Trina Turk

Portrait of Elegance Shift

$90 to buy
$328 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate date night dress? This Trina Turk lace shift will look amazing on you as you sip champagne and fall love with that new fling!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Synthetic Floral Lace. Three quarter length sleeves. Boat Neckline. Hidden back zipper. Straight skirt. Lined. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
1072 reviews
Fit
Large
(406)
True to Size
(568)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
January 10, 2013
Great dress for any occasion!

I wore this to my engagement luncheon! it was a perfect dress..it wasn't as short as it look on the picture on me.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 11, 2013
Perfect dress for a fancy date night!

This dress was perfect for a formal dinner date with my husband. I typically wear a 4 and the 4 was a little big on me. I felt I could have worn the 2 and it would have hugged by body a little better. Other than that, the color was great and I received a ton of compliments!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 18, 2013
didn't wear...

Cute dress but the fit is a little weird. My boyfriend told me it looked like a short, lacey bag.... dang. Definitely runs large. size down for sure.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
January 20, 2013
Way too large!

This was my first RTR dress, and so sorry to say it didn't fit! I got this dress for a friend's wedding, and I typically wear anywhere around a size 4, depending on the fit. The only size options they had for this were a 4 and 6, which is what I received. The 4 felt like a size 8. Length was great, modest but still fun, and it felt really comfortable, but you could tell it was too large by the extra fabric around the bust, arms and waist that no belt could help. So sad to return it for size issues. Go with a much smaller size than you usually would for this dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
January 23, 2013
Elegant, classy dress

I wore this dress for my husband and friend's birthday dinner. I love the neckline and the material. The zipper was hard to pull up and down so you will need assistance. Even if your arms are a little exposed by the material, it was very comfortable. I only wore tights because it was very cold outside. Had we been at a different place, I would definitely wear the dress without tights, since the hemline is at a perfect height. This dress also runs large. I usually wear a 6 because of my bust size, however I had some room to spare in the 4. The color is rich and gorgeous!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 27, 2013
Beautiful! Runs large

I meant to order this dress in a 2 and a 4 because I usually wear a 4 but a lot of the reviews said it runs big. I accidentally ended up ordering a 0 and I'm glad I did because the 0 fit perfectly. I didn't end up getting any pictures because I just wore it on a date with my hubby.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
January 27, 2013
So chic

I loved everything about this dress. I wore it for a fall wedding so the color was perfect. T is more of a purple than maroon but it was still beautiful. I went two sizes down and it was still roomy.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 27, 2013
The 6 was baggy and longer than I expected. Wish it had been sexier looking- looks better in photos

The 6 was baggy and longer than I expected. Wish it had been sexier looking- looks better in photos. Quality good.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 28, 2013
Comfortable but not Flattering

Rented 0 & 2; wore the size 2. Lacy pattern is beautiful but has no stretch. My husband took one look and said, that his grandma wanted her dress back right after the wedding. I am sad to say that I did not get 1 compliment all night. The dress was comfortable enough to wear to an indoor January wedding. I’m 5’1; the dress was about 1 1/5 inches above my knees. The color is duller in person than on the model. Size is slightly larger, so order a size down. If you’re searching for a safe conservative dress this would be it. I also recommend wearing a belt. It loose and just hangs there. I will not rent this dress again but I hope my review will get published this time for others to see.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 29, 2013
Loved it! Perfect winter dress

Runs a bit large, but great length for petite girls. The lace makes the dress look very expensive and was perfect for a date night out!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
January 29, 2013
This dress was AMAZING! Such a classy dress for a fall wedding - I wanted to keep it!

It ran a little big - and look a bit baggy so I would say size down - I had to pin the insides to give me a little shape. I did get so many compliments though!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
February 2, 2013
Great dress

Very comfortable, loved having sleeves in the winter!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 4, 2013
Great dress for a work event!

