Trina Turk

Purple Bow Shoulder dress

$50 rental
$328 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rent the ultimate date dress by Trina Turk. It's color and one shoulder cut is perfect for a night of fun and romance! Go wild with accessories for an extra pop of style.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Purple silk(100% silk). One shoulder neckline with bow detail. Fitted bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
76 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(56)
Small
(9)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 30, 2012
Getting a new dress without leaving my house
I chose this dress but ended up wearing the back up dress I had also ordered. The color is beautiful--brighter than the photo. It is much more on the fuchsia side than the dark purple pictured. I found the pleating around the waist made it look to matronly. I already have hips and didn't need to add anything.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 175lbs
October 1, 2012
Loved the color!
The dress came on Thursday for an event I had on Saturday night. I was worried about it not fitting so I got the 10 and the 12. The 10 was just a little too tight in the waist so I went with the 12 for my friend's wedding. The 12 was a great fit around the waist which I was concerned about since it's my biggest problem area. Unfortunately, since it was the bigger size, there was extra material around my chest (36DD) and back so it looked a little loose. I used the fashion tape that came with the dress (another awesome perk of RTR) and that helped a bit, but I think the 10 was a better fit for that area. Since the dress was a bit more roomy, I felt really comfortable in it- rather than feeling like I was being sucked in the whole night. I was able to dance the whole night and just feel good in what I was wearing. Occasionally, I felt like the material bunched around my stomach and chest at times, which was less flattering, but I think that was due to the extra material of the 12. Overall, I received a lot of compliments on the dress, and am happy I went with this one. It was also super easy to return and made my trip home much easier when I didn't need to tote the dress back with me. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 8, 2012
The dress was perfect! The color is very pretty and unusual...turned heads.
Wore this to a cocktail party & it was perfect! Fit to a "T", very comfortable, hugged all right places.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
October 14, 2012
Great color, elegant one shoulder dress
I'm tall, and this dress was the perfect length. It has a really cute slip under the dress. The six was a great fit too, except the armhole was tight. The zipper on the eight was a little messed up, had to struggle to zip it even though it was big enough.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
October 17, 2012
Great dress, great color
Fit true to size. Lining underneath the dress was a little tighter than the dress itself, but still fit true to size.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
October 20, 2012
Pretty dress... too tight
The dress was pretty but it was a little too tight in the waist. I had to return it since I value being able to breathe. I don't think this dress runs large like the details say. I think it's pretty true to size, I just gained a little bit of weight so it wasn't exactly comfortable. But like I said, it was really pretty and could have worked but I picked something else instead.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 16, 2012
i got lots of compliments on this dress!
It fit perfectly, very true to size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
November 29, 2012
I got a lot of compliments on this dress!!
The color was beautiful, the dress fit well, and it was easy to dance in! Great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 21, 2012
Perfect dress for a Texas Thanksgiving wedding!
I wore this dress to a wedding over Thanksgiving. The color and cut was absolutely perfect. However, keep in mind when ordering, the dress has no give whatsoever.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 14, 2013
MY friend had a brunch for her birthday and this dress received so many compliments .
The dress fit perfectly on my curvy body. No complaints at all whatsoever . thank you RTR!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
January 30, 2013
Perfect for the Occasion
The dress was true to size and fit perfectly. I received a lot of compliments. The color was a deeper purple, so was appropriate for a winter wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
February 8, 2013
I wore this to the Lady Gaga concert in Las Vegas, celebrating my cousin's birthday.
The dress was an absolutely beautiful color- very vibrant purple. The dress was comfortable, but a little bit short. To play up the drama for Gaga I added a cheetah print necklace and black cheetah patterned tights. I have a little bit of a tummy and wore some control top undergarments, which mostly pulled me in, but there was a wee bit of bunching around the midsection. Also,speaking of undergarments, the side that is strapless is low- because I'm busty, it didn't fully obscure my strapless bra, so I actually ended up wearing a normal bra and tucking one strap, which worked fine but was not the best solution. Loved the color and bow on the side, but the actual fit was not exactly right for me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
March 21, 2013
Great fit
I ordered a size 2 and 4 and the 2 fit me perfectly. Wore it to a wedding in NYC and got so many compliments on the dress all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
March 31, 2013
RTR rentals are so easy. Customer service is great!
I got compliments on this dress the entire night (and they continued for months later). Very comfortable and the color is very unique and beautiful. Fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 24, 2013
Fantastic dress!
Wore this dress at a "black tie optional" July wedding, and it was perfect! I have a bit of a stubborn pooch I've never gotten to go away after having 2 kids, so that's often a concern when finding something to wear for more formal events. The cut of this dress was very flattering and hung in just the right way that accentuated my slim waist, but hid the belly. A few reviews had said this dress ran on the bigger size, however I typically wear a size 4, and the size 4 in this dress fit perfectly. The color was vibrant but not overpowering, more purple than pink. I received many compliments throughout the evening, and am very pleased to have chosen this dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 6, 2013
I want to own this dress!
I was a bit nervous about this dress because I was planning to wear it as a bridesmaid dress at my sister-in-law's wedding. I received the dress the day before the wedding and nervously tried it on for the first time. The dress fit perfectly!!!! And, it is absolutely gorgeous on! I received so many compliments about all night and the only downside to renting this dress is now I want to own it!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 59
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
June 13, 2013
Loved the color and style!
