Portrait of Elegance Shift

$90 to buy
$328 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate date night dress? This Trina Turk lace shift will look amazing on you as you sip champagne and fall love with that new fling!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Synthetic Floral Lace. Three quarter length sleeves. Boat Neckline. Hidden back zipper. Straight skirt. Lined. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
1071 reviews
Fit
Large
(406)
True to Size
(567)
Small
(35)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 24, 2013
Great for school fundraising event.
The dress was very flattering and comfortable. The color is nice and classic. The length was above the knee, but not too short. Great experience - I will definitely rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 25, 2013
Beautiful color and fit!
This dress definitely runs big. I usually wear a 6 and the 4 was absolutely perfect. Received many compliments on the cut and color. I am a bit broad in the chest and shoulders, but did not have the problems that some others have mentioned regarding the sleeves and back being tight. I thought it fit really well and was extremely comfortable. A big winner - one that I just might rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
March 25, 2013
Elegant and classi
This dress was perfect for my best friend's rehearsal dinner. I received so many compliments on the dress, especially the color (which is a maroon/purple mix). i wore it with gold and pearl accessories and black heels. It was comfortable, a great length to show some leg, and had plenty of room in the chest without being too baggy overall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
March 26, 2013
ran a little large but overall super comfortable dress
wore this in vegas and was fun (but a little conservative). A little too loose through the chest but obviously that makes it pretty comfortable and good for big dinners!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 27, 2013
My husband said I looked, "stunning!"
Great dress that didn't show flaws! It was perfect! I didn't have to worry about eating too much because the dress was not super form fitting, which is exactly what I wanted! I received many compliments and would totally rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 27, 2013
Perfect fit!
The color was a rich purple and the lace was in perfect condition - no pulls or frays! With my 5'3" frame, the dress was just the right length for sitting and dancing. I got compliments all night long and since this was my first RTR experience I was eager to share all the details! Thanks RTR for the awesome dress... I will be back!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 108lbs
March 28, 2013
Ok
I wore the dress - but I didn't love it. The dress was a little too big in the waist and arms and didn't have much shape. I put a belt on to cinch the waist, but that just seemed to enhance the fact that my stomach is not flat. The color of the dress is very pretty and the lace detail is nice, just wasn't the right dress shape/cut for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 97lbs
March 29, 2013
Very pretty color
I rented this dress for a party in December. I loved the rich color. My husband wasn't very impressed with the dress when he saw it on the hanger, but he loved it after he saw it on. He was amazed how well it complemented my fair skin and light hair. Would definitely recommend! The dress may run a little big, but I like shift dresses on the loose side.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
March 29, 2013
Beautiful lace detail. Dress was in new condition!
I rented this dress for a work party in December and I do not regret renting it again for a College Fraternity reunion banquet. It worked perfectly at both events and fits beautifully. It runs slightly big but I would still suggest ordering your size. I will definitely be renting this dress again in the future!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
March 29, 2013
Shorter than expected
This dress was nice and conservative. I was going to a religious event so was looking for something much to this style. It was a bit shorter than I had anticipate so I was pulling it down for most of the afternoon. Other than that, it was a fine dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
March 31, 2013
Romantic and Fun!
Rented for a refined dinner followed by a riotous comedy show, this dress served both equally and transitioned beautifully through the night. The fit was quite loose in general. Typically wearing a 12, I order a 10 backup and easily fit into the smaller size. While the dress served to be accommodating to our meal and a walk through downtown to our venue, the lace was a bit heavy, thick in texture and appearance, and often felt burdensome when trying to raise my arms or place an elbow on an armrest. Otherwise, the dress was well suited for both events. The color is a deep plum and the lace, rounded floral pattern is ornate without being juvenile. The dress worked for a winter evening (heavier lace served as bit of a cold barrier) while still being elegant and flirtatious!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 30DD
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
April 2, 2013
This was the perfect dress - elegant, understated, and perfectly fitting - for my bff's wedding!
This definitely ran a little large. I am a fairly consistent designer size 4, but the size 2 fit me comfortably with room to spare, even though I'm pretty curvy through the hips. All in all, it was just a lovely color, quality material, and wonderfully cut! I'd recommend it to anyone (maybe unless you're VERY slim through the hips).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
April 2, 2013
Great dress, beautiful color
I rented this dress for my engagement shoot. It photographed beautifully, I got compliments on it all day!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
April 4, 2013
runs big, size down, i wore it with a belt but loved it, it was made well & looked great
would rent again
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 8, 2013
Loved the color and long sleeves!
I rented this dress for an October wedding. It was perfect because the long sleeves kept me from needing a sweater. I was so in love with this dress - I didn't want to return it! The lace was beautiful! It ran slightly large on me - I had to wear a size down because it was loose my waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
April 8, 2013
Loved It!!
