Trina Turk

Portrait of Elegance Shift

$90 to buy
$328 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate date night dress? This Trina Turk lace shift will look amazing on you as you sip champagne and fall love with that new fling!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Synthetic Floral Lace. Three quarter length sleeves. Boat Neckline. Hidden back zipper. Straight skirt. Lined. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
1072 reviews
Fit
Large
(406)
True to Size
(568)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
October 18, 2015
Beautiful dress for fall wedding
Beautiful color and very comfortable. The dress definitely runs big, and is a bit short. I wore tights since it was cool out, and that made me more comfortable also. Popular dress though... 2 other girls had similar dresses at this wedding! (At least one other from RTR) This dress wasn't my first pick - RTR contacted me 3 days before my event saying my original dress was returned late or damaged. They rushed to get me something new, and only charged me the price of my original rental ($30). Great customer service as always.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 12, 2015
Comfortable Dress for Fall Wedding
Pros: Fit great, was warm enough for a partially outdoor fall wedding, color was lovely Cons: Felt the rental price was a bit high for what it was
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
November 20, 2015
PERFECT, wish I could own it!
This was my backup dress to wear to a wedding - I liked it so much, I wore it instead! I'm usually a 10, but I'm 4.5 months pregnant so I ordered a 12. It fit my bump perfectly. The dress had a bit of stretch which made it very comfortable. The neckline is super flattering. The color was perfect for a November wedding. Similar to what other reviewers mentioned, the lace did show a bit of wear, but I was likely the only person that noticed. Would love to rent this again. The color, the cut, the length -EVERYTHING about this dress was flattering. Would highly recommend.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 19, 2015
Classy dress, a little short
This dress is well made and a beautiful color. It was perfect for a conservative work event when worn with black tights, however being tall made it a bit on the short side for me. I would not have been comfortable wearing it without tights. It fits like a shift dress and is a little loose in the mid-section, but it looked nice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
December 22, 2015
This is a beautiful and well made dress. Unfortunately, I could not wear it due to size.
The dress runs very small through the hips. I would recommend going at least a size up, if not two sizes up. Perfect for a holiday party or wedding. Could pair it with tights for a more casual look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
January 5, 2016
Beautiful and comfortable evening dress
Perfect fit, beautiful color and very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
January 11, 2016
The color was very pretty and the dress was very well made.
Very nice material. The dress did not ride up if I bent down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
February 12, 2016
Great dress
LOL ended up getting sick and not attending the event. However had tried the dress on and loved it. Will rent again when another event comes up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 166lbs
March 22, 2016
Great day to eve dress
fits true to size, if not a little on the small side.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 17, 2016
Classy and sexy
Dress fit great, I am pear shape so it fit great in the hips but was a little loose in the chest and waist. Not the dresses fault. Although the top of the dress at the neckline rolled down a little, no one else would have noticed but the lining showed over the top. Great deal for the money though.
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
May 7, 2016
RTR was everything and more! I loved the dress and will be renting again for my next event!
I ordered my size plus a size bigger due to the material. I wore the size two and it fit perfectly! I received so many compliments! Thank you RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
May 9, 2016
Great color and fit
Fit true to size and the color was great! The length was perfect for someone who does not love really short skirts. The sleeves were not tight at all.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
May 30, 2016
Pretty lace and beautiful color
This was a nice dress - runs true to size and comfy! The wedding I attended was outdoors and it was very humid so I was warm in the dress! I decided to put a sash around it because the sheath design was very loose in the waist and I felt it needed something. Recommend for a cooler event or for someone who likes a looser sheath style.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 6, 2016
Fit perfectly. Tons of compliments!
I really have no complaints of this dress. I've considered renting it again for other occasions. I loved it so much and wish I owned it in my own wardrobe! Fit true to size. I'm typically a size 0 and this worked great. The fabric was not too heavy, but not too light. Easy to move around in on the dance floor.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 2, 2015
I wish I could have bought it!
