Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Portrait of Elegance Shift

$65 rental
$328 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate date night dress? This Trina Turk lace shift will look amazing on you as you sip champagne and fall love with that new fling!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Synthetic Floral Lace. Three quarter length sleeves. Boat Neckline. Hidden back zipper. Straight skirt. Lined. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
1038 reviews
Fit
Large404
True to Size550
Small35
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
July 12, 2015
great color, classy
It's a little snug for size, I'd go up one.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
June 13, 2015
I got so many compliments on this dress!
I don't have too many curves, so I added a belt to help give me some shape. The overall fit was great, the length, color and sleeves were perfect for an October wedding in New Hampshire. This dress was so beautiful that my twin sister wants to rent it for a wedding she has this fall!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
June 4, 2015
Color was a bit darker than anticipated but cute!
Fit was as expected however, the image makes the color look more jewel-toned than the actual dress is. Actual dress has less sheen. Either way, I was pleased and the dress was perfect for my role as bridesmaid!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 2, 2015
Childhood friend's wedding.
This dress was amazing! It was so comfortable all night long. I got a 2 in my backup size and probably could have gotten away with it, but it was a little tight in the arms so I ended up wearing the size 4. The size 4 was a little big in the waist but it only made the dress even more comfortable for the evening. I wore it to one of my best friend's wedding. I got a lot of compliments on the dress and I definitely felt confident!! I was concerned that the sleeves would make the dress very warm but it was an outside wedding ceremony in the high-70's and I was very comfortable.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 20, 2015
I wore this dress for NYE, and it was perfect for the occasion and the weather.
This dress fit wonderfully! The cut is very flattering. The 6 and 4 both fit well, but the 4 hugged my curves a little better. I would definitely rent this one again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
May 15, 2015
Very cute but too short for me!
This dress was sexy and sophisticated but I am 5'10" and didn't end up wearing it because I felt it was too short to wear at a wedding. I definitely could bend over in this dress without my butt hanging out. I'm sure if you were 5'6" or shorter it would be a good length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 13, 2015
Beautiful dress!
Wore this for my engagement photos. LOVED this dress. Great color and fit. Only thing, it rode up when walking and sitting. Had to make sure my spanks weren't showing!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 131lbs
May 13, 2015
Perfect for a cocktail party or nice dinner. I got a TON of compliments on the dress!
I had originally rented another dress, but it was damaged, so the RTR team selected this for me and it was great! Gorgeous dress, I got a ton of compliments on it and it actually fit my pear-shaped body great! Surprisingly comfortable too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 13, 2015
Comfortable, great for travel
Not my first choice in color, but a great dress for travel. Worked with tights and boots and would have worked with bare legs and heels or flats. Travelled easily, no worries with this one. Worn in this photo with the Helmut Lang jacket also from RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 4, 2015
A gorgeous spring wedding!
I wore this to a spring wedding that was outdoors, so the sleeves helped me stay warm when it got chilly at night. The size 4 fit but was a little too short for me, so I ended up going with the 6 (which was a good thing because the food was amazing at the wedding). My only complaint is that the dress definitely was showing a little wear and tear, and the lining hung out the bottom of the dress. Other than that it was very comfortable and perfect for the occasion!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 29, 2015
Perfect for a work dinner.
Loved this. The color was great and it is stretchy fabric.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 28, 2015
Beautiful, Classy Dress!
I fluctuate between a size 0 and 2 in dresses, but went with the zero in this case as it was the better fit for me. Overall, I loved the dress - it was quality, fit well, wasn't too short even though I'm a bit taller, and was a beautiful color. I wore this for a non-profit gala event, but it would be perfect for a wedding, too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
April 26, 2015
Great dress especially for an early spring New England wedding!
