Trina Turk

Portrait of Elegance Shift

$90 to buy
$328 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate date night dress? This Trina Turk lace shift will look amazing on you as you sip champagne and fall love with that new fling!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Synthetic Floral Lace. Three quarter length sleeves. Boat Neckline. Hidden back zipper. Straight skirt. Lined. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
1072 reviews
Fit
Large
(406)
True to Size
(568)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 29, 2012
Beautiful dress for a fall wedding
I wore this for a dressy fall wedding. It's great because it's warm, but the mid-section in the four was large. The arms fits perfectly as did the shoulders so it's hard to say whether a smaller size would have been better. Overall loved the color and dress!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
October 31, 2012
Little bit too boxy for me, but it may be because it was one size too big for me.
I usually wear a 2 and that's the only size this dress was available in, last minute, so that's what I got. The 2 was just a little too boxy. I wasn't looking for anything too form fitting but it didn't show any shape. When I lifted my arms, the wider part by my hips raised up and made the waist area look wider as well. So it wasn't my favorite fit and I went with another outfit, but the dress is very pretty and it's possible that I just needed one size smaller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
October 31, 2012
The compliments I received all night!
This dress was absolutely beautiful. This was my first time renting from Rent-the-Runway, and it definitely won't be my last. I had a Halloween weekend/fall wedding to go to and this dress was perfect. It was so easy to put on and extremely comfortable!. However, it's very conservative, so if your looking for a flashy dress this isn't it. The dress ran rather big and I would have liked to wear the 6. Unfortunately, I received a last minute email that the 6 was no longer available. The 8 was a little big, but I decided to wear it anyways! I usually have to wear a size up because I have a very large chest in comparison to my waist. I would definitely rent this dress again, and would recommend it to anyone. I wore nude heels and gold jewelry, which fit perfectly with the deep red color.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
November 2, 2012
NA
This dress just did not fit me well. I imagined it to be form fitting, instead it was loose throughout the entire body. Thankfully it was my backup dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
November 2, 2012
This saved me tons of time preparing for a last minute event!
Loved the dress - although I was one of 3 people wearing it at the wedding. On me it fit a little loose and I am usually a perfect 2 in Trina Turk. On the other girls it was more snug/fitted and I think it looked better. Would consider ordering size down. Otherwise perfect dress for formal affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 4, 2012
Never arrived.
I really wanted to wear this dress to the wedding I rented it for. I love love love the color and the style is so classic. However, due to the hurricane, my jewelry was processed and shipped, but the dresses didn't make it. RTR's customer service was really helpful and issued me a refund, but I wish I had gotten to wear this dress!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 148lbs
November 5, 2012
Even the bride complimented this dress!
I rented this for a friend's wedding at a winery in Northern California. I've recently lost a lot of weight, so I wasn't sure what size I would wear so I ordered a 10 and a 12. Due to Superstorm Sandy, only the 12 arrived. It fit nicely, but I would have liked to see how a 10 would fit. Still, I was so glad that my dress arrived on time! That really shows how organized and effective the RTR staff is. I received tons of compliments and the bride even said that she wanted to buy this dress. :) I would recommend that you wear a strapless bra with this -- my straps showed a little bit because the neckline is a little wide. Great dress, great service and I am looking forward to renting again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
November 5, 2012
My first RTR experience. Very impressed!
What a great dress! It was very comfortable and easy to accessorize. It was perfect for November wedding. I added black tights and wore black shoes. I ordered my usual size and it fit great. I could see how others review it as "runs large" but I prefer the looser fit.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
November 6, 2012
I got so many compliments on the dress!
I have a very similar dress in another color and this one fit true to size too. It was perfect for a fall wedding and not too short!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 7, 2012
Comfortable and pretty!
First, let me state that RTR has to be the most dedicated, awesome company. In the midst of a hurricane, which I FULLY comprehend after living through Katrina, they shipped me my dresses overnight airmail. I was headed out shopping 2 days prior to a destination wedding to look for a mother of the groom dress, and I received the email that my dresses were on the way! This company ROCKS! Having sang their praises, now let me critique this dress. I loved this dress. It was for the rehearsal supper, and I was so comfortable. The color is beautiful, not quite as red as the website portrays. It is more a wine/burgundy. Wore it with nude pumps. You can't go wrong with this dress. Thank you RTR for your customer service and great selection of dresses!
WilmaJuly 6, 2013
How do the sleeves fit? My upper arms are a little big, so I can't wear a slim sleeve. I'm wondering if there's room to wiggle or if the sleeves are slim and tight fitting. Thank you.
