You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Purple Bow Shoulder dress
Rental $50 Retail $328
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Rent the ultimate date dress by Trina Turk. It's color and one shoulder cut is perfect for a night of fun and romance! Go wild with accessories for an extra pop of style.
Chat with a Stylist
Purple silk(100% silk). One shoulder neckline with bow detail. Fitted bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Chat with a Stylist
This style is currently unavailable.
Shop all dresses
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos38

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

April
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Dec 22, 2012
Great color...but didn't quite work for me
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The fit was really small in comparison from what I normally wear...I think I would have had to go at least two more sized up. So unfortunately, I was unable to enjoy it.
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Dec 15, 2012
pretty, but damaged.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented two styles to choose from for my formal occasion, and I really loved this one best. However, I was hesitant to wear it because there was a hole in the liner when the dress arrived. I usually wear a 2 or a 4 and the 2 in this dress fit, but it was a little big. The dress also seemed like it had been worn and laundered A LOT. It was still pretty and would probably be okay; I was just nervous that the hole (although not visible from the outside) would get worse if I wore the dress... It was disappointing.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3543
Dec 6, 2012
Perfect dress for our engagement party!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress, really gives you a great hourglass figure by cinching in the waist and showing off the bottom! Wasn't sure about the one shoulder style, but it looked fabulous! The color is a deep purple - I wore patent nude peep toe slingback heels with it and it looked great! The only other thing that I would note is that the fabric does not have a lot of give, so keep that in mind when choosing a size.
Fayth
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7434
Oct 20, 2012
Pretty dress... too tight
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was pretty but it was a little too tight in the waist. I had to return it since I value being able to breathe. I don't think this dress runs large like the details say. I think it's pretty true to size, I just gained a little bit of weight so it wasn't exactly comfortable. But like I said, it was really pretty and could have worked but I picked something else instead.
Erin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 4531
Oct 17, 2012
Great dress, great color
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size. Lining underneath the dress was a little tighter than the dress itself, but still fit true to size.
McKenzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3522
Oct 8, 2012
The dress was perfect! The color is very pretty and unusual...turned heads.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this to a cocktail party & it was perfect! Fit to a "T", very comfortable, hugged all right places.
AB
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3434
Oct 1, 2012
Classy but vibrant!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a size 2 and 0 and went with the 2. I'm normally a 2 in pants and the 0 fit fine on the bottom, but I needed the 2 to fit on top. The cut of the dress was very flattering overall and was conservative enough in length and neckline for a formal wedding. The color is very rich in person and wasn't too summery for an early fall event. Great first rental experience!
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5433
Oct 1, 2012
Great cut and wonderful color on any skin tone. I felt great in it.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The fabric holds anything that is spilled or accidentally rubbed on it (deodorant especially).
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Oct 1, 2012
LOVED this dress!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I don't get to dress up and go out much, so was excited to put this dress on. I wore it to a wedding rehearsal and dinner. Can't say enough good things about it. I felt beautiful, received numerous compliments of how pretty it was. Will look forward to another event that maybe I could wear it again to.
Nadia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Sep 30, 2012
Getting a new dress without leaving my house
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I chose this dress but ended up wearing the back up dress I had also ordered. The color is beautiful--brighter than the photo. It is much more on the fuchsia side than the dark purple pictured. I found the pleating around the waist made it look to matronly. I already have hips and didn't need to add anything.
Sarah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 3421
Sep 19, 2012
The dress was perfect for dancing.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was great! I don't normally wear this color, but it was very flattering, especially in the evening. I ordered the 4 and the 2, and I ended up wearing the 2. It fit well, but I thought it was a little long on me. I would definitely rent it again.
jen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6633
Sep 10, 2012
Beautiful color
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a beautiful dress to rent. It is lovely and still comfortable to wear. I highly recommend it. The color is lovely. It looks like a rich color because of the material. I recommend HIGH heels for a great look. As a 34c it fit great but there was definitely no extra room up top. My size 8 had a slight curling out of the fabric on the bodice. It was too set to be put down with hollywood tape.Should you order the 8 please ask if the dry cleaning has fixed this issue. If you always fit into an 8, I would rent the 6 as well because this dress looks good a little fitted.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5544
Sep 3, 2012
Beautiful dress
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress in the size 6, but should have rented the 8 because I had gained weight. The color was beautiful and I received many compliments.I wore a strapless bra which made the dress tight up top.
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4322
Aug 13, 2012
Great Dress For a Semi Formal
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress fit really well and I loved it! I got a 2 and a 4 and ended up wearing the 2 because the 4 was a little large in the bust. Great dress though!
Leah
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 9433
Aug 13, 2012
More beautiful in person
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a family wedding in Chicago! It was gorgeous in person and the color was stunning. However, for the weekend I needed it only a 12 and an 8 were available (I am a size 10) but I rented anyway hoping I could make one of them work. Unfortunately I couldn't (runs very true to size in my opinion), but the customer service at Rent the Runway took care of my return and refund right away. Overall, the dress is beautiful!