The only reason this dress didn't get a 5 is because it runs a little short. I absolutely LOVE the sleeve and it was incredibly comfortable. It ran pretty true to size with my arms and bust, the part around the stomach could have been tighter but overall it was a fantastic fit! Would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 26, 2015
gorgeous color!
unfortunately it was a little longer and looser than I expected but I think it looked fine! I wore this to my high school's winter formal and many people liked it
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
April 26, 2015
Wore this for a friends wedding one month after my son was born.
I was unsure on my postpartum sizing but the reviews helped me pick this dress and it worked out great.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 25, 2015
Nice color, comfortable dress
Rented this for a March wedding not knowing what the weather would be like. Ended up being a warm day and this dress was not too thick like some other long sleeve dresses. Ordered a 2 and 4 and even the 2 seemed a little big but I couldn't have gone smaller in the arms.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
April 25, 2015
This dress was both beautiful and comfortable. I received so many compliments throughout the night!
The dress was a gorgeous rich plum color that the pictures don't do justice. I normally wear either a 6 or an 8 and opted for the larger size for the length. There was some wear along the zipper area but nothing that detracted from the overall look or fit. I received a ton of compliments and would totally rent this dress again!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
April 24, 2015
What a great dress! I got a ton of complements.
This was my first rental and it fit great. Can't wait for my next event as I want to rent it again
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 19, 2015
Nice dress but felt old in it
I rented this dress for a wine tasting event but with my body shape and bust size, I felt very matronly (for lack of a better word). I didn't end up wearing it. If I was taller and thinner, I'm sure it would have been much more appealing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 17, 2015
I rented for a spring wedding, but decidedly the color was too dark.
I usually wear a 2 and it was true to size- the 4 might be necessary for someone with a bigger chest, though. The arms were not tight at all, as is sometimes, for me, the case with dresses with sleeves. This dress looks great with a necklace similar to that in the picture, so I am happy I picked up that accessory. My only complaint is that I thought the color would be much more vibrant- it is much more of a duller color than the plum/purple it appears in the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
April 16, 2015
Pretty dress!
I originally ordered this dress in a size 4 and a size 6. It is not cut to highlight your waistline, so I wish I had had ordered a size 2. The size 4 worked, but did nothing for my figure. Otherwise the dress is beautiful!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 16, 2015
The dress was beautiful! Fit perfectly and was delivered quickly.
Fit: I got the two and the four, the two fit amazing. Pro: Loved the material and lace. Con: The arms run a little tight, it was slightly hard to throw my hands in the air whilst dancing... :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
April 12, 2015
Color didn't do much for me
This was my emergency back up after original order didn't fit and was not available in another size. I was worried bc the other dress ran so small that I ordered two sizes up in this one and it was a mistake. Dress was too big and didn't do anything for me. It was comfortable at least. This was my fault not RTR's and customer service came through with this one for me in a pinch. I didn't love the color of this either but the lace was pretty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 10, 2015
Beautiful dress! Tons of compliments!
Loved this dress! It was perfect for an evening wedding. I received a ton of compliments. I ordered the wrong back up size (opted for a size up to be safe, instead of a size down which I might have been able to wear), but it worked out okay! The dress runs true to size. The arms fit great - I was afraid they would be too tight but they weren't at all! LOVED the experience and can't wait to RTR again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
April 7, 2015
Great dress, really comfortable. A little wide at shoulders.
I was very comfortable in this dress. My niece had rented same exact dress for the rehearsal dinner the night before. Looked great on her and she is much taller and younger than I am.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 28, 2015
great dress for a wedding
fit is true to size, does bunch up slightly when you walk but is easy to smooth out for photos
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 25, 2015
Loved this dress, but was too short.
I ordered this dress for a wedding, and although it would have been perfect it was simply too short.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
March 18, 2015
The perfect dress!
I don't think I would have ever worn a '0', so this dress must run big. But the '0' fit perfectly. I was worried that the lace sleeves would be scratchy or tight, but they fit perfectly. The color was awesome and the length was enough that I didn't feel like I would flash anyone. It still showed a lot of leg and looked great with heels. I skipped a necklace (because of my president's badge) and wore some silver diamond earrings. It seriously was the best dress ever! Pardon the photos, after the banquet I realized I didn't get a "nice" photo of me and my family. Oh well! The ones I posted show off the beautiful lace hemline. Love it! I received so many compliments on this dress and how good I looked! It really made me feel fabulous.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
March 15, 2015
Perfect Dress!