RTR CustomerJuly 19, 2013
Hi Wilma! This dress does have a little bit of stretch in the sleeves, not super form fitting! Highly recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
November 8, 2012
The dress and Rent the Runway made this normally dressed down Mom feel amazing
This dress is absolutely gorgeous! I ordered my usual size of 12 but got the 10 as a back up since most of the reviews said it ran large. I ended up wearing the 10 as it fit much better plus it's always a bonus to wear a dress smaller than you usually would. The lace did make the back a bit tough to zip up so you just have to be patient with it. Being on the chubby side I always dread events which require me to dress up I felt amazing in this dress and received tons of compliments.
DrewNovember 19, 2012
This dress looks gorgeous on you!
KimNovember 19, 2012
Thank you so much Drew! I felt like a celebrity wearing it :)
whitneyNovember 23, 2012
You look amazing, does the dress have any stretch, I'm a 38dd and I'm having trouble finding a dress.
KimNovember 29, 2012
Thanks! I don't remember there being a ton of stretch. While I think you'd be ok with the lining the lace is pretty thick so there isn't a whole lot of give in it. I just rented another lace type dress from RTR-a BCBG one that from what I've read in the reviews is a bit stretchier so you might want to give that one a look if you haven't already.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 10, 2012
Happy with my choice!
I ended up wearing a full size smaller than my usual size 4. However,bathe 2 was tight! Some reviewers say the dress was 2 sizes smaller than their usual size and that was not the case for me. I got many compliments and is the perfect color for fall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 11, 2012
Beautiful color and detail
I loved the color of this dress. I rented it for a rehearsal dinner but ended up wearing it for the bridal luncheon. Good if you are looking for something conservative. Even the 0 left me with some room. Overall very pretty dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2012
I loved this dress the instant I slipped it on. What a great first RTR experience!
The color of this dress is beautiful. People we're commenting on it all night. It did fit a little loose around my mid section, but I think that's just the way with pear shapes. I tried belting it, but it took away from the beautiful lace pattern. I'd recommend going sans belt. Overall I loved this dress and thought it was perfect for a fall North Carolina wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 14, 2012
Amazing customer service, perfect dress!
The dress was fantastic, beautiful lace and color. I usually wear a 4/6 in dresses and wore a 2 in this style. I have a longer torso so the dress fell around mid thigh, which I appreciated as showing a little leg was a nice contrast to how conservative the rest of the dress was. I felt comfrotable in it all night and everyone loved it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Body type: Petite
November 14, 2012
Perfect for a fall wedding!
Did a great job of hiding my 2 month postpartum figure, and large enough in the chest to accommodate my much-larger-than-normal bust (34E due to breastfeeding). Color was beautiful. Normally I wear a size 0 in clothes, so some areas including the hip area were a little large, but as long as I could hide the post baby figure, I was happy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 14, 2012
Classy
I wore this as my backup dress to a banquet dinner and received many compliments! A size 0 would have worked better, but I just belted the waist, and it looked great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
November 14, 2012
MY BOYFRIEND TOLD ME I LOOKED STUNNING!
The dress was amazing and the color was great for a fall event. I rented the dress for a rehearsal dinner and it was perfect for the occasion. Especially since we were at the church before hand since it was some what conservative. The zero fit good, but definitely left me with some room. Overall it was an amazing dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
November 15, 2012
Gorgeous color and comfortable fit!
Rented this dress for a triple dinner date at one of my favorite Italian restaurants. Read: maximum pasta consumption. Therefore, I was very pleased to find this dress wasn't too tight and left a little wiggle room. The long, lace sleeves were perfect for a seasonably warm fall evening and the length was just right. Would definitely consider purchasing this item!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 16, 2012
I LOVE this dress! It was perfect for the outdoor, fall wedding I attended. Got TONS of compliments!
I vary between a size 4 and 6 in dresses. I went with the 6 because I'm busty. I was a little worried it would be too tight up top, but it was just fine. On the model the color looks burgundy, but in person it's more of a plum color. Either way, it's an awesome dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 16, 2012
Beautiful dress for November event
I wore this dress to a cocktail-attire wedding reception on a Saturday evening in November. The dress is well-made and lovely - the color is more purple than burgundy. The 8 fit true to size - if concerned about size I would go one up, as it is a sheath and looks best a bit looser as opposed to super fitted. I would recommend this for a late fall or winter cocktail reception.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 17, 2012
I absolutely loved the details on the dress. It fit really well and liked the lace. I really like!
I would recommend for a wedding reception or cocktail party. Love it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 18, 2012
Such a great dress - classy and comfortable! Perfect for a wedding.
After reading previous reviews, I knew I would have to size down from my regular size, so instead of ordering a 6 and a 4, I ordered the 4 and a 2. I am so glad I did. The 4 fit, but because this is a shift, it really had no shape whatsoever and was not too flattering. The 2, on the other hand, fit like a glove, wasn't too short, and was incredibly comfortable; I didn't want to take it off at the end of the night! This is a gorgeous dress and I would definitely recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
November 19, 2012
I received so many compliments about this dress! Perfect for a fall/winter wedding!
