Portrait of Elegance Shift

$90 to buy
$328 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate date night dress? This Trina Turk lace shift will look amazing on you as you sip champagne and fall love with that new fling!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Synthetic Floral Lace. Three quarter length sleeves. Boat Neckline. Hidden back zipper. Straight skirt. Lined. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
1071 reviews
Fit
Large
(406)
True to Size
(567)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 16, 2012
Perfect for the event!
I normally wear a size 4 but that was wayyy too big, the 2 was perfect. Definitely size down! The lace as very pretty, the dress was more purple than burgundy like the picture shows but still very pretty. I'm 5'8" the length was appropriate but when raising your arms it does become a little short. I rented this for a "cocktail casual" event and it was perfect. Easy to dress up with pearls!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 19, 2012
Great dress, but runs large!
This dress is pretty, but runs very large. I usually wear a size 4 and I wish I had gotten a 0. It would be a great dress if it fit correctly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
October 20, 2012
Great shift dress for Fall!
Love the color and style of this dress but I didn't wear it because it was just a little too straight for my taste and body type. I love shift dresses on other people but they never end up working for me, I like something that eccentuates my waist more because I have bigger hips. I think these look best on thin straight body types, rather than my curvier figure.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124lbs
October 21, 2012
Gorgeous color and lace detail!
This was the perfect dress for a fall wedding - the color was stunning and the fit was perfect (in the size smaller than usual). Everyone loved this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
October 22, 2012
Great Dress!
This dress is perfect! It fits very well and is comfortable as well! The color is much more regal purple than the wine shade suggested.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 22, 2012
I was thrilled with my RTR experience! I would definitely rent again and recommend to friends.
I wore this dress to my friend's wedding last weekend. The surprise accessory (a Lee Angel necklace) was the perfect compliment to the Trina Turk dress. I received so many comments that night and felt great in the dress! The previous comments are true regarding the dress running a bit large.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
October 22, 2012
The dress perfectly matched the tie my boyfriend had picked to wear to the wedding. :)
I love love love this dress! I rented it for an October wedding in Southern California and it was perfect for the occasion. The dark purple color (definitely more deep plum and not maroon as it appears in the model pic) was great for fall and the sleeves made it feel less summery, but I wasn't overly hot as we sat in the sun for the ceremony. It was a great length too - I am on the taller side, and I always worry about dresses being too short, but this was perfect. The dress ran true to size.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 22, 2012
Great fit, and got so many compliments on this awesome dress
Fits true to size, I usually wear 2-4 and this fit well. Loved it.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 24, 2012
The perfect dress for a fall wedding in Napa!
I got so many compliments on this dress. Definitely wedding appropriate. The fit was a little loose on me (I don't have much of a shape to begin with though) but still really comfortable for dancing. I ended up throwing on a skinny belt with it to give myself more of a shape. The color was perfect and is the 'it' color this fall. I would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 24, 2012
The dress was perfection!
When I slipped on the dress I was beyond thrilled. The reviews indicated it runs big so I ordered down and I ending up wearing the smaller size. I'm 5'6", 130 pounds, 34A. The fit was longer than I expected, but perfect for a wedding. Without spanx the 2 fit nicely but with it the 0 was the better fit. The color is true to the site's picture.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 25, 2012
Great dress, got so many compliments on it.
As mentioned it does run large so ordering a size down is definitely a good option. It's a very cute and classy option for a day-to-night look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
October 26, 2012
I loved this dress! It was a great color and perfect for a fall wedding
It seemed like it was just a little big for me in the waist/hips. I wish I would've ordered 2/4 instead of 4/6 but it was fine. The longer sleeves were great since it was pretty chilly and the color photographed beautifully! I also really loved the crystal Nicole Miller drop earrings that I got from the stylists. Went perfectly with the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 63
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
October 27, 2012
Mother of the groom
Very classy dress. I needed the size 8 for full bust, normally wear a 6.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
October 29, 2012
One of my favorite dresses all time!
I loved this dress! The fabric was gorgeous! It definitely runs large. I typically am between a 4 and 6, and wore the 4 with plenty of room to spare. I wish I would have had the 2 to try, but it was comfortable with no Spanx needed in the 4. The length fell right above the knee making it perfect for a fall wedding. Would definitely rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 29, 2012
Beautiful dress for a fall wedding
I wore this for a dressy fall wedding. It's great because it's warm, but the mid-section in the four was large. The arms fits perfectly as did the shoulders so it's hard to say whether a smaller size would have been better. Overall loved the color and dress!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
October 31, 2012
Little bit too boxy for me, but it may be because it was one size too big for me.
