Trina Turk

Portrait of Elegance Shift

$65 rental
$328 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate date night dress? This Trina Turk lace shift will look amazing on you as you sip champagne and fall love with that new fling! Shown here with the kate spade accessories' Crystal Chapel Cluster Necklace and Dannijo's Coco Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Synthetic Floral Lace. Three quarter length sleeves. Boat Neckline. Hidden back zipper. Straight skirt. Lined. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

930 reviews

Fit
Small 31
True to Size 501
Large 385
Photos 454
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 24, 2013

Wonderful for a fall wedding!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a Fall wedding and received many compliments. The fit was amazing, wore a 2 as usual, even though I ordered a 4 I never tried it on! Highly recommend for a sophisticated look!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 29, 2013

Tons of complements on this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a great first experience with RTR for me. The dress fit perfectly, and I got tons of complements. Great experience, and I'll definitely try it again.
MD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 29, 2013

FANTASTIC DRESS...Want it in my closet permanently!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit like a glove! I rented it for a Fall wedding and was so pleased with everything about it. Some reviews had commented on the length of it, but being 5' 2" it worked for me. I ordered only a size 2 and it fit perfectly. I wish I had it in my closet full-time! The ability to wear your normal bra (no strapless, spanx, etc.) was a plus. I was so comfortable and get some great compliments on the dress! Paired it with nude pumps and no additional jewelry! I will definitely be re-renting.
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 30, 2013

Perfect for Fall Wedding! Got so many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was absolutely perfect for the fall wedding I wore it to! The color is a little lighter than it shows up in the photograph, but it was still great. I ordered the 8 and the 10 and ended up wearing the 8, the 10 was just a little too big for me. As a busty girl I loved that I could wear a real bra with this dress! The only complaint I had is that when dancing, the dress was a touch too short, and I had some near embarrassing moments with it riding up. But overall the dress was super comfortable
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 30, 2013

Didn't want to send back!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! Beautiful color! Wore it to a friend's rehearsal dinner. So glad I sized down
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 3, 2013

Perfect for Fall

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for a rehearsal dinner. So comfortable and easy to wear.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 3, 2013

Gorgeous color!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was a perfect fit for me! I ordered the 0 and 2 and I fit into the 0 perfectly! I was really worried that it would end up being too long because some of the other reviews had said it was knee length or even longer, but this was not the case for me! I am 5'2" and the dress came probably 2.5" above my knees! It was the perfect length for me. The dress was very classy and fit in perfectly for the charity wine event I wore it to. I got tons of compliments all night on the dress. I wore black ankle boots with the dress and gold earrings. I would definitely wear this dress again! And as always, I love using Rent the Runway!!
Melissa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 121 lbs
Nov 4, 2013

Great color, great fit, very comfortable!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this for a wedding in Florida that was indoors but right on the beach. I ordered both the 0 and the 2, and while the 0 did fit I ended up wearing the 2 because I wanted to be comfortable while eating/drinking/dancing - and the fabric didn't have much stretch to it. I got a ton of compliments on the color and it was easy to pair with nude pumps and a necklace that I already owned. Very comfortable and would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a great wedding guest or special occasion dress!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 6, 2013

Perfect for a fall wedding

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Reviews had said the dress runs large, so I rented a 2, and 0, and the 0 was perfect. It's fitted but not too tight. I'm 5'7'' and the dress was a great length and able to dance it without being too short. Everyone loved the color too. Would definitely rent again!
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 8, 2013

loved this dress, got tons of complements!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
fits a little large
kelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Straight & narrow
Nov 11, 2013

This dress was absolutely perfect for a fall wedding!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit like a glove and I have never received so many compliments on a dress before.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Nov 12, 2013

Perfect Fall Dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress does run a little big- I wore the 2 and felt like I could worn a 0. I absolutely loved this dress. The color is gorgeous for a fall wedding. It is sophisticated and sexy at the same time, and very comfortable. I received so many compliments. I paired it with a statement necklace and nude pumps. I would highly recommend renting this dress!
Adrienne
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Nov 12, 2013

LOVED this dress! Perfect for a fall wedding

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Absolutely loved this dress- so sad to have to return it. Rented it for a friends fall wedding- received compliments on it all night. Fit perfectly and was comfortable to wear all afternoon/night. Definitely runs large so I'd suggest going down a size. Will probably rent this again because I loved it so much.
Kasia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 13, 2013

Great, classy dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great length and the sleeves are not lined so your arms don't get too hot. The dress runs slightly large but even though it was a little too big (0), it still looked great slightly looser.
Dena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 14, 2013

