Trina Turk

Portrait of Elegance Shift

$90 to buy
$328 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate date night dress? This Trina Turk lace shift will look amazing on you as you sip champagne and fall love with that new fling!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Synthetic Floral Lace. Three quarter length sleeves. Boat Neckline. Hidden back zipper. Straight skirt. Lined. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
1072 reviews
Fit
Large
(406)
True to Size
(568)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
June 14, 2013
Perfect for winter!
I wore this for my company's holiday party and couldn't have been happier with it! It was shorter than I would normally wear to a work event, but looks completely appropriate with black tights. The color was gorgeous, and the dress was so comfortable that I could dance all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
June 17, 2013
Elegant Engagement Celebration
I wanted a dress to celebrate my recent engagement with my family as we gathered in New Orleans for Easter. I loved the beautiful lace detailing of this dress and rich plum color. I thought the length was perfect especially since I am taller and always nervous about where a dress is going to fall. Please note though that if you have hips, the dress is pretty constricting around the hip area.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 17, 2013
Simple sheath for conservative event
Great dress! Exactly as it appears and very true to RTR details. Deep purple, beautiful detail, definitely spring or fall weather event, as the lace would be too warm in summer and not warm enough come January. I wore this with boots and a soft sweater for a casual Easter brunch. Very lady like, solid dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
June 23, 2013
So many compliments!
Dress ran a little large. Perhaps from wear? Thanks to the stylist for suggesting the necklace. Rented that too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 24, 2013
Great for a winter wedding!
Fit true to size. I really enjoyed this dress. It was figure flattering without being too slim or too large.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 1, 2013
I rented this dress for a wedding. It was beautiful and fun to wear.
The fit was pretty true to size. I usually wear a size 4, but had gained a little weight, so I went with the size 6. I wear a 34DD in the bust, and the bust was tight and pulled a bit, but was okay for the short time I wore the dress. Other wise I think this fits pretty true to size.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
July 2, 2013
-
For bustier people, the top was a bit snug. Go up in size if this is the case.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 185lbs
July 2, 2013
Worn at a rehearsal dinner- comfortable and sexy
I had such fun with this dress. I wore this in January for a cousins wedding rehearsal. It was comfortable and it was appropriate for the occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 7, 2013
Perfect for a winter wedding!
Perfect dress for a winter wedding. Fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 23, 2013
Gorgeous color, got tons of compliments all night!
Everyone said that to go a size smaller so I rented the 2 and 4 when I should have just stayed with the 4 and 6. It still worked but I would have loved to see how the 6 fit me instead.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
July 30, 2013
Elegant and classy!
I wore this dress to a formal event, and got compliments all night. It was comfortable for me to move around all night, but kept me looking like a million bucks throughout the long evening.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
July 30, 2013
I rented this dress for a wedding in early April. It was perfect! Very comfortable-easy to dance in!
I rented the 4 and 6 and ended up going with the 6 because of the length. The 4 was a little short too short (I have thicker thighs, so I don't like showing them off). The color was great - a rich purple.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 5, 2013
This was a fabulous dress for our fall engagement photos.
It was pretty loose, but I believe the zero would have been too tight around my hips. I loved the color and the sleeve length. I had ordered the size four as my backup but it was way too big. I absolutely LOVED this dress.
JenniferOctober 24, 2013
Because of this awesome photo... Im renting it for our engagement pics this saturday. It's a great look on you and such a classic style. Thanks for posting.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
August 6, 2013
Great dress for winter wedding, lots of compliments!
I'm normally between a 2 & 4, but after reading the reviews on the fit of the dress I ordered the 2 and went down a size to the 0. I first tried on the 2, but the overall fit of the dress was loose and unflattering. The dress felt a little tight in my arms but it looked baggy in the midsection and sides. I also found that the zipper did not run smoothly and I did need help getting zipped up. I ended up wearing the 0 because while it was still a little bit looser it looked more flattering and was an overall better fit. The zipper also ran a lot more smoothly and I didn't need any assistance with it. It's a great dress, I absolutely love the color and the lace print. It was perfect for the wedding as I wasn't shivering or sweating in the material.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 7, 2013
Loved the compliments and the way this dress made me feel!!!
