Portrait of Elegance Shift

$90 to buy
$328 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate date night dress? This Trina Turk lace shift will look amazing on you as you sip champagne and fall love with that new fling!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Synthetic Floral Lace. Three quarter length sleeves. Boat Neckline. Hidden back zipper. Straight skirt. Lined. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
1071 reviews
Fit
Large
(406)
True to Size
(567)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 4, 2012
Love the lace!
This dress is really beautiful in person! The lace sleeves add a sophisticated edge making this dress perfect for a slightly more conservative event. It had a little extra room throughout the mid-section, but it was almost more comfortable that way. Such a perfect style for Fall!
kd_ringSeptember 8, 2012
It looks really purple in your photo - is that the color or is it more oxblood / burgundy?
RTRSeptember 12, 2012
Hi! This dress is absolutely more burgundy than purple!
MeganSeptember 14, 2012
What color is this dress? It looks deep purple in this picture but burgundy in other pictures. Thank you!
RTR CustomerSeptember 19, 2012
Hi Megan! This dress is burgundy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 10, 2012
Perfect little number
This was my first experience with RTR and loved it! The dress was so beautiful and super comfortable for a long day of celebrating! I got so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
September 10, 2012
amazing first rental!
I normally wear size 6-8 so I am glad I listened to the other reviews and sized down - the 4 fit perfectly! Though it was by no means tight, it was snug enough that it didn't look like a muumuu. The dress was classic, beautiful, and comfy - I received so many compliments! I would definitely recommend renting this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 10, 2012
Perfect for a winery wedding
Pretty color and good fit. Because I'm so short, the dress ended just above my knee. The dress skimmed my figure, and although I like sheath dresses that are a little more fitted, this dress was perfect for a more conservative event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
September 12, 2012
Classy and so beautiful!
I wore this is a work party and it was such a hit! The fit was perfect-- exactly true to size. I wore shapewear underneath, just to smooth the midsection, but it's not necessary: this isn't an overly body-conscious silhouette. The neckline is high, the sleeves are perfect (not too tight, not too roomy), and the hemline falls at mid-thigh (fairly accurate in the model photo). I paired this with copper pumps and earrings, and that was it! A beautiful, classy dress-- perfect for any party or evening work gathering. Oh, and the burgundy color is even more beautiful in person!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
September 13, 2012
Conservative, pretty dress. Lovely lace.
It's true, this dress runs large. I'm a zero with a small chest and would ideally need a 00 or a 000 in this dress... disappointing! Especially as I own a couple of Trina Turk dresses in size 2 that fit quite snuggly. But, if you can size down, it's lovely quality, the color is interesting without being wild. It is more purple-y in person than I was expecting, which is a good thing. I'm wearing it tomorrow to a conservative, formal, evening work event, and will fit the bill for that, especially in the baggy size! Oy. But it seemed like the best, freshest option of the lace. long-sleeve dresses available. Not at all short either. It trends frumpy, but looks great with my high, black platform pumps as styled on the RTR model, and a little younger too if you add in good, modern, large-scale jewelry. A young-ish woman in the front row at the DNC during Obama's speech was wearing a similar dress!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 14, 2012
Beautiful color and lace!
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner. I can't rave enough about the lace and color. Both were so rich. At first, I was afraid I would be scratching my arms raw, but the lace was actually very soft. The dress runs large, although I am not familiar with the sizing of this designer. I usually fit great in most of the 2's I order from the site, but this one was quite big on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 16, 2012
Unable to wear for the event, but process was fun!
Was more appropriate for a work dress than a wedding. Looked old fashion on me which could be due to the size. I rented a 6 and 4. Both were too large for what I was looking for. Much longer on. The dress was also more of an eggplant than cranberry color
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
September 17, 2012
Gorgeous & Classy
This dress was lovely! It runs true to size, but is not a dress that hugs your curves, so it may appear to look big -however this is just the style of the dress. Also, the fabric was better than I was expecting (*lace was NOT ichy at all- and was even rather soft). I highly recommend this dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 18, 2012
Beautiful dress! Perfect for a fall wedding/occasion!
Definitely runs large; I wore a 4 and I almost always wear a 6, but the 4 fit great. Very 'forgiving' in the midsection, and a modest length.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
September 19, 2012
Loved it!
