Trina Turk

Portrait of Elegance Shift

$90 to buy
$328 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate date night dress? This Trina Turk lace shift will look amazing on you as you sip champagne and fall love with that new fling!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Synthetic Floral Lace. Three quarter length sleeves. Boat Neckline. Hidden back zipper. Straight skirt. Lined. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
1073 reviews
Fit
Large
(406)
True to Size
(568)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
December 13, 2013
Perfect mix of classy and flirty! LOVED this dress!

I wore this dress to my graduation. It runs a little big, but the next size down fit perfectly. I got so many compliments on this dress. The color is beautiful and the lace is very nice. I would definitely recommend this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 30, 2013
Didn't want to send back!

Loved this dress! Beautiful color! Wore it to a friend's rehearsal dinner. So glad I sized down

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
December 18, 2013
Beautiful color and fit

Definitely runs large. Wore the 0 when I am usually a 2 or a 4. Great length for petities

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
December 27, 2013
Flattering fit and great for any party!

It was a little big in the waist but it was still a very flattering dress. I got lots of compliments on the color and style!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
December 27, 2013
Never go wrong with jewel tones!

I knew the fit would be a little looser around the waist as this was a shift and not a sheath dress. (Perfect for wedding eats). This dress is easy to wear even if not sized perfectly for petites (I own a different Trina Turk dress in a 2P), and I enjoyed getting compliments on it from the bride's very handsome and single! brother-in-law.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
December 29, 2013
Great cover for arms in the winter!

I wore this in November, and was thrilled to have my not-quite-summer-tanned/toned arms covered :) The dress is a little roomier in the waist, which I appreciate. If legs are your stronger point, this shows them off nicely. Looks great with a statement necklace as shown - I wore metallic heels. I'm somewhere between a 4 and a 6 and ordered both - ended up wearing the 4.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 30, 2013
So elegant, yet glamorous!

I rented this dress for Easter Sunday. I loved that it was long sleeved and didn't show too much, but it was still interesting and detailed beautifully. I loved the sophisticated look that came together with nude platform pumps.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 31, 2013
Beautiful sheath in plum lace - perfect for winter wedding!

This dress runs large, so you may want to order two sizes down depending on your preferred fit. I am solidly a 4 and thought the 2 was a bit loose. The shorter skirt is perfectly balanced by the longer sleeve and durable lace (no annoying snags). Boat neck is perfect for a regular bra (and spanx, should you need them!). I am petite and thought the dress looked a bit 'heavy' with black tights and pumps, so I'd recommend nude shoes for shorter gals. Should be noted that RTR shipped this *early* in anticipation of the holidays, it was nice to know they were thinking ahead.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2014
Love love love this dress

This dress was perfect for a NYE wedding! I got so many compliments on the color and fit. I'm usually in between a 2 and a 4, and since this dress definitely runs large, I went with the 2. The 4 fit but was a little boxy and too long. The 2 was perfect.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 3, 2014
Favorite dress I've ever rented rom this site.

It was a bit large; I'm often an 8 instead of a 6, and the 6 fit well. Not too short, even though I'm 5'9". The lace detailing was classy and nice-looking, not chintzy like some lace can be. Liked it so much I tried to find it on Ebay to purchase!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 6, 2014
I got so many compliments, what a beautiful dress!

Pros: Beautiful, fit pretty good, great new years eve dress! Cons: dress was a little large in the back (bunched up when i sat down), I felt like I was pulling the front of the dress down as the inner lining kept popping up over the front of the dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 7, 2014
I would rent this again!

This dress runs large. I didn't even try on my normal size after reading reviews. I'm happy I sized down! I would rent this again… IT WAS SOOOO COMFORTABLE AND GORGEOUS IN PERSON! I wore this for my birthday dinner!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
January 8, 2014
Fun and flattering

Loved this dress! As other reviewers mentioned, it runs large. I am usually a 12 in dresses but ended up wearing the 10.... it was fitted, whereas the 12 felt boxy in the waist. The color is gorgeous and the dress is easy to wear. I am 5'4" and it hit about mid-thigh.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 17, 2014
Perfect for my work event

This dress was perfect for my recent work award night. The length and neckline were the reason I chose it, but I will admit it wasn't a dancing dress. Many people complimented this dress. The color was gorgeous and the fabric warm enough to wear on a chilly night. I could have worn the 2, but the sleeves were a little big (on both dresses), and the 0 fit better.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
January 20, 2014
It's true - size way down!

I wore an 8 in another Trina Turk dress from RTR (Kelly To My Green). In this dress, I wore a 4, which Go-To Girl Clare kindly overnighted me when the 6 was baggy. The rumors are true: size down! This dress was comfortable, flattering, and warm on a winter night. I got many compliments and felt beautiful. There's really nothing more I could have asked for!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
January 20, 2014
Great dress for a great night!

