Trina Turk

Portrait of Elegance Shift

$90 to buy
$328 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate date night dress? This Trina Turk lace shift will look amazing on you as you sip champagne and fall love with that new fling!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Synthetic Floral Lace. Three quarter length sleeves. Boat Neckline. Hidden back zipper. Straight skirt. Lined. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
1073 reviews
Fit
Large
(406)
True to Size
(568)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
December 16, 2015
Great dress!! Very formal.

Runs a little small.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 175lbs
February 16, 2016
So easy!

Perfect fit, comfortable, stretchy material, not too short

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Age: 32
April 29, 2016
Great dress, perfect for an outdoor cocktail party!

I got the 8 with a 6 as a back-up. (BTW: they send you both at once, which I didn't realize!) I went with the 8 because it was snug in the hip area. The 6 would have fit everywhere else. Because I chose the 8, the length was longer (which I preferred!), the sleeves were looser (which kept me cool on a humid evening), the bust area was comfortable and not too tight, and the boatneck collar area was very loose. I felt the need to keep a close eye on my bra straps because of that, but was glad to wear a regular bra with the dress! It definitely has some wear and tear, the lining is slipping out below the lace, which I tried to include in the picture. It's an easy enough fix though with some minor adjusting. Also, the dresses are clearly industrially cleaned, out of the garment bag it smelled like old school Dial bar soap. So, rest assured, these things are clean!! I will definitely use RTR again. Trying to order the right size was a bit stressful as this was my first experience.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Age: 29
November 18, 2015
The dress fit perfect!

I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner and it fit perfectly! I received lots of compliments and the dress really fit me wonderfully. Definitely wanted to keep this dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 22, 2015
Loved the presentation and how easy it was to return!

This was my first rent the runway experience and it was fantastic! The dress does run a little large. I probably could have worn a zero, but I like the slightly looser feel of the size two...perfect for eating a multi-course dinner!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 13, 2015
Comfortable, great for travel

Not my first choice in color, but a great dress for travel. Worked with tights and boots and would have worked with bare legs and heels or flats. Travelled easily, no worries with this one. Worn in this photo with the Helmut Lang jacket also from RTR.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 11, 2015
I felt great in it! If a girl with hips says that about a shift dress, you know it's magical.

I can see why others said this dress runs large. It did have a little extra room in the torso, but the lace overlay fit perfectly across my hips. I typically go for silhouettes that flatter my pear shape, but was pleasantly surprised with how this dress looked and felt. Got compliments on it all night!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
October 13, 2015
Great dress, very comfortable to dance in!

I wore this dress to a wedding. I LOVED how it looked! So many compliments! I am usually a 6 but the 4 fit way better and I still had room to move. This was my first dress from RTR and I will definitely do it again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 130lbs
January 20, 2016
I got so many compliments all night. This dress was perfect for the evening.

I ordered the 4 and the 6, both fit, but the 4 was more form fitting. It wasn't tight, but hugged my body better. The dress was super comfortable as well and was easy to move in. I would highly recommend this dress for a formal or cocktail event.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 25, 2015
Loved this dress, but was too short.

I ordered this dress for a wedding, and although it would have been perfect it was simply too short.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 19, 2015
Nice dress but felt old in it

I rented this dress for a wine tasting event but with my body shape and bust size, I felt very matronly (for lack of a better word). I didn't end up wearing it. If I was taller and thinner, I'm sure it would have been much more appealing.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
October 18, 2015
Beautiful dress for fall wedding

Beautiful color and very comfortable. The dress definitely runs big, and is a bit short. I wore tights since it was cool out, and that made me more comfortable also. Popular dress though... 2 other girls had similar dresses at this wedding! (At least one other from RTR) This dress wasn't my first pick - RTR contacted me 3 days before my event saying my original dress was returned late or damaged. They rushed to get me something new, and only charged me the price of my original rental ($30). Great customer service as always.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 17, 2016
Classy and sexy

Dress fit great, I am pear shape so it fit great in the hips but was a little loose in the chest and waist. Not the dresses fault. Although the top of the dress at the neckline rolled down a little, no one else would have noticed but the lining showed over the top. Great deal for the money though.

Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 7, 2016
RTR was everything and more! I loved the dress and will be renting again for my next event!