I rented this dress for a Gala event that I worked in January, which was perfect. I felt dressy enough but was able to run around and still be comfortable. The dress was a little big - I ended up wearing a black skinny belt to help cinch the waist area.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
February 13, 2013
It didn't get worn

I cant really see why this dress is so popular. It looked terrible on me. When I raised my arms, the whole thing gapped in the back - both sizes. It was too large in the waist so it made me look like I was wearing a sack. The lace was also a little uncomfortable. So, bummer. I was supposed to wear it on Valentine's Day tomorrow. Oh well.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 18, 2013
RTR was absolutely amazing! This was my first experience and I will definitely be doing it again!

This dress was great! The color was a deep plum and the lace was beautiful. The dress did run slightly large - I ordered the 4 and 6 - but still went with the 6 because it was a little longer. LOVED wearing the dress and can't wait to do RTR again soon!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 18, 2013
Great dress for a conservative event.

I rented this to be my boyfriend's date at a work event - I needed to look conservative and elegant and I thought this dress very much fit the bill. That being said, I'm quite petite and I could see that on a taller person this dress would be too short. I paired it with opaque black tights and black shoes, which I think also helped with keeping it conservative and appropriate. But I loved wearing this very comfortable and pretty dress. I wish I could keep it!

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 19, 2013
Classy and perfect for chilly date nights!

The dress runs large, and I ended up wearing the 0 over the 2. Also, it isn't very tight in the midsection, which I wasn't a fan of because it doesn't show off a small waist. However, the dress itself and the material is gorgeous. Looks very classy and sophisticated. I loved the lace sleeves. It could have been a little shorter, although I'm short so I usually need to wear very short dresses. I really recommend this dress!!! It was perfect for a Valentine's day date in the city.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147lbs
February 20, 2013
I absolutely loved this dress!!

I received many compliments while wearing it also. I also happened to see it on the TV show Arrow the following week! This dress is beautiful however it does run large so be sure to get a size down.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 26, 2014
I got so many compliments! LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress.

Fit is flawless! Hugs all the right places!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
February 22, 2013
I'll definitely be Renting the Runway again and again!

I rented this dress for a Valentine's Day Dinner Dance that my husband and I attended at our wedding reception venue. It was my first experience using RTR, and I am officially in love! I can't believe I didn't know about this sooner, but I have a feeling I will be Renting the Runway for many more events! The dress and necklace I rented arrived on my front stoop in it's cute little box, I slipped it on and was so relieved to see that the dress fit like a glove! I am currently right in between wearing a 12/14. Reading the reviews that the dress ran a little large, I opted for the 12 and it worked out great! What a beautiful, classic dress. I selected a tie for my husband to wear in a color called 'Rum Raisin' and it matched the dress perfectly. So if you are looking to match your dress, or wondering it's true color...that is how I would describe it. Awesome, easy experience. Beautiful, classic dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 24, 2012
Beautiful color - great dress!

I loved this dress so much it was very hard to return it. The color is fabulous, so bold. The lace is very nice as well and actually feels soft. The fit was a little large through the waste, but it didn't look unflattering. Wish I could keep this gem of a dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
February 10, 2013
Great dress!

Great dress very comfortable. Run pretty big, I probably could have gone down another size but having the room was comfortable. Got compliments all night!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 127lbs
February 25, 2013
Beautiful color.

Very appropriate for a family wedding. Would have loved a belt to give the waist more definition!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
February 26, 2013
Perfect for Winter Cocktail Party

The dress was perfect for an engagement party this winter. It didn't upstage the bride to be, but i did receive a number of compliments. I loved the dress so much i tried finding it online to buy.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
February 27, 2013
Great color and nice fit.

Definitely size down for this dress. Everyone is right about this. I liked the color of the dress and the length of it is good for a date.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
February 27, 2013
Still felt attractive at 8 months pregnant! :)

This dress is really cute and was perfect for a winter wedding. I did have a problem with the back snagging when I sat down, but it wasn't too bad or noticeable. I can't exactly say how true to size it fits, but as you can see, I was 8 months pregnant and could still fit in a 2, so it probably will fit pretty loose if you're not pregnant! :)

kristenFebruary 27, 2013
damn girl, you look fabulous! hope i look that good when preggers.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 3, 2013
LOVE THIS DRESS! I felt great wearing it and got a ton of compliments. Hooked on RTR for life!