The picture does not do the dress justice. It is a dark deep burgundy/purple color. It was perfect for a November wedding because of the sleeves and the lace detail. Not a lot of stretch in the arms however. I did have to pull the dress down during the night as it is a bit on the short side and I am blessed with a little junk in the trunk!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
June 15, 2016
Winter Wedding
True to size. Perfect for winter wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
July 15, 2016
Beautiful color
I really loved the color and the lace on this dress, but I didn't end up wearing it. The dress seems to be cut pretty straight down the body, so the waist was way too baggy on me, but the hips were fitted. Going up a size would have made the fit more consistent, but then the dress would have been loose everywhere and I wanted something more sleek.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
July 16, 2016
Beautiful dress and color
This is the second time I've rented this dress and I love it! The color is so beautiful and the fit is great and easy to wear.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 55
August 1, 2016
Beautiful dress. Exactly what I was looking for and couldn't find....lots of compliments. Flattering
Beautiful color...true to size fit...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
August 18, 2016
Loved this dress so much! It was very comfortable and perfect for a wedding.
This dress is great. It doesn't hug too tightly, it's a shift dress (so no flare out from the waist, which is a bad look for me!), and is really comfortable. I felt great in it and got lots of compliments. Would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
August 30, 2016
Love love love this dress !
Great quality and color . Brighter in person than in the picture . Really hides all bumps . Very flattering dress .
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 14, 2016
Beautiful color and lace
This dress was gorgeous!! Fit true to size. The lace is very beautiful and high end quality. I would rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38G
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
October 30, 2016
Comfortable and classy A
I loved this dress however it was too short for me. It was comfortable, I love the dark purple 3/4 length sleeves and soft material. A little bit of stretch. I was worried about it being too short but when I saw the model was listed as 5'11'' and it came midway on her thigh, I assumed I would be fine since I'm 5'8''. It lies just two inches below my butt cheeks, so finally decided to give it to a friend with a similar build and is 5'4''.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
November 2, 2016
Office party
Wore to my office party which was a mix of semi formal to business casual, so a classy cocktail dress like this fit in well. The sleeves were great for a bit of modesty in light of the shorter length and very appropriate for an office gathering.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
November 3, 2016
WORTH GETTING
FANTASTIC DRESS. I am a Apple body, Skinny legs, Skinny Arms but I have a ample chest and belly - this dress fits amazing. It reduces the look of a belly and provides a slimming effect. I love it. Most people said this runs big- I disagree. I found it runs a little snug in the middle but at the same time true to size. I am 140lbs 5 feet tall and a 8 fit well. A ten might have been too big and a 6 would have been WAY too small.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
December 5, 2016
This dress was elegant, comfortable and fit true to size.
I wore this for a charity event and received many compliments. It was during the colder months but this dress was perfect. Wore with nude tights and heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 4, 2012
Love the lace!
This dress is really beautiful in person! The lace sleeves add a sophisticated edge making this dress perfect for a slightly more conservative event. It had a little extra room throughout the mid-section, but it was almost more comfortable that way. Such a perfect style for Fall!
kd_ringSeptember 8, 2012
It looks really purple in your photo - is that the color or is it more oxblood / burgundy?
RTRSeptember 12, 2012
Hi! This dress is absolutely more burgundy than purple!
MeganSeptember 14, 2012
What color is this dress? It looks deep purple in this picture but burgundy in other pictures. Thank you!
RTR CustomerSeptember 19, 2012
Hi Megan! This dress is burgundy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 10, 2012
Perfect little number
This was my first experience with RTR and loved it! The dress was so beautiful and super comfortable for a long day of celebrating! I got so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
September 10, 2012
amazing first rental!
I normally wear size 6-8 so I am glad I listened to the other reviews and sized down - the 4 fit perfectly! Though it was by no means tight, it was snug enough that it didn't look like a muumuu. The dress was classic, beautiful, and comfy - I received so many compliments! I would definitely recommend renting this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 10, 2012
Perfect for a winery wedding
Pretty color and good fit. Because I'm so short, the dress ended just above my knee. The dress skimmed my figure, and although I like sheath dresses that are a little more fitted, this dress was perfect for a more conservative event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
September 12, 2012
Classy and so beautiful!