I ordered my size plus a size bigger due to the material. I wore the size two and it fit perfectly! I received so many compliments! Thank you RTR!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
May 9, 2016
Great color and fit

Fit true to size and the color was great! The length was perfect for someone who does not love really short skirts. The sleeves were not tight at all.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
May 30, 2016
Pretty lace and beautiful color

This was a nice dress - runs true to size and comfy! The wedding I attended was outdoors and it was very humid so I was warm in the dress! I decided to put a sash around it because the sheath design was very loose in the waist and I felt it needed something. Recommend for a cooler event or for someone who likes a looser sheath style.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 2, 2015
I wish I could have bought it!

The picture does not do the dress justice. It is a dark deep burgundy/purple color. It was perfect for a November wedding because of the sleeves and the lace detail. Not a lot of stretch in the arms however. I did have to pull the dress down during the night as it is a bit on the short side and I am blessed with a little junk in the trunk!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
June 15, 2016
Winter Wedding

True to size. Perfect for winter wedding.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
July 16, 2016
Beautiful dress and color

This is the second time I've rented this dress and I love it! The color is so beautiful and the fit is great and easy to wear.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
August 30, 2016
Love love love this dress !

Great quality and color . Brighter in person than in the picture . Really hides all bumps . Very flattering dress .

Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 14, 2016
Beautiful color and lace

This dress was gorgeous!! Fit true to size. The lace is very beautiful and high end quality. I would rent this dress again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38G
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
October 30, 2016
Comfortable and classy A

I loved this dress however it was too short for me. It was comfortable, I love the dark purple 3/4 length sleeves and soft material. A little bit of stretch. I was worried about it being too short but when I saw the model was listed as 5'11'' and it came midway on her thigh, I assumed I would be fine since I'm 5'8''. It lies just two inches below my butt cheeks, so finally decided to give it to a friend with a similar build and is 5'4''.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
November 2, 2016
Office party

Wore to my office party which was a mix of semi formal to business casual, so a classy cocktail dress like this fit in well. The sleeves were great for a bit of modesty in light of the shorter length and very appropriate for an office gathering.

Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
February 14, 2018
Perfect fit

Thus dress was a perfect fit considering i was still carrying a bit of baby weight in the middle. The color was amazing! Perfect for a winter event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 4, 2012
Love the lace!

This dress is really beautiful in person! The lace sleeves add a sophisticated edge making this dress perfect for a slightly more conservative event. It had a little extra room throughout the mid-section, but it was almost more comfortable that way. Such a perfect style for Fall!

kd_ringSeptember 4, 2012
It looks really purple in your photo - is that the color or is it more oxblood / burgundy?
RTRSeptember 4, 2012
Hi! This dress is absolutely more burgundy than purple!
MeganSeptember 4, 2012
What color is this dress? It looks deep purple in this picture but burgundy in other pictures. Thank you!
RTR CustomerSeptember 4, 2012
Hi Megan! This dress is burgundy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
September 10, 2012
amazing first rental!

I normally wear size 6-8 so I am glad I listened to the other reviews and sized down - the 4 fit perfectly! Though it was by no means tight, it was snug enough that it didn't look like a muumuu. The dress was classic, beautiful, and comfy - I received so many compliments! I would definitely recommend renting this dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
September 13, 2012
Conservative, pretty dress. Lovely lace.

It's true, this dress runs large. I'm a zero with a small chest and would ideally need a 00 or a 000 in this dress... disappointing! Especially as I own a couple of Trina Turk dresses in size 2 that fit quite snuggly. But, if you can size down, it's lovely quality, the color is interesting without being wild. It is more purple-y in person than I was expecting, which is a good thing. I'm wearing it tomorrow to a conservative, formal, evening work event, and will fit the bill for that, especially in the baggy size! Oy. But it seemed like the best, freshest option of the lace. long-sleeve dresses available. Not at all short either. It trends frumpy, but looks great with my high, black platform pumps as styled on the RTR model, and a little younger too if you add in good, modern, large-scale jewelry. A young-ish woman in the front row at the DNC during Obama's speech was wearing a similar dress!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 14, 2012
Beautiful color and lace!

I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner. I can't rave enough about the lace and color. Both were so rich. At first, I was afraid I would be scratching my arms raw, but the lace was actually very soft. The dress runs large, although I am not familiar with the sizing of this designer. I usually fit great in most of the 2's I order from the site, but this one was quite big on me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 16, 2012
Unable to wear for the event, but process was fun!

