Portrait of Elegance Shift

$65 rental
$328 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate date night dress? This Trina Turk lace shift will look amazing on you as you sip champagne and fall love with that new fling!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Synthetic Floral Lace. Three quarter length sleeves. Boat Neckline. Hidden back zipper. Straight skirt. Lined. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
1039 reviews
Fit
Large405
True to Size550
Small35
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 7, 2014
Gorgeous! So many compliments!
Absolutely wonderful. Fit great and had some stretch so you didn't feel like you were going to die of a lace overdose. Felt wonderful and I never got too hot. Perfect for the wedding I attended. Wish I could had kept it in my closet forever.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
January 6, 2014
So many compliments from strangers!!
Both size 0 and 2 fit me, but I found 2 more comfortable. The length of the dress was a little short for me, personally. But overall, it was such a beautiful, high-quality dress. I got so many compliments from random strangers about my dress. A great first RTR experience!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 6, 2014
I got so many compliments, what a beautiful dress!
Pros: Beautiful, fit pretty good, great new years eve dress! Cons: dress was a little large in the back (bunched up when i sat down), I felt like I was pulling the front of the dress down as the inner lining kept popping up over the front of the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
January 5, 2014
Perfect for any event!
I wore this for my brother's wedding. I would say it definitely runs true to size. The dress was a little tight when I first put it on, but it loosened up throughout the night. The lace and color is beautiful and I would rent it again! Another great experience RTR!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 4, 2014
GORGEOUS Dress!
During my recent trip to Vegas, we visited the new Rent the Runway store at the Cosmopolitan. What a WONDERFUL experience! The girls in the store (especially Brittany) were so friendly and accommodating. This dress was worn on a Friday night out on the strip, and I received so many compliments. (Honestly, I wish I could have purchased this dress!) Return was easy--I ended up dropping it off at the store the next day, but was provided a UPS bag in case I wanted to leave it with the hotel concierge. Based off of this experience, I will certainly rent from Rent the Runway again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 3, 2014
Favorite dress I've ever rented rom this site.
It was a bit large; I'm often an 8 instead of a 6, and the 6 fit well. Not too short, even though I'm 5'9". The lace detailing was classy and nice-looking, not chintzy like some lace can be. Liked it so much I tried to find it on Ebay to purchase!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 3, 2014
Beautiful!
Rented this for my rehearsal dinner, and I was so thrilled! The dress is beautiful and I received so many compliments on the color and style. The lace is high quality and did not snag on anything. The style is more fitted then a traditional boxy sheath, which I liked. My usual dress size is a 2; I ordered 0 and a 2 in case the dress ran large, but the 2 ended up fitting perfectly. On me the dress fell to a little lower than mid-thigh. There was also plenty of room in the top to accommodate the bust. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 2, 2014
Beautiful!
I ordered the dress in sizes 0 and 2 and the 0 fit perfectly. The lace detail is amazing so I kept my accessories pretty minimal and I wore nude strappy heels. Depending on the lighting, the dress can look black in pictures but i feel like this pic captures the beautiful color of the dress. I can't stress enough how much I LOVE renttherunway.com and I will continue to rent!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2014
Love love love this dress
This dress was perfect for a NYE wedding! I got so many compliments on the color and fit. I'm usually in between a 2 and a 4, and since this dress definitely runs large, I went with the 2. The 4 fit but was a little boxy and too long. The 2 was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 1, 2014
Perfect for daytime event
Loved this dress. It looked great on and I got a ton of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 1, 2014
beautiful dress!!
This is a beautiful dress that fits true to size, and is a really pretty deep violet color. I got a lot of compliments throughout the entire night...the only complaint I have is that it didnt hold its shape the entire night, it kind of became baggy-er as the night went on.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 1, 2014
It fit perfectly and I still get compliments to this day
Elegant
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 31, 2013
Beautiful sheath in plum lace - perfect for winter wedding!
