Portrait of Elegance Shift

$90 to buy
$328 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate date night dress? This Trina Turk lace shift will look amazing on you as you sip champagne and fall love with that new fling!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Synthetic Floral Lace. Three quarter length sleeves. Boat Neckline. Hidden back zipper. Straight skirt. Lined. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
1071 reviews
Fit
Large
(406)
True to Size
(567)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 24, 2013
Wonderful for a fall wedding!!
I wore this dress to a Fall wedding and received many compliments. The fit was amazing, wore a 2 as usual, even though I ordered a 4 I never tried it on! Highly recommend for a sophisticated look!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
September 29, 2013
Color was gorgeous for fall!
Dress fit perfectly! I ordered a 2 and 4, tried the 2 on and didn't even bother putting on the 4. Dress was sliming and flattering, with many compliments. It could be dressed up or dressed down, I wore it for my brother's rehearsal dinner lobster bake, which was pretty casual. Definitely would recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 65
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 30, 2013
Fabulous. I overheard many glowing comments as well as compliments from my chic daughter.
One size large with comfortable fit. I could wear the backup size 2, but it would be tight for dancing, and too short for my age. The 4 fit my hour glass figure with plenty of play in bust and hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
October 2, 2013
Perfect for a fall wedding
I wore this as a guest to a fall wedding. It was perfect - great color, the lace, really comfortable. I would rent again in a heartbeat. It's a more modest dress, but not frumpy or anything, which I liked since I was wearing it to a family occassion. So stylish
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
October 2, 2013
This was a back up dress, and I loved it!
I wore this to my sister's rehearsal dinner and rehearsal. I got so many compliments. It is super comfortable and a pretty color. Thanks to the RTR stylist who called when the other dress wasn't going to ship. Great dress for me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 3, 2013
So many compliments
Gorgeous and comfortable
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
October 3, 2013
beautiful
This is a gorgeous dress. And like everyone else said, ran big. Definitely order the size down. I was so impressed with RTR. It was my first experience and I will absolutely do it again.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 3, 2013
I had a great experience with RTR. Professional and efficient, they made it easy to rent and return
The dress ran large, I am between a 6-8 and the 6 was a tiny bit large, in a good way. Perhaps it is because I am large chested but the cut was a bit awkward around the chest and underarm area as in it kept tugging the dress down a bit, but otherwise fit nicely. The quality of the material was good and the color was lovely with my complexion. I will definitely rent more from RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
October 5, 2013
Beautiful color
After reading all reviews I decided to ordered a 2 and a 0... I usually wear size 4. I ended up wearing the size 0 dress. It definitely runs large. The color is a beautiful grape color that looks different from the model's picture. I receive many compliments during the night. Overall, very satisfied with this rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
October 5, 2013
Beautiful color, perfect length, great quality!
I wore this for my law school graduation and it was perfect. I felt perfectly dressed, professional meets beauty-queen. I got a ton of compliments on it and felt awesome on such a fun day.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
October 6, 2013
Absolute perfect fit!
I usually have trouble with the fit of dresses and can wear between a size 4 to a size 8 depending on the designer and fabric. With a larger bust, finding something off the rack is nearly impossible. This fit perfectly in the bust, waist, and hips. It was conservative enough with the sleeves and neckline to be worn to almost any event... While the shorter length and perfect fit makes it a sexy option too
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
October 7, 2013
I am 29 and I felt like this dress was for an older generation
It was pretty but it wasn't wedding worthy. It was more serious looking and would be good for someone 50 plus.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
October 8, 2013
So comfortable and great for fall/winter parties, showers, weddings!
This dress isn’t something I’d typically wear but I was attending a rehearsal dinner and thought I’d try it out - it was only $25 after renting a dress for the wedding, you can’t beat that! I tried on the 0 and the top of the dress seemed to be too large for a 0, so I tried on the 2 and it fit much better. The color was gorgeous, and dress was form fitting enough to show you have a figure without overdoing it which was great. If I got a bigger size it might have felt more like a doily, so definitely order 2 smaller sizes if your debating it. It's very comfortable too which was great, I wore it all night even after everyone changed. This is something that would be perfect for a fall or winter wedding, bridal or baby showers etc. I paired with white and gold necklace and nude pumps.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185lbs
October 8, 2013
I got many compliments on the dress and it ran very true to size.
The lace detailing was very elegant looking and the size throughout my arms and torso were great. It was a little short, but I usually fit better in clothes made for tall ladies rather than regular sizes. It wasn't, too short, just a matter of comfort level mostly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 9, 2013
Flirty Fall Dress
I love the burgundy color of this dress. I'm a big fan of lace and the cut of this dress too. Being 6'0'', I had to wear the bigger of my two sizes because the length was very short on me. The larger size was just long enough for me to be comfortable, I often wear very short dresses. The larger size made the dress lose a lot of it's shape and was overall too big on me. I still loved the dress and would wear it again to the right event. I'd say anyone 5'9'' and under would be fine with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
October 10, 2013
Loved this dress!