It fit really well and managed to be really comfortable while maintaining a good shape. It was a little shorter than I was expecting, but it ended up working out really well. It also photographed well.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 23, 2014
Classy, beautiful and comfortable

I rented this for my boyfriends company holiday party and it was appropriate and perfect for the occasion. It was not too short however I was wearing black tights because it was brutally cold and windy. I got compliments on the lace and the fit. I wore the back up size 4 when I normally wear a size 6 so this dress does run large, believe the reviews and don't waste your time thinking it will be too small from your normal size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 26, 2014
Got compliments all night!

One of the most beautiful dresses I've ever worn. It is a bit short, but I thought that balanced out the modest top of the dress. I normally wear a size 8, however, the 6 fit perfectly. Great, high-quality lace. Simple earrings were the only jewelry I needed to complete the look.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 27, 2014
Perfect Dress for NYE- made me feel HOT!!!

This was my third experience with RTR and the first time I've had issues getting a dress. On the day that my dresses were to be sent to me, i received a phone call and e-mail stating that the original dress I had rented was unavailable due to it being returned in not the best shape. I was offered the opportunity to rent another dress and receive a refund if the new dress I rented was cheaper (which it was). After panicking for a few hours, my mom found this dress for me. I was a little hesitant because i thought that it would be more fitted than I wanted it, but I decided to go with it I hope for the best (I had a backup dress as well). Let me tell you, when I put on this dress, I was IN LOVE! It was a little big on me (I probably should have gotten the 8) but I went out and bought a belt to cinch it in a little. I paired it with gold jewelry and black pumps (with purple glitter on the bottom- easy DIY project!) and was ready for a NYE out in DC! I received so many compliments and actually had guys notice me for the first time...ever! I don't get dressed up often since I work at a running store where the dress code is very casual so this was a nice change for me. I was so so so sad to return this dress and was on a hunt to find a similar dress. I found one online from Nordstrom and I am saving my money to purchase it. I would DEFINITELY rent this dress again (I want to rent it in the coral color too) and would DEFINITELY recommend it. I have always been very subconscious of my midsection but this dress conceals while still giving you a very flattering figure. Rent this dress now!!!!

SeasonJanuary 27, 2014
LOVE the shoes! How did you do them?
KatyJanuary 27, 2014
This was the tutorial that I sort of followed- happened to use the same color of glitter too! instead of painting an extra layer of mod podge at the end, I sprayed the glitter with 2 coats of Aleene's Spray Acrylic Sealer (Gloss Finish). http://blog.gojane.com/2012/12/11/how-to-glitter-sole-heels/
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 29, 2014
Easy and chic

I wore this to my rehearsal & rehearsal dinner. i liked the long sleeves for outdoor portion- winters in florida can be cold, too! i had both the 6 and 8, as I usually wear an 8(for my butt/hips) but followed the suggestions to size down and was glad of it. Vanity sizing is strange, my wedding dress was a 10! The zipper was not an easy one to zip, not sure if it had seen better days or was tricky because of the lace. Overall, I would def. rent from RTR again, I thought the experience was very nice and easy, especially around the franticness of wedding weekends. I liked the lining and fit much better on this dress than the pink lace one that I got as a backup. This one hints at your waistline, even though its not very fitted.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 141lbs
January 30, 2014
Sophisticated and Feminime

Loved this dress.... I wore it to a September wedding and had so many people compliment me. It has such elegance and sophistication but I felt so sexy. I ordered an 8 and 6 and wore the 6 - it runs slightly large because its supposed to be a shift dress. I wanted mine more fitted around the waist so the smaller 6 was perfect. Had I had broader shoulders, it may have been too tight.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 154lbs
February 2, 2014
Classic & Chic !

I wore this dress to a charity cocktail party (more business than party); it was both classic & chic. The color is more plum than eggplant but perfect for fall or winter. It is a great dress for a statement necklaces. Fit: It runs large. I went down a size. I was worried about the lace arms fitting in the smaller size but it wasn't too rigid or tight. It is a straight sheath dress so if you don't have curves, you may consider a belt to accentuate your waistline.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
February 2, 2014
Perfect for a winter wedding.

This dress was comfortable and stylish. I got lots of compliments. Was able to wear a regular bra. I got a size down for my backup because of the other reviews and ended up wearing the size down (8). I would love to own this dress. My only complaint is that when I lifted my arm it gapped in the back like in the picture I posted with the groom.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
February 14, 2014
The dress was gorgeous! TONS of compliments all wedding! Perfect dress for a daytime Fall wedding.