Staci
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Jul 4, 2012
Amazing!!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is so beautiful and fits all the right spots!! I received so many compliments and will absolutely wear it again!!
Jen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3542
Jun 22, 2012
Beautiful color
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first experience with RTR and I was very impressed. I ordered this one along with the Shoshanna Adore Me Dress in navy, and while I liked both, I decided to wear this one because the color was more festive. I got the 2 and 4, and wore the 2. There was a bit of gaping at the bust because I'm very small up top, but then I found the built-in slip to be uncomfortably tight around my hips. That's the problem when you're small on top and fuller on the bottom! I used a bit of fashion tape to keep the top in place, and after a few drinks, I no longer noticed the slip squeezing my bum! I got a lot of compliments and was overall very happy with the dress.
Marci
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 4423
May 31, 2012
Great Dress!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great. It came on time, fit great, and I got lots of compliments. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Lora
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Apr 2, 2012
Wanted To love it!!!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I typically wear dresses that hug my curves and even though this dress was gorgeous in color and fabric, it just didn't drape over my hips and butt the way I would've liked it to. It made me look bottom heavy so I ended up using my backup dress instead since that one fit like a glove!
Pamela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7634
Feb 22, 2012
This dress runs small
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a new year's party. It was beautiful. However, contrary to the website's guidance, this dress run very small through the midsection. I was able to wear it, but it was not comfortable.
Carol1na
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5624
Feb 6, 2012
perfect dress
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is just beautifully made and looks gorgeous and flattering on. The color is so rich and unusual. The draping accentuates your curves. I was complimented all night
Mom22
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8533
Jan 19, 2012
Not Forgiving
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't end up wearing this dress but it was beautiful. Even if you are a size 12, you need to be in great shape to wear this dress. It is true to size and you need tight arms, stomach and breasts to look killer in this dress. But if you are in good shape, even the 12 can make will look great because this dress is very well made!
allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Jan 11, 2012
Loved it!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress looks exactly like it does in the picture -- fits really nicely and perfect for a wedding. it's comfortable to dance in and a very appropriate length (not too short or too long). I got a lot of compliments. It's a great color whether your pale in the winter or tan in the summer. Highly recommend!
Hillary
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4523
Jan 8, 2012
Not the best fit
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a NYE wedding and the dress is very long and not flattering for a petite-5'2 lady! I ended up not wearing this dress. Highly recommend for someone taller but petite ladies rent with caution!
Dianna
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8644
Dec 1, 2011
Great experience
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding and it fit beautifully! I was worried at first because this was my first rental and the wedding was out of town so I was concerned about a second option in case the dress did not fit properly but it was gorgeous and I received so many compliments on it! The only problem that I ran into was because the wedding was out of town and the rental was for 4 days, I had a little trouble retuning it in the time frame given to me and the post office told me that the postage that was prepaid was not for the correct weight. But, given the small problem I had with the return it was overall a great experience and I will return!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6444
Nov 14, 2011
So Pretty!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is great to rent! I rented the 8 and the 6 and I was surprised to find that the 6 fit better than the 8! I got tons of compliments and I was able to dance all night comfortably.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 2443
Nov 7, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Perfect for fall outdoor wedding. Got tons of compliments. Comfortable and fit perfectly. Yet another great RTR experience!
CP
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 1531
Nov 3, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress to my mother-in-law's late October wedding. I ordered the size 4 (which is usually my size) and 6 just to be on the safe side. The 4 fit perfectly. The color was fabulous and I received many compliments. The dress was very figure flattering. I would definitely rent it again!
Blair
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2523
Oct 26, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I ordered the size 0. When I tried it on. I noticed two huge stains, one on the top of the dress and the other on the bottom in the back. On the bust there was also a tear. The dress was unwearable! I am expecting a full refund on my order. Do not rent the size 0.
Sarah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 6543
Oct 26, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Loved this dress! Very flattering fit and great color. I wored it with turquoise jewelry and got lots of compliments. True to size, if not slightly on the larger side. I'd rent it again!
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Oct 24, 2011
Overall fit: Large
I wish I could have worn this dress but unfortunately both the sizes I ordered (4 and 6) were too big. I weigh 125 and am 5'5 and usually wear a 4 or 6 (to fit my hips) but both I was swimming in both the dresses. The color and material of the dress were beautiful but unfortunately the sizing just didn't work.
BW
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5434
Sep 29, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was fantastic! I wore the dress for a fall wedding and received many compliments! As an extremely curvy girl, I was very pleased with how the dress fit. I am 5'7", weigh 155 and am 36DD - I ordered both the 10 and 12 and the 10 fit perfectly! The material of the dress was very nice and the length was appropriate for a wedding. I danced the night away!
MS
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Sep 27, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was perfect for a fall wedding I just attended. It fits true to size (I usually wear a size 4 at 5'9", 135 pounds), was a perfect length for me (even with 3-inch heels), and looks more elegant in person than it does in the photo. It is a beautiful, deep color. It's fully lined and the material was not as delicate as I anticipated - a good thing for a long night of dancing. Loved it and got lots of compliments - would definitely rent it again. Thanks, RTR!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress