Trina Turk

Portrait of Elegance Shift

$90 to buy
$328 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate date night dress? This Trina Turk lace shift will look amazing on you as you sip champagne and fall love with that new fling!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Synthetic Floral Lace. Three quarter length sleeves. Boat Neckline. Hidden back zipper. Straight skirt. Lined. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
1071 reviews
Fit
Large
(406)
True to Size
(567)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 17, 2012
Everyone wanted to know where I got my dress! I received soooo many compliments!
Dress is sexy, classy, and comfortable...the perfect combination! Overall dress fits true to size. The color is more purple than maroon, which I liked. I received compliments all night long! I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 17, 2012
Loved it!!!! Could not have been more appropriate for the wedding!
It did run large! However, I did not mind feeling like a size 2 for the day! This was a very comfortable and flattering dress! I paired it with a nude colored belt and heels! Loved it! The only downfall was the zipper did not work very well. I was a nervous wreck i was going to break the zipper when I had to put it on, but it all worked out!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
December 18, 2012
Cute dress - not too formal, great color for the holiday season.
I wore this dress for a office holiday party. It was perfect for the occasion - dressy, comfortable, and conservative yet fun. To be honest, I don't know that I would order it again, but only because it is too similar to something I would buy. I know that sounds silly, but I love RTR because it's where I can go to get a dress I would normally never own - a place to get to try something totally new and different. This dress, while beautiful, was almost too "me" :) Many people recommend a size down, and I agree. I would normally have gotten a 10 in this dress, but I got the 8 and it fit perfect. I bet even the 6 would have been ok. The sleeves are not too tight, and the lenght was perfect on me. Just a few inches above my knee. I added black tights, black shoes, and gold accessories. Sorry, I forgot to take a picture!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
December 18, 2012
Perfect, conservative but fun dress!
I rented this dress for my office holiday party and absolutely loved this dress! It was the perfect dress for the luncheon needing conservative attire and for going out to drinks afterwards. Complete strangers complimented me on this dress. It was very comfortable and was just a great dress which I wish I owned.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 19, 2012
Great dress for a holiday party!
Great for a formal work holiday party. Conservative enough for a work event, but still fun. Not too short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
December 19, 2012
Great Dancing Dress!
This dress fit very true to size. It was comfortable and kept me warm during a chilly December wedding. It was great to dance in and the color is beautiful. I would definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121lbs
December 20, 2012
It fit perfectly, and I got a ton of compliments!
I wore this to a fancy holiday party at a private club in downtown DC, and it definitely fit in - a classy holiday (or anytime really) dress. I felt very Kate Middleton-esque! It didn't fit funny or anything, actually it was perfect and I probably didn't need to wear spanx underneath, but I did anyway. Also, the scoop/boat neck covers your bra straps, so you can wear a regular bra with it. It was amazing, and I would love to buy this dress one day.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 20, 2012
I wore this dress to a party on Thanksgiving. It fit perfectly and was a hit!
The dress actually runs true to size, it does not look bulky like some shift dresses do. The color is a nice wine color and perfect for any fall/winter event. It can be dressed up with a bib necklace and heels!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
December 20, 2012
Beautiful Dress
Great dress! It was a little big in the waist, so I added a belt. I'm 5'9 and it was a little short on me, but not inappropriate. Great color, perfect for fall & winter and much prettier in person than on the website. Highly recommend and would rent again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
December 21, 2012
This dress was beyond perfect! Felt like a million bucks!
I was absolutely thrilled with this dress! Rented it for a date night out to a fancy dinner and to the ballet with my husband. I originally intended to order the size 8 and size 6 as a back up, but the 8 wasn't available for my date. I got the 6 and 10, and ended up wearing the 6, which was perfect! Generally, I wear an 8 or 10, so it does run a little large, depending on how you want it to fit. The lace was in perfect shape, and the whole process couldn't have been easier.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 21, 2012
Nice, basic dress
I rented this dress for a holiday dinner with friends and needed something I could wear from the office to the dinner. This dress fit the bill! It is classy and pretty and the color is great. The fit was flattering, but conservative. I would have ranked the dress with 5 stars, but it was just missing that something special. It was great, but not amazing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 68
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
December 23, 2012
OK
The dress is very comfortable and fit fine (other women might have gone with the smaller size, but it was a little too snug for my taste). It's a beautiful color. I probably just chose the wrong dress for the occasion. It was a little too "mother-of-the-bride" for me. Nothing bad, just more so-so than I'm used to with my rentals.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
December 24, 2012
Comfortable and a POP of stand out color.
I wore it to a show and dinner in NYC with my dad. super comfortable. the lace didnt itch or rub the wrong way. The length was perfect which I was a little concerned about. And it fit like a glove. I usually don't go towards "shifts" because they can look baggy but this one hugged in all the right places. Could be worn with nude or black heels. I went with black heels and black tights.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
December 24, 2012
Pretty color. Nice for conservative events.
Nice flattering fit. Beautiful color. Wasn't a wow dress, but it was appropriate for the very conservative event.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
December 25, 2012
SO EASY! so many compliments -- first time for RTR and will definitely use again!
Fits true to size, color exactly what expected -- read the reviews -- they are spot on!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
December 26, 2012
Beautiful dress, easy to rent and return. Love the two sizes!
This dress is beautiful and sophisticated and in great shape. I rented it for a Christmas Eve party and Mass. The shape of the dress is great, I didn't feel that it needed any sort of enhancement. The detailing on the lace is interesting without being overwhelming. The sleeves are perfect for any event in cooler temperatures and adds a little warmth without having to have a wrap or a cardigan. I would absolutely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
December 26, 2012
Lots of compliments!
I wore this to the office holiday party and it was a huge hit. I usually wear a size 6, but after reading the other reviews, I ordered a size 4 and it fit perfectly. It's also incredible comfortable which is key for me. I will definitely be renting this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
December 26, 2012
Pretty dress, but runs SO big.
The color and fabric were super gorgeous, but the dress was just way too large for me to wear. I normally wear a 4/6 and the 4 made me look like I was wearing a sack. If only I had gotten a size 2! Ended up not wearing the dress-- would have been perfect for my office holiday party otherwise. The length was great, not super conservative, but not super short which was important for someone as tall as me
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 27, 2012
Perfect for winter wedding
Good fit. Lined through body, but not arms. Might be a bit snug in the arms if larger. Classy, simple and could be dressed up with jewelry. Check color in others' reviews... it reads red/burgundy to purple depending on the light.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 28, 2012
Great dress for a holiday party!
Went with the 4, may have been able to go w/ a 2. Super comfy though cocktails, dinner, and even a little impromtu mini golf. Tons of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
December 28, 2012
Perfect for Fall Wedding
I loved this lace dress. It was in great condition and fit comfortably (I have a rather large chest). It was a little on the shorter side but not inappropriate.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 31, 2012
Loved this dress! So versatile and comfortable.
As other reviews suggest, this dress definitely runs big. I ordered the 0 and 2 and wore the 0. Usually my bust won't fit into a 0 dress but this left me with plenty of room. I wore it two nights in a row--once to a family dinner and another to a Christmas party--and tried it both belted and un-belted. Loved it both ways. Such a fun dress!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
January 2, 2013
I got so many compliments on this gorgeous dress!
The fit was almost perfect, although it did seem to bunch up awkwardly in the stomach area since it was baggy there. This created an illusion of a protruding belly in my opinion in some photos.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 2, 2013
Beautiful color for the winter
I wore this for our rehearsal dinner. I'm usually between a 6 and an 8 in dresses and the 6 was even a little big through the waist, so sizing down is a good idea. The dress was very comfortable and the color is a rich, gorgeous burgundy - perfect for fall and winter. Definitely one of my favorite rentals!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
January 2, 2013
Renting the dress couldn't have been easier or more fun. I felt so glamorous the entire evening.
RTR staff were very helpful throughout the entire process and I will definitely rent again! Overall the dress fit very well and true to size. However, I'm 5'11", and had it not been a fall wedding where black tights were appropriate, the dress would have been scandalously short!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 3, 2013
Gorgeous, rich looking color and flattering cut.
I ordered a 6 and a 4, but like many of the other reviewers, I wore the 4 to a holiday dinner. Lots of compliments. Another FTW from RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 3, 2013
Beautiful dress and everybody loved it!