Great color and perfect for a fall wedding. Fit was good and comfortable - highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 10, 2013
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!
The best part of this dress is the lace detail... and THE COLOR. It's absolutely gorgeous. I didn't think I loved the dress itself at first... but it grew on me.... and I ended up loving it! Got tons of compliments and was very happy with it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
October 10, 2013
So many people came up to me JUST to compliment me on the dress!
It looks awesome, but rides up alot - and I'm only 5'3" and I thought it was short!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
October 11, 2013
Comfy cute dress!
I received the 6 and the 8, both worked, but I chose the 8 because I knew I'd be dancing and I didn't want the skirt to ride up. Shorter than I like to wear, but I paired with some sheer black stockings and some great black patent shoes. Fit was good and was very comfortable.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 11, 2013
Overall this is a really great dress especially for more formal occasions.
I rented this dress for my sister's (second) wedding. I typically wear a size 4 dress but was able to comfortably wear the 2. The only "issue" I had was my chest is not that large and it was a tad baggy in that area. Received many compliments though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 13, 2013
Gorgeous Lace Dress
I am in love with this dress!! Sad to send it back. The fit was great and I agree with other reviewers, it runs large. I am usually a 4 (sometimes a 6 because of my bust) but the 2 fit great. I also tried the 4 but it bunched a little in my waist so I opted for the 2. I thought it was a little short but I don't usually wear short dresses so I might just be biased. Really comfortable, not at all itchy, I got so many compliments and felt gorgeous in this dress. Perfect for a fall wedding. This was my second RTR experience and I am definitely hooked now!!! It was so easy.
AllisonNovember 26, 2013
Hi Sarah! You look gorgeous! You're almost my exact proportions and I'm looking for a dress for a work event. I LOVE this dress, but am worried about it being too boxy, I'm hourglass and usually wear a 4, does a 2 help with the shaping?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 13, 2013
I selected this dress as my back up and was completely blind-sided when I FELL IN LOVE!
There was something unique about this dress that I couldn't put my finger on while searching online! Upon first glance, it seems simple & not the most special (in comparison to all of the amazing options on RTR)! Given this was my first RTR experience, I opted for a "back up" dress JUST for the fun of it. Much to my surprise... I LOVED this silhouette & color on my skin better than my original Alice by Monique Lhuillier choice! The color is truly unique... I'd say the RTR photos are very accurate to the burgundy tone of the dress in person. The customer photos then show the variation of color captured depending on lighting! The lace & silhouette are very sophisticated while still being incredibly sexy. I'm guessing I could have pulled off a size 4 as this dress runs a little loose, but because it was my back up I only had one size. I was fine having a little bit of extra room & received many compliments! Overall, this dress was the perfect length (just above knees) & incredibly comfortable... all while being simply beautiful & easy to accessorize! I think this dress is the definition of "less is more!" Don't overlook it!!
mohitOctober 29, 2013
nice one
JulieOctober 30, 2013
Cute necklace! Where is it from?
JenniferOctober 31, 2013
Thank you! Stella & Dot Bamboleo necklace but it's retired now. I bet you could find it on eBay!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 165lbs
October 14, 2013
Nice dress, pretty color.
This dress is a very pretty color, and would perfect for a formal affair. As the other reviewers mentioned it runs large, and I needed to belt it in order to keep it from looking shapeless. It was a little short for my taste, I'm not sure I would be comfortable wearing it to a more conservative function.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 14, 2013
Flattering shape & fit
Used the smaller size (6) & it was perfect. Trendy color & lace with a RTR bangle.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 14, 2013
perfect for a fall wedding!
this dress is fun, comfortable and a beautiful shade of plum purple. i wore it for my brother-in-law's daytime wedding in october and it felt like the perfect choice. as a tall girl it did feel a little short while dancing and i would have to be mindful of sitting down but it wasn't anything i couldn't easily deal with. the shift shape was very forgiving but i could see how some women would prefer shape wear just for an overall smooth look. i was happy to have a little extra room around my belly after eating all day. overall i received many compliments, my boyfriend loved how much leg i was showing, and i felt pretty in this style. i would definitely recommend it for this fall/winter.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 14, 2013
So many great compliments all evening!
Fit well, beautiful color, lace was a bit itchy on the arms, but overall I would definitely rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
October 14, 2013
Favorite Dress Ever! Perfect for a Fall wedding!
