Rent the Runway

Trina Turk

Portrait of Elegance Shift

$65 rental
$328 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate date night dress? This Trina Turk lace shift will look amazing on you as you sip champagne and fall love with that new fling!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Synthetic Floral Lace. Three quarter length sleeves. Boat Neckline. Hidden back zipper. Straight skirt. Lined. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

956 reviews

Fit
Small 32
True to Size 510
Large 388
Photos 473
Clancy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 27, 2012

Perfect Dinner Party dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit perfectly. I cooked Thanksgiving dinner, then slipped on this dress right before everyone came over. Love the color- perfect for the holidays. Love the length- great for a dinner party. Love the details on the sleeve- see-through and sophisticated.
Lace
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121 lbs
Dec 20, 2012

It fit perfectly, and I got a ton of compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a fancy holiday party at a private club in downtown DC, and it definitely fit in - a classy holiday (or anytime really) dress. I felt very Kate Middleton-esque! It didn't fit funny or anything, actually it was perfect and I probably didn't need to wear spanx underneath, but I did anyway. Also, the scoop/boat neck covers your bra straps, so you can wear a regular bra with it. It was amazing, and I would love to buy this dress one day.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 20, 2012

Beautiful Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great dress! It was a little big in the waist, so I added a belt. I'm 5'9 and it was a little short on me, but not inappropriate. Great color, perfect for fall & winter and much prettier in person than on the website. Highly recommend and would rent again!
Jen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Dec 21, 2012

This dress was beyond perfect! Felt like a million bucks!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I was absolutely thrilled with this dress! Rented it for a date night out to a fancy dinner and to the ballet with my husband. I originally intended to order the size 8 and size 6 as a back up, but the 8 wasn't available for my date. I got the 6 and 10, and ended up wearing the 6, which was perfect! Generally, I wear an 8 or 10, so it does run a little large, depending on how you want it to fit. The lace was in perfect shape, and the whole process couldn't have been easier.
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 66
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 23, 2012

OK

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress is very comfortable and fit fine (other women might have gone with the smaller size, but it was a little too snug for my taste). It's a beautiful color. I probably just chose the wrong dress for the occasion. It was a little too "mother-of-the-bride" for me. Nothing bad, just more so-so than I'm used to with my rentals.
Michele
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 24, 2012

Wearing an amazing dress at a fraction of the price

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I thought this dress was amazing! I wore it for my 28th birthday party and my work holiday party. Even though this dress wasn't low cut for super short I still felt great wearing it! The dress is definitely nice quality. The sleeves were a little tighter than I thought they would be and I had issues with the zipper, it wasn't easy to unzip or zip. After 2 nights of wearing I was surprised that the elbow part of the sleeves wasn't nearly was stretched out as I would have thought.
MAS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 24, 2012

Comfortable and a POP of stand out color.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I wore it to a show and dinner in NYC with my dad. super comfortable. the lace didnt itch or rub the wrong way. The length was perfect which I was a little concerned about. And it fit like a glove. I usually don't go towards "shifts" because they can look baggy but this one hugged in all the right places. Could be worn with nude or black heels. I went with black heels and black tights.
Jenna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 25, 2012

SO EASY! so many compliments -- first time for RTR and will definitely use again!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits true to size, color exactly what expected -- read the reviews -- they are spot on!
Kellie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
Dec 26, 2012

Beautiful dress, easy to rent and return. Love the two sizes!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress is beautiful and sophisticated and in great shape. I rented it for a Christmas Eve party and Mass. The shape of the dress is great, I didn't feel that it needed any sort of enhancement. The detailing on the lace is interesting without being overwhelming. The sleeves are perfect for any event in cooler temperatures and adds a little warmth without having to have a wrap or a cardigan. I would absolutely rent this dress again.
Elena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 26, 2012

Pretty dress, but runs SO big.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The color and fabric were super gorgeous, but the dress was just way too large for me to wear. I normally wear a 4/6 and the 4 made me look like I was wearing a sack. If only I had gotten a size 2! Ended up not wearing the dress-- would have been perfect for my office holiday party otherwise. The length was great, not super conservative, but not super short which was important for someone as tall as me
Hailey
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 28, 2012

How amazing my boyfriend thought I looked, how sexy yet sophisticated I felt, and the compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Its a very flattering the dress was, great fit, and comfortable! Because its lace, the zipper is a little sensitive, but dont let that frustrate you, just get someone to help you and tell them to be gentle. Overall I was very pleased with this. I wasnt hot, I wasnt cold (wore this for a December wedding) and danced the night away! Great dress.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 31, 2012