I ordered a 6 and an 8... I usually wear size 8 pants, but I actually wore the size 6 dress. The 8 was a bit too loose and the underlining hung down lower than the lace. The 6 was perfect. I felt so comfortable and loved the feel of the dress! I received so many compliments. This was my third dress from Rent the Runway, and it was definitely my favorite!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 8, 2013
The color and details on this dress are gorgeous.
This dress runs large. I recommend sizing down and possibly belting it. (I ended up belting it with a skinny black belt to add definition at the waist, due to my body type I felt that made it more flattering.)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 8, 2013
Felt sexy and modest at the same time...perfect for the rehearsal dinner.
The dress was absolutely stunning. I actually ended up renting in two other times that winter. It would be perfect for a fall or winter event. Depending on the shoes and jewelry you can dress it up or down. I look forward to wearing this for my own rehearsal dinner this October!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
August 28, 2013
It was a winter wedding a few days before Xmas so the fact that it had sleeves was perfect.
I usually wear a 2 but went with the 0 bc it was a bit loose fitting. Loved the dress! Was very comfortable and still felt pretty.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 2, 2013
This dress was perfect for my 3 year anniversary date!
The fit was perfect - not too tight and not too loose. I'm usually a 2/4 and the 2 fit best (even with my 34DD chest!) There was a tiny bit of ruching in the back above the zipper, but that was a tiny flaw compared to all the perfections. This is the first dress that I have seriously wanted to keep - heck, I still might buy it with all the compliments I received! :) Oh, and don't worry about the fit in the arms either - we ended up participating in some impromptu bowling and for once I was able to move my arms in a dress! It was the perfect dress for my evening. RENT IT.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 3, 2013
It was just OK
The dress wasn't very flattering due to how it's cut. If I had a gold belt it probably would have worked a lot better. It was a nice dress but I have to admit it didn't live up to my expectations.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 15, 2013
Loved the dress and the color.. felt amazing!
I ordered a 6 and an 8... I usually wear size 8 pants, and wore the size 8 dress. The 8 was a little loose but worked well in all the right places. I felt so beautiful and it was amazing how comfortable the dress was. My favorite dress so far.. Thanks !!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 16, 2013
Beautiful and Comfortable
Wore it to a wedding that was in late fall. Perfect for that time of year. Beautiful color. It was also very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
September 17, 2013
Dress was perfect!!!
I rented this for a Bridal Shower. It was very comfy and fit perfect. I would rent this again for an event in the future. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 136lbs
September 17, 2013
Hooray!! Trendy, classy and comfortable.
Clearly, I got the fashion memo: lace dresses with nude shoes were the style of the moment and I fit right in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
September 18, 2013
Elegant!
This was my first RTR experience, and I was so impressed with every step of the process. I usually wear an 8, but it felt a little snug in the bust and arms and I wanted to be able to dance at the wedding so I wore the 10. The 10 fit a little bit loose, but the dress hugged curves nicely allowing it to not look too baggy. I received many compliments and felt great. The wedding was a cold weekend in February, and I was also very happy to have sleeves!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
September 24, 2013
Beautiful dress, but large.
The dress was beautiful it just ran a bit large. I think that if I were taller and the dress were a little shorter, it wouldn't have felt as matronly as it did. I ended up belting it and it worked out great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 24, 2013
Wonderful for a fall wedding!!
I wore this dress to a Fall wedding and received many compliments. The fit was amazing, wore a 2 as usual, even though I ordered a 4 I never tried it on! Highly recommend for a sophisticated look!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
September 29, 2013
Color was gorgeous for fall!
