really nicely and perfect for a wedding. it's comfortable to dance in and a very appropriate length (not too short or too long). I got a lot of compliments. It's a great color whether your pale in the winter or tan in the summer. Highly recommend!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119lbs
January 8, 2012
Not the best fit
I rented this dress for a NYE wedding and the dress is very long and not flattering for a petite-5'2 lady! I ended up not wearing this dress. Highly recommend for someone taller but petite ladies rent with caution!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 17, 2011
So many compliments from so many people all night!
This dress fit really well and I got so many compliments on it! I'm glad I read previous reviews, because it did run large, and I was able to fit into the smaller, back-up, size that I ordered. Even in the smaller size, I was able to move easily, sit easily, and eat & drink at the party. I just wish there weren't so many pictures, because I would love to wear it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163lbs
December 1, 2011
Great experience
I rented this dress for a wedding and it fit beautifully! I was worried at first because this was my first rental and the wedding was out of town so I was concerned about a second option in case the dress did not fit properly but it was gorgeous and I received so many compliments on it! The only problem that I ran into was because the wedding was out of town and the rental was for 4 days, I had a little trouble retuning it in the time frame given to me and the post office told me that the postage that was prepaid was not for the correct weight. But, given the small problem I had with the return it was overall a great experience and I will return!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 30, 2011
I love that you can order a backup size in case one doesn't fit.. it helps ensure that you will definitely have a dress for whatever event you are going to! I also love how easy it was to return the dress with the already paid for package. I have recommended Rent The Runway to ALL of my friends!
I was unsure about wich size to get so I ordered a 4 and a 6... the 4 fit perfectly and looked very good on. It was classy and fun and the perfect dress for a wedding!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
November 14, 2011
So Pretty!
This dress is great to rent! I rented the 8 and the 6 and I was surprised to find that the 6 fit better than the 8! I got tons of compliments and I was able to dance all night comfortably.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 7, 2011
Perfect for fall outdoor wedding. Got tons of compliments. Comfortable and fit perfectly. Yet another great RTR experience!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 3, 2011
I wore this dress to my mother-in-law's late October wedding. I ordered the size 4 (which is usually my size) and 6 just to be on the safe side. The 4 fit perfectly. The color was fabulous and I received many compliments. The dress was very figure flattering. I would definitely rent it again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 26, 2011
I ordered the size 0. When I tried it on. I noticed two huge stains, one on the top of the dress and the other on the bottom in the back. On the bust there was also a tear. The dress was unwearable! I am expecting a full refund on my order. Do not rent the size 0.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
October 26, 2011
Loved this dress! Very flattering fit and great color. I wored it with turquoise jewelry and got lots of compliments. True to size, if not slightly on the larger side. I'd rent it again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 24, 2011
I wish I could have worn this dress but unfortunately both the sizes I ordered (4 and 6) were too big. I weigh 125 and am 5'5 and usually wear a 4 or 6 (to fit my hips) but both I was swimming in both the dresses. The color and material of the dress were beautiful but unfortunately the sizing just didn't work.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 29, 2011
This dress was fantastic! I wore the dress for a fall wedding and received many compliments! As an extremely curvy girl, I was very pleased with how the dress fit. I am 5'7", weigh 155 and am 36DD - I ordered both the 10 and 12 and the 10 fit perfectly! The material of the dress was very nice and the length was appropriate for a wedding. I danced the night away!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 27, 2011
This dress was perfect for a fall wedding I just attended. It fits true to size (I usually wear a size 4 at 5'9", 135 pounds), was a perfect length for me (even with 3-inch heels), and looks more elegant in person than it does in the photo. It is a beautiful, deep color. It's fully lined and the material was not as delicate as I anticipated - a good thing for a long night of dancing. Loved it and got lots of compliments - would definitely rent it again. Thanks, RTR!
See more reviews:
2 / 2
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×