I have recently lost weight after my baby and I was unsure of sizes. I ordered a 4 and 6 figuring I'd wear the 6, but the 4 fit perfectly and was even a little big in the shoulders. Overall a great fit though.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
March 4, 2013
Perfect for a chilly evening. Once again, RTR did not disappoint!

I wore this dress to a cold, evening wedding. It's the beginning of March, but not quite spring so the color worked perfectly. I ordered a 2 and a 4. I'm normally a 4, but because of the style and prior reviews, I went with a 2 and it fit perfectly. I didn't run too big, but a 6 would have been too much. I wore black panty hose and black heels, with pewter-colored jewelry. I felt so comfortable and stylish and warm! I loved it!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
March 4, 2013
This was the perfect, classy dress for my boyfriends fraternity formal!

The fit was great, I normally wear a 2 but went with the 0 because it fell a little bit shorter and the 2 was a little loose around my waist. The material was a little heavier than I expected but it worked out because it was a winter formal!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
March 5, 2013
Very pretty!

This was a great dress. It does run a little big. It's also quite short... I'm only 5'4" and if it had been any shorter on me I would not have felt comfortable at a wedding in it. I potentially could have worn the 4 to give me a little more room in the hips though so it would seem longer. I wanted it to be more fitted though, so that's why I'm mentioning how short it is. I wore this to an outdoor wedding ceremony and it worked out great. I got lots of compliments on it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
March 6, 2013
I liked it so much, I want to buy it!!!

It was great. Wore to a wedding. Very flattering. Got so many compliments-- even from the bride 3 months later when she was watching the video, called to say how pretty I looked!!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 11, 2013
Loved this dress!

This dress was so flattering. It does run a little big, but I could've worn either my normal size or the next size down. I got tons of compliments.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
March 13, 2013
The color was beautiful and I loved the lace detailing.

This dress was pretty true to fit except it was a little large in the stomach area. Everything else fit great. I don't like to wear short dresses so I really liked the length of this one.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
March 16, 2013
Gorgeous dress for conservative event like business meeting or dinner.

Dress ran a bit larger than I hoped.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
March 18, 2013
Runs very big, definitely order a size or two down!

I rented this dress for a wedding and was not able to wear it which was disappointing:( I ended up returning it b/c it just wasn't flattering. The dress runs large, so plan for a size smaller.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 20, 2013
I loved the dress and the whole renting experience.

Unfortunately, the dress was a size too big. I ordered a 2 (my normal size) and a 4 just to make sure I had one that fit but the 2 ended up being too big. I wish I had ordered a size down rather than a size up. It still worked but I would have liked it to be a little more fitted. I loved the color and the quality was great. I receive a ton of compliments on it.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 174lbs
March 20, 2013
Loved the Dress, Got Compliments all night about it

Colour was great, Loved it

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 21, 2013
This dress is great for an event where you want to look pretty but not sexy.

This dress runs LARGE. I know all the other commenters are saying that but please listen. You should order a size smaller than you usually wear and then size smaller than that as your back up. Seriously. Even if you are thinking, "there is no way I could ever be a zero, I usually am between a size 4 and 6", you will wear a zero in this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
March 22, 2013
Great lace dress!

This dress was beautiful. I ordered a size 2 and it fit for the most part but i like dresses that are alittle more fitted so I wasn't able to wear it for the shower. I would order a size down but the dress itself is beautiful.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 24, 2013
Beautiful color!

I loved the color and fabric of this dress! It is very comfortable and easy to wear. However, the dress is not very fitted and hangs loosely on your body. I recommend getting a smaller size as your backup.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
5 / 27

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×