I could not have asked for a better dress. I would not change a single thing about this dress. The color, lace, fit, length... it was all perfect. The 0 fit perfectly, so I did not even bother trying on the 2. I've never received so many compliments, with many people saying it was the best dress at the wedding. As the Guest Book Attendent, I knew all the guests would be seeing me as they entered the wedding ceremony, and this dress boosted my confidence more than I ever thought possible. I would highly recommend renting this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
October 14, 2013
Perfect dress for a fall wedding!
This dress definitely runs large so go down for your extra size. With that being said I loved this dress, everything about it was perfect for the inside/outside wedding I wore it to. The length was perfect, the sleeves kept me warm but not to the point that I was sweating. I had no issues with this dress, the lining underneath the lace stayed down for me and I danced A LOT! I did have to have my boyfriend help me with the zipper but thats to be expected since it was in the back. I wore spanx underneath but I wouldnt say that they were necessary for the dress to look good. This RTR dress exceeded my expectations once again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 14, 2013
It was so easy to decide on a dress to wear to this event, and I didn't even have to go shopping!
Like the other reviews said, it does run a little big, so I ended up wearing a size smaller than I normally do. It fit me great in the arms and chest, and the length was perfect. It was a little roomy around the waist and mid-back, but it didn't really matter. This was the most comfortable and least self-conscious I've ever been at a semi-formal event, and I'm pretty sure it was because of the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 14, 2013
Easy to dance in and still look elegant
Great dress to get that sophisticated look but still feel young and dance all night. Awesome dress and would definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 16, 2013
Comfortable and Cute!
I wore this dress for my boyfriend's brothers wedding, and it was amazing. I typically wear a size 4, but felt that the 4 was a little too small. I put on the 6 and it fit much better. Definitely order the backup size just in case! The lace was beautiful, and seemed incredibly sturdy. The dress sat at a great appropriate length to meet family, but still be young. This dress was incredibly comfortable, and completely non-restricting, which was helpful for me, seeing as I had to run around and help the bride all day. I was complimented by people of all ages, and would recommend renting it to anyone. Another great RTR experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
October 16, 2013
Beautiful dress - a little short for wedding
This is a great dress - and true to size, but at 5'8" I found it a little too short for the occasion I had planned on wearing it to (a formal wedding). It felt like it would hike up too much when seated or dancing. That said, there were a couple of other people at the wedding wearing the dress in black and I thought it looked great on them, but they were closer to 5'4 - 5'6. I did end up wearing it to the theater instead though with black tights and funky shoes and it was great! So def still recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 17, 2013
I Wore this dress to an evening wedding and I got tons of comments on how beautiful it was!
I typically wear a size 4 and ended up going with the 2. It fit well in the arms but was too large in the torso area. The length was perfect, I was worried it was going to be very long since I am 5'3''. I felt beautiful in this dress and got comments all night about how pretty it was. I would definitely recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 17, 2013
Runs large, order a size smaller.
Gorgeous dress. Runs large. Good if you are looking for something modest and mature (like a family wedding).
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
October 19, 2013
Stunning dress... Tons of compliments :)
Very well made, lace was beautiful. Surprisingly comfortable in the arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 20, 2013
Beautiful dress, perfect for a daytime wedding in fall!
the dress lining rode up a tiny bit, but overall wasn't an issue. I loved the sleeves and how they were unlined. The dress was a little loose around my ribcage / waist but overall was super comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 20, 2013
perfect dress for a fall wedding!
I rented this dress for a family wedding that was taking place outdoors in mid October and it was a perfect choice! It flattered my body in all the right places without being too tight or sexy. I paired with nude, round toe pumps and brushed gold jewelry. If you're looking for the dress to wear this fall to a special occasion...this is it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 22, 2013
A definite winner!
Overall, I loved this dress and got lots of compliments on it all night - always nice! While it fit true to size, it hugged my curves. I'm a true hourglass shape, and this didn't really minimize or enhance anything - it just showed exactly what I have! Would definitely wear again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
October 23, 2013
Gorgeous dress, but super comfortable as well. I wish I could buy this one!
Good length for my boyfriend's company's holiday party. Just the right amount of sexy, too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
October 30, 2013
Perfect for Fall Wedding! Got so many compliments!
This dress was absolutely perfect for the fall wedding I wore it to! The color is a little lighter than it shows up in the photograph, but it was still great. I ordered the 8 and the 10 and ended up wearing the 8, the 10 was just a little too big for me. As a busty girl I loved that I could wear a real bra with this dress! The only complaint I had is that when dancing, the dress was a touch too short, and I had some near embarrassing moments with it riding up. But overall the dress was super comfortable
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
10 / 27

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×