Trina Turk

Portrait of Elegance Shift

$90 to buy
Final sale, like new condition
Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate date night dress? This Trina Turk lace shift will look amazing on you as you sip champagne and fall love with that new fling!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Synthetic Floral Lace. Three quarter length sleeves. Boat Neckline. Hidden back zipper. Straight skirt. Lined. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
1070 reviews
Fit
Large
(406)
True to Size
(566)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 141lbs
January 30, 2014
Sophisticated and Feminime
Loved this dress.... I wore it to a September wedding and had so many people compliment me. It has such elegance and sophistication but I felt so sexy. I ordered an 8 and 6 and wore the 6 - it runs slightly large because its supposed to be a shift dress. I wanted mine more fitted around the waist so the smaller 6 was perfect. Had I had broader shoulders, it may have been too tight.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 29, 2014
Easy and chic
I wore this to my rehearsal & rehearsal dinner. i liked the long sleeves for outdoor portion- winters in florida can be cold, too! i had both the 6 and 8, as I usually wear an 8(for my butt/hips) but followed the suggestions to size down and was glad of it. Vanity sizing is strange, my wedding dress was a 10! The zipper was not an easy one to zip, not sure if it had seen better days or was tricky because of the lace. Overall, I would def. rent from RTR again, I thought the experience was very nice and easy, especially around the franticness of wedding weekends. I liked the lining and fit much better on this dress than the pink lace one that I got as a backup. This one hints at your waistline, even though its not very fitted.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
January 27, 2014
Comfortable and elegant
Wore for my sister-in-law's fancy engagement party. Classy and true-to-size.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 27, 2014
Great fit! A lot of compliments. Very comfortable and warm.
Wore it to a winter wedding. Paired it with tan heals which extended the length of my short legs. Very flattering for an athletic build.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 27, 2014
Perfect Dress for NYE- made me feel HOT!!!
This was my third experience with RTR and the first time I've had issues getting a dress. On the day that my dresses were to be sent to me, i received a phone call and e-mail stating that the original dress I had rented was unavailable due to it being returned in not the best shape. I was offered the opportunity to rent another dress and receive a refund if the new dress I rented was cheaper (which it was). After panicking for a few hours, my mom found this dress for me. I was a little hesitant because i thought that it would be more fitted than I wanted it, but I decided to go with it I hope for the best (I had a backup dress as well). Let me tell you, when I put on this dress, I was IN LOVE! It was a little big on me (I probably should have gotten the 8) but I went out and bought a belt to cinch it in a little. I paired it with gold jewelry and black pumps (with purple glitter on the bottom- easy DIY project!) and was ready for a NYE out in DC! I received so many compliments and actually had guys notice me for the first time...ever! I don't get dressed up often since I work at a running store where the dress code is very casual so this was a nice change for me. I was so so so sad to return this dress and was on a hunt to find a similar dress. I found one online from Nordstrom and I am saving my money to purchase it. I would DEFINITELY rent this dress again (I want to rent it in the coral color too) and would DEFINITELY recommend it. I have always been very subconscious of my midsection but this dress conceals while still giving you a very flattering figure. Rent this dress now!!!!
SeasonJanuary 28, 2014
LOVE the shoes! How did you do them?
KatyJanuary 28, 2014
This was the tutorial that I sort of followed- happened to use the same color of glitter too! instead of painting an extra layer of mod podge at the end, I sprayed the glitter with 2 coats of Aleene's Spray Acrylic Sealer (Gloss Finish). http://blog.gojane.com/2012/12/11/how-to-glitter-sole-heels/
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 26, 2014
Got compliments all night!
One of the most beautiful dresses I've ever worn. It is a bit short, but I thought that balanced out the modest top of the dress. I normally wear a size 8, however, the 6 fit perfectly. Great, high-quality lace. Simple earrings were the only jewelry I needed to complete the look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 26, 2014
I had so many compliments when I wore this dress for a wedding! Best dress I have rented!
Fit perfectly! Had so many compliments and I have rented several dresses for weddings and this was by far the best dress I have rented!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 25, 2014
Perfect for a fall wedding!
I have no complaints about this dress. It fit well (TTS), was a beautiful color, fit well and was just the right style for a daytime fall wedding in NY. Got loads of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 24, 2014
Beautiful color, and form-fitting dress.
As the other reviews mention, this is a SHORT dress. At best, it was mid-thigh in length. I'm not tall, but was unable to raise my arms without the dress rising up to unacceptable heights. That said, it was a very pretty dress, and worked well for a cocktail party, as long as I remembered not to reach up to hug people, and was careful when I wanted to sit down!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 23, 2014
Classy, beautiful and comfortable
I rented this for my boyfriends company holiday party and it was appropriate and perfect for the occasion. It was not too short however I was wearing black tights because it was brutally cold and windy. I got compliments on the lace and the fit. I wore the back up size 4 when I normally wear a size 6 so this dress does run large, believe the reviews and don't waste your time thinking it will be too small from your normal size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 22, 2014
Wonderful evening out with my amazing hubby at a charity event!
Perfect sheath! Hides the mid-section and lace is a great feminine touch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
January 21, 2014
Pictures Don't Do it Justice
I love, love, loved this dress. I got so many compliments on it and it was very comfortable. It was a little tight in the bust when I lifted my arms (dancing) but I am quite well endowed... so if you have a lot of 'girls' order true to size even though some reviewers said order down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
January 21, 2014
GREAT color, comfortable, good fit, classic.
I read to get one size smaller than my normal size because it was supposed to fit snug. I ended up using my normal size. I would recommend going up a size.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
January 20, 2014
Great dress for a great night!
It fit really well and managed to be really comfortable while maintaining a good shape. It was a little shorter than I was expecting, but it ended up working out really well. It also photographed well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
January 20, 2014
It's true - size way down!
I wore an 8 in another Trina Turk dress from RTR (Kelly To My Green). In this dress, I wore a 4, which Go-To Girl Clare kindly overnighted me when the 6 was baggy. The rumors are true: size down! This dress was comfortable, flattering, and warm on a winter night. I got many compliments and felt beautiful. There's really nothing more I could have asked for!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 19, 2014
Great dress, received lots of compliments, very comfortable.
I usually wear a 6. This ran a little big and I would have prefered a 4.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 17, 2014
Perfect for my work event
This dress was perfect for my recent work award night. The length and neckline were the reason I chose it, but I will admit it wasn't a dancing dress. Many people complimented this dress. The color was gorgeous and the fabric warm enough to wear on a chilly night. I could have worn the 2, but the sleeves were a little big (on both dresses), and the 0 fit better.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 16, 2014
Beautiful & comfortable!
This dress was perfect for a winter anniversary date to see a Broadway show! It was a beautiful rich, plum color and the lace was gorgeous. My only complaint is minor- the sheath underneath the lace was very slightly longer than the lace & I would've liked the lace to be longer. But that's how it fit on me & I loved it anyways :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
January 16, 2014
Classic lace shift!
Beautiful details & color. I think this dress runs more true to size then other reviewers. It's a classic shift, it's meant to drape the body not be skin tight. The 0 was too small for my shoulders, and too short for me for a family Christmas party. The 2 fit great and still gave me shape, didn't need a belt at all. I typically wear either a 2 or 4.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
January 16, 2014
Perfect dress for Work Party!
This dress is simply beautiful in person. I received so many compliments! It was the perfect amount of dressy without being overly dressed up for a work dinner.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
January 15, 2014
Unfortunately had to return
I rented this for a rehearsal dinner and its a beautiful dress it just kinda looked frumpy on me. Once again RTR is just as amazing as ever and helped me choose a different dress and sent it to me at the hotel. I could never say enough great things about this company. Hands down the best customer service i've ever experienced.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
January 15, 2014
Cute dress
Really cute and comfortable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 131lbs
January 15, 2014
Gorgeous dress, but better for straight & narrow types
The color is beautiful in person, and the lace is super soft and comfortable. I liked wearing the dress, but as others have mentioned, it's really cut more for straight and narrow types. The dress was fairly fitted across my hips but loose in the waist, especially in the back. I would have to size up to get that true shift fit, and then it would have been too baggy everywhere. Adding a belt would have helped a lot, but the dress was already borderline too short for the function I wore it to (my boyfriend's company holiday party) so I left off the belt and added opaque black tights. I didn't notice much difference between the 0 and the 2 except that the arms in the 0 were a bit too tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
January 13, 2014
Not a fan
The color of the dress was great, but, unfortunately, the fit just wasn't working for my body type. This dress is great for someone that has a few curves, but it didn't do anything for me. I need something with a bit more structure to make it look like i actually have a waist. My boyfriend said it looked like I had a tablecloth on. Needless to say, I didn't wear it. The color and quality were great though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
January 13, 2014
Perfect!
Runs true to size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
January 13, 2014
Received so many compliments all night. Wish I could have kept it!