I usually wear a 2 and that's the only size this dress was available in, last minute, so that's what I got. The 2 was just a little too boxy. I wasn't looking for anything too form fitting but it didn't show any shape. When I lifted my arms, the wider part by my hips raised up and made the waist area look wider as well. So it wasn't my favorite fit and I went with another outfit, but the dress is very pretty and it's possible that I just needed one size smaller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
October 31, 2012
The compliments I received all night!
This dress was absolutely beautiful. This was my first time renting from Rent-the-Runway, and it definitely won't be my last. I had a Halloween weekend/fall wedding to go to and this dress was perfect. It was so easy to put on and extremely comfortable!. However, it's very conservative, so if your looking for a flashy dress this isn't it. The dress ran rather big and I would have liked to wear the 6. Unfortunately, I received a last minute email that the 6 was no longer available. The 8 was a little big, but I decided to wear it anyways! I usually have to wear a size up because I have a very large chest in comparison to my waist. I would definitely rent this dress again, and would recommend it to anyone. I wore nude heels and gold jewelry, which fit perfectly with the deep red color.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
November 2, 2012
NA
This dress just did not fit me well. I imagined it to be form fitting, instead it was loose throughout the entire body. Thankfully it was my backup dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
November 2, 2012
This saved me tons of time preparing for a last minute event!
Loved the dress - although I was one of 3 people wearing it at the wedding. On me it fit a little loose and I am usually a perfect 2 in Trina Turk. On the other girls it was more snug/fitted and I think it looked better. Would consider ordering size down. Otherwise perfect dress for formal affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 4, 2012
Never arrived.
I really wanted to wear this dress to the wedding I rented it for. I love love love the color and the style is so classic. However, due to the hurricane, my jewelry was processed and shipped, but the dresses didn't make it. RTR's customer service was really helpful and issued me a refund, but I wish I had gotten to wear this dress!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 148lbs
November 5, 2012
Even the bride complimented this dress!
I rented this for a friend's wedding at a winery in Northern California. I've recently lost a lot of weight, so I wasn't sure what size I would wear so I ordered a 10 and a 12. Due to Superstorm Sandy, only the 12 arrived. It fit nicely, but I would have liked to see how a 10 would fit. Still, I was so glad that my dress arrived on time! That really shows how organized and effective the RTR staff is. I received tons of compliments and the bride even said that she wanted to buy this dress. :) I would recommend that you wear a strapless bra with this -- my straps showed a little bit because the neckline is a little wide. Great dress, great service and I am looking forward to renting again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 5, 2012
My first RTR experience. Very impressed!
What a great dress! It was very comfortable and easy to accessorize. It was perfect for November wedding. I added black tights and wore black shoes. I ordered my usual size and it fit great. I could see how others review it as "runs large" but I prefer the looser fit.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
November 6, 2012
I got so many compliments on the dress!
I have a very similar dress in another color and this one fit true to size too. It was perfect for a fall wedding and not too short!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 7, 2012
Comfortable and pretty!
First, let me state that RTR has to be the most dedicated, awesome company. In the midst of a hurricane, which I FULLY comprehend after living through Katrina, they shipped me my dresses overnight airmail. I was headed out shopping 2 days prior to a destination wedding to look for a mother of the groom dress, and I received the email that my dresses were on the way! This company ROCKS! Having sang their praises, now let me critique this dress. I loved this dress. It was for the rehearsal supper, and I was so comfortable. The color is beautiful, not quite as red as the website portrays. It is more a wine/burgundy. Wore it with nude pumps. You can't go wrong with this dress. Thank you RTR for your customer service and great selection of dresses!
WilmaJuly 6, 2013
How do the sleeves fit? My upper arms are a little big, so I can't wear a slim sleeve. I'm wondering if there's room to wiggle or if the sleeves are slim and tight fitting. Thank you.
RTR CustomerJuly 19, 2013
Hi Wilma! This dress does have a little bit of stretch in the sleeves, not super form fitting! Highly recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
November 8, 2012
The dress and Rent the Runway made this normally dressed down Mom feel amazing
This dress is absolutely gorgeous! I ordered my usual size of 12 but got the 10 as a back up since most of the reviews said it ran large. I ended up wearing the 10 as it fit much better plus it's always a bonus to wear a dress smaller than you usually would. The lace did make the back a bit tough to zip up so you just have to be patient with it. Being on the chubby side I always dread events which require me to dress up I felt amazing in this dress and received tons of compliments.
DrewNovember 19, 2012
This dress looks gorgeous on you!
KimNovember 19, 2012
Thank you so much Drew! I felt like a celebrity wearing it :)
whitneyNovember 23, 2012
You look amazing, does the dress have any stretch, I'm a 38dd and I'm having trouble finding a dress.
