Trina Turk

Portrait of Elegance Shift

$90 to buy
$328 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate date night dress? This Trina Turk lace shift will look amazing on you as you sip champagne and fall love with that new fling!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Synthetic Floral Lace. Three quarter length sleeves. Boat Neckline. Hidden back zipper. Straight skirt. Lined. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
1072 reviews
Fit
Large
(406)
True to Size
(568)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 1, 2012
Great fall color.
Despite the reviews that warned this dress runs large, I was surprised at how roomy it is. It's more of a shift. So, it was fine that it wasn't snug. It definitely isn't my favorite dress I've rented. But it was great for a fall wedding. I paired it with black tights and black shoes. The sleeves were helpful for the outdoor ceremony. This dress is just okay, I would say.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
October 1, 2012
Pretty but needs a belt
Overall, I liked this dress. I wish I would have ordered a size down like the reviews recommended. The 4 was a little large and needed a belt to avoid looking like a lacy bag. The color was great and otherwise the dress was wonderful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
October 1, 2012
Beautiful, comfortable, classy!
I loved wearing this dress! It does run a large so I'd recommend getting a size down. It is a little baggy in the waist. This worried me since I have to use my hourglass figure for all it's worth, but it still looked great! I wore it to a live charity auction for work and even though I was running around like crazy the whole night I still felt amazing and was super comfortable! I got lots of compliments and basically became a salesperson for RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
October 3, 2012
Such a cute dress, and I love burgundy for fall!
The dress is so cute, but it definitely runs large! I ordered an 8 because it was the only size available (i'm usually a 6/8) and I think I could have worn a 4 or a 6. I ended up wearing it, but I wore a belt to cinch it in at the waist, which also made it a little shorter.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 7, 2012
Love this dress!! Highly recommend!
I wore this for my bridal shower and received a ton of complements. The color is a bit more purple than in the picture but it is a great color for Fall/Winter. The dress definitely runs large!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
October 8, 2012
Runs Very Large
I got this as a back up dress and went with a size 4. There were no reviews when I rented so I took a chance because I thought this would be perfect for a fall wedding. It runs so large. It looked like a bag on me. I probably needed the 2 or 0 for it to look like it does on the model.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 8, 2012
Awesome dress!!
Wore this to a wedding and loved wearing it! It was a beautiful color (more dark purple than maroon) and received so many compliments! It runs large, I usually wear a 2-4 and ended up wearing a 0 and there was still room.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
October 9, 2012
Loved this dress!!
This dress was amazing- I got so many compliments on it! I am normally a size 8, and the size 6 fit perfectly, so it definitely runs a little large. I was completely comfortable in it all night as well. I will definitely be renting it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
October 10, 2012
So comfortable AND beautiful!
I absolutely adored this dress! I got so many compliments on the color and design. It's definitely flattering with lots of room in the mid-section if you have a not-quite-flat stomach. I'd recommend some spanx just to get rid of any lumps or bumps. I went up to a size 12 for my chest, but if a 10 had been available, I think it would have fit better in the shoulder area. Overall - a great choice for the wedding I was attending!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
October 10, 2012
Pretty dress for Fall
Beautiful color, however runs very large. I am normally a 4, and ordered a 2 & 4. Ended up belting the 2, and probably could've easily worn a 0. Size wayyyy down! Long enough for a wedding, but hit a few inches above my knees.
RTR CustomerOctober 10, 2012
what color belt and shoes did you wear with it? the shoes look navy but I can't be sure.
AmandaOctober 10, 2012
Hi, the shoes are black. I wasn't expecting the dress to fit as loosely as it did, but I was able to find the belt after running to the mall. It is the exact same shade of burgundy as the dress (and only $3 from Forever21!)
JenniferOctober 10, 2012
Thanks for posting info on the belt. Im using this dress for my engagement shoot on Saturday... rushing to find a belt today.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
October 10, 2012
Absolutely loved this dress. I got so many compliments all night!
I am normally a size 4 but this dress ran a little big so I ended up wearing the size 2. It was short but not inappropriately short for a wedding. The detailing on the dress is gold so i paired it with the pearl and gold jewlery and a gold clutch. I loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 13, 2012
Gorgeous color, elegant
This dress definitely runs large. I typically wear a 2-4 in dresses, and rented the size 2. I didn't end up wearing it, it was my backup, but the 2 was large. If I had worn it, I would have belted it. Be sure to order a size down, at least for the backup. The style of the dress is lovely though, in a beautiful plum color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 15, 2012
Beautiful and classy.