Loved the color, style, and fit. It was perfect
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
April 8, 2013
Nice dress
I rented this dress for a wedding. I had a baby two months ago so am carrying a few extra pounds still and this dress was perfect for hiding it. I'm also breastfeeding and it was great for covering up my large chest. It was very comfortable and I liked wearing it. The reason I'm not giving it five stars is because it didn't make me feel very sexy. Don't get me wrong, I did feel very pretty, just not sexy! All in all, It was a great rental and I liked the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 13, 2013
LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress!!!
I absolutely LOVED this dress!! It is so beautiful, such a gorgeous plum lace. My boyfriend and I went to go see the Lion King in Detroit at the ornate Fox Theater and I felt like I fit right in. I wore a 0 and it was a little baggy on me. I think it's not supposed to be fitted, but I would have liked it a little smaller. But it was so pretty I didn't care that it didn't fit perfect. I was so sad to send this one back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 14, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
I absolutely loved this dress, besides being comfortable and functional---it was very flattering and feminine. Can't wait to rent my next dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
April 15, 2013
RTR delivers on its promises! The dress arrived on the date selected in a nice garment bag.
I rented the dress for a girls night out and also to do a trial run of RTR because my daughter is getting married in September and after this experience, I will definitely use RTR for that occasion! The Trina Turk dress is a gorgeous color, very well made and comfortable. It does run a bit on the big side, so I would order a size down from the size you usually wear, I should have ordered the 6.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
April 15, 2013
It was a nice dress
This dress was a little long for my taste, I am not sure why but I expected it to be a bit shorter. Other than that, the color was really beautiful, as was the lace. I received a number of compliments.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
April 16, 2013
Perfect for my engagement photo shoot!
This was my first RTR experience... and it definitely won't be my last! This color is gorgeous and the fit is perfect. I got a ton of compliments! You can dress it up or down with accessories -- so it's super versatile and will work for a variety of events.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 16, 2013
Didn't wear
I didn't end up wearing this dress. It arrived and looked beautiful, but the fit was off for me. I have an hourglass figure and the issue I had was that it looked a bit sloppy up top in the size I needed to fit my hips. This dress is much better suited for someone with a straight figure and/or inverted triangle. I've rented a similar Shoshanna dress and its fit was much better for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
April 17, 2013
Incredibly Well Made BUT HUGE -- Clearly Pinned on the Model
The dress is super high quality and beautiful. The color was a lot brighter in person -- almost a magenta rather than a deep purple. The lace was beautiful. The problem with the dress is that while specifically listsed as a shift dress, the picture of the model wearing doesn't look like a shift dress. The model clearly has the dress pinned behind her because there is no form fitting to this dress whatsoever. I was wearing a size 2 and the model is clearly FAR thinner than I am, with only a single size in existence below 2 (0) there is no way that dress would hug like that. It is just straight down from chest to hips. It was perfectly fine for the event I went to -- I wanted a more conservative dress for Thanksgiving Dinner but I would have preferred to know in advance what it would actually look like. Yes, there are user photos but the best indication of how the dress fits should be the picture included by RTR. And again, I would bet a hefty sum that the dress is pinned on all pics of the model. Oh and it runs HUGE. I would have ordered a size 0 if I had known. I ended up wearing the 2 and I typically wear a 4. If you are true to size, I would order a size down and then your back up another size down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
April 17, 2013
Love sporting the lace trend!
The one major con i had, is that the dress seemed a little on the long side, I think taller people would pull it off better. The dress is also a little boxy which doesn't give much shape. However it was fun to put bright springy jewelry to liven it up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
April 19, 2013
Classy little number!
This dress was rented as my back-up dress and I wish I would have had more than 1 fancy occasion that week. Fit very true to size looked super classy on! Will probably rent this dress again for the next fall wedding I attend for a chance to show it off!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
April 19, 2013
Wonderful dress that fits curvy figures too!
I rented this dress for a wedding. I've had a hard time finding a dress lately that fits correctly bc of my bust size. I was hesitant at first but this dress fit perfectly! It hugged me in all the right places, it gives you some room in the midsection and was not too short. I rented this dress along with another similar RTR lace dress and this one was by far superior, not boxy like the other dress. The color is really great also - very slimming!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
April 20, 2013
It fit perfect and I got so many compliments on it!
I love this dress! I normally wear a size 8, but I saw from the reviews to order the next size down as well. The 6 fit perfectly, I didn't even need to try on the 8. I am small busted though, so you might not be able to go down a size if you have a larger chest. I am petite, but it hit mid-thigh, the perfect length. I wore it for my sorority's formal, and it was perfect! I wish I could keep it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
April 20, 2013
Such an AMAZING dress!