Dress fit perfectly! I ordered a 2 and 4, tried the 2 on and didn't even bother putting on the 4. Dress was sliming and flattering, with many compliments. It could be dressed up or dressed down, I wore it for my brother's rehearsal dinner lobster bake, which was pretty casual. Definitely would recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 65
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 30, 2013
Fabulous. I overheard many glowing comments as well as compliments from my chic daughter.
One size large with comfortable fit. I could wear the backup size 2, but it would be tight for dancing, and too short for my age. The 4 fit my hour glass figure with plenty of play in bust and hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
October 2, 2013
Perfect for a fall wedding
I wore this as a guest to a fall wedding. It was perfect - great color, the lace, really comfortable. I would rent again in a heartbeat. It's a more modest dress, but not frumpy or anything, which I liked since I was wearing it to a family occassion. So stylish
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
October 2, 2013
This was a back up dress, and I loved it!
I wore this to my sister's rehearsal dinner and rehearsal. I got so many compliments. It is super comfortable and a pretty color. Thanks to the RTR stylist who called when the other dress wasn't going to ship. Great dress for me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 3, 2013
So many compliments
Gorgeous and comfortable
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
October 3, 2013
beautiful
This is a gorgeous dress. And like everyone else said, ran big. Definitely order the size down. I was so impressed with RTR. It was my first experience and I will absolutely do it again.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 3, 2013
I had a great experience with RTR. Professional and efficient, they made it easy to rent and return
The dress ran large, I am between a 6-8 and the 6 was a tiny bit large, in a good way. Perhaps it is because I am large chested but the cut was a bit awkward around the chest and underarm area as in it kept tugging the dress down a bit, but otherwise fit nicely. The quality of the material was good and the color was lovely with my complexion. I will definitely rent more from RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
October 5, 2013
Beautiful color
After reading all reviews I decided to ordered a 2 and a 0... I usually wear size 4. I ended up wearing the size 0 dress. It definitely runs large. The color is a beautiful grape color that looks different from the model's picture. I receive many compliments during the night. Overall, very satisfied with this rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36G
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
October 5, 2013
Beautiful color, perfect length, great quality!
I wore this for my law school graduation and it was perfect. I felt perfectly dressed, professional meets beauty-queen. I got a ton of compliments on it and felt awesome on such a fun day.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
October 6, 2013
Absolute perfect fit!
I usually have trouble with the fit of dresses and can wear between a size 4 to a size 8 depending on the designer and fabric. With a larger bust, finding something off the rack is nearly impossible. This fit perfectly in the bust, waist, and hips. It was conservative enough with the sleeves and neckline to be worn to almost any event... While the shorter length and perfect fit makes it a sexy option too
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
October 7, 2013
I am 29 and I felt like this dress was for an older generation
It was pretty but it wasn't wedding worthy. It was more serious looking and would be good for someone 50 plus.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
October 8, 2013
So comfortable and great for fall/winter parties, showers, weddings!
This dress isn’t something I’d typically wear but I was attending a rehearsal dinner and thought I’d try it out - it was only $25 after renting a dress for the wedding, you can’t beat that! I tried on the 0 and the top of the dress seemed to be too large for a 0, so I tried on the 2 and it fit much better. The color was gorgeous, and dress was form fitting enough to show you have a figure without overdoing it which was great. If I got a bigger size it might have felt more like a doily, so definitely order 2 smaller sizes if your debating it. It's very comfortable too which was great, I wore it all night even after everyone changed. This is something that would be perfect for a fall or winter wedding, bridal or baby showers etc. I paired with white and gold necklace and nude pumps.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185lbs
October 8, 2013
I got many compliments on the dress and it ran very true to size.
The lace detailing was very elegant looking and the size throughout my arms and torso were great. It was a little short, but I usually fit better in clothes made for tall ladies rather than regular sizes. It wasn't, too short, just a matter of comfort level mostly.
See more reviews:
10 / 27

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×