I loved this dress! It was so comfortable and just perfect for a fall wedding.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This was the perfect dress for a fall wedding. The sleeve length was perfect at night, but not too warm during the day. The lace is super soft. And the length of the dress is just right, I never felt self conscious at all. It seems to run a little large. I received the size 6 and the size 8. I never even took the 8 out of the bag because the 6 fit so well. I love Rent the Runway and will keep coming back!
Lauren
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 17, 2013

First RTR experience and it did not disappoint!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The event I ordered it for ended up not being as fancy as I had originally thought, so I made some quick decisions to belt it and add boots to dress it down a bit. Dress ran a little large as other users said, I could have worn the 4 or the 6 comfortably but I liked the length of the 4 better with the boots. The color was beautiful especially with a pop of green, I'd recommend this dress for all!
Kyle
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 18, 2013

Love this dress! Perfect for a fall wedding!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding in November and absolutely loved it! It fit really well and was very comfortable. I also received a lot of compliments. After I placed my order, I decided to pay an extra $15 for the "Sylist Surprise - Mystery Bling" and was sent Nicole Miller earrings, which were very pretty!
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 18, 2013

My first RTR experience and it was perfect! LOVE this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't get a great picture of the dress, because I was having way to much fun in it! First, everything about renting the dress (and earrings) was so easy and perfect. I honestly had a hard time telling much of a difference between the 4 and the 6. I think I wore the 4, because the sleeves were a little smaller. Everyone loved the dress! I got so many compliments. I might rent it again!
Elle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 19, 2013

Great costumer service...neither of my two sizes fit so RTR sent me a new one!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered the 8 and the 10 which were both super big on me. Luckily RTR sent me the 6 right away. It was still slightly boxy but that gave it kind of a more laid back vibe for my sister's bridal shower.
Karen
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 59
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 19, 2013

Dress fit amazing. Felt pretty! Got many compliments.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress fit well, glad I opted for the extra size. Needed the smaller size. Customer service was great. forgot to send the bracelet I rented. Came overnight. Would have given 5 stars if not for that! Loved the dress and the fit. Will do again!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 21, 2013

This dress was so great. The fit was perfect. I got so many compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was nice, comfortable and not too short. The color is a really lovely plum shade that was so rich looking. Im so happy with my RTR experience!
Savannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 24, 2013

Best Dressed at my Sorority Formal

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I cannot count the number of compliments I received wearing this dress!! The color was perfect for a fall formal event and the lace was beautiful. I was able to dance and be comfortable in it all night. I would definitely recommend renting this dress to a friend.
Anjoli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114 lbs
Nov 25, 2013

Perfect for an outdoor Fall wedding!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first RTR experience and I couldn't be happier! This dress was a bit roomy around thew wist, but it fit really well overall. There isn't much stretch to it, but the cut is very forgiving. I wore it with black pantyhose and flats for an outdoor wedding.
Kizzy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
Weight: 171 lbs
Nov 27, 2013

Great color!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
As many stated, the dress runs large. I ordered both a 10 and 12. The 10 fit well, but I wish it were tighter in the waist area.
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 29, 2013

Great dress for fall engagement pictures!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Conservative, classic dress in a great color & lace texture! I really am not sure which size dress I wore (rented 0 & 2) because neither dress had a tag with a size in it! The sizing was very close between the two dresses so I'm just guessing I wore the 0 because it seemed slightly less boxy. Great dress though! Perfect for a classy, fall look!
nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 30, 2013

beautiful dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress in a size 4 and 2 based on the reviews of it running large. I ended up wearing the 2 and it fit just right! I wore this to a fall wedding and it was perfect for the setting. It was very cold that day also but the dress is heavy enough with all the lace to keep you warm. I would rent this again for sure!
Alison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 2, 2013

I loved this dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented two dresses this past weekend for a wedding. I decided to go with this one; it was a tough choice though! This dress was great- the color is amazing and fit great. It is a little heavier which was nice since it was a November wedding in Gettysburg, PA. I dressed it up with a necklace from J.Crew and did nude pumps. I received many compliments. I was overall very happy, felt great and danced the night away. I will say one thing- I wore a size 10 and got an 8 as a back up...towards the end of the night I felt it stretched out a bit in the mid-section. Maybe from sitting, standing and dancing. So I may have gone with the 8 instead. Otherwise I highly recommend this dress!
Emmie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 2, 2013

classic dress for a winter wedding

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Probably my favorite dress so far! I love the color and detail on this dress. I am a 4 on top and 6 on the bottom, and I wore the 4-- it is a shift so it ended up being loose enough to accommodate my larger bottom while fitting perfectly in the top half. The fabric does NOT stretch, but it is also not a very fitted dress, so it was only a small problem on the dance floor. =] Highly recommend!
tkhouston
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 2, 2013