This dress runs large, so you may want to order two sizes down depending on your preferred fit. I am solidly a 4 and thought the 2 was a bit loose. The shorter skirt is perfectly balanced by the longer sleeve and durable lace (no annoying snags). Boat neck is perfect for a regular bra (and spanx, should you need them!). I am petite and thought the dress looked a bit 'heavy' with black tights and pumps, so I'd recommend nude shoes for shorter gals. Should be noted that RTR shipped this *early* in anticipation of the holidays, it was nice to know they were thinking ahead.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 102lbs
December 30, 2013
Simple and classic
I wore this to a daytime wedding in a church - then changed into something more glamorous at night. It was simple and classic. It was completely shapeless, more of a shift dress. I love the boatneck and sleeves - conservative but beautiful. The color is actually brighter and more rich than it appears in the pictures online. Wore it with nude pumps and hair down - simple gold jewelry.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 30, 2013
So elegant, yet glamorous!
I rented this dress for Easter Sunday. I loved that it was long sleeved and didn't show too much, but it was still interesting and detailed beautifully. I loved the sophisticated look that came together with nude platform pumps.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
December 29, 2013
Great cover for arms in the winter!
I wore this in November, and was thrilled to have my not-quite-summer-tanned/toned arms covered :) The dress is a little roomier in the waist, which I appreciate. If legs are your stronger point, this shows them off nicely. Looks great with a statement necklace as shown - I wore metallic heels. I'm somewhere between a 4 and a 6 and ordered both - ended up wearing the 4.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
December 29, 2013
Quintessential holiday dress!
This dress is the perfect dress that mixes fun and flirty with demure and sophisticated. I wore this on Christmas Eve and it was very comfortable! I think the dress is cut more for someone that is straight up and down. For me it was big in the waist and tight in the hips…so hourglass girls may want to size up. The best part of this dress is the minimal jewelry that needs to be worn…the lace detail is so beautiful it takes center stage.
SeasonJanuary 8, 2014
Love the headband! I'm wearing this to a party next week and ordered a similar one - thank you for inspiration!
JenniferJanuary 9, 2014
Thank you, Season! You will LOVE wearing the dress! And headband :-) xoxo
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
December 27, 2013
Never go wrong with jewel tones!
I knew the fit would be a little looser around the waist as this was a shift and not a sheath dress. (Perfect for wedding eats). This dress is easy to wear even if not sized perfectly for petites (I own a different Trina Turk dress in a 2P), and I enjoyed getting compliments on it from the bride's very handsome and single! brother-in-law.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 148lbs
December 27, 2013
So many compliments in this dress.
I received so many compliments at the wedding I attended! I originally ordered the 10 thinking it would fit perfect but it turned out to be a little big. I tried on the 8 and it did fit much better but I was worried it might be a little snug while sitting, dancing, or after dinner. I wish I had worn the 8 but i still loved how the 10 looked!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 27, 2013
Beautiful Dress - so dressy!! Perfect for Xmas NYE Party!
I ordered the 10 & 12 but wore the 10, it fit perfect! It was the perfect length! I wore black tights & black patent heels.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
December 27, 2013
Flattering fit and great for any party!
It was a little big in the waist but it was still a very flattering dress. I got lots of compliments on the color and style!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 24, 2013
It was a very flattering shape and color.
The cut was very flattering even though I am curvy. The material also felt very luxurious. I was complimented all night!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
December 23, 2013
I loved this dress because it fit so well and was really comfortable.
I typically wear a 6 and the dress in a size 6 fit perfect. I also went to a dinner party so it was nice to have a dress that didn't fit skin tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
December 21, 2013
Great Dress for Office Holiday Party
I wore this to my husband's company holiday party. I received several compliments, and was overall very pleased with it. The color is beautiful, the lace detail is very elegant, and the length was perfect. I thought the fit was good, but the shift style made it a little boxier than I was hoping for. But all in all, this dress was a success and I'm glad I chose it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 20, 2013
Beautiful dress
Loved the dress and it fit perfectly. The dress seemed like it was in pretty good condition. Rented it for my engagement party, but unfortunately I got super sick and we had to cancel the party so I wasn't able to wear the dress after all. Was so sad since it's such a beautiful dress. :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
December 19, 2013
Wore this to a friends engagement party- LOVED this dress- would buy to own
fit was perfect- I was extremely comfortable all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 18, 2013
Very pretty and comfortable!