KimNovember 29, 2012
Thanks! I don't remember there being a ton of stretch. While I think you'd be ok with the lining the lace is pretty thick so there isn't a whole lot of give in it. I just rented another lace type dress from RTR-a BCBG one that from what I've read in the reviews is a bit stretchier so you might want to give that one a look if you haven't already.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 10, 2012
Happy with my choice!
I ended up wearing a full size smaller than my usual size 4. However,bathe 2 was tight! Some reviewers say the dress was 2 sizes smaller than their usual size and that was not the case for me. I got many compliments and is the perfect color for fall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 11, 2012
Beautiful color and detail
I loved the color of this dress. I rented it for a rehearsal dinner but ended up wearing it for the bridal luncheon. Good if you are looking for something conservative. Even the 0 left me with some room. Overall very pretty dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2012
I loved this dress the instant I slipped it on. What a great first RTR experience!
The color of this dress is beautiful. People we're commenting on it all night. It did fit a little loose around my mid section, but I think that's just the way with pear shapes. I tried belting it, but it took away from the beautiful lace pattern. I'd recommend going sans belt. Overall I loved this dress and thought it was perfect for a fall North Carolina wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 14, 2012
Amazing customer service, perfect dress!
The dress was fantastic, beautiful lace and color. I usually wear a 4/6 in dresses and wore a 2 in this style. I have a longer torso so the dress fell around mid thigh, which I appreciated as showing a little leg was a nice contrast to how conservative the rest of the dress was. I felt comfrotable in it all night and everyone loved it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Body type: Petite
November 14, 2012
Perfect for a fall wedding!
Did a great job of hiding my 2 month postpartum figure, and large enough in the chest to accommodate my much-larger-than-normal bust (34E due to breastfeeding). Color was beautiful. Normally I wear a size 0 in clothes, so some areas including the hip area were a little large, but as long as I could hide the post baby figure, I was happy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 14, 2012
Classy
I wore this as my backup dress to a banquet dinner and received many compliments! A size 0 would have worked better, but I just belted the waist, and it looked great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
November 14, 2012
MY BOYFRIEND TOLD ME I LOOKED STUNNING!
The dress was amazing and the color was great for a fall event. I rented the dress for a rehearsal dinner and it was perfect for the occasion. Especially since we were at the church before hand since it was some what conservative. The zero fit good, but definitely left me with some room. Overall it was an amazing dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
November 15, 2012
Gorgeous color and comfortable fit!
Rented this dress for a triple dinner date at one of my favorite Italian restaurants. Read: maximum pasta consumption. Therefore, I was very pleased to find this dress wasn't too tight and left a little wiggle room. The long, lace sleeves were perfect for a seasonably warm fall evening and the length was just right. Would definitely consider purchasing this item!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 16, 2012
I LOVE this dress! It was perfect for the outdoor, fall wedding I attended. Got TONS of compliments!
I vary between a size 4 and 6 in dresses. I went with the 6 because I'm busty. I was a little worried it would be too tight up top, but it was just fine. On the model the color looks burgundy, but in person it's more of a plum color. Either way, it's an awesome dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 16, 2012
Beautiful dress for November event
I wore this dress to a cocktail-attire wedding reception on a Saturday evening in November. The dress is well-made and lovely - the color is more purple than burgundy. The 8 fit true to size - if concerned about size I would go one up, as it is a sheath and looks best a bit looser as opposed to super fitted. I would recommend this for a late fall or winter cocktail reception.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 17, 2012
I absolutely loved the details on the dress. It fit really well and liked the lace. I really like!
I would recommend for a wedding reception or cocktail party. Love it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 18, 2012
Such a great dress - classy and comfortable! Perfect for a wedding.
After reading previous reviews, I knew I would have to size down from my regular size, so instead of ordering a 6 and a 4, I ordered the 4 and a 2. I am so glad I did. The 4 fit, but because this is a shift, it really had no shape whatsoever and was not too flattering. The 2, on the other hand, fit like a glove, wasn't too short, and was incredibly comfortable; I didn't want to take it off at the end of the night! This is a gorgeous dress and I would definitely recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
November 19, 2012
I received so many compliments about this dress! Perfect for a fall/winter wedding!
I felt the fit was true to size but did add a black belt to accentuate my waist.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 19, 2012
Beautiful ,classy dress
I wore this to a baptism and it was perfect. The dress was really pretty a little more purple then the pic on the model, but not too bright. Im a little over 5'2 and was worried about the dress being a little too long but it was a few inches above the knee which was perfect. sorry for the bad picture but wanted to show how the length was for shorter girls like me... I agree with most of the reviews- it ran a little big so I would go one size down, not two like the other reviews..
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 19, 2012
I love this dress! It made me feel classic and elegant. I received compliments all night.
I wore the size 12, the size 10 fit but I felt more comfortable in the 12. The fit was great, very flattering. This dress was easy to accessorize and I love the rich color for fall/winter.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 27

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×