I normally wear a 4 but ended up wearing the 2 because the 4 was a bit loose. The quality of the dress was very nice, the color gorgeous, and the detail of the lace was incredible. I felt very classy and got lots of compliments. It was perfect for the fall wedding I attended.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
October 15, 2012
Grogeous dress
This dress was gorgeous! The fabric was a good quality and laid perfecty. It was a bit large; i ordered a 4 & 6(my usual sizes) and wore the 4. I probably could have worn a 2, but the 4 looked great and was comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 16, 2012
Perfect for the event!
I normally wear a size 4 but that was wayyy too big, the 2 was perfect. Definitely size down! The lace as very pretty, the dress was more purple than burgundy like the picture shows but still very pretty. I'm 5'8" the length was appropriate but when raising your arms it does become a little short. I rented this for a "cocktail casual" event and it was perfect. Easy to dress up with pearls!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 19, 2012
Great dress, but runs large!
This dress is pretty, but runs very large. I usually wear a size 4 and I wish I had gotten a 0. It would be a great dress if it fit correctly!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124lbs
October 21, 2012
Gorgeous color and lace detail!
This was the perfect dress for a fall wedding - the color was stunning and the fit was perfect (in the size smaller than usual). Everyone loved this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 22, 2012
I was thrilled with my RTR experience! I would definitely rent again and recommend to friends.
I wore this dress to my friend's wedding last weekend. The surprise accessory (a Lee Angel necklace) was the perfect compliment to the Trina Turk dress. I received so many comments that night and felt great in the dress! The previous comments are true regarding the dress running a bit large.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 24, 2012
The perfect dress for a fall wedding in Napa!
I got so many compliments on this dress. Definitely wedding appropriate. The fit was a little loose on me (I don't have much of a shape to begin with though) but still really comfortable for dancing. I ended up throwing on a skinny belt with it to give myself more of a shape. The color was perfect and is the 'it' color this fall. I would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 25, 2012
Great dress, got so many compliments on it.
As mentioned it does run large so ordering a size down is definitely a good option. It's a very cute and classy option for a day-to-night look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
October 26, 2012
I loved this dress! It was a great color and perfect for a fall wedding
It seemed like it was just a little big for me in the waist/hips. I wish I would've ordered 2/4 instead of 4/6 but it was fine. The longer sleeves were great since it was pretty chilly and the color photographed beautifully! I also really loved the crystal Nicole Miller drop earrings that I got from the stylists. Went perfectly with the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
October 29, 2012
One of my favorite dresses all time!
I loved this dress! The fabric was gorgeous! It definitely runs large. I typically am between a 4 and 6, and wore the 4 with plenty of room to spare. I wish I would have had the 2 to try, but it was comfortable with no Spanx needed in the 4. The length fell right above the knee making it perfect for a fall wedding. Would definitely rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 29, 2012
Beautiful dress for a fall wedding
I wore this for a dressy fall wedding. It's great because it's warm, but the mid-section in the four was large. The arms fits perfectly as did the shoulders so it's hard to say whether a smaller size would have been better. Overall loved the color and dress!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
October 31, 2012
Little bit too boxy for me, but it may be because it was one size too big for me.
I usually wear a 2 and that's the only size this dress was available in, last minute, so that's what I got. The 2 was just a little too boxy. I wasn't looking for anything too form fitting but it didn't show any shape. When I lifted my arms, the wider part by my hips raised up and made the waist area look wider as well. So it wasn't my favorite fit and I went with another outfit, but the dress is very pretty and it's possible that I just needed one size smaller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
October 31, 2012
The compliments I received all night!
This dress was absolutely beautiful. This was my first time renting from Rent-the-Runway, and it definitely won't be my last. I had a Halloween weekend/fall wedding to go to and this dress was perfect. It was so easy to put on and extremely comfortable!. However, it's very conservative, so if your looking for a flashy dress this isn't it. The dress ran rather big and I would have liked to wear the 6. Unfortunately, I received a last minute email that the 6 was no longer available. The 8 was a little big, but I decided to wear it anyways! I usually have to wear a size up because I have a very large chest in comparison to my waist. I would definitely rent this dress again, and would recommend it to anyone. I wore nude heels and gold jewelry, which fit perfectly with the deep red color.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
November 2, 2012
NA
This dress just did not fit me well. I imagined it to be form fitting, instead it was loose throughout the entire body. Thankfully it was my backup dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
November 2, 2012
This saved me tons of time preparing for a last minute event!