I wore this dress for an engagment party that I was hosting. I was looking for a fun dress that was on the more conservative side, and this one fit the bill. After reading the reviews, I rented sizes 0 and 2, anticipating that I would wear the size 2. I typically wear anything from a 2-6, depending on the designer and type of dress. It fit very well as a shift dress. I loved the color and sleeves. The length was a little long for my preference, but perfect for the occasion. I have never worn Trina Turk before, but would rent her again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 19, 2012
Cute but ultra conservative
I love dthe feel of this dress and it def runs large ( I wore it in a zero with room to spare) the only problem was that for my taste it was too conservative for the fun and flirty cocktail party. It would be perfect for a political event though. I didnt end up wearing it but it did fit and was in perfect condition.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 19, 2012
Did not end up wearing - the dress was too large
I rented this dress for a rehearsal dinner and did not end up wearing it. The dress was entirely too big and not flattering. The lace, in my opinion, also lacks a bit in quality
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 162lbs
September 19, 2012
Gorgeous Lace in the perfect fall color
Loved everything about this dress to the lace detail to the seasonal color. The dress hit a little bit above the knee and was the perfect length for my 5'4 height with heels. The fit was form fitting enough to be sexy but loose enough, so I could dance the night away. My problem areas are my stomach and arms, so I found the dress to be the perfect amount of coverage without any added layer. Lots of compliments were received and I would definitely rent again! Accessorized with nude round toe pumps and gold clutch/earrings. Simple the better because the dress can speak for itself.
RTR CustomerOctober 1, 2012
Meg thanks for the review -- I am about the same size as you (+ a few pounds :/)...did you take any pictures? I'd love to see what it looked like on someone like me!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 20, 2012
Perfect fall wedding dress!
The dress was really comfortable, which was unexpected for lace. I wore it to a wedding and received lots of compliments. The color is more of a deep purple than the dark red shown on the model. I wore my regular size with my dress, but would suggest getting your second dress a size down. The fit is loose, but still flattering. I really liked it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131lbs
September 25, 2012
beautiful colour. pretty sleeves. lovely yet comfortable lace detail
I'd read that this dress ran large, so I went with the 2 rather than my regular 4. I felt fine in it and could move. I felt great, this was my first rental and it was awesome to wear something so pretty. I think it has a classy, beautiful feel rather than a conservative one.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 25, 2012
Classy Dress
I rented this dress as a backup for a wedding but I didn't end up wearing it because the original one I rented fit me better. This is a classy and formal dress but it was kind of big around the waist area. I just felt like I would have needed to cinch it with a belt or something. Pretty dress, just not fitted enough for what I was looking for.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 26, 2012
Elegant and classy
I did a last-minute rental for a family celebration (bar mitzvah) -- I needed something classy, modest, and appropriate for a morning service and late-afternoon/evening party. This dress fit the bill, but the only size available was 2. I think I would have gone smaller if possible -- the fit was fairly roomy throughout the torso and hips. Nonetheless, I felt appropriately and festively dressed for an early-autumn occasion in this deep burgundy color. The lace has a lovely, intricate pattern, and though it did appear a bit worn (fuzzy/a few threads poking out) in places, it wasn't noticeable enough to cheapen the overall look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 28, 2012
The color was perfect for fall and the sleeves really added some elegance.
The dress definitely ran a little large. I usually wear a 4 or a 6 but went down to a 0, which fit nicely. The dress isn't tight around the stomach but it isn't baggy either. The sleeves were awesome and the color was perfect (a really pretty dark purple -- it looks more maroon in the picture than it actually is). I wore it to a black tie wedding and fit right in, although I think it would also work for a less dressy affair. The dress was 2" shorter than average, which was perfect for me at 5' but really tall girls might want to measure to make sure it isn't too short. I wore the Nicole Miller Southern Plantation earrings, which really added some bling. The dress really needs some accessories -- either a big necklace or earrings.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
September 30, 2012
Loved it! Have Rented it twice!
Wore the dress to a fall wedding and got lots of compliments! Comfortable fit, definitely for cooler weather though. The length was perfect for my height or someone one or two inches taller. If I was any shorter it would've have looked too conservative. The color was true to the pictures. Also, RTR was great about getting it to me in the morning so that I could be ready to leave for the afternoon wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 1, 2012
Great fall color.
Despite the reviews that warned this dress runs large, I was surprised at how roomy it is. It's more of a shift. So, it was fine that it wasn't snug. It definitely isn't my favorite dress I've rented. But it was great for a fall wedding. I paired it with black tights and black shoes. The sleeves were helpful for the outdoor ceremony. This dress is just okay, I would say.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
October 1, 2012
Pretty but needs a belt
Overall, I liked this dress. I wish I would have ordered a size down like the reviews recommended. The 4 was a little large and needed a belt to avoid looking like a lacy bag. The color was great and otherwise the dress was wonderful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
October 1, 2012
Beautiful, comfortable, classy!
I loved wearing this dress! It does run a large so I'd recommend getting a size down. It is a little baggy in the waist. This worried me since I have to use my hourglass figure for all it's worth, but it still looked great! I wore it to a live charity auction for work and even though I was running around like crazy the whole night I still felt amazing and was super comfortable! I got lots of compliments and basically became a salesperson for RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
October 3, 2012
Such a cute dress, and I love burgundy for fall!
The dress is so cute, but it definitely runs large! I ordered an 8 because it was the only size available (i'm usually a 6/8) and I think I could have worn a 4 or a 6. I ended up wearing it, but I wore a belt to cinch it in at the waist, which also made it a little shorter.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 7, 2012
Love this dress!! Highly recommend!