I felt the fit was true to size but did add a black belt to accentuate my waist.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 19, 2012
Beautiful ,classy dress
I wore this to a baptism and it was perfect. The dress was really pretty a little more purple then the pic on the model, but not too bright. Im a little over 5'2 and was worried about the dress being a little too long but it was a few inches above the knee which was perfect. sorry for the bad picture but wanted to show how the length was for shorter girls like me... I agree with most of the reviews- it ran a little big so I would go one size down, not two like the other reviews..
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 19, 2012
I love this dress! It made me feel classic and elegant. I received compliments all night.
I wore the size 12, the size 10 fit but I felt more comfortable in the 12. The fit was great, very flattering. This dress was easy to accessorize and I love the rich color for fall/winter.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 19, 2012
Beautiful Lace Dress!
I ordered this dress as a back up dress, and I love it! I didn't end up wearing it to the wedding that I went too, BUT I will be renting for a future event. Very flattering cut, and just so classic looking!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 19, 2012
too big
I really liked the dress and wanted to wear it, but it was too large and looked like a bag. I rented the 0, so I don't recommend anyone who wears a 0 to rent this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 19, 2012
Great fit
This dress made me look great. A pair of spanks and my regular bra was all I needed to make it work. I wore it to my friends' wedding ceremony and it was a smash. I fit right in; it was an orthodox Jewish ceremony. A great purchase, I'm glad I got it. Plus, my husband loved it too!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 19, 2012
Finding the perfect dress for a fall wedding!
The dress fit perfect. I love the long sleeves. The lace was beautiful and the color was perfect for a late fall wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
November 21, 2012
This dress was amazing. I received so many compliments on it.
The dress fits large. I am a size 6 generally and wore the size 4 thanks to other reviewers comments. Even the size 4 was a little on the large size, but still looked amazing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
November 23, 2012
Beautiful dress, easy to wear
I normally wear a 12 but after reading the reviews that this dress runs large I ordered the 10 and it fit perfectly. I had no problems with the length and was very comfortable throughout the evening. The color is a bit darker than shown but is a beautiful color. My boyfriend loved it and I received lots of compliments.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
November 25, 2012
The color&lace are beautful! Felt sexy but yet sophisticated in this dress! Wish I could've kept it.
The fit ran a tad big which makes a girl feel good, right?!;) The only thing I didn't like about this dress is the fact that it "felt worn in." It was my 1st time RTR so I will try again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 25, 2012
Just ok.
I had problems with my original order not arriving, so a RTR stylist had to put together a last minute order and overnight it to me. One of the sizes in another dress I had ordered was not available, so he suggested this as a replacement. I had considered it when initially placing my order, so I agreed. It ran smaller than the other lace shift that I wore, and it was nice enough, but was just a little too blah. The color is more purple than I thought it would be, I expected it to look a little more maroon. It zips up the back, which is nice because it doesn't ruin your hair/make-up. I wish the lining had been nude instead of the same color as the dress. It was just ok, so I went with my other option.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
November 25, 2012
This was my first Rent the Runway experience and I can't wait to rent again!
Loved this dress and the color is perfect. I would say that the dress runs a little large as I am usually a 2. I would definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 25, 2012
Great color, great fit! This dress was elegant, unique, and even comfortable!
The dress ran a bit large, so I recommend ordering smaller than you normally would. Other than that, it was comfortable, but still figure flattering. Great length for a petite frame. Sleeves were gorgeous and not constricting at all on the dance floor! I would rent again in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 25, 2012
Too big!
The dress was very large and baggy, even in a 2. Ended up not wearing the dress.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 26, 2012
The color is gorgeous!
The dress fit me perfectly, although I triple spanx-ed it anyways to look slimmer. The color is rich and beautiful and the quality of the lace is very high. I got so many compliments on it!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
November 26, 2012
I was the only one in purple lace!
I loved the color of this dress, a perfect shade of purple. I thought the size was perfect. Loved the fabric. The sheer arms made it not feel too covered up. It was a super classy comfortable dress in a great color. Sorry for the poor quality iphone photos.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 26, 2012
I can't believe I didn't know about RTR before! I will absolutely use this website and dress again!
I loved this dress! I normally wear a size 4 but the 2 fit perfectly. The 4 was too loose in the stomach and I wanted it to be a little more form fitting (so the 2 was perfect.. thank goodness for two sizes!). The purple is a really pretty color, pretty true to picture. It is such a classy dress and was conservative enough for a wedding but also very flattering. I wore it with rose gold jewelry and nude heels for a November wedding. Great Dress :) Rent it! I will absolutely use this website again, they make the process so easy!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 27

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×