Loved this!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful material and color! One of my favorite dresses from rtr. I axes my own velvet black belt to cinch in my waist a little more. It's definitely comfortable and leaves room if you ear a huge meal!
Lori
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 2, 2013

Gorgeous dress that fits generously - so flattering and versatile.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This runs large - I was able to wear a size 4 and would normally be a six for a cut like this. Keep in mind the arms do not give much, so even though the dress runs large for the body (I have an ample behind) take your arms in to consideration because I found that to be true to size as well as the bust. I wore this to a rustic NH wedding in October so the weather was chilly and the sleeves were great so I didn't need a shrug. With the lace I toned down the accessories and kept it simple. This is so versatile though you can totally do it up for a more formal affair as well. I got so many compliments on this dress I didn't want to take it off! Love love love.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 3, 2013

Perfect fall color

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Runs large, went with the 0 - which fit perfectly! I wore this to a November SEC football game. Lots of compliments on it and its super comfortable!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 4, 2013

A Fabulous Dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm a tried and true size 8 in dresses but from other reviewers and suggestions I saw to try one size down. The size 6 did fit me as well but I felt more comfortable spending all day in an 8 for a Thanksgiving party. I needed that extra bit of room for all the food! The dress was a really beautiful purple. I had enough room with the sleeves to move my arms and the dress didn't hike up when I sat down. I'd definitely consider renting this one again!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158 lbs
Dec 5, 2013

A+ Dress for my Engagement Shoot

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this dress for my engagement shoot for our upcoming wedding. This dress was a great fit. This dress does fit large, so I opted for the size 8 and it worked perfectly. I matched this dress with a belt I got from Ann Taylor in October. The dress shapes to your body so I wore spanx to get a slimmer look. I rented the earrings too - Peacock Pearl Earrings and I would rent this dress again. Thanks RTR for opportunity to wear it.
Simcha
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 6, 2013

This dress is perfection!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding, and it was my first time using RTR. I was super nervous but it ended up being such a great experience. Most of the reviews said that this dress runs small, so I ordered a 4 and a 6. I could have worn either dress, but the 4 was a bit snug, so I ended up wearing the 6 just to make sure I was comfortable all night. This dress was beautiful and I felt wonderful in it. I wish I could keep it!! Highly, highly recommend.
Elle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 10, 2013

Tons of compliments on this dress. It fit perfect and looked great.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my boyfriend's law firm's holiday party. I received tons of compliments on the dress. It was a little short, but short in a fun, flirty and not too slutty way. The reviews are helpful. I never wear a size 2. Typically a 4-6 and the size 2 worked. I'm glad I order one size down and it fit great. The quality was excellent. Wish I could have kept this dress. I'm looking forward to ordering my next dress from RTR.
Jami
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 12, 2013

LOVED THIS DRESS! I wore this dress for my fall engagement shoot. PERFECT!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
It runs big. I normally wear either a 2 or 4 in dresses and ended up wearing this in a size 0. GO SMALLER!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Dec 13, 2013

Perfect mix of classy and flirty! LOVED this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my graduation. It runs a little big, but the next size down fit perfectly. I got so many compliments on this dress. The color is beautiful and the lace is very nice. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Kristin
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
Dec 15, 2013

First RTR experience - LOVED IT!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
There was not much diff between the 10 & 12, the 12 was a little more boxy.I have fairly athletic arms and usually that is the problem spot for me. This dress worked. It also was not as short on my 5"6" as it shows on the model.Wore it for my companies Christmas cocktail party. Felt absolutely great. I got a ton of compliments. This dress actually showed up on another woman too at this event! We both said "RTR - Love it" It looked great on her too. Wish I had thought to get a pre-party picture. It felt super classy & sexy without being uncovered, important for winter events!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 15, 2013

Beautiful and great quality!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress definitely runs large. I am normally in between a 4 and a 6 and the 2 fit perfectly! This dress was perfect for my work Christmas party and I got tons of compliments!
Cassandra
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 17, 2013

Elegant and modest but still felt sexy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Like others said, it did run large. I normally am a 4-6 and wore a 2. I probably could have even worn a 0, but having it a little bigger made it easier for dancing and kept it more modest for the occasion. Could be dressed up or dressed down, worn with many different kinds of shoes, and for lots of different occasions as well. I have a curvy lower half and narrow waist, and often worry about dresses being too bootylicious, but this dress was definitely glamorous, elegant and beautiful. The woman next to me in this photo is in her 40s and a mother of 4 - she tried it on as well and looked great also, so definitely versatile as well! Highly recommended!!!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×