I would rent this dress again. It was classy and beautiful, and I got several compliments on it. The length is classy, to an inch or two above the knee, and the lace is see-through on the sleeves only. The dress hugs the curves a little bit, enough to make it not shapeless.The 6 fit me okay, but bulged a little in the back, so I wore the 4 and it fit perfectly. I loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 6, 2013
Gorgeous dress! SO easy to order, came on time, great fit and quality!
I usually wear a 2 but after reading the reviews went with a 0 and I am so glad that I did! A 2 would have been way to big. The dress is flattering and I got a ton of compliments. I love the purple lace.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 6, 2013
Love this dress! Comfortable and very stylish. Great color. Perfect for a fall event.
It was slightly loose but it worked because I think a 2 would have been too tight and hard to sit down in for me. I loved this dress and got compliments on it all night. Highly recommend ordering Mystery Bling, too, because the necklace they sent was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
January 7, 2013
LOVED this Dress!!!
I am considering going out and buying this because I loved it so much! It runs true to size if not a little big, but is very flattering and the most beautiful plum color. Loved it!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 143lbs
January 7, 2013
The dress looked great and was perfect for a wedding in SoCal!
The lace is surprisingly not itchy like I thought it might be and the dress is a beautiful color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 8, 2013
photographs beautifully
This dress is super comfortable and easy to wear. It's more beautiful in photos than it is on the body, so if you'll be in lots of photos this is great for you! I wore mine with opaque blk tights and little booties which helped make it a bit more casual. It's neckline is really simple showing off your neck and collar bones. you don't need a necklace if you wear great earrings. And I got tons of compliments on the color.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 9, 2013
Too big.
This dress is very pretty, but for something conservative. I rented it for a NYE wedding and ended up not wearing either size because both were loose. I normally wear a 6 and could maybe even have worn a 0 or 2 in this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
January 10, 2013
Gorgeous eggplant color and an absolutely comfortable dress
I wore this dress to a wedding in Savannah, GA and loved it. I found that the size 6 was just a bit big on me, but it was not too much wear it looked like I was wearing a potato sack. I paired the dress with gold jewelry and mustard yellow heels. My husband loved the color and I felt so comfortable in this dress. I would totally buy this one and add it to my wardrobe.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
January 10, 2013
Great dress for any occasion!
I wore this to my engagement luncheon! it was a perfect dress..it wasn't as short as it look on the picture on me.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 11, 2013
Perfect dress for a fancy date night!
This dress was perfect for a formal dinner date with my husband. I typically wear a 4 and the 4 was a little big on me. I felt I could have worn the 2 and it would have hugged by body a little better. Other than that, the color was great and I received a ton of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 12, 2013
Everyone at the wedding loved the dress!It was absolutely perfect for the occasion. My man liked it!
The dress was great, you should be careful with the zipper. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 13, 2013
This dress was amazing in person, well made, great fit, and I felt like a million bucks in it!!!
I usually wear a 2 and this dress was a 2... was slightly loose but I'm not into skin tight clothes, if you like it tight order a size smaller. Great color in person! The lace was gorgeous in person and I felt amazing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 13, 2013
I see why this dress is so popular!
Such a pretty dress, modest - even though the length is on the shorter side. I wore this to a January wedding that was on a boat. The color was true to the picture (a red grape color). I loved the 3/4 length sleeve. The zipper was a little sensitive but never got caught on any of the lace. The size 10 fit my 36DD chest well but didn't fit around my waist as well as it looks on the model. The size 8 was too tight around my chest and was about 2 inches shorter, definitely wouldn't have worked for my height/age. The material stretched out throughout the evening, I noticed when I took the dress off that night that the backside was larger from sitting in the dress and was wider across the hips but not so baggy that it looked bad, just lost the "shift" shape. I can see why this dress is so popular!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
January 14, 2013
Loved trying something new!
Loved the color and the dress was beautiful in person. I did have a problem with the lining riding up on my legs and I kept having to pull it down under the lace while dancing. There was a faint smell of smoke in the garment bag but could never smell it on the actual dresses which was good. Pleasantly surprised the dress was not as short as expected.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
5 / 27

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×