Loved this dress! So versatile and comfortable.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
As other reviews suggest, this dress definitely runs big. I ordered the 0 and 2 and wore the 0. Usually my bust won't fit into a 0 dress but this left me with plenty of room. I wore it two nights in a row--once to a family dinner and another to a Christmas party--and tried it both belted and un-belted. Loved it both ways. Such a fun dress!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

I got so many compliments on this gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was almost perfect, although it did seem to bunch up awkwardly in the stomach area since it was baggy there. This created an illusion of a protruding belly in my opinion in some photos.
jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Beautiful color for the winter

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for our rehearsal dinner. I'm usually between a 6 and an 8 in dresses and the 6 was even a little big through the waist, so sizing down is a good idea. The dress was very comfortable and the color is a rich, gorgeous burgundy - perfect for fall and winter. Definitely one of my favorite rentals!
Jen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Renting the dress couldn't have been easier or more fun. I felt so glamorous the entire evening.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
RTR staff were very helpful throughout the entire process and I will definitely rent again! Overall the dress fit very well and true to size. However, I'm 5'11", and had it not been a fall wedding where black tights were appropriate, the dress would have been scandalously short!
Brittani
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

The dress was perfect!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to our company holiday party and it was perfect, conservative, but not too boring. The fit was great. It probably does run big if you don't have hips/butt, however for my body type, it was true to size. This was my first time using rent the runway and I will definitely do it again!
KJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

Beautiful dress and everybody loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I would rent this dress again. It was classy and beautiful, and I got several compliments on it. The length is classy, to an inch or two above the knee, and the lace is see-through on the sleeves only. The dress hugs the curves a little bit, enough to make it not shapeless.The 6 fit me okay, but bulged a little in the back, so I wore the 4 and it fit perfectly. I loved it!
Jane
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
Jan 6, 2013

Dress is sooo comfortable!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm always in between a sz 2 and 4 depending on brands and the sz 2 fit perfectly. Cute dress!
Sarah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 6, 2013

Gorgeous dress! SO easy to order, came on time, great fit and quality!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I usually wear a 2 but after reading the reviews went with a 0 and I am so glad that I did! A 2 would have been way to big. The dress is flattering and I got a ton of compliments. I love the purple lace.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 6, 2013

Love this dress! Comfortable and very stylish. Great color. Perfect for a fall event.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was slightly loose but it worked because I think a 2 would have been too tight and hard to sit down in for me. I loved this dress and got compliments on it all night. Highly recommend ordering Mystery Bling, too, because the necklace they sent was perfect!
Betsy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Jan 8, 2013

Stunning!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear about a 6, but after reading the reviews I chose to size down with my second size, and I'm glad I did. Both sizes would have worked well, but the 4 was just slightly more fitted, especially across the hips. The lace also has a slight stretch to it, exactly where you need it: across the shoulders. I received compliments all night long! This was my first RTR experience, and I'm sure I'll come back for many more!
logant
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 8, 2013

photographs beautifully

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is super comfortable and easy to wear. It's more beautiful in photos than it is on the body, so if you'll be in lots of photos this is great for you! I wore mine with opaque blk tights and little booties which helped make it a bit more casual. It's neckline is really simple showing off your neck and collar bones. you don't need a necklace if you wear great earrings. And I got tons of compliments on the color.
Shannan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 9, 2013

Many compliments on the dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The size 4 fit great. This dress was great to wear to a winter wedding. I wore it with sheer, black tights and black pumps. The ensemble came together beautifully and I had many compliments. I would definitely rent again!
Krystle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jan 11, 2013

Perfect dress for a fancy date night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for a formal dinner date with my husband. I typically wear a 4 and the 4 was a little big on me. I felt I could have worn the 2 and it would have hugged by body a little better. Other than that, the color was great and I received a ton of compliments!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 12, 2013

Everyone at the wedding loved the dress!It was absolutely perfect for the occasion. My man liked it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was great, you should be careful with the zipper. Loved it!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 12, 2013

Perfect Dress for a formal affair!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! It was perfect for a holiday work function. The dress does run a bit large, so I would suggest going down a size. This was my first rent the runway experience, and I am definitely going to do it again!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 13, 2013

This dress was amazing in person, well made, great fit, and I felt like a million bucks in it!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I usually wear a 2 and this dress was a 2... was slightly loose but I'm not into skin tight clothes, if you like it tight order a size smaller. Great color in person! The lace was gorgeous in person and I felt amazing!
Janette
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 13, 2013