I wore this for my bridal shower and received a ton of complements. The color is a bit more purple than in the picture but it is a great color for Fall/Winter. The dress definitely runs large!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
October 8, 2012
Runs Very Large
I got this as a back up dress and went with a size 4. There were no reviews when I rented so I took a chance because I thought this would be perfect for a fall wedding. It runs so large. It looked like a bag on me. I probably needed the 2 or 0 for it to look like it does on the model.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 8, 2012
Very nice, classic dress.
Conservative, flattering dress, the neckline is gorgeous. Great for a formal work event or Winter Holiday party.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 8, 2012
Awesome dress!!
Wore this to a wedding and loved wearing it! It was a beautiful color (more dark purple than maroon) and received so many compliments! It runs large, I usually wear a 2-4 and ended up wearing a 0 and there was still room.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
October 9, 2012
Loved this dress!!
This dress was amazing- I got so many compliments on it! I am normally a size 8, and the size 6 fit perfectly, so it definitely runs a little large. I was completely comfortable in it all night as well. I will definitely be renting it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 10, 2012
Even my mother-in-law complimented this dress!
I wore this to an outdoor fall wedding, and it was the perfect choice! The color is a beautiful rich plum, and I loved the sheer lace sleeves., which kept the dress from feeling too tame. It's a tasteful and elegant dress, and I found the fit very true-to-size - I may even have gone down to a 6 for a slimmer fit. I accessorized with some crystal drop earrings and a sparkly costume jewelry necklace from the 50s, for a chic look. Lots of compliments through the evening! It was easy to dance in to boot.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
October 10, 2012
So comfortable AND beautiful!
I absolutely adored this dress! I got so many compliments on the color and design. It's definitely flattering with lots of room in the mid-section if you have a not-quite-flat stomach. I'd recommend some spanx just to get rid of any lumps or bumps. I went up to a size 12 for my chest, but if a 10 had been available, I think it would have fit better in the shoulder area. Overall - a great choice for the wedding I was attending!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
October 10, 2012
Pretty dress for Fall
Beautiful color, however runs very large. I am normally a 4, and ordered a 2 & 4. Ended up belting the 2, and probably could've easily worn a 0. Size wayyyy down! Long enough for a wedding, but hit a few inches above my knees.
RTR CustomerSeptember 17, 2013
what color belt and shoes did you wear with it? the shoes look navy but I can't be sure.
AmandaSeptember 18, 2013
Hi, the shoes are black. I wasn't expecting the dress to fit as loosely as it did, but I was able to find the belt after running to the mall. It is the exact same shade of burgundy as the dress (and only $3 from Forever21!)
JenniferOctober 24, 2013
Thanks for posting info on the belt. Im using this dress for my engagement shoot on Saturday... rushing to find a belt today.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
October 10, 2012
Absolutely loved this dress. I got so many compliments all night!
I am normally a size 4 but this dress ran a little big so I ended up wearing the size 2. It was short but not inappropriately short for a wedding. The detailing on the dress is gold so i paired it with the pearl and gold jewlery and a gold clutch. I loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
October 10, 2012
RTR is so convenient and reliable, dresses are always on time and always fabulous.
My cousin got married last weekend in the bay area around napa, and this dress was just perfect. The fit was great, the sleeves kept me warm(ish) in the sea-breeze and the color was fabulous for a fall wedding in wine country! I got tons of compliments all night. A home-run for sure!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
October 13, 2012
I wore my RTR dress to a VIP fashion event. It couldn't have been more perfect!
The fit was true to size and the color is much richer in person, more of a dark burgundy/berry instead of what is shown in the picture, it was absolutely gorgeous! I got tons of compliments on how it was such a classy and trendy dress. The dress was a great length, it was longer than I thought it would be but I'm short so most dresses are that way!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 13, 2012
Gorgeous color, elegant
This dress definitely runs large. I typically wear a 2-4 in dresses, and rented the size 2. I didn't end up wearing it, it was my backup, but the 2 was large. If I had worn it, I would have belted it. Be sure to order a size down, at least for the backup. The style of the dress is lovely though, in a beautiful plum color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
October 14, 2012
This dress was a comfortable, cute choice for a fall wedding.
This dress was very comfortable and as other reviewers said, it runs a little bit large. I loved the length (I am 5'9" and it hit above my knees but not too short). The color was perfect for fall.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 15, 2012
Beautiful and classy.
I normally wear a 4 but ended up wearing the 2 because the 4 was a bit loose. The quality of the dress was very nice, the color gorgeous, and the detail of the lace was incredible. I felt very classy and got lots of compliments. It was perfect for the fall wedding I attended.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
October 15, 2012
Grogeous dress
This dress was gorgeous! The fabric was a good quality and laid perfecty. It was a bit large; i ordered a 4 & 6(my usual sizes) and wore the 4. I probably could have worn a 2, but the 4 looked great and was comfortable.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 15, 2012
Excellent service
Loved everything about the dress . Very comfortable ..... So pretty!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 27

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×