I absolutely loved this dress! I wore it to my sorority's semi-formal. I am normally a size 12, and the 12 is the size I ended up wearing. The dress was a little boxy on me, so I added the blue belt to add some shape and a nice pop of color. I got many compliments on the color. The dress is heavy, so if you're wearing it to an outside event in the warmer months, be warned. But it was prefect for my chilly spring event. I adore this dress, and I recommend it to anyone! This was my first experience with RTR and I will definitely be back to rent again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
April 21, 2013
Super Classy
Wore this dress to a winter wedding and received a ton of compliments. It fit exactly as seen on the model. Definitely worth renting!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
April 22, 2013
Soo pretty, but not for a petite girl
I loved this dress when I saw it online. I read a ton of reviews so I sort of knew it was going to be long on me but I ordered it anyway since I thought it was so pretty. The reviews were right, it was long. I'm short (5'2) and it hit right below the knee. Which, if that's the length you're looking for, it's perfect. But I wanted something a little shorter so my legs looked long/slim. Other than the length, the dress fit pretty well. I also ordered the Shoshanna Cyress Lace Shift dress which is what I ended up wearing. So if you're petite and really like this style, I'd check out that dress too since it's similar and a lot shorter. Overall, this dress is really pretty, just a little too long for someone 5'2.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
April 22, 2013
Love it! Want it!
Despite seeing all the customer photos of ladies looking lovely in this dress, I was really hesitant to order it. I was afraid it would look too matronly on me but I really needed a plum dress and wasn't having any luck finding one, so I just bit the bullet and ordered it. I am so glad I did. It looks fabulous on, the dress is very well made, the lace is gorgeous and the color is fabulous. I am usually a 2 but ordered a 0 as a backup. Honestly, I could've just gotten the 2 and been perfectly happy but the 0 was just a tad bit shorter and a bit more fitted so I went with it instead. I got so many compliments on it and was super comfortable the entire night! I love that you don't have to wear any special under garments (no special bra, no Spanx required) and you can pig out too! Rent the dress!
CaitlinOctober 31, 2013
I love your watch!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 27, 2013
One of my favorite rentals from RTR!
I absolutely loved this dress! From the color to the way it fit on my body. Loved it. I wore it to a benefit for work, and it was cold that night, so I paired it with black sheer tights and black heels. I took everyone's advice from the review and ordered down a size because the size 12 (My normal size) would have been too big as the 10 fit perfect! It also made me feel great that I went down a size even if just for the night. I took a couple of photos, but decided not to post them because and this is just my opinion, I don't think the dress photographed very well. All of the lace details on the bodice of the dress and the fringe at the bottom don't show up very well in the photos, so it didn't give a realistic view of what the dress really looked like. Gorgeous dress though, and I got compliments on it all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
April 28, 2013
Wore this to my brother's wedding and loved it. Got many compliments!
As everyone has said this dress runs big and they are right! I probably could have gone down a size but all in all it worked great. I changed from heels to boots after the ceremony and it worked great! I got lots of compliments from people and loved the three quarter sleeves since I think my arms are a little bigger!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 28, 2013
More beautiful than the picture
This was such a well-made dress and was a very pretty color. It was not too fitted and was very forgiving. Was perfect for an afternoon wedding and the length hit just at the knee.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 29, 2013
Very pretty color. I wore it to a charity event and recevied many compliments.
The lace on the arm was starting to pull so it wasnt in perfect condition but overall it was a gorgeous dress. Would recommened for a slightly conservative affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 29, 2013
Perfect Valentine's dress!
Believe it or not, I paired this with tall top cowboy boots for a Robert Earl Keen performance at the Opera House, it was GORGEOUS and comfortable. I adored it and got tons of compliments. Very classic and chic!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 29, 2013
Great dress for winter wedding!
Wore to a wedding in February so was the perfect amount of coverage. Runs a little large, I'm normally a size 4 but wore a 2.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 3, 2013
Very pretty dress with nice lace details.
Loved that this had sleeves to help keep warm on a chilly night. Slightly more form fitting around the hips than I expected but it was fine with spanks. I read some reviews saying it ran big so I ordered a 6 and an 8 (I can zip a J.Crew 6 on right now) but I had to go with the 8. I was happy with the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 3, 2013
Great dress for many occassions!
I loved this dress. Sometimes these lace sheath dresses are too straight for me because I'm small in the waist and bigger in the hips, and then it looks like I'm wearing a potato sack. This one goes in at the waist and flares ever so slightly which is really flattering. Truly beautiful dress - I wish I owned it!
See more reviews:
8 / 27

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×