Color and lace sleeves were perfect. I ordered the size 4 & 6. 6 was too big. size 4 was too boxy in the waist so i ended up wearing a cute gold belt with it and pinned it on the inside. i would have ordered the size 2. I am a little bigger in my middle with a small chest and it was still too big for me in the waist with the size 4. Would order the dress again! Cute beige heels made it pop!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
February 24, 2014
Classy and comfy!

Beautiful color and fit. This was a perfect dress for a fall wedding. Got tons of compliments. It did run big.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 28, 2014
This dress was very ill fitting. I loved the lace, but it fit like a burlap sac.

Fits very large. Go down a size . . . I needed to go down two sizes.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 13, 2014
This was the perfect dress for my best friends wedding!

I loved this dress! It was so comfortable and easy to wear. I was 4 month pregnant at my best friends wedding and it fit amazingly! The length was a perfect length for the occasion and the color complimented the late october wedding!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
March 23, 2014
Nice dress, looks like photo

I normally wear a 4 or 6, but based on the other reviews, I got the 2 and the 4 and ended up wearing the 2. This dress looks like it does on the model - it's a little short but not too short, the color is a beautiful plum color, and the dress is lacy but has enough stretch that you can move your arms. I wore this with nude hose and nude pumps and it looked good. This dress isn't a dazzling head-turner, but it's a very nice dress, was comfortable, and I felt good in it, so I recommend it.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
March 26, 2014
Loved the color and it was great for a winter wedding!

I belted it with a gold sash. That helped give it shape, as it was pretty straight. I also rented the Kate Spade necklace, which was gorgeous. The dress is a little on the shorter side, but I made it work with all of the dancing.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Pear
March 28, 2014
The evening was a black-tie optional event and the dress fit in perfectly with the range of attire.

I would normally wear a size 12 but RTR suggested the 10 based on reviews. They were right the 10 fit perfectly and I received compliments all night. I WILL rent this one again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133lbs
March 31, 2014
Classy, yet sexy.

The dress is very classy and was perfect for the daytime party I attended in it. With the long sleeves and high neckline it is very classy but it is fitted closely enough and is pretty short (and I am not quite 5'4"), which adds some va va voom. I am always a 6 in Trina Turk and the 4 fit me great (the 6 would have worked too but I went with the 4) so it definitely runs large.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 31, 2014
Loved this dress!! Definitely recommend!

I wore this dress to a wedding in Toronto late March. The color is beautiful and the sleeves were just enough to feel covered and not be uncomfortable. Though it does run on the large side. I usually wear a size 6 and ended up wearing the four and havigna little room to spare. Would absolutely recommed this to anyone!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
April 3, 2014
Perfect Dress for a Late Fall/Early Spring Wedding

This dress was perfect for a wedding where I didn't want to have to wear a sweater or cardigan over a sleeveless dress. The sleeves were great, and the lace kept me from overheating on the dance floor. The length of the dress was perfect, and the fit was superb. The dress runs a little bit, so it kept it from hugging my curves which was ideal for this particular wedding. Everyone loved the dress and I got compliments all night- I'd definitely rent this again and would buy it if I could.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
April 8, 2014
Great fit, perfect for homecoming brunch!

I wore this dress to my friends fraternity's champagne brunch and it was a hit, lots of compliments and very comfortable to wear all day for homecoming! I ordered a 6 and 8 but ran a little large and the 6 had some extra room.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
April 25, 2014
Loved the color and lace

I rented this for a charity event. It ran a little big in my waist but it was still a great dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 30, 2014
Fit but no flair

This was a bit too big on me to be cute and fun for a friend's wedding. It would be a great option for a slightly more somber affair--something I might come back to for a work event, for instance. I wear anything between a 6 and 10 and the 6 was fine if not a tad big.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
May 4, 2014
Just ok

the color on this dress is beautiful. Just like the picture, but it really hung like a sack on me. the arms were a bit too long and it hit about 2 inches above the knee. It was not flattering on my apple figure. It ran large and was comfortable and easy but it wasn't special enough for me to wear. It is heavy for warm weather.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
May 15, 2014
This dress was great, perfect for an intimate wedding.

I'm glad I read the reviews for this dress - I love it, but my normal size (8) would have been HUGE. I ordered a 6 and a 4 and went with the 4. Got a lot of compliments and the dress was very comfortable!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 18, 2014
Perfect for a warm winter opening night at the theatre!

I added a belt around the waist since it was a little loose. Fit great on the arms.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 19, 2014
Absolutely gorgeous dress, incredibly comfortable and unique!

Definitely runs large! Listen to the other reviews by going a size down (or in my case two!). Looks great with nude pumps and a signature necklace.

See more reviews:
8 / 27

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×