Wore this dress to a beach wedding in Florida. It was very comfortable and not tight at all on the arms. The color was a pretty deep purple and I had several people tell me they loved my dress! I was afraid it might be a bit worn since it had lots of reviews, but it was in great shape. Love RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
December 18, 2013
Beautiful color and fit
Definitely runs large. Wore the 0 when I am usually a 2 or a 4. Great length for petities
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 18, 2013
Comfortable and complimentary!
This dress feels fantastic, it was so comfortable. It can be hard to find a comfortable, lace, sleeved dress but this dress is all of those things. Definitely one I did not want to send back. The fit was true to size, I am almost always a 2 and wore the 2 in this dress as well. Good length for a formal affair, dinner party, or wedding.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 17, 2013
Elegant and modest but still felt sexy
Like others said, it did run large. I normally am a 4-6 and wore a 2. I probably could have even worn a 0, but having it a little bigger made it easier for dancing and kept it more modest for the occasion. Could be dressed up or dressed down, worn with many different kinds of shoes, and for lots of different occasions as well. I have a curvy lower half and narrow waist, and often worry about dresses being too bootylicious, but this dress was definitely glamorous, elegant and beautiful. The woman next to me in this photo is in her 40s and a mother of 4 - she tried it on as well and looked great also, so definitely versatile as well! Highly recommended!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
December 15, 2013
Beautiful and great quality!
This dress definitely runs large. I am normally in between a 4 and a 6 and the 2 fit perfectly! This dress was perfect for my work Christmas party and I got tons of compliments!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
December 15, 2013
First RTR experience - LOVED IT!
There was not much diff between the 10 & 12, the 12 was a little more boxy.I have fairly athletic arms and usually that is the problem spot for me. This dress worked. It also was not as short on my 5"6" as it shows on the model.Wore it for my companies Christmas cocktail party. Felt absolutely great. I got a ton of compliments. This dress actually showed up on another woman too at this event! We both said "RTR - Love it" It looked great on her too. Wish I had thought to get a pre-party picture. It felt super classy & sexy without being uncovered, important for winter events!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 13, 2013
Classic and beautiful. Perfect for a day wedding
The dress fit well but it was slightly boxy, although from a sheath that is to be expected. Fabulous color and the lace was gorgeous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
December 13, 2013
Perfect mix of classy and flirty! LOVED this dress!
I wore this dress to my graduation. It runs a little big, but the next size down fit perfectly. I got so many compliments on this dress. The color is beautiful and the lace is very nice. I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
December 12, 2013
LOVED THIS DRESS! I wore this dress for my fall engagement shoot. PERFECT!
It runs big. I normally wear either a 2 or 4 in dresses and ended up wearing this in a size 0. GO SMALLER!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 12, 2013
Absolutely LOVED this dress!
Wish I could have kept it!! Was slightly big in the waist but still looked great and received a ton of compliments! Definitely would rent this again!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 11, 2013
Pretty and conservative dress, OK fit
I really loved the color of this dress and the conservative cut was perfect for a work Christmas event. The length was perfect for me - I'm fairly short though, so could be borderline for a taller person. The sleeves were a little long on me as well but that was fine. The quality is really good - fabric is thick and the lace is beautiful. I got tons of compliments on the dress and overall I really liked it - the one complaint I have is that it fit a little odd in the back - it gapped and bunched, especially in the upper back and shoulders. Overall, good dress and gorgeous color!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
December 10, 2013
It was easy!
Im glad I ordered the size down, looked great and received lots of compliments
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
December 10, 2013
great for a office holiday party!
This shift dress was very comfortable and could be worn at a formal event as well as a casual dress to the office. It was very versatile and the size 4 was still in pretty good condition.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 10, 2013
This was so ridiculously easy to do! Thank you!
Great fit (it's got an ever-so-slightly stretchy quality), great length, pretty and classic without looking like you're trying too hard. I would wear it again!
See more reviews:
10 / 26

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×