I wore this is a work party and it was such a hit! The fit was perfect-- exactly true to size. I wore shapewear underneath, just to smooth the midsection, but it's not necessary: this isn't an overly body-conscious silhouette. The neckline is high, the sleeves are perfect (not too tight, not too roomy), and the hemline falls at mid-thigh (fairly accurate in the model photo). I paired this with copper pumps and earrings, and that was it! A beautiful, classy dress-- perfect for any party or evening work gathering. Oh, and the burgundy color is even more beautiful in person!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
September 13, 2012
Conservative, pretty dress. Lovely lace.
It's true, this dress runs large. I'm a zero with a small chest and would ideally need a 00 or a 000 in this dress... disappointing! Especially as I own a couple of Trina Turk dresses in size 2 that fit quite snuggly. But, if you can size down, it's lovely quality, the color is interesting without being wild. It is more purple-y in person than I was expecting, which is a good thing. I'm wearing it tomorrow to a conservative, formal, evening work event, and will fit the bill for that, especially in the baggy size! Oy. But it seemed like the best, freshest option of the lace. long-sleeve dresses available. Not at all short either. It trends frumpy, but looks great with my high, black platform pumps as styled on the RTR model, and a little younger too if you add in good, modern, large-scale jewelry. A young-ish woman in the front row at the DNC during Obama's speech was wearing a similar dress!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 14, 2012
Beautiful color and lace!
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner. I can't rave enough about the lace and color. Both were so rich. At first, I was afraid I would be scratching my arms raw, but the lace was actually very soft. The dress runs large, although I am not familiar with the sizing of this designer. I usually fit great in most of the 2's I order from the site, but this one was quite big on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 16, 2012
Unable to wear for the event, but process was fun!
Was more appropriate for a work dress than a wedding. Looked old fashion on me which could be due to the size. I rented a 6 and 4. Both were too large for what I was looking for. Much longer on. The dress was also more of an eggplant than cranberry color
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
September 17, 2012
Gorgeous & Classy
This dress was lovely! It runs true to size, but is not a dress that hugs your curves, so it may appear to look big -however this is just the style of the dress. Also, the fabric was better than I was expecting (*lace was NOT ichy at all- and was even rather soft). I highly recommend this dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 18, 2012
Beautiful dress! Perfect for a fall wedding/occasion!
Definitely runs large; I wore a 4 and I almost always wear a 6, but the 4 fit great. Very 'forgiving' in the midsection, and a modest length.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
September 19, 2012
Loved it!
I wore this dress for an engagment party that I was hosting. I was looking for a fun dress that was on the more conservative side, and this one fit the bill. After reading the reviews, I rented sizes 0 and 2, anticipating that I would wear the size 2. I typically wear anything from a 2-6, depending on the designer and type of dress. It fit very well as a shift dress. I loved the color and sleeves. The length was a little long for my preference, but perfect for the occasion. I have never worn Trina Turk before, but would rent her again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 19, 2012
Cute but ultra conservative
I love dthe feel of this dress and it def runs large ( I wore it in a zero with room to spare) the only problem was that for my taste it was too conservative for the fun and flirty cocktail party. It would be perfect for a political event though. I didnt end up wearing it but it did fit and was in perfect condition.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 19, 2012
Did not end up wearing - the dress was too large
I rented this dress for a rehearsal dinner and did not end up wearing it. The dress was entirely too big and not flattering. The lace, in my opinion, also lacks a bit in quality
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 162lbs
September 19, 2012
Gorgeous Lace in the perfect fall color
Loved everything about this dress to the lace detail to the seasonal color. The dress hit a little bit above the knee and was the perfect length for my 5'4 height with heels. The fit was form fitting enough to be sexy but loose enough, so I could dance the night away. My problem areas are my stomach and arms, so I found the dress to be the perfect amount of coverage without any added layer. Lots of compliments were received and I would definitely rent again! Accessorized with nude round toe pumps and gold clutch/earrings. Simple the better because the dress can speak for itself.
RTR CustomerOctober 1, 2012
Meg thanks for the review -- I am about the same size as you (+ a few pounds :/)...did you take any pictures? I'd love to see what it looked like on someone like me!!
See more reviews:
1 / 27

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×