This dress was exactly what I was looking for for my cousin's March Wedding. It was the right color. It had everything I was looking for. I loved the 3/4 sleeve for the chilly evening. I ordered a 4, which is what I thought I usually wear, but I went with the my extra size, the 2, for the wedding day. The 4 fit fine, but it was a little loose- more of a comfy look. The 2 was slimming and made me feel good, so I went with that one. The dress kept me warm on the hilly evening and wasn't hot at all! I was able to dance(and occasionally sit) for the whole evening! For my first RTR order, I'm in love! Can't wait for my next dress! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
March 10, 2015
Great dress for a winter wedding!
Super comfortable, color was great, loved it! My brother's wedding was at a Catholic church at the end of February, so I was looking for something with sleeves, with a conservative neckline, and that would hide my postpartum belly that is sticking around 9 months after my 2nd was born. This worked perfectly. The 10 was more form fitting but was a little shorter than my mom would have appreciated and would have taken a little more effort to zip. In an ideal world, the 12 wouldn't have been quite so loose in the middle section, but I was so comfortable the whole night, I can't really complain.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
March 2, 2015
I couldn't have been happier with this dress! Very happy with my first Rent the Runway experience!!
This dress fit perfectly and was super comfortable all night, even on the dance floor! The color was stunning and the details on the lace were so pretty. I got so many compliments on this dress and the jewelry I rented as well. Can't wait to rent another dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
February 25, 2015
this dress would be great to wear to a wedding,
dress fits true to size, i would definitely recommend this dress
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 22, 2015
Loved the presentation and how easy it was to return!
This was my first rent the runway experience and it was fantastic! The dress does run a little large. I probably could have worn a zero, but I like the slightly looser feel of the size two...perfect for eating a multi-course dinner!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 5, 2015
Nice
This dress is nice; but nothing spectacular. It was sent to me because the dress I rented was not available due to damage by the previous renter. This dress was nice, but was not appropriate for the event I had rented the other dress for. I would have never selected a boat neck style for myself as it is not flattering for my broad shoulders.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
January 22, 2015
Loved the color
Great dress. Not too form fitting.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
January 21, 2015
Engagement Photos
I received SO many compliments on my Engagement Photos! I absolutely LOVE this dress and would rent it in a heartbeat. I thought the fit was maybe slightly larger than average. I am usually a size 6 but wore a size 4. It was absolutely beautiful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
January 21, 2015
Lovely lace number, color is great
I wore this to a fall wedding and was pleased with this rental! The color is perfect - a very rich plum and was exactly as I expected. It's not the most special dress that I've rented, but very comfortable and looked great in photos.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
January 20, 2015
It worked perfectly for an evening event I had to go to.
For someone who is both pear-shaped and petite It was a little bit of a straighter fit than I usually go for. However, it was still flattering and not too tight on the hips. It was an appropriate length to stay somewhat conservative but not look frumpy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
January 20, 2015
Great for an early fall wedding!
The color,fabric, and style of the dress were perfect for a wedding in early september. The material is not very stretchy, so a second size is definitely recommended. The only issue I had was that when getting into the music on the dance floor, raising my arms up meant the dress shifted up as well to almost indecent heights.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 19, 2015
Great color and perfect fit!
Great deep purple color! I'm about 5'4" and it hit above my knees, so the length was great too. I was also really happy with the sleeves- usually long sleeves like this are snug or even impossible for me to wear, but I took a chance with this dress and they were perfect- not too tight but not baggy either. I ended up wearing spanx just to smooth everything out, but the material and lining were substantial enough that I probably didn't have to. Overall, another successful rental!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
3 / 26

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×