I am 5'4", 125lbs. and the Size 4 fit great. Very pretty dress, lots of compliments. I would rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 13, 2013
Stand out in the crowd
Loved that this dress stood out both in cut and color, but was still very classy. It fit like a glove but was still comfortable and had room for the amazing dinner! Since I am tall it the length was a little short but it still worked out. I would rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 14, 2014
Wore this for my cousin's wedding. It was a fun dress but still classy!
Great color! Got tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 26, 2014
wore this for my rehearsal dinner and I loved it!
everyone complimented me on this dress. very va-va-voom and the color looked great with my dark hair and fair skin.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
September 27, 2014
Really comfortable, fit beautifully.
fit and color were as expected from the picture.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
December 3, 2012
Beautiful color and fit!
Loved this dress! I wore it to a friends rehearsal dinner and I got tons of compliments on it. Now I only wish I actually owned it! I ordered the size 2 and it fit perfectly. Because I live in the New York I made an appointment for the RTR showroom where I was able to try on several dress styles--including this one. I definitely recommend this extra service--it makes the process less of a gamble and is really easy. The only problem is that they may not always have your specific size available to try on the day of your appointment. Overall, I'm very happy with my experience and I absolutely loved this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 30, 2011
I love that you can order a backup size in case one doesn't fit.. it helps ensure that you will definitely have a dress for whatever event you are going to! I also love how easy it was to return the dress with the already paid for package. I have recommended Rent The Runway to ALL of my friends!
I was unsure about wich size to get so I ordered a 4 and a 6... the 4 fit perfectly and looked very good on. It was classy and fun and the perfect dress for a wedding!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 17, 2012
What a beautiful dress! It looked stunning and was super comfortable throughout the night!
For a charity gala, I was fortunate to pick up this dress. The size 4 didn't zip up because of my chest size but the size 6 zipped up perfectly. Otherwise, this dress was beautiful and comfortable. Wish that it had pockets but otherwise, it was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 200lbs
September 18, 2012
You'll make an entrance in this dress!
I wore this dress for my bridal shower and loved it! The color is gorgeous. I received numerous compliments on it and the fit was wonderful. The only thing was the side of the dress with no strap kept on falling down and I was constantly pulling it up. You could probably get around this with a better strapless bra or bustier. I loved this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
November 12, 2012
Great dress! True to size and very flattering!
This was a great dress. It's a deeper purple than it shows in the picture (which I liked) and I thought it might be velvety by the picture and it wasn't (which I also liked). It fits well and the bow gives it some flair without looking too imposing. The fabric would work for a warm or colder weather event. I tried to as a test for potential bridesmaid dresses, and it's definitely a contender!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
February 28, 2013
Stunning color!
I absolutely loved this dress. I wore this to a good friend's rehearsal dinner and it was perfect. The color and material of this dress was beautiful. I went with the 2 because the 4 wasn't available and some girls said it ran a little big. I would definitely have gone with the 4 as it was a little tight but I made it work. I would definitely wear this again if I had the chance!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
April 3, 2013
When I need a dress for a special event, RTR is where I shop!!!
Great dress, wore this for maid of honor dress for sister's wedding! Was perfect for the event...an Easter weekend wedding. I normally wear a 2-4, but ordered the 0-2 due to the reviews and because the 4 was unavailable. The 2 worked out great. Beautiful silk fabric. I am long waisted and the waist fit a little high on me. Was able to wear strapless bra w dress. Very comfortable. Received many compliments on the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 15, 2013
Great fit, super comfortable!
The dress was a little worn when it arrived (you could see the paint on the zipper had been worn off) but it was a great dress that fit true to size and was very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 3, 2011
I wore this dress to my mother-in-law's late October wedding. I ordered the size 4 (which is usually my size) and 6 just to be on the safe side. The 4 fit perfectly. The color was fabulous and I received many compliments. The dress was very figure flattering. I would definitely rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 2, 2012
Wanted To love it!!!
I typically wear dresses that hug my curves and even though this dress was gorgeous in color and fabric, it just didn't drape over my hips and butt the way I would've liked it to. It made me look bottom heavy so I ended up using my backup dress instead since that one fit like a glove!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 13, 2012
Great Dress For a Semi Formal
The dress fit really well and I loved it! I got a 2 and a 4 and ended up wearing the 2 because the 4 was a little large in the bust. Great dress though!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
October 1, 2012
Classy but vibrant!
I ordered a size 2 and 0 and went with the 2. I'm normally a 2 in pants and the 0 fit fine on the bottom, but I needed the 2 to fit on top. The cut of the dress was very flattering overall and was conservative enough in length and neckline for a formal wedding. The color is very rich in person and wasn't too summery for an early fall event. Great first rental experience!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 6, 2012
Perfect dress for our engagement party!
Loved this dress, really gives you a great hourglass figure by cinching in the waist and showing off the bottom! Wasn't sure about the one shoulder style, but it looked fabulous! The color is a deep purple - I wore patent nude peep toe slingback heels with it and it looked great! The only other thing that I would note is that the fabric does not have a lot of give, so keep that in mind when choosing a size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 25, 2013
Looked great! Threw it on and went, returned it the next day, so easy!
Beautiful and classy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
March 2, 2014
Many compliments on the dress.
Comfortable and true to size.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×