I see why this dress is so popular!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Such a pretty dress, modest - even though the length is on the shorter side. I wore this to a January wedding that was on a boat. The color was true to the picture (a red grape color). I loved the 3/4 length sleeve. The zipper was a little sensitive but never got caught on any of the lace. The size 10 fit my 36DD chest well but didn't fit around my waist as well as it looks on the model. The size 8 was too tight around my chest and was about 2 inches shorter, definitely wouldn't have worked for my height/age. The material stretched out throughout the evening, I noticed when I took the dress off that night that the backside was larger from sitting in the dress and was wider across the hips but not so baggy that it looked bad, just lost the "shift" shape. I can see why this dress is so popular!
Tara
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Jan 14, 2013

Loved trying something new!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the color and the dress was beautiful in person. I did have a problem with the lining riding up on my legs and I kept having to pull it down under the lace while dancing. There was a faint smell of smoke in the garment bag but could never smell it on the actual dresses which was good. Pleasantly surprised the dress was not as short as expected.
Ashley
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 14, 2013

NYE chic!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Most people stated that the dress was a little bit larger, well coming from someone who has a booty and hips, it fit me just perfect. Sometimes it bunched up around the waste which made me look a little funny, but other than that it was perfect. I got so many compliments from everyone on the dress. The lace was very feminine, however be careful with what jewelry you wear! The lace is delicate, and you don't want to pull it. My first necklace from Kate Spade that I bought to wear with the dress pulled the lace while I was at home, so I changed it to something that wouldn't snug! Enjoy!
Robin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Jan 16, 2013

Comfortable dress, beautiful color. I was very happy with it. The short length was fun.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
As suggested, I opted for a size smaller than I usually wear as the additional dress size, and that was a good choice. The 6 fit me well, but the 4 also fit, so while I said that this dress was true to size, it is maybe a teeny bit forgiving. I wore the 6 because the 4 seemed a little too short for the black tie wedding we were attending. It was a little hard to work the zipper on both dresses, but that was not a huge problem. I love this necklace, and also rented it for a different function, with a different dress. It's so pretty and not heavy. I know I looked to see what color shoes others chose for this dress, so I'll say that my choice was nude heels and a pale beige clutch, and I thought that worked well. All in all, I felt ladylike but not stodgy, and the dress was very comfortable in that it skims the body, rather than clings. No need for Spanx, which was a blessing!
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 17, 2013

Easy

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a great dress and easy to wear. It hangs loose and is very comfy.
Chantel
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 21, 2013

Perfect for the holidays!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I needed a dress for my company xmas party. The sleeves were perfect for the weather and the fit was perfect!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 22, 2013

Elegance

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Definitely get the size smaller than you normally wear. I'm normally a 2 but wore a 0 for this rental. The fit can be described as fits just so you look great but with enough room that you feel comfortable eating and dancing. I had read similar statements in other reviews and was like that's kinda odd but seriously it is true and awesome! The wedding we were at had amazing food and the dress left enough room that I could eat it all! More importantly, I felt great the whole day in the dress, got tons of compliments and had fun!
ls
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 22, 2013

Liked this but not obsessed

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was pretty enough. I wasn't obsessed with it but it fit pretty well (was a little tight in the butt though) and was good for a wedding. It was a good length on me and I paired it with black tights.
Trish
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 23, 2013

Elegant, classy dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my husband and friend's birthday dinner. I love the neckline and the material. The zipper was hard to pull up and down so you will need assistance. Even if your arms are a little exposed by the material, it was very comfortable. I only wore tights because it was very cold outside. Had we been at a different place, I would definitely wear the dress without tights, since the hemline is at a perfect height. This dress also runs large. I usually wear a 6 because of my bust size, however I had some room to spare in the 4. The color is rich and gorgeous!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 27, 2013

Loved!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Ordered the 2 and the 0 - both fit well, but I went with the 0 since it gave me a bit more shape. The lace sleeves made it perfect for a winter wedding in Chicago :)
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 27, 2013

I felt awesome in this dress! Loved it! I would rent from RTR again for sure!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got this dress for my grandparents 60th Wedding Anniversary party. I loved it. A lot of women commented and said it ran large. I would agree with that to an extent but I have a larger chest and hips so I for me it felt true to size. If you are less curvy, it would probably run larger. This dress also hit my leg much lower than the picture of the model. If you are under 5'6" it would NOT be a mini on you. It was super comfortable and I was thrilled!
Kim
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 127 lbs
Jan 29, 2013

Great dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a 6 or a 4 but they told me it runs big so I got the 2 and 4. The 2 fit better but was shorter so I wore the 4. Overall, great dress and good experience. I wax a reader at a wedding and wanted something conservative.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 29, 2013

This dress was AMAZING! Such a classy dress for a fall wedding - I wanted to keep it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It ran a little big - and look a bit baggy so I would say size down - I had to pin the insides to give me a little shape. I did get so many compliments though!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×