This dress fit me just like shift should! It gave me just enough room to dance in it all night, but was snug in all the right places. It was perfect for a winter wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 11, 2014
Fantastic dress--fun and perfect for a winter wedding
Great dress, not entirely fitted at the waist, true to size, but relatively short. Could have worn the 6, but felt that it was a little shorter than I would have liked. Overall great dress!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
January 8, 2014
Fun and flattering
Loved this dress! As other reviewers mentioned, it runs large. I am usually a 12 in dresses but ended up wearing the 10.... it was fitted, whereas the 12 felt boxy in the waist. The color is gorgeous and the dress is easy to wear. I am 5'4" and it hit about mid-thigh.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
January 7, 2014
Great for my company holiday party. Got tons of compliments.
Rented a 6 with the 4 as the back up. Dress ran large. Both fit but I ended up going with the 6 just for some extra length. Super flattering. No stretch. Wish I could keep this one. Will rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 7, 2014
It photographed very well, LOVE this dress!!!
I wore this dress for our engagement pictures. This dress was absolutely stunning, the lace is gorgeous and a very pretty purple. The dress fits great through the hip, I'm very small on top and it wasn't very overwhelming large. I wore it with boots, because the day of the pictures was very cold and wet) and it taught it looked great. The length was perfect and this dress looks wonderful with a small silver belt. I would very much recommend this to anyone who is a lace dress lover.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 7, 2014
I would rent this again!
This dress runs large. I didn't even try on my normal size after reading reviews. I'm happy I sized down! I would rent this again… IT WAS SOOOO COMFORTABLE AND GORGEOUS IN PERSON! I wore this for my birthday dinner!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 7, 2014
Gorgeous! So many compliments!
Absolutely wonderful. Fit great and had some stretch so you didn't feel like you were going to die of a lace overdose. Felt wonderful and I never got too hot. Perfect for the wedding I attended. Wish I could had kept it in my closet forever.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
January 6, 2014
So many compliments from strangers!!
Both size 0 and 2 fit me, but I found 2 more comfortable. The length of the dress was a little short for me, personally. But overall, it was such a beautiful, high-quality dress. I got so many compliments from random strangers about my dress. A great first RTR experience!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 6, 2014
I got so many compliments, what a beautiful dress!
Pros: Beautiful, fit pretty good, great new years eve dress! Cons: dress was a little large in the back (bunched up when i sat down), I felt like I was pulling the front of the dress down as the inner lining kept popping up over the front of the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 137lbs
January 5, 2014
Perfect for any event!
I wore this for my brother's wedding. I would say it definitely runs true to size. The dress was a little tight when I first put it on, but it loosened up throughout the night. The lace and color is beautiful and I would rent it again! Another great experience RTR!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 4, 2014
GORGEOUS Dress!
During my recent trip to Vegas, we visited the new Rent the Runway store at the Cosmopolitan. What a WONDERFUL experience! The girls in the store (especially Brittany) were so friendly and accommodating. This dress was worn on a Friday night out on the strip, and I received so many compliments. (Honestly, I wish I could have purchased this dress!) Return was easy--I ended up dropping it off at the store the next day, but was provided a UPS bag in case I wanted to leave it with the hotel concierge. Based off of this experience, I will certainly rent from Rent the Runway again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 3, 2014
Favorite dress I've ever rented rom this site.
It was a bit large; I'm often an 8 instead of a 6, and the 6 fit well. Not too short, even though I'm 5'9". The lace detailing was classy and nice-looking, not chintzy like some lace can be. Liked it so much I tried to find it on Ebay to purchase!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 3, 2014
Beautiful!
Rented this for my rehearsal dinner, and I was so thrilled! The dress is beautiful and I received so many compliments on the color and style. The lace is high quality and did not snag on anything. The style is more fitted then a traditional boxy sheath, which I liked. My usual dress size is a 2; I ordered 0 and a 2 in case the dress ran large, but the 2 ended up fitting perfectly. On me the dress fell to a little lower than mid-thigh. There was also plenty of room in the top to accommodate the bust. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 2, 2014
Beautiful!
I ordered the dress in sizes 0 and 2 and the 0 fit perfectly. The lace detail is amazing so I kept my accessories pretty minimal and I wore nude strappy heels. Depending on the lighting, the dress can look black in pictures but i feel like this pic captures the beautiful color of the dress. I can't stress enough how much I LOVE renttherunway.com and I will continue to rent!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2014
Love love love this dress
This dress was perfect for a NYE wedding! I got so many compliments on the color and fit. I'm usually in between a 2 and a 4, and since this dress definitely runs large, I went with the 2. The 4 fit but was a little boxy and too long. The 2 was perfect.
See more reviews:
10 / 27
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×