Loved the dress - although I was one of 3 people wearing it at the wedding. On me it fit a little loose and I am usually a perfect 2 in Trina Turk. On the other girls it was more snug/fitted and I think it looked better. Would consider ordering size down. Otherwise perfect dress for formal affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Body type: Petite
November 8, 2012
The dress and Rent the Runway made this normally dressed down Mom feel amazing
This dress is absolutely gorgeous! I ordered my usual size of 12 but got the 10 as a back up since most of the reviews said it ran large. I ended up wearing the 10 as it fit much better plus it's always a bonus to wear a dress smaller than you usually would. The lace did make the back a bit tough to zip up so you just have to be patient with it. Being on the chubby side I always dread events which require me to dress up I felt amazing in this dress and received tons of compliments.
DrewNovember 8, 2012
This dress looks gorgeous on you!
KimNovember 8, 2012
Thank you so much Drew! I felt like a celebrity wearing it :)
whitneyNovember 8, 2012
You look amazing, does the dress have any stretch, I'm a 38dd and I'm having trouble finding a dress.
KimNovember 8, 2012
Thanks! I don't remember there being a ton of stretch. While I think you'd be ok with the lining the lace is pretty thick so there isn't a whole lot of give in it. I just rented another lace type dress from RTR-a BCBG one that from what I've read in the reviews is a bit stretchier so you might want to give that one a look if you haven't already.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 11, 2012
Beautiful color and detail
I loved the color of this dress. I rented it for a rehearsal dinner but ended up wearing it for the bridal luncheon. Good if you are looking for something conservative. Even the 0 left me with some room. Overall very pretty dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2012
I loved this dress the instant I slipped it on. What a great first RTR experience!
The color of this dress is beautiful. People we're commenting on it all night. It did fit a little loose around my mid section, but I think that's just the way with pear shapes. I tried belting it, but it took away from the beautiful lace pattern. I'd recommend going sans belt. Overall I loved this dress and thought it was perfect for a fall North Carolina wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 14, 2012
Amazing customer service, perfect dress!
The dress was fantastic, beautiful lace and color. I usually wear a 4/6 in dresses and wore a 2 in this style. I have a longer torso so the dress fell around mid thigh, which I appreciated as showing a little leg was a nice contrast to how conservative the rest of the dress was. I felt comfrotable in it all night and everyone loved it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 14, 2012
Classy
I wore this as my backup dress to a banquet dinner and received many compliments! A size 0 would have worked better, but I just belted the waist, and it looked great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
November 14, 2012
MY BOYFRIEND TOLD ME I LOOKED STUNNING!
The dress was amazing and the color was great for a fall event. I rented the dress for a rehearsal dinner and it was perfect for the occasion. Especially since we were at the church before hand since it was some what conservative. The zero fit good, but definitely left me with some room. Overall it was an amazing dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
November 15, 2012
Gorgeous color and comfortable fit!
Rented this dress for a triple dinner date at one of my favorite Italian restaurants. Read: maximum pasta consumption. Therefore, I was very pleased to find this dress wasn't too tight and left a little wiggle room. The long, lace sleeves were perfect for a seasonably warm fall evening and the length was just right. Would definitely consider purchasing this item!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 18, 2012
Such a great dress - classy and comfortable! Perfect for a wedding.
After reading previous reviews, I knew I would have to size down from my regular size, so instead of ordering a 6 and a 4, I ordered the 4 and a 2. I am so glad I did. The 4 fit, but because this is a shift, it really had no shape whatsoever and was not too flattering. The 2, on the other hand, fit like a glove, wasn't too short, and was incredibly comfortable; I didn't want to take it off at the end of the night! This is a gorgeous dress and I would definitely recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 19, 2012
Beautiful ,classy dress
I wore this to a baptism and it was perfect. The dress was really pretty a little more purple then the pic on the model, but not too bright. Im a little over 5'2 and was worried about the dress being a little too long but it was a few inches above the knee which was perfect. sorry for the bad picture but wanted to show how the length was for shorter girls like me... I agree with most of the reviews- it ran a little big so I would go one size down, not two like the other reviews..
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 19, 2012
too big
I really liked the dress and wanted to wear it, but it was too large and looked like a bag. I rented the 0, so I don't recommend anyone who wears a 0 to rent this dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 19, 2012
Finding the perfect dress for a fall wedding!
The dress fit perfect. I love the long sleeves. The lace was beautiful and the color was perfect for a late fall wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
November 21, 2012
This dress was amazing. I received so many compliments on it.
The dress fits large. I am a size 6 generally and wore the size 4 thanks to other reviewers comments. Even the size 4 was a little on the large size, but still looked amazing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
November 23, 2012
Beautiful dress, easy to wear
I normally wear a 12 but after reading the reviews that this dress runs large I ordered the 10 and it fit perfectly. I had no problems with the length and was very comfortable throughout the evening. The color is a bit darker than shown but is a beautiful color. My boyfriend loved it and I received lots of compliments.
See more reviews:
3 / 27

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×