Was more appropriate for a work dress than a wedding. Looked old fashion on me which could be due to the size. I rented a 6 and 4. Both were too large for what I was looking for. Much longer on. The dress was also more of an eggplant than cranberry color

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 18, 2012
Beautiful dress! Perfect for a fall wedding/occasion!

Definitely runs large; I wore a 4 and I almost always wear a 6, but the 4 fit great. Very 'forgiving' in the midsection, and a modest length.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
September 19, 2012
Loved it!

I wore this dress for an engagment party that I was hosting. I was looking for a fun dress that was on the more conservative side, and this one fit the bill. After reading the reviews, I rented sizes 0 and 2, anticipating that I would wear the size 2. I typically wear anything from a 2-6, depending on the designer and type of dress. It fit very well as a shift dress. I loved the color and sleeves. The length was a little long for my preference, but perfect for the occasion. I have never worn Trina Turk before, but would rent her again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 19, 2012
Cute but ultra conservative

I love dthe feel of this dress and it def runs large ( I wore it in a zero with room to spare) the only problem was that for my taste it was too conservative for the fun and flirty cocktail party. It would be perfect for a political event though. I didnt end up wearing it but it did fit and was in perfect condition.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 19, 2012
Did not end up wearing - the dress was too large

I rented this dress for a rehearsal dinner and did not end up wearing it. The dress was entirely too big and not flattering. The lace, in my opinion, also lacks a bit in quality

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 20, 2012
Perfect fall wedding dress!

The dress was really comfortable, which was unexpected for lace. I wore it to a wedding and received lots of compliments. The color is more of a deep purple than the dark red shown on the model. I wore my regular size with my dress, but would suggest getting your second dress a size down. The fit is loose, but still flattering. I really liked it.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131lbs
September 25, 2012
beautiful colour. pretty sleeves. lovely yet comfortable lace detail

I'd read that this dress ran large, so I went with the 2 rather than my regular 4. I felt fine in it and could move. I felt great, this was my first rental and it was awesome to wear something so pretty. I think it has a classy, beautiful feel rather than a conservative one.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 25, 2012
Classy Dress

I rented this dress as a backup for a wedding but I didn't end up wearing it because the original one I rented fit me better. This is a classy and formal dress but it was kind of big around the waist area. I just felt like I would have needed to cinch it with a belt or something. Pretty dress, just not fitted enough for what I was looking for.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 26, 2012
Elegant and classy

I did a last-minute rental for a family celebration (bar mitzvah) -- I needed something classy, modest, and appropriate for a morning service and late-afternoon/evening party. This dress fit the bill, but the only size available was 2. I think I would have gone smaller if possible -- the fit was fairly roomy throughout the torso and hips. Nonetheless, I felt appropriately and festively dressed for an early-autumn occasion in this deep burgundy color. The lace has a lovely, intricate pattern, and though it did appear a bit worn (fuzzy/a few threads poking out) in places, it wasn't noticeable enough to cheapen the overall look.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 28, 2012
The color was perfect for fall and the sleeves really added some elegance.

The dress definitely ran a little large. I usually wear a 4 or a 6 but went down to a 0, which fit nicely. The dress isn't tight around the stomach but it isn't baggy either. The sleeves were awesome and the color was perfect (a really pretty dark purple -- it looks more maroon in the picture than it actually is). I wore it to a black tie wedding and fit right in, although I think it would also work for a less dressy affair. The dress was 2" shorter than average, which was perfect for me at 5' but really tall girls might want to measure to make sure it isn't too short. I wore the Nicole Miller Southern Plantation earrings, which really added some bling. The dress really needs some accessories -- either a big necklace or earrings.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
September 30, 2012
Loved it! Have Rented it twice!

Wore the dress to a fall wedding and got lots of compliments! Comfortable fit, definitely for cooler weather though. The length was perfect for my height or someone one or two inches taller. If I was any shorter it would've have looked too conservative. The color was true to the pictures. Also, RTR was great about getting it to me in the morning so that I could be ready to leave for the afternoon wedding!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 1, 2012
Great fall color.

Despite the reviews that warned this dress runs large, I was surprised at how roomy it is. It's more of a shift. So, it was fine that it wasn't snug. It definitely isn't my favorite dress I've rented. But it was great for a fall wedding. I paired it with black tights and black shoes. The sleeves were helpful for the outdoor ceremony. This dress is just okay, I would say.

See more reviews:
2 / 27

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×